arthur.jpgDavid J. H Thompson MP

Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered the country from the suspense which it has been griped for weeks by announcing January 15, 2008 as the day Barbadians will go to the polls. Nomination Day will be December 31, 2007. In a much heralded press conference which was used by the media to boost advertising revenue, Arthur rang the bell to announce the upcoming general election loudly.

For most Barbadians who have not become completely apathetic, this general election will be one of the most interesting since Independence in 1966. Many factors have interacted to ensure that this will be the case:

• Many people still have a question mark about the ability of Leader of the Opposition David Thompson to lead Barbados
  • What about the ‘tiredness factor’ which many blame on a third term government
  • Let us not forget the significant overruns on major government projects at a time when the escalating cost of living is impacting many ordinary Barbadians
  • Barbadians had to endure the embarrassing situation of the Mascoll/Thompson conflict which almost caused the country to implode and by extension threatened to rock the political stability of Barbados. How will they response given what they have had to endure?

Although the points above are by no means exhaustive, they provide a snapshot view of the many factors at play that will make this a most interesting general election.

We anticipate that the nature of the upcoming campaign will trigger, and we use the Prime Minister’s parlance, muscular debate and commentary. In anticipation of this, Barbados Underground will flip the switch that will moderate all comments from January 1, 2008.

129 responses to “Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados”

1. The time has come for all Barbadians of goodwill to come to the rescue of this country by ditching Owing Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party. The BLP has failed the majority of Barbadians, especially the poor, the marginalized, the youth, women who have supported him in three elections. The only people who have benefited are the rich who have never had it so good. This election campaign is a fight for our children and grandchildren who stand to become slaves if this BLP government is not voted out of office. The BLP fraudsters will use all types of tricks to confuse you. They will badmouth David Thompson and the DLP but that is a diversionary tactic. David Thompson is a competent young man who is decent and caring and means well. He is not like Owen Arthur who has used Barbadians as the means to an end. Go back to 1994 and see how many promises he has made to Barbadians and has not kept. Barbadians are worse off than they were in 1994 while the rich backers of the BLP, who are planning to wash Barbados with money during the campaign as part of the BLP’s tricks, are richer and better off. The merchants exploited the people, took their prices through the roof, caused poor women and children to go hungry and suffer. Owen Arthur did nothing. Only when elections were getting near, it seemed as if he only then realized that Barbadians were suffering. Have you ever wondered how many people may have died because they could not afford to eat properly and it aggravated their diabetes and other health problems. If your mother or grandmother or a relative died as a result of this neglect, you have to blame Owen Arthur and the BLP. The time has come for Barbadians to take back this country from Owen Arthur and his bunch. You heard him saying last weekend that he wants to establish a dictatorship. He wants to lock up people who criticise him. Remember Hitler. Remember Burnham. Do you see how many Guyanese have had to flee Guyana? It is because of the dictatorship. Do you want the same for Barbados? Do you want to become refugees like the Guyanese, making yourselves a nuisance in other people’s countries. No! I am sure you don’t . Then you have to get rid of Owen Arthur because that is where he wants to take you. It is time to give the Dems a chance. The Dems is the party which has built up Barbados. Honour Errol Barrow’s legacy. He gave you education so that you can see through the tricks of the BLP and others who want to keep you down. Make January 15 a day to remember. Vote out the BLP in a landslide. Say goodbye because Owen is owning and open the door to change and new opportunities. Barbados deserves better.

2. A bit of trivia.

There was a time when many people would log to BU from .bb domains (government of Barbados). In recent months they have all stopped. Were they blocked.

3. For the last five weeks I have not made any comments on either of these blogs. I was getting fed up with the drivel coming from both sides of the fence.
    There are comments from ppl like WIV, Hants and even Frankology which I enjoy reading, even though Frank TRIES to be smart and hide his leaning. There are some others.
    What I disliked was the way the BLP yardfowls were using offensive and fowl language. I hope that these same ppl would either change their style or keep off the blogs, but i fear that it will get worse if not moderated.
    We have more than enough reasons to get rid of this lot. We were fed nothing but lies and arrogance by the government MPs. We are still awaiting answers to a host of questions which will not be forthcoming as there is no need to answer to anyone. Yet we have ppl who are so shortsighted that they see nothing wrong in voting for the BLP a fourth time.
    Everytime a candidate shows up on our doorstep we need to ask him/her some serious questions and demand some honest answers. Of course the sitting BLP members should be asked to account for his/her stewardship.
    Come to think of it, is there anything outstanding that ANY minister can point to and declare it a success? Is there ONE thing that stands out as being of note?
    These are some of questions that the lackies and yardfowls need to address before we can begin to entertain any meaningful discussion between now and polling day.
    Roger.

