Governor General Sir Clifford Husbands (l) Opposition Leader Mia Mottley (c) Former prime Minister Rt. Hon. Owen S. Arthur (r)

There is the saying a week in politics is a long time. For several months Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has led her troops to push the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government on a number of issues. The more notable have been the CLICO Affair and government’s housing program managed by Minister Michael Lashley. A recent CADRES poll has given Arthur a narrow lead over Mottley in national popularity, according to pollster Peter Wickham this is to be expected given Arthur’s profile as a former Prime Minister. The margin of error in the poll makes the difference irrelevant anyway. Although it has come as no surprise to BU the move by Arthur and cohorts to jettison Mottley as leader of the Opposition, the question arises why has it surprised Mottley and her supporters?

In October 2009 former Prime Minister Owen Arthur staged a press conference at UWI. The level of criticism which Arthur directed at Mottley during that press conference should have sounded the alarm. Dr. George Belle when asked to comment on what was an early sign of Arthur’s perspective on Mottley’s leadership stated the following, “the party decides who is the leader and a leader emerges. If a leader emerges who is a genuine leader, they will sustain their leadership and that is also politics”.

The Arthur cabal has issued Mottley a summons to attend a meeting on Monday at 10 AM. If we are to judge from the utterances of Arthur, Payne and Clarke this week, the decision has been made by a majority of the parliamentary group to support Arthur. Mia’s attendance (under protest if she decides to) would be to receive her job description to list her new role. Mottley has the option to play along, take the matter to the annual conference, cross the floor, resign from active politics or …. Barbadians should know very soon which path the embattled leader of the opposition will take.

BU finds Arthur’s push for the leadership at this time intriguing. They are some who have opined that the serious illness of Prime Minister Thompson has precipitated the grab. Arthur has never been a fan of Mottley and it was confirmed in his UWI press conference. Being forced from the leadership of the BLP after the defeat in the last general election has served Arthur well. He has had time to recharge hopefully and at the same time wait for the opportunity to pounce. He would not have anticipated less than three years into a DLP first term that opportunity would have appeared, it has and the cagey politician  that he is, he has pounced!

Political pundits who want to remain dispassionate would be reminded of Dr. George Belle’s observation –  “the party decides who is the leader and a leader emerges. If a leader emerges who is a genuine leader, they will sustain their leadership and that is also politics”.

Interestingly a similar scenario affected the DLP when Thompson won over the support of his parliamentary colleagues to trump Mascoll. At that time Mascoll to the consternation of many crossed the floor.  BU believed then that it was a ‘cheap’ move by Mascoll and one which must still cause him sleepless nights given the events unfolding. Mottley, the political student she must be and a member of the Mottley Clan will not make the same stupid mistake. She has BLP blood coursing through her veins which blocks any idea of crossing the floor.

The rupture of the Mottley BLP relationship does afford her the opportunity to establish a credible third party, the country is ready but does she have the political capital?

80 responses to “Are We About To Witness A Political Watershed Moment In Barbados? Mia Mottley Holds The Answer”

1. @ Pajan Panday

I don’t think you can make a distinction between the people involved and corruption. However, I don’t matter what is the background to the decision making process for selecting a leader. They don’t want Mia, the faster she realises this the better off she will be. As for leader of the opposition, she is done, gone, finito, over and out of here.

2. Some facts gleaned from newspaper and other media reports:

The recent reshuffling of portfolios in the DLP cabinet effectively allowed the PM to remain PM with a much decreased workload. Therefore, from his sick bed with his mental faculties still sharp, but subject to getting tired quickly, he could ostensibly carry on the functions of Prime Minister when in the Island, merely having to delegate certain responsibilities to subordinates in the Prime Ministers office and the Ministry of National Security. In such a situation there would be no need for him to appoint an acting prime minister and his deputy would merely revert to his substantive position when Thompson was in the island.

