Is Denis Kellman A Loose Cannon?

bp50133.jpg

Source: Nation Newspaper

On Tuesday, the Opposition Party in a show of protest boycotted the sitting of the Lower House. They have indicated that they will be taking their message about the Hardwoods Factory Housing Affair to the streets of Barbados for the people to decide. Their decision stems from what they perceive to be inequitable treatment in parliament by the government controlled Lower House. With the DLP committed to the boycott, Denis Kellman made the personal decision to take his seat in parliament. According to reports, his stay did not exceed two minutes. He has given the reason for breaking ranks with his colleagues his commitment to attend parliament whenever he is in the country.

We commend Denis Kellman for taking the job of Member of Parliament so seriously.

On the flip-side to this position is the notion of collective responsibility which we wish to explore. The Leader of the Opposition is about to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) into an election battle and as part of a strategy, he has decided to keep his party from attending parliament for the rest of the year. It’s his strategy and we don’t have to agree. The concern which we have is the decision by Kellman to override the party position based on his personal position. We again commend Kellman’s willingness to be committed to a personal goal. We wonder if in this case he shouldn’t have exercised better judgment. To continue to feed the public perception that he is not part of the team by insisting that he should sit in parliament for a useless two minutes appears to have been a farcical decision. For a man who has spent over a decade on the opposition benches, Kellman should be amenable to adjusting his ‘lone ranger’ behaviour for the collective good of the party he claims to serve. This is an issue where he had to weigh the benefit of attending parliament for two minutes, compared to the goodwill his Democratic Labour Party is expected to receive from the boycott.

In the back of our minds is a question mark which we have about Kellman and his loyalty to David Thompson. Has he forgotten what transpired when he and David Estwick were critical of David Thompson during the tussle for leadership of the party? Kellman will have to make some important decisions, and very soon, if he does not want to derail party plans.

85 thoughts on “Is Denis Kellman A Loose Cannon?

1. David@BU,

Please correct your title: “Is Denis Kellman A Lose Canon?”

It should be: “Is Denis Kellman A Loose Cannon?

Thank you.

~B~F~P~E~

Thanks!

2. I see nothing wrong with Mr. Kellman’s stance. I personally believe that he his/should be the rightful leader of the DLP, until they stop pleasing others and doing what is best for the party they will be in opposition (with more seats but still opposition) I belive a better stance would have been to attend parliament, and let the people of Barbados know what their feeling and thoughts on each and every issue are, thoughts on each and every piece of legislation. How can you what to rule when you don’t let your thoughts on the above be known. Yes the people want to hear you at the meetings but also in parliament. Kellman should have stayed and represented his party. He has nothing to fear he and Thompson have the two most secure seats in the DLP. If he was smart he would have made Kellie deputy. After having his job, he could have at least named in number 2, so that the others and the voters would know that he was serious able have the best and strongest leadership. Kellman is a leader, but he doesnot take being unfaired lying down. Most of the others only want to get into lead the country to mess with our minds and money. I think that Kellman is one of the few that speaks honestly, and he should not just follow like a blind mice.

3. I really must admire Bro Kellman, he is one of the few politicians with a backbone. I am surprise that he being one of the senior and strongest candidate within the party should be credited with Deputy Leader. Instead, we see Ronald Jones and Richard Sealy at the side of the Opposition Leader. I would like an answer from the PR of the party, the famous WIV et al.

4. frankology // December 13, 2007 at 10:24 pm

I really must admire Bro Kellman, he is one of the few politicians with a backbone. I am surprise that he being one of the senior and strongest candidate within the party should be credited with Deputy Leader. Instead, we see Ronald Jones and Richard Sealy at the side of the Opposition Leader. I would like an answer from the PR of the party, the famous WIV et al.
    —————————————————
    Frankolgy ..
    Your Slip is showing.

5. Frankolgy You must have skillfully not paid attention to the fact that I have ignored you and will continue to do so to you, I have found you to come over as bully, a spolit child style and more importantly a liar.

