Rickey Singh

Prime Minister David Thompson promised when he assumed office that he would established a Cabinet sub-committee to investigate the Immigration problem which was visibly evident in Barbados.  In keeping with his promise he issued a Ministerial Statement last week which focused on a new policy to tackle the problem. The issue of immigration is one being battled all over the world, Barbados no exception. Since issuing the statement all hell has broken lose with the most pointed yet covert attack coming from Prime Minister of St. Vincent Ralph Gonzales who elected to issue his own Ministerial Statement in response.

Prime Minister David Thompson although a rookie Prime Minister is a seasoned politician, and we are confident that he will make the right moves to protect the borders of Barbados and by extension the well being of the society which Barbadians have laboured to build in a post independence era.

Prime Minister Patrick Manning had earlier requested a CARICOM Heads of Summit to discuss the global financial crisis but we

Roxanne Gibbs - Executive Editor Nation Newspaper
Roxanne Gibbs

suspect that a lot of the time will be spent addressing the decision by the Barbados government to document immigrants. Already Prime Minister David Thompson can expect that Prime Minister Gonzalves et al will be frothing  at the mouth come Sunday in Trinidad to attack the government of Barbados’ decision to arrest the large number of undocumented workers in Barbados. It was yesterday we read Secretary General Edwin Carrington of CARICOM suggesting that the matter will be discussed. He was at pains to point out that member countries in CARICOM had a right to make decisions with respect to sovereignty but he was concerned with how they do it. This we consider to be a most inappropriate comment even before this matter has been discussed given the obvious inference to Barbados.

For those who accuse Barbados of adopting an anti-CSME posture historical events disprove this notion. Was it not Barbados which the late Prime Minister Eugenia Charles turned to mobilize support to rescue Grenada when the New Jewel Movement imploded in 1983? Prime Minister Tom Adams responded without hesitation. What about the CARICOM Multilateral Clearing

David Commissiong

Facility? This was an arrangement between Central Banks of the region to settle payments where the net surplus of one country could be used to offset a deficit it had with another country. Can anyone guess what happened? Barbados was left owed millions by Guyana and other countries. Not sure if the Barbados government has written the amount off. The point is Barbados remained faithful to the facility to the end while others jumped ship. Was there a furore when the OECS sub-region announced an alliance recently with Trinidad to establish a political and economic union? Wasn’t that a clear threat to the CSME movement? The current global economic crisis seems to have put that arrangement on ice for the moment.

The point is Barbados in our brief post-independence period has continued to demonstrate commitment to the ideals of CARICOM integration in the past and in the present.

Minister Maxine McClean when she had responsibility for immigration publicly acknowledged that her best estimate was that we had about thirty thousand Guyanese alone in Barbados. She indicated that the tracking system at the Immigration Department was poor and it had taken a lot of effort to determine the number of legal and illegal immigrants in Barbados.

Guyana Consul to Barbados Norman Faria
Norman Faria

Minister McClean’s admission is instructive because it came against a background of Mia Mottley’s refusal to address the issue when she had responsibility for Home Affairs when in government. Barbadians have always shown quiet concern at the large numbers of immigrants flowing into Barbados. BU can safely say it is what prompted us to blog about the open immigration policy of the previous government. At the same time Guyana Consul Norman Faria on several occasions when pointedly asked about the number of Guyanese immigrants who were flowing into Barbados commented to the effect that it was for the government to speak to that issue. The PEOPLE waited in vain.

For almost a decade the Owen Arthur government, the media and others in Barbados frustrated all attempts to broach concerns about the obvious open door immigration policy. Callers to the radio shows especially Voice of Barbados were unceremoniously censored, the Nation Newspaper published only soft stories about immigration. The fact that the Chief Editor Roxanne Gibbs at the Nation Newspaper is of Guyanese extraction speaks to credibility and she should be fired over how she has manipulated the Nation coverage of the immigration issue.

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

To our surprise the Mia Mottley led opposition has publicly opposed the government’s effort to beef up the immigration system to plug the big hole left by them. Not one BLP Member of Parliament has broken ranks on this issue. The PEOPLE will remember their actions for sure. Even if we used the argument by the BLP that if Barbados is to expand GDP it will need to increase labour capacity, how can that argument apply at this time when our economy has been forced to contract against the global economic crisis? We will not dignify David Commisong and his tribe with too much of a response. They have long ago lost credibility over the Ghanaian affair. Their actions to frustrate the government in that episode has probably resulted in a few Ghanaians still on the run in Barbados.

All across the Caribbean, Bahamas, Antigua, Trinidad, Jamaica, Dominican Republic and others have been deporting illegals but our regional journalist Rickey Singh has been silent. Barbados a tiny country attempts to secure its borders and protect the infrastructure which has made it attractive to the immigrants in the first instance and Singh and his cohorts Peter Wickhan, Annahlee Davis, David Commisong et al grab their foghorns. Funny thing, in all the countries mentioned above the opposition parties and key stakeholders have been mostly supportive of their respective governments actions. It was seen as a national issue and not one to play politics. We want to ask the Bajan Blogosphere to rally around Prime Minister as he fights the diabolical forces in our midst.

