Source: Nation Newspaper

This is the time of the year many Barbadians at home and abroad look forward to participating in our national Crop Over festival. What about those who directly participate in the tent goings, singing calypso etc, and the many others who benefit indirectly from the enormous economic activity which flows at this time of the year? We have seen numbers bandied about over the years about the true value of Crop Over to the national purse, maybe up to 400 million dollars. Whatever the true number all who should know agree that it is a significant contribution. Maybe it explains why year after year there is the predictable controversy about how much money should be allocated to the various stakeholders, and the Calypsonians usually head those with cap in hand.

The festival is comprised of several stakeholders e.g. National Cultural Foundation (NCF) and by extension government, musicians, masqueraders, sponsors and others. The festival has come along way since the early 70s. Many Barbadians we are told now depend on the festival for a significant percentage of their annual incomes. Yet again in 2008 there is the hint of a controversy regarding a clash between the show Euphoria staged by a private concern and the NCF’s Cohobblopot. Our recollection appears to be that the same conflict occured last year. Why can’t the stakeholders understand this is our premier national festival and not some rum shop activity? A couple weeks earlier we had the spat between the Calypso associations and the NCF over a planned tribute to Red Plastic Bag. The BU household was split down the middle on that matter but yet again a matter which could have been avoided with good planning and communication between the stakeholders.

We are into the final two weeks of the festival and the plane loads of Barbadians who select this time of the year to return is evident. The car rental agencies are not complaining and Broad Street is starting to bustle, and the strains of the various accents can be heard everywhere on the island. The calypso semi-finals will be held next weekend and the big final show the week to follow along with the many other events. Year after year Crop Over despite the mismanagement seems to be getting bigger. We wonder if better management were to be applied how big Crop Over might become. They are some who have suggested the name should be changed because it has no relevance in 2008, sugar is dead they counter. Whatever the problems which perennially plague this major festival the time has come to forget about them.

It is time to welcome all the Barbadians returning home for some leisure activity as well as the tourists. Let us all continue to play our part to ensure the success of Crop Over 2008.

59 responses to “Crop Over Keeps On Going”

1. OFF TOPIC

Two Guyanese killed in Bay street a short while ago.

2. Oh dear. A traffic accident?

3. Isnt there a guyanese shop out there in Bay Street?

4. Gabby getting to semis is a joke!

5. neutral observer Avatar
    neutral observer

Seranader was miles ahead of the rest of the field in terms of the quality of his songs. It’s a shame he had to “forget” his lyrics on the big night.

6. There are so many unresolved issues in Crop Over as it relates to Calypso tents,Calypsonians, Airplay or lack thereof and much more. Colonialism and the colonial mentality has played a part in these issues.

There is a school of thought that the concept of the calypso tent is obsolete and that calypso needs to be presented in a more improved format. The first calypso tent opened in Trinidad in 1928.The first Crop Over calypso tent opened in Barbados in 1979. Since those times little has changed as far as tents are concerned. Maybe it is really time for a rethink of the concept.

Calypsonians are still getting a raw deal with the majority of them spending and investing money in a festival that provide them with little or no returns. The concept of competition where you have a semifinals and finals has failed to advance the music and the cause of the calypsonians and is counter productive. The competition should be scrapped. Not many of the near 300 artistes plus musicians and arrangers/producers benefit any from Crop Over and that is a cruel reality and a legacy of colonialism that needs to be eliminated.

On top of all that crap is the way the radio stations undermine the afforts of the majority of artistes who record and produce music for the festival. Out of over an average of 500-600 songs, hardly 40 of them get regular rotation within prime time. When the kadooment ends on kadooment day thats it for local music and radio stations return to their daily fare of meaningless american and jamaican crip-crap.
    -Another legacy of colonialism

In general local music suffers on local radio stations and this music is not limited to calypso/soca but extends to our national beat -SPOUGE and other genres such as rap, reggae/dancehall, gospel, jazz. alternative, rock and spoken word. There is so much music out there you would not believe it when you listen to local radio stations.

I have argued for years that we need to have a 100% barbadian radio station playing 100% bajan music and recently I have seen other people making the same call. It mst happen,

It is quite obvious that there are issues to be resolved and that the need for improvement in the calypso/soca situation and the music situation in general is a must. I call on those with the power to seek an improvement as of yesterday. We must rid ourselves of the colonial approach to cultural matters.

