Rosevelt King - Intervenor
Rosevelt King – Intervenor

Barbados Underground is fortunate to have Roosevelt King (ROK) and Chris Halsall as members of the BU family.  They are better known in Barbados for the role of Intervenors when the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) meets to rule on applications submitted by the utility companies. Two recent comments posted by the good gentlemen have resonated with the BU household and given us cause to question the effectiveness of the FTC and by extension the government of Barbados as far as its oversight duties are being managed.

In 2001 when the FTC legally subsumed the Public Utilities Board and was given a wider scope to monitor, educate, investigate, and enforce fair competition and consumers’ rights by service providers and consumers, there was high expectation by the Barbadian public. This came against a background where historically there was an acceptance, especially in the absence of a vibrant culture of consumerism, that consumers were being taken to the cleaners by the utilities and merchants in general. We remember well that the then government represented by Arthur, Toppin, Eastmond et al did a good job of selling Barbadians on the FTC concept.

Eight years later the jury is out on whether the FTC has been able to satisfy the expectations of the Barbadian public. Have they been effective and proactive as set out in their core values?

Chris Halsall - Intervenor
Chris Halsall – Intervenor

Under the blog The Important Role Of The Intervenor At FTC Hearings ROK made the observation that the oversight of the Price Cap Mechanism (PCM) is not being reviewed at the end of each period by the FTC as mandated under the law. The PCM to the layman is a complicated pricing arrangement approved by the FTC which impacts the revenue levels of LIME formerly Cable and Wireless Ltd and ultimately the price end consumers have to pay for services. Why would consumers have to take the FTC to court as suggested by ROK? Isn’t the FTC suppose to be the watchdog entity which ensures under the Consumer Protection Act and Fair Competition Act Barbadian consumers are protected?

The other comment was made by Chris Halsall under the LIME Continues To Squeeze blog. Barbados has joined other markets around the world in liberalizing the telecommunications sector driven by WTO obligations. Our market has been monopolized by LIME formerly Cable and Wireless over the years going back to our pre-independence period. The process of liberalization has meant that  new legislation, policies and agreements has had to be created to enable and facilitate the new way of doing business in the telecommunications sector post- liberalization.

Of concern to Chris Halsall which he further articulated  on his blog is the fact that despite legislation local competitive long distance providers – Sunbeach, Blue Communications, and TeleBarabdos – have been trying to purchase the required interconnecting circuits from the Cable & Wireless without success, even through they are clearly defined within the Policy. BU family members are free to download the relevant legislation from the government website of the Barbados Two Stage Dialing Policy and Barbados Equal Access and Indirect Access Policy. We have deliberately tried not to use geek language because we anticipate that many in the BU family are not technically inclined like ourselves. On Chris’ website he further explained that right now it is illegal for any of the competitive carriers to offer international calling to the Barbados public, other than their own customers on their own network. They are only able to bring international traffic in and terminate it on the Cable & Wireless network.

What the above means is that LIME formerly Cable and Wireless continues to maintain a monopoly on all outgoing international calls, a very profitable part of the business. This is despite being promised by the previous government that with the establishment of the FTC that the enactment of the Fair Competition Act Barbadian consumers would benefit from the dismantlement of the monopolistic beast LIME, formerly Cable and Wireless. If we understand the problem correctly  the Reference Interconnection Offer (RIO) … is a standard offer for services which LIME must make available to any and all requesting competitive telephony carriers. Unfortunately, the previous versions lacked a definition for “Outgoing International Call Termination”. This meant that while a carrier could bring calls into Barbados, they were not allowed to take them out.

The question which Barbadians must ask themselves is why our FTC with its army of highly paid staff and Commissioners would renege in their duty to Barbadians consumers by not ensuring that in the RIO, the  Outgoing International Call Termination is adequately defined to allow competition for LIME in the outbound call segment of the market?

