Executive Chairman of CL Financial, parent company of CLICO
Executive Chairman of CL Financial, parent company of CLICO/Trinidad Express

Barbadians in the understandable emotion of the moment should resist the irresistible urge to discuss the current bailout of CLICO by the Trinidad government in a parisian and or political manner. This approach should extend to those who resent the lavish lifestyles of the CLICO Barbados executives who are known to ride around Barbados in high-priced luxury vehicles, and we understand there is an executive jet which is for the exclusive use of Chairman Leroy Parris and others of his bidding. Perhaps in the current climate the local CLICO management maybe persuaded to behave like a company which has modestly performed in comparison to a SAGICOR.

Back in July 2007 we hinted our concerns that Trinidad and Tobago had become the hegemonist of the Caribbean. At the time former Prime Minister Owen Arthur with lead for CSME matters seemed prepared to expose Barbadian companies to the highest bidder. The Arthur approach fitted well with the Port of Spain expansionist strategy given their cash rich position derived from a petro-based economy operating in a bullish global petro-market. The end result is that our largest conglomerate BS&T, our Barbados National Bank and other home-spun entities were gobbled-up by Trinidad investors. While the advantages of the Arthur strategy made a good economic argument BU has always been concerned about our ability to cope with the downside of such a strategy i.e. the mitigation of risk associated with the heavy concentration of Trinidadian ownership in a small Barbados market.

The inability of CARICOM to date to implement CSME has seen with it the inability to harmonize a regional financial regulatory body of any significance. The implication of not doing  so is stark given the current unravelling of  T&T government’s financial bailout of CLICO. Interestingly Neal & Massy, Ansa McAL and  One Caribbean Media are other Trinidadian controlled pan-Caribbean company operating in Barbados. It seems ironic that CSME was so widely touted under the previous administration but as far as we are aware there is no legislated unitary governance structure in place to manage pan-Caribbean companies.

We have with purpose highlighted the company One Caribbean Media (OCM) to illustrate the importance of implementing a regional regulatory governance structure. BU has been a harsh critic of the concentration of media ownership in Barbados given the importance of the Fourth Estate in a working democracy. The recent bailout by the T&T government now sees OCM being 23% owned by the government of Trinidad which will immediately entitle them to seat bodies on the OCM Board. We leave it to the BU family to study the implications in the absence of clear codes of governance in the prevailing climate.

After listening to VOB’s call-in show this morning we have to agree with Dr. Justin Robinson, on the horizon may loom an opportunity for Barbadians to buyout the assets of the local CLICO subsidiary. To be honest we don’t see in the current environment how CLICO local can bounce back given the dent in its home market compounded by the global financial crisis. The government of Barbados should move hastily to preempt a marathon run on the company if it appears evident by 9AM tomorrow. We hope that the Barbados government during its informal talks with Junior Minister of Finance Mariano Browne would have signalled such a plan.

A word of caution to Prime Minister David Thompson. Your self-confessed relationship with Chairman Leroy Parris places you in a very delicate position. Our suggestion may seem ridiculous but Chairman Parris should be encouraged to cede his authority to one of the other executive officers in the company for the obvious reasons as this matter unfolds.

The BU household wishes for a good result to the CL Financial (Parent) – CLICO fumble (we are writing this on Super Bowl Sunday). After all this is a company founded by a Black man and financially modest Trinidadian Cyril Duprey at the time in 1936. In 1936 it would have taken a black man with balls to do what he did. The company through the years has been become a large player in and out of the region.

This is a company which cannot be allowed to fail.

1. @Adrian Hinds and Johnnie Too Bad…

Please take your pathetic, small, simple, idiotic, stupid, ridiculous, [rants for five minutes], narrow minded, imbecilic positions, and SHOVE IT!!!

Some of us have some work to do.

Lead, follow, or SHUT UP!!!

OR, AT THE VERY LEAST, ***UNDERSTAND***!

(Deep breaths….)

2. Does any of these bloggers have a 9-5 job like me??
    Just peep in for lunch and de place hot nonstop.

David, can you publish the amount of hits per day?

