Ambassador Rihanna did a cameo at Reggae On The Hill last week during Beenie Man’s performance. For BU family members who don’t have the ear to understand what he is singing in the video here is the hook line  Me no have fancy car, but me no give you no scar. From reports Rihanna lingered on stage for a little while and then scuttled with her tail between her legs.

The dignity of Ambassador Rihanna exposed by what some people would call a thug in Beenie Man. It is no secret that many of the dancehall/dub artistes who frequent Barbados are very well known to court rooms around the world. We thought it laughable that several of the dancehall/reggae artistes who performed at Farley Hill last week complained about the treatment meted out by the Royal Barbados Police Force. Did they believe that our police force is clueless? People get ‘high’ just walking through the crowd at one of these shows!

Sorry guys but we give the police the benefit of the doubt on this one.

Of interest to Barbadians is the active involvement of Al Gilkes who post-National Cultural Foundation Chairman duties has taken to promoting these shows with a passion. It is difficult to imagine that Mr. Gilkes had responsibility for promoting cultural activities in Barbados in the recent past. His eagerness to foist the popular Jamaica genre of music makes us question his decision making as NCF Chairman. This is the same Gilkes who has has bleated to all of Barbados that the government should push down the Farley Hill ruins. No discussion about rehabilitating the building, he jumps to push down. Makes you go ummmmmm.

The BU household maybe alone on this one because even our Prime Minister seems to be comfortable with the shows if we are to judge by his appearance. No wonder our Youth Ambassador can be insulted by a lout and there is not a murmur from a soul.

104 responses to “Ambassador Rihanna Exposed At Reggae Concert”

1. Regardless of what the apologists say, it seemed that Rihanna walked away, drenched in embarrassment.

What’s next on the plate?

I guess this is what goes with the teritory.

2. I am not a big fan of Rihanna but I am upset and I agree with David that we allowed a Jamaican lout to insult our own star.
    Can anyone imagine if a Barbadian went to Jamaica and insulted or embarrassed Usain Bolt or any of the other Jamaican heroes.

Until we Barbadians start respecting and loving our own,this sort of treatment will continue.It serves us right.

Look how Norman Faria,Vic Fernandes and all the other Guyanese were and are guest of Barbados and the insults and ridicule we constantly receive from those ungrateful bastards.

Rihanna I hope you are learning your lessons.I know you are a pompous,arrogant,immature little girl.I know of your behavior at the Accra Hotel,at the Hilton Hotel and also your behavior at The Cliff Restaurant recently when you made the waiter take back in the food about 3 times.
    Rihanna I also remembered when you criticised Barbadians and said that Barbadians are jealous of your success and you had many bad & hurtful things to say about Barbadians.Nevertheless you are one of us and you have done us proud and you should be respected for your successes.

Rihanna as a humble,simple Barbadian I am asking that you put your childish pranks aside and be the role model and inspiration for the thousands of Barbadians children who 1 day will like to gain the stardom & success you now have.Rihanna please live your life with dignity and self respect.

3. The prime minister needs to stop frequenting these reggae shows and turning up at every cock fight.

It does not look good for a man of his stature.

Secondly this is who the BLP had as the chairman of the NCF – Al Gilkes – a man of unknown cultural expertise,but undoubtedly someone who will promote anything once it brings in money.

No wonder culture and the NCF plunged to the lowest under the arthur administration.

Now all of a sudden any crap Al Gilkes says is now News.Looka gi we some Ossie Moore sayings do,at least they will provide some humour.

Al gilkes writes nonsense in the nation and speaks nonsense every time you hear him.

He long gone past his ‘sell by’ date.

But it does bear saying and repeating;
    there are too many of these jamaican shows and Thompson by his repeated attendace is giving tacit approval to them.

How come Dominica,st vincent,st lucia are not having as many of these shows which this country has to pay to these ‘can’t sing, out of key’ dub and reggae artists in U.S. $ if yuh please.

Enough man.

4. Time Will Tell Avatar
    Time Will Tell

Thats why he is Prime Minister and you are not!

I also happened to see him at Sister Marshall’s concert!

And with our school-children, regular visitors to the island, the staff of Arawak, in the Ivy Housing Area and Gall Hill, St. John last Heroes Day, President Obama and Ilaro Court (which he has opened up to the people). I am breathless.