6. There is nothing other than divine intervention that can stop the Dems from winning! BU, this is a side-show. In 1994 for the No Confidence Motion against Sandi, Braddie went to Antigua. Where is he now? Life can be quite funny sometimes.

Frankology is one of those bloggers who tries to conceal his agenda but it comes out so obviously. He built up some credibility by trying to sound intelectually independent and then the BLP core came through. This is a transparent public relations ploy but it can’t work.

Frankly, its too late because most of us have made up our minds already!

7. Our Caribbean – Kellman’s latest stunt on the Dems
    Published on: 12/14/07.

DENIS KELLMAN, the Opposition Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) representative for St Lucy, has more than a chip on his shoulder about his own importance to party politics in this country.

Driven by an enormous ego, he could very well end up as Barbados’ best known maverick politician of the first decade of the 21st century.

He seems to delight in embarassing his own party at crucial periods – in and out of Parliament – with idiosyncracies that came to be publicly manifested following the 1999 general election.

Then, he and David Thompson had formed an Opposition of two and Kellman was to subsequently flatter himself with a leadership potential not recognised in the councils of the DLP.

Who then, but this Denis Kellman, could have run so closely to provide a political surprise on Tuesday to that much bigger and shocking surprise sprung on the Dems and the electorate back in January 2006?

It was the moment of Mascoll’s political somersault – unprecedented in the annals of multi-party parliamentary democracy in this region – when he quit as Opposition Leader to become a Cabinet colleague of the very Prime Minister (Owen Arthur) and party (Barbados Labour Party) whose fiscal and economic policies he had been so very passionate in consistently castigating?

Then came the “Kellman surprise” on Tuesday when he turned up in the House of Assembly as the sole Opposition parliamentarian in the face of an implemented boycott by his party colleagues to register their protest against a ruling by Speaker of the House of Assembly Ishmael Roett.

From what I happen to know about Mr Roett, I find quite disturbing the charges levelled against him by Opposition Leader Thompson. Now the Speaker has disclosed his intention to seek legal advice to redress the “sullying” of his reputatio by statements about him, relating to the Opposition MPs’ walk-out from the House.

What is of immediate relevance at this stage is neither the claim by Thompson nor the rebuttal of Speaker Roett. Kellman has become the focus of the controversy by his making a farce of the fundamental issue of party unity at this critical political juncture when the country anxiously awaits the voting date from Prime Minister Arthur for General Election 2008.

What develops from here could prove a political plus, or a false start for the Dems, depending how that party’s decision-makers choose to deal with Kellman’s latest “I-man” political show.

The Prime Minister, currenty marketing with recognised justification, his leadership strength as he prepares for what is being programmed as “the mother of all elections” in Barbados, would no doubt be pondering how his BLP could exploit Kellman’s defiance of the DLP’s boycott and his continuing wish to remain in the fold for the coming election.

*This column was written while the Dems were having their meeting on Wednesday night in Heroes Square and without any prior indication of a likely position on the Kellman factor in the dispute involving Thompson and Speaker Roett.

8. Leviticus,

“There is nothing other than divine intervention that can stop the Dems from winning!

Frankly, its too late because most of us have made up our minds already!”

…………………….

There was also a religious nutcase in Jamaica who made similar claims about how Portia Simpson was ordained by God to be re-elected to power in the last elections there.

She lost.

God does not dwell in George St. alone.

9. As expected the media has jumped on this issue in an attempt to project disunity. I believe Kellman’s action was an attempt to satisfy the vow he made to himself and his constituents (to attend Parliament whenever he’s in teh island), while yet ensuring that he was not a part of Parliamentary activity and therefore a substantive part of the boycott.

Considering he was there long enough ONLY for his name to be marked present and nothing else, the cries of disunity, disloyalty and loose cannons are a bit severe.