3. At some point you trusted them. I have never done so. I have a detail understanding of our poltical system as such can never and will never support a political party in Barbados.
    …Ok we are now in the same position re. Eternal oppositionist, party politics aint fuh we. Why do you feel the need to demonstrate your now unhinged political affiliations by engaging in and encouraging others to behaviour that can only lead to furhter fallout in our finanacial sector? again whom does your action benefit? Your call to wake up is still seen as call to have other follow, why? who benefits

BTW fuh a person that say i have been following them online for years you seem very much in doubt about my gender?

4. Technician // February 3, 2009 at 3:37 pm

Does any of these bloggers have a 9-5 job like me??
    Just peep in for lunch and de place hot nonstop.

David, can you publish the amount of hits per day?
    ===========================
    at least I now you you aint nuh indo-guyanese or some other foreinger. Onl y a bajan could be dis malicous. Would you wish that we would just go away? How about navigating away from this page? chuspe. ha ha ha ha lol!

5. Johnnie Too Bad Avatar

Adrian I am going to put the pot on before my missus get home and cut my ass for spending all my time on the blogs.After all she the one with the job, since I was sent home more than a year now. See you later this evening.

6. Chris Halsall // February 3, 2009 at 3:34 pm

@Adrian Hinds and Johnnie Too Bad…

Please take your pathetic, small, simple, idiotic, stupid, ridiculous, [rants for five minutes], narrow minded, imbecilic positions, and SHOVE IT!!!

Some of us have some work to do.

Lead, follow, or SHUT UP!!!

OR, AT THE VERY LEAST, ***UNDERSTAND***!

(Deep breaths….)
    ———————————————–
    Even this short contribution gives me a headache to read. Wuh you don’t learn to write wid a flow though. chuspe!

anyway uh hear yuh Uh gone later people!

wunnuh de majority get down deh and leh a minority group people continue to such wunnuh and fool wunnuh dry.

7. @Adrian Hinds: “Even this short contribution gives me a headache to read.

I’m sorry if you find yourself challenged reading me.

Deal with it.

The fact remains: very little of what is said here (or anywhere) has any deep importance.

Fear, Uncertainty, Doubt.

That’s what we’re always told.

We’re better than this. We’re deeper than this.

We just have to realized it….

8. @ Johnnie Too Bad

Man, you are either a bad cook or a bad blogger. If I see you back here within the next 15 minutes, I know you cooking macaroni again today. lol. Why can’t you do both at the same time?

9. @Adrian Hinds and the BU Family…

My apologies. My language above was harsh. I am known to have a short temper.

To put on the table, I feel in this time of crisis we must examine the whole picture with extreme clarity.

All evidence should be presented without emotion. And with supporting documentation.

A good friend of mine reminded me recently of how easy it is to waste a great deal of time “racing down rat holes”.

Always keep in mind “rat holes” may be presented by those who wish to distract.

Namaste all.

10. @Technician

We have tried to stay away from the issue of visits/hits to BU for reasons which maybe obvious. What we can say is that as are approach end of year two our numbers continue to increase. The support of the BU family is one of the reasons we continue to produce the blog even though it is a leech on our time.

11. Where all these cockroaches come from all of sudden with these fear-mongering tactics.

If you all now wait to get on bad because you feel that CLICO going to fail, you should have got on bad when Trinidad systematically started buying out Barbados, not now when the water boiling and the crapaud sleeping.

For years Bermudez did own Wibisco, For years RBTT owned CCB, for years Neal & Massey and Ansal McAl, Machel Montana, Brian Lara, every carnival band leader, every next kin and cyah, sam cush & de duppy from Trinidad did own up all bout hey.

Don’t try to make me run around like a chicken with my head cut off….crapaud done smoke yuh pipe.

Try and get back on point and discuss the issue. I don’t care if you black brown or purple, this economic crisis going to hit all of you.

Getting me sick with all the foolish comments who cares about BFP is you love them so much stan over dey nuh.

Big long stupsseeeeeee!!!!!!

12. Johnnie Too Bad do you own a steel business? If you dont do you pal around with someone who does?
    Do you or any of your mates sell a product with letters CRB not necessarily in that order?

