Outed blogger Rosemary Port now plans to sue Google.

In has become apparent in recent months diabolical forces are working not in the interest of Barbados Underground. It is happening at a time when we have achieved all time popularity since our launch in April 2007. The BU family in the 2 plus years has been able to foster a feel to the discourse where all who enter the debates must do so NOT as primus inter pares but as equals.

We have not been afraid to confront the controversial issues like race, homosexuality, the mysteries of religion, immorality, corruption, the passive Fourth Estate among many. Part of the reason for the BU feel has been and still is the flow to discussions despite the asynchronous nature of blogging. In a nutshell we have not been afraid to call a spade a spade.

There is a price to be paid for freedom of speech. A normal behaviour to expect from some quarters is that with successย  inevitably come those who would attack because of envy or the fact some may feel threatened and the like. Commonsense however dictates if we the BU family want to continue what we have been doing hitherto, we have to exercise a greater degree of editorial control on what we allow on BU than heretofore.

In recent days global media has publicized the case of Google being forced to identify an anonymous blogger, for clarity David of BU is the blogger, you are commenters. Eventually, there are bound to be some sort of defamation laws internationally agreed that can offer redress to people who have been defamed on the Internet. Based on murmurings we presume that even now this is a matter being discussed by attorneys-general worldwide and their equivalents.

What the case more than hints at is the days of the cowboy approach to blogging and commenting on blogs are fast comingย  to an end. It is no secret that with the popularity of BU has come a torrent of comments which have had to be managed. We do our best but given the current realities our best may not be good enough at all times. The BU family we have to say in all honesty is a very intelligent bunch. In light of the challenges ahead BU will have to rely heavily on you to ensure we successfully navigate what may lie ahead. Sometimes it is not what you write but how you write.

Our request to the BU family is to ensure when making commentsย  you be careful to craft your language not to finger any individual as performing a criminal act or suffering from mental deficiency. BU is confident with very small adjustments we can continue to express our views with the same robustness.

We are aware how some BU family members like Chris Halsall feel about the subject of anonymity on the Internet. Some use it to avoid the inconvenience derived from telling home-truths in a small society where victimization still rear its head. Others do it to hurl abuse and other malicious behaviour. In the case of the former we are aware of some of the prominent personalities who read and contribute to BU and remain sensitive to why they would want to do so anonymously.

In the interest of preserving this outlet for Barbadians and friends to keep freedom of expression alive and well, the BU household thought it prudent to clue you the BU family into our confidence as we prepare to flex in order to face whatever lurks ahead.

1. Uh wonda if a certain chubby, Barbadian Reporter’s going to lose weight now he’s recently got married!! Should prove more natural for him now!!

Laaaaadddddddddd!!

Anyhow, doan tell e nuhbody!! Yuh know how touchy he is!!

Lord!!

2. Happy Birthday Bonny Peppa.

Bonny peppers look good, taste sweet and leave a lasting memory.

Enjoy the day.
    Yardbroom

3. Again the perverse nature of free speech as a notion eludes me.
    Bush Tea // August 27, 2009 at 6:38 AM

Good move to remove that link David!

โ€ฆ.now if only we could block comments from Anonymous posters who brag about which countries they have lived in and which languages they can speak and how well they can spellโ€ฆ

A good idea would be to ban Anonymous posting (I think LIB has this as a policy). This is the first NECESSARY condition.

Next, you need to spell out how the comments would be moderated. If named, would they stand if they omitted the offending items or would new ‘offences’ be created? People need to know in case they are next for the slicer.

As for spelling, if the meaning is clear then most readers let words slide. If people are trying to write in patois or lingo or mush mouth then it is usually clear an no one really bothers.

So I ain gine fuss too much bout no sellin an gramma, but iffn yu happening to try writing is stannard english yu betta stan reddy to be carrected. Capiche?

4. I hope you don’t mind if I paste on here a comment which I copied from the DLP blog. The explanation is simple: On BFP, a commenter lamented the fact that the DLP Blog is stagnant and hasn’t been in use since January 2008. I replied that this is not so, and that the DLP blog is up and running, to which BFP replied adamantly that it has NOT been used since January 2008 (i.e. I am a liar). I replied, stating that the last comment on the DLP blog was on August 10, 2009. BFP still denied this, in their determination to besmirch the DLP. So, without further ado, herewith is the comment copied from the DLP blog, showing the date it was published:

10 to 1
    August 10, 2009 at 8:33 pm

DLP: Iโ€™m beginning to wonder if this is your blog, or mine. Am I talking to myself here? It is all your fault, because would-be contributors got fed to hell up waiting almost one week after submitting a comment to see it published. You gotta do something to win them back.

