PM Arthur’s Tiawan Deal Allegations Exposed As Lies

There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots?

115 responses to “The Games That Newspapers Play”

1. The Nation would have had to inform the BLP that that particular article was on its way. There has to be collusion between the nation and the BLP. This is not good for the media especially when it is clear that the BLP controls both the Advocate and the Nation

2. Who is funding BLP? Communist China?

3. I fail to see this taiwanese issue resonation with Bajans. I would hazard a guess that I am not alone in wondering who is paying for all this spending that both parties are puting on. I would also guess that most Bajans don’t appreciate the tiawan issue in the manner that Owen and Mia would wish that they do. For Owen To refer to Tiawan as a rogue state or province , tells me that he too is not convince of the argument, and the effect of this bombshell. The BLP may be right in that this revalation was indeed a bombSHELL and not a real bomb, and therefore not having the desired effect. 😀

4. The ad is twice saying to the readership
    BEES — YES
    DEMS NO

Which is the theme of the BLP”s campaign song! QED

5. The Nation newspaper is obviously in collusion with the BLP but the story has not had the desired effect. The people have already made up their minds. I have a lot of personal friends who voted BLP last time. I have been on the phone with them a lot and they are telling me that this time they are voting DLP because they cannot stand the arrogance and lack of accountability of this present administration, plus they say that 15 years if enough for any party to be in power. This feeling has resonated with many people.

6. Tony, that’s exactly how I feel. Vote the BLP out and hold the fire to the feet of DLP. They will not have that arrogant attitude as they will have to quickly deliver the goods.

7. Please ask David thompson if the dlp was expecting to receive funds from the taiwanese for the campaign. there is a difference between funds received ( which thompson denied) and funds to be received ( which he has not been asked)

8. In October 1971, Resolution 2758 was passed by the UN General Assembly, expelling “the representatives of Chiang Kai-shek” and replacing the China seat on the Security Council (and all other UN organs) with delegates from the People’s Republic of China. It declared “that the representatives of the Government of the People’s Republic of China are the only lawful representatives of China to the United Nations” and thus do not regard the Republic of China as legitimately representing the whole of China.

We should therefore not be recognising the Republic of china( taiwan)

9. Donald Duck – perhaps the BLP should have waited until the funds were actually received by the DLP before making the accusation. The BLP will not let us forget David Thompson’s big flop with the secret IMF deal. Have they now made the same mistake?

10. When Barbadians go to the poles on January 15, 2008, they must demonstrate to the Media and all political parties that they do not ‘follow fools gladly’.
    It is hipocritical to think that so much has gone on, especially in the last 2 years and the media have failed to inform the public.

This a sad reflection on our society, in today’s world where injustices are committed and intelligent people says nothing.
    Have we all forgotten GERMANY and the man who left his legacy behind for history to repeat itself?’
    The media is staffed by so-called ‘intelligent men’ and MUST take some blame.
    A Barbados with over 95% litterate, with institutions of higher learning, where educated people are too afraid to speak out and do what is right, for fear of some retribution to themselves or family.
    This is a disgrace in a modern democratic society.
    People are not fools. It is quite clear for all to see the “indiscriminate way of the newspaper above. It is simply TRYING to advise people, the party of choice; that is what I can see. ‘You scratch my back and I yours’.
    If the newspaper had printed ‘No’,’Yes’; ‘hell would have been on fire’.
    The MEDIA must be free to inform and not to mislead and every Journalist who is worth his ‘salt’ should be at the forefront, fighting to ensure best pratice.
    Come this election,we all should and must see change.
    All over the country people are crying out for change. Come January 16,2008, the people will see that change.

11. Brutus

the average bajan can see thru what david thompson is denying. for instance tonight thompson announces on his political broadcast that the dlp will remove vat on electricity for businesses and individuals. the dlp manifesto says they will examine the possibility of so doing. Where then is the true manifesto

12. The great Super power USA is doing good business with the ‘old satan’ China and much of the profit made in trade is funding the war in Middle East.
    The great super power has a number of troops based in Taiwan, for just in case.
    This is all political nonsence to imply or to read something which is not there.
    People can see through this FACADE.

13. PM Arthur’s Allegations Exposed As Lies: http://s2.netro.ca/dlpbarbadosod/20080107_PC_Taiwan_China.wma

Cant Wait, Cant Wait, Cant Wait, Man… I VOTING DEM

14. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

It all comes down to two little words….

“to date”

DAVID THOMPSON, DLP: “The DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China or Taiwan….”

Thompson’s denial does not sound convincing to me.

Furthermore….

