brotherskeptapartFellow blogger Weighed in the Balance has undertaken the ambitious and highly risky task of writing a book which as he terms it “is a comparative analysis of the Bible and the Qur’an, and it assumes that both books are correct.  If God is the principal author of each book, as Christians and Muslims claim, then a comparative analysis should reveal harmony between the principal teachings of both.  This is what I have found.  Hence, Christians and Muslims have been kept apart by their religious leaders who have taught their adherents that God has rejected the other group.” The topic matter was thought to be so contentious that he originally penned his book using a pseudonym.

Phillip’s book is titled Brothers Kept Apart and can be purchased on Amazon.com at a reasonable price. Some members of the BU family have already demonstrated that they are students of the religions. Brother Phillips advises that the book represents 30 years of research and 7 years of critical review and he stands ready to defend his thesis.

It is no secret that the BU household has demonstrated a keen interest in the religions or what some people disparagingly refer to as dogmas. It is a fascinating subject and one which is shrouded in mystery, allegories, parables, fables and some theology  Religion has been used through the ages to edify and destroy man’s existence. Of interest to all through the ages has been the cooption of  religion to pit Islam versus Christianity, East versus West by geo-political motivated groups.

For a synopsis of the book the BU family is welcomed to visit Phillips’s blog. We look forward to a fascinating discussion and take the opportunity to wish him every success.

What he has attempted demonstrates courage of conviction, a characteristic in scarce supply.

1,124 responses to “The Bible And The Qur'an, Brothers Kept Apart”

1. Grenville wrote to Rohan:

“You simply do not understand the Bible”

——————–

Of course !

It was written by a perfect, all powerful, all knowing, benevolent creator, why should just ANYONE understand it?

Silly Rohan !

2. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Self-promotion is another one of those ‘products’ of natural selection. Indeed, evolution at its most basic level is driven by genetic self-promotion.

Everyone who uses his or her real name on BU, whether selling their ideas (books) or giving them away freely, is guilty of shameless self-promotion (or self-preservation in the case of those who come here to defend their name).

Its natural… if it weren’t I would have used the word ‘shameful’ 🙂

3. So let me see if I get this right……..

There is one god of jews/christians/muslims

“He” sent some cryptic writings to the jews (and only to the jews) a few thousand years ago.

He sent a few more cryptic writings to a remote part of the world (jews among pagans) about 2,000 years ago.

(and it took about 300 years to almost decide which books were really divine and which were heretical but then only really official another 12oo years later )

In the interim while we were still figuring out those writings (not what they mean, but simply what was gospel and waht was not) , another set was revealed to an illiterate in an even more obscure part of the world.

These 3 different sets of writings, although read by the most devoted, the most faithful, the absolute believers were sadly “misinterpreted” and still to this day “misinterpreted”

So this meant that for about 2,000 years we had some of the most virulent anti semitism (read about it) between christian and jew and for about 1300 years the most dreadful and violent bloodshed between christian and muslim (crusades anyone ?) and between jew and muslim (to this day !!)

Hideous violence beyond all comprehension.

All to “misinterpretation”

By devoted followers.

(forget Rohan and me, of course WE dont understand, we are “blind” after all and “proper idiots” according to the other christian here)

All this while, “god” stood idly by, waiting for us to get it right….

Oh, and all this time, “he loves us”.

My simple question is why?

Now after you give me the inevitable convoluted answer, just remember (that is all I ask), there is another answer, a really really simple one.

Maybe you can guess it.

I hope everyone can.

4. ROK, I ain’t playing no games, KING, it is YOU who don’t know who you playing with, King’s have fallen like ‘bats’ for blaspheming His Name, Beware, KING! Beware!

5. I posted this:

In the Old Testament Moses encourages his men to use captured virgins for their own sexual pleasure, i.e. to rape them. After urging his men to kill the male captives and female captive who are not virgins and
    KEEP THE VIRGINS FOR THEMSELVES!

