The Thriller Album has sold the most copies in history.

The death of Michael Jackson yesterday brought home the realization that one of the greatest entertainers the world has ever seen was no more. Even for those who would not have been enamoured by his genre of music, gerri curls hair style which transformed to straight hair over the years, his eccentric behaviour which featured accusations of sexually molesting boys, all the negatives were forgotten when Michael Jackson the performer entered onto the stage.

To explain his eccentric lifestyle away from the stage many will cite his lack of a normal childhood combined with an undesirable father. His pre-teen performances as the lead singer, afro and all of the talented Jacksons 5 have created timeless and priceless memories for many. Music lovers may feel correct in believing the world may never see another entertainer in the same mould as the multi-talented Michael Jackson. The regard held globally for Michael Jackson can be judged when at the announcement of his death yesterday afternoon media houses around the world stopped regular programming to broadcast US news feeds of his passing.

BU would be dishonest if we did not highlight our disappointment with Michael Jackson through the years concerning how he neglected to use his iconic status to speak to issues of race. Some may say that his crossover appeal accounted in large part to his popularity. The question remains, could he have done more?

Michael Jackson despite his failings which only made him human has impacted people from all across the globe in a positive way. The genre of music, pop and R&B are known to appeal to its audience for a short time. Michael Jackson’s version of pop and R&B will live on.

May the King of Pop Rest in Peace.

1. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

David… I believe it was Stevie Wonder who performed ‘Ebony & Ivory’ with Paul McCartney.

2. Thanks MME for the correction, there is a duet which we want to highlight but cannot recall right at the minute.

3. Straight talk Avatar

Do we marvel at Monet’s interpretations of light upon water, or think about his tangled private life?

Brilliant, mould breaking entertainer, and that’s for which he should be remembered.

His art transcends the rumours of perversion, and that is the memory that will endure.

4. The BU household like many have followed Michael Jackson’s career through the years.

Now we hear about his addiction to prescription drugs.

What are we missing?

Why discuss now?

5. Michael Jackson was an outstanding Black person in his younger days.I grew up enjoying his music.I remembered partying to his music especially his album “Thriller” in the 1980’s.

I however became annoyed with Michael Jackson in his later turbulent years when he went through a transformation and denounced his blackness and tried to become white and to live a white life.

I lost all respect for Michael Jackson when he disrespected his African ancestry and adopted the the White man image.He became a total freak.

Michael Jackson is an unique person.He is the onliest person who was born as Black man and died as a White lady.

6. “all the negatives were forgotten when Michael Jackson the performer entered onto the stage.”

Dave, u may have forgotten them which does n’t prove the rest of us did!!

“To explain his eccentric lifestyle away from the stage many will cite his lack of a normal childhood combined with an undesirable father”.

Dave, wha proof do u or anybody else have that his dad was “an undesirable father”!! So, what if e cut e ****side every now and then. That was par for the course in our day!! If u ask me, Michael was just looking for sympathy when he made those remarks! The world would probably never have heard of The Jackson Five and Michael Jackson, if it was n’t for his father as I’m not aware of any particular interest in music being manifested by his mother! If it’s a black man then you can rest assured he’ll be criticised, sometimes, even by his own children, even after he’s succeeded in making them into untold-successes!! Watch out for other similar instances!! It’s gutless and degenerate and, the way this world is, no more than to be expected!!

“The regard held globally for Michael Jackson can be judged when at the announcement of his death yesterday afternoon media houses around the world stopped regular programming to broadcast US news feeds of his passing”.

Dave, to me dis is d biggest non-news-worthy event of the year, so far!! A man who was so ashamed of his black background, he even allegedly, dyed his skin, white!! I don’t believe the ‘skin disease’ explanation, at all! Is that why he had facial surgery, too!! In fact, as a consequence, many will see him as a traitor to his race!!

I would prefer to know the price of flying-fish an snapper, in d Oistins fish-market!!

“The question remains, could he have done more”?

Dave, do u believe that, outside of music, he had a brain?!! Well, all I can say is that, I did n’t see much evidence of it!!

Dave, he wus an ‘odd-ball’, who hated himself, his own people and probably even his own family, for being black!! Do we need such ‘heros’ again!! You must decide!!!!

7. David // June 27, 2009 at 1:27 am

The BU household like many have followed Michael Jackson’s career through the years.

Now we hear about his addiction to prescription drugs.

What are we missing?

Why discuss now?

Dave, please don’t blame yourself!! You’re no different from millions of black people who don’t look below the surface!!

