Submitted by Yardbroom
The Fountain  -in Trafalgar Square (Heroes Square) - was erected to celebrate the start of piped water in Bridgetown/GIS
The Fountain -in Trafalgar Square (Heroes Square) – was erected to celebrate the start of piped water in Bridgetown/GIS

It has been reported that the Minister of Community Development and Culture Mr. Steve Blackett has proposed to redesign and rename Heroes Square so that the statue of Lord Nelson – 1758-1805 – no longer occupies its present position; in essence the statue (originally in the past Trafalgar Square) will not be positioned “in” Heroes Square.

For many years Nelson’s statue has been a source of contention to many Barbadians, while a few have been very relaxed about it, even to the point of advocating that the statue should remain in its present position, against all opposition.

In taking a look at the situation we should start at the beginning and this is best done by asking why was the statue originally erected in Barbados.  The statue was erected in 1813 – sculpted by Sir Richard Westmancott – “to honour Nelson’s memory.”  I will return later to if Nelson’s memory should be honoured in Barbados.

Nelson’s column in Trafalgar Square London was finished in 1843, the square was created in 1835.  The Square was created in Nelson’s memory. Dublin precedes both Barbados and London with Nelson’s Pillar which was started in 1808.

The planter class in Barbados had a great input in the statue’s erection and it does not take much thinking to understand why in that period they would want to “honour Nelson’s memory.”  It is true one cannot change history but those who are here now want to impact on the “present” as the planter class did on theirs in 1813.

Why should there be any opposition to Nelson? There can be no doubt that Nelson was pro slavery.  When William Wilberforce repeatedly tried to influence the debates in Parliament on slavery in England.  Nelson wrote:  “about the damnable doctrine of Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies” This was said when Nelson was a member of Parliament – before he started his naval career – and he had reason to be aggrieved with William Wilberforce a dogged abolitionist who was committed to the abolition of slavery.

It is not reasonable to defend Nelson by saying that was the thinking of the day, because if that was the case what about those of the “same period” like Wilberfore and others who fought for the abolition of slavery?

It is to the present Barbados generation to make their imprint on the “present” to define who they are for future generations, they have as much right to do it as those planters who did so in 1813.

Barbados has been as we know it -more or less – since the seventeenth century and for a greater part of that “early history” there is not much to be proud about…but it has happened.

We must use the past as lessons in how “not” to behave, whilst protecting what is good that we have, because we have paid a heavy price during the past…the decisions we make now are for this generation but they are also building blocks for future generations of proud Barbadians.

1. After reading this three times I am unable to figure out where Yardbroom is regarding this issue. Too many people are sitting on the fence.
    Why is so difficult to move this particular statue?
    The statue of a national hero was moved from where it was first erected, to a new and more appropriate location, without any fuss.

We can turn him around or rename the area around him a million times, as long as he occupies that position, this generation will continue to believe that “others” are still dictating our actions, still crafting our fate and destiny.

Eventually this Nelson debate will suffer the same fate as the one on the Republic of Barbados.
    They claim to represent us and are paid to do so, but they are only maintaining the status quo.

2. Just Wondering Avatar
    Just Wondering

@General Lee: in these tough economic times do you think it is wise to spend money moving the statue? If we MIGHT have to bail out CLICO isnt that another burden on the already burdened economy and taxpayers?

3. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier

I believe that such a square should be given a significant name.

Parliament square does not cut it for me.

Errol Barrow Square encompassing Independence Square would be a better idea.

4. I am willing to bet that it would cost far less than creating a new Heroes Park.

How much does it cost to rent a crane for an hour?
    Someone might even volunteer to move it free of cost.

It has been accepted by most that this is a dead issue and that Nelson is not going anyway in their lifetime.

This is just another red herring thrown at the masses by another clueless politican.

5. @General Lee

Can’t agree with you more and we did in a previous blog. It is commonsense that we should be making decisions now which affect how we want to influence our generation. Why should our present leaders be concerned about what future generations will do? The waffling on the issue of Nelson and Heroes Square explains a lot about the failure of our leaders to make CARICOM/CSME work.

6. Asiba that nice Buffalo Soldier beat me to it, for I was going to say a statue of the PM Errol Barrow and rename the square Errol Barrow Square.

7. Let’s rename Barbados and everything else while we’re at it and charge it all to the average taxpayer – once we get our cut, right?

8. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

Errol Walton Barrow bestrode this country like a colossus.

He made his very significant contribution to Barbados from the Parliament Buildings: spending many many hours delivering speeches of all kinds.