And posted the verse:

(Numbers 31: 18).

And here’s Grenville’s response:

“You simply do not understand the Bible. If you had read it even once in its entirety, then you would know that you have gravely misunderstood it. Let me suggest that you read it before making such a misleading post.”
    See how slickly he ignored the verse. Know why? There is no way to defend such barbarity, so he had to completely ignore the issue and argue that i don’t somehow understand the bible. As if he has some level of critical thinking that is unattainable by us regular folks.

By the way, I have read the bible. Cover to cover. That’s how I know it’s bull!

6. Rohan,

thats right, we are “blind” according to one christian and “proper proper idiots” according to another.

7. MME,

You are seeing natural selection everywhere !

8. @Zoe

Beware of what? Your rambling mind? Your god could not even deal with Pharaoh. Could not deal with Caesar. Which Kings fell at the hands of your god?

For the sake of the sanity of readers, I will not deal with you here but you will get deal with. You are a “shameless” member of the Christian species. You see Errington Massiah on the news tonight talking about wunna so, who are not grounded in Christianity. He was scolding Codrington College for accepting people like you in a Saturday class at Codrington College.

People like you don’t have the first clue about the faith. He said that the greatest enemy to Christianity are people like you and he predicted that that Saturday class in going to be the downfall of Christianity.

The way that you carry on, you live in a dream world. You do not know where you stand and you feel that your God has no limitations and that gives you a license to abuse people because you think or believe that you right, but let me tell you that you are wrong as anybody could ever get. You don’t even conform to your belief.

You ain’t answer my question yet though, because you don’t have the capacity to answer… but i am going to pose it again.

How can omniscience and omnipresence be achieved?

9. MME

I agree with you… while others may come to sell ideas and books, my motive is to show people that they can stand up rather than buckle & kneel. Natural selection of the fittest rather than the weakest. LOL!

10. But if a man be just, and do that which is lawful and right, and hath not … come near to a menstruous woman…. Ezekiel 18:5

They question thee (O Muhammad) concerning menstruation. Say: It is an illness, so let women alone at such times…. Quran 2:222

Harmony……………

11. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“You are seeing natural selection everywhere!”
    ———————-

Yes Not Saved… it is a scientific belief that helps me answer the question of “how” nature works (until a better theory comes along). My spiritual belief answers the question “who” made these rules and “why” they were made. 🙂

12. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Not Saved… re your post at 4:14 am (you doan sleep? you kill a priest or wha?)… what point were you trying to make?

13. Rocky Boy, King-Kong professor of imbecility, “How can Omniscience and Omnipresence be achieved?”

Omniscience, Omnipresence, and Omnipotence IS!!!

“To say of what IS that it IS, or of what it is NOT, that it is NOT, is TRUE.”
    (Aristotle)

King-Kong, you wouldn’t know, you would never know, or understand!

14. I am so proud of Rohan and Not Saved. Rok, Hopi and Pat could sit back now and watch the fireworks.

15. Zoe,
    Omnipotence is a flawed concept that 30 seconds of thinking would lead an honest person to dismiss.

Omnipotence: The ability to do ANYTHING!

So If I were to show that there was ONE single thing that God could NOT do, then here after he could not be considered Omnipotent.

Here we go:

“Can God build a house that is so large, he himself would not be able to lift it?”

Think about that for a second and then recognize how illogical the concept of omnipotence is.

16. BAFBFP // April 28, 2009 at 10:12 am

I am so proud of Rohan and Not Saved. Rok, Hopi and Pat could sit back now and watch the fireworks.

@BAFBFP

I have been doing just that. But that Zoe has to be a nut case. lol!

Zoe reminds me of two posters on the Nation Forum call Bimlady and Bridgman. Brainwashed and unenlightened. Living in ignorance.

