Submitted by Rickford Burke (Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy)
james-mcallister
James Mcallister
robert-corbin
Robert Corbin

McAllister’s recall crosses the line. It was vindictive and undemocratic, and should not be accepted by PNC members. They must eschew visceral blind loyalty to a failed leader, and demonstrate political grit, sophistication and nimbleness of thought. Dictators who become menacing liabilities and whose actions are inimical to their interest should not benefit from their confidence.

Diminished by blistering criticism of his dictatorial propensities and calls for his resignation, Corbin appeared on Sharma TV last Tuesday as defiant and delusional as ever. He argued that he was elected by his “membership,” and that only that “membership” can determine his fate at the next elections in 2009.

But the PNC’s “membership” alone doesn’t finance the party and produce the votes to win elections. Our body politic, as currently formalized, intrinsically amalgamates the destiny of the political minority to the PNC. Broad support from the national polity is therefore indispensable to its viability.

The party is inexorably at a crossroad. Does it countenance its leader’s despot-like grip on power or act in its own strategic, permanent interest? The choice is clear. Blind loyalty to Corbin propels it to a precipice of doom.

Since he assumed the leadership in 2002, the party has declined significantly; lost six seats in the Parliament, and many others in local government councils, in the 2006 general elections – its biggest electoral defeat in history. The Party also suffered three major rifts under Corbin and over fifteen top executive members have left the party.

In 2005, Raphael Trotman and a team broke-away and coalesced with others to form the Alliance for Change (AFC). In 2006, the Reform faction of the PNCR coalition also broke away over differences with Corbin. Now team Alexander has left the party.

Furthermore, Corbin has failed to adequately represent his constituencies, improve the party’s political and financial fortunes and mount a robust opposition to the PPP’s ethnocracy. No leader of a modern political party, with such a sordid record can survive discharge.

I did not support Alexander’s candidacy for leader but respect his right to seek any office in accordance with the party’s constitution. This is what democracy is all about; freedom of thought and choice. Corbin is an antiquity of the PNC’s past. But with today’s paradigm shifts, his vendetta against Team Alexander is not only repugnant to the party’s own constitution; it contravenes the fundamental tenets of democracy.

Instead of engaging in clandestine maneuvers with President Bharrat Jagdeo to amend the constitution to facilitate the recall of MPs, Corbin should have collaborated with Jagdeo to correct the thoughtless constitutional amendment, which he supported, that made members of the Elections Commission permanent instead of the institution itself.  This is proof certain of his nomadic, whimsical leadership.

He is hung up on Team Alexander’s inclusion of executive committee minutes in pleadings to the Supreme Court in a 2007 lawsuit.  Although a better approach would have been an in-camera proffer to the court, what is so impermissible about Team Alexander’s court filings that it warrants expulsion and recall from Parliament? Is the PNC the “Red Army”? The correct course, in the interest of unity, should have been reprimand and, if necessary, a modus vivendi regarding their reintegration into the party’s hierarchy.

Corbin’s failed leadership places the political minority in imperil. He has been disabled from accomplishing a basic opposition function of mobilizing national, regional and international opinion against Guyana’s “narco-dictatorship;” a regime that countenances torture; is complicit with the Phantom death squad and drug dealers; is notoriously corrupt according to Transparency International, and which through passive disengagement, appears to embrace extrajudicial killings.

This, notwithstanding, Corbin’s salient achievement for 2007 was collaboration with this said regime to enact recall legislation. His supreme accomplishment of 2008 was his vindictive use of the recall legislation to remove McAllister from Parliament. At this juncture, when the party is teetering on the brink of political émigré, Corbin’s priority should be unity, rebuilding and regrouping. Not axing perceived opponents.

A modern society cannot tolerate undemocratic, vindictive political leaders with the predilections of power-maniacs. Baring legitimate cause, including public corruption, misfeasance, malfeasance or any other breach of oath, Corbin cannot justify his arbitrary removal of McAllister from Parliament, just for lacking personal loyalty to him. Consequently, the time has come for party elders to ask Corbin to step down. He must resign to halt dictatorship and permit the coagulation of a vibrant, democratic milieu with new leadership and a new vision.

Those who wish to see the preservation of the PNC must do the right thing and advocate for new leadership that can inspire that self-preservation. The party is at its nadir. Corbin has been a monumental failure. His is compromised and has lost the confidence of the masses. It is the masses that will have to vote for the PNC to take it from where it is now to where it wants to be – in government.

Which is more important to the PNC, a belligerent, dispensable Corbin or the indispensable vote of the people?

