Submitted by the Caribbean Institute for Democracy

Mr. Adam Harris

Editor

Kaieteur Newspaper

Georgetown, Guyana.

Dear Adam:

I must again take issue you Mr. Adam Harris, Editor of the Kaieteur Newspaper.

It has not been lost on me that Kaieteur News apparently deliberately edited my letter to the press, which you published in yesterday’s edition (Dec 8), to make it appear unintelligible as well as an attack on the PNC, as a party, as opposed to a rebuke of Robert Corbin’s undemocratic and vindictive politics. All of CGID’s correspondences are reviewed by a team of legal professionals. Hence, our correspondences, we think, are libel and slander proof. A reasonable conclusion therefore is that your edits were not for the latter purpose but merely political.

KN removed my criticism of President Jagdeo. You also removed my criticisms of Corbin and, like the following paragraph, inserted the name of the PNC instead, when clearly the intent of my contentions was condemnatory of Corbin himself. Example: You published that: “CGID believes that the recall of James McAllister provides a keen insight into the PNC‘s domineering approach to governing and antipathy for democratic values. No party with such mentality must ever again be entrusted with governing Guyana.”

This paragraph of my actual letter stated that “CGID believes that the recall of James McAllister provides a keen insight into the PNC leader’s domineering approach to governing and his antipathy for democratic values. No one with such mentality must ever again be entrusted with the Presidency of Guyana, which Mr. Corbin sought against President Bharrat Jagdeo in the 2006 general election but lost.  Both of them have these same dictatorial tendencies.”

As can be unambiguously discerned, the above comment is not my opinion of the PNC but of it’s leader. But your readers would never know this. This is dangerous and dishonest. Your colleagues have said to me, that your intention is to portray me in a certain light. While this appears to be true, it doesn’t concern me one bit. That was a fait accompli long before now, through your prior attacks on me without publishing my responses.  But you know that I could care less about that. What I do care about, however, is the truth – It will set you free!

I don’t know what game you and/or KN is trying to play but it is objectionable and unprofessional. I would have rather KN not published my letter than deliberately publish a distorted version, which is basically your own view. You actually do not need to express your view through me. You might do so through your column, under your own name.  That would be welcome change.

Rickford Burke

14 responses to “Editor Of The Kaieteur Newspaper Edits Letter To Editor”

1. You seee how these people are for trute doh!

2. We continue to be appalled that our leading CARICOM journalist who happens to reside and is a citizen of Barbados refuses to use his broad experience on CARICOM matters to educate Barbados and the region about political events unfolding in Guyana.
    The lack of a proactive approach by Singh to inform Barbadians and the wider Caribbean about the unstable political situation and corrupt and government controlled  media is unprofessional and disingenuous at best.
    Instead what we have is Mr. Singh sending a girl to do a man’s job in the person of Annalee Davis.

3. Guyanese politics is like treading in a glutinous substance, you can extricate yourself with some difficulty, but there is always the remains of something “tacky.”

4. Is it not strange our media runs stories about Jamaica, St. Lucia, Trinidad and others and we get to know about the politics of those countries e.g. Portia Simpson and Edward Seaga, Dr. Kenneth Anthony, Panday, Dookeran et al. In Barbados who the hell has heard about Corbin?

If there is one country Barbadians should understand its politics it should be Guyana give its proximity to Barbados and willingness to supply labour.

We have Ricky Singh living in Barbados who writes about all manner of issues, we have Roxanne Gibbs who Chief Editor at the Nation and there is Vic Fernandes who is CEO at Starcom.

Go Figure!

5. David
    Don’t you see Guyana has the whole media locked down, they can only report what they want them to. Along with the sectors of the media you already mentioned, the CBC is also locked down by the P.M, maybe because he is too timid to rock the boat or that his hands are tyed tight.

6. David
    Just heard on the Caribbean report again a call from a St Lucian Government Minister to ALL illegal immigrants in that country that if they had a work permit that has expired, that they MUST get themselves their status corrected by a given time, failing to do that them and all other illegal immigrants will be dealt with accordingly. These ate strong word from a Government Minister and he particularly mention guyanese. What is my Government affair of ? have my P.M gone to bed with Jagdeo?

7. So what you telling me. Trinidad buy it and Guyana controlling it?

8. @ROK

What we are saying is if all things remain the same ” ef yuh lick yuh lock up”

9. While I am hearing you. I think that people are catching on to the blogs and other means of news.

Over the years I have collected tens of thousands of e-mail addresses of Barbadians and I think it is about time to use them.

10. @The Scout

I believe that the St. Lucian Minister &/or Government is just blowing smoke when he said that.
    The reason being is that St. Lucia not too long ago offered an amnesty to all Caricom nationals who have lived there illegally for at least 3 years where the primary benefactors were from Guyana.Fast forward 2 years later & now they have the SAME problem with illegal immigration.This is why Barbados SHOULD NOT offer ANY AMNESTY whatsoever since it would basically be saying that we have given up on our laws & regulations as a country.I also believe the same forces on this blog were trying to give a believable story that the Barbados Government was going to offer a similar amnesty program but look how that turned out.I congratulate & implore the DLP government to continue their current stance on this issue until the illegal immigration problem is reasonably under control while developing a managed migration policy that reflects our limited government resources as a Nation.
    http://www.stlucia.gov.lc/pr2006/september/saint_lucia_government_offers_amnesty_to_foreign_nationals.htm

11. I forgot to mention Mr. Rickey Singh has published his latest article surrounding CSME,but there was a part that I found was quite interesting.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161411175
    ———-

“Further, there are three Caricom countries yet to either begin the implementation process or signal readiness to confirm even the unanimous decision by Heads of Government in July 2007 to ensure the upholding by immigration authorities of an automatic right to a six-month stay for Caricom nationals – for whatever reasons – once they are not linked to any form of employment.

The countries yet to implement that decision are Barbados, St Kitts and Nevis and Antigua and Barbuda. The governments in Basseterre and St John’s are currently engaged in electioneering politics, and CSME will simply be kept on the back burner.

In Barbados there are now more reservations and doubts about the CSME than there is optimism. ”
    ———————————

What is so interesting about the countries mentioned is that they have taken an interest in protecting their borders especially against document fraud as mentioned in the following article,while Guyana didn’t even attend.
    http://www.caribbeanworldnews.com/middle_top_news_detail.php?mid=1749

These countries will also be given schengen exempt access to all European countries & imo do not want to endanger this visa free access & are taking the necessary steps to control their own borders when the visa free access is implemented next year.

12. Who the hell is Mr. Corbin you ask? Mr. Robert Corbin is the leader of the People’s National Congress the opposition party in the Republic of Guyana. Mr. Corbin’s brother is the late Mr. Sol Ray, the famous Guyanese singer who thrilled audiences across the UK, Europe and North America. Mr. Ray toured with the singer Tom Jones amongst others.

13. Just in case you want to look up Mr. Sol Raye, his name is spelt with an e at the end and his given name is Neville Marshall Corbin and he was born at Christianburg, Upper Demerara in Guyana but died in London UK 2006

14. The Kaieteurnews is a pro-Government newspaper. They have one regular columnist that is independent, and thre anonymous columnists that are sycophants of the PPP.

It is interesting that although the PPP have control of all three entities of the state owned media and restrict opposition access to it, the Kaieteurnews still have more columnist punting for the PPP than they have for the main opposition. In fact the Kaieteurnews does not have a single columnist writing airing the views of the major opposition party. And this is supposed to be an independent press entity. Imagine then what the pro-PPP press looks like.