For BU the legacy of the media and the Barbados Labour Party in the last ten years will be how they created the monster which Prime Minister David Thompson has to wrestle back into the cage. To compound the problem they had a chance to make amends by supporting the government and PEOPLE of Barbados in the struggle but elected not to risk dismantling the legacy of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

1. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

@olutoye this is not about race it is about illegal immigrants indian or black. Stop trying to make this racial. If they are legal let them stay if not GO HOME! Similarly any Bajans anywhere illegally send them HOME!

2. The Advocate Newspaper said the Leader of the Opposition offered no suggestions in her reply to the budget. I do not want to pick sides but based on available evidence it would seem that the Advocate lied.

Here is an example, why, as an independent observer – why I think so.

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley:

“Our goal must be to be the most educated nation. We have made great strides, but now is the time to reach for the next level.

The second pillar is the health of our people. The old ways of Barbados were healthy ways. Modern life has taken its toll on our health.

A healthy nation will be a happy nation, a productive nation and one where we will find it easier to attract the best talent from around the world and keep the best talent at home.

But the person who can do most to impact the health of an individual in Barbados is not the Prime Minister, not the Minister of Health, not a surgeon at QEH or a general practitioner and not a nurse, but individuals themselves.

We must re-orient out health system to put people at the centre, empowers them through education, resources, funding and choices, to control and improve their health.

As we consider building a new hospital, something the party opposite criticized heavily during the last election campaign, now is the time to think seriously about how we reorient our spending and care so that we can become the healthiest nation on earth.

This should be our goal and it is an achievable goal.

The third pillar is our physical and social environment. Our future depends on how we invest in our environment. As technology improves and costs fall, Barbados has within its reach the solar and wind potential to halve its energy imports and slash energy-related pollution.

To do so requires a strategic vision and goal led by the government and led by a government that places the right incentives for individuals to make the right choices.

Energy, waste management and coastal management are well-known aspects of the environmental debate. But the environment is more than that.

The previous government started with a national physical plan. We now need to go further.

We need to draw up an environmental balance sheet of our nation. Measure and detail our environmental assets and liabilities and see where and what investments maximize our environmental balance sheet and minimize deterioration. Such a balance sheet should influence our tourism and transport plans.

Within reach Mr. Speaker is a Barbados that ranks as the most educated nation on earth, the healthiest nation on earth and one with the best environmental management on earth. From that trinity, our economic and social success will spring.

We can do it, but we have much to do and for the second consecutive year this government has failed to make any progress in these areas, it is a government devoid of vision, content to play narrow party politics, to conspire schemes that will keep its party hacks and appointees happy with summer camps and Christmas camps and constituency councils, while all the time, time is passing us by, and others eat our lunch.

Culture,
    Technology,
    Reform of Governance –

This will be the Platform for the next generation. This is how along with the CSME we will overcome the constraint of size.

Mr. Speaker there are external reasons why international investors have become more risk averse, but there are national reasons for why they no longer consider us a safe place for the future.

Our destiny is not yet formed.

We can ill afford wasted time; we must develop our strategy and make our choices today, to guarantee our success tomorrow. Failure to do so, is one of critical failures of this budget.

Much of what I have spoken about can only be executed if planned. The planning does not require significant expenditure.

The Government already has the resources. T

he framework is already in the National Strategic Plan 2006-2025.

We need to be ready to execute when the resources become available again. And the only way I know how to do this is by planning for it now.

So where are the plans for Barbados to be the healthiest nation in the hemisphere?

Where are the plans for Barbadians to double our educational attainment?

Where are the plans to invest in our environment? To be self-sufficient in energy?

It seems the only plan the Prime Minister has is his next flight plan!

Neither this Budget nor the Estimates presented in March of this year nor the Manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party are capable of painting this canvass, delivering these dreams or realizing this vision.

I take comfort from the words delivered by our National Hero Rt. Excellent Grantley Herbert Adams in 1930.

“These are critical days for those to whom are entrusted the destinies of the people of Barbados. It is not enough that the wave of political awakening should have washed up to shore many who hitherto thought but little of politics or of the science of government. We must look beyond the present. We must look to the horizon beyond. We should think of more than the exigencies of the moment. That is the mark of true statesmanship.”

These are the words of the father of our democracy. They should guide us in the same way that the words of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson guide our neighbours to the north. That Mr. Speaker is the mark of a maturing society.

The Prime Minister would do well to heed these words.

We in the BLP stand ready to play our part in this Parliament and across the fields and hills of our beloved nation firm in our conviction that Barbados deserves better.

Barbados can do better. We can do better.”

3. Why is olutoye so defensive about the influx of indian immigrants into barbados?

Is he protecting an indo guyanese wife or girl friend?

The truth is Mr Barrow would not be turning over in his grave by the decison taken by P.M. Thompson and the support he is receiving from the barbadian people.

Mr Barrow would be furious that this country allowed these immigrants to overcrowd barbados and start to destroy the hardwork and social services that he Mr Barrow worked so hard for.

We are on the edge of our seats waiting to see guyana airways pull up and start taking away their unwanted masses.

