Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

BU family member Carson C. Cadogan has been strident and unequivocal in his condemnation of the merchant class in Barbados. His criticism of the groups which control the channels of distribution and retail has attracted criticism from other BU family members because he is of the view that the groups which have historically controlled have been White i.e. Hanchell Inniss, R. L. Seale, Bourne, BS&T, Goddards etc.

To say that Barbadians have significant choices to buy low priced food and other commodities would not be fair. Barbadians have witnessed the demise of the Julie Nโ€™s and Bugs Buy entities over the years when these entities tried to bring the price of food down. We may not totally agree with how Cadogan frames his contributions but we should not ignore the message, PRICES IN BARBADOS CONTINUE TO INCREASE. This is despite the acknowledgement that freight and other key input costs have been falling on the world market. Additionally, news out of Trinidad and a few other countries confirm prices have started to dip in those countries.

Not so in Barbados!

The incumbent government has been on the job for just over one year. Many including BU admit that the prevailing economic climate continues to challenge governments around the world.ย  We have been reminded by the Opposition Party that the Democratic Labour Party promised to reduce the cost of living on assuming office. Commonsense convinced the majority of Barbadians that the new government would have struggled to reduce theย  high cost of living with the price of oil hovering at USD140.00 per barrel when they assumed government. However given the price of oilย  bottoming out at USD30-50.00 dollars per barrel in recent months, and other commodity prices like corn etc doing the same, it seems incomprehensible that Barbadian merchants/importers should continue to fail Barbadian consumers by not sourcing cheaper supplies and or reduce prices/mark-ups to the consumer.

Last month we posted the blog Should Our Merchants Be Tarred And Feathered? which attracted moderate comments from the BU family. Maybe a reflection of how accommodating Barbadians have become regarding the issue of being chafed by sellers of goods and services in Barbados over the years.

The time has come for our government to lead on this matter. They have promised to open up the market to competition. Barbadians have become cynical about whether such a strategy even works, the Digicel, LIME formerly C&W is a good example. The government has a very narrow window to act on this matter because merchants we are told have started to hint that they have to keep their prices up in order to keep staff employed in the prevailing economic conditions. The old people have a saying if yuh lick yuh lock-up.

Prime Minister David Thompson, Non Governmental Organizations, Credit Unions, Church, Media, and other stakeholders in Barbados, the PEOPLE need you to act responsibly by showing leadership now more than ever before.

1. Over the years I have been over-whelmed at the rediculous price of shoes and clothing, now in recent years the same has applied to food stuff. I dread the thought of going to the supermarket. I carefully and very cautiously try to separate my ‘wants’ from my ‘needs’. I also purchase my chicken only from any Chicken-Galore outlet and my veggies etc. from a little farm-market outside the StGeorge Parish Church. I get a lot more for my money and a wider variety also.
    Having travelled extensively, I am appauled at these ludicrous mark-ups on commodities. They can do a lot better man. Lord hah mercy.
    Wunna merchants in got na damn conscience?
    Another thing, I hate to hear people saying, ‘well, ya kno’, ya cahn eat de money, so wah ya gun do.’ NONSENSE.
    De ruling party (my party by de way) promised that they would bring down de prices. Just another political gimmick. None a dem doan give diddly-squat bout we man. Only a lotta hot air.To quote a good man like Negroman, ‘wind-bags’.
    stuupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

2. People, as much blame lies on government for the ridiculous duties and taxes on many products imported into Barbados. Why should any food product have 200% duty? Having duties to protect local suppliers means that consumers are forced to buy cheaper lower quality products or more expensive better quality ones. I usually buy the better quality ones.

Port charges also contribute significantly to the cost of items in Barbados.

Markups in Barbados are high, but just as much blame lies with government who have to charge ludicrous duties to keep thousands of civil servants employed who really don’t do anything.

3. Bonny Peppa // February 19, 2009 at 9:00 am

I hate to hear people saying, โ€˜well, ya knoโ€™, ya cahn eat de money, so wah ya gun do.โ€™ NONSENSE

In that statement lies the reason why prices will not reduce. The consumers forget they have the power not the merchants. If a commodity is not selling the merchants will be forced to reduce their prices.

4. It always amazes me how there are never any sales in Barbados or weekly specials on groceries.

I noticed when I was there in 2007 that the quality of the ready made clothes are poor. The finish is poor. Seams left raw, stripes and plaids not matched so the finished product looks like a rag mat. Even Cave Shepherd had this inferior stuff. When I complained to an attendant about the lack of quality I was told I can get better on another floor. Thank God I was only looking.

