One issue which has intrigued us no end has been the build-up to the election of the President of the United States. We have had Barack Obama, a Black man nominated by the Democratic Party.  Before that he had to overcome Senator Hillary Clinton, a woman who many agree has the pedigree to do the job. On the Republican side we have seen the emergence of a political neophyte in Sarah Palin selected by Senator John McCain to be his running mate.

It was a selection which fitted the public perception of McCain that he is truly a maverick; the BU household suggests that it shows he is a high stakes gambler.

In less than 24 hours the world will witness the Vice Presidential Debate 2008 between Senator Joe Biden and Governor Sarah Palin of Alaska. While Joe Biden is known as the gaffe machine, Sarah Palin has  quickly attracted the reputation of providing answers to questions which lead to nowhere – see the video above.  In Biden’s defense his gaffes are usually based on his abrupt answers and tendency to be verbose. On the flipside, Palin’s answers to many questions in her handful of interviews have been idiotic.

Against this background the Vice Presidential Debate is being eagerly awaited by Americans and World Citizens. We say World Citizens because whether mainstream America is aware, what happens in their domestic politics will have geopolitical implications. They are some who are trying to muddy the pristine reputation of Gwen Ifill, the Black PBS moderator of the upcoming debate. The fact that she will be under the microscope to protect her good reputation as a journalist should make her a good moderator.

One bit of advice BU can give to the veteran Biden is not to be sucked to the level of Palin. She obviously does not have the political dept to adequately win a economic and foreign policy debate; she will have to rely on hyperbole and emotional arguments. Her only chance to create a favourable impression will be to stay focus on attacking Obama to deflect attention from herself.

Will Gwen Ifill’s questions allow Palin that luxury?

Previous BU Sara Palin blogs

64 responses to “The Vice Presidential Debate: Sarah Palin Faces Her Biggest Challenge”

1. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Palin goes in as the clear underdog after her ridiculous interviews with Katy Couric this week (who knows, maybe she’s only been pretending to be so witless).
    This means that as long as she doesnt say anything absolutely outrageously stupid, the media will judge her to have well exceeded expectations (which, quite frankly, are incredibly low, even among most Republicans). Palin has very little to lose (people now assume she’s hopelessly out of her depth) and everything to gain.

All of which is to say, it’s Biden who has the hardest job tomorrow night.

2. The thought of this woman becoming the Vice President/President positively, scares me!! I pray to god that my misapprehansions r unwarranted!!

3. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

That the Republican power back-office would place Sarah Palin, with her complete lack of suitability for the position, shows the complete disdain with which it holds the American voters.

Cheney must be rubbing his hands at the thought of another presidency, albeit by telephone, or maybe Secretary of State.

And the next trick….

Does anyone have a summary of total educated persons versus country hicks by state?

That should give an idea of the voting result.

4. If I’m elected the actuarial risk, based on McCain’s, age and medical condition based on mortality tables, of me becoming president if the Republican ticket wins the election is about 1 in 6 or 7.

That’s the same odds as your birthday falling on a Wednesday, or being delayed on two consecutive flights into Grantley Adams International airport.

Ready for that? Get used to the idea.

5. Sarah Palin’s biggest challenge is locating her brain and figuring out how to use it.

6. What’s in a name? People live up to their names. A paling is a useful thing; security, privacy and a way of marking the boundary to your property. See what I mean?

7. Makes sense ROK because some people we know are Kings.

: – )

8. America is in an unpopular and corrosive war, its economy is in severe crisis, its administration has pursued policies that are odds with the spirit of the US constitution if not its actual content, yet…..Obama (a young, healthy, well educated and highly intelligent man) is facing an uphill battle against McCain (an old, sickly (two cancer scares), modestly educated man). Why?

That Sarah Palin should be seriously considered for the office of VP is even more baffling.

Democracy can sometimes be its own worst enemy especially if the electorate is uninformed, poorly educated and wallowing in the excesses of food, drugs, material possessions and narcissistic infatuation.

9. While many people in Barbados stay tuned into the election campaigns for next presidential and other elections in the US on November 4, more and more Barbadians are rightfully complaining about how horrendous so-called economic and financial conditions are becoming in this country.