Meanwhile, over on Barbados Free Press, some idiotic bloggers are congratulating BFP for the arrival of the long-awaited ITAL and FoI to be debated in Parliament! I got a good laugh out of that. But BFP is keeping quiet. You know why? Because theyโ€™re waiting to pick holes in the structure of the proposed legislation โ€“ wait and see. I said before, and I will say it again โ€“ they will NOT be satisfied, no matter what form it takes. So if Thompy and you-all are expecting praise from that quarter, forget it. Ainโ€™t gonna happen.

I will save my congratulations (to the DLP, not BFP) for when the matter is a fait accompli. Please try and encourage some more contributors.
    Ciao.

BFP are LIARS.

5. If most commentators just played cricket the game would proceed smoothly. Straight bat reduces the chances for being caught out. If googlies (or is that Google-es in Internet speak?), Chinamen (no immigration issues) are bowled there are ways to block them. If the seam is being tampered with then we know that the game is rigged. If there is sledging remember that the ball will go to the opposition eventually and make sure that you are wearing good helmet, pads, and box.

If the umpire makes clear decisions and stands firm and consistent, then again, no real issues will arise. His word should be final. Let’s stay away from the era of ‘3rd umpires’ (especially self-appointed ones).

Otherwise, we can all play tip and run and live with street rules that we make up as we go along.

You want order? Then have rules and stay with them.

None of this should stump the thinking person. Want to bail out? Feeling creased? Want to redraw the boundary?

6. I really can’t help but laugh. All this talk about free speech and how very different David’s approach is from BFP’s. Do you people have any idea how many posts of mine David has first “moderated” and then “deleted?? None of them contained foul language, not could they be construed as defamation in any way. The only thing wrong with them was that they pointed out too many painful truths. Halsall, I really appreciate you posting part of my comment that went to you by GMail, I would be even more appreciative if you would post the whole thing. Seems David has not yet figured out the technology of turning off e-mail alerts as he reported he had done. Let’s see if this post makes the light of day.

7. @BU family and friends

We have been challenged before and we have always found away to overcome. It is a characteristic to Barbadians to demonstrate resilience in the face of challenges. BU has always encouraged difference in opinions; it is why we publish submissions from BLP and DLP, and we publish pro-homosexual and anti-etc. Some would have forgotten we recently posted a submission from a BLP surrogate which took a very aggressive line. The point, let us try to discuss the issues in the way we have always done on BU; remember Inkwell’s caution last week. We take Chris’ point this is an important topic that blogging is a new activity in the world and even newer to Barbadians. Those who would dare to blaze a trail must expect challenges along the way. If the BU family is game to accept those challenges the BU household will stand tall by their side.

We have a job to do. Do not be afraid of conflict because it often gives rise to something positive. The BU household will continue to read and enjoy your comments, and from time to time we will make changes to protect the feel we want to cultivate in BU.

Stay focused!

PS. As stated previous BU has disable the email notification. The fact emails continue to be delivered on some blogs points to a problem at WordPress which has been reported.

8. Dave, ‘pro-homosexual’?!! But dah’s going too far, man!!

9. David, thank you for the explanation on email notification, and I see no need therefore to add an email address while notification remains suspended.

On BU’s trail blazing etc. All of the pioneering should go ahead, and your principles if upheld are really good ones to see take shape. Many views are needed to make ideas whole. Often, good ideas come from unexpected and unwell come quarters, but that is why listening or its blog equivalent is important. Would you drown out a doctor because you did not like his diagnosis?

Frankness and honesty on the part of an administrator are to be applauded, as is even handedness. That honesty should not be shaded deliberately and if it is question should be confirmed and/or explained for all to see.

He or she is THE true arbiter and setter of tone. Of that I am convinced.

Not all need point in the same direction in a boat. Yet the boat’s course can still be clear.

10. s/b unwelcome (not unwell come)

11. To think that people are still commenting on BFP.

12. All dese ol’ men saying happy Birthday to Bonny.. I ain’ wha to do cause she might t’ink I up dey wid dem…! I be’er wiat till tamora..

