Source: VOA News

Barbados has enjoyed the reputation for many years as a nation which was on the cutting edge of solar technology. The late Professor Oliver Headley of the University of the West Indies (UWI) was the pioneer who led the charge to position solar energy as a viable energy option. It appears that he gained more recognition for his work outside Barbados shores. Almost six years since his unfortunate demise, and his vision for the solar industry appears to have floundered. The sum representation of solar development in Barbados appears to be still anchored on the roll-out of solar water heaters. As far as we are aware there is no significant development anywhere in Barbados which is attempting to move the solar industry to the next level.

The sun will still shine when the oil runs out

Professor Oliver Headley

Despite what some may construe as a harsh critique of the current state of the solar industry in Barbados, we still have to give recognition to Reverend Andrew Hatch, and Mr. Solar Energy himself James Husbands. In a country and region blessed with a high standard of education, it seems sacrilegious that our region located a stone throw from the equator, would ignore a technology which facilitates the harnessing of solar energy. Successive governments continue to pay lip service to the national development of alternative sources of energy. It should be obvious if we are to search for an alternative energy supply, solar must be at the top of the list.

In the short time Prime Minister David Thompson has ascended to office, he finds himself defending the number of frequent flyer miles he has been racking-up. One sojourn BU would endorse is a visit to the Israel’s Negev Desert where engineer Hy Brown is building small prototype homes that run entirely on solar power. He explains, “We have the opportunity by putting solar power on each house, more than what the house(s) use, of turning each house into a mini power plant which is a different way to provide energy for the Neg. Desert.” This would be a constructive undertaking. Barbados has had a long association with the Jewish community brought about when they introduced sugar cane to Barbados in the 17th century.

To our friend Sir Hillary Beckles, who appears to have cemented a bridge of cooperation between the University of the West Indies and the private sector. Who would have thought that this was possible after the Mutual Affair! Would it do any harm to divert a few of the millions to build on the ground-breaking work started by Professor Oliver Headley? Now there is a legacy which would symbolize excellence that would be of value to a proud independent nation, and at the same time lend credit to the UWI. Given the finite state of fossil fuel on the planet, our indigenous university would not be faulted if it sought to establish a private public sector partnership dubbed “The Hunt for Sustainable Solar Energy”.

If the BU family senses that we have become somewhat impatient at the stymied performance of the solar industry to date, you would be correct in your assessment. In recent years it has become clear that the solar industry in Barbados has lacked the vision at a time when the national requirement DEMANDS that it offers the possibility to be a key success factor in the sustainable development of Barbados.

47 responses to “Barbados Solar Industry In Flux”

1. Maybe just maybe it is what drove the professor to his death!

2. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

It has been said that Cuba has made great advances in photovoltaic technology. Some Cuban rural schools are said to completely powered by solar panels.

Given the DLP manifesto promises, I expect to see much emphasis being placed on solar energy use in near future.

3. Now is the time for Barbados to push the research in solar. If USA sees the benefit we must too!

May 12: Energy Risk – The Gift of Solar

Author: Ken Silverstein, EnergyBiz Insider, Editor-in-Chief
    Date: Monday, May 12, 2008

Solar energy’s presence is now felt. If its influence is to expand, however, researchers must innovate and develop tools to store the power.

That’s the view from researchers at the Massachusetts’s Institute of Technology who have received a substantial grant to make it all happen. Their overall goal is to improve today’s mechanics, or to bring in disruptive technologies, that would greatly increase efficiencies and add value. As advances are made, prices will drop and give solar energy a chance to compete with conventional fuel sources.

Today’s solar photovoltaic technologies have an efficiency rate of 10-15 percent. That compares to a thermal efficiency rate for a coal plant of 35 percent — the amount of energy that ultimately gets converted to electricity. Solar is also more expensive, costing about 25 cents a kilowatt hour. That’s compared to about 9 cents a kilowatt hour for natural gas and 5 cents a kilowatt hour for modern coal-burning plants, as well as 6 cents a kilowatt hour for wind energy if tax considerations are included.