Appearances are everything!!

8. Michael Jackson probably did more good, for at least two generations of black children than any jet black entertainer. He set the standard many aspire to but few ever reach.
    Music lovers appreciated his music and accepted him for what he was. Most of us could only dream of possessing such talent.
    While Thriller was his #1 album, Off The Wall, is my favourite and better IMHO.
    May he rest in peace.

9. Is that the reason for the flowing-locks, too?!! LOL!! Look, leh me res myself, do!!

10. Michael Jackson is an unique person.He is the onliest person who was born as Black man and died as a White lady.

Well said, Negroman!! An achievement, indeed, hopefully, to remain unequalled!! Otherwise, my only wish now is for you to become a fully-fledged, black man instead of jes a Negroman!! 🙂

11. Dave, I miss those smiley, likkle, round, yellow-faces which u used to have, years ago!! Can we have them back?!!

12. Michael Jackson, a great entertainer is with us no more; that he brought great joy to millions is beyond doubt. I do not know and perhaps never will, the reasons for what some consider his strange behaviour.

His alleged misdemeanours are only allegations, he was acquitted of wrong-doing in a court of Law.

Perhaps he was no more flawed that any of us, but he had the public’s microscopic examination of his life.

He came into this world as one of our own a – brother – and so he departs, no cosmetic hiatus can change that.

May he rest in peace.

13. The big story to be told now should come from the undertaker. I want to know if wacko/Jacko died with all his potent physical apparatus ( his male weapon) in tact, or was the plumbing altered like other parts of his body?
    I can’t imagine me being in his position and all these beautiful women like Diana Ross etc could pass my way and not excite my heads.
    Having children through the use of a syringe. Now the bought silence of those boys – now adults – he allegedly played with will see new best seller books on Amazon. Lookout for the book deals.

14. @David……Come on man. Out of all the excellence put by Michael, this is the only piece you could find for a tribute, a bunch of chinese jailbird trannies? Dishonourable!

Anyhow, Michael is a perfect eg. of the evil dominance of the white world, one in which he constantly moved. Sad to see that he could not look at the MAN IN THE MIRROR and see a black man who should be proud of his melanin, because after all, it was that melanin that produced that rhythmic, musical genius, who will always be imitated but never duplicated. Too bad he could not find love with a sister.

The same evil white media which built him up also tore him down with ALL unproven allegations, some of which he was ill-advised to pay so that they would just go away and, and others which he RIGHTLY decided to stand up and fight against. This is the same media that NEVER covers the evil doings of those in “HIGH” places, the evil doings like child rape and eventual child sacrifice that is very prevalent in the political and religious echelons of this ‘civilized’ society. And on and on…..No ocean could cleanse the crimes from the hands of the ‘establishment.’

Too bad he had to conform to the point where he lost himself. No matter what you do or have ‘achieved’ they will NEVER love you because the beast knows no love. All it will do is temporarily accept you to vulturise and leech off you until there’s no more blood to be had. That’s the nature of the beast. The end of Michael reinforces my thinking everyday that the Black Man needs to separate from the white man. Despite the lies they spew from their media houses and their pulpits, we are two completely different creatures. [And the house negroes amongst us must stop aiding in our destruction by doing the devil’s dirty work.]

They also took out another GREAT one, Bob Marley.

The Ancestors await you.

Hotep!

And in the meantime, let us not be distracted from the ‘real’ evils that’s being perpetrated upon Iran now by external forces, in order to destabalise it, so that they can ransack it like they did Iraq. Let’s not take our eyes off Pakistan and the fact the BaRat Obama had silently declared war on that sovereign nation. Let’s not take our eyes off the fact that they are still at war in Iraq, killing the innocents and calling it suicide bombings, while the western oil vultures have returned to their prey. Let’s not take our eyes off the fact that the whorehouse known as the US Congress is still whoring.

And to BaRat, they’ll use you and then throw you to the wolves like they do with all the other Blacks that they set in ‘HIGH’ places.

“Building church and university, deceiving the people continually, graduating thieves and murderers.”

Black people, let us awaken from our sleepless slumber, because we are in a constant state of war with this predator Beast!

Hotep!

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

I am sorry to go off topic, but this morning around 3.00 a. m. I watched in horror as two houses were burned to the ground and another one severely damaged. This took place in Eagle Hall just behind the Roxy Supermarket.

One home was owned by a long time strong supporter of the DLP. Please help ALL the unfortunate people involved if you can.