Over Christmas, while in Jamaica, I checked the prices in the supermarkets and was amazed to see that they were equivalent to or in some cases cheaper than here in Canada. In Barbados every thing costs about four times what we pay here, including the exchange.

5. Everyone should boycot one, and only one of the food import/retale stores.
    If they want to get people back in the store, they’ll have to lower prices. When they lower prices, the other one (store) will have to lower prices to compeat. if they both raise prices again….boycot again.
    Sooner or later the merchants will have to bring pressure to bear on the gov. to end the STUPID duty on food !
    I did this a few years ago with gas stations in a remote town ( much like an Island). Two companies owned all of the gas stations in the district. Everyone did not partisapate in the boycot. But enuf did to lower gas $ by .50 cents usd ( – 30 % ). it only took 10 days, untill the station buckled and started lowering the price, then the other responded, etc.
    Oh, if you do this, and it works ( and it will). I hope that someone will extend the curtisy of a good rental situation for when I come there to live, and grow food in my container garden of course !

6. โ€œThereโ€™s no free lunchโ€

Has anyone every tried to clear a barrel at the port? No less than 6 different civil servants had to stamp, sign, or once over my papers, and civil servants donโ€™t come cheap.

7. The merchants are now in a concilliatory mood to talk to govt.
    If the PM din’nt threaten them with the prospect of increased competition, I wonder if they would ever have been in a negotiating mood?

People, the prices of average goods in the States are plummeting. People are not buying; yet our loving merchants (and distributors) see it fit in “holding us hostage”

Long live competition!

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

First off the bat let be known that I am a supporter of the DLP.

Having said that let me proceed to lay some of the blame for the high cost of living at the door step of the DLP Govt.

In the run up to the last general election, the DLP was up and down the length and breath of Barbados telling all and sundry that the Barbados Labour Party and big business were resposible for the high cost of living in Barbados. We the Black Consumers of Barbados believed them because what they were saying was absolutely true. Give them a chance and things will be different and better. We did. What are the results?

Thirteen months into the administration of the DLP Govt. I can not point to thirteen things that the DLP Govt. has done in an effort to assist the Black Consumers of this country from the crushing weight of sky high prices here in Barbados. As we all are aware under the DLP administration the cost of living is worst. Prices are higher than ever. This is the Party we thought that would have been of great assistance to Black Consumers.

They have not been able to convince the largely White dominated Barbados Private Sector to give an ease to the poor people of this country. The White dominated Barbados Private Sector has thumbed its nose at the administration of David Thompson.

All we have gotten from the DLP Govt. are empty words and veiled threats to the merchants. Meanwhile it is business as usual. All the Prime Minister has been talking about is monopolies,and monopolies, and more monopolies and he has done absolutely nothing about them. It is still like if the BLP was still in office. Now the latest joker to be talking about monopolies is Estwick, he is picking up from where Thompson left off. How is this empty rhetoric helping Black Consumers? Not one bit. We are still suffering at the hands of the wicked Merchants here in Barbados.

9. Thanks Carson I thought only me saw this shit for what it truly is …..

SHIT!

10. If Mr. Cadogan could speak from a position of experience instead of as an armchair ecconomist, he wouldn’t make an ass of himself.

He answers his own grouse… the ‘white’ business have survived but “Barbadians have witnessed the demise of the Julie Nโ€™s and Bugs Buy entities over the years when these entities tried to bring the price of food down.” The simple answer is … it’s not possible to “bring the price of food down” simply by selling something cheaper. You do it and you go belly up.

There is no ‘monopoly’ on food. Anybody can run to Miami and buy all they want from the Distributoes there. In fact, that what all local businesses do. Sorry to punch a hole in Mr. Cadogan’s bag… his opinion is, it’s those unconsciousable white people who prey upon the blacks… my advice to him is: open a supermarket, sell at a lower price… and go bankrupt. It’ll be the best way to learn first hand… then you may stop misleading the public.

11. Mr. Frumps, as you seem to know a little bit about the distributive sector, perhaps you can explain to us why food prices continue to rise when the input costs have not and in most cases have fallen.
    Also why can the sector not look to South America to source products which are very much cheaper then the traditional American and European products?