“We think within the next decade that much of the critical, underlying science can be resolved,” says Ernie Moniz, professor and director of the MIT Energy Initiative. “Then there are all kinds of external issues such as federal regulation and carbon pricing that will drive the rate of penetration. It will all serve to scale up manufacturing. Our job is to get rid of the key barriers and to create higher efficiencies that will lead to lower costs.”

Solar power is also challenged by when, where and how often the sun shines. The American Southwest, for example, has twice the production potential of the Northeast, but that’s where more people are located. Moreover, the sun only shines a third of the time even in the brightest locations, after factoring in darkness, dawn, dusk and clouds. That makes it difficult to cover the cost of paying off a capital-intensive technology.

That’s where the MIT undertaking comes in. Its Solar Revolution Project, which is one of the largest solar energy clusters at any academic institution, is funded by an initial gift of $10 million by the Chesonis Family Foundation. Researchers there will explore new materials and systems that aspire to accelerate the availability of solar energy. Specifically, it will focus on three elements-capture, conversion and storage — that will ultimately make solar power a viable, near-term energy source.

The key driver is climate change and what the project’s sponsors say is an urgent need to develop carbon-free energy sources. Solar energy is clean, abundant and widespread. It can be used to increase electricity generating capacity while decreasing greenhouse gas emissions as compared to other energy conversion pathways. But until efficiencies are reached and the technologies are developed that can store the sun’s energy, it will be limited to providing power during the hottest days.

“Yes, at large scale, the sun is the answer to the energy future of our planet,” says Dan Nocera, W.M. Keck Professor of Energy at MIT. “The technologies are feasible, but they do not currently exist and hence the comment that you so often hear ‘solar is the answer but it is far off in the future.’ This is not the same as a pipedream.”

Hitting Stride

Solar energy is promising and in fact, has received the greatest share of new capital flowing into green enterprises. Like all other fuel forms that include coal, natural gas and nuclear, solar has received some much needed tax breaks to penetrate the market and to become more competitive with other options. Last year, those breaks helped increase installations in the sector by 43 percent.

Winning new capital from venture capitalists and major manufacturers of generation technologies remains challenging. Such enterprises are stepping forward. The endeavor is no doubt helped by state mandates that are giving investors more confidence that they can earn handsome returns. California, for example, requires utilities to provide 20 percent of their fuel options in the form of green energy by 2010. That has motivated solar manufacturers from around the globe to start bidding on projects.

Solar energy now provides less than 1 percent of all energy needs in this country. Currently, 742 megawatts of solar cells are produced annually worldwide. Germany has 500 megawatts of solar energy already installed. That market, along with Japan’s and the United States’, accounts for 75 percent of the world’s solar photovoltaic market. Globally, the market value tied to solar power is pegged at $4 billion.

Solar panels, which are distributed on rooftops, convert sunlight directly into electricity. Creating new components and processes is ongoing. Solar cells, for instance, used to be made up mostly of electronics. Now they are composed of silicon semiconductor materials. Plastics, polymers and bio-materials are also used. The question then becomes which of these can be produced at the least costs and with the greatest efficiencies.

“The cost of solar cells has already come down because of innovations in technology,” says David Lee, CEO of BioSolar in Santa Clarita, Calif., which uses bio-based materials in its products. Not too long ago, solar power had cost $1 per kilowatt hour, he says, noting that “We need to reduce costs even further by providing cheaper components.”

The next big step is to figure out how to harness the sun’s energy. Batteries are one option. But they could be bested by using renewable energy as a catalyst to create pure hydrogen. That energy could then be used to power everything from cars to generators without creating any harmful emissions.

The more effort that goes into studying solar power, the sooner it will be adopted on a wider scale. Solar now has its legs. But researchers such as those at MIT hope that it will hit stride within a decade’s time.

Republished with permission from CyberTech, Inc. EnergyBiz Insider is published three days a week by Energy Central. For more information about Energy Central, or to subscribe to EnergyBiz Insider, other e-newsletters and EnergyBiz magazine, please go to http://www.energycentral.com/.