13. @Warrior // February 3, 2009 at 8:21 pm

You like my boy Adrian Hinds….. as Madea says

Drop it like its hottttt lol! Ya right makking a lot of foolish noise now that the DAMN cat out of the bag ole fing idiots!

14. @ David….

Just keep on doing what you doing and everything will be all right.

@ Warrior…..

Now that is keeping it real !!

15. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

Can anyone explain the TT$ 8 billion deifict that PM Manning speaks of in the press. there is nothing noted in the 2007 accounts about this.

16. A read of the Trinidad press who has been unrelenting in exposing this matter is interesting to say the least. There appear to be many issues coming out as we write. In the interest of being fair we will wait a little before we explore some of these side stories.

17. Why did the T&T government start the run on CLICO Investment Bank?

Why did so many top T&T officials withdraw personal funds from CIB in recent months?

Why was CLICO Insurance company allowed to run a negative statutory reserve position.

18. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

It seems to me that the Nation newspaper and Starcom have taken a decidely negative slant in this crisis.

Why could the headline on Monday not have read “Show of confidence by Central Bank of Barbados.”

There is a lot to clean up, but we certainly do not need a run on nay financial institutions.

19. Some thoughts and questions:

BNB is bleeding! The Gov’t needs to move decisely to not only save BNB but return it to Barbadian control.

Scotia Bank is not taking any Republic Bank of Trinidad cheques!

Has there been anything in the press about the Florida land deal that is a loser that Clico (B’dos) was involved in?

How could the Governor of the Central Bank pronounce that Clico was sound and well run when that company is a private company and does not fall under regulations administered by the central bank?

Look out for bombshell announcements from BS&T. United to be sold, DaCostas to be shut down.

Job losses ahead. God help us.

20. there is more in the mortar than the pestle!

21. Big fight for Republic Bank on the horizon. Sagicor ready to step in? Why the full page announcement?

Rotherly construction has no work. Gov’t had planned to give them the contract to build a ten story building at Warrens. No tender apparently (shades of the ABC h’way?) But now with this Clico disaster things are doubtful.

Thompson had plans of selling the Gov’t shares in BNB and ICB in order to finance the hospital expansion. Is that still on?

Anybody remember a speech made at Eagle Hall on a rainy night over a year ago by one O. Arthur?

22. Wuhlos what date was this? I got suh many video clips uh de shortman, I may have it. But then again I am not about to continue pelting blows in he. I aint gine continue to do nutten to help Mia hold on tuh de leadership of the blp.

——–
    But, as if we didn’t know de Blogs tuh big in Bimshire check this from de BLP

[QUOTE]
    http://blp.org.bb/writting

The ruling party is not interested in the things which ordinary Barbadians care about. As a result, a large number of persons who voted for change in the last general election feel betrayed and are angry. They realize that the present Government does not know what it is doing and that it is not intune with the things, which are important to ordinary people. Ordinary Barbadians also feel let-down that the DLP Government has no solution to the problems facing the people of this country.

We therefore want to work with you in your crusade to rescue this country. We invite you to put your thoughts and ideas in writing and encourage you to play your part in effecting real change. Help us make a stronger case on your behalf. Assist us in our written communication. Let the government know of your frustration through letters to the editor; text messages to people you know and THROUGH YOUR SUBMISSIONS ON THE BLOGS.
    Thank you for letting us be the change you need. We now invite you to share your ideas for progressive programmes and policies, as well as that of your community and groups with us.

———————————————-

ha ha ha hhhaa After 14 years in power and one year in opposition. Talk about no shame!!! what change what????

I still wearing my red shirt though. I am showing solidarity with the black bees mention on a Bajan white-background blog. I standing firm on the color-line in my red color shirt. ha ha ha ha ha

23. @Adrian Hinds… Sigh…

Let me please open with the statement that it could be argued that I am closer to Barbados that you are.

Yeah, you can speak “Bajan!”. I wish I could. And I hope I do a reasonable job of understanding it when I face it.

But can you speak “G33k?”. 4nd 1f s0, h02 w3ll?

Or 3ng1n33ring, 0r f1n4nc3?

Or p01cy?

