The Thriller Album has sold the most copies in history.

The death of Michael Jackson yesterday brought home the realization that one of the greatest entertainers the world has ever seen was no more. Even for those who would not have been enamoured by his genre of music, gerri curls hair style which transformed to straight hair over the years, his eccentric behaviour which featured accusations of sexually molesting boys, all the negatives were forgotten when Michael Jackson the performer entered onto the stage.

To explain his eccentric lifestyle away from the stage many will cite his lack of a normal childhood combined with an undesirable father. His pre-teen performances as the lead singer, afro and all of the talented Jacksons 5 have created timeless and priceless memories for many. Music lovers may feel correct in believing the world may never see another entertainer in the same mould as the multi-talented Michael Jackson. The regard held globally for Michael Jackson can be judged when at the announcement of his death yesterday afternoon media houses around the world stopped regular programming to broadcast US news feeds of his passing.

BU would be dishonest if we did not highlight our disappointment with Michael Jackson through the years concerning how he neglected to use his iconic status to speak to issues of race. Some may say that his crossover appeal accounted in large part to his popularity. The question remains, could he have done more?

Michael Jackson despite his failings which only made him human has impacted people from all across the globe in a positive way. The genre of music, pop and R&B are known to appeal to its audience for a short time. Michael Jackson’s version of pop and R&B will live on.

May the King of Pop Rest in Peace.

1. Looka, I jes spen some mo uh my precious time reading mo bout dis nutter MJ an, believe me, the guy was a TOTAL nutcase and a disgrace! It’s also, doubtful wheather any of ‘his’ kids are really his!! Their mother denies it! The sooneer the black race can fuhget about he, the better!!

2. “Dave, how about an article on ‘the most important figures in history and why”

Anybody’s welcome to second this brilliant idea of mine! My only concern is wheather Dave could give us an excellent lead-in article to it, which I’m sure he could, really!!

3. Carry on smartly, 199, you are talking to yourself

4. Jealousy and resentment is a sad thing, but, typically Barbadian, as I’ve found on these blogs! Would like to be the no.1 would u, Themis!! Be my guest!!

5. Your criticism prompted me to take a look at your contribution, so far, and this is it!!

Themis // June 27, 2009 at 10:38 am

David, the duet with Paul Mc Cartney was “The Girl Is Mine”. Some of the comments on this thread are so typically Black Barbadian. No black man can succeed without something being wrong with him or unless he has done something wrong. Everyone must be reduced to our level of non-achievement for us to feel happy.

and what a jackass contribution it was too! Since my first responses, I’ve read a great deal more about Jackson and, it would be a saint who did n’t conclude he was insane, if not also, extremely evil!!

I’ll never be a MJ a**-licker!!

6. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o7mEQVWQgRA&hl=en&fs=1&]

Above all the accusations,you must admit he was talented..R.I.P.

7. freewilly, most people r talented in one way or another! See it in its true perspective, bro!!

8. @GP…….Again, as an MD, you should know that ALMOST all of life contains some degree of melanin, albeit, some at a HIGHER level than others. I’ve never referred to the caucasoid, nor the deaf as being amelonotic.

In MJ’s case, his harmonization of words, sound and movement was in the superlative..or in another realm. Can’t you give Jack[son] his jacket?

I can count the folk in that industry who impress me on one hand… both past and present and despite his [obvious confusion] he did impress me. He like millions of Blacks folk are confused simply because we live in a world where ‘whiteness/paleness/reduced melanin’ is the yardstick.

BTW….Do you know that his death was nothing more than a ritual sacrifice?!

9. One more question GP…..Do you think that MELANIN is of little significance to us ‘huemans?’

[Check that ‘freewilly’ video….do you see how he dances into the ‘moon walk’ and then goes right into a double 360…equilibrium…. in the ear…. while still being able to move without missing a beat].

10. That’s the thing I like about Barbadians!! They’ve such refine manners!! – NOT!!

11. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYJOWKfaODs&hl=en&fs=1&]

One of my favourite MJ songs.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hopi

I have read all that you have said…..but can you give me some references to read so that I can be as enlightened as you are about melanin?