4. SMALL BUSINESS OWNER Avatar
    SMALL BUSINESS OWNER

I wonder what the installed cost of a Solar Air-Condition unit would be like ? Also how soon can we have them readily available in Barbados?

5. Banned Again form VOB Avatar
    Banned Again form VOB

Well BFP is ‘moderating’ all of my opposition comments and allowing the most obscene criticisms of foreign cultures to get through unhindered. Those madman are on a campaign to smear everything non-Western. What Hypocrisy to speak on the one hand of the freedom of the internet and blogging sites, and on the other hand to callously promote contempt of foreign cultures while censoring all opposition comments.

6. David,

I have a friend who runs his home on pure solar energy. His home has all the usual appliances to be found in a normal household, micro wave,toaster oven, stove, oven etc.
    He also has a server room/office where he monitors servers for various companies.
    His house is powered by four large solar panels and one wind turbine in his back yard.
    The equipment is not that expensive either. He had approached the last Gob about setting up some other homes as a project but as the Gob changed these ideas were lost. Hopefully the present Gob would listen this time.
    On another note, isnt one of our solar companies doing some work in Nigeria right now? I am sure I met some guys one night in Oistins, who were getting ready to live there on a one year contract

7. Technician thanks for the feedback. it would be good info to share the specifics to which you made mention. We are aware the the Sun Power brand has procured some orders from Nigeria (we think) and has set up some kind of an assembly/distribution operation over there.

A project such as this should be on the national agenda and it should not matter the government occupying office. We are alarmed to hear that former Minister Liz Thompson who boasts of being environment minister for 11 years would have dropped the ball on this one. Did she not just receive the Champion of the Earth Award? There should be a master plan by now of how government proposed to integrate solar energy generation to supplement current energy needs.

8. Andrew Nehaul Avatar

Heating via Solar power is now more than relevant with the high cost of oil. This is true especially in Europe where homes are heated with circulating hot water. However in many European countries the use of solar is limited, even though their location provide them with many sunny days. I have seen some equipment installed on rooftops in Italy & Spain but not in any great quantity.

The market for solar power is from the south of Sweden to Portugal and from the UK to Turkey. A vast market, so why don’t the Barbadian purveyors of solar power who have been very successful locally, not look towards exporting their expertise to other countries?

9. It appears that Barbados has become stuck in the idea that to join the rest of the world and rely on fossil fuel is the comfortable position to have. Foe so many years we have had the opportunity to create Barbados as a model solar country.

Now the world has caught up and any competitive advantage we might have squeezed out of it maybe gone now. We know the people who should know say that using solar is expensive but the question is, relative to what?

10. Keith Headley Avatar

Sigh.

Hi everyone. Keith Headley, son of Prof. Oliver Headley here. you know, if you have about 20,000 US you can convert your home to PV (Photovoltaics, electricity from the sun). Skystream, just today sent me an email – 12, 000 to 15,000 US for wind. There are some of us who have to use a lot of electricity. Run a workshop for example and you’ll know. Then there are the rest of us who have to make a choice. Barbados was and is perfect as a renewable energy Heaven. Sustainable anything, like tourism, is expensive. You have to make a decided investment in it, before you see any money.
    Yes money. PV today is almost as valuable as gold. Wind energy companies are setting record profits. We need to make up our minds what we want. If we do nothing that’s what we will get – nothing. I personally know over a hundred people who are seriously interested in renewable energy in Barbados. But are they as well organised as tourism? No. Are they as well funded? No.
    Barbados must choose. You do not have to lower your standard of living to live a sustainable life, but it does cost more money. The better your standard of living the more it costs to go green.
    How much are we willing to invest?

11. reality check Avatar

good discussion

solar energy will have to be one of the several solutions going into the next century.

If the last group of elected officials were more concerned about the future of Barbados rather than filling their offshore bank accounts, surely Barbados could have had a few joint ventures with some research and development companies who are leading the way.

Its never too late for the new government to investigate the possibilities of these posibilities.

