Submitted by Yardbroom
The Fountain  -in Trafalgar Square (Heroes Square) - was erected to celebrate the start of piped water in Bridgetown/GIS
The Fountain -in Trafalgar Square (Heroes Square) – was erected to celebrate the start of piped water in Bridgetown/GIS

It has been reported that the Minister of Community Development and Culture Mr. Steve Blackett has proposed to redesign and rename Heroes Square so that the statue of Lord Nelson – 1758-1805 – no longer occupies its present position; in essence the statue (originally in the past Trafalgar Square) will not be positioned “in” Heroes Square.

For many years Nelson’s statue has been a source of contention to many Barbadians, while a few have been very relaxed about it, even to the point of advocating that the statue should remain in its present position, against all opposition.

In taking a look at the situation we should start at the beginning and this is best done by asking why was the statue originally erected in Barbados.ย  The statue was erected in 1813 – sculpted by Sir Richard Westmancott – “to honour Nelson’s memory.”ย  I will return later to if Nelson’s memory should be honoured in Barbados.

Nelson’s column in Trafalgar Square London was finished in 1843, the square was created in 1835.ย  The Square was created in Nelson’s memory. Dublin precedes both Barbados and London with Nelson’s Pillar which was started in 1808.

The planter class in Barbados had a great input in the statue’s erection and it does not take much thinking to understand why in that period they would want to “honour Nelson’s memory.”ย  It is true one cannot change history but those who are here now want to impact on the “present” as the planter class did on theirs in 1813.

Why should there be any opposition to Nelson? There can be no doubt that Nelson was pro slavery.ย  When William Wilberforce repeatedly tried to influence the debates in Parliament on slavery in England.ย  Nelson wrote:ย  “about the damnable doctrine of Wilberforce and his hypocritical allies” This was said when Nelson was a member of Parliament – before he started his naval career – and he had reason to be aggrieved with William Wilberforce a dogged abolitionist who was committed to the abolition of slavery.

It is not reasonable to defend Nelson by saying that was the thinking of the day, because if that was the case what about those of the “same period” like Wilberfore and others who fought for the abolition of slavery?

It is to the present Barbados generation to make their imprint on the “present” to define who they are for future generations, they have as much right to do it as those planters who did so in 1813.

Barbados has been as we know it -more or less – since the seventeenth century and for a greater part of that “early history” there is not much to be proud about…but it has happened.

We must use the past as lessons in how “not” to behave, whilst protecting what is good that we have, because we have paid a heavy price during the past…the decisions we make now are for this generation but they are also building blocks for future generations of proud Barbadians.

1. Tee hee! Each and every morning Hopi wakes up he looks at a clock de white man invent. When he goes to the bathroom he pees in something de white man invent. When he goes to the fridge – de white man invent it. When he turns on his computer – de white man invent it. When he speaks he speaks de white man language (or a facsimile thereof). When he types, he types in de white man language. When he gets in his car – de white man invent it. When he goes to the bank to get his money it’s compliments of de foolish white man who came to Barbados on vacation. Why even the house he sleeps in looks like a white man house.

Cuh dear, um is enuf to short circuit all dem neurons and electrical impluses in he poor head.

2. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar
    Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’

Some persons seem not to understand the gist of this debate and would want to take it down to the lowest ebb,

This has been a strategy used over the years to trivialise matters related to slavery, the development of Blacks in Barbados and similar subject matter.

It is to be recognised for what it is worth.

3. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

Such things really peeve me

4. Well it doesn’t take any intelligence to engage this uber-pandejo who, at 1:44 am telling people to jerk themselves to sleep. Seems like your jerk didn’t go pretty well, can’t fall asleep? A case of coitus-interruptus from some imaginary ‘hole?’ Talk about the Natives suing Hopi for impugning their ‘tribal’ name. ‘Laughable! They know that such action would be a woeful waste of time just like all the treaties they signed with the white man. Didn’t your kind decimate them? Now who should who? As for the Salmon-tot Retrievers, they will never mix with you simply because they are thorough- breds and must maintain their purity. So much for you wanting to mix your arse in with everyone.

And to that other reptilian who’s slowly creeping out of its grave, all the bogus white man’ inventions are leading this world to the brink of destruction. My people lived in harmony with the environment, they never destroyed it like your people have done. They understood it. Your calender of time has been stolen from the Ancients who didn’t need a clock because they lived by the cosmos and planned their very existence by this same cosmos. Before the white ascended his cave, Black men constructed the Pyramids – the only structure that Time fears. So sleep on…

5. Asiba who stopping you from “developing”? It is moronic discussions such as this one which peeves me. It is designed with one purpose in mind – to incite hatred and animosity.