4. Olutoye Walrond // May 20, 2009 at 1:55 pm

You are so cocky with yourself, I have a name for you SLAVEDRIVER!

One time slaves like me when I see massa hit or beat you to a pulp I would have said that to put you back as my Driver cause cud dear you can’t put he pun the same level as me a black bukra slave!

Well friend not anymore, we are standing up for ourselves and if Massa want to kill you wellllllllllll.

5. Hog Squeal,

Your “available evidence” points to what Ms. Mottley may have intended and have wanted to say – but that is not what she said!

I listened carefully and I suspect she skipped those pages having run out of time. Pity she did not see those ideas as critical instead of the posturing.

The Advocate appears to be right! It was a very disorganised and really bad reply.

6. @Olutoye Waldron…….What gibberish are talking about ‘the use of race against African people …..is a crime against humanity.’ Who in the western world has ever been convicted on such grounds? You really think that the selection of Barack Obama means that race should be put to rest? How long have you been on the planet? Why should Bajans open up Barbados 166 sq miles of rock and allow Guyanese (or anyone else) with 83,000 sq miles of arable and mineral rich land to overrun them? Is your thinking aloud accompanied by any reason? By world standards Guyana should be a rich country why isn’t that the case? Why should Bajans incur misery because of their incompetence?

Where commonsense fails to prevail, you can bet that there’s a conspiracy lurking somewhere!

7. Anonymous // May 20, 2009 at 3:16 pm

Hog Squeal,

Your “available evidence” points to what Ms. Mottley may have intended and have wanted to say – but that is not what she said!

Someone sent me a copy of her speech as well as Mr. Thompson’s. I know what I read from page 61 of Miss Mottley’s speech.

8. The late and great E.W Barrow sought to set the lead for us on this matter in 1987 when, at the CARICOM heads of government conference in Guyana, he virtually embraced the concept of a single Caribbean identity. He must be turning in his grave to witness the complete opposite of all that he preached on that occasion.

_____

Mr. Walrond, what exactly did Errol Barrow say in 1987?

It is people like you who misinterpret things for your own silly arguments in favour of freedom of movement.

All Errol Barrow said is that integration is a lived reality for thousands of Caribbean people and that all of us have regional heritages. And… that the people are ahead of their leaders. Simple and accurate.

How does that help any argument you make? Africans have their own identity but do they practise freedom of movement? Do the Chechens and the Georgians?

And, pray tell me and Barbados Underground, what did the great Errol Barrow do to remove all restrictions to freedom of movement other than talk?

Check the record, old boy.

9. Opposition Leader Mia Mottley:

The second pillar is the health of our people. The old ways of Barbados were healthy ways. Modern life has taken its toll on our health.

A healthy nation will be a happy nation, a productive nation and one where we will find it easier to attract the best talent from around the world and keep the best talent at home.

But the person who can do most to impact the health of an individual in Barbados is not the Prime Minister, not the Minister of Health, not a surgeon at QEH or a general practitioner and not a nurse, but individuals themselves.
    ————————————————

ha ha ha ha lord come fuh yuh world. Somehow it seems to me that Mia feels threathen and wants to shake it off. But in so doing (nuh focus on her size, and chain smoking ways) she seems to be endorsing the PM’s wife leading a charge to encourage INDIVIDUALS TO DO MORE FOR THEIR OWN HEALTH. Can MARA encourage you MIA?

10. Olutoye Walrond
    Why are you allowing yourself to be use by your fellow communist comrades in Norman Faria,Ricky Singh & David Comissiong.Stop bidding the case of musty Norman Faria..

This immigration issue is not an issue to be philosophical with.This is a practical issue that needs a practical solution and Prime Minister David Thompson has offered a practical solution to the damn problem created by the corrupt,wicked Barbados Labour Party headed by the drunkard Owen Arthur.

Olutoye Walrond you,nor Ricky Singh,Norman Faria & poltical & pan africanist nuisance David Comissiong can stop this government from ridding this country of the human garbage.

We enlightened Blacks do not want the racial problems & conflicts that are existing in Guyana be transfer to Barbados.

Olutoye Walrond I have never heard you report on the happenings in Guyana.I know for a fact that you have a lot of information on the racial problems of Guyana.Why didn’t you used your position at CBC to broadcast the happenings in Guyana.

Olutoye Walrond it is stupid wanna be pan africanist like yourself & David Comissiong that have the pan-africanist groups in Barbados in turmoil.The bunch of communists that you all are always put political ideology before race

Race comes first as the great Marcus Mosiah Garvey said.

Walter Rodney supported the socialist ideology that the racist PPP government of Guyana embraced.He opposed the efforts of the Black nationalist leader of Guyana Forbes Burnham.Walter Rodney put political ideology before race issues.Guyana now has the same PPP administration in power and that party is destroying the lives of Black Guyanese.

When will Black people learn that no other race on earth cares about us.
    Olutoye Walrond do not take up the struggle for Indo-Guyanese because the horrible treatment Black Guyanese are receiving in Guyana will be the fate of Black Barbadians if we allow those hum bugs to strive in Barbados.

