Submitted by Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy
james-mcallister
James McAllister

NEW YORK: The Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) has condemned the removal of James McAllister from the Parliament of Guyana by Opposition and People’s National Congress (PNC) Leader, Robert Corbin. McAllister was a PNC Member of Parliament (MP).

He and a group of senior members, led by then Vice Chairman Vincent Alexander unsuccessfully challenged Corbin for the leadership at the party’s 2007 internal elections. They were subsequently placed before a disciplinary committee engineered by Corbin.

The Institute blasted his removal as “dictatorial and vindictive.” It added that “The arbitrary removal of a Member of Parliament who was elected by the people, at the whims of one man – the Opposition Leader, overturns the will of the electorate and is an assault on democracy.”

In a CGID statement issued Friday by Director of Communications, Jevon Suralie, the Institute’s President, Rickford Burke, is quoted as saying “I am shocked that Mr. Corbin’s leadership is characterized by arrogance and dictatorship; tendencies which jeopardize our tenuous democratic dispensation.”

Robert Corbin

Burke, a former Chairman of the PNC youth arm – GYSM who was also an aide to late PNC Leader and former President of Guyana, Hugh Desmond Hoyte, added that “The recall of James McAllister provides a keen insight into the PNC leader’s domineering approach to governing and antipathy for democratic values.”

He said no one with such mentality must ever again be entrusted with the Presidency of Guyana.” Corbin ran against President Bharrat Jagdeo for President in 2006 but lost.  Burke however said that they both have “dictatorial tendencies.”

At the sitting of the Parliament on December 3, Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran, announced that he had received official notification from Corbin, the Representative of the List of candidates for the PNC, on December 2, that McAllister had been recalled. Consequently, Ramkarran declared McAllister’s seat vacant, in accordance with “Article 156(3) (c) of the Constitution, the Constitutional Amendment Act of 2007.”

Known as the “The Recall Legislation,” the amendment was enacted by the PPP government with support from Corbin a majority of his PNC MPs. The legislation enables the representatives of parliamentary parties to direct the Speaker of the National Assembly to declare a seat vacant once a party has lost confidence in a member.

Suralie noted that during its passage in 2007, CGID expressed serious reservations about its undemocratic provisions. He said the Institute had recommended that the Bill be amended to require that, upon a declaration of no confidence in a MP by a Representative of a party’s list, the Speaker should cause a special election to be held in the constituency of the MP. This, he said, would allow the people to be the final arbiters in the recall of their elected representative.

The recall legislation is the product of a negotiated deal by President Jagdeo and Mr. Corbin to excise independent-minded MPs who do not tow their party’s line. It was enacted after Corbin was challenged for the leadership in 2007.

Burke accused Corbin of being characteristically petty, visionless and uninspiring. “His leadership has been catastrophic for the PNC. With him at the helm, its prospects for electoral viability will remain elusive,” he noted.

Corbin assumed the leadership in 2002 after Hoyte died of a heart attack. Since then, the Party underwent a serious split in 2005, leading to the departure of scores of young leaders, including Raphael Trotman, a formidable young leader who was being groomed by Hoyte to assume the reins of leadership. Trotman then co-founded the Alliance for Change (AFC). In the 2006 general elections, the PNC lost five seats in Parliament to the AFC. It also lost several local government seats to both the AFC and Jagdeo’s ruling PPP.

Burke added that although allegations of a “compromised” 2007 party election damaged Mr. Corbin’s credibility and legitimacy, as well as undermined the PNC’s image, since then a leadership culture of malice and undemocratic practices has become more entrenched.

He charged that Corbin has pursued a vendetta against the members that supported Alexander in 2007, and that his undemocratic propensities have led to “a brain drain of the majority of the PNC’s intelligentsia.”

Burke also noted that Corbin has not conceptualized or articulated a new vision as an alternative to the incumbent PPP government and, thus, has lost the confidence of a majority of his constituents and members. “He is incompetent and irrelevant and does not deserve the vote of the people at any other elections,” Burke observed.