No on could try to advance the argument that the DLP is anywhere close to the fractured state it was once in. Far from that they have shown unity on the platforms (including Kellman) and have been excellent as a team in dealing with the Hardwood issue and the impartiality of the Speaker of the House. Let’s focus on elections and the issues and not let Kellman’s 4 minutes sidetrack us too much from what we really need to deal with.

One only has to glance at the other side and look at the “possible parallel” of George Payne and Owen Arthur for the past umpteen years thru how many elections and Parliament sittings. In fairness that should be hyped up in the media as well.

10. 1) He who cannot follow should not expect to Lead

2) If Kellie was in the BLP with owen in charge his head would now be dislocated from his body.

3) with regards to 2) This is why I love the DLP and what it embodies. It seems to have leeway for it’s members to express themselves within reason. This cannot be said for the BLP.

we are moving on … too the victory…moving on…too the victory…we’re moving (moving on) …..

ever forward…never backward

🙂

11. “A thorn in two seat’s flesh”

Make no mistake about it; this was yet another juck in the side of David Thompson. “Own way” Kellman continues to be a source of great irritation to the would be members of the DLP intelligentsia. With St. Lucy being only one of two seats the DLP is assured of winning, “two seat” Thompson must learn to live with the pain? The local DLP committee has already told him to get stuffed, so there will be no night of the long knives in St. Lucy.

12. Say what you like, Kellman is perhaps the best man in the DLP.

Since he knows he does not need to lick the adipose tissue that overlays any persons gluteus maximi, he does not.

He speaks quite intelligently amd seems to be loyal to both the DLP and the people of St Lucy, and he has good ideas.

Why does he have to follow the multitude to do evil.

He ought to be respected more than he is.
    He ought to have been given the distinction of party leader when Thompson resigned temporarily. He has proven to be more of a Caleb than Mascoll.

Like Caleb of old who chose not to follow Moses or Joshua, but wholly followed the Lord, Kellman has been loyal to the DLP.

Just because he did not go to UWI or Oxford, Bajans want to treat the man as an ass; forgetting that the parents of most of us over 50 did not go to university either.

Kellman cant do worse in cabinet than any of the jackasses we have seen holding ministries in the last 13 years.

13. Leviticus,
    How on earth can you state that, “Frankology is one of those bloggers who tries to conceal his agenda but it comes out so obviously.” without ever criticising Wishing In Vain. They are both very partisan, just coming at it from different sides. Is this omission perhaps because you are incredibly partisan too, simply on the DLP side ? I have no problem either way, just don’t pretend to be balanced please.

14. I made this statement for your answer.

“I really must admire Bro Kellman, he is one of the few politicians with a backbone. I am surprise that he being one of the senior and strongest candidate within the party should be credited with Deputy Leader”.

As usual you avoid the issue and give this…

“Frankolgy You must have skillfully not paid attention to the fact that I have ignored you and will continue to do so to you, I have found you to come over as bully, a spolit child style and more importantly a liar”.

The public do not want a CV about me, the public need information about the behaviour of political candidates, the people who should be representing their interests. The people are not interest in Frankology, or WIV, or Leviticus. or David, or Adrian or even Jerome. So stop the bashing of commenters and deal with the issues at hand. Regardless if you respond to my comment or not, you can not stop me from bashing Dees, Bees, or Individuals with agendas. But I promise you, I will not accept your one-sided bias, so clean up your partisan act, Frankology goin’ to be your biggest nightmare.

15. I agree with our local GP,

Kellman is a breath of fresh air.

Honest, down to earth, may I say, straight talk.

Sometimes his words may jumble and the logic of Kellmanomics may be hard to immediately grasp, but his enthusiasm for thinking outside the box and promotion of St Lucy far outclasses the UWI mindset of his fellow MPs.

16. FRANKOLOGY………you love PAPPY SHOW !

Dennis Kellman & the DEMS vowed not to attend Parliament and PARTICIPATE in any debate ……until an apology came from the Speaker of the House .

KELLMAN…….attended Parliament……TRUTH !

KELLMAN ……..did not participate in any DEBATE IN Parliament……TRUTH !