11. @ Adrian Hinds,

It would seem that the Health and Wellness Programme is a home-grown BLP initiative. So too is the Healthy, Active and Productive Ageing Programme.

So too is the Retirement, Training Planning and Counselling Programme.

I see all that in thier manifesto. It even has a $5,000 wellness allowance.

Who better to implement the BLP’s wellness programme than the BLP?

I am just minding my business but how then can the Barbados Advocate say (today’s Editorial) that the Opposition did not offer any ideas?

12. Olutoye Walrond says

“Our people have left these shores and gone wide and far to better themselves. In some instances they encountered the same racism and xenophobia we are witnessing today. They did not like it. We did not think it was right for them to be treated in that way. What makes us now believe that it is OK to malign and speak disparagingly about our Caribbean brothers and sisters who come here to take advantage of opportunities to improve their lives?”

Precisely the point I made in my post. But you will find that such intellectual submissions will lost on this blog by the likes of dummies likes of Kitty and the rest who now sits so close to Thompson’s ass that the effluvium he releases now becomes the perfume they wear is testimony of the kind of pimps they have become.

Come let us deal with the issues. Lies cannot and will not deter me from posting on this blog so forget it. I have never been in conflict with the law. In fact I don’t know what it is to have a police record like some of those on this blog who now accuses me of all manner of things. Nobody stole more from Clico Parris and Thompson and they are not in prison. As a matter of fact they are stealing from the Treasury to prop up their cash cow so it can continue to support their life styles.

13. There is a huge difference between Barbadian migrants to elsewhere and these migrants to Barbados from South America. For one Barbadians did not arrive from a place and a society soaked in racial devision, neither were Barbadians known to have issues with persons that look like the majority citizens of their new host country. Also Barbadians acculturated to their new envoirnments willingly. Ignorance on this issue is simply amazing.

14. Olutoye Walrond I have never heard you report on the happenings in Guyana. I know for a fact that you have a lot of information on the racial problems of Guyana.Why didn’t you used your position at CBC to broadcast the happenings in Guyana.

What are some of the facts that you have found out about the racial tensionMr. Walrond? Please enlighten us.

I was studying a history course and it stated:

In 1897 a Guyanese planter said of the Indans and the Creoles. ” they are totally different people; they do not inter-mix. That is, of course, one of our great safeties in the colony when there has been any rioting. If the Negroes were troublesome every Coolie on the estate would stand by one. If the Coolies attacked me, I could with confidence trust my Negro friends for keeping me from injury.”

Is the author describing you??????????????????????????????????

15. @Hoggie
    It matters little to me who’s idea it was. When the GoB does right by it’s citizens I am all for it. Case in point I supported the then GoB in it’s fight to protect our EEZ from Venezuela by way of a Panday government (dem Indians again), against all the DLP naysayers at the time It was right then as it is now. Today I am supporting the GoB it is call for immigration reform. With regards to health, productivity, and the epidemic of lifestyle deseases in Barbados, Mia Mottley would set a very bad example as our leader. I have said that on many occasions, and i do acknowledge her attempts to do something about. Did i say The woman sets a very bad example???

16. @Negroman……Well said! This is NOT a philosophical issue. Look all across the world. Every other group of people have some sense of loyalty to their particular group because they have a group identity, but US Black people we are saddled with Judases, that’s why we have such a heavy burden. The Black Man has no friend in this world. All other groups will laugh in our face and dagger us in the back. They have no respect for us because we do not respect ourselves. We’re nothing but a bunch of entertaining monkeys and slaves to them. The fools amongst us are talking bout let’s all get along while they manufacture their diseases and bio-specific weapons to slaughter our arses. To hell with everyone else. Look out for self. One thing ALL these other parasites fear is the AWAKENING of the BLACK MIND.

17. @AH…..True. Bajans don’t force themselves on other people. And we don’t go looking for special treatment. Whatever shit we encountered we dealt with it and while we were dealing with it we were filling the Bajan coffers with our remittances to help build it up to where it is today.

18. There is empirical research which supports the view that a group of people who enter a country for purely economic motives remain clannish in behaviour. In a small place like Barbados this would have implication for how our SMALL society develops social cohesion. BU and members of the BU family have blogged extensively on this point. Mr. Walrond needs to appreciate that when dealing with the complex matters of managing a country you can’t do it by being steeped in ideology alone. No wonder Mr. Walrond our Fourth Estate has been so inactive as a member of the Estate of the Realm.

19. Hi Adrian, Hoggie here,

I though being bright was the ingrediant necessary to becoming prime minister of Barbados.

Are we at a stage now when we are overlooking those who are bright; exercise pure natural brilliance, can speak on any topic know to man without a note?

Is “Team Barbados” lowering its standards? Why the sudden shift of the goal “gold: post?

20. Stupes! Dark Knight and now you!

21. It is clear that the DLP is desperate. Every view that seeks to set the record straight is an ememy of the State.

This is so not kool, man! Not Kool at all!

22. Ok,Hog squeal I’m game,What record ?

Nothing to long,short & concise wins the game !