“The two leadership meetings, as proposed by the BLP, would be between Prime Minister Owen Arthur and DLP president David Thompson, with the second debate between BLP deputy leader Mia Mottley and a deputy to be named by the DLP.”

It reflects very badly that the DLP does not know who its deputy is, ESPECIALLY ONE WEEK BEFORE AN ELECTION.

15. David Thompson as did not explain (or deny) about the 40,000 T Shirts the Owen spoke about that were printed in St. Lucia (they did the say thing last election) also they insult our young people by bringing Luciano, this is Bajan elections could we not have had a selection on Bajan artistes and a band surely then it would have been truly a Bajan affair. Note also like Sonia Cambridge also observed he did not deny it outright, he choose his words carefully.

16. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I wonder why in Heavens name the almighty CBC controlled by the BLP could not find it fit cover the PRESS CONFERENCE GIVEN BY DR DON MARSHALL WHERE HE STATED THAT HIS LIFE WAS THREATENED AT A BLP POLITICAL MEETING ?

17. Fredbands get real, was there NOT KROSFYHA which is a Bajan BAND and other BAJAN bands at the DLP New Years campaign launch Party?

18. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

fredbands,

Also note, the DLP has yet been unable to present live (or recorded) video of any of their meetings.

Contrast that to the BLP where I have been able to show people halfway across the world what politics in Barbados is like by directing them to the BLP website where they were very impressed with Reverend Joseph Atherley’s address to the people on Saturday night at Carlisle Car Park.

Also notice the huge 9,000 to 10,000 crowd of BLP supporters who turned out on Saturday night at Carlisle Car Park. It’s said that the Oistins crowd at the DLP event was much larger, but how many of them were there just because Luciano was performing? In the case of the Bees, those people went there to deal with politics, not politics+entertainment.

The DLP, despite Thompson’s claim that he was ready since late 2006, seems to have been caught partly unprepared and unready. Of course, having said this, the ruling party would have had the benefit of calling the election date.

I still long to hear a debate between Arthur and Thompson, even if it is done without CBC which has now reportedly cancelled the previously planned debates due to the short time remaining. They could meet at the VOB radio studios instead, or they could do it themselves, using the same live streaming video that the BLP has. They could even have it live in Independence Square with two loudspeakers for all I care.

I would have loved to see who the DLP who present as deputy to debate Mia Mottley. To my mind, she is sharp as a razor and NO-ONE in Barbados (or the whole region) would better her in ANY debate. She would make mincemeat out of David Thompson for sure.

19. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

fredbands,

I disagree with you about Luciano coming to Barbados.

CSME is alive and well. And as Caribbean people we should welcome our island neighbours as we have always done in this region.

I have no problem with DLP or BLP getting t-shirts made in other Caribbean territories either. There are some things which are beyond politics, and picking at them only makes one look small minded.

WOW! Eight more days to go. So far so good. I was driving through the outskirts of Bridgetown today and I’m happy with what I’m seeing. Everything cool and calm. Posters of opponents stuck side by side together on poles. Democracy is alive and well in Barbados as it has always been. My main regret is not being able to get recorded videos of the DLP meetings. I’ve never attended a political meeting in all my years, only ever heard the loud raucous voices coming over the loudspeakers in the distance. Being able to go online from the comfort of my home and looking in on the BLP mass meeting revealed a side of Bajan life which I had never actually witnessed before, and I was VERY IMPRESSED, especially with Rev. Joseph Atherley’s address. Would have loved to see the DLP’s people to be able to compare. Hope they will get themselves sorted out with the live streaming before election day.

20. Sonia Cambridge Avatar

Barbados Underground,

I just realised something.

Your headline says “The Games That Newspapers Play”

But what about the games that BLOGS play?

21. There is also the uncomfortable behaviour of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation advertising for the BLP. Should a government station be allowed to advertise for government?

Check it out.

22. (We just got back.)

“We can create a First World Island
    Nation.”
    – 2008 DLP Manifesto, Page 52.

Barbados Underground, we give you the honour of making the first comment about that particular statement.

The DLP manifesto is a very beautiful document which is full of very beautiful promises. From the short perusal we have given it, they seem to be promising Bajans the sun, the moon and all the stars. But can they deliver all of them? And are they promising too much too fast? Are these promises and targets realistic? We at BFPE await the BLP manifesto tonight (Tuesday) which will probably contain something very similar.

~B~F~P~E~

23. David,

“Should a government station be allowed to advertise for government?”

Nonsense.

You would not have had any objections if it was a DLP government or a DLP ad.

24. Campaign financing period. Who are these corporates that have a tradition of financing political parties, and why? If this stops, so many issues will be put to bed. Let’s have a debate on this. This is the mother of all political issues.

