Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID)

President Bharat Jagdeo

[Port of Spain] The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) is calling on the Obama administration to “strengthen relations with the Caribbean region and resolve outstanding issues that stand as barriers to good relations, and to focus on Guyana’s failing democracy”

In a statement to leaders attending the 5th Summit of the Americas in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, CGID said it hopes that they will devise strategies to alleviate poverty and developmental disparities affecting poorer countries in the Americas; bring about a more peaceful, democratic hemisphere, and engender human prosperity, energy security and environmental sustainability.

In a swipe at the Guyana government, CGID published a full page ad telling summit participants that “There is a crisis of governance in Guyana which has burgeoned from unparalleled corruption, bad and despotic governance and the abrogation of the rule of law. Guyana’s democracy is tenuous at best and the nation stands at the threshold of failed statehood.”

It noted that President Bharrat Jagdeo heads a repressive ethnocracy which utilizes the resources of the State mostly for the East Indian ethnic collective and strangles the minority African-Guyanese population with a noose of economic, social and political subjugation. The Institute charged that the Jagdeo government “Engages in torture, murder for hire and massive corruption, as delineated in the February 29, 2009 United Nations Report on Minority and Human Rights in Guyana.”

“President Jagdeo’s government gives succour to known and/or convicted drug barons, death squads and money launders. US 2009 Narcotics Control Report states that “Reports of corruption reaching to high levels of government go uninvestigated and unpunished.” Transparency International’s 2008 Corruption Index ranks Guyana among the 54 most corrupt countries in the world,” CGID declared.

The Institute observed that President Jagdeo uses the power of the state to sadistically vilify the press, citizens, political opposition, international agencies and diplomats who criticize his regime. It noted that Journalist Mark Benschop was charged with treason and jailed for 5 years without a trial; President Jagdeo revoked the license of CNS TV Channel 6 and journalist Ronald Waddled was brutally executed allegedly by a government backed “Phantom Death Squad” – a UNESCO designated political assassination.

It contended that “President Jagdeo refuses to account to the Guyanese nation. He indulges in political bullyism and suppression. He is an autocrat who engenders political instability in Guyana. This has resulted in further capital flight and brain drain to the region; a consequence which could lead to destabilization of in the wider Caribbean.

CGID called on the Heads of State and Government, dignitaries and the regional, Washington and international press corps to focus on President Jagdeo and Guyana. Zeroing in on the Caribbean media, the Institute said that Caribbean press fails to engage in investigative reporting, and urged reporters to inquire into the emergence of despotic and ethnocratic governance in Guyana.

Ratcheting up the pressure on Guyana’s President Bharrat Jagdeo, CGID President, Rickford Burke demanded that the Guyanese leader explain to the Hemispheric Heads:

• Why known drug transporters, wanted by the Unites States and North American law enforcement agencies are only apprehended outside of Guyana?
  • Why persons who have been indicted by the United States Justice Department on drug and money laundering charges live in luxury, openly and in plain view the Guyana government?
  • Why he promoted Steve Merai to Assistant Commissioner of Police, although Merai’s was accused of involvement in several extra-judicial killings, caught on tape shaking down a known drug dealer and has acted as a money collector for a cocaine distributor, and reportedly being excluded from Canada by Immigration authorities?
  • Why he and the PPP regime repeatedly defended convicted drug baron, Roger Shaheed Khan, and condemned his apprehension by the US DEA “rendition” and “kidnapping?”
  • What is the extent of his association with convicted drug dealer Roger Khan who, in March 2008, pleaded guilty in US Federal Court to importation of drugs to the US, conspiracy and attempting to kill a witness?
  • Why he personally signed a Government Order allocating a large concession of public land to Roger Khan although this transaction was condemned in the US government?
  • Why, in spite of verifiable allegations of torture by the Guyana Police and Defense Force, President Jagdeo opposes a criminal investigation into allegations of torture?
  • Why, although United States federal District Judge Dora Irizarry ruled on May 13, 2008 that Roger Khan’s “Phantom Dead Squad” killed over 200 persons, with impunity, and United Nations Special Advisor on Minority Rights, Ms. Gay McDogall has reported that there have been over 400 extra judicial killings and executions of Afro Guyanese young men, President Jagdeo opposes a criminal inquiry into extra judicial killings in Guyana?