67 responses to “An Open Letter To Members Of The PNC”

1. Scout, I have never heard any 100% Guyanese say that there are islands in the Essequibo River as big as Barbados, but I have read it in the foreign media. The tour guide was misguided and most likely not a Guyanese, for as you know we Guyanese are the most hospitalble people on earth and as such would never play on the emotions of our guests, for we are always honoured to have guests in our country. Scout, kindly read well this section: I read an article in The Nation by the lady that has just returned to Barbados from a six year hiatus in Guadelope, right, her Nation articles brings to the forefront the migrations of Barbadians into Guyana and Guyanese into Barbados, in the most recent article she interviews several people as to why they left Guyana for Barbados. One woman states that she left Guyana as the economy got worse under the late President Burnham, and the reason she choose to go to Barbados was because she was born in Guyana of Barbadian parents, so the liekely choice was your country. So I have concluded that most likely the current influx from Guyana are not Guyanese, but Barbadians who were born in Guyana. I don’t know what the carrying capacity of your country is, however, there seems to be no problem with a population of 300,000 people give or take a few, sometimes I see 300,000 for you and sometimes 280,000 depending if the illegals are factored in. I think it is safe to safe that your country has benifeted tremendously from these immigrant workers, and as such they such be treated with respect and dignity. We are all human beings. I also feel that you need this influx of people to add new genes to the Barbadian population. Really! Anyway, Sheriff Street is still jumping, thumping and thugging, but the only time we would be out on the street is to give out Bible tracts to the heathens on that street. We are Pentecostal Holiness people, and I have been running for Jesus along time and I am not tired yet, but I will tell you this Scout, I hope you are ready, for there is still room on board, for Jesus is coming real soon.

2. Anonymous
    I too am on that journey for Christ and enjoying it. I saw nothing wrong then or now of my going to those places, it’s what you do or don’t do when you’re there. We don’t have TRUE bajan Persauds, Singhs, and them Indian names around here. Those names were imported but these indo-guyanese who have no connection to Barbados are the ones dirtying up Barbados just like they dirty up Guyana. If you were reading my postings in the past, you would have read that I believe, just like we do for those in Britain, first and second generation guyanese born of a Barbadian parent should be allowed Barbadian citizenship if requested. I marvel at the amount of bajan names I see in your telephone directory. Barbados CANNOT cater to the amount of guyanese who wants to come here and bring their dirty behaviour like squatting on vacant land in shantties and throwing their faeces out on the land in plastic bags or renting and putting 20 or 30 people in a 2 bedroom house, some has to bath under the pipe in the back yard. We pass that stage LONG ago and we’re not returning to that in Barbados. Most of all these guyanese, especially the indians, would undermine any bajan for their job. As they become more settled, they now want more prestegous jobs and willing to work for half the price of locals who have families and mortgages to support. WE WILL NOT ALLOW THIS and it’s alright to be Christian but God don’t like ugly and we don’t want to offend him.

3. Scout

Have you noticed in yesterday’s Nation the number of indian students at St Leonard’s school receiving prizes?

Think about what our schools will be looking like in the future?

If you look at the primary school a lot of greasy haired indian children turning up and making the class sizes so big that the teachers can’t give we bajan children the proper attention.

I read carefully what Scout say about that group he attended and I know that the hatred for these people growing and growing.

They are not welcome here and if you are not welcome in somebody’s house,then leave.

4. Anonymous
    We have had guyanese coming here for years but not the volume of what is coming now. It has to stop and it will stop. I hope a solution is found before things get out of hand or some innocent people might also get hurt.

5. Today a friend of miine who is married to a Guyanese and she is making him shite!

I AM GLAD!

6. Look I want my fellow blogges to listen to this, There is a construction worker who has to board up his wife so his wife wont go out to pick fare.

Bajan men are so stupid you believe he went to get an AIDS test and that ass come back to constuction site and say

“yeah men I just had an AIDS test and I good it come back positive!

Fellow bloggers, I dont know if to laff or if to cry!

Bajan men making me feel bad daily!

7. JC
    You serious? or that was meant to be a joke? That sound soooo sick.

8. I aint mekking no sport scout I did feel so bad when the men on the block was laughing at it, they think that this thing is a joke!

I AM DEAD SERIOUS!

I had to tell the men that that was total shite, how could they laugh at something so serious!

Imagine, and then people talking bout how we dont like these people these people dont like us! Look how they got my boy short man (that is the name that he is known by) in a state, and he is so stupid that he didnt understand that his GT wife gave him AIDS!

These people are sick!