He established Independence square. He is the Father of Independence.
    He made one of the most thought provoking and inspiring speeches from Independence Square. I was there and I heard the ‘Mirror Image’ speech live.

From corner to corner in that general area there was a man called Errol Barrow

Anyone with a modicum of cultural sensitivity must agree that the square must be renamed -Errol Barrow Square.

Let me blow my trumpet now ! (I aint care who get vex)———>

Man I should be the Minister of Culture. I have the qualifications too. Academic and otherwise but I need to get my doctorate because I see that we have a new doctor in the house at the NCF and to be the boss of the boss, my doctorate is a must—ha ha ha

I aint wearing jacket and tie though !-that is inappropriate dress-bare iggrance !-a symbol of the plantocracy and an indication that we dont know who de –(expletive deleted)—–we are

9. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

With all due respect, I do think that the Nelson issue is a bit of a storm in a teacup. It is one of those issues that a few people are very passionate about and the vast majority of Barbadians views can probably be summed up by the phrase “whatever!” (with accompanying rolling of eyes).

It was rumoured that the reason that the BLP never followed through with the republic or renaming of the statue was that scientific polling by CADRES had indicated that the vast majority of Bajans were indifferent or slightly uneasy about the “republican” push.

I think Bajans as a group are mature enough to view history without feeling threatened by relics of a colonial past.

To the vast majority of them, Nelson is just that; a relic of what Barbados was then. They don’t feel threatened or intimidated by the statue (as some advocates seem to claim) they just view it as part of the past.

The act of moving him or changing him makes many people uneasy not because they treasure that past but because they see the effort as couched in a relatively one sided view of the past, that quite frankly makes them uncomfortable.

Barbadians are by nature very conservative (ask any other West Indian) it is a part of our culture that has served us well. It is why successive governments have taken a centrist path (or slightly left of centre) eschewing any agenda that go to the far left or the far right. That is part of what makes us Bajans and is part of why many of us are slightly suspicious of the hype (on both sides) of the Nelson debate.

On a slightly more pragmatic note, I would debate the wisdom of spending money to redesign Heroes/Trafalgar/Parliament Square in the midst of an economic recession. Surely we have better things to worry about?

Marginal

10. Steve Blackett is one of the dumbest cabinet minister ever in the history of Barbados.After reading his reasons for the retention of that Black hater & supporter of slavery Lord Nelson I wonder about the inept clowns we have as politicians not only in Barbados but in the Caribbean.

I support this government on some of it policies especially the new immigration policy,but I abhor its position on many other issues.

This government position on cultural matters is bewildering.It has a problem with the demolition of that dangerous old,structure at Farley Hill.
    What historic importance to the development of Barbados an old colonial building like Farley Hill House is to Barbados?

This government that is blowing hot & cold has erected a sign and made the place at the top of Broad Street where captured slaves were kept like cattle in a small confined area a place of historic importance.That place has been rename “The Cage.”That is an insult to the integrity,struggle,and sacrifices our enslaved fore-parents made for the liberation we the descendants of slaves enjoyed to day.I cannot understand the rationalize behind such as stupid move.I listened to that clown Richard Sealy trying to justify the reasoning behind such a move.He indicated that it wil become a tourist attraction.At this stage of our development as a people we will be making a spectacle of ourselves by highlighting an area where our enslaved fore-parents were kept like cattle.Sick,sick,sick

All of our governments are still stuck in old colonial mode and are afraid to address to the negative effects of colonization because our governments are still dependent on the hand outs from the white human pigs that unfortunately still control this country.

This government is afraid to offend the white degenerates like C.O Williams,his brother Ralph “Bizzy’ Williams and all the other white thrash

The statue of Lord Nelson should be taken down and thrown into the wharf.Lord Nelson was a Black hater and supported the retention of slavery.He is no hero of the Negroman.

11. Yes, I say rename Barbados but only after the shackles have been removed from the brains of the Blacks. And removing these shackles include removing nelson from their sight. You see, symbols have a very powerful impact on the brain. For those of the business/ruling class who align with nelson, it is important to them that he remains in the foci of every Bajan, so you don’t forget who is your Lord i.e. who is really in control and so that you don’t forget your past because we can put you right back there. What this class fears most is the resurrection of the power of the Black Mind. So they will do everything in their power to maintain their dominance. And their ‘education’ system will not free the minds of the Black Man. Its only there to get you a job on their plantation.

12. Hopi you aint easy!

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hopi

I have never feared the white Lords, at home or elsewhere, because from HC days, I did not meet many who were that very smart. Ironically many of these dummies have good positions today.

The folk to fear in Barbados is the blacks, who, when they get a little power or supervisory post, take pleasure in destroying fellow blacks.