4. “In anticipation of this, Barbados Underground will flip the switch that will moderate all comments from January 1, 2008”.

I can’t imagine why.

5. All you havre to do is remove comments which you don’t like.

6. Please please please moderate.
    Save us from this filth.
    Thank you.

We will place the blog on ‘moderate all comments when unattended starting tonight.

7. God Bless Owen and the BLP Avatar
    God Bless Owen and the BLP

Anonymous,

BU is run by DLP supporters.

What he is saying is, from January 1st he will weed out any comments which make the government look good.

8. Anonymous,

BU is run by DLP supporters.

What he is saying is, from January 1st he will weed out any comments which make the government look good.
    ———
    That is a nonsequitur sir.

9. Almost eight hours after the BLP announced the election date and there is nothing posted on their official blog/website.

10. David,

Now that we have a REAL press, I would like to know the reason that National ID numbers are linked directly to Ballots.

Do you think that you can use your good blog to solicit an answer from knowledgeable persons here as to why we need to be able to tie actual BALLOTS to the individual who voted.

Where else is this done? Why was it started?

How do we know that this information is not used to victimize voters who may have voted on the ‘wrong’ side of an election?
    Is this how Boards are selected?

We may as well vote by show of hands.

It is a system that lends itself to DICTATORSHIP. Even my sports club vote by SECRET ballot to avoid victimization etc.

Are Bajans happy with this situation?

Can we hear from the Supervisor of Elections?

11. Bush Tea,

Please give us more info on the process. How is the ID linked directly to the ballot? How do you suggest it be done?

12. According to the PM

…”I’m motivated in a SPECIAL way by the determination NEVER to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country.”

(Prime Minister Owen S Arthur last Sunday at Alexandra School)

On Election Day, Vote against a ONE PARTY STATE

13. Hi All,
    It’s that time of year! And the DEMS are throwing the Biggest Xmas Fete
    ever, in Heroes Square,
    Bridgetown, this coming Friday – between 7:00 and 11:00
    p.m.

Everyone is cordially invited to this spiritually festive occasion:
    “CHRISTMAS IN THE SQUARE”
    which showcases singing sensation Carlene Davis; gospel’s award-winning Hall
    of Famer Joseph Niles;

The Singing Dems; Kimberley Inniss; Enobong; and many other top
    entertainers.

Not only should you take time out to show your face in the place, but you
    should also call and invite
    your loved ones and close friends to be an integral part of entertainment

history, great comaraderie,
    and a rich, memorable, joyful experience.

You and your kids may get far more than you expect, for Ms. Davis can really
    work a crowd.

Just go!

Sincerely,
    Roderick

14. Black Pond Bessie Avatar

Roderick,

“It’s that time of year! And the DEMS are throwing the Biggest Xmas Fete
    ever, in Heroes Square,
    Bridgetown, this coming Friday – between 7:00 and 11:00
    p.m.”

Let’s hope that they will draw a bigger crowd than those few dozen people that showed up for their “mass” meeting in the same Heroes Square last week!

15. OWEN MASHES UP BAJANS CHRISTMAS CELEBRATIONS.
    Jump to Comments
    Arthur has called elections in the midst of the holiday season. One must ask the question why. Would have been too late to call elections in early january to be contested on the last day of January or early september. No, not if you are owen arthur. You will call it now to frustrate the people of Barbados. You will do your dammest to spoil their celebrations. This is Own Arthur’s way. We will do anything to strangle the people of Barbados. One can only hope that they will look from behind the smoke and make a better way for Barbadians at home and aboard. OWEN ARTHUR AND HIS MERRY BAND MUST GO. ONLY THE PEOPLE CAN MAKE HIM GO.

