arthur.jpgDavid J. H Thompson MP

Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered the country from the suspense which it has been griped for weeks by announcing January 15, 2008 as the day Barbadians will go to the polls. Nomination Day will be December 31, 2007. In a much heralded press conference which was used by the media to boost advertising revenue, Arthur rang the bell to announce the upcoming general election loudly.

For most Barbadians who have not become completely apathetic, this general election will be one of the most interesting since Independence in 1966. Many factors have interacted to ensure that this will be the case:

• Many people still have a question mark about the ability of Leader of the Opposition David Thompson to lead Barbados
  • What about the ‘tiredness factor’ which many blame on a third term government
  • Let us not forget the significant overruns on major government projects at a time when the escalating cost of living is impacting many ordinary Barbadians
  • Barbadians had to endure the embarrassing situation of the Mascoll/Thompson conflict which almost caused the country to implode and by extension threatened to rock the political stability of Barbados. How will they response given what they have had to endure?

Although the points above are by no means exhaustive, they provide a snapshot view of the many factors at play that will make this a most interesting general election.

We anticipate that the nature of the upcoming campaign will trigger, and we use the Prime Minister’s parlance, muscular debate and commentary. In anticipation of this, Barbados Underground will flip the switch that will moderate all comments from January 1, 2008.

129 responses to “Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados”

1. Are we not getting ahead of ourselves?
    Shouldn’t we be discussing the issues which are likely to affect the outcome?

2. The country is tense at the moment, this is a relax way to imagine, or may I say, pretend what the outcome might be, by this way, we will be able to get from the commenters a feeling of the cabinet if the Dems wins the election.

As you know, I prefer to deal with issues as I see them. We might criticise, some abuse, but in the final analysis it is the people who will decide politicians fate.

We might have a higher ratio of DLP writers within these blogs, but we can not give a true analysis if the viewers are Dees or Bees. We are just assuming that viewers will accede to our views.

May this election be fair and democratic. Do not allow our partisanship be used to destroy the image of this country, because whoever wins, that Government will have to undertake massive damage control. This goes out to Politicians, bloggers, commenters; and all the vile statements from the political divide lackies.

May the best man/woman win and may the better party win.

3. frankology // December 22, 2007 at 8:13 am

With eminent win by the DLP in this upcoming election. We should now focus on the selection and compilation of the proposed cabinet. This have nothing to do with partisan politics, but a measuring cup based on previous performance and experience by potential winners.

David Thompson – PM and Finance
    Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
    Undine Whittaker – Minister of Social Transformation
    Richard Sealy – Minister of Energy & Environment
    Freundel Stuart – Attorney General
    Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
    Adrian Loveridge – Minister of Tourism
    David Estwick – Minister of Health
    Denis Kellman – Minister of Consumer Affairs
    James Paul – Minister of Agriculture

Let’s hear about your selection.

Frankology…..you never cease to amaze me with your pathetic BILE !

How come all of a sudden you are enamoured by the DLP policy decisions ?

Is it because your accomplice ( indeed you are both one and the same ! ) Clyde Asscoll stated in the HOA that the ABC highway needs investigating…..that you have given up on your ABC highway / VECO investigation ?????

4. Jerome, that is pure nonsense you are trying to create. That is not a DLP policy decision act, it is the free-thinking of a democratic black bajan guess of what might be the compilation of the cabinet. Everybody regarding to political partisanship imagine who will get a ministry, so stop your partisan act.

I have no accomplice or any agenda. Unlike you and the others, I deal with issues as I see them. I have not relax my investigation with the ABC Expansion. As a matter of fact, I may mention of the problem associate with an earth quake hitting Barbados and the reason why we should forget these flyovers. I spoke of the Hillis Carnes first statement in 2005 regarding our limestone decaying and weak with sink-holes and gullies in the vicinity of these flyovers. Yet in 2007, we heard another tune from them that Barbados can accommodate flyovers.

Now Jerome, where were you, why did you refuse to comment on these problems that can be critical to Barbados’ safety, Why do you refuse to comment about the highway first mooted at Bds$120 million, then increase to $140 million and finally up to $360 million. Why are you refusing to discuss the BOLT agreement, which interest repayment is higher than if you had to borrow from the normal overseas lenders.

Jerome, where were you. Or you and others can only deal with Hardwood issues, since it is an individual or may I say, a past associate of your party.

The highway blog on both sites were dominated by my writing and that’s a fact.