In other words, when the PM was out of the Island attending to his health or otherwise, the Deputy PM would act as Prime Minister. When the PM was in the Island the reshuffle allowed for the PM to remain in the office of PM without having to officially delegate prime ministerial responsibility to his Deputy. The presumption here was that when he was in the Island the PM was physically and mentally capable of directing the affairs of his office from his home.

It would appear that the PM is now in the Island but the Honorable Freundel Stuart is acting as PM.

There are many questions that one could ask related to the above but I would ask just a few.

Is it likely that the PM is, at this juncture, both physically and mentally incapable of carrying out his reduced duties?

Could a foreknowledge of the above possibility be one of the reasons for the apparent urgency for the BLP opposition to change horses in mid stream?

In addition, there is a hint in one of lickmout articles in today’s Saturday Nation that a possible charge against Mia was that she did not vigorously take the opportunity to attack Thompson while he is fighting his illness. i.e. that she allowed a personal friendship with Thompson to blunt the vigour with which she should have attacked the party at this time. Could this be a hidden charge that Mia will have to face on Monday?

3. IMAGINE THIS!!!!
    ———————

China ratifies UN anti-corruption convention

BEIJING – To curb the flight of corrupt officials who abscond with public funds abroad to evade punishment, China’s top legislature ratified the United Nations Convention Against Corruption in a unanimous vote on October 27.

“The unanimous vote demonstrates the strong determination of the top lawmaking body to stamp out corruption in collaboration with the international community,” said Li Mingyu, member of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress.

With the approval by 157 members of the committee, China will become one of the first group of more than 30 countries to enforce the international law, which will go into effect on December 14 this year

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China_Business/GJ29Cb06.html

4. @Funny thing these BLP people | October 15, 2010 at 7:22 AM |

“George Reid, You know what you and that line of crap is no longer relevant much like you Mia and Owen fighting to stay relevant is your problem.”

Thanks, David for reminding your bloggers that after all the political brou-ha-ha is over, the problems that currently confront our economy will still remain, and will be addressed one way or the other. Either we take corrective action voluntarily, or our economy will involuntarily correct itself.

Those of us who have a smattering of knowledge of history and of social forces believe that voluntary attempts at stabilisation are far better than the alternative.

And David, we cannot wait till the economy improves to build our society. The two are so inextricably intertwined, that any attempt to distinguish between them is bound to lead to false analysis. My point, however, is that if you allow your economy to go to hell in a handbasket, your society will implode! I hope that Barbadians are not too complacently insular, and inward-looking to observe and understand what is going on in the rest of the World.

5. Free and Fair Elections

(The following one-pager is taken from the U.S. Department of State publication, Principles of Democracy.)

Free and fair elections allow people living in a representative democracy to determine the political makeup and future policy direction of their nation’s government.

• Free and fair elections increase the likelihood of a peaceful transfer of power. They help to ensure that losing candidates will accept the validity of the election’s results and cede power to the new government.

• Elections alone do not assure democracy since dictators can use the resources of the state to tamper with the election process.

• Free and fair elections require:

Legal prohibitions against election fraud – enforceable laws must exist to prevent vote tampering (e.g. double counting, ghost voting).

http://www.america.gov/st/democracyhr-english/2008/May/20080609215618eaifas9.156436e-02.html

6. MIA has effective said on the news tonight that she is leaving public office. She done.

7. So Malden. Is that correct or you messing with us.
    David can you give us an update?

8. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

She Said it Maybe her last address in such a capacity.

9. @ George Reid
    Sir, why don’t you go and look for some wilderness in which to cry nuh? You really expect Bajans to listen to your wise, reasoned plea to remain focused on the real issue at hand when we are presented with such juicy gossip fests?