9. Anonymous
    Was it the city of Atlantis that disappeared, if we keep it up we will suffer the same fate. That news is Sooooo depressing, you gave me a headache now that the news has sunk in. This is a big headache on a big head. I’m going to sue you for damages and mental stress.

10. Scout & JC
    Those things are real.Our men folks are sick as hell.
    Scout,I am glad that you paid notice to the the Indians school boys who took away the top prizes at St Leonard School this year.Seeing that sent shock waves through out my whole body.
    This situation must be address by ant means neccesarily.No Children of Indian rat catchers & Pakistani mango seller & Indo_Guyansese scums must come and reap benefits from our education system.The education of Barbados is for Black children.
    Indians are not wanted or welcome in Barbados.Go back to India & Pakistan and bomb each other into oblivion.Indo-Guyanese go home to your backward,blighted country.

11. David:

Is it possible to keep these four persistent anti- Indian posters on their own particular threads, so others can discuss the actual topics without being constantly driven off thread and diverted into constant Guyana bashing,

Or is this the conduit you planned for Barbados Underground?

12. …. and then we get Negroman decrying the fact that children …yes children.. should be marginalised for excellent performance.

The blackshirts are recognising their own inadequacy, and are beating the Nazi drum to gather supporters to support their own vision that inferiority complexes and wutless performance will bring us through, I say bullshi*.

All those who believe that only children with their nav(b)el string buried here can possibly salvate Barbados, please submit your considered judgements.

I do not need to nominate the four, they know the agenda.

13. Barbados as a nation has faced challenges & it will continue to face challenges .If the Government doesn’t accept the challenges then those same challenges will almost always fall back on the citizens.

The threat of a chaotic & lawless immigration system must never be accepted by the Citizens of Barbados.A managed migration policy should also require long-stay persons to undergo an HIV/AIDS test.Currently,in Barbados it is not known if those who maybe positive of the disease according to AIDSMAP are actually allowed to stay,but it should make you wonder after reading the text.Unlikely is NOT the same as SHOULD BE DENIED ENTRY !

http://www.aidsmap.com/en/docs/C92D5639-E779-44EC-B8F8-0CECCC23275A.asp

“Barbados
    At present, no restrictions for holiday trips. A medical is required for a long-term stay, or for a work permit, and it is thought unlikely that an HIV-positive person would be allowed into the country on a long-term basis.”
    —————-
    When will this Open door immigration LUNACY END ?The very fact that some even over at BFP that Barbados has a 50% higher HIV rate than the rest of the caribbean should say a lot.
    http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/12/06/why-is-barbados-hiv-infection-rate-50-higher-than-the-caribbean-average/

I can just see it now sex workers will become a legal profession under Barbados law & it will even be proposed as a possible option under CSME,lol.God knows crazier things have happened,like a government not even giving a damn about its Citizens or enforcing immigration laws,sigh !

14. Straight talk lets get thing s straight Fiji, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname and the list goes on has caused blacks to be at the bottom end of the scale! If they are not from here they should not have what my foreparents have fought hard to fight for!

Prove history wrong and then come and talk but as far as I know History is there to be read!

Look at my friend Short man you think that was fair (dont mind he is a blasted idiot!)

I dont care what you say straight talk if you are not here legally and you prove every day that you dont like us GO BACK HOME!

You think it is only us?

Lets discuss this topic fah trut!

If I was illegally in someone’s country and I have started to show my true colors like saying that Barbados’s PM is an ass and cant run the country, then I turn around and make sure that I spread AIDS; then I turn around and marry and claim that the man that come in is my brother when he is my husband; then I put an old man who was good enough to put me up I put him in the district hospital and my 14 children come down and live in the upstairs house need I go on ……

15. My children aint inadequate one frigging bit; I pay taxes what the hell these people pay! Stupse curse we real stink and think we are idiots call me nazi I speak for most bajans Straight talk.

You cant SHUT ME UP!

I SAY WHAT I HAVE TO SAY ANY TIME ANY WHERE ANY DAY!

MASSA DAY DONE! KNOW YOUR PLACE st!

16. straight talk

Keep your ignorance to your kith and kin.

You don’t like what we saying – we ain’t care – because you ain’t saying nutten fella.

You are one of them that undermining the society.

Brassbowl.

17. Straight Talk,
    I lookin’ fa a clown fa a birthday party nex’ week. You available? I hope so cause de amount a shite you talkin’, you mek Hopey de clown look min-ute (mi-newt). Ya idiot. You asking David to ban ‘anti-indian posters? Wha’ you is?Ya clown.