Case in point, only yesterday – Wednesday, October 1, 2008, a retired gentleman reported to the People’s Democratic Congress that that very wicked and evil so-called Land Tax Department had recently done an assessment of the value of one set of his properties in Christ Church, and had come up with a value of about just over a million Barbados dollars for them, thus outrageously jumping from about $ 600, 000 when the last 3 yr valuation was done in 2005, by the same very wicked and evil so-called Land Tax Department.

Meanwhile, this gentlemen is left to ponder the amount in money – WHICH WILL OBVIOUSLY BE FAR MORE THAN THE AMOUNT FOR THE LAST THREE YEARS – the Government of Barbados WILL CONTINUE STEAL from him, as that, this wicked and evil Land Tax Department has as yet to tell him how much it intends to extract from him, simply because he is the proud owner of that set of properties (land and apartments), and is the rightful earner of income through them.

But, why should a person who worked so hard in his life and who has invested so wisely be made to come face to face with such an utterly barbarous, disgraceful and reprehensible situation, in the evening of his life? As well, why must he be made to endure those sickening mortgage re/payments on the properties and a higher insurance premium on the properties in his next insurance year? Why like hell? Why must others like him, too, be made to endure such theiving actions of a nuisance Government Department and the other relevant onerous, unnecessary financial arrangements in Barbados? Because we have got two old intellectually bankrupt, visionless, and timorous joke parties in the Parliament of this country?

However, the upshot of this very awful scenario is that this very patriotic Barbadian has NO other alternative but TO INCREASE THE RENTon the existing downtrodden, lower income tenants of the Apartments that have been built on the particular piece of land.

And no doubt these tenants like the broad masses and middle classes are already suffering from the effects of a raging rampant skyrocketing cost of living, are already reeling from effects of this inhuman DLP Government’s very draconian increases in fuel costs in April of this year, and the effects of this said government’s further obnoxious increases in TAXATION ASSAULTS on the backs of the masses and middle classes of people of this country in July of this year.

So, as hundreds of people in Barbados seek – via whatever media – to engross themselves in an absolutely meaningless Vice-presidential debate tonight in the US, we in PDC will no doubt be continuing to take the higher and better road, and will make sure that whenever we win government in this country that we will implement all of those political, financial and other strategies that will break this very vicious cycle of DLP/BLP state imposed repression and oppression of the masses and middle classes of people of Barbados.

10. […] that the moderator of tonight's US Vice-Presidential debate has Barbadian roots, while Barbados Underground notes: “There are some who are trying to muddy the pristine reputation of Gwen Ifill, the […]

11. Dear David:

I believe that you need to be fair on this issue. Have you or any of the commenters actually listened to or read the transcript of the entire interview. To make such conclusions based on the worst responses given to a hostile interviewer, is unfair.

You are encouraged to read the transcript of the entire interview, and then compare it with Couric’s non-hostile and incredibly accommodating interview with Biden.

Are we to support a candidate on how well they perform to hostile interviewers? If we are, then treat all candidates the same. It is obvious that the candidates are not under the same level of scrutiny by the media. That is unfair.

Regards,
    Researching

12. Sarah Palin’s opposition in Alaska when she was running for Governor said that she doesn’t answer questions directly; she skirts around and comes up with a reply that has nothing to do with the question asked, but somehow it impresses viewers. He said that she is very skillful at such. He also said that her presence and being able to connect with people is her strength.

It is said by many journalists that Gwen Ifill, the moderator is fair. Nonetheless, he went on to say that the moderator is the one with the toughest challenge tonight; that there may be times when the moderator will have to let Sarah know that she has not answered the question.

I think that based on Sarah’s responses during her 3 interviews, expectations of her knocking it out of the ball park may be low; therefore, if she somehow answers the questions as somewhat knowledgeable, throws out the net and Biden unwittingly catches at it, she will be seen as the winner.

We just have to wait and see.

13. @Researching

We give Biden the credit because he has done over 100 interviews to Palin’s 5 or 6.

14. Debate, Shebate,Rebate this is all just bait for the blind sheeple.
    Sarah Palin is not facing her biggest challenge, its HUMANITY that’s facing one of many of its biggest challenges and it up to us whether we sit here and wallow in this pig sh– that’s called democracy, or whether we take the “bull” by the horn and break the chains that keep us in their prisons.