12. Another question would be to ask AGAIN why the T&T media are reporting that there is a downward movement in prices.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Frumps

I would also like you to address the very dishonest practice of Merchants here in Barbados of having one price on the item on the shelf, often a low price, but when the consumer reaches the cashier what shows up on the computer is a another price which is always much higher.

I have been a victim of this practice on three occasions, but I have spotted it and refused to pay the higher price.

Or maybe I should be asking Glenda Medford?

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Let me give an example of poor and dangerous service by the Barbados Private Sector.

Last Saturday I went to one of the leading lights in the Barbados Private sector. His company retails and wholesales just about everything under the sun. He is a white Bajan. I bought two small buckets of pigtails, paid my money and took them home. Later in the evening I opened one of the buckets of pigtails, everyone in the house almost ran out. The pigtails were so stink that I thought that a dead man was inside the bucket.

15. Carson It looks like we gine be burying you sooner than I though! Wuh de hell you buying two buckets uh pigtails to do what with???????

Seriously i am with you in your opinions so far, but now that you have come to realize that the Bee’s , the Dee’s, nor the Private sector are willing to ease retail prices who is left to wage the fight? I am putting it to you that the only person who should have been fighting in the first place is the consumer. Stop waiting for politicians and others to do for you what you should have been doing for yourselves. Never tire of preaching to all who could hear, your methods and approaches to dealing with and working towards lower prices, because there is value in numbers, and you are up against a population who have been conned since independence and beyond, into subservience, obedience, and dependence on a political class to do for you. Can you imagine someone as obese as Mia Mottley, having the energy to do-fuh-you? People get real yuh!

16. CARSON,I want to know if you ever operated a busines and employed ppl.

17. @Dominoes,
    Do you have to operate a business or employ people to know you are being ripped off? The white business sector spends a great deal of time monitoring these blogs and replying with rubbish.

Their time would be more effectively spent at their desks coming up with methods to reduce prices the same way they worked out reasons to increase prices. Start with dramatic drop in energy inputs( gas prices.)

Maybe that is too much work and we know how the car racing/ polo/golf playing businessmen and executives slave each day.

18. It would seem that all anyone here does is complain. How will things change without someone at least TRYING to come up with viable answers ? How can YOU help fix this ?
    Organize a food co-op, start community gardens, suggets useing a proven method of boycotting ?
    I found it quit odd that no one even responded to my post, concerning that tried and sucessful boycott.
    White man, Black man, Black man, White man, blah, blah, blah….
    Do any of you realy think that just because a merchant is black, he’ll take less profit than a white ? Or that somehow a white is more greedy than a black ?
    Do you think that if blacks held a monopaly, it would be any differant ?
    Get away from all of this raceist B.S. work togather as people who share the universal breath, stop spitting venom at skin color. It’s greed vs. need, not black vs. white.
    It is NOT the “other” person that changes things !

19. Look at the duties being charged on food stuff first then come back and say who is conning us.

20. Pride is responsible for the situation we bajans are in. We complain and smell hell to purchase many of the necessary things we need but we continue to shop at the outlets where we can be seen pushing a big trolly. I see shoppers once again walking with their mini calculator and recording every item picked up off the shelf. Last time I saw this was in the early 90’s. Quite recently, a group of us men decided to go on a shopping spree to prove a point to our “other half”. We bought some necessaries at some wholesalers and divided them among us. It is surprising how much less expensive these items were.I.E a 50 lb bag of english potatoes was bds $ 31.00 per bag. We even returned to our boyhood days and went digging yams and sweet potatoes. In true bajan terms both “brek” good and the savings were tremendous. For the yams in particular, I could have only buy 3 kgs at the supermarket with the money I bought the 60 lbs I dug from the ground. For your information, I only stuck three while digging.Some of theseitems can even be grown at home in tyres or buckets or cans. Stop playing American and going into the supermarket for everything, including, breadfruits and dry coconuts or even grated coconut.

21. I wish I had sufficient interest to properly address some of the questions posed above. Frankly I do not. I’m sorry, I’m a bit past Primary School and holding children’s hand as they recite their A B Cs really doesn’t interest me.

It’s difficult, if not impossible, to talk about 6, 7 and 8 where the people you’re talking to only know from 1 to 3.

The whole question of supermarkets failing is answered by the very fact that they failed. You people who have no experience in ‘running a business’ the size of a large supermarket will never understand and I’d be silly to waste my time and yours, with a whole lot of ‘long talk’ trying to explain.