12. reality check Avatar

make that “these joint venture arrangements”

13. Keith Headley thanks for enlightening the BU family. Can you give us specifics i.e. a road map for John Citizen or a plan for dummies to convert regular home to solar power?

14. David,

The idea of ordinary Bajans now individually converting their homes to solar and wind generation is a pie in the sky.

Obviously there are some of us with the knowledge, skill, patience and not to mention the $40,000 that it would take to purchase and install the needed equipment to produce about 400 KWH (units) per month (about the average middle class usage)

The challenge of nursing and monitoring inverters, charge controllers, batteries and the needed safety devices etc is not really practical for the average citizen.

A far more desirable arrangement would have been a situation where the Power Company had developed a plan to convert some percentage of thier generation from fossil generators to a combination of the alternative green sources of power generation.
    Even if only 5 – 10% had been achieved to date we would now have some useful experience, contacts, and expertise to assist in the coming crunch.

Since you have such a good relationship with the company maybe you could find out why such a plan has not been explored seriously- given the experience of the oil crisis of the 70’s.

I am also at a loss as to how various governments could have continued to neglect to plan for a future without cheap oil….

stupssssss – what am i saying?

what loss what?!?

…the basic problem with Barbados is that we have no leadership, no planning, no vision, no wisdom….

…with everyone across the world now recognising the urgent value of solar technology, do you really think that we will be now able to delve into this new area quickly, cheaply or efficiently??

…I will be surprised if such equipment is even available for purchase in a few months time….

….Micro Mock Engineer… ‘endgame’ time my friend.

15. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Let us do a back-of-the-envelope calculation in order to examine the desirability of a PV system for an individual home owner.

I will make some crude assumptions to make my calculations simple.These are ;

1) the cost of the PV system for a average home=$40, 000 (using K. Headley’s figure)

2) monthly electricity bill = $200/month (based on my present usuage and bill)

3) inflation to be 3% per annum and constant for the indefinite future (accept this..no arguments!)

4) interests on savings (3% per annum also assume this to be constant)

5) PV system will last 25 years including the batteries (I know the batteries don’t last this long but let’s keep it simple!)

6) PV system has no value after 25 years.

7) I have $40, 000. I do not have to borrow the money…not likely for most of us but again keeping our model simple …)

8) No maintenance costs. (Unlikely but I have no figures to work with..)

So I have two options. Either put the money (40k) in a savings account and buy electricity from Light and Power for the next 25 years or install a PV system and not have to pay for electricity for 25 years. My rough calculations indicate that the future value of $40k after 25 years is about $84,000. The total sum of electricity bills over 25 years = $88,000 (treating it as a Geometric Progression).

I conclude that according to my very ,very crude model I will be only $4000 better off after 25 years if I install the PV system. What this suggests that a more detailed (and realistic) analysis would show that for the individual home owner solar power is NOT economically feasible.

My analysis can and should be refined – ( i.e take into account maintenance, better predictions of interest rates and inflation, better prediction on the movement of the price of electricity etc) but as a starting point it does not appear that solar power to be economically feasible (AT THIS TIME).

16. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Scary as it sounds but I am in full agreement with Bush Tea whose post above I did NOT read before posting mine.

That said, the matter of the mysterious Phase 2 still needs to be detailed.

17. Thanks for the analysis but are they not some variables that you are missing? The more people come on board the simple concept of economies of scale should kick in. The other variable is the level of involvement via tax incentives which improves the economic consideration and last but not least there is the savings of foreign exchange which introduces the prospect of opportunity cost. Foreign exchange savings is priceless when placed in a national context.

18. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Yes I agree with ALL that you have writen but it is the actions of Government that will be critical to the development of alternative energy. Again, Bush Tea’s proposal that a better return on investment would be attained if Light and Power pursued diversification instead of individual home owners, is probably the way to go. On the matter of leadership, I think that Minister JOHN Boyce is probably best suited by training and experience to attack the issue.

19. Why would a monopoly that has a business model by they own admission which guarantees a fair rate of return modify said model because it is the national interest? As a publicly traded company does it have ONE obligation and that is to ‘create shareholder value?