THEREFORE………KELLMAN did not BREAK……RANKS……TRUTH !

In HEROES SQUARE….ONE DAY LATER……KELLMAN stated that the 41% of the ELECTORATE that wants change will be / must be WOOED by the DEMS…….TRUTH !

Right – thinking BARBADIANS are yet to see this BLP LIE……of DISUNITY in the DEMS camp !

17. He is different,diferent to the extent to be labelled, ‘the man from another planet’.
    He is egocentric.
    Blogers and many more believe he is in a safe seat; not any longer. Walk around and speak to the ordinary person to hear for yourself.
    St. Lucy was a ‘safe seat’ for the DEMS, but not now; not this time; gone; gone are the days one can call ST. Lucy as safe.
    The people of St. Lucy are more intelligent than their parents. They think differently and will vote differntly.
    The RUM and CORNED BEEF culture has long gone.The people of St. Lucy are now asking what can my PARTY do for me, not what can I do for my MP!
    ANON, you are correct, the BLP will capture St. Lucy.

On a happy note he is entitled to a pension and a job at Starcom or at one or both newspapers.If unsucessful he can take up permanent resident in his buisness.

18. Paradox et al where is this feeling coming from? All the scientist including the one and only Peter Wickham clearly point to St. Lucy being a safe seat for Kellman. Just interested in hearing a more detail account as to why you say the BLP will win St. Lucy especially against the background of a national swing way from the government.

19. Georgie Porgie…. I have to agree with you totally.

Paradox, I don’t live in St. Lucy, so I will be inclined to listen to others, but I still say that the safest DLP seats are St. Lucy, and St. John. The BLP would have to be St. Peter, and Mia’s seat.

20. In an effort to comfort themselves these clowns the blp will spin anything any how they can, it is my view with a swing against the ruling party to the tune of 5.5 % any seat that the DLP presently holds will be a safe seat and many of the BLP seats that were so closely contested such as the ministerial idiots Jerome Walcott, Joe the Chinese Workers Fiasco Atherley, Barney Muscle Mary Lynch, Dreamer Dale Marshall, Glyne Wuk for Wuk pay me $ 1,500.00 for permit Clarke will all be causalities of a 5.5 % swing away from this callous, uncaring, arrogant, corrupt gov’t of the owing and the blp.

21. The BLP has many safe seats. St. Thomas is safer than St. Michael North-East.

St. Lucy really isn’t that strong the the DLP. The problem with st lucy is that according to the last list I saw, it has 8997 voters up to March this year. Last election Arthur got 2330 to Kellman’s 3198. It is widely accepted that Kellman’s area is the eastern side of St. Lucy, while the Western side is the BLP’s.

22. Backra Johnny, don’t you DLP yardfowls on BFP and BU feel really foolish now that BLP supporters are coming out to kill the lies previously being spread that everybody on Bajan blogs was there to complain against the BLP?

It is YOU who should be preparing fuh de big
    FOUR LOVE IN WUNNA BACKSIDE!!!!

23. I got my ear close to de ground … everybody face long long long … not a smile anywhere .. an dis is Christmas time too … People want a change … I can feel it … BLP is a good party ..done some good tings … but done some sh!te too …

24. BLP supporters? Ya mean dem BFPE idiots dat u paying to disrupt de blogs … ?? All i can hear from wunna is bare racist talk an fowl language … wunna should know dat dem days done bout hey!!

25. Backra Johnny,

Wunna cuhn even get enuff people tuh full-up Heroes Square las Wensdy night.

Why de SPARSE CROWD?

Yuh coulda SEE RIGHT THROUGH UM from de Careenage tuh de Parliment Buildings!

And doan talk bout de HUNDREDS of Bajans who was walking through town and goin bout duh business PAYING WUNNA NO MIND AT ALL!!!!

26. Backra Johnny,

“I got my ear close to de ground … everybody face long long long … not a smile anywhere”

Another damn DLP liar.

Walk through any day of the week.