The second question is if the government of Barbados is serious about reducing prices and the cost of living, why has the Prime Minister not intervened to date to signal to the FTC that the undefined RIO targeting Outgoing International Call Termination needs to be remedied? The time for old talk has passed!

This is a highly technical and complicated area but one that we view as important enough to engage on behalf of the PEOPLE. In the coming weeks we will be lending what little support we can to the cause to demystify this matter for the BU family.

1. BFP drop BU from its side bar AN’ BRAGGIN’ ‘BOUT IT…! Somebody tell me so I check! Dey wan’ David to apologise for not censorin’ people like Negroman and Hopi..and ROK!

Help mah… I ovacome.. sniff.. boohoo…aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh..ah need a hankie….

2. I wan’ the FTC investigate the National Call Termination between LIME and de political parties…!

AAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhh

3. BAFBFP // May 25, 2009 at 7:53 am

BFP drop BU from its side bar AN’ BRAGGIN’ ‘BOUT IT…! Somebody tell me so I check! Dey wan’ David to apologise for not censorin’ people like Negroman and Hopi..and ROK!
    ———————————————————————————————————————-
    There are more important issues and concerns such as this topic to discuss, other than BFP childish acts in an attempt to seek attention.

When one door is closed another opens. Hats off to David/BU for ignoring those whose aim is to attract others to their site.

4. We need to rescue this country and put it back on track but me must not be side-track about what the real issue is.

The issue is that the DLP is not ready to lead and therefore does not know what it is doing.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP

Re BFP drop BU from its side bar AN’ BRAGGIN’ ‘BOUT IT…!

That article is a major milestone for them ya. As far as I know that article got the most responses I habe ever seen for a BFP topic. Wow!

I hope that BU does not retaliate and get down to thier level.

6. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

Has anyone noticed how poor the quality of ADSL gotten since they changed the modems? I have to restart my modem several times a day and so does many people I know. In fact the 2 people I know who still get good service have Zhone modems. They seem to be having some serious challenges and don’t want to admit it. I am considering TeleBarbados for both home & work. Cell phone services is also piss poor calls are constantly dropped. C&W’s networks have hit all time lows.

7. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Agree with you there Knight.

Adsl piss poor.

8. GP
    I still crying. Booohoooo. I real hurt…!

9. I really wish the bloggers here on BU would stop purposely or inadvertently trying to boost BFP’s visitors numbers by talking up the attention getting antics over at BFP.

They are yesterday’s news.

10. I am considering TeleBarbados for both home & work.

KOTLN, I have had the TeleBarbados residential, wireless, high speed connection for over a year and have been quite satisfied with it until the last week or so. However about a week ago I noticed that my 1 Mb/s link was not performing up to scratch, i.e. you tube videos stalling midstream, downloads taking longer than before etc. When I ran a speed check to various test servers on http://speedtest.net my download speed had dropped in half from the supposed 1Mb/s (what I pay for and what it tested at before) to somewhere in the vicinity of 500 Kb/s.

When I called TeleBarbados to complain that my internet connection speed had dropped by half and to ask if they were having problems, the Customer Service tech had me test to their own speed check server at http://speedtest.freemotion.bb which presumably checks only the speed between my computer and TeleBarbados itself. This gave a result of 1Mb/s as should be expected.

The tech on the phone then told me a story about some nebulous, vague, undefined “problems overseas on the internet” affecting some of the internet traffic including that of TelBarbados and said that this was an issue beyond their control. He could give me no expected date and time when normal service could be expected to resume.

So theoretically, I still have a 1MB/s connection to TeleBarbados, but when I have to go outside of TeleBarbados to make a connection on the internet the effective speed drops by half.

Then the service really went to hell this previous Sat/Sun. I could only get a connection to external web sites intermittently. Things might seem to be ok for 15 or 2o minutes or so (aside from lower than normal speed), and then the connection to the outside world would drop and I wouldn’t be able to connect to any web sites, or I would connect and the connection would be disrupted before the web page downloaded. Then after 20 minutes to half an hour it would clear up and work OK again for another 10 minutes or so.