16. Roger Rabbit, you are spot on–I have a small blog regarding Gardening, on which even I have received threatening responses to my posts from people that believe that I have links to the BLP– seriously…I am just growing a few tomatoes over here…

GoGrow:Barbados
    (http://greenbb.wordpress.com/)

17. Is this the same meeting that i went to last week in heroes square because that crowd was great fa god sake stop with the crap man i sick of it

18. Is this the same meeting that i went to last week in heroes square because that crowd was great fa god sake stop with the crap man i sick of it

19. […] in court. Keltruth Corp. feels that Mr. Arthur is in a race against time, and that he wants to win the election before details of this story hit the printed […]

20. […] Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados […]

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Will the PM still be going to Nigeria for Christmas?

22. Could it be that PM Arthur knows that election campaigning is a non no in December and consequently he has contained or influence the ability of the DLP to keep ‘noise’ about the issues?

It could turn out to be a master stroke.

23. If that is the case David, then he did not factor in the BLOGs, You need to be extra careful at this time because the internet – especially well established BLOGS like yours will become central to the campaigns of both parties.

DO NOT LET YOUR GUARD DOWN AT THIS TIME.

demarlehole,
    When you go to vote, they will write your NID number on the half of the Ballot that is torn off.
    The two halves of Ballot have reference numbers (like a fair ticket)

After you vote, all the authorities have to do is enter the data into a computer of NID and REf Number, while someone else can enter yourVote details and that ref number.

EURIKA -you have a list of each voter and who they voted for.

There should be NOTHING ELSE on the BALLOT PAPER but voting information.

Thanks for the advice BT

24. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

When you go to vote, they will write your NID number on the half of the Ballot that is torn off.
    The two halves of Ballot have reference numbers (like a fair ticket)

After you vote, all the authorities have to do is enter the data into a computer of NID and REf Number, while someone else can enter yourVote details and that ref number.

EURIKA -you have a list of each voter and who they voted for.

There should be NOTHING ELSE on the BALLOT PAPER but voting information.
    ……………………………………………………

Can you now indicate when this requirement or practice came in place? The ANSWER MIGHT SURPRISE YOU

25. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

You see Bush Tea, these kinds of things have time lines and must be implemented by some kind of legislation or policy directive, so bring the evidence that this is a case. So PUT UP or SHUT UP

26. During the rein of the terroriser Tom Adams.

I am still awaiting word as to the whereabouts of the files pertaining to the divorce of Owen Arthur and Beverley Arthur.

Can the CJ be so kind to return them to the rightful place???

Amazingly the blp seem to want to hide and have this election nowhere on their site do they mention the date or the calling of the election.

What does that tell you about this fraud Owing and his gang????

27. Adrian Loveridge,

YOU ASKED: “Will the PM still be going to Nigeria for Christmas?”

When will you stop LYING?

When will you stop trying to MISLEAD, DEFRAUD and DECEIVE Bajan people?

You think because you are a WHITE BRITISH FOREIGNER that we the people of Barbados have no intelligence and will swallow your crap?

You think we can’t go on the internet and find the truth to EXPOSE your LIES?

http://www.tribune.com.ng/19112007/s_south_cul.html

Monday 19th Nov. 2007

“This time round, a delegation from Barbados, including the Prime Minister of and international artist, Eddy Grant, have indicated interest to be part of the festival.”

Indicating an interest to do something is NOT the same as announcing that it will be done.

Every person has the right to express an interest in doing whatsoever he or she chooses.

Unless you have a statement from our prime minister stating that he will be attending the Calabar Christmas Festival, you should keep you stupid white British mouth firmly shut.

Klong,
    In the same den of iniquity as ~ B ~ F ~ P ~ E ~.

28. Just asking a question.

I forgot it isn’t allowed under this Government.

‘I’m motivated in a special way by the determination never too see the DLP hold the reigns of office in this country’.

The Right Hon. Owen Arthur
    quoted by Ricky Jordan
    Nation – 17th December 2007
    ‘No to DEMS

29. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Wishing in Vain // December 21, 2007 at 9:38 am

During the rein of the terroriser Tom Adams.