“If the PNC hopes to remain a relevant force in Guyanese politics, it must remove Mr. Corbin from its leadership, broaden its political base into a genuine, formidable, multiethnic party, recruit a new generation of bright, young leaders and articulate a new vision for modernity and development,” Burke said.

72 responses to “New York Institute Says Removal Of Guyana MP Undermines Democracy”

1. GY 001 // December 13, 2008 at 4:19 am

Your entire comment is the article posted above about your country stupse!

I heard your country is beautiful why dont your kin stay and rebuild it I know they would do an excellent job!

2. I have no intentions of ever commenting on any issue that will be posted on this blog and I will keep my promise.However,I must concede and respond to J and other bloggers who have lambasted me and questioned my nationality.
    I am a born & breed Barbadian.My mother,father,grand parents,great grand parents,brothers,sisters.son,nieces,nephews,aunts cousins & all my close relatives are born & breed Barbadians.
    J, I do not know that from my use of English you could deduce that I am not Barbadian.That is ludicrous to say the least.My English is just as good or even better than yours.I have read postings from you that have many grammatical errors.English is a foreign language to all of us in Barbados.Every one of us had to learn the English Language and not one of us is an expert.Every single blogger on this blog make grammatical errors.I have read many reports,listened to many of our leaders and have read many an article in the press that contained many grammatical errors.I cannot understand why you are harping away at me and stating that I am not Barbadian because of my use of the English Language.
    J, let me tell you a little bit about me.I am the holder of 5 CXC General Certificates & 2 G C E A’Levels in Accounts & Economics.I am the only evening student from the 1995 evening class at the Barbados Community College that passed both my A’levels that year.I will challenge you to go and check the records of the said Community College and you will find out who I am.I was accepted at University of the West Indies in 1996 and I was unable to to attend because of my financial situation.I came out a poverty stricken broken family Barbadian home.I went to 1 of the newer secondary school.At Community College I was in a form with students from Harrison College,Queen College,Combermere,Lodge.Foundation & other older secondary schools.I out performed all of them.Those students failed their A’levels and Yours Truly passed his examinations.J, if you consider a person with the qualifications I have as uneducated,Yours Truly Negroman is a dunce.
    J, you mentioned in some of your postings that you are a mother & a grand mother.If you are I believe you should start behaving like an adult member of our society.J ,you are childish in many of yours comments nit-picking at trivia.J, you comments on a lot non-issues and asides that bloggers make and you do not deal with with the gist of the matter.J, please grow up.
    J, you are not a master of the English Language because as I said before many of your postings contained many grammatical errors,
    In closing If I have not convince you that I am Barbadian I do not know what else I must do and certainly I will not try to convince you anymore.
    I AM A BORN & BREED BARBADIAN

3. @J

Mantra is not a Bajan term
    Someone uses a word that is not commonly used in Barbados and that makes them not Bajan

From now on I’m going to use words like Bibidee, Goadies,Rockstone,Fatpork and Mashup in my submissions and I haven’t forgotten Skylarking or Catspraddle etc.

If I say wunna talking sh*te that would be perfectly acceptable as a Bajan word, right? Well no sh*te is a word which is used by many Scots,Irish and some Brits from whom Bajans possibly co-opted the word. That’s the power of words, there is no patent on words and words find their way from country to country wherever people communicate and in this technologically driven world we will be adding many more words to our vocabulary.

4. Negroman &JC

Please ignore that sh*itehead J ,she is only looking for attention.

The heap of garbage that she is always writing on this blog and on BFP is proof enough that you dealing with a delusional idiot.

What rubbish – Negroman not a bajan what.

Negroman you would have only given in to them if you stop posting – so come back on and speak as you feel – and declare it boldly -“I AM BLACK AND I AM PROUD”.

J and others like her come on here and try to shut us up when we are being patriotic and speaking out for the good and the future of this country.