7. @Asiba

We agree with your contribution. Calypso and music is an integral part of the festival and the shoestring approach to how the tents have to operate can’t be acceptable. In fact it is illogical. Take away the music and the festival becomes hollow.

8. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Calypso is integral to the festival, but there is no evidence of it being in danger. There has been a steady annual increase in the number and quality (I know the latter is subjective) of both calypsonians and calypsos in Barbados over the past three decades. There has also been a healthy increases in the number of artistes, producers, musicians etc. who now practice the artform as a career on a full-time basis.

While there is a degree of collusion among radio station/DJs as far as the music that enjoys the most airplay, this is and always has been a well known feature of the international music arena… and has a lot to do with how artistes “market” themselves…it is a business… just like Coke and Pepsi and Guinness… you have to network, advertise, market your brand, understand your market (size, demographic etc.)… those who have been best at this AND have a quality product (again subjective, but by quality I mean zeitgeist) are the ones who enjoy the airplay.

I am amused by how much criticism the radio stations get regarding airplay and exposure of local music, and would be interested in seeing the hard statistics, because I hear nuff local music (including calypso/soca) all year round on two stations in particular (98.1 and 95.3).

IMHO the quality of the music is excellent this year and there are no signs of the artform being in trouble… quite the opposite actually.

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

… the second radio station should be 94.7, but I think similar could be said of 92.9 and 95.3.

10. Thanks for the indirect plug by linking to me at Crop Over 2008 – was 1st out before 6:00 am with that info, going off-topic … The Concerned Citizens of Grenada have similar Concerns for their Lagoon like your West Coast rape series, they wondered if there’s any partnership you’d like to form?

11. @Ian

So many emails we received with so many blogs. We try our best to rotate link backs but of course we get it wrong sometimes.

@MME

The point about the music is critical. While the quality maybe improving it is being driven more from the performer level. The point which we want to reinforce is the contribution of the Crop Over Festival to the national budget does not translate in the money directed at the music industry in Barbados. Many of these musicians have to walk about cap in hand to make the music.

12. Crop-over has become so samey, samey that I’ve lose interest in the festival. Like the jazz festval, there seem to be some regional competitors e.g St. Vincent, St Lucia, Grenada and Antigua, that are challenging to the canival spirit at this time of year. We need to move to a new level with our festival to give it the cutting edge

13. We read with interest the newspaper report today from the NCF Chairman who has promised that the system of subventions to the tents will be reviewed for next year. We urge the players in the Culture ministry to be sensitized to the fact that there is the requirement to nurture talent and some provision must be allocated for such. While we hear what John King and RPB are saying we also recognize that we all have our agendas.

14. The calypsoes this year are the pits. The calypsonians the young ones in particular seem to be singing for the Trinidad market .They trying to sound Trini with their lyrics about carnival this and carnival that. I thought Crop Over was their focus. The songs they sing will never make it in the Trinidad market anyhow. Poor diction, childish lyrics and melodies and mediocre voices will not sell. The youngsters like Dale, Mikey, Jabae and the rest too numerous to mention all sound the same. They should take a leaf out of the books of John King, RPB, Kid Site, Black Pawn, Allison Hinds, TC and those types of quality performers .

15. the reason that the stations switch back to Jamaican and US music is simply because music gets stale especially if it is the trite samey samey stuff that bajan calypsonians produce. 80% of cropover music is trite. there is a distinct lack of creativity in writing and melodies. Asiba talks about stopping competition . Well the only reason some of the songs get airplay is because the competition lends an importance to the song which it would not other wise have.

Having said all that dale , mikey and Jabae are actually some of the better younger calypsonians . there are also some calypsonians who produce very creative stuff. in other cases like Krosfyah even if the stuff is not always innovative at least it sounds good, it catches you with a melody and they sing. many of our calypsonians do not or cannot sing.

Many barbadian musicians seem to forget that a song is lyrics and music. If you can excel in one or the other you will get airplay. Excel in both and you will have a hit that will be played for years on end. case in point grynner’s Mr. T rockedyoung and old at pan on the sand yesterday after 25 years. the lyrics are witty and pointed and constructed in a catchy way while the music is just nice and easy on the ear. Our musicians need to try to excel instead of just trying to “mek a dollar’.

16. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

I have steadfastly refrained from commenting on these blogs. Simple reason, really. I do not have the time! But, sick leave has its benefits.
    ASIBA: The average length of a kaiso is 03 min. 50 secs [party] and 05 mins. 25 secs [social commentary]. De Announcer [still in competition] and Ras Iley [no longer in the “do”] usually go to 06 mins.
    QUESTION: How many of those 600+ songs can be played “in any rotation” during Prime Time radio? Given that the “average” commercial ratio is 40:60 [or more!] at Crop Over? And….some commercials average 60 secs. plus!
    Radio Stations take the blame for things they have no control over!

17. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Denis you better recover quickly and save us from having to suffer Carol Roberts doing the fireworks show.

We all wish you a speedy recovery.

It appears to many that your station VOB is providing refuge to the blp media, seeing you already have Babb, Roberts and just waiting for Thorne to cross the mics now???

18. Is that Peter Thorne you talking about WIV? Peter is a nice enough guy but one always felt he rehashed whatever the BLP and Owen in particular directed. Sorry Peter but thats pimpish journalism. Tony Thompson is another BLP fowl who ought to be sent packing from CBC. I will never forget or forgive Tony Female Impersonator Thompson and Carol Roberts for their stinking parodies on David Thompson and crime and violence. Tony Thompson and Roberts are made for each other genderwise.

19. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Not sure how the post of director of News and current affairs was settled with Dean St.Hill a past president of the League of young socialist.

Peter Thorne a man that said all sorts of awful nasty things about Mr Thompson prior to elections, he Roberts, St.Hil, Mark Williamsl and Tony Thompson should all be looking for holes to live in.

20. It appears to many that your station VOB is providing refuge to the blp media, seeing you already have Babb, Roberts and just waiting for Thorne to cross the mics now???
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    WIV, you are so partisan focused that you find difficulty in the submission of articles unless being laced with political one-sided venom. In every sphere, from the media, church, business and yes, your home, you will find individuals with political leaning but that should not take away the professionalism from these individual. Carol Roberts is one of the leading reporters in the island, her outside broadcasts are totally professional and yes, she is well versed. Surely she is a better journalist than you, maybe she should have been the one to visit China instead of the journalistic imposter like a political advisor or scientist.

By the way WIV, do tell the blogging public the position with the deputy chairman. Is she still on the board? Please, no side tracking on the answer. It is about time you start playing a fair game instead of dropping under-the-belt innuendos. I await your reply or maybe, you will jump to another comment without answering.

21. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

I see you have made a frail defence to maintain the status quo, but you make no mention about the Peter Thorne, Mark Williams, Tony Thompson scene where this same gang can sing party songs at election time and then really expect to continue to function as an announcer under a new Gov’t??

It is a good thing that the PRIME MINISTER is a good holy man because left to many ones such as these are would be looking for holes, remember Adams remember Owing and how they functioned??

There is no way that we could have seen any of these lurking around the halls of a changed gov’t.

One moraless bunch of vagabonds.

22. You failed to answer the question WIV. Is Jeannette Layne-Clarke still on the CBC board? Stop the shifting and answer the question

23. No conspiracy theory here.

Jeanette layne clarke is very ill and recuperating.That is why she resigned from the board.

24. @Dennis Johnson

Wish you well soon, your passion is missing from Fireworks!

We will let Asiba respond to your query but given your position in the media we hope that you can respond to a position which is gaining increasing currency in the BU household.

Should the Program Manager at radio stations or such position manage the music rotation and remove that responsibility from the hands of the DJs who are clueless about music and more concern with popularity.

Is it that the radio stations have been getting the balance wrong between satisfying the commercial element i.e sponsors and pushing ‘good’ music?

25. […] Crop Over Keeps On GoingSource: Nation Newspaper This is the time of the year many Barbadians at home and abroad look forward to participating in our national Crop Over festival. They are those who directly participate in the tent goings, singing calypso etc, … […]

26. I have read the comments and the questions and I will respond when I have a bit more time. Right now I am really pressed for time and I am not in a mood of spontanaeity.

anyhow : 60 x 24= 1440

144o
    ——–
    4 = 360

27. PLEASE DO NOT CONTAMINATE THIS THREAD WITH POLITICAL DISCUSSION PLEASE.

This thread is about Crop Over, music , air-play etc : subjects which I love, cherish and with which I am quite au fait.