13. Melanin or NO Melanin, Jackson gone to Hell, confirmed by that Guru Depack Chopa last night pun Larry King live, who said that Jackson had him spen a weekend with him, teaching to ‘Meditate’ on WHAT?

Cosmic consiousness, abstract nothingness, which then opens up the ‘mind’ soul to even more ‘Demons’ to come in and take further control, just waiting for the ‘Heart’ to fail one day, then INTO TO HELL, where Satan and his host torment you forever!

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hopi
    I must confess that I know very little about, nor did I care very much about MJ or his music. I have tended not to worship ANY man anywhere.

Today in the meeting as one brother reflected on the idolatry of the world at this time, one brother was moved to call the song immediately below, another brother called the Fanny Crosby song below that. I hope that these songs will be a blessing to many to day, as they think of the brevity of life and the lesson of Genesis 5- the obituary or grave yard chapter

If I gained the world, but lost the Savior,
    Were my life worth living for a day?
    Could my yearning heart find rest and comfort
    In the things that soon must pass away?
    Would my gain be worth the lifelong strife?
    Are all earthly pleasures worth comparing
    For a moment with a Christ-filled life?

Had I wealth and love in fullest measure,
    And a name revered both far and near,
    Yet no hope beyond, no harbor waiting,
    Where my storm-tossed vessel I could steer;
    Who endured the cross and died for me,
    Could then all the world afford a refuge,
    Whither, in my anguish, I might flee?

O what emptiness!—without the Savior
    ’Mid the sins and sorrows here below!
    And eternity, how dark without Him!
    Only night and tears and endless woe!
    What, though I might live without the Savior,
    When I come to die, how would it be?
    O to face the valley’s gloom without Him!
    And without Him all eternity!

O the joy of having all in Jesus!
    What a balm the broken heart to heal!
    Ne’er a sin so great, but He’ll forgive it,
    Nor a sorrow that He does not feel!
    If I have but Jesus, only Jesus,
    Nothing else in all the world beside—
    O then everything is mine in Jesus;
    For my needs and more He will provide.

Fanny Crosby was talking to one of her neighbors, who complained bitterly of his poverty. “If I had wealth I would be able to do just what I wish to do; and I would be able to make an appearance in the world.”

Fanny replied, “Well, take the world, but give me Jesus.” She was here inspired by her own words to write a hymn with that title.

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
    All its joys are but a name;
    But His love abideth ever,
    Through eternal years the same.

Sweetest comfort of my soul;
    With my Savior watching o’er me,
    I can sing though billows roll.

Let me view His constant smile;
    Then throughout my pilgrim journey
    Light will cheer me all the while.

Take the world, but give me Jesus.
    In His cross my trust shall be,
    Till, with clearer, brighter vision,
    Face to face my Lord I see.

Refrain
    Oh, the height and depth of mercy!
    Oh, the length and breadth of love!
    Oh, the fullness of redemption,
    Pledge of endless life above!

15. Yes, Jackson’s death was a ‘ritual’ sacrifice to SATAN, who controlled his life from beginning to End, for he will give you fame and fortune, as he has done with White’s, Blacks, and every other Colour under the sun, BUT, one day the enemy of all of us, SATAN, unless, Christ is allowed in our lives, will take you into his kingdom, everlasting torment and eternal misery, in conscious existence, FOREVER.

Such is the price we pay for rejecting God’s Love extended to all of us in Jesus Christ!

16. I now understand why you’re such fans of MJ!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2505693/The-shock-findings-of-the-Michael-Jackson-autopsy.html

I’ll stick with normal!!

17. For someone who dislikes MJ….199 has the most posts about the man…..hmmmm!!
    Now he posts a sleazy tabloid excerpt….only our own kind can stoop this low….a real life house negro!!

18. @ Technician

You worship MJ so much that you object to 199 posting an article that probably tells the truth. LOL

How does 199 become a house negro. Thought slavery was done. LOL

19. I am now convinced, 199 and ‘Right On’ needs psychological help

20. @ Anon…..