Having said all the above it must be competition or some kind of MOU between government and other stakeholders with Barbados Light & Power or other at the centre of the agreement.

20. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

All that I can add is that it very rare in developed countries for 100% of its energy to be derived from fossil fuels. So what do they know that we do not?

21. Gabe,

….You have me feverishly reviewing my position now too 🙂 , …. suddenly PV seems ‘desirable’.

In fact your estimate is super conservative.

Batteries are next most expensive after the PV panels and Batteries will last only about 5-8 years and that assumes that they are relatively well managed (not overcharged or overly discharged)
    … for the system outlined, batteries will cost you approximately $6,000 – $8,000.

The PV panels will last for 20 -25 years, but the various electronic components such as charge controllers, inverters etc are unlikely to be as robust.

I suspect that you will therefore spend an additional $30,000 over the next 25 years on batteries and other system repairs and upgrades related to home repairs etc.

However, if you think that electricity costs will increase annually by 3% or so then I have a super investment deal for you….( wink wink)

Overall, however – I feel that a PV system would be a great investment, I just think that it is impractical for the ordinary citizen to manage.

…with respect to phase two, I suspect that you know a lot more that you letting on…

22. BT et al one of our frustrations at times are the people who obviously are seized with information and feel only to release said information in drips and drabs. No member of the BU household is a dentist, please share the information.

Maybe some of the people who log on from the various government offices and media houses will learn a thing or two.

23. Micro-Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro-Mock Engineer

BT and Gabriel making too much sense… and agreeing wid one annuda…

I like I got to recheck that Project Schedule fuh real!

24. Net metering with the power company would allow householders to sell surplus energy. This would go some way to offsetting the cost of installing the system.

Tax rebate similar to water heater rebates woud be helpful.

Low interest loans to acquire the pv panels would help.

Major public and private institutions may be well positioned to make the necessary investments.

25. Thanks JR because in a nutshell that is all we have been saying while BT and crew dazzle us with their expertize :-).

The key here is that large companies in Barbados could make significant investments in acquiring the inputs for these mini-solar systems and distribute and pass-on the benefits of economies of scale to consumers. The incentive for them doing it would be a tax incentives from government.

26. Banned Again form VOB Avatar
    Banned Again form VOB

Sorry, I am lost with David’s last comment. The estimate given for the PV is US 20000, I am sure Mr Headley meant duty free. The comparison was done on this estimate. Of course it may fall as world wide popularity improves but it appears that there are no gains to be had at present and for the foreseeable future. How could you expect any economies of scale by attempting a value added campaign or anything? I believe you may be referring to buying the parts in bulk (tax free) and assembling them here or something, I don’t know, I am not reading you.

27. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Micro-Mock Engineer, I figured you would be nearby.. LOL… first off contrary to some medieval representations of myself, I’m a he not a she and secondly “Walrasian delusions?” Is this being dismissive of the hypothesis that the value of goods is determined by setting scarcity relative to human wants? Oh to live in a Keynesian fantasy. As to Bush Tea, the plot as they say thickens with the Magi (cubes?)

28. David,

…no one wants to hear Bush tea go on and on bragging about details of alternative energy.

It goes without saying that someone who is convinced that this world is in for a most stressful time would be well versed in alternative energy systems….

In any case, my experience is that information is most valued and valuable when there is a degree of ‘tooth pulling’ involved.

JR, the reality is that what you are proposing is about 10 years too late. When we had excellent credit ratings and people like OSA and your boss Hillary were spending millions like it was free money – would have been an excellent opportunity to encourage investment in long term alternative energy systems.

In addition to PV, there is actually excellent potential for wind and also for wave power generation here in Barbados – but with our traditional lack of vision we just continued to build around more and more oil….

…study the parable of the ten virgins carefully…

…running around now, looking to buy Alt. energy AFTER the oil bubble has burst is exactly like the five foolish virgins….

…but what does a Bush tea know?…. my friend Micro Mock Engineer probably expects that one of his key engineering firms will come up with a world-saving technology by year-end…. maybe the much heralded hydrogen fuel cell?