6. @Duppy Lizard

You like to attack BU maybe you should read this article which was carried in the beloved Nation newspaper.

7. Hi David:

I apologise if you perceive that I am attacking BU, but lets be honest here, the more contentious your blogs the more hits you probably get – akin to the National Enquirer rag and their outrageous news items.

It brings out the worse in people and helps to perpetuate myths and half truths.

As you suggested, I read the report in the Nation, did you read any of the readers comments there? One poor soul who apparently lives in England went so far as to say that Nelson was no great explorer and how could he discover lands that were already there – or something to that effect. I think she got him mixed up with Columbus.

BU is part of my computer time, you do some good work, but be kind and nice. And, above all be tolerant of others. The world sometimes can be a very nasty place.

8. @Duppy Lizard

Couple of points:
    1. Yardbroom is the author of this blog and can you describe him as National Enquirish in presentation?
    2. We did a test on the Nation website yesterday and there is screening i.e. the blogs on the nation website are moderated
    3. One can never please ALL.

Good to know that you keep reading BU though we must be doing something right. Although we don’t agree we use a National Enquirer approach we can definitely say that we write with a cause and it has nothing to do with hits. It is one reason our blogs are people centric and focused usually on Barbados and the Caribbean in the main.

9. Leave the statue where it is. Do you-all have money to waste? Spend money on developing a school bus service and hire and train monitors to supervise the trips; the transport board is under too much pressure. Spend the money on the youth and also create a Special Victims Unit to deal with violence against children.

10. notesfromthemargin Avatar
    notesfromthemargin

This discussion thread supports my point, we have a group of very vocal supporters in the moving camp. To the point where people who disagree with them have abuse heaped on them (“shut up” what an intelligent response THAT one was!)

And then you have people who for various reasons either oppose the move or question the necessity of it.

If moving Nelson had broad based support in Barbados it would have been done already!

As long as the idea remains in the domain of the “pan africanist” “ultra nationalist” agenda, the mainstream will continue to be uncomfortable with moving it.

I firmly believe that much of the sound and fury around this issue (on both sides) is generated by a noisy minority. The majority of Bajans are either neutral or slightly negative on the moving issue.

Marginal.

11. Moving the statue will be a very inexpensive exercise. Two pieces of dynamite. Boom! Matter solved.

These arguments for leaving it are so puny that I would save the statue and use the dynamite on the people who trying to propagate them.

12. notesfromthemargin

Some wise man once said that if you found yourself on the side of the majority opinion, maybe you should reconsider your views. It like seeing a good fight and jumping in. Majorities are seldom if ever, right.

Not “pan africanistโ€ nor โ€œultra nationalist” how about just plain old “right thinking” people who regularly end up being part of a minority grouping. Human nature.

13. I’ll worry about Nelson if one day I go to the supermarket, pull out a $100;$50;$20;$10;$5 or $2 and see his face on any of them, then I would be concerned. Otherwise…scr w him!
    Next.
    I read all these comments above, “black this, black that”, all bull excrement.
    One guy called Negroman describes the Williams brothers as white degenerates, but pray tell me how many BLACK people has he/does he Negroman employ/employed and still quietly assist????
    Personally, I am glad for the slave trade otherwise my BLACK a$$ would at this hour be sharing a mud hut with ten others somewhere in the jungles of Africa. I would have my spear and machette beside me just in case another black face burst through the straw door to kill me and my family. However, for some fortunate reason, I was born here in Barbados in a wall house and still live in one and free, free , free, including my mind.
    You black race hustlers want to see real racism and or poverty??? Visit the bellies of Mississippi; Louisiana; Arkansas; North and South Carolina; Eastern Texas and Tennessee.
    Another thing. How come Gabby could sing “Whitie , black man running this country.” Nobody has denounced him for even creating this song and it being given air on our radio stations.
    Let’s cut the BS and work together to further build this nation in which we live will yah??
    P.S: Any of you who want to return to Mother Africa I will gladly pay your ONE WAY ticket, if not, stop the global warming with your HOT AIR.

14. boredickey is jus’ wah you want…!

15. How you know what the Africans had before they were ripped from the womb of their country.

How the fuck would you have felt if you were called CHATTEL and REAL-ESTATE for close too 400 years!