17. BAFBFP // April 28, 2009 at 10:12 am

I am so proud of Rohan and Not Saved. Rok, Hopi and Pat could sit back now and watch the fireworks.

@BAFBFP

I have been doing just that. But that Zoe has to be a nut case. lol!

Zoe reminds me of two posters on the Nation Forum call Bimlady and Bridgman. Brainwashed and unenlightened. Living in ignorance.

18. @Grenville…..Did you have a relationship with Muslims prior to 9/11? And as a Christian did you pass judgment on them as well believing that it was them who carried out that dastardly deed? Why didn’t you look to the Torah or the Talmud? Why did you have to reach for the Qu’ran? Couldn’t you find evidence or history in your bible that could have convinced you that such a deed could have been done by christians as well?

19. @Grenville…..Did you have any relationship with Muslims prior to 9/11. As a christian did you too pass judgment on them as being the culprits behind that dastardly deed? Why did you not reach for the Torah or the Talmud? Didn’t you think that you could find history or evidence in your bible that would support the “belief” that christians were behind this deed? I hope that’s not too big a leap of faith for you?

Hotep.

20. BAFBFP..
    Haha, thanks. But really, this stuff is so absurd, it’s like shooting fish in a barrel.

21. MME,

my post at 4:14 is to show the harmony in the ignorance of these two books

I see you are from the school of NOMA,

how do you find the answers to the spiritual questions?

Can better ones come along, as in science?

22. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL Rohan… Aquinas answered that question 784 years ago. Essentially it boils down to this “Nothing which implies contradiction falls under the omnipotence of God.” Google “Disputatae De Potentia Dei” for more information.

You cannot construct an illogical definition for ‘omnipotence’ and then seek to apply it to God. Circular logic is a distinctly human flaw… but don’t worry, we will overcome these flaws and imperfections (necessary for growing Souls) after Phase 1.

Incidentally, the Bible quite clearly points out that there are some things God can’t do e.g. He cant lie or deny Himself (Hebrews 6:18; 2 Timothy 2:13; Titus 1:2).

Some further research I recommend is to search the Bible for the word ‘omnipotence’. Maybe you can return and enlighten us on how many times you found it, and if found, the context in which it is used, the original Greek word and its etymology.
    For me, God is all-ruling, absolute, everything at once… a little bit like your concept of parallel universes.

23. @ROK

Whatever the motive of Brother Grenville we are more concerned with BU’s. We take comfort that our motive for highlighting Brothers Kept Apart is pure. Grenville is one of the few Barbadian professionals who has been willing to posit his views not only on his blog but through other media. Like you ROK he has been doing his part to help the PEOPLE.

24. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“I see you are from the school of NOMA”
    ———————

LOL Not Saved… do you mean the National Organisation for Minority Architects or Non-Overlapping Magesteria? 🙂

25. LOL,

the latter !

Context MME, Context !

26. MME,.
    Let’s argue for a second that God IS Indeed omnipotent and all-powerful.

What’s to celebrate about that if he stands and watches as humanity suffers and does nothing?

Say God is powerful enough to turn sand into water or food. He does this, and collects millions of Gallons of water and millions of pounds of food.

Then he stands there and watch 30,000 people die of starvation per day (Actual numbers).

Do we then celebrate his water and food collection abilities and praise his omnipotence?

Or should we wonder what loving creature would stand there and watch his own children suffer.

Stand there, have the ability to help, and do NOTHING!

27. He might be omnipotent, but his writing skills need improvement

28. MME,
    You’re a smart guy, so thanks for the interesting debate. Be honest here if you can:

THE PAST
    God has murdered innocent babies.

God has endorsed slavery.

God has endorsed maltreatment of slaves, up to and including death.

God has instructed his “chosen people” to conduct war against their neighbors and keep and rape the women of those nations.

In God’s law, if a man rapes a woman, he must marry her. (What woman wants to marry her rapist?)