That is what I call a hypocritical act clouded with innuendos, deceit and most of all deception.

5. Sorry, I did not include certain writers in the cabinet line-up, that would have been a DLP policy decision and I have no power to decide about inclusions.

6. frankology // December 22, 2007 at 9:15 am

Jerome, that is pure nonsense you are trying to create. That is not a DLP policy decision act, it is the free-thinking of a democratic black bajan guess of what might be the compilation of the cabinet. Everybody regarding to political partisanship imagine who will get a ministry, so stop your partisan act.

Therein……exposes your HYPOCRISY !

A party must first hold the BALANCE of power and it’s chosen leader offering a Cabinet posting to his colleagues based on their showings at the POLLS and their suitability to function in a Minstry !

FRANKOLOGY…..the country ain’t get so far in the SCHEME of things as yet…!

You stick to your investigation of VECO/ ABC HIGHWAY…….palaver !

We know who you are and why you want the DEBATE to head to that side of the ROAD !

Was it you who again refer to this
    ” BLACKMAN ” clap trap !

***** Read your words above !

Did you not use a similar line in the House of Assembly on 4th DECEMBER, 2007 ?

FRANKOLOGY……you are being MONITORED !

The ISSUES are never about BLACK , WHITE or TECHNICOLOUR…..Bajans !

It is about treating Bajans fairly regardless to RACE !

7. Frankology…..I didnt know you were a politician.All this time I lived next to a politician?:-)

8. word out today…….19 seats confirmed for the BLP. 6 unsure. 5 guaranteed for the DLP.

9. Adrian Loveridge will not be minister of tourism. If anything, it would be Anthony Arthur, former head of the BTA in sandiford’s government.

Why would we want David Thompson to be minister of finance AGAIN? shud be 18% pay cuts instead of 8 next time.

10. The apparent selfdestruction that is clear to see taking place within the BLP is causing its writers to stoop to the lowest levels on these blogs, the language is absolutely disgusted and I am ashamed that it even makes it to print.

My party faithfuls all 30 of them please control your tongues and your manners on these sites people deserve better that your poor display of manners.

It is not our fault that your leader is at war with most of them in his party no wonder we witnessed the blistering attack that he received the other day after the delivery of his wild boy speech that he does not want ever to see the DLP rule this country that miller , mottley and company hammered his for bad judgment and just downright arrogance, so much so that they have removed the offending comments from their website, Owings nomination and not a single word on their website with his speech????

Or do they need to loose their cool when subjects such as COST OVERRUNS, VECO PRISON,DANOS 3S ROADWORKS, OIL STORAGE FACILITY, CHEQUES, HALLAM NICHOLLS, GLYNE BANNISTER, DAVID SHOREY, OFFSHORE BANK ACCOUNTS,COMMISSIONS ON EVERY VEHICLE AND NOW BOATS FOR THE COAST GUARD ARE BOUGHT PAID TO NICHOLLS AND OWING.

Just admit to your many corrupt acts and plead guilty, remember Mr Thopmson has promised to put one or two of you and your clan behind bars stating with, NICHOLLS, LYNCH, and OWING it will be a first the former PM committed to prison for stealing taxpayers money.

11. Jay // December 22, 2007 at 10:13 am

word out today…….19 seats confirmed for the BLP. 6 unsure. 5 guaranteed for the DLP.

Dream on…….JAY !

It is obvious the only street you STUCK on is……ROEBUCK STREET opposite LIONEL HILL SUPERMARKET !

By the way…..now that you are back on – line…..how come your party leader’s much heralded nomination speech is no longer on BLP TV ??????

One of your BLP die – hard party faithfuls shouted out last night in HEROES SQUARE….thank God for the DLP…..when a clipping of the speech from BLP TV appeared on the BIG SCREEN !

Tell OWEN be VERY careful what he now seeks to DENY in this TECHNOLOGICAL era !

$ 750,000 CHEQUE……what I am telling you……????

12. This total clown Lynch is not the sharpest tool in the shed and to boot he is cocky and arrogant with himself, do we need any better reason to kick his butt out of office??

The people of this nation are hurt by the wicked stealing of their money by people that they elected to do a job not to steal from them, they are sick of the arrogance and the total disregard for the needs of the common man.

How can it be fair with these people that have stashed away mega amounts of taxpayers cash now tell people that the inflation is not our problem it is your problem because you eat too much food ??