Anyone who can help in anyway please call: 429-9507

16. @boredickey

Don’t you think that it is a good bet that a child having to perform from 5 years old to the world may get the plot wrong in your eyes?

17. @David……..Thank you!

18. Sorry David, but I don’t make those kind of excuses. As far as I can remember he was raised in church, which means his parents were trying to do the correct thing. Each one being an individual, he was one of the sickolas out there.
    But he was a genius otherwise, don’t get me wrong.
    So was Phil Spector and where is he today???????????
    Let’s not let fame and fortune cloud our minds.

19. David, the duet with Paul Mc Cartney was “The Girl Is Mine”. Some of the comments on this thread are so typically Black Barbadian. No black man can succeed without something being wrong with him or unless he has done something wrong. Everyone must be reduced to our level of non-achievement for us to feel happy.

20. There can be NO, may he ‘Rest in Peace’ unless, Jackson had a personal, redeeming relationship with Jesus Christ; just like Presley, ( a white man) who ended his life the same way, did the ‘white’ establishment do this to Elvis too? Did the ‘white’ beast also ruin all the others, Dean Martin, who ended us sitting in bars all alone, this utter nonsense about ‘Colour’ has no bearing on the ultimate destiny of either ‘Heaven’ or ‘Hell’ we decide that based on what we do, regardless of colour, Jesus is the only way, to ‘Rest in Peace”

21. @boredickey

You are entitled to your opinion but commonsense suggests that Michael Jackson had a turbulent childhood. The rest is history.

22. accepted

23. Yes, David!! But one does n’t remain a child forever!! Please doan make that an excuse!! I read today he thought that god was punishing him!! Well, I in gun argue wid dat!!

24. Siblings have different personalities and so they react and handle identical situations in different ways. To me, this was obvious in MJ’s case based on interviews which at times he seemed hesitant to talk about his upbringing. IMO, MJ was a child in a man’s body. He did not seem to get over his childhood abuse by his father, and like some other children did not let go even as he grew into manhood. Nonetheless, he was gifted enough to make music and entertainment his life. In recent years it seemed to me that he was an unhappy person and might have been for many reasons which may or may not be disclosed.

I believe that his musical legacy will without a doubt overshadow the allegations, controversies, etc.

@199 // June 27, 2009 at 2:53 am
    The forms of abuse by the Jackson’s father were not only mentioned by MJ. It was repeated over and over by siblings when asked at interviews. When the father was asked about the beatings and other allegations he never denied them; he would either be evasive or make an excuse. However, I do believe that most parents, be they from the Caribbean, USA, etc., during those days only knew of one way (their number one way) to discipline, and that was by beating their children. It is believed by some people that MJ’s father went beyond. Right or wrong, it’s all in the past. “Backward Never, Forward Ever.”

@199 // June 27, 2009 at 2:53 am
    You may be correct in your assumption that the world might not have known about the Jackson 5 or MJ had not for his father. But, I think had not for their talents, they would not have reached stardom.

Food for thought… @ 199
    Do you think there was exploitation of the children, especially of MJ by the father? Just curious of your reponse.

25. Btw, there is going to be many embellished stories all over the map, where some will be blown way out of proportion.

I think we should sieve through and compare what was reported throughout the years and what is being said since his passing.

I must add that if MJ had received some of the accolades during his life that are currently being spoken by many of his friends, etc., things might have been different and we would not be having the same discussion.

26. Sapidillo, MJ strikes me as being an ungrateful little weirdo – ungrateful for all his dad did for him!! I don’t recall him moaning about his dad until his career reached its peak and he was on the way down!! Basically, probably a move to garner sympathy and boost his record sales!! Put it dis way Saph, ‘I in got a lot uh time fuh e, at all’!! Sang like an angel though!!

27. But dat doan gih he nuh right to b an android!!

28. Rihanna, excels over all of them!! Also, sings like an angel whilst being perfeckly normal!! Could n’t want for better!!

29. Our favourite song by the King of Pop:

30. 199 // June 27, 2009 at 11:40 am
    I am convinced that you are not serious about some of the comments you make. Could it be that you post looking for attention, to play devil’s advocate, or better yet to be controversial which at times could lead to healthy discussions.

Now, if I recall correctly, it was one of MJ’s sisters, I think LaToya (stand to be corrected on name) when interviewed by the media she spilled the beans of what went on while they were growing up; she is the one that brought the family’s inside life to light.