23. Man, will the PM raise taxes. I hear the Opposition saying so?

Is people getting send home? I could eat sweet potatoes and yams but the mortgage man! That got me.

Why not take back the money from Clico and the Turf Club? Why not do like Jamaica and fire some Cabinet Ministers.

Ease we nah man. That is all. Hold the taxes dred.

24. Waittttt Owen tell Mia to kiss he ass! Tell me somebody ………. I want to know …….

25. Ok ‘he like he said ‘Mia give me a chance’ I think!

26. BU, David can you tell me what reason Barbadians entered England, Canada, Panama, USA and other places during the 1950s, 60s and 70s other than for economic reasons.

I must tell you that your comments on this issue sends a message that says more about what you do not know rather than what you know.

27. JC // May 20, 2009 at 7:27 pm

Waittttt Owen tell Mia to kiss he ass! Tell me somebody ………. I want to know …….
    ………………………..
    lol hahaha hehehe muh belly

28. Well well I thought this Hog by the way it came here squealing, brought some earth shattering insight to the topics at hand, at last we are to be disappointed.

Hoggie, if Lammie Graig could serve at acting prime minister from time to time clearly anybody can be choosen by the majority parliamentary group to be PM. Lammie was proof enough that intelligence had nothing to do with it.
    If the DLP is desperate as you say because they are attacking people’s patriotism for not seeing thing they way, what say you about all those would label their fellow Barbadians as xenophobic and racist as a result of their inability to win the argument on immigration?

29. Royalrumble // May 20, 2009 at 9:09 pm

BU, David can you tell me what reason Barbadians entered England, Canada, Panama, USA and other places during the 1950s, 60s and 70s other than for economic reasons.

I must tell you that your comments on this issue sends a message that says more about what you do not know rather than what you know.
    ===========================

Why the question? and what argument are you attempting to build from what David said?????

David did not question motives for leaving one’s birth place, he suggest that there is evidence that demonstrates migrants who leave their homeland purely for economic reason fights acculturation fiercely. This is an argument I support completely. In fact I am living proof of this and I only left de rock in 93′. Till dis day i still concider myself an economic refugee in America, experiencing my first ever plane ride when I migrated here.

30. Hopi // May 20, 2009 at 5:45 pm

@AH…..True. Bajans don’t force themselves on other people. And we don’t go looking for special treatment.
    ==========================

Indeed Hopi. Just two or three years ago when there were mass street protest in NY, SanFrancisco, Boston and some other major US cities by illegal Immigrants, demanding immigration reform that regularize their status, the Bajan Ambassador to the US, and the Consul Generals of NY, and Florida lamented the absense of Bajans from these public mass protest. The ignorance of their lamentation only serve to prove how remove and not intune with Bajans in the diaspora they were. Bajans who know that their status was not regularize in America don’t go to the post office, police stations, etc, and these idiots thought that they should show themselves in public in this manner. Well good old Bajan intuition served them well once again as ICE use those protest to round up many illegal immigrants.

31. Dear David:

You wrote “There is empirical research which supports the view that a group of people who enter a country for purely economic motives remain clannish in behaviour.”

If you are going to write about empirical research then you have to present the EVIDENCE.

Evidence man, otherwise ya writing bare boo.

And every Bajan who has ever left this rock, left seeking better economic opportunities. Every man, every woman every child (and no I am not claiming to have seen any empirical research).

That is NORMAL immigrant behaviour David.

Why do you want to penalize immigrants to Barbados for behaving NORMALLY?

32. Dear Adrian Hinds:

It is high time that you BECOME an American.

What you expect to live in the people country and suck up the people economic benefits and not become one of them?

Tobesides your former place in Barbados done tek’ by some new Bajans so you can’t come home again.

33. J you asking for it! LOL

34. Mia Mottley:
    ===========================

Productivity. A healthy nation, is made up of healthy people, people equal each and everyone of as individuals, therefore,

a healthy individual will be a happy individual, productive individual, and a person who can attract the best jobs at home and abroad.

Now concider this, in a Nationnews article titled “ABSOLUTE NONSENSE!”
    Date May 18, 2007

by ALBERT BRANDFORD, Political Correspondent

MIA WAS QUOTED TO HAVE SAID

“I have no idea what the future holds, but I must tell you that at 41, I have a life that is ahead of me, not behind me, and that my BIGGEST enemy in life will always be myself.

“In other words, once I get my health together, there is not anything that I cannot do, including managing the West Indies cricket team!”

———————————————-

Has the fat lady gotten her health together two years later? Can we say that as Minister of Education, Attorney general, and Minister of Home affairs, that the citizens of Barbados were rewarded with high productivity comenserate to what they renumerated the holder of these portfolios?

BTW: She said :”my BIGGEST enemy in life will always be myself.”

Does this mean that she has no intention to lose some of that fat/blubber?? uh just asking

35. J // May 20, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Dear Adrian Hinds:

It is high time that you BECOME an American.

What you expect to live in the people country and suck up the people economic benefits and not become one of them?