WHO FINANCES POLITICAL PARTIES.

25. Green(back) man Avatar

SIGNS of the times.

When a political party start deviating from issues of the campaign to deal with peripheral matters – as the BLP is clearly doing – then they are scraping the bottom of the barrel.

Check Owen fingernails for splinters if yuh doubt me.

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘and Taiwan, a rogue state’
    Nation – 7th January 2008

Interesting………

Universal sufferage 20 years
    97.5% literacy
    9 years compulsory education
    Life expectancy – 77.46
    Unemployment 3.9%
    Per capita GDP – US16,596

Multi-party democracy

Ah! that its…

The PM doesn’t like the thought of a multi-party democracy.

Now lets hear the stats for mainland China!

27. The TAIWANESE gov’t made a statement and said that Owen is LYING !

CBC has REFUSED to play the TAIWAN denial !

CBC has CANCELLED all the proposed TV debates between the leaders from the DLP & BLP !

OWEN ARTHUR IS RESPONSIBLE FOR CBC !

Welcome to BARBADOS……..the world newest DICTATORSHIP !

28. I am very disappointed with the coverage of the election campaign by the media especially the Nation our most read newspaper. The BLP gets massive coverage grabbing headlines on front and back pages practically everyday. Owen Arthur features prominently everyday. The DLP gets minimun coverage. There should be a complete balance. Half and half. This is worst bias I have seen. The BLP controls the media no doubt about it. CBC and the Advocate are of course worse than the Nation. Those two media are literally working out of BLP offices in Roebuck Street. CBC is an outright arm of the BLP. Strictly BLP propaganda is seen on CBC tv. The DLP gets very little coverage. Shame on the media houses.

29. The People's Democratic Congress Avatar
    The People’s Democratic Congress

We in Barbados have entered the final week of electoral campaigning in this country. Too, we are beginning to realize more and more what the result will be at the end of voting. We in the People’s Democratic Congress have already said that this BLP Government WILL LOOSE this Election. And we are primarily stating such because of what seven (7) out of every ten (10) persons who intend to vote this election have been saying to us: that they will NOT be voting for this wretched and failed BLP Government this election. What is very important about this statistic is that it relates to three major facets: –

(1), some persons who did NOT vote in previous elections saying that they are sure that this time they WILL COME OUT AND VOTE FOR THE FIRST TIME but NOT for the BLP, but for other parties including the PDC;

(2), some persons who VOTED in previous elections for the BLP saying that they are sure that they WILL VOTE for other parties other than the BLP; and

(3), some persons who VOTED in previous elections for the BLP saying that are sure that they will NOT VOTE for any body.

So, right away you can deduce therefrom that voter support across this country for this BLP is seriously tumbling, and that voter support is increasing for other parties, including the PDC, esp. since in this schema FAR MORE AND MORE persons are saying that they are switching support from the BLP to other parties than any are saying that they are switching support from other parties to the BLP, and than any are saying that they definitely WILL NOT VOTE for any body.

Also, we are encouraging those who will vote in this election to make sure that they efficiently mobilize themselves and others, esp. those who remain a little undecided about voting but who will still in the end turn out and vote, to go and vote very early on polling day.

Finally, we in PDC are working to make sure that there is a higher voter turn out than the last election. For sure, if there is really a higher voter turn out than last time, it must be that this will be more evidence of thousands and thousands of Barbadians being every so frustrated and sick and tired with this BLP Government, and therefore really and truly their being certain about VOTING this government OUT of office, which WILL be great thing for this country. Good riddance!!

See you at the polls!!

30. If any ah wanna t’irds parties split the opposition vote I goin’… and I goin’… and when I done, I goin’…. I can believe how people could tink dat by having more parties in a tight ecection goin’ help anyt’ing. Nincumpoops

31. I am not at all frustrated with the present government. In fact, life for me is quite good in Barbados. It seems to me that this blog is filled with the same DLP person(s) showing signs of desperation.

I know lots of poor people who were helped by the Urban Development Commission. I don’t know a single person in my entire community who is suffering.

32. monique, u need to take off ur blinkers….15 years is good enuff…we r suffering !

33. monique, u need to take off ur blinkers….15 years is good enuff…we r suffering !

34. wow !!, You are suffering enough to have internet access. Yeah, right. Who do you people think you can FOOL?

35. Today we have David Thompson making accusations of wire-tapping.

Thompson went on: “We have had a campaign strategist who previously indicated that a personal conversation that took place between him and somebody else was referred to in some detail by the Prime Minister.”