15. Sarah Palin has got to be the most pathetic white come to hold public office, ugh, she is horrible, based on the video at the top of this blog. I personally believe a person dodges a question when they do not (know)have the correct answer. This thing about her dodging answers and impressing home TV viewers is poppy cock, but then again as the late PM of Guyana Linden Burnham use to say, ignorance is bliss, and that is exactly what we have here. Anyway, I am waiting to see what happens tonight, for this Palin is sure not the brightest star in America. Another thing she could not even give Cathie Kouric another example of a US Supreme Court decision, all she kept saying was the state should regulate the abortion issue Roe vs Wade and other similar issues. I am not American, but another famous US Supreme Court case is the Brown vs the Topeka Education Board, that is a well known case that Palin could have mentioned, but not she could not even do that, pathetic I say.

16. It should read white woman, I don’t know how I got come in there, sorry.

17. Anybody with a permanent, smile on their face, vis. Ms Palin, I normally, take to b insane!! It’s frightening!!

18. Bimbro….
    My brother, what’s going on over there in -uckingham Palace with that butler running a paedophile ring right under your queen’s nose? See how they’re screwing us at both ends!

19. Hi David:

If you are comparing the number of interviews given, and you are counting the number that Biden gave for the past 36 years, then you cannot simply compare it with the number of interviews that Palin has given in approximately 1 month.

If you want to make a fair comparison, then compare the number of interviews that both candidates have given since being chosen. Otherwise, compare the total amount over their careers, and get an annual average.

I had previously asked you to review the transcripts of the interviews given with Gibson and Couric. What you will find is:
    1. some of the responses that we saw on TV were responses to other questions asked through dishonest editing;
    2. parts where she demonstrated good knowledge of issues were cut out, making her appear ignorant.

The evidence is available in the transcripts. But people would prefer to pre-judge the candidate based on evidence that lacks integrity. That is unfair.

Regards,
    Grenville

20. researching

could you provide a link to the Couric interview transcripts?

21. What’s in a name? People live up to their names. A paling is a useful thing; security, privacy and a way of marking the boundary to your property. See what I mean?
    ………………………………………………………
    ROK, ah jus’ playin’ wid words. So you feel that McCain is a ‘palin’cock? Just ah lot ah noise and nuh action.

22. Murder! Tell Me Why, some body is going to call the secret service for you. Am on the floor after reading that one.

23. Hi Anonymous:

Couric works for CBS, so the trnascripts are on their web-site. Eg.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2008/09/24/eveningnews/main4476173.shtml

Regards.

24. @Researching

The example we gave of the 100 interviews is after the VP announcement was made.

Secondly the interview with CBS was cut into parts with the approval of McCain people.

Lastly if she answered 95% but answered 5% stupidly wouldn’t still be considered empty?

25. Ms. Palin has given a number of interviews, not just the one captioned.
    If you go to MSN news, there is a thread called “Sarah Palin’s greatest Hits”- comedy at its best.

We all have the right to support whom we want, but one has to admit that the choice of Palin was high stakes gambling.

After creating a blaze in the Republican Party, she is now its worst nightmare, with public calls for her exit from the hierarchy of the party.

Will she fail tonight? Let’s look at some facts:
    1. She has no knowlege of foreign affairs
    2. Seems that she doesn’t even read
    newspapers (based on an interview)
    3.Her mouth sometimes seems to be her
    worst enemy.

We can go on, but I believe the odds are against her.
    Don’t think that the experienced Biden will try to be condescending or to put her down.

I predict that Palin will implode;thereby sealing the fate of the Republican Party in the 2008 race.

26. And when she destructs, all credit and praise can be directed to the feet of the “maverick”, John “7 Houses” McCain.

27. There is a point many are overlooking. A majority of people vote for the person they like and not because they are scholarly brilliant .

They know a person such as the President is surounded by numerous advisors.

One reason for Obama’s popularity is because of his winning smile and affable personality.

Don’t forget: B.S. baffles brains…..

28. TmW

I can’t keep up with you. You would kill me off. I do like anonymous; end up on the floor.

29. Centipede,
    What you said probably accounts for Palin’s initial surge in popularity.
    However, it started to crumble when people (even entrenched Republican supporters) discovered that she is not brilliant, nor scholarly, but rather – an articulate bluffer.