David // February 20, 2009 at 7:51 am
    Another question would be to ask AGAIN why the T&T media are reporting that there is a downward movement in prices.

Mr. David, one of the reasons LIME closed their BDS call center is because BDS is the most expensive place in the Caribbean to operate from. This high expense does not apply to call centers only, it applies all across the board.

anonymouss // February 20, 2009 at 3:28 pm Look at the duties being charged on food stuff first then come back and say who is conning us.

THANK YOU, Sir/madame.

Carson C. Cadogan // February 20, 2009 at 11:12 am Let me give an example of poor and dangerous service by the Barbados Private Sector.

Last Saturday I went to one of the leading lights in the Barbados Private sector. His company retails and wholesales just about everything under the sun. He is a white Bajan. I bought two small buckets of pigtails, paid my money and took them home. Later in the evening I opened one of the buckets of pigtails, everyone in the house almost ran out. The pigtails were so stink that I thought that a dead man was inside the bucket….

Right on Carson. The reason the pigtails were putrid was because they were sold by a white man. Pig tails sold by black people are never rancid. Whitey opened the bucket, discovered the pigtails were bad, closed it back… and sold it to you, anyway. Blackie would never do anything so perverse.

Carson C. Cadogan // February 20, 2009 at 9:05 am Mr. Frumps … I would also like you to address the very dishonest practice of Merchants here in Barbados of having one price on the item on the shelf, often a low price, but when the consumer reaches the cashier what shows up on the computer is a another price which is always much higher.

Sir, do I really have to explain to you why something like that may happen?

1,2,3, … 6, 7, 8….

etc. etc.

22. Carson C. Cadogan // February 20, 2009 at 9:05 am Mr. Frumps โ€ฆ I would also like you to address the very dishonest practice of Merchants here in Barbados of having one price on the item on the shelf, often a low price, but when the consumer reaches the cashier what shows up on the computer is a another price which is always much higher…

This is only something that will happen in a supermarket owned/run by white people. It would never happen in one owned/run by a black person.

23. The Scout // February 20, 2009 at 3:42 pm

Stop playing American and going into the supermarket for everything, including, breadfruits and dry coconuts or even grated coconut.

How true, how true.

@Mr. Frumps:

Mr. Frumps // February 20, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Carson C. Cadogan // February 20, 2009 at 9:05 am Mr. Frumps โ€ฆ I would also like you to address the very dishonest practice of Merchants here in Barbados of having one price on the item on the shelf, often a low price, but when the consumer reaches the cashier what shows up on the computer is a another price which is always much higherโ€ฆ

This is only something that will happen in a supermarket owned/run by white people.

I suggest you do what is done up North. If the price does not match, the item is free if under $10. If it costs more than $10, you get that amount discounted.

As a cheap ass Bajan, I use the instore scanners and put in my basket any that are mispriced. It is usually a scanning error made when the shelf is being stacked.

For example, my supermarket had 100% cotton 350 thread Queen sized sheets on sale for $9.99. I scanned every one and two were rejected and the old price came up. I bought one, which I got free and hid the other in the store. I went the next day and bought it, but lo and behold, the price had gone up to $12.99. So, I got two sets for $2.99.

24. Thanks Carson I thought only me saw this shit for what it truly is โ€ฆ..

SHIT!

—————
    NO !!! IT IS—->——-C-R-A-P !
    ————————————
    T

25. Two pails of pigtails ??

smell the way they did
    what did ya expect ?
    but
    C-R-A-P- !

26. We talk about the White ripping-off merchants – which is very true. But what about the Black ones.
    Ever made a trip to Emerald City?

27. AH man talk to them man you doing a good job!

28. WHEN I SAY OPEN A BUSINESS AND EMPLOY PPL,THEN U WILL KNOW WHAT THE DUTIES ARE,WHAT It IS TO PAY SALARIES AND DONT TALK ABOUT THE STEALING.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you are listening Mr. Frumps, Dominoes and like minded, we are sick and tired with being ripped off 365 days a year by the Bajan version of the Merchant of Venice namely the Barbados Private Sector.

I will never be convinced that I should stand idly by and be taken advantage of by the Merchant class here in Barbados. You have no respect for the Black Consumers of Barbados. I will bet all the tea in China that if the majority of Consumers in Barbados were white we would not have this perennial problem of sky high prices in Barbados.