I worship no man under the sun guy/gal…however I give credit where credit is due and I admire the man for who he was as an entertainer (the best the world has seen).
    He is dead now..let him rest!!

How 199 becomes a house negro?……you must be new to this blog lol!!
    Slavery is still alive and kicking…..look around.

21. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199;” Anyway, is n’t this a complete turn-around for u, the rasta-loving, loving all-things-black, black man, now to be supporting a man who clearly was ashamed of being black!! I’d have much more regard for him if he had n’t been so ashamed!!
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    M.J was a big artist and an eccentric peronality, probably with a lot of issues in his life.
    One may been his skin and race, and he was rich enough(and mad) to do something with it.
    The funny thing is that it is no whites in the world with a nose like he got, yes noone with that look.
    I simply see it as a kind of art or decorating or trying to become something new.
    He looked like a cartoonfigure or Peter Pan in the end of his carriere, and i think that is closer to the thruth, than that he was ashamed of his origins.

If a white person do so much plastic operations that he doesn`t look like himself at all, he is just tired of his look or wanna hide.
    If a black person does the same,he is ashamed of being a negro…
    I think we lay too much in this.

Let Michael rest in peace now and let us thank him for the joy and music he after all gave us through all the years.

22. Technician // June 29, 2009 at 6:40 am

For someone who dislikes MJ….199 has the most posts about the man…..hmmmm!!

Tech, ur so silly!! I trying my best to steer u onto d right path!! I don’t recall saying that I hate him (as opposed to your claiming that I do) but I could sympathise with anybody who said they did for the shame of his own race which he displayed! Note that, he ‘paid for it in the end’!! – with his life!! Dat’s enough proof fuh me!!

There’s nothing sleazy about the article which is reproduced today in a million newspapers in one way or another! Please stop talking crap, Tech!!

You’re so right Anonymous! Tech is a right little idiot!!

Technician // June 29, 2009 at 9:09 am

@ Anon…..

I worship no man under the sun guy/gal…however I give credit where credit is due and I admire the man for who he was as an entertainer (the best the world has seen).

Tech, ‘the best the world has seen’?!! Matter of opinion and I don’t agree! There are/have been many great entertainers in this world, why should he b ranked ‘the best’!! You’re obscessed! Why, e.g. should he be better than Marley!! One day, I caan imagine when, u gun learn to stop talking arrant, foolishness!!

“and i think that is closer to the thruth, than that he was ashamed of his origins”.

PBG, u trying to mek excuses fuh he now but I in mekkin nun!! He was a brilliant musician but a disgrace, as a black man!! I in mekkin nuh sport wid e!!

“If a white person do so much plastic operations that he doesn`t look like himself at all, he is just tired of his look or wanna hide.
    If a black person does the same,he is ashamed of being a negro…
    I think we lay too much in this.”

PBG, u show me d white person who turn duh skin black an I will begin tuh give yur remark sum thought!! Steupse!! P, u jes mekking excuses!! u know it, I know it, and everybody know it!!

Inspite uh all dat, I acknowlege he had a cherubic-voice, rather like my Rihanna!! but, fealty tuh yuh race is more important dan all dah!!

Tank u very much!!

Ok, I tink I gun have tuh admit I mus be obscess wid Rihanna, jes she voice u onstan!! nutten else!! I wish I had a handsome son of suitable age fuh she, den duh could get marry and all I would deman is jes dat she sing at lease one song fuh me every single day!! D res I doan k bout, at all!! Better than MJ, to my taste!! I think MJ appeals to a younger audience whereas Rihanna’s appeal is across-the-board!! 🙂

23. partly bajan girl Avatar
    partly bajan girl

199;I dont excuse Michael Jackson for destroying his nice young apperance with cosmic surgery, but maybe the issue wasn`t about RACE and shame,
    but more about wanting to have a smaller nose, no matter of political extremists as you?
    The whole family fixed their noses, by the way.

What abot Rihanna then, who appears in different videos with sleeker hair than a eskimo?
    Why is that ok?