MJ in previous interviews did not rattle out the father; he mostly talked about his not being able to play outside or with other kids and about his singing and the entertainment field. Then in following interviews when he was pressed by the media which could have been because of his sister’s telling, he spoke more confirming his sister’s story. MJ speaking out about his father was NOT when “he was on his way down,” as you have stated.

31. Sap! Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee???????????

Controversial?!!!! I would never dream of being such a ting!! Sap, did she/they accuse him of having sex wid dem?!! I doan tink so!! Did she/they accuse him of starving them?!! I doan tink so!! So, wha all d fuss is about?!! As I explained to you before, and you must know, if you’re Barbadian, a few slaps an a good cut-**s was par for the course for our black youngsters in those days!! People doan complain about being forced to take piano lessons, do they?!! but, a black man trains his children to be one of the greatest pop groups of all time whilst producing one of the greatest solo artists of all time and, all on a sudden, he’s a criminal!! Steupse, I caan listen to dem, man!!

As fuh de Latoya one!! Some fool mussee, sometime, lie tuh she an tell she dat she pretty!! It wus a lie!! Yuh heard anyting bout she ‘singing’, recently?!! an dat, wus d udder lie!! dat she can sing!!

Sap, he would n’t uh wanted to play outside wid d udda kids, even if he’d been allowed!! I think he’d prefer to have stayed behind with his male dollies an played wid dem!! Doan listen tuh he, man!!

Sap, he was a successful, singing nutter!! Simple as dat, in my humble opinion!!

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Hopi

Re “that melanin that produced that rhythmic, musical genius, who will always be imitated but never duplicated.”

I was not aware that the chemical substance melanin was known to produce rhythmic and musical genius.

Could you cite the Physiological & Pharmacological sources from which you adduced this conclusion?

33. Georgie Porgie, yes, ‘Baa Baa Black Sheep’!! The black sheep was the one with the wool!!

Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddddd!!!!

34. We’re fortunate it was n’t a female, sheep or she’d immediately have straightened it, as per our normal experience!

35. In the grand scheme of things, what a trifling is his passing!! Who will really care for more than a few minutes!! Such is the assessment of his importance!!

36. Dave, how about an article on ‘the most important figures in history and why’ instead uh dis MJ nonsense!!

37. @ 199: Aren’t you the one that made this post…
    199 // June 26, 2009 at 9:31 am
    Dave, u gun give us the op to pay tribute to Sir MJ?!! …..
    ~~
    Now 24 hours later: 199 // June 27, 2009 at 3:36 pm
    Dave, how about an article on ‘the most important figures in history and why’ instead uh dis MJ nonsense!!
    ———————————————————————————————————————–
    @199, what is wrong with you; FULL MOON? I seem to get the gist why people ignore you wherever you may go

38. Sap, I could n’t care less about that!! If you wish to discuss MJ ad nauseam, ur more than welcome to. However, I have n’t noticed a post from you on his subject, recently!!

There’s only so much to say about MJ and I feel that most people, apparently including yourself, think it’s been said, plus, my subsequent suggestion would be a far more interesting subject, presumably!!

39. Sap, most people in too bright, yuh know!! 🙂

40. Therefore, ‘Sap’, if u want to follow ‘the most’ you’re more than welcome to but u know where that usually lands u!!

41. Sap, basically, it’s an excellent idea followed by another of my brilliant ones!! Don’t be jealous!!

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Tell us Hopi what are the receptors involved, and what is the mechanism of action of melanin in its indication for inducing rhythm and musical genius.

Since there is rhythm in ALL types of music, how is it that the amelanotic also make music and exhibit genius in doing so?

43. BEE- EL –ZEE - BUBBIE Avatar
    BEE- EL –ZEE – BUBBIE

The death of Michael Jackson yesterday brought home the realization that it is appointed unto man once to die, and after death the judgement.

One of the greatest entertainers the world has ever seen is dead just like everyone else……..and he awaits his fate at the judgement! All the negatives will not at all been forgotten when Michael Jackson the performer enters the stage of the great white throne judgement. None of his exploits will help him now ye idolaters.
    His eccentric lifestyle away from the stage, his lack of a normal childhood, his pre-teen performances as the lead singer of the talented Jacksons 5 will be of no avail when he meets the judge, nor will he have timeless and priceless memories of that event, as he is sent to the lake, and the regard held globally for Michael Jackson will not matter one little hot ember then ye idolaters!.