I was offered a job as Dean of an offshore medical school owned by a black man. First he offered the lowest pay I was ever offered in any med school at which I taught. When I arrived, he did not have the housing arranged as promised. Nothing like how the white man treated me. So I returned to my home.

Until we treat each other properly we will remain as we are.

Moving Nelson and changing the name from Trafalgar Square is bare red herrings, and window dressing by men who have no ideas or plans or programs to offer our people.

These trivia are the extent of the cerebration of men with betzpaenia and brains that have atrophied long ago. We must pity them, and be sorry for our people who look up to them for succour and for progress in vain.

They run away the best of our people, and refuse to accept those who sojourned abroad and have much to offer. They do this because if they love the fact that one man is king in the land of the blind.

14. Reading the comments of negroman, hopi, georgie porgie and the like, ably demonstrates the mental slavery in which these unfortunate souls exist.

Yardbroom said “We must use the past as lessons in how “not” to behave…”

Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned – Buddha.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Duppy

I am not being ANGRY; just FACTUAL!

16. I am not bias although I am GP’s other half; but he aint sound hateful atall he just telling the truth.

I was reading some work by Beckles, Morris etc. and their comments are similar to GPs. And they are not hateful they were just being honest and factual.

As Monica Schuler states; The plantation system began as a coercive one but developed into one of consent ……… need I go on. We love to see a few in charge with a SLAVE DRIVER at the helm with a long ass whip to whip the masses into submission!

It works everytime.

17. I doubt if Nelson ever had a slave in his life as he was on board a ship from the age of 13 years until his relatively early death.

Why not move the statue to the museum and then everyone will shut up about it and concentrate on something that really matters.

18. History is the version of past events that people have decided to agree upon.
    Napoleon Bonaparte (1769 – 1821)

Are we agreeing on anything?

19. I say if everyone hates the statue of NeIson so much, move it to the Museum where it wiII have its historicaI context and won’t offend anybody and tourists can stiII contempIate about him and his deeds on the ocean waves. Don’t erect another statue in it’s pIace in a hurry. It wiII be a Iong time before a Bajan person has such a huge infIuence on the whoIe worId, if ever, at this rate. Why not wait untiI someone reaIIy makes a mark , not in sports etc. but something profound. In another way, it couId be a renewabIe pIinth, Iike in TrafaIgar Square in Iondon, where different artists get to portray different charachters or ideas. PersonaIIy I think the statue shouid stay where it is because just onIy that it has been there such a Iong time and much of the past is being eroded away these days.

20. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

PURE balderdash and bovine excretement from those who refused to understand the significance of that symbol of the plantocracy.

Seems to me that we will remain enslaved forever.

Cheese-on Bread !

OH FOR THE TEACHING OF OUR HISTORY !
    MAY THE EYES OF THE BLIND
    BE OPEN
    MAY WISDOM AND UNDERSTANDING BE BESTOWED ON THE UNWILLING.

21. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

If we proceed in a straight line from Parliament building to Queens Park —Errol Barrow.

From Queens Park to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital -Errol Barrow

From the Hospital to Independence Square and along the way we pick up Harrison College and the Treasury Building. (sounds like Peter Wilkinson on the BIG RIDE)—Errol Barrow

All of these entities have one thing in common —Errol Barrow ‘s presence——-Need I say more ?

–Yes -Asiba -Yes

22. @JC….How you doing?

@Georgie Porgie……. You are correct that they are not too smart. Most of them have gotten where they are because of a system of ‘white supremacy’ which affords them privilege.The sad thing about it is that the white man is no longer holding the whip. He has strategically and efficiently trained too many of us to do his bidding to our detriment. But simple minds will never comprehend.

@Duppy Lizard…..Ain’t nobody holding onto anger here. We are dealing with a reality that has been forced upon us BLACK people. None of us volunteered for it and all some of us want to do is help our people see the GREATNESS within themselves. So if you are against that get out of the way.

23. Unfortunately, some of us are doomed to spend what little time we have here in our self imposed misery.

24. @Duppy Lizard…..Who are you to say who amongst us are doomed? If you are happy in your state of being, I say good for you. Just move along. However, there are some of us who are not happy with the conditions of the whole lot. If one link in a chain is weak, then that whole chain is weak.

25. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

bit by bit ; block by block
    the bad effects of what was done to Black people during slavery must be dismantled. Some people want to sweep it under the carpet. This will not help. anything that we as individuals can do to help , we must do.

It will not happen overnight so bit by bit , generation by generation we must chop away at what should be chopped away and build up what should be built up. We have to keep drilling and drilling it into the ears and minds of the people.