I would like to once again argue that we all have a great deal to do here.

Can we please get on with it, and leave behind our sad and petty little alliances?

Is that too much to 4sk?

24. ha ha ha Chris wuh you want from me? why are you attacking me my friend? I merely offer responses to people comments.

Seriously! What is it you are driving at? You keep saying we have much to “get on with” yet i don’t see a formulated approach to what you may intend. Whatever it is I am on board. Now spell it out for me please!

email me and let me know

25. @Adrian Hinds: “wuh you want from me?

The same thing I want from all I “talk” with: the truth.

@AH: “why are you attacking me my friend?

I “attack” you for the same reason I “attack” everyone else; even those I fight beside. You have entered the “dojo” of public opinion.

Welcome.

Now.

Please argue your position….

26. Trinidad and Tobago Express
    Thursday 5th, 2009
    Duprey Chairman of CL Financial Group

…”He said his plan had been to sell the group’s 55 per cent stake in Republic Bank eight years ago, but he had been encouraged to not divest it to a foreign buyer”…

I wish someone had the “common sense” to impart the same advice to the authorties in Barbados about BNB.

27. wish someone had the “common sense” to impart the same advice to the authorties in Barbados about BNB.
    ————————————————–

ha ha ha ha so true YB so true! lol

28. If I remember correctly, Bajans politely declined to purchase when BNB was offered to them.

29. @General Lee

Do you think if they were faced with the same decision NOW they would express more interest?

If the answer is yes what would you attribute to the turnabout?

30. BNB is now seen as the #1 bank in Barbados, so I would say that they decisions would be different now, in that most people will back a winner.

Back then the impression was given, maybe deliberately, that BNB was not up to scratch when compared to the other players in the market.
    Since Bajans are more of a saving, rather than investing, people, the lack of guidance from knowledgeable persons caused people to think that the shares were over-valued and that it was not a prudent investment.

Bajans are slowly realizing that saving all of their money in a bank keeps them poor while making others rich, even though the current climate has the ordinary man looking at his mattress more often.

Would the transformation of BNB have been the same, if the name had changed?

It is all about perception, (mis)information and education.

31. Adrian Hinds // February 3, 2009 at 11:42 am

ha ha ha ha BFP and Keltruth blogs continue to make the case that there are about getting transperancy from black bjans only.

Adrian

keltruthblog has highlighted perhaps 80% of the easily recognisable BLP operatives.

Everybody knows there are others who fall into the Prime Ministers net.

Anybody with the guts to do it could take the same keltruthblog letter and add the names they know exist and show why those names should be added.

If they really had the guts, they could then send the letter and the list to the same USB ….. sorry UBS, I’m thinking computers.

It appears to me that keltruthblog has highlighted perhaps 4 in 10 of the possible names.

They obviously erred on the side of caution and are perhaps hiding behind the PM’s description of operatives.

Who can blame them.

Perhaps if any of us know the names of other operatives, be they BLP, DLP, PEP, PIP, RIP or whatever, be they white, black or purple, we could also do the same thing and back up the courageous stance taken by keltruthblog.

We could also do our own thing to register our disgust at what has gone on in our country, …… but that is only if we had the guts and imagination to do it.

32. Lowdown points out today that the CL in CLICO stands for COLONIAL!!

It is worth reading.

33. …. come to think of it, the CL stands for COLONIAL LIFE as in COLONIAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY.

… CLICO is thus a company that insures Colonial Life.

34. I decided to refrain from making a comment on this article, but since it is now on BU, I will make a general observation.

I do not know if the named individuals have committed any misdemeanours as I have no proof of that. However, I do know that they have no reason to lose “one nights sleep” because of what has been written.

My knowledge is based on information in the public domain about Switzerland.

Switzerland: …” Switzerland’s lucrative tax haven industry is constructed from two laws out of step with other developed countries. First, whereas most countries will merely sack bank employees who leak information, the Swiss charge them under article 47 of their criminal code and jail them. Second, whereas most countries regard tax evasion as a crime, Switzerland insists that it is no crime at all unless it involves active fraud, such as the forgery of paper work”….