13. Re Would you drown out a doctor because you did not like his diagnosis?

Frequently attempted on BU! LOL

14. So, Mr Porgie, the disease runs wild and the sick get no treatment. Usually, a sick patient heals faster if the doctor can get to help. Though in the Caribbean we like bush tea medicine and not those new fangled pills and things.

15. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy

anyone body who visits with a Doctor name Georgie Porgie really needs to be admitted. lol!

16. @Bonny Peppa
    You got all these strange men with bend wood saying happy birthday. Well I ain’t jealous cause the woods still bend, but i upset that I din’ know. What kind of wife you going to be?

Anyhow I forgive you and I wish you a Hot and Happy Birthday! Just save some pepper seeds for me.

17. Happy Birthday sweetie pooh!

May the Creator bless you daily! As you would say …….

luvs ya baddd!!!!!

18. An interesting set of challenges have arisen on this blog in recent days, but challenges are not new in the world. Persons who can think about them may want to see one person’s overview.

a. Is defamation possible on this blog? Yes: known and identifiable persons are subjected to statements that fall within legal definitions of defamation. The bone of the matter will boil down to showing ‘harm’, which may mean collecting evidence of ‘effects’ and then pointing to ’causes’.

b. Is posting as ‘Anonymous’ subject to defamatory remarks? This seems hard to uphold. Few know people are named Anonymous. How can any one ‘Anonymous’ claim that he/she was the target, except perhaps with the help of the date/time stamp? But the proof would be very hard. In a strange fashion, the administrator could help as he/she can identify IP addresses.

c. Is posting under multiple handles an issue? Maybe. Maybe not. One person can construct a whole thread. If that sounds far fetched, then I suggest you read a few books and plays, where one writer creates all the characters and develops their dialogue.

d. Are handles unique? This is a good one. Some commentators have complained in the past that comments attributed to their handles were not from them. More recently, we have seen contributors change handles at will (199/Bimbro, Adrian Hinds/Tall_Boy…). But is ‘David’ the same as ‘DAVID’? Who will say?

e. Is a contributor all that he/she appears to be? Not at all! WIV has been confused with HH: WIV denied strenously that he is HH, but still the accusations rain in. J was accused of being Kim Young and a ‘Kim Young’ claimed not to be ‘J’.

f. Do email addresses matter? Yes, if you want to subscribe to a post and easily follow the comments. But, creating e-mail addresses is child’s play and no laws prohibit their creation or any need for verification. So, if I assign (donaldduckATyahooDOTcom) to the handle above the only problem may be that if it is not my own address the messages will go to the wrong person. The administrator has disabled notification so e-mail addresses have become redundant for that purpose. They may still serve other purposes.

g. Is information being shared by the administrator with some contributors? There is circumstantial evidence to suggest he is. He has not responded, which may put the balance of suspicion on him, as it should have been easy to deny. That’s how it usually works in law.

h. Why did the administrator suspend notification? Some may feel that this was to stop the spread of material that could create legal trouble. But the problems had already arisen, so the suspension only mattered for new problem contributions. In addition, notification remained operating on some posts, and they have a few new problems in the remarks.

i. BFP has decided to go against its policy and link to a BU story for the latest contribution from Mr. Henry. I am not sure what that means beyond the single instance. I guess that the material gets spread more widely at least. They also interpret the BU actions in a number of ways that should ensure that love flows again between the two blogs.

So, quite a few things to wonder and ponder, and still more intrigue being created by the publication of material that seems borderline libellous or slander.

Some would call the creation of all that a good week’s work.

19. Living in Barbados,Oh dear man,you have now resorted to posting under the handle David?

What is your obsession with this Barbados Underground blog?

20. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Let see if I can bury David? comments before people wake up.

Has anyone yet read the BLP column? Has anyone digest the comments of Mia Mottley about freedom of speech, and her concerns? Do we recall this same person calling for regulations of the Blogs? A comment that turn my mind against the BLP as my choice in the last election? The change in positions of this person,which is apparently based on where they are in politics, is amusing. While a minister of government, and in a telephone converstation with Albert Brandford she threaten to sue if he continued to pursue the issue of homosexuality that surface in the national debate sparked by comments she made on the question of condoms in Prison. I believe that she may have gotten this far in politics in part due to the fear and intimidation Barbadians may feel with regards to her. It is difficult for me to refer to her as “dear leader” of anything which I believe canotes love and affection for someone. I instead think that “Feared Leader” may not be an inappropiate title given all that has been said about their achievements thus far, were they proven to be true. Now out of power, and as an opposition parliamentarian she now seems to be aware of Freedom of Speech, since she now claims that others are now engaging in what might have been attributed to her or her political party when they were the governing state party. Hypocrits? you decide.

21. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

IT WILL BE DIFFICULT TO PROVE GENUINE INJURY TO REPUTATION, WHEN THERE IS DOCUMENTED EVIDENCE THAT THE POTENTIAL PLAINTIFFS IN ANY SUIT BROUGHT AGAINST BU and or BFP BLOGGERS CAN BE FOUGHT AGAINST WITH EVIDENCE TO PROVE INTIMIDATION, MALICE, AND INTENT TO SILENCE.

Deputy PM has her Say
    July 19, 2006 ยท 14 Comments
    The Deputy Prime Ministerโ€™s call for a โ€œframework of accountabilityโ€ on our talk show programmes and internet blogs is most timely. The call was made during her address to the conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Associationโ€™s
    Caribbean,
    Americas and Atlantic Region currently in progress at the Hilton hotel.

Based on comments made to us by persons who care little for the political mud-slinging on these call-in programmes and in Letters to the Editor, Ms. Mottleyโ€™s comments are echoing their sentiments and deep concerns for the lack of accountability on these unregulated forms of public discourses that can have a direct impact on the kind of society we can become. We agree with the Deputy Prime Minister that the work of the conference should lead to a policy to reform the
    Westminster system so as to protect the credibility of our Parliaments.

This column (BLP NATION Column) has been relentless in calling for accountability on these call-in programmes for some time now. We feel strongly that in an era driven by technology of the kinds we see today, the information we put across our air waves will permanently form the basis of how the rest of the world sees us. Gone are the days when our call-in programmes were aired primarily at home and when our newspapers hardly made it out of the Country and region.

Today globe trotters like investors, social planners, economic advisors and even the criminal elements are using whatever medium at their disposal to help them understand the kind of society with whom they will be interacting. It is therefore critical that the criticisms we have of ourselves are constructive and reflective of the pride and patriotism that we should all have, first and foremost in our country and then in ourselves as a people.

To bear out the accuracy of Ms. Mottleyโ€™s call, the Advocate Newspaper of Wednesday, May 24, 2006 under the headlines โ€œWhat are some of the radio call-in programmes coming toโ€, writer Eric Griffith expressed some concern about the quality of information that is allowed to go on to our air-waves. He, like this column and Ms. Mottley, believes that outlets must be created for citizens to air their views. In fact he puts it this way, โ€œI am in favour of giving people opportunities to let off steam and to share their opinions with fellow citizens, but one should consider the message that is going out on the air-waves and what effect it might have on this countyโ€™s reputation in the eyes of othersโ€.

Mr. Griffith was at time referring to comments made by a caller to one of the call-in programmes which he described as offensive. The caller is reported to have said that the government was โ€œslow poisoningโ€ the people and Mr. Griffith felt that no self respecting radio station should have allowed such a comment to go abroad unchallenged. Recently, a number of persons have been expressing their disgust at the level to which the call-in programmes have been sinking and to be fair to David Ellis he has been making a valiant effort clean up the programme. He must be complimented.

Political parties will come and political parties will go but the institutions and pillars of our democracy which are the bedrock of our socio-economic and political stability must always be protected and held in the highest esteem for the rest of the world to see. These are the things for which Barbadians derive their respect and honour when they travel.

22. @AH
    I am not sure where you coming from… or are you simply highlighting the ridiculous?

23. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Libel chill

Libel chill is a classic tactic undertaken by an organization that wishes to silence its enemies. It consists of threatening to file libel actions that would be expensive to defend, not in order to win damages, but to prevent some truth from being revealed. A classic example from the Wikipedia mailing list is James Wales explaining how he intimidates others from filing claims against the Wikimedia Foundation:

“in order to file a legal action, he or she would have to reveal his or her true identity, which would then enable us to finally take legal action to permanently ban them from the website, as well as providing an opportunity for me to file a libel claim against him.” – Wales [1]
    In other words, any person who so much as contests the Wikimedia policies or donation strategies as being legal under the laws, even of their own country, is to be instantly intimidated and forbidden from responding even to comments about themselves. This would seem to restrict the right to libel to those who are part of the insider culture/sysop power structure who perform these “bans”.