Burke stressed that Guyana must be imbued with good governance, political stability, economic progress for all, good governance that is free of ethnic bias and strictly adheres to the rule of law.

He posited that President Bharrat Jagdeo’s leadership is repugnant to these democratic values, and called on the Summit to embrace political reforms in Guyana.

67 responses to “Summit of the Americas Must Focus On Guyana’s Failing Democracy”

1. If my P.M has been fired as head of Caricom, it would be a blessing in disguise. He would now be able to clean up the illegal Caricom nationals that have invaded Barbados.What is strange that Jagdeo could be chosen, when that man has the worse reputation among any of the Caricom leaders including Ralph Gonsalves. If P.M Thompson was fired because he is protecting Barbados against a Caricom invasion, then KUDOS to a P.M with backbone, who can show his patriotism by putting his country before his personal Caricom status. You have a strong bajan support Mr P.M

2. Tell me Scout and please outline in details the beneficial aspects of Thompson being fired from Caricom.
    I think you are just jealous it was Jagdeo who was chosen instead of Thompson.
    Do you know why he was not chosen: because the region is in a economical crisis and Thompson is not an Economist and he is not qualified to handle such issues, Caricom is not a courtroom.!!!!

3. Anon
    Since Jagdeo is an economic Maybe, just maybe, he can start looking at setting Guyana right, which will allow the guyanese to remain in that country and try building up the national economy. Tell Jagdeo to stick to what he good at then.

4. Anon
    In detail the benefits of my P.M being fired is that he can start hiring two Virgin Atlantic 747’s and start shipping out all these illegal guyanese first. Barbados can hold its own without Caricom. I think Caricom should take the weight of Guyana off their shoulders. All of our top government employers have USA passports, none of them were refused visas. You can say that about Guyana.

5. Scout..
    Thank you for putting Anon in his place. He, like Faria, cannot accept the fact that Jagdeo and the PPP cabal are failures, as they have been programmed by the PPP propaganda.

Jagdeo studied economics in Russia and I do not consider him a learned economist.- he is OK with the theory but is unable to apply it in fixing Guyana’s problems. He has had ample time to do so… almost 12 years… He leaves in 2011 with his pockets full … good riddance. They will put up another failure to run Guyana after he leaves so there is no real hope for that country.

I am not a Barbadian, but I am keenly aware of the fears Barbadians have with the influx of Guyanese, and especially Indo-Guyanese. These fears are real, and will become even more acute as the regional economies contract due to the global economic crisis. Guyanese who are in Barbados illegally should look at going back home.

Guyanese have to put real pressure on their governmnet to rebuild Guyana and fix their country so that Guyanese can stay home There are also Guyanese overseas willing to go back would find it an exciting and progressive environment – a place to bring their investments and knowledge to.Time is running out for Guyana for many have given up and are now not looking back there – It is turning out to be a “FAILED STATE”.

6. @ Eco-ANAL-yst and Scout
    Cleary the two of you are racial, so frigg it!
    @ Dark Knight
    Do you see the pattern here, these Jack**es are defending the failing administration, It will be a very sad day in Bardados fuh wunnaa if Mia Motley becomes PM. And call her what you may, soon from now nobody will care, because the day the DLP mess up ( which won’t be long from now) nobody will care if Mia Motley is MAN, WOMAN or CHILD!

7. Ecoanalyst said:

There are also Guyanese overseas willing to go back would find it an exciting and progressive environment – a place to bring their investments and knowledge to.
    —————————
    Hah !,I know it is in bad taste,but that is truly a funny comment.

I once asked a Guyana national whom is a professional here in the U.S. & a US citizen if he would ever return to Guyana permanently one day when he retires & the answer was an emphatic no.They even mentioned they would rather be in Barbados instead !

They didn’t go into details about why they wouldn’t return but mentioned that Guyana was currently not the safest place to be & that “it was really bad right now”,whatever that meant.

Imo,Barbados has very strong pull factors as to maybe why this illegal immigration mess must be kept under control,even if this means minimal participation in CSME.
    1.Most of our social services{healthcare & education} are free.
    2.We have the strongest dollar of all the countries that participate in CSME.
    3.Barbados citizens have the most visa free access of all the countries in CSME,including the upcoming schengen exempt waivers.
    4.Our infrastructure is among some of the best in the independent caribbean islands.