Lokk ole woman rest yuhself do.

5. Please note that I did not say that Negroman’s use of English is better or worse than mine.

I did say that Bajans do not use the word mantra as a synonym for obeah.

Scout I know all the words which you listed, they are all Bajan terms. That is how I know that you are a Bajan.

6. Just one thing, Negroman. Exactly how poor were you not to accept a place at the UWI in 1996? Bajans don’t pay fees there!

7. J
    On the 14th Dec 2008 at 6.13 p.m according to the posting you made, you stated that I am easily led. May I ask by whom? For your information any posting I make on this blog is from PERSONAL experience not hearsay. I am my own individual and know things for myself . My fear is that people like you who just shoot from your hip and not from your head should get your facts straight before blabbing you mouth or your fingers in this case. I personnally don’t know anyone of you posters and I’ve disagreed with ALL of you at some point in time and on various topics. I deem it as an insult that you would state that I AM EASILY LED. Even my wife of many many years would laugh her belly full at that remark because if there is anyone who should or could entice me to follow them, it is her and THAT WOULD BE DIFFICULT, unless I’m convince to myself that I should. I therefore DEMAND as apology from you or as far as I am concerned you don’t post here anymore. Have a nice day or night, whichever.

8. J,as an elder lady in true African tradition I will respect you.We Africans always respect our elders.I will not be overly critical of you and neither will I be insulting to you.However,you posted that I am a poor,uneducated,black Guyanese.I am indeed poor & black which I am extremely proud to be.
    I am not seeking any apologies from you because I need none.I am indeed a black Barbadian.I hope this bring a closure to the speculation who Negroman is.

Juris,I know university is practically free to Barbadians.Howevre there are miscellaneous fees that must be paid.In 1996 I was unemployed and was in no position whatsoever to attend university.I had no means to support myself.At this juncture of my life university education is not important to me anymore.I have achieved relative success and are comfortable and need no university education to succeed.I believe in myself and I know I can debate and handle myself with any university graduate on my subject matters.University education is for my son.

Anonymous,I decided to accede to your request & JC’s also.I am still upset with David censoring my posting.I will repeat I wrote nothing in it offensive that merited it being struck off the blogs.I think that decision was harsh.I am back on this blog reluctantly.

On the issue of immigration.The immigration department has softened it position on expulsion of illegals out of Barbados.I was reliably informed that the department is now issuing extensions,work permits.permanent residency & citizenship to illegals especially Guyanese both Indo & Black.I have no problem with the Black Guyanese receiving those benefits but I am upset & very concern that Indo-Guyanese scums wil become Barbadians citizens.The immigration department has catapulted and gave in to the criticism.I believe we we must continue to let our feelings be known on this issue.This pressure must not ease up.By the way amnesty is still in the works fo Caribbean Non-Nationals living in Barbados.

9. Negro Man
    I’m sick of hearing about this disappointed DLP government that we put in Office. I’ll just stay at home and enjoy my little rock. i saw something this week-end that convinced me that we’re doomed but I wouldn’t even mention it. the very thought of it boils my blood and can cause me to think too sinful so I’ll just try to control myself and protect my family. My heart bleeds for Barbados. I don’t think I would want to be living here in another ten years. Mac Finfall had a calypso name 2009. In it he stated what would happen in that year in Barbados as the Indians take control. Has the radio stations ban that song? I must ask Mac if he has it on C.D and if I can buy one from him