What a Prime Minister! Really!

5. Deng Xiaping Avatar

Would it be better if the PM only attended a St Michael Cathedral Choir recital?

Mr Thompson is still a young guy and clearly has the energy to take in what he enjoys and still get up in the morning and do his job. He carries himself well while at whatever event but you know what really impresses me? He is usually out with his wife and when convenient his daughters as well. That’s sending a more important and happier message.

Maybe (for anonymous) slapping up your wife in the Sandy Lane Country Club’s car park would be more prime ministerial.

6. Here comes the hypocrites……..

Rhianna was insulted( and still is) all over the world.Beanie sang 2 lines and he is a lout.
    When Ri talks the shit about how Bajans hate her and are jealous to the american networks, isnt she being ignorant? When she shuts down access to a night club or makes shoppers divert because she is there, isnt this lousy too?
    Give me a break man, she deals with this every day, it is part of the game they play as celebrities.
    As for the police…the I’akobi incident still didnt change their attitudes….they cant help profiling, as long as you have locks, then you have drugs.
    Funny though, no one seems to mind the dreadlocked guy Dopey (that is his nickname) who is always in the company of our PM.

7. @ David…

Did you attend the show or is this hearsay you are reporting from? If you had seen the ‘action’ going on in the VIP tent, then this is all out of context.

8. Time Will Tell Avatar
    Time Will Tell

Again, that’s Barbados. Profiling is the name of the game in Bim. I bet that three in every ten young Barbadians are dreadlocked. No doubt the PM does get criticised for having dread-locked partners, going to football, reggae shows. We bury our heads in the sand.

But that’s why this is Barbados and not Trinidad or Jamaica. When David Thompson speaks, I sure they understand him and when he says stop, they will stop. The agricultural workers understood Grantley Adams. The middle class understood Errol Barrow. The Guyanese understand Owen Arthur.

Why are we being so ignorant of the facts?

9. if is look sliks a dog smells like a dog and smokes weed like a dog …i dare say its is 99% of the time a dog not a cat!

Ive been to Reggae -pot-smoking on the hill and i left there high as a kite although I did not once take a toke…why is that?

with regards to the dancehall ‘artistes’… why are always being arrested in JAMAICA???????

Tech… you need to stop smoking…fuh real!

10. If others like Time will Tell don’t listen to the average person and instead push a political response every time, they will feel it elsewhere at another time.

I believe you can enjoy reggae and reggae shows but this constant presence at every fete is not the done thing for a prime minister especially in these economic times.

Just as we criticise Owen for his after hours habits when he became a public figure,we who want the P.M. to suceed are advising him to thread cautiously.

Yes relax and enjoy yourself,but please remember ‘moderation’.

When you assume the office of prime minister or president of the USA for example,you have to give up certain freedoms and certain activities – this comes with the terrain.

11. So, the young lady sent back the food 3 times? ha ha ha! Does she realize what happens to one’s food after it is returned twice? Does she have any idea what goes on in some of the poshest kitchens around the world.

Poor Rihanna. I wonder how much spit and snort she has eaten in her short life?
    How much urine contaminated food, sweat, etc.

If she does not like the food, leave it and tell the waiter. She leaves and does not pay, since she has not eaten. But, NEVER return food more than once and make sure it is sent back for a legit reason. A reason that can be discussed intelligently with the Chef. Dont just say, I did not like it, or it is not to myu liking. You have to know food, and what goes in to making the dish in order to complain. The staff is human and know when one is showing off or pushing their weight around.

Thank the heavens I studied Home Ec. for 5 years, and continued with ethnic cooking after that, and can discuss any type of food with any chef, even Japanese.

12. @ Me

I knew you could not help to respond to my comment.
    Profiling by the Police is ok by you it would seem, that is why I’Akobi is in his grave early.
    You went to Reggae on the hill and left high……..are you an ass?!!
    At the first wiff of weed smoke you could have moved on but no…you breathed deeper…hypocrite!!
    You talk about JA artiste being arrested…and pray tell me what David Kirton do??
    You seem to have a serious problem with dreads but that is your own beef, I just hope your kids dont smoke it or hit dope or worse yet are gay.
    People like you need to take a trip to Temple Yard early on mornings and see the wide cross section of people who come for their early fix……most of them dont even have dreads.