Tobesides your former place in Barbados done tek’ by some new Bajans so you can’t come home again.
    ————————————————–
    I will when you become a real person, when your name consist of more than one letter, and when you give me the location of that tree that I can come home and piss pun um. But I aint gine tell you that I plan to tek some castor oil before i visit de tree. We gine become one unduh dah same tree.

36. Adrian Hinds wrote

“Barbadians did not arrive from a place and a society soaked in racial devision,”

You kidding us right?

37. “Olutoye Walrond // May 20, 2009 at 1:55 pm…The use of race against African people in and out of the western world constitutes a crime against humanity. When placed under serious analysis the notion that a human being should be judged according to the colour tone of his skin and the kind of hair he has must rank as one of the dumbest ideas ever to emanate from the human mind. Put simply, it does not make sense. ”

Dear Olutoye Walrond:

You are RIGHT.

38. JC: I can handle myself against the Adrian Hinds of this world

Note that he siad “We gine become one unduh dah same tree.”

He may devoutly wish for that consumation.

But I do NOT.

It ain’t gine happen.

39. J don’t flatter yourself. Nuh man aint gine drink castor oil before going on a consumatory rendevous. It could only mean that your buried naval string will become one with my urine and …….

40. Personal deodorant? I like that one baaaad!! Lol, Lol

You got Sylvan G. running!

41. Adrian Hinds said:

Well good old Bajan intuition served them well once again as ICE use those protest to round up many illegal immigrants.
    ——————————–

Not afaik,Most of the people whom were protesting obviously didn’t have any papers & were hispanic,even the local police were protecting them.Although,after the protests,the immigration raids that followed surely sent the message that illegal immigration won’t be tolerated in the US.I find it funny that none of the protests have been as large as they have been,even under Obama lol.
    ——————————
    On another note,I was reading an article concerning the immigration mess going on even in Africa & even they get it.

http://www.talkzimbabwe.com/news/117/ARTICLE/4750/2009-05-18.html

“A SOUTH AFRICAN political analyst has criticised that country’s government’s decision to allow Zimbabweans to enter South Africa without visas.

Prince Mashele says the move will worsen the socio-economic challenges that unemployed South Africans are facing in an effort to provide for their families.

The influx comes after the department removed visa restrictions on Zimbabweans following an agreement with the government of Zimbabwe.

Under the agreement, Zimbabweans are allowed to be in South Africa for 90 days without a visa. Thousands of Zimbabweans are now flocking to South Africa through the Beit Bridge border post.

Mashele says: “If you assist the government of Zimbabwe by opening your borders, by the time you close the flood gates, you will have a large number of Zimbabweans who may not be prepared to go back to their country.

“You will be sitting with a huge socio-economic situation, which might complicate your capacity to cope with the demand ,especially considering the fact that already South Africa’s economy is under serious pressure.”

Mashele says the South African government should rather pump money into Zimbabwe to enable it to revive its economy.

Some towns in Limpopo have already started experiencing high volumes of people from Zimbabwe who are seen begging for food and money and seeking temporary work.”

42. I think BU & this site in general should be warned on what the illegal immigrants are actually planning.It looks as though they are trying to get together to meet the Prime Minister,& despite the crackdown some say they are going to stay regardless of what happens .I can’t believe they are actually refusing to follow the law,despite the official government declaration.

http://www.guyanachronicle.com/topstory.html

“In wake of disturbing new immigration policy…
    Guyanese in Barbados bonding together
    By Wendella Davidson
    GUYANESE in Barbados, concerned about their immigration status as of June 1 next, following Prime Minister David Thompson’s recent announcement of a new immigration policy, have bonded themselves and are discussing ways in which to deal with the situation.

On that date, a new immigration policy will take effect, throwing not only the lives of the undocumented in disarray, but even the lives of some on the island legally.

According to the Prime Minister, undocumented immigrants have from June 1 to November 31, to present themselves to the Immigration authorities and have their status regularised, or face being forcibly removed from the island. The amnesty would only apply to persons who had been in the island eight years or more prior to 2005, and all others “would be removed.”

The ruling would not only affect Guyanese nationals, but several other Caricom nationals, including, Jamaicans and Vincentians.

One of the suggestions raised during a meeting reportedly held on Tuesday, according to one of the concerned Guyanese, is to seek an audience with the Prime Minister since they (Guyanese) are of the view that the terms of the amnesty under which the undocumented immigrants have to get themselves regularised are “a bit too steep”.

The Guyanese grouping which is seeking, too, to have other groups representing other undocumented Caricom immigrants come on board, are worried that many of the Guyanese who now live on the island legally may also not qualify for immigration status under this new policy, a source told the Guyana Chronicle.

It was pointed out that under the present terms for qualifying for immigration status, a non-resident is required to be living on the island continuously for five years, but the understanding of the new policy is that the basis for qualification means the applicant would have had to be residing on the island for at least 11 years.

“This means the majority of Guyanese, even many of those who are here legally, won’t qualify, and that is kind of hard,” the source added, noting that while some Bajans are rejoicing over the new immigration policy, some are in sympathy with the Guyanese and other nationals who would be affected.

Among the worried Bajans are those who earn revenue by way of renting their homes to Guyanese and other immigrants, and contractors some of whom openly boast that they get their monies worth from foreign workers.