30. You wont have to bet farless more drink that tea!

since …….

You are right!

31. >>I will never be convinced that I should stand idly by and be taken advantage of by the Merchant class here in Barbados. You have no respect for the Black Consumers of Barbados. I will bet all the tea in China that if the majority of Consumers in Barbados were white we would not have this perennial problem of sky high prices in Barbados.<>This is only something that will happen in a supermarket owned/run by white people. It would never happen in one owned/run by a black person.<<.
    I can only count you the fool for such a narrow minded thought.
    If you want to stop racisum, and bigotry…stop being a bigot !!

32. So the high prices today has all to do with race? Nonsense! JC and CC, I am ashamed of your level of reasoning.

33. Daniel. you need to understand the Bajan mentality: We like to complain about high prices and on the other hand say, we cant eat the money so what are we going to do! Instead of taking action!

2 years ago I went to a supermarket and saw a whole chicken was $15 and I decided I wasn’t buying that when I could get 10 flying fish for $10, I decided that unless I was having guests for lunch I would by-pass the meat section.

One day I overheard a gentleman complaining about the price of chicken and I told him that he doesn’t have to but that if he thinks the price is unreasonable and he asked me how I expect him to eat his food, he loves chicken and must have it.

When I was growing up I remembered a news item from England where the houswives were upset about the price of tomatoes and refused to buy them, when the merchants realised the tomatoes were spoiling they reduced the prices. That stayed with me and made me realise how much power the consumers have if they will only exercise it.

As Scout is saying we have become so americanised that we have forgotten our basic Bajan heritage.

It is easier to blame someone that take responsibility for our actions, check the price of pigeon peas every christmas and it is black people picking them and selling. They pick them at $3 per pound and sell at $10 or $12 per pint cause they need money for their labour. I go to the grounds just like them and pick mine at $3 per pound.

We dont want our hands dirty to dig yams and potatoes nor shell peas, we dont want to scale fish, too raw and then we complain. We are our worse enemies

34. @ ALL

The flyers just arrived!
    Fresh, Boneless, skinless, chicken breast $1.99 per lb. or $4.39 per kilo.

Tell me how much wunnuh want. I got a permit. I will bring um down next month. I will vacuum seal it too, so you can keep it for a year.

35. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Hahaha!

Cadogan another bigoted loser blaming everything on whitey.

As a black man I have no respect for you. Start yuh own business nuh! But just quit whining like a little girl.

36. Elombe // February 20, 2009 at 11:50 pm

So the high prices today has all to do with race? Nonsense! JC and CC, I am ashamed of your level of reasoning.
    ==========================

How Should I know this person to be real Elombe? I have my doubts.

Carson continue to sell your ideas to all who would listen. We will have black enfranchisement in this country. We must not tire, and we will not fail.

37. Antigua seems to have the cheapest chicken prices in the Caribbean
    Howcum !

38. The Pricing of commodities /services in Barbados is used as a whip by the descendants of former slave masters to whip black people into submission and keep them subjugated.

Before the present big debate about prices, I expressed my sentiments by writing a song in which I asked the ‘vultures’ -to bring down the prices.

My brother in calypso , William “Classic Waithe sang a song way back in the 80s in which he lamented the high cost of living and the high prices. Other artistes have alluded to the same in many of their songs.

The idea of high prices is but one of the strategies to effectively keep down black people in Barbados. If we examine our history carefully , we will find this to be true and that is why I WILL CONTINUE TO CALL FOR THE TEACHING OF OUR HISTORY AT ALL LEVELS.

I see that the Minister of Education is supporting my call. I know that he would have seen my calls on this Blog for the TEACHING OF OUR HISTORY.

Mr. Jones is a computer man and I am sure that he reads the blogs : it is logical. He has the power of influence. I have the voice of protest and together we can effect the change that is needed.

TEACH OUR HISTORY: IT IS A LIBERATING EXPERIENCE

USE CULTURE AS A TOOL OF LIBERATION-

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can see no reason why 2% of any population should have the other 98% by the short and curlies.

Can any one remember that excellent story on the BBC not so long ago showing the tremendous economic power of Caucasians in Barbabados inspite of their tiny numbers?

Mr. Frumps, Dominoes can you tell me how many Shipping agencies in Barbados are owned by Black People?

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Frumps, Dominoes and like minded, I stand by my statement:-

“I will bet all the tea in China that if the majority of Consumers in Barbados were white we would not have this perennial problem of sky high prices in Barbados.”