13. @ Me

If you never smoked weed…..how did you know you were high??
    Could it be that you were hungry and had light head?

14. Ive been to Reggae -pot-smoking on the hill and i left there high as a kite although I did not once take a toke…why is that?

Sounds like Clinton………I smoked it BUT I didnt inhale….RLMAO !!

15. Time Will Tell Avatar
    Time Will Tell

Anonymous, who did Jesus come to call?

You are being silly now!

16. BU family maybe interested in the following link which was sent to us by a family member. It analyzes the Rihanna’s hit song Umbrella and associates it with the occult!

17. WTF……RLMAO!!!

I am not one of her fans BUT…..geez David man…….this is so corny!!

Remember when that song by the Eagles came out….Hotel California??
    It was actually banned for this asme shit…….thanks for the laugh though….ROTFL !!

18. Not actually banned……sorry…. but there were calls for it to be banned.

19. @ David-Mat 4, 2009 7:25 p.m.

Thanks for the link but a UWI student did a much more professional analysis on that song some about a year ago. “vigilantcitizen.com” is going on the assumption mostly. He also mixes truth with fiction. He says EL and Elohim are names for the devil – when in fact El and Elohim are both God’s names. Elohim means Creator and Preserver. He seems to have alot of zeal but little knowledge. I am not negating the fact that the song seems suspicious however. It is filled with lots of occult symbols but I think that Rihanna was too naive and inexperienced to understand the true meaning of them. Most people are not familiar with the meanings of such symbols.

20. I AM NOT A LITTLE RIHANNA FAN MUCHLESS A BIG ONE, AND WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY DID I SEE PEOPLE WAVING FLAGS IN THE COLOURS OF GUYANA, RED GREEN AND YELLOW, PLUS I NOTICED BUNTINGS IN THOSE COLOURS. DON’T YOU HAVE YOUR OWN COLOURS BLUE AND YELLOW?

WELL SHE IN THE NEWS AGAIN FOR ALL OVER THE WORLD THEY ARE SAYING HOW SHE DATING A BAJAN LOVE GOD A MR. NEGUS SEALY. THEY SAY SHE LOVES HIM FOR THE SEX, AND SHE IS YOUR AMBASSADOR, MY MY MY, IS A GOOD THING YOU CAN’T AFFORD AN EMBASSY IN GUYANA FOR WE WOULD SHUT YOU DOWN, BOARD UP THE BUILDING, AND SEND HER PACKING BACK TO BRIDGETOWN ON THAT PATHETIC EXCUSE OF A AIRLINE THAT IS YOUR NATIONAL CARRIER LIAT.

21. Pat thanks for the insight regarding the food sent back to kitchen, oh my, I didn’t know that is what happens when you send back something that you feel is un cooked or not to your liking. I didn’t know they did that , oh shoot, I hope I never become ill later in life.

22. Was Owen Arthur ever a Prime Minister of Guyana, for here are the leaders of Guyana

Forbes Burnham
    Desmond Hoyte
    Cheddi Jagan
    Janet Jagan
    Bharat Jagdeo

Am I missing something here, that Guyanese understand Owen Arthur.

23. So because the man is the PM he aint to shake a leg too….stupse…that is a roll of s**t

24. I saw more of Rihanna than I care to. I watched her there is the short, tight blue dress at the Reggae on the Hill concert and I watched as Bennie Man embraced her on stage and I’m sure that those sitting close may have thought them selves shocked but I was the most shock of all. I saw Rihanna fully exposed. Rihanna Revealed All and I am tossing with emotions.

Rihanna Revealed All

Reggae On The Hill was no bother to me
    I saw that as part of her Celebrity
    Her appearances on stage are almost by script
    And Beenie Man is no novice at it
    Now when I heard her recent appeal
    Never had she done more to reveal
    All herself was showing, I could see more
    Rihanna showed more than she ever didbefore
    Eyes were wide open and I felt my jaws slowly drop
    Very shock at the revelation, but when does it stop
    Ears have failed me in the past and my eyes didn’t see
    And now I wish they were both failing me
    Let it not be so, I pray that it was wrong
    Every thing before was promotion of a song
    Don’t believe that this philanthropic youngster isn’t aware
    All the millions in bling bling shows she can’t really care
    Luxury is part of the life but what of those in need
    Lots from the Believe Foundation need help in God’s speed.