8. @ Jay

I agree with you on these subjects except for number 1. which states:.Most of our social services{healthcare & education} are free
    This is a lie and anyone who lives in barbados as an immigrant were never given the privilige of free education nor health care, this is a disturbing statement.
    CHECK YOUR FACTS AND STOP SPREADING THAT NASTY LIE!!

9. Now anonymous I know FOR A FACT that you are a reknowned compulsive liar.

Non-nationals have went as far as to impersonate their fellow nationals to get free medical care. Moreover, they have become a constant headache to the Polyclinics. Dont let us talk about the educational system. There are cases in which stupid bajan men have knowingly claimed that children are theirs……. furthermore one or two of them have been charged!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that is why I am so bidly against the undocumented non nationals. They would do anything to get through even sell their own children like the Guyanese national in Ellerton!!!! Or the guyanese lady who has an old man in the Diostrict Hospital and has family in court for his property!!!!!

10. JC & The Rest

There is also a very interesting letter in Nation Newspaper written by a Herman Gooding.That letter claims that non-nationals especially Guyanese are benefiting from the reverse tax credit.I was hearing things to that effect.I am not surprise,neither am I upset because this government is procrastinating on this immigration issue.I hope the Guyanese continue to exploit our social services and wreck this country like they have done to their blighted nation.

11. I believe it and I vex is assssss about it reallllllllll vex!

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC
    Stop getting vexed and go up to Ch Ch and check out the church and see how you gwine decorate de place and ting chile! See if ya got enough parking for de BU family. Lol

13. http://www.guyanaobservernews.org/

This will take you to an online radio station that fearlessly discuss the crimes and injustices perpetrated by the ethnic electoral dictatorship in Guyana.

14. DK not Drift Kid // April 21, 2009 at 1:24 pm

We are a family of islands nestling closely under the shelter of the great Cooperative Republic of Guyana. And this fact of regional togetherness is lived every day by ordinary West Indian men and women in their comings and goings . . . . – Errol Walton Barrow

That was before Guyana was taken over by the spawn of David Duke. Imagine that African Guyanese pay the vast majority of compulsory taxes because they are heavily employed in the public sector. But the two black television stations get no ads from the Government. In contrast, MTV which is onwed by Jagdeo’s niece gets bocoo ads from the state.

Don’t be cowed by accusations of racism that is the stock in trade ploy of those who expect to practice their prejudice without hindrance. The PPP is a very racist Government, and the discrimination and marginalization against blacks in Guyana rivals what was happening in the US south in the 50s and 60s. At that time the Red Necks were claiming the same thing; that blacks had it good. Like the PPP Brahmin assembley, the bottom of the pile is good for blacks in Guyana.

15. Thanks Ruel, we just had a listen. The comment that Ms. Hoyte is struggling to survive in Guyana was heart wrenching. The is a former first lady we are talking about. Just because she is Black? According to the radio program Ms. Jagan was high flying by comparison. Despicable!!!

16. Somebody is telling lies. Who is it. You decide:
    ……………………………

Guyana scores high press freedom ranking

By Stabroek staff | May 5, 2009

Guyana has moved from ‘partly free’ in its press freedom status to ‘free’, the latest report of the world press freedom watchdog body, Freedom House has said.

In its report, Freedom of the Press 2009: A Global Survey of Media Indepen-dence, Freedom House stated: “Several positive signs were noted in the Americas. Guyana regained its free status due to a decrease in attacks on journalists and the government’s decision to lift its boycott on advertising in the main independent newspaper.”

The report said that of the 195 countries and territories assessed in the latest survey, which covers calendar year 2008, 70 (36 percent) were rated ‘free’, 61 (31 percent) were rated ‘partly free’, and 64 (33 percent) were rated ‘not free’.

This represented a modest decline from the last survey, which covered the year 2007: 72 ‘free’, 59 ‘partly free’, and 64 ‘not free’ countries and territories.

The findings for the year 2008 also represent a negative shift from the survey results of seven years ago, which represented the last recent high point of press freedom.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/05/05/guyana-scores-high-press-freedom-ranking/

17. Tamara is an idiot