In some countries, like Indonesia, libel chill is a powerful tool of oppression. There, as of August 2004, “three journalists face charges that could land them in jail for allegedly libeling a well-known Indonesian businessman.” – source IFEX [2].

Because of the nature of its work revealing corporate abuses, the Consumerium Governance Organization can expect to very often be the target of such chill. Hopefully it will not pre-emptively employ libel chill as Wikimedia does, but will have a proper legal strategy to avoid publishing libellous statements by contributors (but especially not by officers and directors, as often happens at Wikimedia), and another proper strategy to avoid using any self-escalating tactics like the above.

Yes. Initial plans are to use RCI to avoid libel suits.
    Retrieved from “http://develop.consumerium.org/wiki/Libel_chill”

24. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Indeed. Really I am just burying Anon’s foolishness with information pertinent the title of this thread.

25. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

As much as I want to see the DLP legislate ITAL, I also want changes to the Defamation act to deal with libel chill.

A chilling effect is a term in law and communication which describes a situation where speech or conduct is suppressed by fear of penalization at the interests of an individual or group. It may prompt self-censorship and therefore hamper free speech. Since many attacks rely on libel law, the term libel chill is also often used.[citation needed] This is the same concept as a Strategic Lawsuit Against Public Participation, or “SLAPP” suit.

In United States and Canadian law, the term chilling effects refers to the stifling attribute that vague or overbroad laws may have on legitimate speech activity. Recognition of a law that may permit a loophole for such chilling effect as a vehicle for political libel or vexatious litigation provides a prompt to allow changes to such defamation laws, and therefore prevent the suppression of free speech and censorship.[citation needed]

Truly if the Jamaican LIB would simply refrain from frequenting where he is not welcomed his name would not be mention for any reason or purpose.

26. @AH
    “I also want changes to the Defamation act to deal with libel chill… a situation where speech or conduct is suppressed by fear of penalization at the interests of an individual or group.”

Good point. If there is no such provision, then any legislation that would encourage free speech would be undermined if forced prevention of free speech is allowed.

Expensive litigation is a fallacy. You put me in court to try to prevent me from speaking freely because you think that the thought of having to hire a set of expensive lawyers is going to deter me? Well try that with a man who has nothing.

27. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Indeed, Thompson said that ITAL is coming and also changes to the defamation act. He had also said that he fears no one and what they have to say about him, and as such you would never hear of him putting people in court over foolishness as he has been subjected to primarily during election seasons. I believe him for I have tested this by attempting to research whether Tom Adams could be his Father. Let me add that although I was able to place Tom in close proximity to where Thompson was born in England, I could not prove anything conclusively. I do not know if Thompson was responding to me or if he thought it prudent as a result of my actions to publicaly deal with it but so he did. Thompson during the election and after, had public appearances with the man he Indentifies as his father. Since then there has not been any serious question about who is his father. He showed us all who that person is.

I think those changes to the defamation act will force those seeking public office to come clean as Sylvan says. Also remember that Thompson himself made mention of former Prime Minister Owen Arthurs marital and family situation, constrating Owens with his own. Image of our public officials will always matter to members of the public no matter how much said officials wish otherwise.

28. Adrian

The deputy prime minister Freundel Stuart is on record as saying that politicians and other public persons who want to enjoy the benefits of high office provided for by the people,should also be subjected to the scrutiny of the people and therefore should not seek to hide themselves behind the cloak of libel and stifle the public’s right to know or their right to speak out.

That is why I am looking forward to the change in the laws.

29. Adrian, you keep referring to a contributor who does not appear in this thread. Should any of this become subject to a legal action, which of the comments would you try to attribute to that non-present contributor? What if you were wrong and other persons argued that you were misrepresenting their views without good cause or evidence. Or do you have some evidence to share?

30. @AH
    I wonder what term would be used for these groundless threats of legal action. The term Libel Chill is not attractive at all. As a matter of fact, it should be illegal to even warn somebody that you “may” be taking legal action. You either take it or you don’t.

This does not preclude out of court settlement of course, but not if an action is not filed.

The next problem is, what would be the sanctions and more important what would be the process? For example, should a claim of threat nullify any action in a suit if it was found that a threat was intended?

Second, should a suit be put aside pending the outcome of a hearing into a threat?