I am still awaiting word as to the whereabouts of the files pertaining to the divorce of Owen Arthur and Beverley Arthur.

…………………………………………………………

Then WIV what has the DLP don’t to change or reverse that position? I can understand why you would want to pretend that the 1986-94 period did not exist. But you need to tell us why the DLP did not reverse the situation?

Also don’t you have a life?

Don’t you know that people get divorce everyday? What is you fascination with Owen’s Divorce. why do you ask about mara’s own? A bet you didn’t know she was divorce too.

30. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Then WIV what has the DLP don’t to change or reverse that position? I can understand why you would want to pretend that the 1986-94 period did not exist. But you need to tell us why the DLP did not reverse the situation?

Also don’t you have a life?

Don’t you know that people get divorce everyday? What is you fascination with Owen’s Divorce? Why don’t you ask about Mara Thompee’s own? A bet you didn’t know she was divorce too.

31. Such Stupid Comments Avatar
    Such Stupid Comments

Look muh Hey

For three whole weeks hear them shouting
    Owen frighten – He run away
    BIG BIG Mistake they mekking
    How Owen Frighten, He run away
    That is why Owen clarify
    his position as a leader
    With a touch of Class
    Mek Tompee the ass
    Who now playing follow the Leader

So look muh hey
    See muh Hey
    The whole Country voting BLP

So look muh hey
    See muh Hey
    Yuh fellas can’t win wid TOM PEE

32. I want to know why the CJ has hidden the settlement from the public of Barbados?

33. I wonder where the stupid idiot – Such Stupid Comments – will run and hide after January 15th? In a sewer?

34. Bajan Yankee

Do you know SSC personally? I dont always agree with him, but I dont call him a stupid idiot or wish that he hides in a sewer.

I believe that he will grin and bear it and tek his licks like a man.

Beat the man with logic, or facts, not invective.

35. Bajan Yankee,

In the meantime, you are already hiding in a sewer in New York or wherever.

Get lost!

36. Despite all the promises and the large sums spent to resuscitate LIAT we have this strike which shows that all is not well. Will the region ever learn how to manage a regional airline? To what extent are the high intra-regional travel fares effecting numbers of intra-tourist traffic.

37. SSC,
    Man take it easy nuh, I never said that the problem with the voting confidentiality was a BLP or DLP problem – It is a SYSTEM problem.

The fact that some people cannot even recognise the problem and that they vote with full false confidence that their vote is secret is not my concern either…. I have for years now been highlighting this glaring LOOPHOLE that needs to be closed…. FOR BARBADOS.

…as I say, we always get exactly what we deserve…

38. […] Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados [image][image] Prime Min […]

39. This is an interesting view point is it not?

The hands of time?
    Published on: 12/21/07.

by HAROLD HOYTE

IN THE LAST FEW DAYS I have been indulging in an exercise that many Barbadians have attempted. All, I am sure, like me, with varying degrees of failure.

I have been trying to get into the head of Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

It is no easy task.

Just as we were all beginning to prepare for a politics-free, extended Christmas followed by the optimism of the New Year holiday, yesterday, the man in charge of our affairs announced that we, the people, will go to the polls on Tuesday, January 15.

So was it a good call, or a bad one?

One of the questions which arise is, obviously: Why this particular date?

Was it because of the Ides of January?

No soothsayer I, we shall have to emulate British Prime Minister Asquith and “wait and see”.

Certainly, historically January has been a good month for holding elections. When each party held the reins of power, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in 1991, and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in 1999, they had successfully held elections in this time period. January 20 and 22 respectively. At another level of reference, it is the month with the birthday of National Hero Errol Barrow, and a time of real pride.

It is also a month of high employment with the tourism season just starting, and the pre-crop activities of the sugar industry on the way.

But again that nagging question: Why this particular time?

All leaders who have the option prefer to latch on to a feel-good factor in choosing a time.

For Barbadians there is the feel-good factor of family, friends, fellowship and food associated with this time of year, and leaders like to latch on to a feel-good factor when hoping to be re-elected.