24. P, I submitted a reply before which appears to have got lost, somewhere! Perhaps, Dave could trace it but, basically, Jacko did n’t just alter his nose but everything!! They seem one hell of a strange family, altogether and, Ri can do whaever she like as long as she keeps singing so sweetly, as long as she does n’t change her colour!!

25. Mind u, they ARE Jehovah’s witnesses!!

26. Negroman, ya had ma crying. “Michael was born a black man and died a white lady”. Dat is a classic. But oh so true.

199, you’re amusing as usual. I’m enjoying you. Devil.

Can’t remember laffin’ dis much lately.

My dearest HOPI…………….(smooches)

27. Hi Bonny, Michael does mek me laugh!! I don’t know how familiar u r with is songs but when I hear ‘BAD’, I usually substitute d word mad and thus!!

I’m mad, I’m mad, u know it, u know, Don’t u know I’m mad, I’m mad, u know it, u know, etc!!

I think it makes the song sound better!! 🙂

28. An so true!! 🙂

29. ….Ri can do whaever she like as long as she keeps singing so sweetly, as long as she does n’t change her colour!!

Too late 199….if only you knew her from Bim (shit…you havent been back in decades….my bad). She is about 10 shades lighter now.LMAO!!

30. @ Party Bajan girl, Why attack MJ and Rihanna about lightening skin colour and straightened hair respectively? Well then I take it that you may attack Bajan women by abusing bleaching creams and synthetic false hair (weave) .Most false hair are straight , hence they are just as guilty as MJ and Rihanna. There is a name to describe you and 199..HYPOCRITES

31. Socialist
    But while Rihanna was born lightskinned and pretty-eye,(como el padre) I think that MJ was trying desperately be ‘white”. The MJ I grew up with (we share birthdays, only a year separate us either way) was born blackskinned and with a big broad nose and knotty hair. He changed his nose, chin and Lord knows what else. He seemed to hate the skin he was born in. That is most unfortunate. Money seems to make them crazy or foolish.
    I smile too when I see Bajan girls looking all ‘white ‘ with their borrowed-hair and flinging it all over the place. They too are a sorry lot. And some seem to love it long long long like Rapunzel’s.
    Bonny is a ‘bald-head” diva and de young fellas too love to call me, ‘my sexy bald head frien’. Some young enuff to be my children. (chuckle chuckle).
    I preferred MJ when he was Michael Jackson, whatever that was he became, I couldn’t stand to look at it. Pitiful.

32. Wrong Tech! I’ve seen pics of her from back then and she does n’t look very different, now!!

Socialist, you must be new!! If u knew how much I’ve condemned black, Bajan women and other black women pun hay fuh doing dah foolishniss an straightening duh hair and d nuf criticism I get from people like Technician an excuses from people like PBG, u would be astonish man!! I in fuh dum straightening duh hair!! I want dum to be proud of dere wonderful african hair and wear afros!! If I wus PM of Bim every cheese-on- bread black woman would have to wear an afro or fine duhselfs in prison! So, u see, I in d one who’s d hypocrite hay, it’s mo people like Technician!! – who even claim to be a rasta!! Can u imagine, a rasta an he’s in favour of a man an women, bleaching duh skin!!

Lord!! dat’s a new one, tuh me boa!!

Bonny, u tell Socialist babe!! The only criticism I ha1ve to make of u is for going bald, unless it’s for a genuine reason such as genuine hair loss!! Bonny, I can’t imagine making love to a bald-headed woman!! I just can’t imagine it!! Please re-grow your natural hair, if at all possible into a lovely afro!! I’m sure the guys would still love u. You’re just the right kind of age for me and might even strike it lucky with me!! How do u fancy a handsome, rich, black Englishman!! Please let me know in your next post!! Bonny, how can I run my fingers through your hair, if you’re bald?!! I in a lover fuh nutten!!

33. There was and excellent show on BET last night where the recipients of the several awards paid glowing tribute to the King of Pop.