…”The result is that other countries are constantly trying to breach the walls of the Swiss fortress. Indeed Switzerlands bank secrecy law was introduced, in 1934 to stop bank staff helping the French tax authorities – and certainly not, to help Jewish refugees hide their assets from the Nazis”…

Against this background and banking culture do you honestly believe notice will be taken of a few names from a blog.

…” In January 1997 Christoph Meili, a 28 year old security man at the biggest commercial bank in Switzerland – Union Banque Suisse (UBS) in Zurich – discovered that the bank was burning the records of Jewish clients who had died in the Holocaust. When he reported this to press and police, he was himself accused of breaching the law and ended up fleeing to the US, where he was granted political asylum”…

It is only those who are unaware will believe those names so exposed will have an impact.

“…Swiss authorities have been fighting a running battle with Rudolph Elmer, 53 a former employee of the Julius Baer bank who posted internal paperwork on internet sites which, he claims, reveals tax evasion and money laundering by individuals. Elmer was held in prison for 30 days and told he will be charged for breaking secrecy laws”….

I could go on but it serves no purpose, to believe action of any kind will be taken by the Swiss for the information allegedly supplied..is just smoke and mirrors.

Quoted material from: Guardian, London Thursday 5, February 2009

35. Lowdown has well said

Now we see the CLICO situation, an instant replay of the American meltdown. They didn’t even have the decency or originality to vary the plot – big company makes rash investments, in deep financial trouble; government bailout worth millions.
    Amazingly, the Barbados Central Bank throws $10 million their way without even being asked, and apparently without needing parliamentary approval as in the United States or Trinidad! Which Bajan company has ever been so blessed? Or will ever be?
    My friends, look past the shenanigans, denials and don’t-panics to the end result. Which is that the Patrick Manning Trinidad government now has direct control over a sizeable chunk of our economy, including, according to one news report, this newspaper and the jet which flies Thompy around. One swell coup indeed!
    Is it just coincidence, one wonders, that the “CL” in CLICO stands for “colonial life”?

36. Good morning GP how are you? You have made me very upset with the truth you write!

I was listening to a Mr. Branker and he was saying that Barbados will never own these things again!

We have caused our own demise! This is a sad and harsh reality! BLACK Bajans need (or should I say ‘NEEDED’) to invest more!

GP it is a sad state of affairs our country has found itself in thanks Mr. Arthur and fellow barbadians!

37. JC
    I am cool.
    Our situation is similar to that occuring all around the world.
    I am not at all sad about what is happening really, as the global situation has been predicted. Just did not think it would happen so soon.

Keep sweet JC.

38. That is a fair statement I cannot blame Mr. Arthur and fellow barbadians for everything I would be foolish, but I am still pist that we SOLD every thing in Barbados to others instead of keeping something for our children NONSENSE!

luv ya GP! (crew dont get jealous)

39. Yardbroom, you write too much. Your slip showing.

40. Nice one on the methadone J but the leaders of the world would pretend to be tossing in naltrexone, and sneak fentanyl in instead 🙂 . But this is not a heroin scenario. Excessive credit is excessive debt, credit is not money no matter the label. It was speculation, and easy credit (read debt), massive leverage and deregulation that got the world into this current mess. More stimulus, i.e more debt will not save the day..tell that to the proponents of Keynesian economic theory. Unfortunately so much of the western world has been drinking that batch of kool-aid and now is the big PAY BACK day. Credit (debt) for expansion of production is useful and can grow an economy. The problem with western nations, U.S.A being the most extreme example is they ran consumption based economies, most of the credit creation went into consumer goods…the credit(debt) expansion did very little to increase productivity or efficiency. Very few new goods where produced or new markets just countless refreshes and derivatives of older products….now people are saying NO i don’t need the new widget version 8 supercool special colour edition… it was mostly bullshit but when the credit tap was on full blast who cared people treated their homes and home values like a potential ATM , refinance and spend the cash. But all that credit was robbing from the future to boost the now….that “now” is the past(2002-2006)…and 2009 is that future that was robbed. That’s why government intervention almost always fails in this scenario because they obsess about monetary and fiscal policy, failing to realize that the problem is structural which is the difference between recession and depression…sucks to be the U.S.A right now but the U.K is even more screw. The sooner they learn the distinction between a recession and a depression the sooner they’ll get out of this mess. As for BARBADOS fortunately we have stricter controls and regulations… our banks, insurance etc have much lower leverage and a lot more assets than most of the (technically insolvent) banks in the so called developed world.
    The biggest threat to us is energy and food security, but we are crisis people so we deal with it NOW we should have been preparing for the last 15 years….but our leaders lack vision so that was an unrealistic expectation….they should have seen this tsunami coming since 2006 MINIMUM. Sure it pisses me off that CLICO gets 10million easy so and small businesses have to sell their souls to get a small loan….i’m way to fiscally conservative to understand so I done trying… it is MORAL HAZARD!

