Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

Source: Nation Newspaper

This is the time of the year many Barbadians at home and abroad look forward to participating in our national Crop Over festival. What about those who directly participate in the tent goings, singing calypso etc, and the many others who benefit indirectly from the enormous economic activity which flows at this time of the year? We have seen numbers bandied about over the years about the true value of Crop Over to the national purse, maybe up to 400 million dollars. Whatever the true number all who should know agree that it is a significant contribution. Maybe it explains why year after year there is the predictable controversy about how much money should be allocated to the various stakeholders, and the Calypsonians usually head those with cap in hand.

The festival is comprised of several stakeholders e.g. National Cultural Foundation (NCF) and by extension government, musicians, masqueraders, sponsors and others. The festival has come along way since the early 70s. Many Barbadians we are told now depend on the festival for a significant percentage of their annual incomes. Yet again in 2008 there is the hint of a controversy regarding a clash between the show Euphoria staged by a private concern and the NCF’s Cohobblopot. Our recollection appears to be that the same conflict occured last year. Why can’t the stakeholders understand this is our premier national festival and not some rum shop activity? A couple weeks earlier we had the spat between the Calypso associations and the NCF over a planned tribute to Red Plastic Bag. The BU household was split down the middle on that matter but yet again a matter which could have been avoided with good planning and communication between the stakeholders.

We are into the final two weeks of the festival and the plane loads of Barbadians who select this time of the year to return is evident. The car rental agencies are not complaining and Broad Street is starting to bustle, and the strains of the various accents can be heard everywhere on the island. The calypso semi-finals will be held next weekend and the big final show the week to follow along with the many other events. Year after year Crop Over despite the mismanagement seems to be getting bigger. We wonder if better management were to be applied how big Crop Over might become. They are some who have suggested the name should be changed because it has no relevance in 2008, sugar is dead they counter. Whatever the problems which perennially plague this major festival the time has come to forget about them.

It is time to welcome all the Barbadians returning home for some leisure activity as well as the tourists. Let us all continue to play our part to ensure the success of Crop Over 2008.

59 responses to “Crop Over Keeps On Going”

1. Hey Dennis

I am the real ASIBA -THE BUFFALO SOLDIER

I AM NOT——–BUFFALO SOLDIER TWO —who posted the following comment
    ———————————————————–
    Buffalo Soldier Two // July 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

My choices for Rihanna calypso cover are “Top class Bubbler”; “Roll”; and one done by a Bajan-Martiniquan about two years ago “Waistline Shots”.
    I disagree with her doing that idiotic song suggested by Dennis Johnson.

Somebody is using the handle-BUFFALO SOLDIER TWO to cause confusion
    ————————————————————
    ————TO WHICH YOU RESPONDED——–
    Dennis Johnson // July 25, 2008 at 11:50 am

Reason #2 why I do not blog….no sense of humour!!!! Cuddeah! Buffalo Soldier …. I WAS JOKING!!!!!!!!!! YUH IS A TRUE, TRUE KAISONIAN???? AN YUH DOAHN NO A JOKE WEN YUH SEE ONE?????
    ———————————————————-

Please do not confuse me with anyone else
    BUFFALO SOLDIER TWO is not me—ASIBA-THE BUFFALO SOLDIER.

In any case I think your suggestion is a good one and I would be very happy if RIHANNA COULD RECORD A LOCAL SONG . I WOULD PREFER A SPOUGE SONG THOUGH BECAUSE SPOUGE IS OUR NATIONAL BEAT

2. PLEASE NOTE THAT

I am ASIBA-THE BUFFALO SOLDIER-

Somebody else is using the handle BUFFALO SOLDIER TWO and creating confusion as to indentfication.

I have chosen to indentify myself by name, a name that has been registered and it is legitimate
    and recognized . People can identify me and I have done this because I have nothing to hide. I will not make inflammatory or untruthful statements and I am open to anyone challenging
    my statements.

Please BUFFALO SOLDIER TWO———
    If you care to please change your handle to avoid confusion. I have a hard time being mis-understood and being accused of THINGS THAT I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ALREADY.

PLEASE DONT MAKE IT HARDER FOR ME

3. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

sorry, soldier…caught the “2” late! Agree with the spouge song idea too! But … [with me, there always seems to be a “but”] are there any bands that can still play spouge? properly?

4. I am not one for competition and if I had my way longtime ago I would have scrapped the competition and replaced it wth a music festival. You dont need a competion with rules and guidelines that people who are supposed to uphold them ignore them anyhow. But you have a competition and something is better than nothing.

The calypso competition in Barbados needs to stop judging artiste and start judging songs. Songs must not be judged by topic or tempo. A song is a song is a song , fast and slow there are all songs. Any topic as long as the execution of the song and the presentation by the artiste meet the citeria which should be well defined and set out, should be given equal opportunity. Right now if you sing certain topics , such topics are ignored. An untempo calypso should not be dismissed as party and ignored as a competition song.

Judges need to talk to the calypsonians, The artistes should be told what the theme is for a particular year and how one should treat the theme because this is an intellectual exercise, it is just not entertainment only. Constant consultations between artistes and judges/administrators is important to the building of this thing. We have a responsiblity to nuture it and care for it. We cant just leave it up to chance

The semifinals should be moved from Friday afternoons to Saturday and the finalists increased to 24 or 30

5. Asiba there is nothing wrong with the competition if it sits within an overall development plan for the music industry in Barbados

6. Everything is wrong with competition as we know it. It is a construct of the capitalist colonialistic mentality and it is used for destructive purposes.

It should not be used to judge ART.

HOW CAN YOU JUDGE ART ????

ART should not be judged in competition

It is wrong, it is a sinful act and there will always be problems with it. The development of music does not need this so-called competition and this occurence says where we are as a people. It has wider societal implications than runs pretty deep.

7. This is Asiba -The Buffalo Soldier
    I have known Don for a long time
    He is an honourable man. Please give him the chance to explain and to clear whatever mess there is to be cleared. Yes I did see him Finals night while I was at the VIP gate.

Being at the VIP gate was an interesting exercise. Here I was standing and observing who were going through that VIP gate. I noted that Calypsonians -longtime or newbies –did not go through the gate. I asked myself the question : Are calypsonians VIPs in the Crop- Over Festival ? This is not a criticism of who went through the gate because I accept and recognize that the NC F must and should cater to their Sponsors and others who make contributions to our culture and to overall development. I am just saying that standing there at the gate caused me to reflect and asked the question. Of course one is always looking for material

Calypsonains built this Crop Over thing : we invested money into the Festival and we continue to do so. The returns have been minimal. How many Calypsonians benefit from Crop Over after all the sacrifices ?

The first season I sang Calypso in a Tent, I received thirty(30) dollars at the end of the season. As a matter of fact, everybody received the same money because after expenses what was left was divided equally. Personally I felt as though I was making a contribution to Barbados and that I was helping in the building of something beneficial to my country.

Over the years we the CALYPSONIANS have spent loads of money on costumes, arrangements, recordings and other activities associated with making a festival . We made a proposal to the NCF that they provide money to help us with the cost of props on stage during their competitions (SEMIFINALS & FINALS) because it is very costly and if you dont win the competition you can be out some big bucks.
    In case you are not aware, we the calypsonains spend money on props to make an NCF show happen—-utterly ridiculous !
    -the moneyasked for has not been forthcoming

Tents in Barbados are at the crossroads and something must be done to assist their development and survival if they are to survive. Maybe the concept of the Tent has become obosolete. The Tent is used to feed artistes into the NCF competitions. Maybe the competitions should be abolished and the Tents could become a greater part of the Festival which should become more of a Music Festival