This morning, so far, the connectivity problem apparent on the weekend appears to have been resolved, but download tests at speedtest.net show I am still only getting download speeds from the internet of half what I pay for.

I consider the story I was fed by their customer service tech last week about this supposed internet problem so much cock and bull – doesn’t pass the smell test to me. Anyone else heard about “internet problems” in the last few days causing widespread connectivity problems and slowdowns on the internet? Sounds more like problems between TeleBarbados and whatever/whoever is connecting them to the internet.

As I said earlier, the TeleBarbados high speed service has worked fine for me until now. I just hope like hell this is not a sign that they are degenerating into providing the notoriously problem plagued service people have come to associate with LIME/C&W.

I am curious if anyone else on TelBarbados might have noticed service disruptions/connectivity issues over the last few days.

11. Sorry David, Chris Halsall and all, but it serves wunnuh right. Cable Wireless (I refuse to refer to them as Lime) continued monoply was predicted as it was intended. Then as it is now the only way to fight Cable & Wireless is to stop using their services, not matter the hardship it may cause in the interim. It is has been proven by Dr. Martin Luther King and others that boycotting the bus service was the only way to get what you want. nothing else nothing less.

12. The only thing Bajans are going to do about the quality of their service is to get on the same damn phone and ‘run up dey mout’ complaining. Government and Big Business mek strange bed fellows!

13. @David and the BU Family…

Thank you for bringing this critical issue forward. Once again…

To put it as simply as I can…

There is absolutely no reason why anyone in Barbados should not be able to pick up *any* phone, and choose an alternative international (AKA long-distance) carrier to make a call.

The well thought out policies above have been on the books since 2007.11.16.

All we are waiting for (and this was acknowledged by the Telecommunications Act Review Committee (TARC) which drafted the Policies during numerous meetings during their creation) is for there to be an “Outgoing International Call Termination” “Service Description” in the RIO(s).

Why it has taken this long (and we’re still awaiting…) is something which should cause everyone concerned to go “Hummmm… Something’s wrong here…”

To put it in terms everyone will understand…

If these policies were enforced and allowed to do their magic, there is no reason why anyone here in Barbados would not be able to call almost anyone in North America or Europe for any more than 20 cents (Barbados) a minute. More likely 10 cents a minute.

(Given a bit of time for true competition to come forward and enter the market.)

And, possibly even more importantly, there would be no reason why anyone “away” couldn’t call here for exactly the same amount.

All it will take is Political Will…

Perhaps those who think this might be a good thing could contact the FTC, and separately, their elected representatives.

What to ask for, in a nutshell, is “Outgoing in the RIO”….

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

The white boys are ganging up against you.

First Ian Bourne removed you from his sidebar, as if anyone care, now his white buddies over at Barbados Free Press have followed suit.

It seems like you are mashing some white corns.

We Black people will continue to support you. So don’t worry.

15. @CCC: “We Black people will continue to support you.

@David… This particular White Boy does as well. As does (I have reason to believe) many others….

@BU Family… Now, can we all PLEASE get back to the WORK before us?

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OK, Chris.

17. Droppin’ rates for outgoin’ gun hurt de current account… Bajans does talk tah much!

AAAAAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhh

18. We are very concerned that the matter should remain outstanding Chris and to boot the FTC would turn the other cheek especially at this time in depressed economic conditions. Additionally the opportunity for business to reduce cost that rely on outbound calling to do business is important. Who is the Minister responsible for the FTC? Is it George Hutson?

Not to digress but BU family members should note that some of our greatest supporters of BU are Caucasian. Some are known and others support by sending us information. We take it as an insult to be branded as a blog which sides with one race over the other. Thanks again to the BU family for all your support.