41. John if you believe what you wrote re. Keltruth’s obvious omission of a white barbadian from their list of BLP operatives that’s your business. It will not be mind. They went all the way into Barbados foriegn services and picked Jessica Odle, incidently we had Richard Williams former GM of SandyLane working in the foreign services, yet some how they could not remember Former Senator, and former Minister of Health and technology consultant to government Phillip Goddard. I will take the praise for making BFP come to terms with this. I see that they have finally got the courage to post the name the construction company that is rumoured to have cause the cave-in at archcot. It is still luaghable to me that they did so amidst sufficient disclaiming fluff that I almost didn’t see the name. ha ha ha ha makes me wonder if Amanda Double-surname wrote that piece for BFP, and i thought only the Nationnews could write such sorry articles. ha ha ha ha Indeed BFP is de white people’s blog.

42. Makeveli wrote ” people treated their homes and home values like a potential ATM”

And the banks promoted and encouraged this nonsense.

I heard from a Canadian recently that once the mortgage was paid off the bank issued a check book and said “here you are, you can start spending the equity in your house” This to a 60 year old who (because of family history) has a life expectancy of about 90.

Scary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

43. Imagine what can happen in your 80’s if you start licking out the equity in your house just before retirement.

44. Trained Economist Avatar

The Starcom Network news program of 7.30 AM, Tuesday February 10 2009, carried comments attributed to Mr. Doug Skeete, where Mr. Skeete suggested that the financial challenges of the CL Financial group could affect subsidiaries outside of Trinidad and Tobago, if the government of Trinidad and Tobago is unable to put the affected institutions in Trinidad in a sound footing. On reading the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago and the CL Financial Group Ltd., the affected institutions in Trinidad and Tobago appear to be CLICO Investment Bank (CIB), Caribbean Money Market Brokers (CMMB) and CLICO Insurance Trinidad and Tobago.

The MOU between the Trinidad and Tobago Central Bank and the CL Financial group states, “The Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago will assume control of CIB under the provisions of Section 44D of the Central Bank Act.” “The third party liabilities and assets (to meet these liabilities) of CIB will be transferred to First Citizens Bank Limited.” The Central Bank will provide short term liquidity as needed to ensure that these liabilities are serviced.” “Following the execution of these transactions, CIB’s banking license will be revoked.” Given that CIB will cease to exist it is unclear to me what Mr. Skeete means by “putting CIB on a sound footing? Given that the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago has made provisions for meeting any outstanding liabilities of CIB, it is again unclear to me how the assets of CL Financial Group subsidiaries outside of the Trinidad and Tobago (including Barbados) would be affected by a need to meet the liabilities of CLICO Investment Bank. I am sure I am missing something and Mr. Skeete can explain.

The MOU between the Trinidad and Tobago Central Bank and the CL Financial group states, “The third party liabilities and assets (to meet these liabilities) of CMMB will be transferred to First Citizens Bank Limited.” The Central Bank will provide short term liquidity as needed to ensure that these liabilities are serviced.” Again, in light of the terms of the MOU, it is unclear to me what exactly Mr. Skeete means by “putting CMMB on a sound footing? It seems clear to me that CMMB will be operated as a subsidiary of First Citizens Bank (the state owned bank in Trinidad and Tobago). It is again unclear to me how the assets of CL Financial Group subsidiaries outside of the Trinidad and Tobago (including Barbados) would be affected by a need to meet the liabilities of CMMB given that it will now be owned by First Citizens Bank. I am sure I am missing something and Mr. Skeete can explain.