Additionally, there are some early signs of welcome reductions in the cost of selected food items, while cheaper electricity costs have recently been passed on to householders.

For those who have been saying, after observing election results in St Lucia and Jamaica where incumbent parties lost, that a political wind of change is in the Caribbean, Arthur has been able to find comfort in the fact that in recent weeks and days, ruling parties in both Trinidad and Tobago and Bermuda have been returned to office. It is a good omen for Owen.

But far and away, the indicator which must have weighed heaviest on Arthur’s unreadable mind were results of a public opinion poll by a group connected with the University of the West Indies at Mona, that correctly predicted results throughout our region this year.

It has concluded that the BLP will win. Unfortunately the findings of that survey are not available to the public here, but information has been shared with enough people with political connections in Barbados which perforce includes Arthur.

I think that he would have been aware that any juggling of dates would have become more and more restricted as 2008 progressed. Furthermore, international factors would impact, like rising prices for oil. Plus the prospect of holding the election after presenting another Budget would not have enhanced his chances in the context of global uncertainties, and would have narrowed his options.

At this time Arthur is buoyed by the state of the economy, which has performed well in recent years, and for which he rightly takes credit.

But a few things seem strange to me.

Arthur has chosen to announce the election date on the day before the DLP holds a pre-Christmas rally in Independence Square – a free-bee of a meeting as a Christmas gift to the Opposition.

Nomination Day is December 31, Old Year’s Day – symbolising the ringing out of the old and bringing in of the new. Another unfortunate choice of date.

The polling date has been called after the DLP boycotted Parliament for two successive weeks, saying that it was now irrelevant. Arthur proceeds to put an end to the life of the House of Assembly. An admission, if not a new year gesture, to David Thompson.

Another question arises as to whether Arthur could possibly be running away from controversies. Hot on the heels of the unfinished no-confidence motion against Minister of State Clyde Mascoll over the Hardwood Housing Factory issue, on which neither he nor his deputy Mia Mottley ever got a chance to speak, he calls an election.

Although I was not in the country for the debate, on good advice it is widely regarded that Thompson spoke well, while Mascoll’s speech turned out to be weak indeed.

But that’s not all. Arthur has also not yet answered DLP charges about cost over-runs in recent years, to the tune of $750 million.

Perhaps the mind that we cannot read, will, in his wisdom, provide all the answers during the campaign and we will all accept them all!

He has given himself a Herculean task to win this one. So if he does win it, he would truly have earned the right to enjoy a fourth term.

If he does not win it, he will have much over which to brood – “should I have gone before the World Cup when the Dems were unprepared?”

“After World Cup, while they were still dithering?”

“Or later in my new election year when I hope to leave them in my dust?”

For now, the die is cast. Twenty-four days and counting down.

For sure January 15 will be an historic day for Barbados. It will signal the end of the road for one of our two political leaders. An unprecedented fourth term election for Arthur would provide a grim finality to Thompson’s hopes of ever becoming prime minister. A win for Thompson would render Arthur irrelevant to future Barbadian political leadership because he would never be able to come back.

Everything is in the hands of the voters of Barbados.

n Harold Hoyte is Editor Emeritus of the NATION.

40. Harold Hoyte has like so many others fallen for the Trinidad and Tobago trap.

Let me reiterate PNM got less than 50% of the vote. It was a three (3) horse race, with COP and UNC-A combining for more votes than PNM.
    Also neither governments in T&T or Bermuda were multi-term administrations with excess baggage.

Barbados will be close in the popular vote, we’ll have to see how the seats go.

41. Just returned from Dems meeting in Heroes Square – It was a meeting with a difference, with more emphasis on the spiritual and the meaning of the season.
    The highlights??

1) The playing of the VIDEO which confirms what Arthur said at Alexandra School…”

I’m motivated in a SPECIAL way by the determination NEVER to see the DLP hold the reins of office in this country.”

(Proved him a bla***d liar)

2) David Thompson’s speech.

3) The singing Dems showed that they have more worthy talents than the ‘biting’ and the ‘hardwood-at-the-backdoor’ which the other party is famous for.

4) Kimberly Inniss, Smokey Burke and a host of other local talent.

5) The incomparable Carlene Davis, her band and back-up singers.