On Saturday, Caricom leaders are due to meet in Trinidad and it is expected that the situation facing undocumented immigrants in Barbados would be discussed, since Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves of St Vincent and the Grenadines has been quite vocal in defence of his countrymen living in Barbados.

The Vincentian Prime Minister views the new immigration policies by his Caricom Head of Government colleagues, as “discriminatory” and one that will eventually result in the collapse of the much-talked about Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME).

In a statement to the Vincentian House of Parliament, Gonsalves said it was sad that some political leaders are “stoking chauvinistic fires which are latent in our Caribbean societies,” though he did not specifically name Barbados.

“This has led here and there to an outpouring of a malignant xenophobia particularly against Guyanese, Jamaicans, Vincentians, St Lucians and Grenadians,” he was reported as saying, adding that if the discrimination does not stop, then “Caricom would shortly be rent asunder.”

Thompson has spoken about “an unsatisfactorily high level of unemployment in Barbados among Barbadians”, a situation, he said, that led him to instruct the Immigration Department and other agencies of the Public Service, as well as putting the private sector on alert, that Barbadians must at all times be given preference in employment.

But Gonsalves had reminded him publicly that if the new employment policy includes holders of Caricom skilled certificates, it would mean a violation by Barbados of the letter and spirit of the Revised Caricom Treaty.

For some of the undocumented Guyanese living and working on the island, the wait to hear “some word in their favour” seems like a lifetime.

Word from the island is that both documented and undocumented Guyanese are becoming increasingly worried, as there is an apparent increase in raids by the Police/Immigration to hunt down the illegal ever since the Prime Minister’s announcement.

Raids are being conducted around midnight and in the wee hours of the morning where many of the Guyanese live, and the entertainment spots they frequent, especially at weekends, and at construction sites during working hours.

“The Prime Minister has given an ultimatum and the Police are not even giving people a chance to present themselves, they are coming to you in this aggressive manner. I shudder to think what would happen come June 1 and thereafter” said one documented Guyanese who said he is now beginning “to feel a bit unsafe” when travelling on public transport, as ‘some Bajans have resorted to pointing you out, in particular Guyanese, to the Police/Immigration personnel’.

“It’s like being a Guyanese, you are targeted. You are now seeing a change even in the Bajans themselves who once befriended you …, like they are afraid to be seen in your company,” the young man said.

However, two other Guyanese noted that while there is a cause for concern by all who are still to gain resident status because of the new immigration policy, they feel the situation regarding the raids is “being blown too much over-the-hill”.

“This raid thing to catch people who are not straight is nothing new, it’s an everyday occurrence, you’re accustomed to them coming on the bus and asking for your documentation,” one explained during a telephone interview, adding that even before the announcement, some undocumented persons had said they had become fed-up of “not living straight” and had planned returning home to Guyana.

On the other hand, there are those who have bluntly said they have no intention of leaving voluntarily, since they have much to lose, including Bajan wives and husbands and even children, and as such are “prepared to face the consequences.”

Guyana’s Honorary Consul Norman Faria is on record as saying his office has now been inundated with telephone inquiries and walk-in traffic about the implications of recent changes to the Barbados Immigration regulations.

He said he has received several reports about Guyanese being ‘stereotyped’, simply on the basis of their appearance.

Barbados Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley, recently challenged

Prime Minister Thompson on his new immigration policy statement, saying that the structure was unfortunate as it gave the distinct impression that the Barbados government is only concerned with the illegal immigrants from Caribbean countries, but not those who are there from outside of the region, that is from Europe and North America.

She added, “This action coming on the heels of the Prime Minister’s statement in Guyana of ‘Ever so welcome, wait for a call’ and the draconian way in which many Caricom immigrants have been unceremoniously removed from Barbados over the last year will undoubtedly have implications for Barbadians working and moving in the wider region. The stated policy of the Barbados Custom Department to remove the green line at the airport for all regional flights compounds the situation.”

However, Barbadians must be told she said, that the quality of life they enjoy is significantly contributed to by interaction with the Region. Some 52% of exports go to Caricom countries, 20% of tourists come from Caricom countries and many enterprises, both large and small, invest in the region as their first option for investment outside of Barbadian shores.

“In addition, our only hope to sustain our quality of life and our economic development without the constraint of small size is dependent on our ability to do business, sell our services, trade and invest within the Caribbean Region. Barbadian prosperity cannot be guaranteed by Barbadian labour and Barbadian capital alone,” Mottley said.

The Barbadian opposition leader added that it is urgent that Prime Minister Thompson, the lead Prime Minister of the CSME, show leadership and ensure the urgent settlement of the long awaited Protocol on Contingent Rights that will settle what benefits Caricom citizens will access if they live in another Caricom country.

Mottley is also on record, some three years ago, while holding the portfolio of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs of Barbados, as coming out in defence of illegal Caricom national in Barbados, in particular Guyanese, in the face of a rising emotional campaign driven largely by radio call-in programmes.

Guided by official data and speaking on a CBC televised programme, Mottley drew attention to the fact that that not just Guyanese, but nationals of many other Caricom countries, as well as from America and Britain, were living in Barbados illegally.”