Who is he trying to fool? All that happened is that ONE of the people who had the conversation TALKED to someone else afterwards and the word reached the BLP.

36. Sorry Mr. Thompson. You need to look for LEAKS not TAPS.

37. I would like to point out the following:

1) To Anon – if you do a check you will see that every election – every single one going back to the BLP rule – the Nation newspaper does the same thing – it gives the BLP front and back page coverage – even when the DLP is making the headlines e.g. launching their manifesto,announcing new policy decisions etc – the BLP will still somehow get at the top of the front page ,even if it means getting an article to talk about the DLP erecting Billboard posters or taiwanese tee shirts.

2)As we well know the Nation newspaper owns VOB – so if there is such clear bias at this media house – why should the DLP (if they are the new government) give the Nation/Vob a T.V. license?

Have you noticed how certain moderators go out of their way to put the BLP side of the story or give a BLP slant even if it means shutting up an anti – blp caller.
    I think they refer to it as ‘balance’.

3)I too noted that something as serious as a death threat made against a senior university lecturer (Dr Don Marshall) – who wrote an article in the Nation a few weeks back – which resulted in Arthur cussing him at his nomination meeting in st peter – yet this press conference by Dr Marshall was given no coverage by CBC.

I think that the dlp on assuming office must give serious consideration to who the new media players would be,and to try and limit the influence of the trinidadian media houses role in Barbados.

Note,Clico has a television company in Trinidad,and they must not be given a license here.

What about wealthy bajans in North America – they could be considered as players in the field.

38. fredbands,
    What nonsense are you talking? Owen spearheaded the CSME and is proud of such achievements? I thought we were going towards a one economy one market for the Caribbean…where then is the insult?How can you and Owen criticise the inclusion of a positive Jamaican artiste and after elections and after elections take a different position. You speak as though you do not have a brain for ypourself.
    Owen is a dictstor.

39. http://www.nationnews.com/story/335174842586749.php

If the economy is in such a crisis as reported in the newspaper attributed to Mr. Estwick, then how can Mr. Thompson give all these things in the manifesto, will we be reduced back again to the days of Sandi? They are talking in two different tongues, either Estwick or Thompson is lying?

40. Sonia Cambridge
    In the case of the Bees, those people went there to deal with politics, not politics+entertainment.

Your statement is speculative. This is no way under you were God that you can state with any accuracy that person attending BLP meeting are more genuine than those attending DLP meeting.That make no sense. The DLP has many young and vibrant supporters. Can you look at the average person attending a political meeting ( except those wearing party shirts, voicing verbal support or body language etc) and tell whether they are BLP or DLP?

This is the same rediculous positon taken by Tony Best. It is groundless and illogical.

41. Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:05 am

fredbands,
    What nonsense are you talking? Owen spearheaded the CSME and is proud of such achievements? I thought we were going towards a one economy one market for the Caribbean…where then is the insult?How can you and Owen criticise the inclusion of a positive Jamaican artiste and after elections and after elections take a different position. You speak as though you do not have a brain for ypourself.
    Owen is a dictstor.

Thompson and his party spoke of the new to put bajans first, the need to make bajans employed and housed and ANYONE else after, so this would have been a great opportunity, they always speak our ailing manufacturing sector. Would the T Shirts not have been a good enough boost? Our was that money too good for businesses? Maybe it was not even in Barbados in the first place. I am just observing.

42. David,
    I have no problem with CBC advertising but I take issue with the use of the voices of Carol Roberts and Tony Thompson. As employees they should not be adverising for the BLP. Rosemary was almost fired for appearing on a DLP platform as the MC.

43. Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:20 am

It all comes down to two little words….

“to date”

DAVID THOMPSON, DLP: “The DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China or Taiwan….”

Thompson’s denial does not sound convincing to me.

Furthermore….

“The two leadership meetings, as proposed by the BLP, would be between Prime Minister Owen Arthur and DLP president David Thompson, with the second debate between BLP deputy leader Mia Mottley and a deputy to be named by the DLP.”

It reflects very badly that the DLP does not know who its deputy is, ESPECIALLY ONE WEEK BEFORE AN ELECTION.
    ==============================

ha ha ha ha this Taiwan nonsense is a political red herring. Countries will recognize whom they want to. The US has a blockade against Cuba, does Barbados have one? I think it is an embarrassment to have diplomatic ties with china, where religious groups are persecuted and or banned, where citizens agitating for their rights were literally ran over by tanks. You cannot legitimize China in the eyes of Barbadians to the point that Taiwan is seen by them as rogue state. It isn’t taiwan that has flooded our labour markets with prisoners and other types of Chinese citizens that are barely above what defines slavery.