Although music lovers may feel correct in believing the world may never see another entertainer in the same mould as the multi-talented Michael Jackson, and though this may be judged when at the announcement of his death yesterday afternoon media houses around the world stopped regular programming to broadcast US news feeds of his passing in a sickening frenzy of emotional idolatry, none of you worshipers at his throne can do one thing for his soul now. The devil got he, just like he got a lot of ye idolaters!..

Michael Jackson despite his failings which only made him human has impacted people from all across the globe in a positive way, and his father, the devil is very happy for the following he has…………… The devil got his idolatrous following too!. And he is laughing today..

Just as Michael Jackson’s version of pop and R&B will live on, so will he live for ever in the flames of hell. Despite the idolatry of the world, the king of Pop will rest in hell! Imagine that!

44. BEE-EL-ZEE-BUBBIE,

You are AB-SO-PO-LUTELY correct, if Jackson was allowed right now to speak right now, to all of his idolatrous fans back on earth, he would say, STOP IT, I’m in Hell, worship the Lord Jesus Christ and Him alone, for I AM IN Torment, with billions of other, White, Black, Brown, you name it, they are also here in eternal punishment, for rejecting God’s Love and Mercy in Jesus Christ.

45. @Georgie Porgie…..How are you my MELANIZED brother? Did you know that MELANIN is “The Black Chemical of Life?”

As an MD, you do know that Melanin is a photoreceptor and that it is prevalent in the inner ear, that it is critically involved in the hearing of sound and that it is higher in the inner ears of BLACKS than of Whites, hence Blacks hear better than Whites and they hear a wider range of sounds—-giving Blacks the ability to harmonize words,sounds and movement–which in MJ’s case was taken to a higher level–end result -GENIUS!

Can you name me one amelanotic that has produced music and exhibited genius in doing so.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re Can you name me one amelanotic that has produced music and exhibited genius in doing so.

Handel Brahms Mozart etc were obviously geniuses, dont you think (some might say the Beatles)

Since you apparently think that melanin is critically involved in the hearing of sound and that it is higher in the inner ears of BLACKS than of Whites, how is it that deaf folk also make good music, and are excellent performers?

If your argument was sound, (pun intended) deaf people of any color ought not to be able to harmonize words,sounds and movement at ALL!

But I would be very keen to read the journals in Physiology, Pharmaology etc from whence you extracted these remakable scientific information.

47. 199 // June 27, 2009 at 3:20 pm

In the grand scheme of things, what a trifling is his passing!! Who will really care for more than a few minutes!! Such is the assessment of his importance!!

And how many minutes have passed since his passing?!?
    A few?!?……..
    Seems to me that the whole world is focused on the death of the King of Pop!!
    Poor 199……..cant help but be a hater….I dare your sound bird Riri to beat any of MJ’s feats.
    Off to back in time @Plantations….nothing but MJ tonight!!!

48. Hopi and George, what an amusing exchange, and good for the soul, and certainly more convincing than my ‘Baa Baa Black Sheep’ theory!! 🙂

Tech, in the ‘grand scheme of things’ it IS only a few minutes and always will be!! The man basically, was an irrelevance in importance to the development of the black race, indeed, further, he was an embarassment and a disgrace!!

My dear fellow, I would have u know that I’m one of the millions who had the ‘Thriller’ and ‘Off The Wall’ albums in my record collection at some point in the past but I’m not going to get carried-away with the man!! If he had n’t been so ashamed of his blackness, I’d still be a fan! Anyway, is n’t this a complete turn-around for u, the rasta-loving, loving all-things-black, black man, now to be supporting a man who clearly was ashamed of being black!! I’d have much more regard for him if he had n’t been so ashamed!!

Rihanna, with the help of god, will exceed his achievements!! Unfortunately, she’s temporarily been thrown-off-track by the idiot boyfriend of hers but hopefully, will return bigger and even better, although better would be pretty impossible for her because she’s already been consistently, absolutely brilliant!! May god bless her and show her the right path to take!!

Tech and others, in a simple illustration of his irrelevance!! : prior to his death, had u heard or seen any Michael Jackson videos recently?!! Answer: ‘No’!! Although, inspite of her problems, I still see videos of Rihanna on the box, regularly!! Elvis will always remain the bigger star! He’s sold more records than Jackson and was n’t a weirdo!

49. Furthermore, the importance of MJ can be gleaned from the no. of people here who would rather discuss other issues than this one!! The man was an irrelevance, and only important to whites because he painted his skin, white!! A veritable waise of space!!

50. Anyway Tech, u suh cleva bout all tings Bajan, why did n’t u answer my conundrum bout d Bajan population differential!!