43. Olutoye
    I’m so disaqppointed in you but then a little education make fools of some of us. You have mentioned the GREATEST bajan politician ever, Errol Barrow but may I ask you the same thing he asked back in 1986 “what mirror image do you have of yourself?” Do you see yourself sitting idly by and allowing strangers to take away your birthright, a birthright that your ancestors worked so hard to leave for their offspring? Wake up from your slumber and acknowledge what is happening on your doorstep. There is an invasion of persons who done have your interest at heart, they are just parasites who are prepared to suck every ounce of blood out of this country and when it’s dead just move on to somewhere else. Don’t get me wrong, guyanese are being robbed but that is by their own administration, little Barbados CANNOT solve their problem. If a 400 lb man was slipping down a hole and grabbed on to your arm for assistance, can you, a 100 lb man without strong support to assist you, allow him to pull you down too? After the great strides that Barbados,through patriotic Barbadians, have made, we are now enjoying the fruits of their labour and YES we are willing to share it with others but certainly, we will not give it away, especially to people whose only goal is to please themselves at the expense of you and your family. Wake up and face reality, remove the cateracts that have you blinded and repent of your ignorance. If the leaders of the caribbean would denounce jagdeo and his dictatorial regime, then conditions in guyana will improve but opening the doors to this little “big rock” just spreads the cancer instead of removing it. Get real.

44. The Prime Minister seemed most resolute in restating the new immigration policy last night.

45. I dont know but I didn’ like when Mia left Parliament and others. It was as if to say: If we can’t run the country we aint want no part of it. She quarrelled about not dealing with jobs when Thompson did so she quarrelled about something else. I am of the opinion that Bajans will not like this at alllllll.

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I too was impressed with that fact,that the prime minister last night seemed very determined to follow through on the course he has started on immigration.

I am waiting to see it fully executed.

47. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Reading the starbroek news today there are 3 interesting articles.

One article is complaining that guyanese are not getting their work permits renewed quick enough in Barbados, although neither the guyanese, nor the starbroek newspapers are acknowledging that these are hard times for barbadians seeking work and being laid off.

Then a letter to the Editor is lambasting Jagdeo for not telling off Thompson for the stance he is taking on immigration;

Finally ,there is an article about 2 indo guyanese women who used forged jamaican passports to enter the U.S.A. and were caught when they came back to guyana to get an interview with the U.S embassy in Guyana.

Why is it that most of these forged passport cases involve indo guyanese.

They seem to be more bent on commiting these types of crimes,although that is not to say that some of the black guyanese don’t do the same.

Get rid of Jagdeo people,he is your problem not Thompson.

48. @ EyeSpy
    I agree with your assessment that BFP is looking for a way to pull traffic from BU over to their site. Maybe the only way they thought it would be effective is by slamming BU with negative writing knowing full well that many of their (BFP) loyal supporters would jump on its bandwagon in a heartbeat adding fuel to the fire. Shameful, shame on BFP. I understand it’s a dog eat dog world, but I never expected BFP to stoop so low. I cannot remember ever seeing the Advocate or the Nation News pulling down each other. The Advocate did its thing and so did the Nations News.

No need to run scared of BU. BFP one day you are at the top of the leader board, and another time BU who you view as a competitor instead of a counterpart is also entitled to and would climb to the same very top for which you should be proud of your own fellowman.

I am disappointed in the way BFP have chosen to knock down BU who is also trying to achieve similar goals by keeping bajans aware of what is going on that is withheld from them by the local media.

49. Sappy that means you do not understand the ruthlessness and wickedness of some people. Boy do I see it everyday, the provocateurs delivers with calm resonance, not a frown or other emotional give away, and that wry smile. Ha, ha ha ha BFP squandered their preeminence, like the drunks they portray themselves to be. Anyone with a little bit of self-worth would not allow themselves to be treated the way BFP has done to their commentators, and readers, and this is why they are where they are.

……But enough about dem. Importance is not one of their better qualities, and their comedic value, their biggest asset by far, can be had elsewhere.

50. This is what we mean when we talk about managed migration adding value to the workforce:

Opportunities for local nurses abroad
    BY Dominica News Correspondent

Originally published: May 18, 2009 11:33:00 AM

Last updated: November 30, -0001 02:54:24 AM

Adjust font size   3 comments

Some of Dominica’s nurses could be sent to work in Barbados sometime this year.

The announcement came from Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit in his remarks at the 16th inaugural meeting of the Laplaine village council at the weekend.

“By October of this year, because of our vision for our health care, we would have addressed the nursing shortage in Dominica, to the point where we would be sending some of our nurses to work in Barbados under some special programme,” Skerrit said, adding that the existence of the Dominica State College will play a great role in this achievement.

He said the institution has been heavily criticized since its inception, even while it has created several benefits for Dominicans.

“It was something that was created by Dominicans for Dominicans… and today we’re seeing more students having access to the state college than ever before and the grades that they acquire or they earn at the state college are transferable to many universities across the length and breath of this world… so we’re seeing the benefits,” Skerrit stated.