19. David Estwick is the Minister in charge of the FTC, David.

20. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

David continue to ignore BFP they are looking for hits via the usual method i.e recklessly spewing inflammatory garbage without regard to the truth. I find whenever I go over there its the same thing with me or others telling them to tone it down.
    As it said before I tend to agree with Hopi and Negroman a lot but their message is often lost in the racial diatribe. I want black people to be proud of their heritage but expect every other race to be the same. Keep on message but remember there is room here for all of us.

21. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

BTW intersting reading on this site check it out.
    http://www.suppressedscience.net/aids.html

22. Here is what the Barbados Advocate is reporting in its editorial today:

“Teamwork needed at the top

5/26/2009

WE return yet again to the topic of “Team Barbados” introduced by Prime Minister David Thompson during his 2009 Financial Statements and Budgetary Proposals.

For while this may seem like a concept that would be supported by anyone with this country’s best interests at heart, those of us who would have followed last week’s debate in the House of Parliament may have been left wondering if it is really being embraced at all levels of the society.

The Prime Minister humbled himself by saying that he does not have all of the answers, and therefore “Team Barbados” is more important now than ever.

Without this, the future of the country could be in jeopardy.

Without this, what is left to be governed may not be desired by either party.”

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=editorial&NewsID=3853

“A Team Barbados Approach” is nothing Owen Arthur’s: Politics of Inclusion, which Obama is now copying and Thompson is now trying to steal, having promised to slaughter the fatted calf for dems only.

Since everyone knows that the DLP does not have any answers (as made clear by the Advocate) but accept that the BLP does – then call elections.

Elections and the superior economic skills of the BLP – is the solution to Barbados’ problems and the economic mess Thompson and the DLP have created and continues to create.

I thank the Barbados Advocate for pointing out that we must rescue Barbados so that the BLP can put it back on track.

23. The question is: Not who is guarding LIME, but who is willing to hold the line and prevent the DLP from placing further IMF-Styled economic hardship on Barbadians.

Imagine, we are concerned about “LIME” and not the economic mess the DLP is causing.

So the global crisis is a good enough excuse for the DLP but not for LIME.

Barbados truely has a selective sense of “outrage.”

24. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

Off topic

“The new regulations, and much of the scare in general, are built on the notion that AIDS is caused by a transmissible agent. In fact, despite three years of research, there is no direct evidence that such a bug exists. CDC researchers have searched for a new virus with electron microscopes. They have injected laboratory animals with samples of virtually every body fluid and tissue from AIDS patients, including semen and blood. Not one animal has come down with the disease.”

25. So the global crisis is a good enough excuse for the DLP but not for LIME.

Barbados truely has a selective sense of “outrage.”

26. Carson C. Cadogan // May 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm

DAVID

The white boys are ganging up against you.

First Ian Bourne removed you from his sidebar, as if anyone care, now his white buddies over at Barbados Free Press have followed suit.

It seems like you are mashing some white corns.

We Black people will continue to support you. So don’t worry.
    ===========================

Tall_Boy
    May 26, 2009 at 1:57 pm
    Straight Talk; This is typical of these people. BFP is twice the size of BU if you measure by number of Global Unique cookies, however if you breakout the origin of these cookies you will find that those coming from PC’s in Barbados are 5,943 for BFP and 4,501 for BU. If you total the stats for most English Speaking Caribbean countries you get 7961 for BFP and 6078 for BU. There is no mystery to the rational behind the attacks directed at BU. No marketing or fancy manipulation of the search engines, and or linking has been done at BU. Where they have gotten is the old fashioned way, word of mouth. Yet still if you where to use some software like “Link popularity check” that tabulates link popularity, you will see BU ahead of BFP by miles. Don’t let them fool you. ha ha ha ha ha

———————————————

I should add that the above is specific to WordPress.com where BFP is rank in the 96k range and BU is in the 216k range. Outside of WordPress.com, BU popularity, per search engine is 3,873,670 and BFP is 3,200. Even Bajan reporter is scored higher at 3,857.

