Observation submitted by Annette

frustrationI had the laugh of my life today.

I was in RBTT bank- Holetown and found the line was not moving at all. there were four tellers at their wickets…One was doing Western Union transactions exclusively, and the other three were literally standing up twiddling their thumbs. Three customers were in front of them and about 20 customers were in the line waiting to be attended.

Can you guess what the problem was….The bank had run out of cash…yes…the bank had run out of cash…This was at about 12.30 pm on a Friday afternoon…. the last Friday before Xmas.

Nobody said anything to the restless customers…but one of the customers asked and was told that the bank had a problem with cash, and guess what…one of the customers in the line said that he had a similar situation with Royal Bank of Canada this week…. Have we all gone crazy..or is this the bank way of protecting their cash in the event of a robbery…

Either way…its piss poor service…I spent two hours in the bank before I was served.

22 responses to “Customer Bemused At Piss Poor Service Delivered By RBTT Bank”

1. If that was the excuse then apparently the banks seem to be ‘out of cash’ quite often. I avoid standing in line at banks like avoiding a plague. All the tellers always seem quite busy doing ‘nothing’. You should try BNB warrens. Oh Christ. The line is sometimes all down by Pricesmart. No lie. And the BNB ATM machine at St.George Post Office always on strike. Never got cash. Ughhh.

2. I don’t see why a bank should just run out of cash just so unless someone withdrew a very large amount suddenly. The supervisor should have seen the gradual lessening of the cash and put measures in place to have money deposited urgently. Very poor service.

3. Sir Scout,
    I realise that you right behind me. Oh dear. I now truly believe that behind every good woman is a betta man. (smooch smooch)
    Ya still in tell me where ya waiting fa de gift. I want to wait wid you too. (heehee)

4. Just like going to the doctor Barbadians believe in the sheep approach.

Wait until you are called.

5. I’m sorry Annette but it serves you right. This is the end of 2008, why are you still going into a physical bank? Use the ABM card, do online banking, shop online, pay for goods and services at the point of sale with your credit and debit cards.
    Have your salary sent straight to your account.
    Sorry for speculating since I dont know your reason for going to the bank. However, the point I’m trying to make is that we are too resistant to technology and the banks have gone to great pain to put things in place to help reduce the queuing problems inside.
    Maybe they’re minimizing their risk by reducing the amount of cash they carry (smile) since it’s xmas time and the bandits might be out.
    Or maybe the Central bank has reduced our monetary base and RBC doesnt have the cash to back their exposure (smile).
    Having said all that I empathize with your agony.
    The excessive waiting and poor customer service in the whole Caribbean is really annoying. The only reason we still get tourists is because where they’re coming from has got to be damn cold.
    There’s absolutely no other reason to come to these underdeveloped, backward, dirty, islands with such poor service.
    Next time Annette, you should simply go postal and somebody will get the message.

6. What is NISE up to these days?

7. NISE cant solve de problem.
    The case with the banks is peculiar because they promised that by the year 2000 things would have become better. Just better for them!

Their operations are now more seamless and their flows between the front office and back office are much better. However, this has brought much of the back office work to the tellers and the customers are paying the price because the computer systems are not really that fast and the human interface in the Caribbean makes it all the more painful.

Really and truly, today we are better able to minimize our contact with tellers. We can do small deposits at the ABM too.

8. ba humbug to it all…

9. @Anonymous

Barbadians just love to wait. Somehow we don’t think the vast majority of Barbadians will move out of the branch anytime soon.

10. Let me tell you a classic there is a big fat sousy teller up Hastings and RBTT Bank and this lady whose mother had died the day before went and ask this particular lady to let her caash a cheque seeing she had funeral arrangements and all to deal with.

That time RBTT line long long, long, The sousy woman told her NO! I felt really bad for that lady because her teenage daughter start to cry.

RBTT’s service is pist poor and when I am ready I ask a question really loud to get every body’s attention and then all of a sudden the line is start to move. Discourteous bunch!

11. Well, complaining about poor service is a good start. If it continues let your feet do the talking, close your account and write the Manager of the Branch to let him or her know why you closed the account. Send a copy of the letter to the CEO whether he or she is in Port of Spain, Bridgetown or Toronto. If a few customers did this you would see how quickly service improves. The Banks want to hold on to every customer they have, losing customers impacts their bottom line.

12. We couldnt agree with you more Sargeant. Once I had a problem with one of the Canadian Banks, went online and got the email for the CEO in Toronto and sent my complaint. The problem was fixed in 24 hrs with an apology to boot.
    I’m not sure about closing de account since all o dem is de same ting!

13. Using ATM'S is not always a cure Avatar
    Using ATM’S is not always a cure

ATM’s are wired to release a specified amount of cash, per customer, per day.
    Therefore, resorting to the ATM for customers making large withdrawals will not be the answer.
    The bank client will still have to resort to the teller.
    Facts

14. ” big fat sousy teller up Hastings and RBTT Bank ”

wow… i got my bad treatment from her on saturday…lol…she was doing western Union

15. Bad Treatment,
    Complain to management fa “Sousy’. Wah she tellin’ sheself a’tall. We are too docile as a people. Not me caws I could complain faster than you could spell the word ‘COMPLAIN’.Some a dem just suit working at the abattoir wid da kinship.
    Ya mamma neva tawt ya dat ‘Manners Maketh Man’?

16. Jukecheckedeyskirt Avatar
    Jukecheckedeyskirt

Ladies and Gentleman, until protest by customers are blatantly demonstrated, I am afraid that this mentality of poor service that Bajans so seeminly have inherited will continue. I do not know if Bajans can demonstrate good interpersonal skills without attitude.

17. i was doing a western union transfer fah a friend so after she get on like she mek she fat washy self i just left as she refuse to do the transfer, we went to another branch and get through.

18. not another branch another teller the next week

19. Maybe you should try the Central Bank next time you need cash. I think they have a “buffet cash line”,where you serve yourself.

20. I work in the bank myself and we have strict limits. Some branches have a 2 million dollar limit and can only order money once a week to replenishe their stock, if the bank ever goes over their stipulated limit then insurance companies do not cover the excess.
    When you talk about bad service from tellers you have to look at it from both sides since they are some customers who are so `ignorant` to how the world operates.

21. Overall customer service in Barbados is of a poor standard. Whether it is a bank, supermarket or the odd street hawker, there remains an inherent problem with those who are meant to serve/assist their customers. The best staff in Barbados are those who have worked abroad. Lets stay positive, could change in another 2 or 3 generations?

22. It’s amazing that customer service in Barbados is still so terrible. I am here on vacation and this will be my last trip to Barbados my island home. I am embarrassed to be bajan. My future vacations will be in places that have much better accommodations, better restaurants, more to see and do and at much better prices with real customer service.