Or maybe you can show me, without a shadow of doubt, how the prices of goods and services here in Barbados would still be sky high if the majority of consumers in Barbados were White.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Frumps, Dominoes and like minded,

Don’t keep me waiting now.

42. Elombe // February 20, 2009 at 11:50 pm

So the high prices today has all to do with race? Nonsense! JC and CC, I am ashamed of your level of reasoning.

Prove it isn’t true if your arguments are sound ………. then maybe I would apologise right now NAAAAAAA!

43. I could easily prove that the high prices have nothing to do with race by showing that both blacks and whites PAY and CHARGE identical prices for food items, but I know that that will not convince you.

I don’t know who is the “real” Elombe, that’s the name I was christened with. If you are referring to Elombe Mottley, no, I am not him, but I doubt that his view would differ from mine!

44. Prove It!

Answer CC’s sQuestion, and I am always HUMBLE enough to say I am wrong.

I remember an occasion where I told off a Bank Manager and then I found out it was not her fault but my workplace.

Elombe, I called at work and said I was going to be late and marched down to RBTT to apologise…….. so dont say that you dont know me haha lol!

45. Ok, JC, are you aware of any instances where you paid more (or less) because of your skin colour?

46. Yes I know for a fact that if I go to certain (black places) where if I am a 1$ short they wont kill you Courts on the other hand man another story ha ha lol …… them people is carry you in nutsee yeah ha ha.

In other scenarios I wont know if I am being ripped off …….. however, I remember instances where I went to particular persons Offices and had appointments however, persons who were white came and got through before me.

When I asked the question of how comes I had an appointment and didn’t get through as yet but other persons (white) came and got through……

As usual it was some BULLSHIT answer.

SOOOO I waited until I got into the room and asked; ANOTHER bullshit response so I said in a bullshit attitude that I will never spend another cent with them and I meant it too.

But Elombe I forgot to tell you, it was at a BLACK Doctor’s Office ha ha ha you know we is something else to ourselves!

ha ha lol!

@ Mr. Frumps lol I love that name

Mr. David, one of the reasons LIME closed their BDS call center is because BDS is the most expensive place in the Caribbean to operate from. This high expense does not apply to call centers only, it applies all across the board.

Where else in the Caribbean Lime make so much money STUPSE BULLSHIT or as ace says CRAP CRAP AND MORE CRAP!

47. CARSON,NO ONE IS STOPPING A BLACK PERSON FROM OPENING A SHIPPING LINE,FOR A MATTER A FACT ANY BODY CAN OPEN ANY BUSINESS, BUT IT IS TO RUN IT SUCCESSFULLY.

48. NEVILL AND WORREL TRY BUT WHAT HAPPEN SHUT DOWN

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DOMINOES

OK,

Black people are not capable of running businesses. Their great strength is being good consumers so that the White dominated Barbados Private Sector can rip them off 365 days a year.

They must forever be Hewers of wood and drawers of water. That is the respect your race have for us.

So you have just answered my point, if the majority of consumers in Barbados were white we would have very reasonable prices for goods and services here in Barbados.

You would certainly have great respect for your own kind and treat them properly.

50. Cagodan, and JC,Your request to ” prove the statment wrong”, compleatly lacks logic. When you make a supposedly “factual” statment, it is up to YOU to provide the facts to prove it right ! Otherwise, you could just throw any old thought out there, without regard, and say ” prove me wrong !”, as you have apperenty done. And your’e asking to prove a hypothetical situation wrong at that !
    Anonaymouns, In my many travels I have found all peoples, and cultures to be of this same mentality, it is human nature.I belive in the mentality that : if it takes a small group of people motivated ( by greed) to bring things into a bad state, then it also takes a small group of people motivated by a desire to improve the situation.
    The catch is finding those people, and bringing them togather.
    To those who feel as I do, that this whole black white thing is crap. You can’t change a biggots mind, only they can do that, thru personal experiance. Untill then we can but shake our heads, and tell our children, ” that is NOT how you should be”.

On a different note, Does anyone know of a Bajin site, board, socail network, ect. on line, that one can post a topic of choice ? I would like to get to know people who live there. I’ve traveled far and wide looking for a home, never to leave. After two visits (not as a tourist)Barbados is in the finals.
    Anyone wishing to know more about me befor responding can go to , Badartdog.us ,thank you