On another note, imagine you are a young adult and you are worth millions with the kind of childhood MJ had, nobody to tell you comeback…

34. LOL……..

So, u see, I in d one who’s d hypocrite hay, it’s mo people like Technician!! – who even claim to be a rasta!! Can u imagine, a rasta an he’s in favour of a man an women, bleaching duh skin!!

Where on BU has Technician ever claim to be Rasta??
    I dare you to show me the post!!
    Put up or shut up!!
    I live my life close to Rastafari lifestyles but I am yet to become one, however what a man does with his life is between him and the Father. I dislike the Gay lifestyle but it is their choice who am I to judge as long as it does not affect me cool.
    I do not believe in religion but have respect for GP and his views.
    I care nothing about politics but dont hate politicians….you get my vibes yet?!?
    You live up in England surrounded by the very people you despise so much, I doubt you will have 10 people at your funeral …excluding the undertaker and workers.
    You need to live man…livety, consciousness, brotherly…hey…you never know.

The stone that the builder refuse shall be the head cornerstone.
    Think about it…..Fire pun 199!!
    Now…back to treating you like the dog shit on the side walk!!
    Namaste!!

35. So true David.

36. [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ol6kPeFjdo&hl=en&fs=1&hd=1]

37. Pulled out my Off the Wall album today. Cant find my Thriller nor my Bad. Gotta keep looking in case someone ‘borrowed’ them….

I loved the man when he was black. After he became white, I had no respect for him as a person but still enjoyed his music.

I think he is now in heaven as he surely lived in Hell here on earth.

38. Pat

Are you saying that folk who lived in Hell here on earth will all go to heaven? Or is this only true for entertainers?

39. 199,
    Can’t remember when last I laughed til’ I cried. You are indeed something else. Dis blog would be ‘dead’ without you. Trust me. You just don’t give a rat’s ass. Afro hairstyle won’t suit me a’ tall. My hair is like de indo-guyanese humbugs we have ’bout hay man. Trust me, you ‘wood’ love my bald-head. And yes, I would fancy a handsome, rich Black Englishman. Is that your brother or your cousin you’r describing? (tee-hee).

Technician,
    You had me cryin as usual. You don’t think dat 199 would be able to get not even 10 people at his funeral. Dat baddd. I luv um.

40. But are those children really Michael’s Jackson’s children?

Has anybody done any DNA tests on these children?

41. Negroman wrote “Michael Jackson is an unique person.He is the onliest person who was born as Black man and died as a White lady.”

Why while lady? Why not white women? Are do you think that all white people are ladies and gentlemen instead of being just men and women

42. Doctors have confirmed that MJ had a skin problem, now we are hearing he had lupus.

43. David, I sorry tuh c dat u making excuses fuh he, too!! He din remain a chile furever and grew up enuf to become a father so he should have learnt right from wrong by the age of 50!! Please stop making excuses fuh he Dave, it sets a bad example!!

“I care nothing about politics but dont hate politicians….you get my vibes yet?!? ”

All I can say is dat u very confuse, Tech!! Such a shame fuh a potentially, talented young man!! Tech, u worried bout d no. of people who gun b at your funeral!! LOL!! Dah is d las ting I worried bout, boa!! I has lots mo tings to keep my pretty, little head occupy to worry bout such foolishniss! Who want to come, come an who doan want to – well, dat’s a matta fuh dem!! Jes as long as d good lord welcome me into his loving arms!! Then, I’ll know that everything has been justified!!

Pat, I largely agree with u but think he’s in hell. He lived a hellish life and has gone deeper into that pit!!

Hi Bonny, I see!! You’re a Guyanese-girl, r u?!! That’s ok, sweets, but would n’t u look even nicer with your hair?!! Would n’t like to try growing it, again?!! The Englishman?!! No, sweets!! That’s me, not my brother or cousin – and, sophisticated, too!! The only problem is dat I like hair, so your baldness would b a problem!! I don’t know how to get around dat one!!