30. She fell and sprained one of her hands whilst running at McCain’s compound, this is a bad omen, at least placed in the context of my Obeah/Umbanda background. I feel for her, but the country can’t afford nice packaging anymore, you can take Sarah Palin out of Alaska BUT you can’t take Alaska out of Saruh Paling, she likes killing moose for eating, and hunting from a helicopter, she could not do that in Washington the capital city of America.

31. The Palin stories are flowing fast and furious!

Palin “WikiTeam” will be on high alert during V.P. debate
    October 1, 2008 by slander08

Inside the top secret Palin WikiTeam headquarters.
    Slander ’08 obtained an exclusive interview from a source who refused to be identified discussing his work inside the Republican Party’s top secret “Palin WikiTeam.”
    “I was brought on immediately after the Sarah Palin announcement,” the anonymous insider informed us.  “The party quickly realized that Gov. Palin’s Wikipedia page was under attack from a mix of mild vandalism and blisteringly harmful truths.  Above and beyond Wikipedia’s user generated auditing of editorial content, we were hired to keep an eye on her entry 24 hours a day.”
    “However, as Sarah’s ignorance was rapidly exposed, it became difficult to keep up,” the tipster continued.  “The team was expanded.  Eventually we discovered it would be more time efficient to change other articles to Palin’s benefit.  With the debate looming, the entire WikiTeam will be on red alert, crouched over our computers, immediately altering all Wikipedia articles so that people who fact check any Palin statement on Wikipedia will think she has some idea what she is talking about.”
    The informant seemed visually disturbed, lashing out at us.  “It’s madness I tell you!  We just can’t keep up!  I haven’t slept in weeks!!”
    URL http://slander08.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/palin-wikiteam-will-be-on-high-alert-during-vp-debate/

32. We have to admit that Palin did better than we thought she would but the bar was set low. We stick to our position that she lacks depth, she is not ready to play in the big league.

33. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

FACTS:

I predict that Palin will implode;thereby sealing the fate of the Republican Party in the 2008 race.

Wrong.

I knew she wouldn’t. See my first comment above. In fact all the pundits are repeating my expression: that she “succeeded expectations”.

Come on guys, gimme some credit nuh!

I called it!

34. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Let me add though that Biden did admirably: he was cool, concise, composed, authoritative, affable. Really presidential, in fact.

And Palin sets my teeth on edge with her folksy, you-betcha hillbilly crap…

35. @reluctant nonbeliever

She succeeded expectations because the bar was set low for her. She still comes over as someone who is reciting positions.

36. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Of course.

Obviously.

And that’s precisely the point I made above:

“This means that as long as she doesnt say anything absolutely outrageously stupid, the media will judge her to have well exceeded expectations (which, quite frankly, are incredibly low, even among most Republicans).”

@Researching

Thanks for the CBS link.

Wht do you think she did so much better tonight than in the Couric interviews? Just a matter of doing her homework?

37. Well she did fabulously well! I was expecting her to just fall apart, and this assumption came from the video that is at the top of this blog. She connected with me, and as I am sure she did with millions of Americans. She touched on issues that are down home to millions of Americans, such as health care, education, sons serving in the wars, and so on. I just thought she was great, great acting skills too. I was surprised. The touching moment for me was when she held her little baby son, and I saw that he does have Down Syndrome, my heart just went out to her. I just connected to her, I did not connect to Biden at all, and I did not believe him when he said he knows what it is like to be a single parent, due to the fact when he was a single parent he had a lot of money, unlike a lot of single Mums who have to struggle financially and emotionally, so anyway I am now a big Sarah Palin fan, plus I thought Gwen did a great job as Hostess of the show. Bye

38. Biden is male, and hard, but Palin did not have to come out of her female skin to prove she can debate him, she debated him from her feminine self and a did great job. Sarah Palin is now the Mia Mottley of America.

39. Zauditu wrote “Sarah Palin is now the Mia Mottley of America.” Good lawd… I’m not sure which one should feel insulted!

40. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

SAPADILLO:

“Sarah Palin’s opposition in Alaska when she was running for Governor said that she doesn’t answer questions directly; she skirts around and comes up with a reply that has nothing to do with the question asked, but somehow it impresses viewers. He said that she is very skillful at such. He also said that her presence and being able to connect with people is her strength. ”

Wow, what do you know! This is EXACTLY what she did tonight.

Kudos to you for predicting it, Sap…

41. reluctant nonbeliever Avatar
    reluctant nonbeliever

Mia Mottley has a feminine skin?