31. @AH
    Good example of trying to muzzle free speech: The amount of threats and innuendo about libel and defamation suits is enough to stop some commenters from saying anything.

32. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

ROK

I believe that living in barbados is seeking to put the Fear of God in the hearts of commentators on this blog by threatening to sue,and dropping names like the IMF and others.

Was the ultimate aim to stop traffic to this blog site?

You can turn people off by many ways: petting fear in their hearts,blocking up a blogsite with innumerable posts so that other readers get turn off with the garbage,or you drop hints at something which may cause regulars to question the site adminstrator.

Something has to be wrong with someone whose attitude on the site is disliked intensely,who has the worst to say about some on this site,and threatens to sue,yet they can’t keep off the site.

Is there some mental problem there,is this person very lonely,or are they just looking for attention which they are not getting elsewhere.

Anytime you have to tell others who you know,where you went and who you met is evidence to me of someone suffering from an inferiority complex.

33. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

ROK:

Interesting. We have the ongoing debate about threats of violence vs. threats of exposure, the former clearly against the law the latter reliant on the intent to blackmail. To many, a threat is a threat whether it is of violence, exposure or to sue. One can argue that in all three harm to the recipient of the threat is the core intention. Some people do not respond to threats as intended by the issuer. Carol Martindale did not.

To whom it may concern, A Jamaican LIB, commentators, anons all.

I say again that it is folly to enter a place where you are no longer welcome by it’s regulars, pick a fight with its frequenters, and then run for the protection of the law. Don’t expect youself or your complaint to be taken seriously.

34. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

mash up & buy back // August 28, 2009 at 10:03 AM

ROK

I believe that living in barbados is seeking to put the Fear of God in the hearts of commentators on this blog by threatening to sue,and dropping names like the IMF and others.
    ————————————————–
    Even God may disown this idiot. Did Jamaica do so? ha ha ha ha

35. Adrian, you seem to be misled and misleading. David was already informed and so was the blog that a series of reviewers were looking at the threads; without notification things work a little more slowly.

Writing and thinking a particular way is not hard for a small group. The basic issues are clear to us and we try to tackle those, nothing else. Faulty logic is tackled along the way.

If you doubt the ease of style writing read the posts by Bimbro. Bonny Peppa. Gear Box and some others. It does not take much. What we have not yet worked out is how the switch from Bajan to standard is working: this is a tough task for people who are not well educated.

However, so that we can review what we have seen during the week, we will make this the last post for the day. Unless there are other questions.

Rushing to judgement is always hazardous. It’s done a lot here.

Finally, for clarity and correctness (so please review the thread before you rush ahead again), David introduced the fear. He took actions to seize up the blog. He decided to open another black box with the Hartley Henry post, which may make other things pale into insignificance (sorry Mr ROK, but somethings are not black and white).

36. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy Avatar

Adrian Hinds aka Tall_Boy // August 28, 2009 at 11:13 AM

Ricky George as you or may not know, I am one of those uneducated bajans. What the f&#@ are you talking about? who is reviewing what and for what purpose, and who is this โ€œusโ€ you speak off?

How do you figure that David introduce the fear? and that he took action to โ€œseizeโ€ (sic) up the blog? What is a black box and how does it describe the Hartley Henry post. Dude be a little more clear if you can?

maybe RG is yet another doppleganger of a Jam town LIB.

37. Mr Tall_Boy Hinds, Mr David’s opening words were ‘In [it?] has become apparent in recent months diabolical forces are working not in the interest of Barbados Underground.’ Dont you think that the idea of diabolical forces was meant to fill you with fear? Read again well the original posting.

38. @Adrian

Stay focused and do not get sidetracked

39. Who’s this bozo, Adrian? He write “To whom it may concern, A Jamaican LIB, commentators, anons all.

I say again that it is folly to enter a place where you are no longer welcome by itโ€™s regulars, pick a fight with its frequenters, and then run for the protection of the law. Donโ€™t expect youself or your complaint to be taken seriously.”

Some of us following without commenting for too long. LIB came to BU and offered good comments. Then people like you and Bimbro start to hurl abuse just because you hear he’s Jamaican or he have degrees and you whining you have none of that. You are such a hypocrite and twister of events. A fraud! And a snooper. People not safe with you around. Read your own posts, nuh. Wonder if you dont fall over your feet. Stop leaving yourself sitting pretty like some saint when you just a big pot stirer.