10. Negroman, You comments about Indian Guyanese are so obscence, and as such gives an insight to you as a person. You categorically disapprove of every Indian Guyanese, but you never give your reasons, just ranting and raving how you don’t want Indian Guyanese to receive benfits in Barbados, but you have no problem if Bloack Guyanese receiving benfits from the GOB. You are a racist, and I am wondering what could have caused you to have such ill feeling towards all East Indian Guyanese. What about East Indians from Suriname or Trinidad and Tobago. Can you please fill me in, for your sum experinece with East Indian Guyanese is not reperesentative of that specific Guyanese group, because for the most part East Indians are very nice law abiding people. I can come here and give many examples of ill treatment of East Indians by Blacks, but I would not go as far as you as to say all Blacks are bad. And finally, I don’t think it was financial difficulty that prevented you from completting your unversity studies, you could not cut it, not up to par. Let me retract here regarding what I said about the PNC. The PNC has to have a leader like the late President Hoyte in order to be an effective opposition party, and subsequently win a national election and preside over multi ethnic Guyana. Negroman I don’t care if you don’t talk to me, but what I found interesting is that you visited Guyana and went straight to Buxton and only had contact with Black Guyanese. You might be surprsied that some of those same black people appearing Guyanese most likely have other races in them, and I would have loved to see your re-action when they bring their other race family to meet you. I guess your option would have been to head straight to Timehri or just jump into the Atlantic and start swimming back to Barbados. Bye Negroman, Happy Holidays! And listen I am just Guyanese, not East Indian, not Black, not Chinese, not White, not Ameridian, just Guyanese. Negroman stop bleeding as meh an wan yuh fuh gat to get blood transfusion and duh blood come from a coolie Guyanese, oh goodnees duh would be de end ayuh.

11. Zauditu Kush
    If you think that it is only Negroman that hates your people with a passion, you got it all wrong my man. A whole lot of us not only hate them but would love to see them on a plane back to GT. He doesn’t have to give you a reason for his disliking them.Who are you? He doesn’t have to answer to you. YOu drunk? They have overstayed their welcome so you could start a programme to lure them back from whence they cometh.Negroman don’t want no ‘Happy Holidays’ greeting from none a wunna GT banna.Ga Home.
    Season’s Greetings Negroman.

12. Scout
    Your sentiments are similar to mines.I admit we are doomed .It is interested that event that you witness.This inept government is going to be worst in the history of Barbados.I regret every day I put an X alongside the name of a candidate from that despicable dead beat party.David Thompson is a wind bag.Talk & more talk and little or no action.He is an ass for a leader.It is not surprising that Ricky Singh,Norma Faria,Roxanne Gibbs from Nation Newspaper who wrote that scathing attack in her editorial on either Wednesday or Thursday editions of the Nation Newspaper on the immigration department have gotten their way.
    This David Thompson our leader who accepts pork,beef,mutton & other food stuff from the rat catcher/mango seller Pakistani on Saturdays.I know that is a fact because it came out of the mouth of the person who supplies him with the meat has sold Barbados out to the Indians.I will repeat & repeat the big Indian financiers of the DLP are dictating our immigration policy.This government is powerless to stop the build up of the Indian population in Barbados.It needs the Indian money.Their kith & kin Indo-Guyanese brothers & sisters will not be put out of Barbados.The Indians are on on almost every government board.We have Elias Persuad on the Film Censorship Board.Peter Harris on the Combermere School Board & other Indians on other Boards.
    It is not surprising though that this government is going easy on Non-Nationals.After all our Prime Minister is a non-national.his wife is also a non-national & even Irene Sandiford Garner is also a non-national,Shantal Munroe-Knight from the Governance Board is also a non-national.We have all non-nationals running Barbados.

13. Negroman, I don’t understand. What is a Bajan to you? A black person who was born here of Barbadian parents who were similarly born here? Get real! How is the PM a non-national?

14. @Negroman

It is accepted now that BU has a most liberal comment policy. If we have reason to edit or delete a comment it had to be stretching it. Regular commenters like yourself know when you are mashing the line. While you are entitled to your opinion to engage in comments which maligned a whole race based on only generalities is not acceptable.

We have given you alot of latitude in the past to make your point. We don’t want to ban anyone.

15. Bonny, I am laughing here, I don’t know how to answer you, but I wish you a Happy Holiday. And here is my gift to you. Please go to YOU TUBE and write in Vision-Lion of Judah and enjoy!