How would you feel if when they claimed that slavery had been abolished that the same lands we toiled we had to pay to rent. and if one person in that group kept noise, since that we were land scarce in Barbados EVERY BLASTED person that was part of the family, had to GO!

what shite you talking about, Africa was NEVER given a chance to SHINE!

Because of persons like you, who liked to see their OWN in a fucking slave ship! You ASS!

SHAME ON YOU!

16. AND GABBY IS A TRAITOR!

Not a good example, tryyyyyyy we GRANDPARENTS!

17. Anonymous dont be fooled.
    Boredickey is your regular white Bajan bigot.
    The Boers and KKK are his blood brothers.
    Prejudiced whites always on these blogs claiming they black.
    Its a underhand ploy for them to express the hate they hold for blacks.

18. Well, if Boredickey is your regular white Bajan bigot, I can truly comprehend why he would be so happy to give up his cold cave for a nice,warm brick house in the Sunshine!

@BAFBFP….Hurry up with that dynamite. Too many happy parasites here and two sticks ain’t enough.

19. Keep it reallll Hopi! STRAIGHT!

20. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

It is indeed amazing that a European erection at the top of Broad Street could cause such consternation, the posting now ‘degenerating’ into one of coitus-interuptus etc….not surprising considering the topic.

I am not sure whose coitus was interrupted, that such venomous slanderings have spewed.

Nevertheless, I will pull out of this ‘argument’ before it is too late and I am forever entrenched in rhetorical exchange!

21. I mean seriously, how do you compare the $1,200.00 max it would cost to remove the statue to the expense of “developing a school bus service”..! What shite is this?

22. Sir limpwood dick it is that you SHAME!

You thought that Black people would agree with you! BUT THOSE MASKS ARE BEING REMOVED!

I know how you feel, LOST, when you see my brother ore sister walking the street it is hurt you that we can curse you too your face and call you a racist pig to your face and not be hung or lashed by some fucking slave driver!

Oh Well, DEAL WITH IT!

Oh and you see the fake smile that you all give me every day, WE KNOW IT IS NOT REAL!

23. I’ve been called “biscuit lips”; “nigger”; and”porch-monkey”; but this is the first time I’ve ever been called “a white bajan bigot”. Well! Well! Well!
    Anyway………if I ever see anonymouse around my mud hut I’ll spear his a$$. He has a nasty mouth. Africa is in the positioin it is in mainly because of those thiefing BLACK thugs that lead governments and pocket all the financial aid the white world gives. Let’s tell it like it is boys.

24. Oh Lordee, this thread is heading to Jenkins. OMG!

Yes Africa is in that awful position right now, partly because of filthy, corrupt, demagogues like deceased Mobutu. All leaders of the Mother Alkebulan NEED to deny total access to all FOREIGNERS. She breast-fed the whole planet and they refused to let go of the breast. She is the bread-basket of the world. They are so disrespectful that they have decided to take their waste from ‘their’ lands and dump it back on her. Apartheid, AIDS and Ebola have been forced upon her. They forcibly stole her children to build up their own ‘civilization.’ But make no mistake that the little stinking measly aid they pretend to give her to fight the bogus disease that they purposely infected her with, does not benefit her, NEITHER CAN IT BE ON PAR WITH WHAT THEY TAKE FROM HER. Without her, YOU are NOTHING! Now you see why you need a marauding vagrant for a hero like nelson!

25. Spend all de time refixing and correcting all that is wrong and you would not be judged on your performance in the here and now. So my date for judgement is in the future . Nobody knows when.

26. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

The ‘iggrance’ and miseducation of this society is clearly evident in most of the comments on this thread.

Once Again

I AM CALLING FOR THE TEACHING OF OUR HISTORY via the education system: the schools; adult education; the media

No one should graduate from the University of the West Indies unless they have completed courses in African and Caribbean History at every level-not just foundation courses

27. ASIBA@11.47.

No student should graduate from secondary school without foundation courses in First West Indian History and Black History and then any other.Put a clip on some of the ‘wuk up ‘and add clips or tit bits of educational value. To ‘wuk up’ will come naturally.

28. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' Avatar

?

29. ??

30. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Hopi // May 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

Oh Lordee, this thread is heading to Jenkins. OMG!

LOL. It did evry sence.

But, wid de square now redesignded, wid de changing of a boundary, history has been changed, wuh !