Did the Bushman not already warn that, our Titanic having already been fatally struck by the iceberg, the ongoing paranoia about exactly who is now at the wheel is completely meaningless and misguided. We should by now be manning the lifeboats and arranging for orderly evacuation….. or as you put it, taking proactive corrective fiscal and structural action instead of waiting until the water swallows us…

But Bajans prefer to stay in their cabins playing strip poker with Mia, Owing and Pain, so George – save your breath….and stop crying in the wilderness….

10. @Bush Tea,
    you is chicken little?

11. @ Hants
    This is not about the sky. The ship is sinking….. LOL

12. Does anyone see the sense in David thompson flying overseas every week? Why not stay over in teh uS and get the best treatment that our taxpayers money can buy?

13. The above is one of the chief reasons a faction of the BLP want to get rid of Mia Mottley.

They seem angry that she asked Barbadians to pray for PM Thompson and feel that she should ask who is paying his bills and even ask him to resign

14. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

I-Prophet NOT A CENT OF TAXPAYERS MONIES HAVE GONE TOWARDS PRIME MINISTERS MEDICAL BILLS.

15. When we had the Mascoll/Thompson squabble the people had their say. It was one of the biggest political stories which went on for years.

The Arthur/Mia challenge for leadership is equally a big story which has captured the public’s attention.

We need to get through quickly and get on with the business of governance.

The DLP may have similar issues but at this point it is speculative.

One would hope the DLP has learned from the past. Many of the DLP candidates being bandied around narrowly won their seats and that was with a national swing.

Let us the BLP can resolve this issue quickly and work at healing the fracture.

16. George Reid, PhD Avatar
    George Reid, PhD

@Bush Tea | October 16, 2010 at 9:14 PM | @ George Reid
    “Sir, why don’t you go and look for some wilderness in which to cry nuh? You really expect Bajans to listen to your wise, reasoned plea to remain focused on the real issue at hand when we are presented with such juicy gossip fests?

Did the Bushman not already warn that, our Titanic having already been fatally struck by the iceberg, the ongoing paranoia about exactly who is now at the wheel is completely meaningless and misguided. We should by now be manning the lifeboats and arranging for orderly evacuation….. or as you put it, taking proactive corrective fiscal and structural action instead of waiting until the water swallows us…

But Bajans prefer to stay in their cabins playing strip poker with Mia, Owing and Pain, so George – save your breath….and stop crying in the wilderness….”

Bushie, I am flattered by your analogy, although i seem to recall that all that John the Baptist got for all his effort was to have his head cut off, after he had suffered a long imprisonment, and handed to a young woman, on a platter as a reward for wukking up in front of a king.

— I hope that all we Bajan young wummen learn sumting from dat, cause a lot uh dem duz sell duh selves short, man! I no a lot uh men an wummen, too, duz sell duh selves to de short man, but dat is uh nedder matta!

BTW, I like your phrase “arranging for orderly evacuation”. A few nights ago I ate too many prunes, and my evacuation was prompt, but very disorderly. Man, the deathboat was filled in no time!

Anyway, Bushie, I’m looking out of a window in my office (or what passes for it) and I can see that another morning has broken, fair and square, so I’m going to get myself ready to go to Bethel Methodist Church to pray with the Statisticians (remember, I was one, once) that they continue to get the numbers right. I know that figures don’t lie, but liars figure, so, truth or lie, I hope that our DMs put on their thinking caps and begin to figure out what is wrong with our economy, and what they must do to correct it.

The only reason that I posted my comment was that my friend Charlie Skeete called me from Washington, DC and asked me why I was not helping the Government to sort out the current problems. I told him that I tried doing that in 1991, and I wrote about it two years ago, remember! But all I got was a lot of enemies, so I gratefully accepted the short man’s offer and got to hell out of Barbados. I told Skeetie that like him, I am over 70, and retired. All I want to do, nowadays, is to compose my reflections, and annoy the hell out of people who don’t like me to tell it like it is. I’m glad to know that you are not one of those!

Do have a good day! I gone.

17. @Dr R

How did Arthur show decline, did he say no or ignored the offer?