Thank You !

28. Dennis Johnson Avatar

David: Programme Managers should handle music rotation, but, there must also be checks to ensure THEIR particular bias[es] do not overpower everything. Personally [and that means speaking as “me” and not as a Programme Manager] I would like to see a small commitee of three manage rotations.
    Asiba: Missed out on the Maths. Did not like the subject too much. But… Try these figures:
    10 -12 songs per hour. Prime Time: [morning]
    06:00 -09:00 a.m. and Prime Time [afternoon] 03:00 – 05:00 p.m. [or 04:00 -06:00 p.m] That’s five [5] hours. Monday to friday – five [5] days. Let’s try to put it all together. 12 songs per hour for five hours = 60 songs. Multiply that by 5 days per week = 300 songs. YOU said: There were 600 songs released, and I agreed with you. So IF ALL were released together [and they were NOT….but, let’s assume they were] To play all 600 would take 2 weeks. Then … second rotation [of all] another 2 weeks,. How long is the “Crop Over Season”? six weeks???? Three rotations!!! I know my maths. is really poor, but how many more rotations would you get ? [Remember what you said: 40 or so songs in rotation in prime time!]…. jsut following your logic.

29. Dennis Johnson Avatar

David: On getting the balance “right”….I think it is a case of “cash” winning over “valuables” every time!

30. @Dennis

Thanks for sharing your opinion on this matter. By way of comment one can ask what role does the radio stations play in the sub-culture which we complain about in the same way we do the minibus/ZR. We all know which are the popular stations among the youth and why.

Our recommendation: if we love our country ALL the radio stations need to come together and agree to a base standard in the national interest i.e.the characteristics of DJs etc. It is a bold step but the future of Barbados depends on it.

PS. Do you think Rihanna can shock the world and record the calypso of a Bajan? Given her popularity it could be the push the artform needs to go international. Come on Dennis use your influence and make a call! 🙂

31. Dennis Johnson Avatar

Well, it happened with “Hot Hot Hot” and “Who Let The Dogs Out”…. artistes other than calypsonians recorded them and they broke into the US market. In fact, Arrow re-recorded “Hot Hot Hot” in a Country & Western style for line dancing! So, Rihanna doing a calypso, is not too far-fetched. BUT …. the question will be which one? Alison Hinds “Come up to my bamsee boy, and Aye, Aye, Aye?”

32. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Please, Please hurry back and release us from the contractor Carol Roberts, she just is not suited for the role she has been thrown into.

33. No conspiracy theory here.

Jeanette layne clarke is very ill and recuperating.That is why she resigned from the board.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Please, oh please. That is surely not the reason. Jeanette is a seasoned professional in the journalism fraternity with years of management skills. Maybe her role might have been undermined with the new direction of the board which will impinged on her profession.

34. You have lost the elections BLP Yardfowls.

GET OVER IT.

35. Please, Please hurry back and release us from the contractor Carol Roberts, she just is not suited for the role she has been thrown into.
    Ms Robert is a highly qualified linguist with several years experience in the Broadcast industry and she has been hired by a private company based on her experience and qualifications.
    On the 1 hand people complain about the poor standards of today’s radio announcers and DJs.
    Thank Allah for the return of the likes of Ms. Roberts to the radio.

36. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

I certainly wish Dennis Johnson a speedy recovery and a quick return to the airwaves,
    it is his passion for the program that drives the program.

whereas Carol Roberts is merely a pretender in the position, I would even suggest that may know more about construction than the Calypso art form but then that maybe suggesting that she knows something about construction and we all know that not to be the case, as was said before once you owned a cement mixer you could get work from Urban as was the case with her and her construction company, anything for mottley.

37. You have lost the elections BLP Yardfowls.

GET OVER IT.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    By your language, I can see the difficulty in you be a part of ant debate. Although I am not a member or a mouthpiece of the BLP, I can firmly state that the BLP would not have won the election due to the 4-term political disease. The DLP would have won without having a meeting. What about your comment about Mrs Layne-Clarke. Was she pushed?