The MOU between the Trinidad and Tobago Central Bank and the CL Financial group states, “Clico Trinidad and Tobago has a sizeable Statutory Fund deficit.” “CL Financial has agreed to divest additional assets to help fund this deficit.” “The Government has committed to provide any additional funding that is needed by Clico Trinidad and Tobago.” “Government funding will be provided in exchange for collateral and an equity stake in Clico Trinidad and Tobago. “It will act as a catalyst for implementing a change in the current business model and corporate governance structure of Clico Trinidad and Tobago.” ‘The intention will be to return Clico Trinidad and Tobago to its original moorings.” The assets to be divested were also spelt out in the MOU. The MOU states, “Specifically, CL Financial will divest itself of all, of its 55% holding of Republic Bank Limited and shares in Methanol Trinidad Holdings.” Is this what Mr. Skeete means by “putting Clico Insurance Limited on a sound footing? It is again unclear to me how the assets of CL Financial Group subsidiaries outside of the Trinidad and Tobago would be affected by a need to meet the liabilities of CLICO Trinidad and Tobago given the commitments given by the government of Trinidad and Tobago, and the value of the assets the CL Financial Group has agreed to divest. I am sure I am missing something and Mr. Skeete can explain.

Mr. Skeete was also quoted as saying, “if the affected companies in Trinidad and Tobago are not put on a “sound footing, then the subsidiaries may be affected by a need to liquidate the assets to meet liabilities.” Since, hearing the comment I have searched in vain to find an example of where a struggling financial institution actually ended up in bankruptcy. In the vast majority of cases a struggling firm is acquired by a stronger rival and its assets and liabilities are assumed by the new owners. Why this worst of worst case scenarios would be presented as some plausible or likely outcome is a bit beyond me. I am sure I am missing something and Mr. Skeete can explain.

Unless, Mr. Skeete can provide some more information, it seems to me that the actions of the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago have served to contain the impact of crisis to entities in Trinidad and Tobago.

45. Mr. Skeete needs to answer these questions. He gets a lot of press coverage and people take him seriously.

46. Trained economist, you have quoted Mr. Skeete as saying the subsidiaries outside of Trinidad COULD be affected, if the government of Trinidad and Tobago is unable to put the affected institutions in Trinidad in a sound footing.

This a conditional statement, which you appear to have ignored in your questions. Have you concluded that there is little chance that the government bailout will fail, or have you concluded that it is all over now, problem solved?

In addition have you concluded that the CL Financial group does not have the ability to transfer assets from the Barbados companies, if deemed necessary? Have you concluded that the crisis is now over and that the group might not still need additional steps to prop up any of its Trinidad companies? Has the government of Trinidad agreed to support ALL the CL Financial subsidiaries?

Have you searched for examples where depositors lost funds as a result of struggling financial institutions, or where a government had to intervene and use taxpayers funds to prevent losses to depositors? You might start your search at Jamaica.

47. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

My issue was the nature of the exposure for CL subsidiaries outside Trinidad.

CIB will lose its banking license, how is it to be put on a sound footing then. It will no longer exist.

CMMB has been taken over by First Citizens bank. Its assets and liabilities are now those of First Citizens Banks. I am not clear how CL subsidiaries are going to be affected by its liabilities.

48. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Brutus, I am interested in whether or not you see a significant exposure for CL subsidiaries outside Trinidad and Tobago given the terms of the MOU?

A deal can always break down but why would we start from the position of the deal breaking down?

I prefer to be guided by the available facts.

49. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

A government bailing out a financial institution as in Jamaica is a far cry from the bankruptcy process suggested by Mr. Skeete in his comments.

My point is that it rarely ever gets to that.

50. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

BU readers should also note that depositors in Jamaica were paid in full by the government of Jamaica. The bailout of Workers Bank cost the Jamaican government 3 billion Jamaican dollars.

To say that depositors lost money is inaccurate. The point is that it rarely ever gets to a point of bankruptcy.