What is Link popularity:
    All major search engines rank web pages based on the number of links that point to them. Google uses link popularity as the most important factor when ranking sites. Yahoo, HotBot, AltaVista, MSN and others also use link popularity in their formulas. If you want to have a successful web site, you must have high link popularity.

High link popularity is important for high rankings on search engines. The higher your web site ranks on search engines, the more customers you’ll get.

27. The question is: Not who is guarding LIME, but who is willing to hold the line and prevent the DLP from placing further IMF-Styled economic hardship on Barbadians.

Imagine, we are concerned about “LIME” and not the economic mess the DLP is causing.

28. Sorry to be so intrusive on this topic with info on site statistics which BU does not concern itself with and rightly so.

For those of you who may be a bit curious. Go to Quantcost.com

type in Bajan.wordpress.com, click on the traffic tab, enter Barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com, then toggle through the six measurements. They are People, Visit, Page-views, cookies, Page-view per person, visit person. All for the period 11/26/08 through to 05/24/09.

29. Why can’t LIME use the global financial crisis as an excue? The DLP is!

Is there one high-standard for the private sector and a new low-standard for the DLP, which promised “change?”

30. @Tall_Boy…

I believe what you actually meant to say above was “Go to http://www.quantcast.com/bajan.wordpress.com

The empirical is beautiful, isn’t it?

(The domain given above by Tall_Boy is actually just some Quantity Surveyor site, not updated since 2002. An honest mistake. It happens. Tall_Boy raises an important (and an amusing) truth.)

31. Thanks Chris! Tall_boy is Adrian Hinds so that should explain the error. lol!

I started out asking myself why would the average blog reader of things Barbadian, ignore the varity of topics under discussion at BU for the stale consitent drumbeat at BFP. First I had to determine if that was indeed the case.

32. The issue remains – not who is guarding LIME – but who is willing to hold the line and prevent the DLP from placing further IMF-Styled economic hardship on Barbadians.

33. @BU Family…

One of the fears I have is that the Government is hearing (and believing) the arguement that the high cost of international calling contributes to the General Account by way of taxation…

And that this may be why we Bajans are charged ten (10) times as much to make international calls as they should be charged.

It is generally acknowledged that small businesses contribute to most to *all* economies. They employ the most people. They do the most innovative work. They take the most risks.

Perhaps if the cost of international telephony didn’t cost so much, *all* our businesses could do more international business.

Please note that there is a subtle correlation between the cost of Outgoing telephony, and Incoming.

This is known as “reciprocity”, and is a result of the fact that Carriers don’t generally pay each other for each call, but instead simply trade “minutes”.

It is absolutely ridiculous (and constraining) how much it costs those “away” to call our businesses (and our PEOPLE). Much like it is ridiculous how much we Bajans pay to call “away”.

And, taking this further, the fact it costs so much for those “away” to call us here in Barbados means than many “away” simply choose to call somewhere else…

And to do business somewhere else…

I accept that it would take a “leap of faith” for a Government to turn down 15% of a lucrative (if exploitive) business.

But, perhaps if the Government took that leap, they would find that their economy would actually do better, and have even more taxable revenue….

(Just as an aside… True telecoms liberalization was conducted in North America and Europe long ago. The Incumbents fought tooth and nail. Ironically, at the end of the day, everyone did better — the Companies (ILECs *and* CLECs), the Governments, and — most importantly — the Consumers!)

34. “Fortunate”, to have him, maybe Dave, but, why does he look like Father-Christmas!!

35. The issue remains – not who is guarding LIME – but who is willing to hold the line and prevent the DLP from placing further IMF-Styled economic hardship on Barbadians.

36. @Chris

Appreciate your explanation but isn’t the telecommunications market suppose to have been liberalised? What was the basis for rolling out the PCM?
    The real issue should not be the taxes the government can potentially lose but whether Barbados is committed to liberalizing the telecommunications market or is happy to continue to feed the beast.