THE PRESENT
    God Stands by today and watches a host of tragic events take place and does nothing.

THE FUTURE
    God will torture everyone who doesn’t side with him for all eternity by burning them in FIRE.

Everything here is FACT if you believe the bible. So either:

A) You didn’t know these things about this person you worship.

Or

B) You know these things but you are willing to disregard all of them.

So which it? You shouldn’t need a long post to answer a very simple question. And posting a bible verse would be the same circular logic you rail against 😉

So help me out. Thanks

29. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“What’s to celebrate about that if he stands and watches as humanity suffers and does nothing?”

Rohan,

cuh dear… that link on Aquinas would have helped you with that question too. I touched on it in my last post… its all about growing Souls.

Your question was famously answered by Keats, who distinguished between the common view of the world as “a vale of tears” and what he considered a better description “a vale of Soul-making”. It has also been (less famously) answered by Bush Tea of BU 🙂

Keats, like all MMEs had his flaws and inconsistencies, but I think he struck gold in that letter to his brother and sister in 1816.

Look, it is just one of those other laws of nature, like gravity…. call it the “Shit Happens Law” if you like. You can’t grow a Soul in a Skinner box. 🙂

30. Keats the gnostic?

MME you heretic you !

31. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“He might be omnipotent, but his writing skills need improvement”
    ——–

LOL Not Saved… no, it is human language and communication that is imperfect.

32. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Keats the gnostic? MME you heretic you !”
    ———

As I said… “Keats, like all MMEs had his flaws and inconsistencies…”

There is that spark of the divine in all of us, atheist and theist alike. What we choose to do with it is our individual choice.

33. True,

But how hard is it to say……..

“slavery is wrong”

“child rape is wrong”

34. Maybe mohammed was hard of hearing and blundered big time…

35. Okay MME, last question on this topic. Since I don’t want to accuse you of dodging, it will an easy one-word answer (No need to quote Kant on this one)

So, simple, yes or no question:

So we know these things about God.

THE PAST
    God has murdered innocent babies.

God has endorsed slavery.

God has endorsed maltreatment of slaves, up to and including death.

God has instructed his “chosen people” to conduct war against their neighbors and keep and rape the women of those nations.

In God’s law, if a man rapes a woman, he must marry her. (What woman wants to marry her rapist?)

THE PRESENT
    God Stands by today and watches a host of tragic events take place and does nothing.

THE FUTURE
    God will torture everyone who doesn’t side with him for all eternity by burning them in FIRE.

Now for the easy question:
    If this were a human being would you be comfortable having him as your neighbor?

Yes. Or. No.

36. @Zoe

“Omniscience, Omnipresence, and Omnipotence IS!!!”

I do not think there was any dispute about that and as a matter of fact it is assumed. However, considering that you assume omniscience and omnipresence, the question is how do you see these being achieved? How can omniscience and omnipresence be achieved by God?

37. @ MME
    I see Rohan and Not Saved ‘double teaming’ pon yuh today….

…you best look for a hole, cause those two don’t ease up….

38. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Kant… man Rohan, I reading and paying attention to everything you write but you like you not returning the favour. I have not quoted Kant anywhere LOL. But I like your ‘Zoe-istic’ zeal, so I will continue… 🙂

If you read my post at 1:46 pm, I think you will find that I have addressed your concern. You will also find the recommended reading helpful.

But if a one-word answer to your last question is all you will allow me, it is “No”.

39. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

man BT… dey like Invader #1 and #2… you remember dem wrestlers?

To mek maters worse, de referee (David) just standing up dey watching me tek blow after blow an wun even step in. LOL

40. LOL, Bush Tea, I’m not double teaming MME. I like the guy.

You can answer the question yourself too, it’s open to all believers. A simple Yes or No would suffice.

41. LOL

he is safe now, his trusty friend BT is here !