DISGRACEFUL VERY DISGRACGEFUL

13. YOU KNOW THINGS MUST BE CHANGING WHEN PERSON SUCH AS BEN MARTINEZ THE FORMER CONSUL GENERAL TO FLORIDA UNDER THIS BLP ADMISTRATION ATTENDS THE HERO’S SQUARE MEETING AND WATCHED THE VIDEO CLIP PLAYING SHOWING WHAT ARTHUR SAID HE DID NOT SAY AT HIS NOMINATION MEETING LAST WEEKEND.

EVEN BEN IS LOOKING FOR A NEW BEGINNING, WELL DONE TO YOU.

OWING MAY CALL YOU LATER TODAY TO BLISTER YOU IN CURSE BUT TAKE IT LIKE A MAN ( do not take it like JEROME WALCOTT, NOELESS LYNCH, or ROMMEL MARSHALL) YOU STAND UP AND TAKE IT AND THEN YOU HIT BACK BY ASKING OWING ABOUT HIS OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS AND THE SIZE AND LACK OF PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE ABOUT HIS DIVORCE SETTLEMENT AND THE LACK OF ESPOSURE TO PUBLIC VIEWING HAVING BEEN CONCEALED BY THE GOOD FRIEND DAVID SIMMONS.

14. Cou Cou has been informed by someone very close to the horse’s mouth, that an individual left one location with an idea in his head and a number on a document, and headed to a second location with “17” ringing in his ears.

But, after being informed of a leak and that the number was not in his head alone, he made some quick decisions and substracted two. The rest, as they say, is history.

15. Five left behind

THE CALL has been made but apparently at least five operatives in the hive have been caught with their pants and slips very much down.

Cou Cou was told by an inside source that they were still trying to fine-tune certain plans in their ridings when the word came.

They apparently had received a wire of the imminent move and had sought at least a two-month grace period. But it never came. Indeed, one individual has started to have some roads in his urban area paved after they had been in a dreadful state for over a decade and he had previously promised to get them fixed.

Cou Cou will not say who the five are but readers can check for any signs of disorganisation in the weeks ahead and the answers will be self-evident.

16. Jerome Hinds,

You claimed on BFP that there was a 15,000 crowd in Heroes Square last night.

Where are the photographs of the “15,000 crowd”?

There’s NOTHING in the news here about that.

You won’t help the DLP cause by lying.

Last time you people also came here and reported a “massive” crowd in Heroes Square but I had been passing through the city that same night and I saw a very sparse crowd at a poorly attended event.

17. It appears to me that after Owing ran afoul of his other party members he opted to unmercyfully shaft them by calling the election even though many of them were not nearly ready for an election.

I also put it to you that he even surprised the Commissioner and those at the Electoral and Bounderies Commission with his decision on his date so much so that the Commission is no where near ready for this election and are short of staff to man at least 3 polling stations 2 of which are in the St.James zone.

Look at what can happen so rapidly when the party tries to start fighting on too many fronts it disintegrates to a shadow of its former self with mottley at owing’s throat and owing at mottley’s throat no wonder they are unable to get the peoples work done.

18. KC those lies no longer get mileage you are so full of it there was a massive crowd at Hero’s square last night end of story you sad liar.but then again you are blp and if there is one thing you and your party and your leader get passing marks in is for lying in the largest measure.

19. KC // December 22, 2007 at 10:58 am

Jerome Hinds,

You claimed on BFP that there was a 15,000 crowd in Heroes Square last night.

Where are the photographs of the “15,000 crowd”?

There’s NOTHING in the news here about that.

You won’t help the DLP cause by lying.

Last time you people also came here and reported a “massive” crowd in Heroes Square but I had been passing through the city that same night and I saw a very sparse crowd at a poorly attended event.

Jerome Hinds REPLIES :

KC…….Do not get beside yourself…..!

He who control the PRESS……… prints the NEWS PAPERS and publishes the PHOTOGRAPHS !

If they report or show photos it up to them !

But CHECK this ( not the $ 750,000.00 ) one Owen got……I know BLP people always FEAR the CHECK / CHEQUE word since March 2007 !!!!

Ha…..Ha…..!

The concert was in HEROES SQUARE !

The 15,000 STRONG crowd spilled over to :

** The BOARDWALK !

** INDEPENDENCE SQUARE !

** CAVANS LANE !

** BROAD STREET !

And KC……..you asked about VIDEO CLIPS/ PHOTOGRAPHS……?????