J, I told u all earlier, hay, dat dem in e chilren!! D whole ting is jes one big mess, tanks to de honorable (or shoud that be, the horrible) Mr MJ!! an, I doubt whether the poor children will ever get to find out who their true parents are!! A disgrace!!

Interesting point about Negroman, J!! D only thing I wonder is how Negroman know so good!! U din have a personal, relationship wid e, did u, Negroman?!!

Thanks Bonny, luvvy!! Speak soon!!

44. Dave, I all in favor of free speech as u know, but, sometimes I think u allow Technician to go too far with his insults!! I, would n’t dream of using some of the language which emanates from his filthy, rastafarian-mouth, such as yesterday! I think u need to discipline the child!!

45. What’s become of our friend, Scout?!! I miss him and rely on him for my moral-rearmament!! cause I doan get nun in dis god-fursaken country hay, duh does call, Inglen!!

46. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

“Socialist // June 29, 2009 at 4:05 pm

@ Party Bajan girl, Why attack MJ and Rihanna about lightening skin colour and straightened hair respectively? Well then I take it that you may attack Bajan women by abusing bleaching creams and synthetic false hair (weave) .Most false hair are straight , hence they are just as guilty as MJ and Rihanna. There is a name to describe you and 199..HYPOCRITES”

”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

Answer:Socialist;I find blacks buying bleaching creams and false hair quite funny, but everyone can do what they want for me, if it makes them more happy and successfull in todays society.
    If you read the earlier nonsence between me and 199, you will get a better understanding of the situation.
    I think it is hypocratic myself to hazzle lay people,while famous blacks can manipulate their looks without any critics.
    (When we see it from 199`s view…)

Yesterday i saw a photo of the Chris Brown-trial. Rihanna in conservative clothes and with her nice, sleek hair.
    I was thinking, that maybe she was easier to see as a victim, the more “white” and conservative she looked?
    Anyway, we come back to the old ,bajan colour hirarchy from slavetimes here, where “fakewhite” and black isnt as appealing to men as coloured women with a certain amount of white blood in them.
    Or am I wrong?
    And what message do you think it sends to a ebony black, bajan woman; that she looks ridiculous with her anticurled or donkeyhair look and bleaching cream tratment, while Rihanna is beautiful, beautiful because she appearantly has a lot of irish blood?
    Is mulatto-women still more desireable
    for bajan men?

47. Partly bajan girl Avatar
    Partly bajan girl

199 // June 29, 2009 at 5:42 pm

Quote;”How do u fancy a handsome, rich, black Englishman!! Please let me know in your next post!! Bonny, how can I run my fingers through your hair, if you’re bald?!! ”
    ””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

199; maybe you can run your fingers through her beaver instead?:-))

48. 199 // June 30, 2009 at 3:01 am

Dave, I all in favor of free speech as u know, but, sometimes I think u allow Technician to go too far with his insults!! I, would n’t dream of using some of the language which emanates from his filthy, rastafarian-mouth, such as yesterday! I think u need to discipline the child!!

RLMAO!!!

de pot callin’ de kettle black…….lord come fa ya world!!
    Insults??
    Read Lickmout’ Lou if you want to write in Bajan dialect, yours is a poor excuse for it and really sucks.Ya wanna be Bajan !!
    I doubt you know what a yellow meat breadfruit is. Coming on this blog pretending to know Bim….run ‘way!!
    What rich Englishman what!! You live in a flat surrounded by Pakistani who dusts their carpet and block out your daylight, the only friends you have are in cyberspace (WTF)….you need to live man…..get busy living or get busy dying.
    This is BU …not your failed blog where you controlled the postings. You dont ever want to see me go far…trust me!!

49. But tell the lords truth!! how do u good people manage in dah Bajan heat day after day after day!! I jes went out fuh about an hour hay in London where the temperature mus be bout 30 degrees today and boy, I felt like I wus gonna die of sun-stroke!! I rush back in an shave off all muh hair straightaway! I could sympathise wid my fren Bonny, although I doan tink dat’s d reason why she’s bald!! Jus how do u all manage?!!

Man, I could n’t live in Bim again!! because uh d heat!!