LOL. Anonymous, no, me ent shame bout nuttin’, even your ‘lack of imagination’ change-bout of the blog handle here. I is a good citizen an my forbears done plenty good.

Spew forth thy filth and demonstrate how loweth your mind doth go……

Now, wipe the rabid froth from your mouth and calm down.

LOL.

31. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

PS As Bob said, ’emancipate yourself from mental slavery’

Examples clearly above.

32. @Sir B D…..emancipating oneself from mental slavery also means not having to look up at a marauding pirate as a hero.

33. Someone took away that big cry baby’s pacifier …so he gone running to the Fake Press complaining just because some of us don’t want that zero nelson for a hero. Fatso, get ova yaself. Bout here throwing stones, so when he got bricks thrown back at he, he put he tail between he blubber legs and gone complaining. Mummum! dadada! They got my paci. Come and help me get it back. Mamamam! Dadadada!

34. You are so right Hopi. They have a whole thread on whether the Fake Press should drop their link to BU as Bourne did.

The FP loyal supporters are all clamouring for it. What will that do? Zilch.

35. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

only after readng this did I think about Nelson, I passed all the way through school and never heard any mention of Nelson. I know nothing about him never even stopped to look at him. I can say though I work along the way to the port and am frequently asked by Brits directions to the statue.
    Personally it matters little to me where he is but it should not be destroyed, history is important.

36. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

@hopi and negroman
    I want you both to understand that I agree with most of what you say but you really must find some way to get the message across without descending into bigotry. There is enough of it in the world.

37. P.S: Any of you who want to return to Mother Africa I will gladly pay your ONE WAY ticket, if not, stop the global warming with your HOT AIR.

I will let you know ……. I hope you serious lol!

I have some relatives who live there and as soon as I get my Masters I will see how the waters are down there!

Talk to you in approximately 18 months!

38. Duppy Lizard,Bore Dickey et al

People of your ilk are enraged that true Black people have the courage & have done the research to challenge the lies & damn lies the murderous Europeans having been telling for centuries now.

That slave supporter & one eye, one hand bandit Lord Nelson is not relevant to the history of Barbados.He has done nothing to advance the cause of Barbados and as a consequence is no hero in the eyes of Black Barbadians.
    If we had real leaders with courage,and a sense of self belief,that eye sore Lord Nelson should have been taken down long time ago and thrown into the wharf.That one eye thief is an eye sore in the eyes of this Black man.

Hopi my brother you have done a wonderful job as usual on that cry baby the mutant Ian Bourne the garbage talker.People like Ian Bourne want to dictate the thoughts & actions of Black people.

White Barbadians over the years believe they are a special group of people who are above criticism.Our weak knee leaders from the traitor Grantley Adams right down to today’s leaders including our present leader David Thompson are incapable of putting those white criminals in their place.We black people created an illusion that those white human pests are untouchable.

I remembered when David Seale threatened to dump all of his imported food stuff into the sea because he did not want to give in to former Prime Minister Errol Barrow price control policy in the seventies.C O Williams & his family have over the years participated in a lot questionable activities and have amass tremendous wealth in Barbados and that family cares nothing about Black people and still oppresses and and uses Black people.There are many other local white people who still operate that way.

Black Barbadians must stand up and let all the other ethnic groups in Barbados including the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Chinese that we are a people of substance and will defend our rights as a people and no demeaning behavior will be tolerated by us.

We Black people must stop respecting & admiring despots like many of those I mentioned .

39. @Pat……Fake Press is pathetic. They banned me and then had the nerve to come over at BU and attack me on an NGO thread. Not to worry because BU will continue to spread like wild fire and bun dem! They’re ceaselessly shooting that all too infamous codeword ‘racist’ at BU and linking it with certain posters, but I want them to emphatically refute anything I have said and prove that it is a LIE.
    Mr Swine Flu rush up in here throwing his darts ….. ‘Prejudice Pandejo,”G et Over It,’ ‘Salmon-Tot-Retriever,’ ‘Jerk off’ and Hopi will just sit in corner and suck my thumb while I injest the tears and snot that pour down by face because I too skeered to talk back to that greasy-looking swine. Massa your days are numbered!

@Knight LK……I am not a bigot but when I see an Ace I call it an Ace.