It was a lovely evening out for the thousands who took time off their shopping to be there.

Thank you DLP

42. Just saw 15,000…..yep 15,000 Bajans in HEROES SQUARE chanting and singing in the YULETIDE spirit.

One of the major highlights of the evening was the showcasing of young, middle age and senior talent of Barbadian & Caricom citizens ( Jamaica ).

Even the SINGING DEMS was a SMASHER !

Kudos to all.

The atmosphere was electrfying !

The mood reached fever pitched when David Thompson ascended the stage and addressed his adoring people…..I wonder if BFP has it recorded on YOU TUBE ?

Talking about YOU TUBE that same 15,000 strong crowd almost resorted to VIOLENCE when an ecxtract from BLP TV was shown on the BIG screen of the BILGY mouth PM uttering his INFAMOUS ” Ah NEVER want to see another DLP government in office in Barbados AGAIN ” speech !

VIOLENCE was almost done to the screen as members of the audience sort to hurl missles at the images & words of that HARLOT who has NOW sort to DENY using those words !

No wonder Lynette Eastmond said in 2003 there is no need for an opposition party in Barbados !

She probably HATCHED that idea with Owen while the 2 of them xxx together ! ——-edited.

43. I was told this evening that the offending Arthur’s comment where removed from the website and I can now confirm that no where on the blp website will you find a speech by Owing at his nomination it has been removed any record of it has dissappeared into thin air, the earlier comments about mottley and miller cussing out Owing for having said what he said now seems more than likely to be correct.

What Owing has to realise is that we do not want a dictatorship in the same way he wants a dictatorship, we want freedom and freedom of expression and freedom of speech that is so sadly lacking in this island recently.

44. We’re Ready!
    Friday, 21 December 2007
    The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is ready, and has been so for over a year, says Opposition Leader David Thompson.

Making this bold declaration yesterday following the announcement of the January 15, 2008 General Election, he said his party had been in the field and on the campaign trail with all 30 candidates since October 2006.

Saying the DLP felt Parliament had been effectively dissolved and there was nothing new Government could do now to positively impact Barbadians, Thompson said an election should have been called well before Christmas so that people’s aspirations could be met “through a new government”.

He charged that in the last eight months Government had shown “total contempt” for Parliament.

“So in a sense the Government has demonstrated that it felt that the Parliament of our country had become irrelevant, and therefore we [DLP] felt that we were correct not to return to Parliament,” he added.

Thompson also blasted the manner in which the election date was announced, calling it an abomination against the country’s Christian tradition.

“It is abominable that the Prime Minister would’ve cut right into what is really one of the most important events for persons who practise the Christian faith, which is Christmas. And to my mind, this is another manifestation of a form of tyrannical leadership by the Barbados Labour Party,” he said, asking what Government MP Reverend Joseph Atherley might say about it.

Thompson described the announcement as “insensitive to the thousands of Barbadians who would have come home for Christmas to spend time with family and friends”.

He dubbed the choice of date as an attempt by the Government to short-circuit political debate leading up to the election.

“The period for which you’re going to be able to actually debate and discuss issues on the political platform and otherwise will probably be between January 2 and 14 – a 12-day campaign.”

The DLP leader said his party therefore would not undertake any heightened political activity “until the Christmas and holiday season is over”, and urged his candidates and supporters to take part in church-based activities and make Christmas meaningful.

“In deference to the Christian community, that is what we view as the kind of political activity that should take place and we will start our campaign after the holiday season,” he said.

Stressing the spiritual theme, Thomspon invited Barbadians to tonight’s gospel concert featuring Carlene Davis and local acts in Heroes Square, The City, since this was the DLP’s way of saying thanks and marking a spiritual beginning.

Calling it “an important adjunct to what we think is necessary in Barbados to bring some healing to our nation”, Thompson said 2007 had been a tough year for Barbados with much tragedy.

“If we’re going to have successful change in Barbados, that change has to come with some important moral foundation,” he said.

45. Dems ready for fight

THIS GENERAL ELECTION campaign will not see the Democratic Labour Party just sitting back.

Opposition Leader David Thompson told reporters yesterday at his Aquatic Gap, St Michael law office that “people will have to fight for what they want”.