Tell Charlie Skeete to join the BU family and help to educate/enlighten the Bajan blogosphere.

18. Women like you and I have always made the difference in every election, and starting now – as never before, your voice, the stand you must take and your hope will be the deciding factors in brining about change and in forging a new future for Barbados.

No one is simply asking you to trust in Mia Mottley’s ability to bring change to Barbados but you must trust your ability and know that for generations, women like you and I have been the backbone of this country as mother, wives, caregivers, counsellor while providing unmatched service to Barbados as a support base and a unifying force.

You must be willing to fight for your cause and must kick-down the notion that the only reason you and your daughters cannot become Prime Minister of Barbados, is because they are a woman.

I believe that this is our moment to finally take a stand. To say enough!

This is our moment to create that future that we so desperately want. A future where a woman can become and remain Leader of the Opposition because she is more competent that the five who seek to remove her. A future where a woman can become Prime Minister based on her ability.

We must fight for Barbados to become a place where a woman can aspire to any office based on merit and also to ensure that she will not be remove from office by men who are far less competent than she is.

If we are willing to fight for this cause, if we do this together with courage, passion and faith and hope in what is possible then we will be on the right side of history and as patriotic Barbadians – be successful in brining the change to this country that it needs.

I am asking all women in this country to have faith in our ability to do what must be done to give our country a new start.

This is our moment to join together to forge a better future for our children and our families. We have a chance to make something possible NOW.

Help Mia Mottley transform this country in a fundamental way. If you believe that as women your moment has come. If you believe that this is your opportunity to bring about UNITY; to restore honour, dignity and principle to our politics, If you opposed the corruption mainstream media spoke about recently as regards electoral fraud,

If you believe it is time to change the system that has prevented women from aspiring to high office, If you want to be part of a cause that can bring real change Barbados then you must stand with Mia Mottley against the power-hungry gang of 5, who will fire her tomorrow.

This is your moment.

The change Barbados needs can start with you.

19. George Reid, PhD Avatar
    George Reid, PhD

@David | October 17, 2010 at 6:55 AM | @Dr R

“How did Arthur show decline, did he say no or ignored the offer?

Tell Charlie Skeete to join the BU family and help to educate/enlighten the Bajan blogosphere.”

David, I don’t understand your question about the Rhosa. But those Rhosarian years just bubbled along and produced a heady brew, which is now giving the bimmyconomy a severe migrane!

I’ll pass on your message to Charlie Skeete, but I doubt that BU could handle the language in which he describes current policy stances of BOTH political parties. Tony Best does a good job in getting him to keep his sound bites civil.

20. @Doc R

Sorry about that, did Arthur say no to your offer of assistance or did he ignore the offer?

21. Ravin’ Craven Raven | asked on October 15, 2010 at 8:54 PM…”Is being blind drunk an illness? Just asking

No being blind drunk is not an illness.

But ALCOHOLISM IS AN ILLNESS.

22. Bajan Panday wrote | October 15, 2010 at 11:39 AM … “Rawle Eastman[sic] is the most respected person in the House and he…has a deep respect for women.”

You like you more Panday that Bajan. You like you forget that Barbados is a real, real small place. Those of us who have know Mr. Eastman since he was in diapers can’t join you in saying that he has a deep respect for women.

He has the ordinary Bajan man’s respect for Bajan women.

23. Bajan Panday | wrote on October 16, 2010 at 11:24 PM

“The BLP want to get rid of Mia Mottley. ..They seem angry that she asked Barbadians to pray for PM Thompson and feel that she should ask who is paying his bills and even ask him to resign”

In this case the BLP is right. It is a legitimate question to ask who is paying for the PM’s care. High medical bills is the leading cause of personal bankrupcy in the United States. High medical bills can bankrupt even upper middle class American families, once their private insurance coverage maxes out. Why do you think that Mr. Obama has place health care reform so high on his agenda?

I expect that high medical bills can also bankrupt a Bajan Prime Minister.