….don’t hold your breath MME.

29. Gabriel,

You are obviously well read. Many are unaware of Lowell’s research on Nibiru, or of the scientific debate on the existence or otherwise of planet X – and therefore of possible implications for us.

…I would not be surprised to learn that you are also well versed in the relevant quatrains of Michel de Nostredame…

…while vaguely aware of these and other literature, Bush tea’s theory of ‘Project life on Earth’ is independently derived….

….must admit that the merging of dates around 2003 -2112 is particularly interesting…

Have a good night Magnus Gabe

30. Gabriel the Horn Blower Avatar
    Gabriel the Horn Blower

Off to the Elysian Fields.

“I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I

31. Petro-Caribe and Cuban technology, cheap cheap, cheap

32. Banned Again form VOB~we assume that the cost being introduced by some people on people who seem to be well versed in these matters maybe based on that part of the distribution chain retailer to consumer. We are saying if the government is interested why not go to the source i.e.manufacturer and cut=out the middle players.

Bush tea et al seem to think it maybe too late to go this route but maybe they are wrong? The maintenance of mini-solar systems can be outsourced for a reasonable fee. Now would be a good time to build a cadre of young technicians produced from our Samuel Jackman Prescod Polyclinic.

33. There is no evidence in posts above that Light and Power will ever buy energy from a consumer, and that batteries will then not be necessary. It looks as if Barbados is not the progressive society it is advertised to be. My prediction is that there will be no moves towards empowering the public in these energy areas. It is a damn shame, Bajans are ignored and the Bajan wallet will always be led to the slaughter by insider trading. Just like the DLP ignored integrity, it will allow Light and Power to write our future energy strategy. Damn shame I say. What a waste.

Nudge nudge wink wink to all of you above.

34. Straight talk Avatar

There is a team having encouraging results with infra-red Photo-voltaic cells.

Very much in the research phase, but if successful they will produce electricity day and night, obviating the need for battery backup (and BL&P).

35. Keith Headley Avatar

You know, there are so many things I’d like to reply to I almost don’t know where to start.
    OK let me start with reality check. There is no successful PV program we have seen anywhere that didn’t have serious government help and a large initial investment. This includes here where all large PV projects save the Solar House are in limbo. Next, amazingly no that is not a duty free figure. And yes Bush Tea makes some valid technical points along with Gabriel’s wildly optimistic (but surprisingly valid from personal experience) analysis.
    Here’s what you do if you want to build a PV system. Long list of instructions to follow.
    First, buy single crystal silicon cells. They are the only ones that last 20-25 years (have some here in Barbados pushing 32 years – still working).
    Second do not let the cells be shaded. This is the only known way to destroy solar cells during normal operation. Shading causes massive overheating of the cells. By shading I mean, for example, a tree covers half of the panel in shade – at any time. Keep them completely uncovered.
    Third face them toward the sun. This is a really technical area, but anyone who knows how to put up hot water panel understands this. Same principles on angles, azimuth, direction, etc.
    Fourth make a decision. Grid connect or Grid independent. GC – cheaper, little to maintain. GI – say goodbye to BL&P. Surges, blackouts, brownouts are SEPs – Someone Else’s Problem(s).
    Fifth. Buy a Trace Inverter. No they are not the best. They are the best value for money and very resistant to stupidity. Some high efficiency ones will literally blow up if you connect a house powering amount of PV panels to them the wrong way. Trace are now Xantrex by the way.
    Side note: my father never charged for expertise and neither do I. If it costs me money then I ask for money. Simple. Note you usually may have to pay a consultant lots to get this type of info.
    More to follow.