When Owen’s VIDEO CLIP / PHOTOGRAPH from BLP TV appeared on the BIG SCREEN…….the conservative crowd estimate of 15,000 SWELLED to nearly 20,000…….!

Just imagine what the crowds will look like when the $ 750,000 CHEQUE ( among others ) appear on the BIG SCREEN over the next 3 weeks !

Brother…Sister……it will only get ACID !

KC………….

However…..about the ISSUE of LYING :

** Noel Lynch 90,000 cruise passengers , 70 yatchs for CWC 2007 !

** Owen Arthur ” I NEVER said not another DEM government in power ”

KC……..you ever hear more…..LIE ????

Wait & Watch !

20. The most surprising event todate I have just driven by RAWLE “I DO NOT KNOW WHAT I HAVE DONE THE PRIME MINISTER FOR THE LAST ( YEARS AS HE HAS DONE NOTHING FOR ME OR MY PEOPLE IN YEARS”(HIS WORDS NOT MINE) EASTMOND’S OFFICE A NOT A SOUL AROUND MEANWHILE THE DLP CANDIDATE IS OUT AN AROUND DELIVERING HAMPERS FOR THE POOR AND THE ELDERLY AND THE SHUT INS , ALL THE WHILE HIS OFFICE IS OPEN ACTIVE AND WORKING.

NO WONDER MR LARRY TATEM WAS WILLING TO CONCEDE THAT THE ST.JAMES SEATS WILL GO TO THE DLP BECAUSE THE DLP CANDIDATES HAVE WORKED ALL THE WAY THROUGH FROM THE LAST ELECTION UNTIL THIS ONE, THE NON STOP EFFORT IS PAYING OFF.

NOW THAT IS CLEARLY A MAJOR CONCEDE ON HIS BEHALF. AT LEAST HE IS SEEING THE REAL PICTURE AND NOT SEEING IT OUT OF ROSE COLOURED BLP GLASSES !!!

21. We have to get rid of this pint size dictator and his scamps.

It may well be that he and the clan are doing a very good job at it themselves give he and mottley and miller more rope please let them hang themselves please.

My opinion is that Owing has amassed enough personal wealth and does not give a hell about any of them despite the smiling at one another the willingness to kill each other politically is very evident for all to see, as he said on Sunday he will not let mottel be PM in his time and as result of that statement there is only one option for it to take that is remove Owing from the front line and conqueror the floating support within the blp.
    Keep fighting Owing, Farley, Atherley, mottley, Clarke keep up the good work.

22. Can anyone please tell me why a mailing being sent out to the public from the BLP states that polling day is on the 15th January 2007 are they living in times past ???

Just another example of how unready they all were with Owing’s effort to shaft all of them when they annoyed him.

23. Hi David, Every time I write a comment my computer is locking up. Yet, I am seeing endless comments by WI and JH.
    Please let me know if I am under moderation.

24. Frankology…..I didnt know you were a politician.All this time I lived next to a politician?:-).
    …………………………………………………………………….
    I myself never realise I was Mascoll, or Ascoll or the name-calling by these partisan writers. I was just thinking who might make up a DLP candidate and the guns start blaring. The election has not be won as yet and the hostility begin.

This is the same bullying tactics that were displayed in the Antiqua elections. You call it the manipulation of politrixs.

Jerome, my mother never named me Mascoll, I am not even a family or friend to the Mascolls.

25. All results are in play in this election including the most unlikely results.

Why would you suggest that Arthur cannot be beaten after all the corruption that he has masterminded the people of St.Peter are feeling the strain of his stealing just as all the other parishes are they are no different had he not feathered his nest so well we would not be feeling half the strain that we are feelin now.

26. sorry the above was meant for BFP
    we are all going thru the same detail so chill.

27. Yesterday in ISSUES & IDEAS: Leadership is it, EZRA ALLEYNE wrote

OWEN ARTHUR’s hour-long acceptance speech at the Barbados Labour Party’s nomination in St Peter last Sunday effectively opened his party’s next general election campaign.
    Speaking on the theme A New Beginning, he went directly for the jugular of David Thompson’s brand of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), and spoke of “his determination never to see the DLP [under Thompson] hold the reins of office in this land”. The newspaper reported the word “country” instead of “land” but that may be a lawyer’s point.
    What is very much more than a lawyer’s point, is that it is difficult to justify the lead paragraph of the story in last Monday’s NATION which says that the Prime Minister was on a mission “to ensure that the Democratic Labour Party never governs Barbados again”. That paragraph does not accord with Mr Arthur’s speech, which I have thrice carefully scrutinised.