25. Wait, I now see dis!!

I’m glad for this occurrence for it has shown the ignorance of the Jamaican (people as a whole!) which usually, ur unwilling to believe!! My only reservation is, why is there a single Jamaican in Bim, at all??

26. Dave, is it obligatory dat u wus day?? I doan tink so!! What a load of typical, foolishness!!

27. Dave caan be hay, day an every way!!

Lor!! 🙂

28. Wow !!!

29. On May 4th at 8:42 a.m. me wrote “Ive been to Reggae -pot-smoking on the hill and i left there high as a kite although I did not once take a toke…why is that?”

We know that you are lying.

How can you or anyone else posibly get high at an OUTDOOR concert?

In the late 1970’s I attended a Bob Marley concert at Maple Leaf Gardens (an indoor venue) and the air was blue with smoke but I did NOT become high.

It is IMPOSSIBLE for an adult to become high from second hand marijuana smoke while at an outdoor venue.

If you do not like reggae or dub or dance hall, or Beenie Man, or Jamaicans, or marijuana why don’t you just say so.

And “NO” I’ve never smoked marijuana in my life. I don’t plan to start either.

30. @J

Have considered that me wrote metaphorically to make a point which
    many of us know well?

31. He probably mean’t that he felt sick after inhaling the smoke (and it does carry a sickening smell. Probably the inherent toxins)

32. Dear David:

Did you really write “From reports Rihanna lingered on stage for a little while and then scuttled with her tail between her legs. The dignity of Ambassador Rihanna exposed by what some people would call a thug in Beenie Man.”

So explain to me real, real slow, ’cause I like I is an imbecile how can the words ” Me no have fancy car, but me no give you no scar. ” possibly be interpreted as insulting.

If a man says that I admire and respect you so much that I would never hit you explain to me why should the woman Rihanna or any woman feel insulted????

33. On May 4th at 2:41 p.m. Pat wrote “So, the young lady sent back the food 3 times? ha ha ha! Does she realize what happens to one’s food after it is returned twice? Does she have any idea what goes on in some of the poshest kitchens around the world.”

Pat is CORRECT.

Rihanna should ask any of her grandparents or any Bajan over the age of 50 to explain to her just what the saying

“SCORNFUL DOG DOES EAT NASTY PUDDING” means?

34. Yes David. I considered metaphor.

And yes Facts maybe “me” felt sick, but “me” could have left the venue at the first sign of sickness.

And yes I do understand the difference between metaphor and LIES which lead to negative stereotyping such as the negative stereotyping which led to I’Akobi’s death. The pathologist reported that there was NO alcohol nor marijuana in I’Akobi’s body.

The body takes about 30 days to metabolize marijuana. this means that he had not smoked marijuana in the last 30 days. Perhaps like me he had never smoked or used marijuana in his life. I wonder what would have happened if the fireman who called the police and the police themselves had been tested for marijuana or alcohol in their bodies that evening. I wonder what would happen if there was regular random testing.

35. @ J….

Don’t waste your time on Me…..sad to see David jumping to his defense when it is written for all to see.

These people hate reggae music because they dont even take the time to understand the lyrics, some of the most insulting and obscene lyrics can be found in the same R&B that others love.
    Just look at what Neo or R Kelly sings in some of their songs.
    I am not saying that all reggae is positive but you cant paint all with the same broad brush.
    As for metaphors……no….Me is just a plain old liar..full stop!!
    Anyone who went to a Reggae show with his perception of Rastafari and reggae music is either a LIAR or a Hypocrite…..how can you detest something so much and still attend?!?
    That is like Carl Moore going to Bushy Park!!
    Me is just a stupid old fart still living in the 30s. I hope his kids are straight.

36. Rihanna forever!! Bennie fuh d dust bin!!

37. I know ‘certain people’ would n’t like me to b in charge ugh Bim!!

Lor!! 🙂

38. Nooooooo woman nuh cry!!

Lor!!

A belly full but we ongry!!

Laaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

39. lol

FYI i’m actually early 40 something and I look like 30 …

I love reggae, once its positive and uplifting…Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Jacob Killa Miller, Gregory Isaacs

I like the old dub music like Yellowman, Sly and Robbie, Super cat and general degree…

I abhor all lyrics ( of any genre) drenched in violence, misogyny and homophobia.