Who knew?

42. Hopi // October 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm

Bimbro….
    My brother, what’s going on over there in -uckingham Palace with that butler running a paedophile ring right under your queen’s nose? See how they’re screwing us at both ends!

bro, this is the first I’ve heard!! Can’t bother with the weird, little perverts!!

43. Zanditu you for real? Sarah Palin refused to answer questions. If you had said that she was not as bad as she was accustomed being; I will humbly agree!

But to say that she was great PLEASE! STUPES!

44. Hi Reluctant Non-believer:

I believe that Palin did just as good as she did in the interviews. The difference is that you got to hear the actual questions and her un-edited responses. The broadcast of her interview with ABC’s Gibson is perhaps the most dishonest set of editing that has ever taken place. It exceeds anything that Michael Moore has done to-date. A view of the Gibson/Palin interview and a read of the transcript should be required curriculum material for all journalists, as an exemplar of unethical journalism.

Biden’s debate performance was appalling. While they both made some erroneous statements, Palin’s were largely inconsequential – getting a name wrong etc. Most of Biden’s errors are either deliberate lies or dementia. He carefully, deliberately, repeatedly, and apparently convincingly spoke what he must have known was untrue. Palin explained to him that he was incorrect, but he kept repeating, in a deliberate slow pace, the untruths. Palin resigned by noting that the fact checker pundits would reveal that he was incorrect on the morrow.

Regrettably, but not surprisingly, she was wrong. Biden’s glaring errors, that can affect how voters perceive McCain, are not the ones being scrutinised. Palin’s inconsequential mispronunciation of a name is. That is unfair.

Regards,
    Researching

45. Reluctant Nonbeliever,
    I bow at your feet; you are right.

However,……Everyone could see that she was basically “reading from a script”, ie. spouting out what she crammed in the last 2 weeks.

Her answers to many of the questions were irrelevant and sometimes drifted into other issues landing mainly on her pet toplic: oil in Alaska.

I must confess that she sounded authoritative when she spoke, but the priblem is her answers were off course to the main questions.

Have to hand it to her. She is a good debater – but an even better bluffer.

46. SNAKE-in-the-grass Avatar
    SNAKE-in-the-grass

OK ~ so we had all the Palin bashers predicting how stupid she was/is. Here’s an excerpt from a post by Facts // October 2, 2008 at 4:08 pm which typifies the comments:

“Will she fail tonight? Let’s look at some facts:

1. She has no knowlege of foreign affairs

2. Seems that she doesn’t even read
    newspapers (based on an interview)

3.Her mouth sometimes seems to be her
    worst enemy.

We can go on, but I believe the odds are against her.

Don’t think that the experienced Biden will try to be condescending or to put her down.

I predict that Palin will mplode; thereby sealing the fate of the Republican Party in the 2008 race.”

So much for you Wise Guys.

Here is what I want answered…

…. if Obama loses the election, the blacks are going to say: “he lost because he was black, the whites dont want to see a black man as President.”

If Obama wins the election, what are the blacks going to say?

Will they say ~ “he won because the whites voted him in?” ? ? ? ? are they going to be as up-front and vocal about this, as vocal as “the reason” he lost… if indeed he does?

You all tell me. I want to know.

47. JC, Yes I am for real:

The only information I had on her was what was said here and the video posted at the top of this blog. In the video here she could not state any other US Surpreme Court decisions to Cadie Kouric, she kept harping about states should handle certain issues and so on, so I thought, oh my, this is a pathetic woman. Anyway the debate began and I was amazed at how well she handled herself, she answered the question in a forth right manner, and she connected with me, she looked into the camera and said to me I am like you, I too have had to worry about health insurance, where to spend my money, and so on. When she winked I said to myself this is my friend, this is a woman that I can cook a nice pigeon peas and rice with shrimp, hassa curry and roti and channa, and she would eat it and just enjoy herself, after all she eats moose. I just felt like she could be my friend.