Negroman this is my gift to you also. Please go to YOU TUBE and please write in Vision-Lion of Judah…this is Guyana’s number gospel group. Now I must warn you that the lead singer, the first girl that you will see, is the sister of the one with blonde hair (and her hair is naturally blonde) and fair complexsion, yes they are sisters. So you see the race issue is very complexed and cannot be easily dismissed as black and white. East Indian, at least not when placed in the context of Guyana. Enjoy Negroman. Happy Holidays!

16. Juris
    All persons born in Barbados are or can be Barbadian, also one can recieve Barbadian citizenship but the EXCLUSIVE term of BAJAN is reserved for persons whose ancestry dates back many many years . It’s a title reserved for the patriotic true citizen of Barbados born of a long line of barbadian ancestry. I hope this answers your query.

17. Negroman wrote “The Indians are on on almost every government board..Peter Harris on the Combermere School Board”

PETER HARRIS is an “Indian”???? (because Negroman says so?)

Negroman also wrote “our Prime Minister is a non-national.his wife is also a non-national & even Irene Sandiford Garner is also a non-national,Shantal Munroe-Knight from the Governance Board is also a non-national.”

Really? And what is a Bajan then? Is there anyway that a person who was not born here can BECOME a Bajan?

And you are a Bajan? How do you know? Because your mother told you so? She is NOT our mother. So why should we believe her or you?

In 1930’s Barbados the authorties declared that Clement Payne was not a Bajan and attempted to deport him. We know what happened then.

Dear Negroman: Bajanness is defined by both law and custom.

It is NOT up to you to decide who is Bajan and who is not.

And Negroman, I am truly SORRY to hear that YOU are a Bajan. It makes my heart bleed.

18. Dear Negroman:

I will continue to oppose you because every nasty racist stereotype that you have used t describe Indians has also been used to decribe black people, and Jews, and the aboriginal peoples of North and South America, and Australia, and New Zealand, and the Romany people of Europe, and etc, and etc.

RACISM IS RACISM..

Racism coming from Negroman is not any better than racism coming from anybody else.

ALL RACISM IS WICKED.

And no, I do not need nor want any meaningless apology.

19. J, Good Morning, I applaud you, and I pray that Negroman can come to his senses when he reads what you have posted on racism.

20. Negroman

You are loved by many of us on this site and I will tell you that I don’t think you have crossed the line from what I have read of your postings.

All that happens is that some people can’t stomach the truth.

These brown skins in black mask people are the ones if we allow them who would sell out this country.

As for that guyanese zaiditu who is posting I would not be surprised if she is not the same person who used to post as ‘sister baby’ and other names.

Look,it is my firm belief that bajans don’t really have a clue what these guyanese have in their hearts for them.

As soon as these guyanese feel they are secure with their residency in barbados I predict a whole lot of people will be running on this site if it is still around lamenting about how this guyanese people ‘have turned’ and how they should not have been let into this country.

The bajan whites will be fine because indians worship white people and long to be fair skinned like them,so the whites will be like gods to them;but it is the afro bajans who will see the fun that will start.

It will not be nice!

21. J Your heart wil have to bleed for evermore because I am a Barbadian.
    I will ignore you.You are on permanent ignore.

David it seems you are under pressure from certain quarters.
    Are you being censored & threatened like our immigration officers?
    If you want to ban me go ahead it wouldn’t bother me one way or the next.
    My views are my views and I do not have to apologise to a boy for my hatred towards Indians.I hate them with a passion.

22. Zauditu Kush

Your gift has been rejected. Thanks but no thanks.
    Whatever made you think that I would be interested in anything coming out of GT,gospel or otherwise. You missing my point by miles. I don’t know what one thing has to do with the other. Is this video supposed to alter my intuitive judgement of these GT banna that are swarming down on my tiny 166sq.mls of island like flies in their millions? I don’t think so.
    Happy Holiday to you too chap.