Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

BU family member Carson C. Cadogan has been strident and unequivocal in his condemnation of the merchant class in Barbados. His criticism of the groups which control the channels of distribution and retail has attracted criticism from other BU family members because he is of the view that the groups which have historically controlled have been White i.e. Hanchell Inniss, R. L. Seale, Bourne, BS&T, Goddards etc.

To say that Barbadians have significant choices to buy low priced food and other commodities would not be fair. Barbadians have witnessed the demise of the Julie N’s and Bugs Buy entities over the years when these entities tried to bring the price of food down. We may not totally agree with how Cadogan frames his contributions but we should not ignore the message, PRICES IN BARBADOS CONTINUE TO INCREASE. This is despite the acknowledgement that freight and other key input costs have been falling on the world market. Additionally, news out of Trinidad and a few other countries confirm prices have started to dip in those countries.

Not so in Barbados!

The incumbent government has been on the job for just over one year. Many including BU admit that the prevailing economic climate continues to challenge governments around the world.  We have been reminded by the Opposition Party that the Democratic Labour Party promised to reduce the cost of living on assuming office. Commonsense convinced the majority of Barbadians that the new government would have struggled to reduce the  high cost of living with the price of oil hovering at USD140.00 per barrel when they assumed government. However given the price of oil  bottoming out at USD30-50.00 dollars per barrel in recent months, and other commodity prices like corn etc doing the same, it seems incomprehensible that Barbadian merchants/importers should continue to fail Barbadian consumers by not sourcing cheaper supplies and or reduce prices/mark-ups to the consumer.

Last month we posted the blog Should Our Merchants Be Tarred And Feathered? which attracted moderate comments from the BU family. Maybe a reflection of how accommodating Barbadians have become regarding the issue of being chafed by sellers of goods and services in Barbados over the years.

The time has come for our government to lead on this matter. They have promised to open up the market to competition. Barbadians have become cynical about whether such a strategy even works, the Digicel, LIME formerly C&W is a good example. The government has a very narrow window to act on this matter because merchants we are told have started to hint that they have to keep their prices up in order to keep staff employed in the prevailing economic conditions. The old people have a saying if yuh lick yuh lock-up.

Prime Minister David Thompson, Non Governmental Organizations, Credit Unions, Church, Media, and other stakeholders in Barbados, the PEOPLE need you to act responsibly by showing leadership now more than ever before.

1. Daniel

I get the impression that you vex that nappy hair JC and crew have an opinion. Our proof is the monopolistic system that BS&T continues too have and that is what everyone can see! Proof enough!

2. Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-‘why should I wear a jacket and tie’ // February 21, 2009 at 7:24 am | Reply

Antigua seems to have the cheapest chicken prices in the Caribbean
    Howcum !
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Because they are Sir Allan Standford chickens!

3. All this conversation boiling down too is RACE,all blacks could do is talk, OPEN A SUPERMARKET you all have an oppertunity, u will get all d customers coming to patronise you.

4. So JC, you see that it ain’t only the whites now! We Blacks loves to get down on each other especially for the Whites and Indians, guess we just aint letting go of the slave mentality.

5. We need to lift the debate because it is not only about race. It is about Barbadians who have become fat and immune over the years to high prices.

Barbadians were promised when Neal & Massy bought out BS&T Barbadians would benefit from lower prices. This because N&M would be now able to buy in greater quantities to the benefit of Barbados. What has become of this plan especially since T&T have been reporting a drop in food prices especially.

6. The DEMS promised to lower prices, after some 13 months what have them done,NOTHING. BARE HOT AIR

7. On an earlier thread, I asked about the taxes/duties/levies/fees merchants have to pay on goods imported into the Barbados.

When VAT was first introduced, it was said that prices would be lower as number of charges where eliminated.

Prices began rising from that day and every reason that could be imagined was given to justify the increases.

Now that some of the stated reasons are no longer applicable, the search for answers is on again.

We will hear that government charges are too high, port charges are too high,
    wages are too high, every reason under the sun except the most important one;
    sellers charge what buyers are willing to pay.

8. @ PP

I will raise the level of debate as David said and agree that when VAT was added it seemed as if things got sic worser!

I mean sometimes when you see the prices of some of these items they are indeed preposterous. and wht hurts me more than anything is as BP and Scout say we talk crap about we cant eat the money.

I remember when I was younger some hot wives in a European country thought tha t the price of salt fish was to expensive. They refuse to to buy it hence the price came down I don’t know but it seems as if Bajans dont understand that they have all the power and can make these business people conform or go out of business!