========================

Ezra seems to be floating on some cloud far far away in never never land that his conclusion about Owen’s erratic statement is at variance with the people’s opinion and even that of his own party; seeing that they have removed his speech from their forum/webpage.

Ezra in his hair splitting points out that “The newspaper reported the word “country” instead of “land””. Seems that Ezra did not go to his Latin classes, or if he did, he forgot that the word “PATRIA” means native land, or country. Hence country =land in this case. Hence one’s country is one’s land.

Dear dear Ezra, in 1962 we got free education, and many of us learned well in school. Therefore, you or the other BLP negrocrats cant fool us by splitting hairs with words.

Remark your runup Ezra, and come in again. In the interim, the populace will be beating Arthur’s bad ball like pulp to the fence. That one bad ball is so significant that it MUST CAUSE THE BEE’s THE ELECTION. THERE MUST BE NO ONE PARTY STATE IN BARBADOS. BAJANS MUST BE ABLE TO DISSENT .

Ezra also noted in his diabolical diatribe and drivel that between 1991 and 1994, that folk suffered dreadfully under the DLP. You know what? The people had the right then, and made the choice to remove the Dems. Why must Arthur now think that the same people should not now have the right or make the choice to vote the Dems back in?

28. Wishing in Vain

I have to tell you… there is nothing appealing about any of that.

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=190&Itemid=2

Where are the 15,000 people?

All I see there is a very small crowd of perhaps dozens.

Poor Dems. Even their singing is not sweet. They look defeated already.

🙂

29. Anonymous

If we defeated already,
    why Owen have to lie, when the Dems have the evidence for all to see; (even though Billy and Mia tried their best to erase it)

And why out of spite he called elections when he did, when his candidates aren’t ready yet???

Yuh cud fool sum of de people sum of de time but yuh cant fool all de people all de time

Keep fooling yourselves…

night does run till daylight ketch it.

Ps: the shots in the movie didn’t show people on the Broadwalk, in Independence Square nor on the sidewalks out of Parliament Buildings

Keep fooling yuhsaelf…de Bees gud at dat

30. Oh and Anonymous

I forgot the scores seated on the ground, over which the camera angle was shot

Keep fooling wunnuh self

de cheques coming up soon

31. WIV, when did Owen deny making the statement?

32. Not surprised that Smiley Marshall head now lies in a dump heap !

He is a pathlogical liar…..it took long for someone to DECAPITATE him !

Anyway guys information coming my way indicates that the results of that opinion poll Harold Hoyte referred to in his Friday’s article will be published in the Sunday Sun !

The poll was conducted before the announcement of ELECTIONS and before OWEN’s now INFAMOUS BLP – TV speech !

The SYNOPSIS : The BEES leading the DEMS by approximately 10 % points !

A good position for any CHALLENGER…..given the fact that the party programme has not been fully disclosed !

The findings at this stage is quite similar to where the JLP was in relation to Portia’s party when the election date was announced !

Irene Sandiford seemingly doing well against CHICKEN George !

Talking about GEORGE…..George Belle is part of the polling team !

Some of the findings of that poll I referred to in my earlier post above on the BFP site .

http://www.nationnews.com/story/327555760952090.php

33. In today’s newspaper there is a Public Notice on pages 34A which encourages Barbadians to register or update the Register of Electors. What is interesting is that Barbadians are being encouraged to go to the various centres starting this Tuesday and Wednesday. In case you have forgotten this coming Tuesday and Wednesday is Christmas Day and Boxing Day respectively. It means if we assume that Barbadians will not participate in the election activities during Christmas week that leaves two weeks before January 15, 2007.

We are also mindful that usually the prospective candidates work with households in their constituencies by assisting them to register/update the register of electors in the previous elections. In our opinion the short period leading up to this election has short changed that process.

This election must bring into focus the call to have a known election date which will subtract the shenanigans at election time, similar to what occurs in the USA.

Despite our comment above how can we fault the master political strategist Owen Arthur because he has taken advantage of our present system.

34. 900 lb Gorilliphant Avatar
    900 lb Gorilliphant

I think you are being overly naive. Or is it a slow news day at BU?