And I bet you if I met her she would be my friend and we would be watching NCN TV on the computer and I would be sewing for her and so on. I liked how she stayed true to her female self, she did not wear a pant suit like some other women in politics feel they must do, or cut her hair short to blend into this man’s world, she had her hair down, she wore a nice pair of sexy pumps to off set her tailored suit, just fabulous. The touching moment for me was when I saw Trig, her speacial needs son, they showed his face, and yes he does have Dwons Syndrome and I just started to cry, I thought here she is, with this special child and she just did a fabulous job in the debate. I did not conenct with Senator Biden, and I thought he looked like the big bad wolf when he smiled, showing his big teeth. I just loved how Sarah reached out to everyone, she greeted the Bidens’ and then went over to Gwen and introduced her family, just good show, and I think she will be a good President all the way around, BUT inspite of my connection to Sarah, I am with Barack, because for me blood is thicker than water, when I see Barack I see my male cousins so I have to vote for him, but I like Sarah Palin, and from me she gets A+ Oh I loved when she said the kids up in that Wasilla Elementary School will get extra credit for watching. Now her great debate with Senator Biden reminded me of Mia Moteley. As you know we Guyanese just love Mia. Anyway, the people on our Guyana Today show thought that Sarah did a fabulous job. Anyway this is just me.

48. I found Palin to be overly scripted to the point that she would repeat a similar answer on unrelated questions. She so much wanted to get out what she remembered from her debate practice session that every opportunity she got she would do so whether it was relevant or not. It was clear if the question were not in her expected repertoire of questions, she would not answer rather than attempting to ramble as she did on the Katie Couric’s interview.

In my opinion, the moderator’s questions were subtle; I thought the moderator could have gone one step further in some of her questions with a follow-up question for both Palin and Biden. I believe if the moderator had done that, Palin would have been caught between a rock and a hard place and the nation would have seen a repeat of her interview with Katie Couric.

Palin is a master at knowing how to pull in the weak, especially those who focus on style. Palin has charisma and stage presence but lacked substance. I was not impressed with her performance. It seems when she open her mouth it was all about Palin, even though she mentioned John McCain.

IMHO, I found the debate to be boring. Joe Biden seemed not to be his self — was somewhat subdued than usual and lacked the energy that I have seen in previous debates. It might have been that he was avoiding any gaffes, or saying anything that could be misconstrued to the point that he be viewed as condescending, etc. There were certain comments he made that were clear and concise but in one of his statements, I got lost.

On another note, there is a time and place for everything. The way Sarah Palin spoke at the debate — her choice of words was left to be desired. That kind of talk to make a point should be used around family and friends.

I would hate to know that she is the next in line to represent America. I think world leaders would be shock after meeting her with such charisma and then to hear her open her mouth.

I honestly believe that she might be VP or President-ready in the next 8 to 12 years, but as for now she has a long way to go.

49. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

How come nobody reported on the Katie Couric interview with Biden the same week of her interview with Palin? Did you watch it? Here are a couple of Biden’s comments during that interview:

1) In response to a question on his views of how leaders should respond in a crisis, Biden responded by drawing reference to the president’s response during the crash of 1929: “when the stock market crashed, Franklyn Roosevelt got on television and didn’t just talk about, you know, the princes of greed…”

Sounds good, except… Herbert Hoover was president at the time of the crash in 1929…. and unfortunately, TVs were not yet invented so he had to ‘get on’ the radio at the time. Maybe Palin should have just made stuff up when she didn’t know the answers to some of Katie Couric’s questions. Or maybe, as Researching points out, the press should also check and report on the validity of statements made by candidates they are not backing.

see for yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Jf17Yo7hBM

2) When Couric asked him about the Obama ad making fun of John McCain for not using email or computers, Biden responded “… I thought that was terrible… I didnt know he did it, and if I’d had known he’d done it, we would have never done it”. The Obama team quickly released a statement later that day saying that Biden had misunderstood the question and had not even seen the Ad.

see for yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2-eRTTtlEc&NR=1

… my all time ‘favorite’ from Biden however was this despicable description of Obama when he was running against him in 2007: “I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy … I mean, that’s a storybook, man.”… of course, he later said he was taken out of context.. it never quite gelled with me, but maybe the explanation satisfied David and BU 🙂

Does Biden really think Obama is ready for president? Here’s what he said last year.. my my… how a year can make a difference.

50. @MME

Trust you to pick up on Biden’s Gaffes of which he has become legendary…lol.

BU can only respond by the following:

good-better-best

or should we write

bad-worse-worst

Also based on a news report we saw he acknowledged and apologized for the gaffes…lol.