As for a deputy prime Minister or shadow deputy prime minister, show me the legal, and or parliamentary necessity for such a person. I remember when the then LOTO Clyde Mascoll went thru the exercise of reshuffling the opposition shadow ministers and was laughed at to no end, with Ezra Alleyne using his knowledge of West minister to heap ridicule on Mascoll. Now that it suites the BLP a deputy PM is to be matched with an opposition deputy PM so that they can win a debate. The BLP made this an election about leadership, and the leader is the PM not Deputy PM’s. Let the debate of the so called Leaders begin.

44. Monique, not only have internet access, most of them (like me) have ADSL too, so they can talk while surfing. Sometimes, people make life hard for THEMSELVES, they are genuine people who are in hardship, but most cases are due to bad money management, bad planning and not want to make sacrifices. People want the lastest and best of every thing the is vanity, and then complain that they can’t pay bills or can’t afford to buy repair their house etc.

45. Monique,
    Why don’t you comment and how and why did Arthur access information on flight numbers and passport numbers? If he can access such information is it so unbelievable that he would wire tap phones used by the Opposition?
    Are you aware that the wire tapping equipment has been in Barbados since Cricket Worls Cup and that it is being used by the Government? I am aware of the building in which these activities take place ,…but for security reasons I will not say.

46. Adrian Loveridge // January 8, 2008 at 5:50 am

‘and Taiwan, a rogue state’
    Nation – 7th January 2008

Interesting………

Universal sufferage 20 years
    97.5% literacy
    9 years compulsory education
    Life expectancy – 77.46
    Unemployment 3.9%
    Per capita GDP – US16,596

Multi-party democracy

Ah! that its…

The PM doesn’t like the thought of a multi-party democracy.

Now lets hear the stats for mainland China!
    ==============================

Adrian Owen has a history of cussing countries that have vibrant citizen led societies and embracing the leadership of those that treat their citizens as their play things.

At the height of Iraq war Owen joined with Billie Miller in accusing the US of threatening to invade Barbados if they refuse to side with the US in keeping the Iraq debate in the security council of the UN.

Owen treats the citizens of Barbados to a barrage on name calling, like being lazy, gimmie gimmie people, xenophobic, want to go to heaven but not die.

Owen is a friend of Fidel Castor, likens himself unto Fidel by proudly declaring that they both are the longest serving Leaders in the Caribbean, he is the recipient of Cuba’s highest award,

Owen prefers relationship with China over Taiwan, when Taiwan has a similar history and struggle as our people. He prefers to be friends with a country that has outlawed citizen groups like Falun Gong, that repress citizens freedom of speech in the most brutal of ways as Tiananmen square showed.

…There is more than enough proof of this ELECTED DICTATOR wishing for what Hugo Chavez has tried and failed, and what Fidel and the communist regime of China has. Will Barbadians allow him?

47. Undertaker,
    You are talking foolishness. Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school? Do you have any idea how many people is Barbados are in this position? Why do you think there a Ministry for Social Transformation ..or is Owen Artur lying to us?

48. My brother is a teacher and he gave me this example (a true story) – two boys at a secondary school fought, because one put the other’s bag on the ground. Now check this out after the boy spoke it was revealed that:

Bag – $130.00 (Quick Silver)
    Pants – $ 125.00 (Tommy)
    Belt – $ 80.00
    Shoes – $ 250.00
    Cellular Phone Razr (few hundred $)

Said his mother gave him these things (which she confirmed) HE IS ONE OF THE DUMPEST AT THE SCHOOL. Mother came to the school, full of jewelry and 2 cellular phone.

Guess what? She way sayng that things are HARD so they had her on the book programme (to get free books)

Every case is not like this of course, but people have to learn to make sacrifices, we have to stop envying each other and move at our own pace. Until………

49. Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:44 am

Undertaker,
    You are talking foolishness. Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school? Do you have any idea how many people is Barbados are in this position? Why do you think there a Ministry for Social Transformation ..or is Owen Artur lying to us?
    Do you have any idea how many people in Barbados MISMANAGE money? Spend to much on phone cards and fast food, going to each and every cat fight? People need to adapt…….. By the way where are the FATHERS for these children? Like I said people have to try to make wise decisions. We need some wise financial management classes in Barbados. We put ourselves in serious debt just to do what to impress others? Like I said some are genuinely poor, and others just pull themselves down, every loan and credit card they get fooled in taking which they don’t really need.

50. David,

the CBC advertisement I would assume is a paid ad in much the same way that political ads on other CBC Media are.

Leave a Reply to Donald Duck, esqCancel reply