I think that everyone in Barbados who intends to vote is very ready to do so. If elections were called for next week Bajans would still be ready.

Our last elections were on 21 May 2003. Under our system everyone is well aware that elections could be called anytime up to May 2008.

So what are you mumbling about?

Do you have stage-fright now that the date of the great FOUR-LOVE has been announced?

900 this is your view fine! We have written ours! In a democracy we are all entitled. We also know that your role on BU is to rebut.

35. When an Indian by the name of Jevan Jutagir the head of RED ADVERTISING a foreigner attempts to influence the minds of the Barbadian voters by being paid by the blp to do it, it says to me that is is truly a sad day in the politics of this land.

If I were you I would email him showing our level of unrest and dissatisfaction with someone such as he interrferring with the political outcome of a BARBADIAN VOTE. red@red.bb is the address to get the man at.

When a political party can feel so threatened by the people’s power to hire the services of that Indian clown from RED ADVERTISING to carry the torch for this starved blp party under the name of LEROY AND DAVID among many other names and to spend his day blogging in defence of the ruling party it is clearly stated that they are on a mission to negate the effect of the DLP supporters towards this blog.

Here we have the ruling party throwing money at a foreigner to carry out the services that they require, this is a disgraceful act of the worst kind.

It speaks volumes of the fear that this party has for the voting public of this nation, no wonder arthur was so keen not to have them contest another election on this island and rule from his DICTATORSHIP style and manner.

I would highly suggest calling or emailing him to find out how many other blp assigned names he has in use.

36. Here are a few question for the BU family.

How do you think the radio stations will manage the coverage of the upcoming elections and specifically the reintroduction of the very popular call-in programs after the Christmas break? Should they restart the call-ins next week?

If the wait for Christmas week to pass then the ‘People’s Parliament’ may not have any significant opportunity for ordinary Barbadians to air their views.

37. David,

Barbadians will have plenty of opportunity to air our views on election day.

If I post on Bajan Patriots, will you delete my comments here on BU?

After what just happened to me on BFP, I want to know first.

Anonymous,

Jevan Jutagir must be doing a very good job then.

You are a desperate liar.

38. […] this general election will be one of the most interesting since Independence in 1966″: Barbados Underground reports that the island's Prime Minister has set a date for elections. Share […]

39. Here we have the ruling party throwing money at a foreigner to carry out the services that they require, this is a disgraceful act of the worst kind.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    I am on your case buddy. Creativity do no come in colour, creed, religion or political persuasion. You have to realise that a political party have to be extremely careful who creates election promotions for them. That company must have professional ethics; and most of all, the workers must display professionalism, not get on the phone or send email or a copy of information to the opposition.

So please leave nationality and colour out of the elections.

40. It was pathetic listening to George Belle on BRASSTACKS Sunday answer the PROBING questions being put to him by respected POLLSTER Peter Wickham !

None of George Belle BLP crooks came to his defence for what was clearly designed as a POLL of propaganda !

Why did George Belle allow the Nation to have access to his poll without it being commisioned for them ” as he claim ” ?

Therefore, in that regard George Belle cannot now claim that the NATION news paper and not he is responsible for what was published.

It was a clear ploy to SENSATIONALISE public sentiment .

But I would end on this..as much as Owen Arthur seeks to publicly ridicule Peter Wickham, Peter Wickham sits on no organisation or committee affiliated to the BLP or DLP .

George Belle is the CHAIRMAN of the Pan African Commission which falls under the PRIME MINISTER OFFICE !

While I am at it, GEORGE BELLE next time you seek to advise OWEN ARTHUR about an inportant decision ( like dissolving Parliament ) always look around the room before you speak !

Beware of the FLY on the wall !

41. It was pathetic listening to George Belle on BRASSTACKS Sunday answer the PROBING questions being put to him by respected POLLSTER Peter Wickham !

None of George Belle’s BLP crooks came to his defence for what was clearly designed as a POLL of propaganda !

Why did George Belle allow the Nation to have access to his poll without it being commisioned for them ” as he claim ” ?

Therefore, in that regard George Belle cannot now claim that the NATION news paper and not he is responsible for what was published.

It was a clear ploy to SENSATIONALISE public sentiment .

But I would state this…….as much as Owen Arthur seeks to publicly ridicule Peter Wickham, Peter Wickham sits on no organisation or committee affiliated to the BLP or DLP .