Asked if he expected the three-week campaign to be “nasty”, he said: “A line has to be drawn in the sand about the way forward for Barbados and people have to fight for what they want.

“This campaign is not about sitting back and rolling over because in a sense you’re fighting for your children’s future, you’re fighting for your grandchildren’s future.”

He added: “In that sense you can’t play around and I’m certain that rough things will be said relative to the way forward and relative to the alliances that people strike politically in Barbados that have retarded the advancement of the majority of people. Therefore, in that sense, it will be a tough campaign, but it comes at a tough time in our political history.”

46. Ding-dong battle for Mascoll’s seat?

WILL THERE BE an all-out battle for the St Michael North-West constituency?

Opposition Democratic Labour Party Leader David Thompson is not saying.

He told journalists yesterday at a Press conference at his Aquatic Gap, St Michael law offices there was “enough evidence on the table to make an assessment”.

“I don’t think much more needs to be said. There is a doctrine in law [that says] the thing speaks for itself, and I believe that doctrine applies to Clyde Mascoll.

“He speaks for himself and his political conduct, mores, standards and integrity as a politician have been established and if the people of St Michael North-West are happy with that, then they would be.

“But I have my doubts that there could be any large group of Barbadians in Barbados that would not have concerns with what they’ve seen happening over the past few weeks and what we have revealed relative to the conduct of the Minister of State,” Thompson said.

Mascoll had said at a nomination meeting in August that the constituency in which he was the incumbent would be a “hot seat”.

He said it was so important to the DLP that even if it lost the overall election, but wrested the seat away from him and the Barbados Labour Party, the party would feel victorious.

47. Georgie Porgie,

You must be one of those clueless Bajans living outside the country.

That’s just another round of meaningless utterances and wishful thinking from an increasingly senile Harold Hoyte.

Age does take its toll… he needs to retire from more than just the Nation. History is full of “old soldiers” like him still yearning for the same power they wielded in days long gone. Somebody should buy him an armchair for Christmas. Hehe!

48. Michael Smith
    December 22, 2007 at 7:58 am….WRITES :

” There are no laws in Barbados which prevent a prime minister from making such an announcement at any particular time of year. ”

Jerome Hinds REPLIES :

Michael Smith…..from infant days / church days you should have known that Christmas is celebrated within the season of ADVENT to EPIPHANY .

That translated into simple language for a SIMPLETON like you means from the first week of DECEMBER in any year to…..6th of JANUARY in the following year .

Therefore, Owen Arthur did call the election during the CHRISTMAS period .

You are right…..it is his RIGHT to call an ELECTION when he so desires !

Michael Smith…….by the same token would say Owen Arthur was RIGHT to tell Barbadians he is
    ” MOTIVATED in a special way to see that the DLP never holds office in this country AGAIN ”

Given the FACT that the same OWEN ARTHUR has :

** Yet to CONDEMN Robert Mugabe’s declaration of WAR on the OPPOSITION in ZIMBABWE ???

** Yet to PUBLICLY admonish Lynette Eastmond for her 2003 ” No OPPOSITION party ” speech ????

** PUBLICLY declared in 2005 that there will be no REFERENDUM on REPUBLICAN status in Barbados ???

** PUBLICLY demonstrated his PARTY’s intention to change the BARBADOS Constitution only a few weeks ago ????

Michael Smith…..you SIMPLETON…..leave out the APPLETON…..and think & answer….WISELY !

49. With eminent win by the DLP in this upcoming election. We should now focus on the selection and compilation of the proposed cabinet. This have nothing to do with partisan politics, but a measuring cup based on previous performance and experience by potential winners.

David Thompson – PM and Finance
    Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
    Undine Whittaker – Minister of Social Transformation
    Richard Sealy – Minister of Energy & Environment
    Freundel Stuart – Attorney General
    Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
    Adrian Loveridge – Minister of Tourism
    David Estwick – Minister of Health
    Denis Kellman – Minister of Consumer Affairs
    James Paul – Minister of Agriculture

Let’s hear about your selection.

50. Looking forward to Chris Sinckler, Minister of State, Ministry of Finance