9. You all people continue to ignore, at your peril, the historical impact of these matters. You continue to thrash around in the dark seeking solutions and answers, (or merely talking) and you fail to recogize that we need to get the history right before we move forward.

We fail to understand that ‘every single problem’ we have in this society goes back to the very fateful period when Africa met Europe in the Caribbean——very significant.

Any how I have hope and I will keep plugging away with the message :
    TEACH THE PEOPLE THEIR HISTORY .

TEACH US OUR HISTORY

10. Do we all have the same history, ATBS-WSIWAJAT?

11. Instead of teaching history, someone should evaluate the psychology of the Barbadian consumer who complains bitterly about high prices while repeatedly purchasing said high priced items.

12. Well said General Lee! Do you think it has something to do with our mentality? Where we can show off that despite how much an item costs we can still purchase it even though we complain about the price?

13. Gen Lee & M , I reffer to my previous post. Barbadians are no differant than anyone else, anywhere else.
    Gather the passionate few, and attack the problem. If you wait for someone else to do your job….it won’t get done.
    When I decided that Barbados may be my future home, I began studying, growing vegies in containers.
    Knowing the importance of this issue of food cost.I wanted to resolve the problem not only for myself ( for consumtion, and sales). But also to shair the oppertunity/knowlage with others there. There is a lot of info on the internet on this subject. Why don’t you all start looking into it, and shair the findings with each other ? compair the sucess you’re having with your low cost, good food. Grow tomatos in a bucket, potatos/yams in a plastic bag, get a pet chicken, ( rember , only the girls lay eggs, har…!)
    Rather than piss on each others leggs, to mark the terratory of loud inaction ?
    Everyone can do some little thing, any of which is more preferable than doing nothing more than bitch and cry like a bunch of little girls !

14. I agree with your views about self help but we elected people and pay them to look after our interests.

While seeking election, they gave the impression that no effort would be spared in addressing this issue, it was said to be job numero uno.

After a year on the job, we are still awaiting meaningful action.

“Every posse must work…”
    I agree, politicians too.

15. Anonymous // February 22, 2009 at 11:25 pm
    = General Lee

16. JIMMY WILES DANIELS from de Land of the Kangaroo. Avatar
    JIMMY WILES DANIELS from de Land of the Kangaroo.

Great blog to learn about the problems, and maybe the profits of the rellies in Barbados.
    A recent survey here in OZ [Australia] has shown supermarket prices are generally higher for the “poorer “areas.

Ah, fish is better for you anyway.

Good luck in the cricket .

17. THE D L P SUPPOSE TO BE A POOR MAN PARTY,WHAT HAPPEN TO THEM.

18. Dominoes: Nothing ain’t happen to them! They are now the GOVERNMENT and dont need to make any election promises nor keep them either and in years they will be back and remind us that the last 14 yrs the BLP were in power and they haven’t been able to clean up the mess.
    Still all of them in there getting FAT!

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am convinced that there is some sort of conspircy in Barbados against Black Consumers.

A short while ago I listened to the 4.30 VOB news where I had the great displeasure of being forced to listen to the Central Bank Govenor. I just hate hearing her, but because of her position in Society I have to listen.

She was crying once again about wages in Barbados. This is a woman who receive a large pay increase not so long ago from the Barbados Labour Party, she did not complain about that. She is of the opinion that workers should accept working short weeks or week on, week off.

Lord have mercy, not one word from her on the sky high prices which workers have to pay for everything in Barbados as a result of the heartless Merchants in Barbados. She did not appeal to the Merchants on the other hand to lower their prices. All she was interested in was lowering the living standards of workers in this country. She never mentioned that in order to help she would take a pay cut of her fat salary.

Only God can help Consumers, workers in this country. They will get no assistance from the Barbados Labour Party, The Barbados Private Sector, The Central Bank, and the DLP is not helping either.

20. Things have changed little since slavery

The central bank govenor appears to want to do the obvious—maintain the status quo.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A prison is burned and the man at the top gets to keep his job and is given a new prison.

Millions of dollars goes missing at a Central Bank and the person at the top is still employed.

In most jurisdictions of the World these people would have resigned as a matter of course.

Here no one in high places is held responsible for anything.

Only the little guy.

22. ALL CARSON COULD DO IS COMPLAIN ABOUT EVRYTHING,BUT CAN NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP THE SITUATION,OPEN A LIL MINIMART.

23. Yeah Carson, open up a minmart and give me my coke for $1.00, just like the old days!

😀