Look in today’s Nation and read about shoppers bussing down de doors tuh get Christmas bargains on Broad St.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/323819958635910.php

“According to Marcia Clarke and Joyce Small, the bargains were excellent and they spent more than $100 each on items.

Rosie King was also quite satisfied with the Christmas decorations and other items she got for $50.”

Wunna caan fool nuhbody wid dem foolish LIES nuhmo!

IDIOT!

FOUR LOVE IN WUNNA BACKSIDE!!!!

27. Poor handful of brainwashed DLP losers led by a disgruntled and disappointed white British liar.

Continue to moan on the blogs as if that will change the reality of life in Barbados or the outcome of the next election.

The simple fact is… life is GREAT for most Bajans.

And a MASSIVE BLP LANDSLIDE VICTORY is just around the corner and waiting to crush you incompetent imbeciles.

28. People brekkin down a store to get $2 items is anyting to be proud about … Cheap tings for we Bajans … dat is where you like to see us .. while you an you rich foreign buddies shopping at Cave Shepherd …. time fuh wunna to tek a back seat … come back when Mia in control …

29. ha ha ha ha. Smiling Bajans? not only does wunna mek de blogs miserable, but wunna does use propaganda wrongly. 33% of the people in this photo are not Bajan. 33% are under teh age of one. the otehr 33% is just happy ta see family. c’mon.. y’all being ridiculous now.

Ya know that things dread when BLP spinners can’t even spin good. The writing is on the wall y’all. Time for change.

30. Moore
    And a MASSIVE BLP LANDSLIDE VICTORY is just around the corner and waiting to crush you incompetent imbeciles.

incompetent ?? Let me tell you someting Moore, I aint belong to no party hear me! I used to vote BLP, and could well do so in de future too .. but when it come down to de facts … WHO showing dat dey incompetent??? De DLP aint had a chance to show off any competence or incompetence in de last 13 years … in fact sorry .. dey had one example of incompetence an guess wha?? Wunna include him and now he showing off he true colors pun de udder side ….

31. Hi DAVID,
    It’s not a ‘feeling’; it is what the people are saying. Some would tell you to your face, depending on how comfortable they feel in your company. They are saying, “We would like to see the back of this Administration, as much as we would like to see the back of Kellman”.
    Mr. Kellman does not have a ‘cat in hell chance’ of winning his seat again. He had 3 terms, only because the older folks were ‘living in the past’. “The D’s did this for me and my parents and I must remain loyal; I must keep the tradition…”.

Mr. UNDERTAKER, Sir,
    Get ready to perform the burial. The doctor has pronounced him dead.He can not be resuscitated.
    Younger people are saying, “We cannot eat or live in the past, we must care for today and provide for tomorrow”.
    Mr. Wickham and other commentators based their knowledge on past performance,not on actual interviews with people.
    Mr. Kellman is out of step with the majority of people. No one wants confrontation or retribution ,so they express their true feelings with people they are comfortable with.
    When last have you heard Mr. Kellman addressing issues like the state of the roads in St. Lucy;(absolutely appauling, you jump from one hole to the next; bush & grass have made one lane into cart-roads,with far more vehicles and the width of the roads remaining the same as 50 years ago I am told, and lawlessness on those same roads); projects for the Boys on the Block, (Drugs are common on most street corners; crime such as theft from properties are increasing and people are afraid too speak out. Strangers can walk on to your property and take what they like); The state of the district hospital ;The need for a library in St. Lucy; A scheme to ensure better treatment for the Mentally Challenged who are often seen wondering the streets. A day-care centre for the same and for the elderly,so relatives can have some respite. Would you like me to go on? The list is long.
    Mr. Kellman drives in and out of an area from time to time. He waves or toots his horn and appears to believe his job is well done. He doesn’t live in St. Lucy. The duty for the MP is to find out what problems they are, needed to be addressed and not behave as he is ‘Mr. Mind Reader’, or that the people are stupid. He can then embarrass the government by ‘hammering home’ the issues of neglet,decay, which his constituents are complaining of and not try to solve it on AIR.
    For many years people have been saying, and believed Mr. Kellman is a BLP standing in a DLP jacket. Is he preparing to jump ship at the next election if he wins,many are saying?
    They are also saying, “We must vote for the B’s to get something done in St. Lucy.
    Mr. Kellman has had it too easy.Most people of St. Lucy are not the type who would express displeasure directly to an individual, neither are they willing to AIR their views in public. They have been silent for far too long,hoping in the knowledge that one day, one day he might come to his senses and ASK/TALK, so he can speak with authority. Instead he takes every opportunity to go on every call-in programme to talk ‘Kellmanomics’, while the rest of the country poke fun(mocksport) at his constituents.
    No one knows how the BLP Rep. would shape up, but the people are willing to give him 4 yrs ONLY, to see how he performs. He will be on ‘notice/trial too.
    Take note MR. .