@Negroman…….Bro Press On. The blood suckers are not about the People. Its all Dog and Pony Show for them. Bajans have the power in the palm of their hands to make the kleptocrats serve and honour them. But they would rather go along to get along. Nobody wants to upset the apple cart and when one individual dare to do such, they start to redicule him and then all the other weak knee monkeys jump on that bandwagon. Not to worry because the race is not for swift, nor the battle for the strong! We had Malcolm X, Marcus Garvy, Bob Marley and a few more and they took them all out. But they are many more on the way.

40. But Bizzy marry a Black woman. As bony has he is, he still losing weight. Ha ha

41. Thewhiterabbit Avatar
    Thewhiterabbit

1. Leave Nelson as is. Like it or not the #1 engine of the economy is tourism. Like it or not the majority of our tourists are British, and like it or not they like to see Nelson there. He’s been there for a long, long time and is associated with that part of Bridgetown. One of Nelson’s biggest accomplishments in the Caribbean was to prevent us from speaking French, a country that freed its slaves, then re-enslaved them, then freed them only much later than the British. Would we really have wanted to speak French? Historically, Wilberforce was able to get the British Parliament to end the slave trade ONLY after Nelson decimated the French/Spanish fleet at Trafalgar, which decimation encouraged the French to agree to the ending, and gave the Royal Navy enough unencumbered ships to enforce the abolition of the slave trade. Come on, guys, read a little REAL history and get it right. Had the Admiral lived, his dedication to the Royal Navy and its assigned tasks would have put him at the forefront of the monitoring of the African coast to capture slavers.
    2. So what’s wrong with a British heritage? Right across from Nelson is Parliament, a definite British invention. Are we suggesting tossing Parliament into the Careenage along with Nelson and replacing representative democracy with an African Big-Man government?
    3. Mr. Bourne’s wish has already come to pass. I doubt that there is a single man, woman, or child born in Bim who does not have some genetic mixing from at least two, if not more “races”. Just where on the Munsell Color Chart does one’s skin color have to be to be considered “Bajan”? Why does it possibly matter?
    4. Neither Nelson, nor anybody else, is impeding the forward progress of any citizen of Barbados today. The biggest impediments to anybody’s progress are their own lack of education (freely available here), drive, ambition, energy, and inspiration.
    5. Nobody, and I mean nobody, can adequately define “race” in any rational terms. In the end it all comes down to “my group, whoever and whatever” against “your group, whoever and whatever”. We know, today, that genetically all humans are 99.9% the same. Why are we arguing over .1%????? Why does .1% possibly matter?
    6. If you are not happy with your lot in life, don’t be looking all around for someone to blame, look in the mirror. Then, go out and get a decent education (free hereabouts), get your butt in gear, and create something positive and worthwhile.

42. ‘One of Nelsonโ€™s biggest accomplishments in the Caribbean was to prevent us from speaking French’ –talk about psycho-intellectual blindness.

Black folk please get down on hands and knees and be grateful for English, because our foreparents were so damn dumb they didn’t even have a language. Even though they had established universities, mathematics, the sciences, architecture……just to mention a few, they had absolutely no language. Oh the Britshit Empire on which the SUN will never set because God do NOT trust them. Let’s be forever grateful, for had it not been for the criminal knuckle-draggers , BLACKS would still be physical slavery. They set us free, they set us free by giving us a “God” that’s made in their image.

BLACK people don’t forget that race-mixing is to our detriment. They are happy to see less of us. So hold on to your BLACKNESS, because with all the shite that we’ve been through we are still here. ‘We don’t die we multiply!’ And it is our Spirituality, our Blackness, our MELANIN that has kept us going. One major reason we should hold fast to our blackness .i.e communication travels in waves, our DNA is in a spiral-a wave and our HAIR let’s hold on to it because we were once a Virtuous People. And we will return to the Righteousness of our Forefathers.

43. Our weak knee leaders from the traitor Grantley Adams right down to todayโ€™s leaders including our present leader David Thompson are incapable of putting those white criminals in their place.

____

Let’s assume I agree with you Negroman, what should they do to put these guys in their place?

44. Oh lawd de cowards ain’ gun move Nelson.. dey gun put he in a cage…….
    AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

45. Am I the only BU reader who feels a mixture of pity and amusement when I read comments by the likes of negroman and hopi?

They remind me of those crazy guys who scream dementedly at the traffic in town. Everybody know they have no influence, no power; they are just sad, crazy guys. The traffic just passes by obliviously. They are pitiable but comical figures.

Alternatively, we may think of them as prophets in the wilderness: their own wilderness. Because the wilderness is where they look set to stay until the day they die, frothing at the mouth, raving and sterile. They are evolutionary dead-ends.