Legitimate questions for the BLP to ask are:

Who is paying the PM’s bills?

Does he have medical insurance?

If so with which company?

If he has private insurance and it maxes our who will pay the rest of the bills?

Will the people of Barbados be told when the PM’s private insurance (if he has private insurance) maxes out?

Is CLICO health paying some of the bills?

Is CLICO health is a position to pay all the bills?

As a CLICO health policy holder, will there be money left to pay my medical bills if next week I discover that I have an illness as serious as the Prime Ministers?

And what if the PM has no medical insurance? Who then is paying the bills, since by now the bills may well have exceeded $1 million USD.

And no we do not need the leader of the opposition asking us to pray for the PM.

In Barbados we have thousands of pastors and priests who are competent spiritual advisers. Offering spiritual counsel is NOT the role of the leader of the opposition.

The leader of the opposition is supposed to lead us in temporal (not spiritual) matters.

24. J wrote”Those of us who have know Mr. Eastman since he was in diapers “.
    So you know he when he used to live down dey so by the parish church on de opposite side.
    Well I did know he too an he was a nice fella an a good son to he mudda so I tink dat he grow up respectin women.

25. @David | October 17, 2010 at 7:40 PM | @Doc R

“Sorry about that, did Arthur say no to your offer of assistance or did he ignore the offer?”

David, I made a specific proposal to the relevant Ministry offering my assistance to build capacity where I knew it was weak, and in view of my familiarity with the IFIs, I could speed up the process of developing bankable projects. If my proposal had been accepted it could have accelerated the draw down of funds already committed to Barbados.

I guess that it was placed in File 13, since I got no response, which did not really surprise me, having rejected an earlier underture from the RHOSA of becoming one of his miscellaneous consultants who could be terminated at whim. You see, I have always been task oriented, but I know some political agendas can be very diffuse.

So my friend, I find great amusement in the current goings on, and on, and on!!

26. Dear Mr Owen Arthur,
    The parliamentary group of the Barbados Labour Party will meet later today to discuss the leadership of the Opposition in parliament. You as the most senior member of this group must be made aware of certain issues.
    (1) George Payne and Ronald Toppin have openly declared that no woman is to hold a superior position over them and hence their attempt to get rid of Miss Mottley as the Leader of the Opposition. In this connection what is Payne and Toppin telling the women of Barbados? Can it be told to our daughters and women-folk that even though they have achieved educationally they must remain subservient ?
    (2) There has been malfeasance and mal-administration at the BLP headquarters under the watch of none other than Chairman Payne. The word corruption might be too harsh.
    (3) Vote rigging, vote buying have been the norm under the watch of chairman Payne. Mr Arthur, you as Minister in charge of the Electoral and Boundaries Commission have overseen three general elections and insisted that there shall be no election fraud. Can it happen at the BLP and our eyes remain closed?
    (4) From the newspaper accounts, the elders have been more than slighted . Is Payne saying that the elderly should have no say in the affairs of the BLP and the country in general? Is Payne reducing the elderly to the garbage pail? These elderly persons have consistently supported the BLP.
    (5) The contributions of Payne and Toppin in the House of Assembly have been negligible.
    Mr Arthur as the senior statesman of the BLP you must now stand up for what is fair and just.

27. The Barbadian version of Julius Caesar

When Mia Mottley goes to BLP headquarters today at 10:00 for her trial (having already been convicted and sentenced by the gang of 5) it will be akin to decency, integrity and the future of the BLP, coming face-to-face with electoral fraud, election rigging, blatant disregards for the BLP’s Constitution, corruption and the BLP‘s past.

Unfortunately, on this occasion, the entity that will lose will be the future of the BLP and integrity, since Mia Mottley will be sacked.

Why?

She is unlikely to play ball and will not allow herself to be blackmailed, neither will she negotiate or make a deal for her survival as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition.