32. Backra Johnny,

“I got my ear close to de ground … everybody face long long long … not a smile anywhere ..”

………………………………

You said there was “not a smile anywhere.”

Stop LYING to cover your foolish LIES.

IDIOT!

33. Paradox your insight puts a spin on the St. Lucy seat which we had never considered. The problem we have with your argument and it was manifested in the last T&T election and that is, it is the older people who vote not the young ones.

34. MOORE = OSSIE MOORE .. Barbados biggest idiot ….

So maybe I shoulda said “hardly a smile” still dont change my point …
    Bajans FED UP and WANT A CHANGE ….

35. Observing,

“foregone conclusions.”

There is no foregone conclusion about the results of ANY election.

Any of these candidates can DIE at any moment.

A natural disaster could strike the island and wipe out the population of entire parishes or indeed the entire country.

The government could be overthrown militarily or the country invaded by a foreign power.

A scandal kept secret could break out at the last moment.

Has an election date even been set yet?

Some of you people are really ignorant. There is no foregone conclusion about anything in politics.

FOOL!

36. Backra Johnny,

Go and take a walk through Bridgetown, you clueless dimwit.

You fools come to an internet blog and think that just because you can repeat something over and over it will become true or be accepted as truth. While you blow off your big mouth, wiser people are using their EYES to see what has been going on in this country, and those of us who see the evidence all around us KNOW that the BLP is poised to win the next election in Barbados.

Of course, in your desperation and disappointment, you are entitled to be laughed at.

FOOL!

“it is the older people who vote not the young ones.”

Nonsense. Where is your evidence of that? What statistics can you produce to support such a claim?

In Barbados, young people turn 5 years older every election.

Dunce!

37. BU CRAP
    While you blow off your big mouth, wiser people are using their EYES to see what has been going on in this country, and those of us who see the evidence all around us …….
    Yes BU thank God for wiser people an dem eyes
    dat dey can see de evidence ….. now tell us what evidence we seeing ….. Cost overruns …
    media intimidation … corruption … arrogance and more arrogance …. you so arrogant dat you can say no election is a forgone conclusion in one breath an den say dat the BLP is poised to win de election …. Listen it aint no sense going back an forth cause you aint proving nuttin to me except dat you mekkin a fool of yourself … Lets just wait an see ok … if you right, I will be de first to congratulate you .. but if I right .. I aint goin hold my breath waiting for comments from you ….

38. I am not sure that I could put the effort into listening to this moraless corrupt bunch lying thru their teeth.

If not today the time is near to hand his options are running out with each passing day his vote is being radically reduced as more and more of the voting public becomes more aquainted with the lies, deception, deceit, dishonesty, arrogance, corruption and the pack of frauds that this bunch are.

39. 1994sept6-1999jan20 4years 4months 2weeks
    1999jan20-2003may21 4years4months
    2003may21-2008sometime = >4years7months

The BLP sure seems confident of victory! *sarcasm*

40. Makaveli // December 17, 2007 at 3:19 am

1994sept6-1999jan20 4years 4months 2weeks
    1999jan20-2003may21 4years4months
    2003may21-2008sometime = >4years7months
    …………………………………..
    4 yrs, 7 mths and counting…..
    Sure doesn’t seem like confidence to me.
    BTW, who are the ones that are confident? They all frightened and it is showing. One only has to check the behaviour of the members of the governing party.