36. Keith Headley Avatar

OK I have a lot to say and not a lot of time to say it. There is a lot of stuff I would ask myself, and there are questions that I would then ask you. For example – how many panels do you buy? To which I ask: What kind of appliances do you have? I’m trying to find out how much electricity you are using. Cheapest way; get all your old light bills. See how may kilowatt hours (kWh) you are using each month. How much money you are charged is NOT a good indicator. It depends too much on the fuel adjustment clause. What can change your bill the most? Anything with a compressor. Huh? Freezer, large A/C, Fridge, small A/C, workshop air compressor in that order, most electricity to least. Remember it’s not just how much power they use, it’s also how long they are on for.
    Now you have your AVERAGE kWh. Next you need your PEAK. Get the peak wrong and you destroy your batteries. Again compressors are the problem. When they turn on they use far more than they use on average. Example. Your microwave is on, you’re toasting bread, you open the fridge for a minute and the breaker trips – peak power; your fridge came on and overloaded things.
    So here’s your dilemma – do you pay more and cover every possibility or do you teach everyone at home not to use certain things at the same time? Another example. Most people use Solar, but if you use an electric shower head heater, that’s a major peak user and a significant ( but lower than those on the list above) addition to your average kWh use. Depending on how many people shower and how often.
    More to follow

37. Keith Headley Avatar

Quick note to satisfy the technical. Peak is really a function of current and not kWh. So you are trying to find out your peak current (in amps).
    Here’s a link on how (so much easier than typing all that).
    http://michaelbluejay.com/electricity/measure.html

38. To Keith Headley. Super thanks for all the info. I am considering a system for my home, but without the deep discharge batteries because of the cost, the room needed for their installation, and their ultimate disposal (not very environmentally friendly) A friend has let on to me that BL&P intend to go to net metering and TOU rate billing in the very near future, so hopefully while I’m at work and home comsumption is low I can be racking up credits. You know, I have looked at the costs and I agree that under current legislation with no tax breaks or duty concessions the cost of the outlay will not be easily recoverable, or maybe unrecoverable. However, in light of the fuel crisis I believe that has to save some fuel. I feel that if you can afford it, you should do your part as an investment in all of our childrens’ future.
    I would welcome an opportunity to have a discussion on the subject with you.

39. Keith Headley Avatar

To Eastern Son and those who are thinking like him; you can contact me at my day job at CXC, Nemwil building: 434 2008. Just ask for me.

40. […] PV system now mailed to you is similar to that in the Israeli video clip in your earlier blog on solar, but not as bulky; please see ’slide 6′… it doesn’t take up much room; can […]

41. Note: The GOB owns shares in BL & P and would not want to lose that revenue.

42. Keith Headley Avatar

Maybe not iWatchya,

but there come a point where you have to make to hard decisions.
    I really worry about our food and energy security should a category five hurricane hit Barbados. I have personally seen what happens when people get desperate for food and water – and you can’t pump water on a large scale in Barbados without electricity . . .

43. Sorry that the you all did not consider the environmental factors, such as the possible shortage of fossil fuel, the carbon monoxide, and the additional cost, base of these factors, to produce electricity. Please contact me, I will be in Barbados the week of November 6th 2009, and I will be looking for partners to manufactures Solar Panels.

e.p.parris@worldnet.att.net

44. For a long time it has puzzled me as to why Barbados, which is one of the leaders in solar water systems in the Caribbean, restricts itself only to that especially for a country with limited natural resources?

Many thanks to Keith, David and others for this. My “mission” is slightly more complex, yet just as simple, I plan on coming to Barbados and speaking to a few people as part of my research.

As for Barbadian involvement in solar energy in Nigeria, I don’t think the Bajans involved realised what they were getting into was politicking and personality clashing Nigerian style which really is a distraction from the work they intended to do. Too much in-fighting in that situation, which the Bajan presence simply provoked (albeit unknowingly).

The whole affair has painted Bajans and their efforts in an unfair and negative light, so I am looking for an alternative minus the politics and drama. Having visited Nigeria and seen the potential, I believe it is very possible to sell some of the Bajan knowledge there on a more practical (and less highly political) scale.

45. @Noni

Are you in a position to provide more details on the issues which affected the business transaction with the Africans?

46. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole
    my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so
    she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has
    83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

47. […] posted continues to resonate with the blogmaster. Take note his comment was posted in 2008 to the Barbados Solar Industry in flux […]