38. Wishing in Vain Avatar
    Wishing in Vain

Tell me Why,
    Were Ezra Alleyne, Henderson Bovell, Clyde Griffith, Philip Goddard, George Edhill, O’Brien Trotman, Stanton Alleyne, Dr Leo Brewster, Booza King etal working for the salaries they collect on behalf of the blp.

The next 5 years will turn you old and grey, it will age you beyonfd belief in you do not remove your hatred and your venom for the RULING DLP Party

39. The next 5 years will turn you old and grey, it will age you beyonfd belief in you do not remove your hatred and your venom for the RULING DLP Party
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Where is the venom my friend. By asking you pertinent questions that should be in the public domain and which you constantly failed to answer, you prefer to shift focus and go on your name-calling. I am not attacking the DLP, I am attacking you who bring questionable accusations to the forums and failed to back them up with facts. That is where my problems lies….you, your lies, your innuendos and your fictitious stories based on hearsay and lined with propaganda elements. You are going to be the caused for the DLP’s demise due to your feminist behaviour. Let me assure you that I admire the Prime Minister and wish him well. I have followed his political elevation from his Combermere days during various debates and I said that one day he shall be “King”, sorry Prime Minister. Now what’s your problem.

40. The like s of WIV are damaging the image of the party that he/she so vehemently supports.
    “1 should always be magnanimous in victory and defiant in defeat.”
    It’s time to stop the gloating and boasting and govern de island.
    And bear in mind that on Jan 16, 2008 there was no jubilation in the streets as in 1986. Bajans just voted for change and will be testing this party. So it’s about delivering what u say u would.
    If there was all this corruption then bring these people to justice through the right channels.
    It’s always de yardfowls, de party pimps and backyard dawgs that make it bad for the elected politicians whichever party is in power.
    I cant believe that any intelligent person in 2008 would put their trust in any politician.
    Politicians dont run the country anyways, it’s always the top civil servants and the business sector. Therein lies the irony (as per usual).

41. @Dennis Johnson

The BU household like the groove by Edwin Yearwood ‘Nah Missing me” but we have a feeling any calypso she selects would get the attention of her global fans.

42. Is this the same BU that had this 2 say about Rihanna?

“BU supported Rihanna’s approach even though we are not her biggest music fan. We feel that her background of a relatively sedate upbringing, attending the Kew church in Tudor Bridge and Combermere School would have served her well in warding away the flash of the entertainment world in which she finds herself. After reading the statement reported to have been made by Rihanna we have become concerned about what she will have to do to change to a sexy image.”

43. @Reagonomics

What is your point Sire because it has eluded!

44. Is this the same BU that had this 2 say about Rihanna?

“BU supported Rihanna’s approach even though we are not her biggest music fan. “

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I think David that he can not figure out that your statements are not incongruent.

46. Reagonomics – I am not her biggest music fan either. As someone on this blog once said – her music is just too “bubble gummish” for me. That is not to say that I am not extremely proud of what she has achieved. Obviously there are tons of people who do love her music.

BU – that is an absolutely brilliant, magnificent, splendiferous idea. If someone could pull a string and get her to record a calypso. Lol. Not one of those horrible fast juk juk wuk up calypsos that give some of us a headache. Something with serious rhythm that you can really dance to with good lyrics.

Maybe it would be a bit dicey if she chooses one already written and sung – I don’t know, what with thoughts of favouritism, etc. Just thinking out loud. Perhaps one could be written for her.

47. Buffalo Soldier Two Avatar
    Buffalo Soldier Two

My choices for Rihanna calypso cover are “Top class Bubbler”; “Roll”; and one done by a Bajan-Martiniquan about two years ago “Waistline Shots”.
    I disagree with her doing that idiotic song suggested by Dennis Johnson.

48. Dennis Johnson Avatar

Reason #2 why I do not blog….no sense of humour!!!! Cuddeah! Buffalo Soldier …. I WAS JOKING!!!!!!!!!! YUH IS A TRUE, TRUE KAISONIAN???? AN YUH DOAHN NO A JOKE WEN YUH SEE ONE?????

49. She already did a remake of Roll it Gal.
    Which planet are you guys on?