Sure, they can bellow at the traffic, they can rave in the wilderness on blogs like this (how truly emasculated they must be, how tragically powerless in their daily lives) as much as they like: they will change nothing in the real world.

As for the issue of Nelson’s statue, however, let’s dispense with one piece of cant: British tourists emphatically do NOT travel across the Atlantic to see a silly little statue (after all, they have a much bigger and better one at home!), though of course they’ll take photos of it if they see it. Tourists the world-over will take photos of anything.

No, we all know why they really come here: they come here for sun, sand, sea and (if they’re single) some amorous dalliance with willing young breddren and sistren.

Hopi and negroman know this only too well. It makes them sick to their impotent stomachs. And there’s nothing in the world they can do about except scream at the traffic (ie rant on this blog).

Really people, you have to pity them as you laugh at them…

46. Don’t cry for Us, Anonymouse
    The Truth We Never Loved You
    Don’t Give a damn about you
    And as for slavery and for pain
    We never invited them
    Though you make the world think we
    desired them
    So keep your distance!

47. Why is it that those who plundered,killed,were responsible for the two major world wars and have wrecked havoc on this earth are so upset at this Negroman exposing the truth about them.
    The killing Europeans are responsible and participated in all of the above.

The stinking,murderous Europeans ripped the Black Africans out of Africa brought them to this part of the world and enslaved them for 400 years.Africans built the powerful empires in Europe,North America & Canada .We toiled on those white bastards plantations without any compensation.

Killing Europeans are not above reproach and the crimes that were committed against Black people must be exposed and justice must be sought.The murderous colonial nations of Europe England,Portugal,Spain,Belgium,France went into Africa uninvited and robbed the Africans of their lands and in the process murdered millions of Africans.All the conflicts in Africa today are European inspired or supported with assistance from that other wicked nation USA.All the reactionaries jerks over at Barbados Free Press please come and dispute these facts.Black People will not be talk down and dictated anymore by the freaks at Barbados Free Press posting a bundle of junk.

The killing Europeans had and have no regard for Black People life.White People rejoiced and even created a game out of the torture and brutal ways Black people were killed.

When slaves were to be hang,it was a social event for the White bastards.The White women dressed in their finery along with the men & children came out and party ,drank alcohol and generally had a wonderful time when Black slaves were being hung.The word picnic came from that activity.Picnic is the acronym for the term Pick A Nigger.It was a social event for the White murderers the killing of Black slaves.
    I am asking that all my fellow Black brothers & sisters please do not use that term picnic when going out for any out door social activity.The word excursion is a better word to use.

The game Polo also came about in a similar way.Black slaves were buried in a hole up to their shoulders with only their necks & heads expose.Those white criminals got on their horses with a club or big stick in their hands and rode their horses and lashed the buried slaves on his head until his head came off.That is how that game of Polo came about.

The horrors of slavery and the torment that Black slaves endured must be expose .The truth is revealing itself daily and no threat of prosecution, imprisonment or censorship will ever stop this Negroman from expressing his opinions on what transpired during slavery and the way this man feels about White people.It is okay for the other ethnic groups to kill us,insult us and belittle us and we must not retaliate.

Barbados Free Press reactionary clowns please come and dispute any of the things I highlighted in this post.I await the challenge.

48. People use to laugh at me too… t’ink I was foolish! But I would scare dem and chase dem way..
    AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhh

49. Gearbox man, you mek me laugh! The real Gearbox did in truth chase me down Broad Street years ago. Haha! What a character that man was. May he RIP…

But look how negroman screaming at the traffic again. His rage and pain at historical injustice have clearly addled his brain.

He distorts the etymologies of words to try and make them mean what he wants them to mean. But you can’t change etymology any more than you can change history.

“Picnic” for example is derived from the 17th Century French term “picnique”. It has absolutely nothing to do with the phrase “pick a nigger”. This is a late-20th Century urban myth, a deliberately bogus invention that was widely disseminated on the internet to stir up racial strife.

Ditto the word “polo” (if anyone’s interested, its root is from Balti,a Tibetan language).

There’s a serious issue here, despite my mockery. The horrors of the middle-passage aren’t inventions or myths. They really happened.

But by grossly overstating his case and maliciously perpetuating the existence of blatant rubbish, negroman throws out the baby of truth in the dirty bathwater of his rancour.

And that, my friends, though I may laugh at and despise negroman, is really not funny.