Your point about SMEs being the backbone of the economic activity of most countries is taken and all the more reason why government MUST enable the market to reduce outbound rates if it is serious about facilitating entrepreneurship. We can’t have half measures.

Are we allowing competition or not? This govery ran an election campaign based on unleasing competition to the market.

37. BU said:

“The second question is if the government of Barbados is serious about reducing prices and the cost of living, why has the Prime Minister not intervened to date to signal to the FTC that the undefined RIO targeting Outgoing International Call Termination needs to be remedied? The time for old talk has passed! ”

Is this the same PM who is increasing VAT and water rates without the FTC.

Not that it is right buy why the pressure on LIME? Why can’t they use the global financial crisis as an excuse also?

Thompson and the DLP are.

38. @David: “Appreciate your explanation but isn’t the telecommunications market suppose to have been liberalised?

Yes.

@David: “What was the basis for rolling out the PCM?

I think a better way of asking this question is to ask why the FTC so badly defined the inputs into the very simple PCM equation…

Not only the first time, but even after the “review” with the assistance of a highly paid team of consultants who’s “Terms of Reference” couldn’t even be determined, even after an explicit request by Hallam Hope.

@BU Family…

I know I’m going to regret this… But what the hell — you only live twice…

The same woman who was supposed to have attended (but didn’t) all the TARC meetings…

And was behind the PCM…

And was behind the RIO review…

Is ex-C&W…

As is her supervisor….

39. Lord have mercy!!!

40. Lime sucks but they still have the monopoly over land lines.I switch long time ago to Digicell for my cell.I just dont care if I pay digicel more money.I am looking for an alternative for my land line and a reliable ADSL.

I am a regular visitor to BU but using BFP sidebar to get there.I would just check the topics and go straight to BU.Now I am going striaght to BU through my location bar.I told a lot more persons about BU.I think it is allowing freedom of speech which is practiced by most worldwide blogs.

41. Yes, Fairplay, ur right about freedom of speech but, I’ve got to be careful cause David does n’t always like my wise-cracks!!

Lord!! 🙂

42. About the BL&P, we read a report in the Press today where the legal counsel in response to a reporter informed readers that the PCM decision only requires periodic reviews. This meshes with ROK’s comment. If the FTC legal counsel is on record as being aware of this procedure why have they not held the PCM hearing?

Have PCM hearings been held at all date?

43. Tell me why it is still legal for a Barbados government minister or civil servant to issue government contracts to a company they own?

David Thompson lied about integrity legislation.

44. Christopher Halsall // May 26, 2009 at 3:34 pm

Why would the government set up an agency to regulate utility companies and protect consumers, then allow that same agency, to facilitate their exploitation by refusing to pass legislation or make rulings that are beneficial to consumers?

Were these people not selected and appointed by the GOB and its agents?

Who again is representing the people?

FTC indeed!
    This is one sick joke being played on the masses.

45. @BU Family…

I have to admit that I find it somewhat amusing to observe the response only a few words can cause…

It’s a bit like sitting in a lake of gasoline… And idly trying to strike a wet match…

(Knowing you have a lighter in your back pocket….)

46. Does anyone know if the GOB met all the conditions in the MOU and if this overshadows the FTC’s dealings with C&W?

47. @Chris

We understand your pain.

There is a saying by Bajans that nothing happens before the time.

We should never stop trying to help the PEOPLE to know when the time has come.

48. @GL: Does anyone know if the GOB met all the conditions in the MOU and if this overshadows the FTC’s dealings with C&W?

I’m going to “flick my bic” at you a couple of times, and ask you to come back to us if you think the MOU overshadows the Laws of Barbados….

49. @David: “There is a saying by Bajans that nothing happens before the time.

Don’t give me (or us) that crap…

Nothing is gained which is not demanded.

50. Chris
    I am simply trying to figure out how a creation of the government can frustrate a stated government policy and the government seems unwilling or unable to correct the situation.

I can only conclude that the FTC’s lack of action is sanctioned by the Government and we the people are being screwed by our representatives.