I am not lying . I was at Reggae on the hill the year that it rained torrentially. There was so much smoking there …I kid you not I left high…

At my age I have attended reggae, rock and R&b concerts all over the world and second hand smoke from pot smoking is an issue!

I herad that this year the Police /security searched everyone and that POT was not much of an issue…

Well done RBPF!

And to the dub artistes I say… when you step in our country you need to follow our laws.

40. @ Me…..

Again you bless us with your lies and half truths.
    I was there when it rained the very first time and since there are no waterproof joints on the market, I still say you are lying!!
    It rained so damn hard that day that not even the pusher man made any money.
    To get a joint lit, we had to huddle under a poncho, only to be drenched after 2 draws…so how on earth could you be high?!!?

….’I herad that this year the Police /security searched everyone and that POT was not much of an issue…

Pleeeeaaasssseee…….there was weed in abundance @ this years show. From the gazebo to VIP.

Me….just keep it real ok.

41. lol prooved my point…its smoking-pot-on-the hill not Reggae on the Hill.
    and unless you are me who are u to say that I did not get high on second hand smoke…

42. You tell e, ‘me’!! E jes doan appreciate d finer points of life!! Like fresh air!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddddd!!!!

43. LOL……as you have proven mine many times over.
    The fact remains if you want to go listen to reggae you would…if you want a joint you would know where to get it.
    There was pot at Gospel fest too….at calypso shows….shit man it is all around you. If it is your vice, you know where to find it, just like bulling or picking fares…to each his own but dont come here with your hypocrisy and lies to prove a stupid point guy.
    If you have never been high, how did you know hat high felt like ….did you ask? LOL!!
    I say legalise it…what say you on this?
    Sell it in the stores ..put VAT on it….you would make a lot more money than the wasted amount spent fighting it.

44. Technician
    Then we should also legalise prostitution and homosexuality and make them pay VAT. This is another source of income. In essence, let us legalise immorality, make money off it. This would assist in getting Barbados out of the global economic crisis. How low can we go. Maybe we should just abandon the laws of the country, fire the police officers, and other law enforcers since in many opinion they are doing a bad job. What a wonderful island this would be. While you’re at it fire the immigation and custom officers too, open wide your doors and let any and every one come willing and abide in our homes once there are vacant rooms or unoccupied land. Wow, this is exciting me already, then we can stab-up a fella who look at you too had or hiss at your woman. Ya know something, I just describe HELL, Tech you ready to go?

45. LOL……..RLMAO…..am I ready to go?!?!?
    Look around Scout……..we there all NOW!!

46. @ Scout …

‘Then we should also legalise prostitution and homosexuality and make them pay VAT.

How many whores or bullers do you see in court?

‘Maybe we should just abandon the laws of the country,

How about enforcing them fairly across the board. You would lock up a guy for a joint but the whores (both male and female) work right next to the Police stations every night comfortably. The last time I checked prostitution and homosexuality were just as bad a crime as weed.

47. Surprisingly, perhaps, I too, am in favour of its legalisation because, then, we might be able to cease using our time talking about the wasters!!

48. LOL… I actually do not have a problem with the idea of legalising Marijauna , I just dont think that we can handle the ramifications of doing right now. I had a wide ranginging discussion about pot and basically I think that 1. we would need a much more extensive health care system that would allow us to manage to fall out from MORE wide spread use of this drug. 2. Other countries which we do business and have relations with would also have to agree to make it legal;in particular the USA. 3. We would have to look at making drug use an option in general.

I dont have an issue with this as a concept but i think it would be extremely difficult to put in place NOW.

Homosexuality is not a choice…

Participating in homosexual acts, prostituting oneself, hiring a prostitute are all acts that a person can chose…

Personally I dont have aproblem with them being made legal either…but we are a ‘CHRISTIAN’ society where we must appear pious in public!

49. but we are a ‘CHRISTIAN’ society where we must appear pious in public!

‘me’, ‘some’ of us, think that we’re a RASTAFARI, society!! Thank you for reminding ‘them’!!

50. Lor!! What it is to be young and have hormones!! I wish I was so, again!!

LOL!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/bizarre/usa/article2420752.ece