That is why I am fed-up with some of the offerings of some of our artistes at Crop Over: They are not addressing enough of the issues.

I am even more fed -up with the educational system that continues to encourage the same inequalities and discrimination as the slave masters did during slavery.

26. Negroman // May 15, 2009 at 12:54 pm

“Steve Blackett is one of the dumbest cabinet minister ever in the history of Barbados”

That is as true a comment as there ever will be. As Culture Minister he has Owen After to compete with for “most ineffective” as well. But Culture, like MCW has had its fair share of dumb ass Ministers anyway.

notesfromthemargin
    Shut up…!

27. GP
    I BAFBFP am proud of you. I understand. But this is human nature isn’t it?

Guppy Gizzard never gets it, and this is true for most Bajan White people..!

victor // May 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm
    And what about William Wilberforce…?

Hopi // May 15, 2009 at 5:15 pm
    But our problems now are from Black academics (most of whom are unable to make it in the real world without a job to hold on to…! The Oliver Jordans and the Donald Austins and the myriad of lawyers and MBA’s that defend the interests international “investors” and their investments. The Phd’s. One was just chosen to head the NCF. Absolutely no experience at selling and marketing or producing anything of merit other than a thesis or two.

The Whites in the old days hired on colour yes, but also on ability (to think on your feet, handle people, solve problems, intelligence etc.). Mutual was effectively managed for decades without lettered men. Now boards brimming with letters, decide on hire on “qualifications” and not ability. Those who may prove to have both quals and ability will have a pretty hard time returning. Walter Blackman if you reading this try and come home and see what will happen to you. Steven Alleyne (the late) was a lot more pliable.

28. BAFBFP
    The Whites in the old days hired on colour yes, but also on ability (to think on your feet, handle people, solve problems, intelligence etc.). Mutual was effectively managed for decades without lettered men.
    ———————————————————–
    Those whites were racists just like you.

29. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

After the talk

What ?

30. Anon,
    You tek me out ah context…!

31. The insularity here is just as bad as no whites or Indians on the phonebook cover, why don’t we just run all other races out of Barbados? Prevent any whites from visiting too?

See how far we advance without their stinking money, eh? Sigh!

I really long for day when all races are so mixed no one knows who is what! Just one people and no twits.

32. @Ian Bourne

You are trivializing the concerns of some. Your view to which you are entitled is a little idealistic maybe?
    Barbados as a country with its origin in slavery some believe needs to assess what it needs to do to best lead its people into the next century, nothing wrong with that in our view. It is a predominant Black country which has been educated by and large with a eurocentric bent. Some of us are asking if we need to assess where we are at this juncture in history by reviewing/changing our symbols of the past, the books we use to school our children which seek to awaken a more relevant consciousness, a whole restructure of the school curriculum etc to better reflect our latent desires as a people. This discussion should occur in a climate which is healthy. It is a process which the country will/should ultimately benefit. Stifling concerns of a nation whether right or wrong is not the healthy way to go. We appreciate that such discussions will make some uncomfortable but that’s par for the course when striving for a greater good. For too long as we have gotten fat literally and figuratively and our moral and philosophical moorings have become detached, we have become happy to just float on currents driven by what is status quo i.e.popular.

33. What another stinking illusion that BLACK people need WHITE people or any other peoples to survive. When will this LIE die? It has been on the backs of BLACK people that white people have stood since they’ve been on this planet. Why don’t you try staying to hell out of Alkebulan! See how your arses will survive? With the white superior mentality there will NEVER be ONE people and I hope this one people shite never happens. You get to sandwich your inadequacies and incompentences among Black people. I hope that BLACK people will STOP mixing their blood, genes with White people. We can do without you. So you keep your ‘damn white superior’ mentality and shove it where the SUN will never shine along with your white hero nelson!

34. And while we’re at it, Black people don’t allow them to put your face on their White owned telephone book neither.

35. Hopi cuttin’ loose today.

Listen Ian Bourne, you apologist ass, when the Jews allow for a statue of Adolph Hitler to be erected in Israel or the Americans allow the Iraqis to rebuild the statue of Sadam Hussein that was purposely removed during the invasion, then I would pick sense from your position.

36. @BAFBFP

Know you are just being provocative 🙂

Selling new stock comes with challenges. Ownership structure can change as well as the balance sheet i.e.debt to equity ratio which impacts if BL&P intends to borrow from a financial institution to fund expansion in the UNLIKELY event the FTC hearing declines their application.