42. David?

43. Rohan the only time that I have witnessed MME dodge was when I asked him how it was possible to find a passport a week after the collapse of the WTC buildings in the debris and claim it came from one of the accused Hijackers.

44. David,

I see you come to the aid of Grenville and clarify BU’s position on the matter the same time. I suppose Grenville did not take the time to respond, which he could have, but when he hit me with the one in the library, I kept asking myself how many copies would each branch of the library have.

Anyhow Bro. Grenville, we need to deal with the truth and certainly you must see that this religion has kept our brothers apart? I urge you to throw the bible in its own face: “Ye shall know them by their fruit”. What is the fruit of religion? So why waste time trying to get Muslims and Christians together when there will be a natural coming together if both Muslim and christian religion went through the door?

OK, the bottom line is what we can call spiritual understanding. In so-called secular language this is termed manipulation of your environment where environment includes the living, the inanimate or dead.

For example, when the christian say the Lord’s prayer or when the Muslim say his prayer, it is the same feeling that comes upon a person who knows nothing about these gods, but sit in a corner and meditate; reflect on their life; their actions; the effects of their actions; and pray within self for betterment and call upon the very force that drives him to make him better in this life.

So why give the credit to some god when the same effect prevails without? As a matter of fact, the man who is praying to the force in himself or whatever you want to call it, will be more sincere in his prayer than somebody reciting the Lord’s Prayer.

All prayers are designed to effect a certain behaviour and to reinforce a status quo. The man who prays from the heart is likely to get more results out of his environment. The man who understand the power of thought to make things happen, is in command of his environment and in concert with his creator.

Under the circumstances, I would concede that we must start from somewhere to overcome this divisionary politics in which the church and denominations of religions have been engaged.

There is no doubt that the twain will never meet. They are designed not to meet. They are designed to keep the division deep and you would not have been the first to try bridging the gap.

My point is that there is no easy path out. I fear we may be too late because the time is at hand. I had a very good friend who made the observation that it seems that every so often, something would happen on earth to virtually wipe out man and man has to re-build all over again.

He delved into the study and research of ancient peoples and religions. I would recommend to you the book called, “How Music Came to the Ainchan People” by my late friend Timothy Callender; as well as another one called, “The Elements of Art”. You may really have to go to the library to see these. I am sure they are out of print.

45. sounds like my friend MME is a gnostic.

what books outside the NT canon do you accept as “scripture”?

46. MME, you are correct. You did say Keats and not Kant. Looking it up now. Sorry bout that.

And thanks for your honesty on the last question 🙂

47. Roky man, Omniscience, Omnipresence, Omnipotence, etc, are all Eternal, Everlasting, attributes of Almighty God, from Eternity to Eternity, no beginning, no end, for He is the Great, ‘I AM, that I AM!’

If HE moves His little finger, the Universe trembles, as Jesus holds the Sun, in the palm of His hand like an Atom!

BTW, the terms ‘finger’ and ‘hand’ are used in an Anthropomorphic sense, for our frame of referrence, a description of God in human terms or with lhysical characteristics.

48. Pat

By the way ignore Zoe, these guys have taken this discourse to the stratosphere. Look who has been carrying the side, the one true heavy weight, MME. No Carlos, no GP, no Scoute. This is the good stuff…! Ignore the light weights.

Where have these two NS and Rohan (assuming they are not one and the same, like a Duality…LOL) been hiding?

49. @MME

man BT… dey like Invader #1 and #2… you remember dem wrestlers?

To mek maters worse, de referee (David) just standing up dey watching me tek blow after blow an wun even step in. LOL

In keeping with the wrestling theme BU has long since declared this a Cage Match 🙂

Like the response about growing souls though, that was hard.

50. This has been one crazy long thread…glad I could contribute.

MME, I checked out your man Keats. I had never heard of him, probably why my mind went straight to Kant, who I studied extensively in college.

Either way, interesting stuff.

Not persuasive in my opinion, but good writing 😉