Thank you David. Set him straight nuh.

40. Boy tall people ain nuh joke Avatar
    Boy tall people ain nuh joke

David // August 28, 2009 at 2:32 PM

@Adrian

Stay focused and do not get sidetracked

————————————————
    Just back in from a fun filled day. David no need for the warning. I have no idea what this person or the one before are talking about. Their ramblings don’t make any sense to me, and when that occurs I either ask questions seeking clarification or I just move on. They like duh fuhget that duh dealing with an uneducated person and as such communication with me requires simple terms, and layman’s language. So I aint getting it and therefore aint feeling them. lol!

41. Man Adrian, let we done with this matter and move on, do….

Point made!
    Character exposed!
    David realizes what he is dealing with…
    Smart bloggers get it…

…if only the pathetic joker would just go away quietly…

42. ROK // August 28, 2009 at 9:44 AM

There are reasons for warning people that you intend to pursue legal action. It isn’t just sword-rattling – although that too.

First, people are sometimes acting in good faith and do not realize they may have exposed themselves to a legal action. Often, a letter warning them of the situation with a request that they remedy their error will end the matter, without clogging up the already over-crowded court system. Then the matter is over without endless costs from lawyers and years of litigation.

Second, if you do not warn them and just take action and they can prove that they were acting in good faith with no malicious intent, the courts may well take that into account and order each side to pay its own costs – so you don’t get your costs paid by the other side.

Third, the courts will make a negative inference if you just sue and make no attempt to resolve the matter without litigation.

These days, there are a lot of lawyers who recommend alternative dispute resolution, rather than going to court. The biggest advantage there is that the case tends to get heard in a far friendlier way and by a lawyer whose knowledge of law and experience is far greater than most judges on the bench. Judges get paid very little, you know. Arbitrators and very well paid.

Personally, as a defendant, my preference would be to receive a letter or phone call pointing out the error my ways and allowing me the chance, if I agree that I am in error, of putting the matter right. Most people are reasonable and would opt for this time and anxiety saving course of action.

As a plaintiff, I would prefer to write a letter or make a call pointing out my position and that way having the matter solved without going through the time-wasting and anxiety-producing – and extremely protracted – litigation.

There are other up-sides to writing the letter or making the call. 1. People generally will respect you more. 2. You stand a good chance of making (or keeping) friends with the very people who are at fault.

There are no down-sides to writing the letter or making the call. Your legal position is unharmed and, in fact, strengthened in the eyes of the courts.

One word of warning, however. If you are making an offer to settle, it should be marked “without prejudice” as, if you are forced to proceed to litigation, you do NOT want the courts to take into account what you might have been prepared to settle for.

43. BT Bush Tea // August 29, 2009 at 7:37 AM

I have been echoing similar words a few days ago.

Too much water has crossed over the bridge and all needs to get over it; be it by jumping, side stepping, or what ever it takes.

There have been more important posts added that readers can focus on.

44. Wiley Cayote, it is reassuring to see that there are others who see right through Adrian Hinds. One sick puppy.

45. It is good to be back. What have I missed? lol!

I will return to my old ways of not responding to anonymous and anons, and comments with new handles.

Bush Tea and Sap I am on board with your calls.

46. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

WileyCayote, could you please my friend Adrian, I enjoy his rants, me and the wife go into heaps of laughter at some of his comment, he is no pot boiler, nor is he a shit stirrer, he is simply just Adrian Hinds, tall boy.

47. U still a boy, Adrian?!!

48. Quoting Bush Tea // August 29, 2009 at 7:37 AM:
    He wrote”………โ€ฆif only the pathetic joker would just go away quietlyโ€ฆ”

I write……… As I remember it, this all started when a contributor to this blog asked for some libelous, slanderous remarks about himself be removed from the thread. This was not done. So how does this make him “pathetic”?
    The commenter at the time seemed to me to be making some very sound, pertinent observations to the “debate?”!

49. Should know better Avatar
    Should know better

LIB made some good points… not popular with some of the more… colorful members of the blog and as usual when that happens the argument goes to the gutter.

You know how it goes… if you can’t attack the argument attack the man making it.

50. Bimbro // August 29, 2009 at 12:10 PM

U still a boy, Adrian?!!
    ————————————————–
    I just got back from a playing Baskeball. At 40 + years playing wid 19/20 year olds and holding my own, I feel like a boy. ha ha ha lol!