37. Social misfits and miscreants.

38. David
    When you when you place your response on the right thread, I gun give yer response a response… LOL

39. BAFBFP……That’s right! When they start putting up their strawmen all over ‘their’ countries then maybe the white owner class in Barbados can rethink their hero nelson.

There are some ‘social misfits’ and ‘miscreants’ who just want to get the frauds, liars and criminals off of our backs so that we can stand tall like our FOREPARENTS.! We are no longer willing to take the ostrich’s position. Therefore we are honorary in that class as long as you are NOT a member.

40. Guppy,

If you have nothing to say, say nothing nah…. Oh shoot yah just said it..!

41. Hopi – you are hopeless! As for the statue issue, why don’t we rename everything in Barbados or “Black-only-Dos”? What is wrong to want to see one race? Would there be any prejudiced pendejos like you then?

As for David – I do not think I am triviliasing the matter; how can you on one hand want to forget whites had ANYTHING to do with here or the rest of the Caribbean but turn around and want them to spend tourist dollar or Euro?

I as a taxpayer will vote out ANY party and advise friends and family to vote against same when that regime spends MY money paid to Inland Revenue for a frivolous task! It happened, get over it! Should NELSON Mandela change his name? He seems to like it, wonder where he got it from??

Reparation? So the current PM and myself apologise to our respective selves and offer money into our own accounts considering our family trees…

You all are as sick as the fictional villain Voldemort in the Harry Potter series who carries on about “Mudbloods” when he himself is a hybrid of mortal and magic!

This was based on Hitler’s desire for an Aryan purity when he is clearly NOT Nordic nor Scandinavian (blond, tall and Viking)?

You lot still have some serious maturing to catch up on, y’hear?

42. @Ian Bore….. You pandejos-ass-pandejos. You fat frigging freeloading fart here talking shite bout get over it. You and your de-pigmentized kind want to run rough shod all over this planet and now that people are awakening to your shite and beginning to kick your arse, you’re talking bout race mixing so that you wouldn’t know the difference. That would still be to your advantage because there’s no way you can combine a substance with pigment and one without and end up with a pigment-less substance. So your parasitic arse would still stand out and benefit. It is to the disadvantage of BLACKS to mix with your kind. You have all your codes and #s to identify your kind. Multi-culturalism is to the detriment of the BLACK MAN.

BTW, Hope is for those who worship the white man’s god, not for Hopi.

43. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Racism and racial discrimination were invented by Europeans to justify the enslavement of Blacks: To justify that Blacks were chattel ; that Blacks were not human.

Every law that came after to deal with slaves and black people was constructed to reinforce this myth.

Do you know that laws existed that made it illegal for Blacks to wear ‘finery’ i.e. properly tailored clothing and jewellery ? Blacks were not human: they were savages and everything else in between.

The myths wrought during slavery have continued and need to be exposed and dealt with in no uncertain way.

These are not trivial matters and these matters must be resolved. Every Barbadian needs to see to it that this is done.

The way we are treated as a people is based on these myths. How long is too long if it is BAD ?—–OH MY !

what wunna frighten for ?
    Isn’t this fear some sort of immaturuty ?

44. I see the taint is still strong here,
    as long as the prime minister still swears fealty to the queen and her heirs,

as long as this country still runs on the mouse maze left by the colonialists,

as long as we still dance to the music of the neo-colonialists,

then its a moot point of names and statues.

45. Renaming the square and leaving Nelson where he is, is the best thing the Govt. has done.

“Heroes square”, never sat down well; it was “thrust upon us” by the political grasshoppers in the likes of Commissiong.

46. Hopi gone clear…!
    “fat frigging freeloading fart” My God murdah….! Wallas…! Somebody gettin’ kill tanight…!Ha Haaa..!

47. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Mr. Bourne I really do not think one should be insulted this way for ones views but honestly, you should take stock to what you wrote. I believe your disclosure was meant to be interpreted that all races need to harmonize. But you should have chosen other words other than the ones that cause you to be insulted so vehemenently. For that act of stupidity I think you deserve the tongue lashing you got.

48. Wow. What intelligence! I am so awed…

NOT, ho-hum, name calling and racial profiling – doing like the very “oppressors” you hate? That’s mature?

As for the poster who uses a Native American name they should sue you for your idiocy that you impugn with their tribal name…

I will take my mixed race self (may be pale but I have more races and nationalities than a Salmon-tot Retriever) from this idiot shoutbox (This is allegedly a forum?) and you all can jerk each other to sleep, ok?

49. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Hey Ian Bourne and the others

why yuh taking this thing so personal ?

cant we just have a debate for what it is worth. the name calling and the attempts by some to insult others is not called for.

Lets build Barbados together

Cheese-on Bread !