Commissioner Darwin Dottin

The recent tragic attack on two Canadian visitors which occurred on Long Beach was a reality check for Barbados. Our heavy dependence on a good reputation in the tourist market has been placed under threat in the aftermath of the vicious attack. The good reputation as a low crime destination which Barbados has enjoyed over the years has provided the goodwill to absorb the negative result from the attack. Barbados like tourist dependent destinations cannot afford to experience a rise in any illegal activity targeted at tourists especially given the prevailing global economic condition.

We wish the victims Luana Cotsman and her mother-in-law Terry Schwarzfeld, of Ottawa well!

Canada falls into our top two tourist markets. While it is easy to make the point that criminal activity may occur anywhere and at anytime, when it does occur the experience is always negative.The reality check caused by the recent attack is a reminder that Barbadians must be eternally vigilant to ensure that each citizen wears the badge of island protector with honour.

Barbados relative to the other Caribbean countries is a low crime jurisdiction. The balance between managing the Barbados brand and reporting crime presents obvious challenges for the media. As Barbados transforms to a ‘cosmopolitan place’ the new environment will present challenges. This new environment is already showing signs of threatening the stable country which Barbadians have taken for granted for so long. The government MUST start to take decisions in the interest of Barbadians and reprioritize the fixation successive governments seem to place on regional obligations.

To the government’s credit it has responded quickly to the public outcry at the incident which occurred at Long Beach. Barbadians have known for years about the criminal activity which has occurred and likely to occur at Long Beach. Unfortunately it had to take a vicious attack on tourists to galvanize focus on the need to rollout creative security strategies in that area.

They are some who would say that the focus should be on making all of Barbados safe and this would be the true and ideal position if resources permitted. Barbados at this juncture in our economic development must do all that it can to protect the reputation of Barbados as a low crime tourist destination. If that good reputation takes a big hit so too the high standard of living we have come to enjoy.

The Barbados government may want to take this opportunity to evaluate the one-sided contribution tourism makes to our economy. Is there scope to diversify the economy? Is this a national discussion we should be having?

We take this opportunity to encourage Barbadians and others everywhere to report and tips to the authorities which may lead to the apprehension of criminals. You should call the Royal Barbados Police Force Hotline at (246) 429-8787 or go to the Crime Stoppers Website where tips can be reported anonymously for rewards.

58 responses to “Fighting Back Against The Crime Threat”

1. It is unfortunate that the lady died,however where are the bleeding hearts when Black People & other Non-White people are murdered in this world.

In the September 11,2001 attacks a few thousand people died and Irag,& Afganistan had to pay and is still paying with lost of thousands upon thousands of their people life including children for that attack.Where are the bleeding hearts for the unfortunate Iragis & Afganistanis.A similar fate is happening to the Palestinians in Palestine at the hands of the Israelis.
    In London recently a Brazillian national was killed by the British Police and a few years ago a Black boy Steven Lawrence was savagely killed by a bunch of white hooligans.Where are the bleeding hearts for the those 2 deaths.In the USA Black people are murdered almost daily at the hands of white murderous police officers and I hear no outcry from the bleeding hearts on this blog.In Barbados we have Black People being murdered and I do not see our parliamentarians showing any great concern for the lost of Black life in Barbados.

In this world it seems that white life values more than any other ethnic group life and when a white person dies in unfortunate circumstances the whole world must weep for the white life gone.The opposite is true for other ethnic groups lives

Black people especially the colonial imprisoned ones always jump to the defence of white people and worry and care more about those white people lives than even their own Black people lives.

It seems we will never learn.

2. Hopi
    Wait, dah is de “ambassadorism’ dat you an Scout ‘tek-way’ from we girl Riri? (dat Riri name ting is sickening).
    Trust you ta get tings done.
    Tanks, anyway.

Negroman
    I weep whenever a life is lost, especially prematurely or tragically, regardless of colour, class or creed. So I know dat you don’t include me wid dem anti-black ‘bleeding-hearts’. Rite? You is still my main squeeze doe, like um or not. Dat is after Hopi doe.(teehee)

3. May Terry Schwarzfeld Rest In Peace!

4. […] 2009 · No Comments Barbados authorities continue to brace for the fallout from the vicious attack on two Canadian visitors which has resulted in one death. Up until now Barbados had managed to […]

5. Give me an Office of Professional Responsibility that works. Give me a Police Complaints Commission that works. Give me a sensible Police Commissioner that would think twice about saddling up storm troopers in riot gear to attack protesting UWI students and I would say that we have gotten to base one in dealing with crime in BIM.
    —————————————-
    A disgraceful incident the iron fist in the er iron fist.
    Among those manhandled were several young women
    It just shows we Barbados Police can be tough and effective especially when they are faced with desperate offenders.

6. Wunna see dah lil boy dat dah hole fa de Canadian tourist death doe? Lord have mercy. He in loss he ‘mudda’ feachers yet. lord mek peace. He want a good ol bajan ‘cut-ass’ and I would gih he one if I could. It is sad for both families man. sad, sad, sad.

7. Mr. Mark L. fenty Sr Avatar
    Mr. Mark L. fenty Sr

As a Barbadian living in the United States,I konw for a Fact the the Royal Barbados Police Force have some of the best human being anyone would want to meet, and the reason I know this is that I grew up behind District a police station as a boy and I could say without a doubt that my association with the police made me the man I am today. Now the police have a hard job keeping law and order in Barbados, and so far their have done a good job, Because all in hear about Barbados is good thing in America; and the public in Barbados need to commend them for the job that their are doing. Thank you

8. Negroman, March 18, 2009 at 11:50 AM:

“We do not want any rat catcher/mango seller Pakistanis & Indians in Barbados.Neither do we want the Indo-Guyanese human germs.

“Barbados is for Black Barbadians only.The rest of other ethnic groups could go and disappear.”

Thank you, Negroman, for your contribution to humankind’s knowledge.