The fiasco now unfolding within the BLP therefore seems like a Barbadian version of William Shakespeare’s tragedy” ‘Julius Caesar.’

In the Bajan scenario, the real issue is not leadership but CORRUPTION exposed, shamed and now hostile. The gang of 5 have lost the moral high-ground and are desperately looking for an escape route.

Talk about reviewing Mia Mottley’s leadership, is intended to downplay the overwhelming evidence of corruption and electoral fraud that has been uncovered within the BLP and merely highlights the fact that the gang of 5 has been MIA for the past 3 years. In essence, it is their stewardship their constituents and taxpayers ought to be reviewing.

But as in Julius Caesar, where there were the conspirators, the BLP gang of 5 or the local conspirators have also manufactured a superficial motive for wanting to remove Mia Mottley. They say that it is some letter that is the final straw. Sounds familiar?

In Julius Caesar the conspirators petitioned Caesar to bring back a man who he had banished knowing quite well that Caesar would not agree to such madness. So that when Caesar said “NO,” they immediately drove their daggers in him.

Reluctantly, Brutus is last. At this point, Caesar utters the famous line “Et tu, Brute?” (“And you, Brutus?”, i.e. “You too, Brutus?”).

The stab which Mia Mottley will feel most tomorrow will be that of her Deputy, Dale Marshall, and like Caesar, that will floor her. It is at that point that she is likely to tell herself that she does not want to survive such treachery.

Like the conspirators who said they did it for Rome, the BLP gang of 5 will try to make clear that they committed this act for the BLP and not for their own purposes (lust, greed, ambition, power & wealth)

The Mark Anthony in all this could be Trevor Prescod.

If yesterday‘s Sun on Saturday is anything to go by, we know that already there is a move to expel Pain from the BLP, symbolic of the conspirators being banished from Rome.

28. With apologies to Gadfly above;

Dear Mr Arthur;
    I have admired and looked up to you over most of the years you have spent in public service in Barbados. You were no ordinary parliamentarian or politician, but the very best. Not one of them that went before you could match the totality of your intellect, foresight, capacity for hard work, feeling for the common man, love for Barbados, breath of knowledge, quest for always doing what was right, and prodigious memory.
    You have left a legacy of achievements that few can match. But now it appears that, by the actions which seem to be imminent, you will destroy all that in one fell swoop.
    Replacing Mia now is not going to result in a BLP victory in the next elections. It is more likely to cause a defection from the BLP of enough supporters to ensure that the BLP will be in the political wilderness for the forseeable future. Do the math.
    Replacing Mia now will not help Barbados. All hands are needed on deck to allow us to recover from the effects of this troubled economy and the burdens placed on it by some policies in your very last term of office as well as the additional, largely unnecessary and very significant burdens placed on it by the current administration, albiet in a bad external environment.

The opposition has a role to play in the fight to keep Barbados afloat by keeping the government in check, inter alia. Your expected actions now might ensure that the opposition is so weakened that it cannot effectively play that role. Listen to the Elders and for the next few months or years swallow your pride and work under Mia to heal the BLP and with the Government in whatever way is possible to help to get Barbados back on the proper track.
    Failing this your legacy is likely to be ruined irretrievably.

29. Well MAM has been “offed” and now the faeces will be pulled into the turbine! Who is going to clean it up? This is a moment that calls for the exercise of intestinal and testicular fortitude. In sort, somebody will have to use their guts and balls!

30. The BLP needs no advice from ac
    The BLP RAN THIS COUNTRY WELL
    BRINGING BARBADOS FROM THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR IN 1994.

JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS
    and unemployment was brought down to 6 % BY THE BLP even with imported labour.

IS BARBADOS BETTER OFF NOW THAN PRE 2008 ?

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN.

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    None of wunna DLP sympathisers /Owen Bashers cannot be comfortable answering these questions so go ahead and attack me -the person me
    KISSMYA’I LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR’ MCCLEAN