George Belle is the CHAIRMAN of the Pan African Commission which falls under the PRIME MINISTER OFFICE !

While I am at it, GEORGE BELLE next time you seek to advise OWEN ARTHUR about an inportant decision ( like dissolving Parliament ) always look around the room before you speak !

Beware of the FLY on the wall !

42. Emma?

Wait you are the same Emma that was over by BFP?

I still want to know why we should trust Owen S Arthur when he makes Forbes Burnham type comments like

““I’m motivated in a special way by the determination never too see the DLP hold the reigns of office in this country’.

Give us a good reason please????

43. Sink-cur claim the DLP can win as much as 20 seats in the election. He also claims that information has been with held from the poll lol.

He claims the DLP is well on their way….

The only thing they are well on their way to is yet another defeat! 4-0

44. Pollsters usually have to have a track record to gain credibility. What we don’t understand is why is the leadership issue being played-up by this poll and the Nation when historical data clearly show that the leader of the opposition always lag behind the incumbent in this category.

The other question is what motivated this poll and who paid for it.

45. David

Despite Mia’s denial, all right thinking Bajans know that it is just another case of BLP Smoke and Mirrors.

They never knew, that the fact that the swing is up from 5% to 7% and that the desire for change is up from 43% to 53% would have surfaced.

Only goes to show that the BLP has the Nation in its hip-pocket; but some dissatisfied mole will always expose them. Soon they will not know who to trust.

46. In 2003 election Richard Sealey tore pompous socialite Billie Miller to shreds in a television debate. The only person in Barbados who said Miller won the debate was George Belle. He became irrelevant for me from that day. Any poll conducted by Belle has to be viewed with suspicion. Belle is a communist and a lap dog of Owen Arthur. Like his dictator master he specially wants to ensure the Dems nor any other political party never hold reins of office in our beloved country. Like Owen and Lynette he is prepared to do whatever it takes to make sure Barbados becomes a one party BLP state.

47. I am not surprised by anything written by George Belle. He is one of the very included and so as to earn his keep, he has to portray Owen Tiefin’ Arffer as the great leader. But, as I have asked before, what is Owen Arffer’s claim to fame? Why do these educated lackies think that Arffer got any monopoly on leadership? What has he done to deserve that title?
    If the other BLP MPs are blind and Owen has one eye, then he has the right to be called “a” great leader, but I am yet to see the reason for promoting this drunkard. Why are these ppl doing this? Don’t ppl like Belle and company think we are all idiots out here?
    I believe that these “akademics” are all losing their marbles.
    They should be rightly called “the great ass-lickers”

48. David your comment on the NOTICE that appear in today’s Sunday Sun on page 34A, which states the below quote leave me to believe that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) are attempting to hijack the Election come January 15, 2008, by recommending that Barbadians register or update the Register of Electors to be able to VOTE, on December 25, and 26 which are both bank holidays in Barbados and most parts of the region.

David // December 23, 2007 at 10:56 am

In today’s newspaper there is a Public Notice on pages 34A which encourages Barbadians to register or update the Register of Electors. What is interesting is that Barbadians are being encouraged to go to the various centres starting this Tuesday and Wednesday. In case you have forgotten this coming Tuesday and Wednesday is Christmas Day and Boxing Day respectively. It means if we assume that Barbadians will not participate in the election activities during Christmas week that leaves two weeks before January 15, 2007.

We are also mindful that usually the prospective candidates work with households in their constituencies by assisting them to register/update the register of electors in the previous elections. In our opinion the short period leading up to this election has short changed that process.

This election must bring into focus the call to have a known election date which will subtract the shenanigans at election time, similar to what occurs in the USA.

Despite our comment above how can we fault the master political strategist Owen Arthur because he has taken advantage of our present system.

Lodge Road will be going with the DLP this time around.

49. Pollsters usually have to have a track record to gain credibility. What we don’t understand is why is the leadership issue being played-up by this poll and the Nation when historical data clearly show that the leader of the opposition always lag behind the incumbent in this category.

The other question is what motivated this poll and who paid for it.
    ……………………………………………………
    If poolsters must have a track record on which to run, then George Belle cannot be considered as anything.
    It is clear that his “research” is flawed as he promotes his foolishnes about leadership.
    David, I believe that Owen paid Belle to conduct the poll. Who else would pay George Belle to come up with sumtin’ so?
    Give it up, Georgie boy. Al Gilkes may have done a better job.