41. We look forward to seeing DENIS in the House of Assembly today….. Afterall he is the only remnant of Barrow’s DLP

42. A year ago I felt the Bees had a good shot at winning by about 19-11.

Now……I don’t know. They need the swing to return to under 5%….5.5% is a dice game and if it approaches 7% in a system of first past the post…they gone through the eddoes.

It is more difficult for a 3term incumbent , they have had 23 or more MPs since Jan 1999. All those junior ministers expected promotion eventually, they probably think the sooner the better. BLP would be worst off with a squeak pass victory 16-14 or even 17-13 than an outright defeat.

Both sides will be desperate in this election. If Barbadians are satisfied with the last term of the BLP government then they will be returned to office, if the people are dissatisfied, as long as they don’t have “battered wife” syndrome then they’ll vote the DLP into office. Young people don’t vote in large numbers in Barbados, but it is important to remember that there is an entire generation of voters that only know of BLP government and vaguely remember the DLP or Sandi or the 8%.

In Jamaica, JLP benefited from young voters who voted because they didn’t have any hang ups about the past, Seaga as PM was a distant memory, so they gave them a chance. Its hard to get much closer than that election.

When the numbers are close, and your political base is consolidated, it is all about bring out the undecided voters and the youth who absentee. The party faithfuls do not decide an outcome because their staunch support neutralizes each other.

43. I agree with you.

I’m still predicting a victory for the BLP. 19 seats confirmed already. Others will be very very very very close.

Lynette is giving David a run for his money. She’s tipped to win. so is David Gill and Dalton Lovell……but who will the BLP’s casualties be?

44. Who is Dalton Lovell? Don’t you even know your own candidates Jay? How can you “confirm” a seat. This is dangerous BLP stuff like the statements of Owen on Sunday about the Dems. Only the Lord knows the outcome of the next election. And I firmly predict the Dems will win by a landslide.

When a government changes in Barbados there is always a landslide. The Dems have shown much strength and character.

Errol Barrow – great man that he was – didn’t get four terms and I doubt Bajans will give Owen four. The Dems lost lat time only because of disunity. Keep it together guys and Jay will eat his or her vomit.

45. One but can only dream as the ones like Jay and clan are doing, it is clear to me that these people are living on another planet, I have been around many elections going back to the ones in the 60’s and I can safely state there has never been a time leading into an election that the mood has been so energised and angered by the actions of the ruling party and just looking, waiting, and hoping for the date to be called to dismiss this gang of corrupt gangsters from the halls of the House of Assembly.

46. Leviticus Chapture nothing, verse foolishness wrote …. “The Dems lost last time only because of disunity. Keep it together guys and Jay will eat his or her vomit.”

The DEMS lost last time …. TRUE
    Because of DISUNITY ……. TRUE

Disunity created by TOM PEE and his disgruntled fraction ……. TRUE

“Keep it together guys…. a desperate plea ….. OH yes TRUE

Will be defeated again ……. TRUE
    Because of DISUNITY ……..TRUE
    Because of TOM PEE.. again….. TRUE
    WILL remain DESPERATE ……. TRUE

Here endeth the reading.

47. May I say that I find it disgusting when people such as the one above can find the time to make fun of the bible and the church as was done in the above posting.
    Grow up you idiot and have some respect for things religious even if you have none for yourself!!!

48. The Church is one Foundation
    Its Jesus Christ our Lord

…. I don’t worship man..

You request that I have some respect for things religious. Does TRUTH feature in religion and if so shouldn’t you also have respect for TRUTH? I am just wishing in vain

49. That misquote above reminds of a speech by Lionel Craig in the 1970’s that Errol Barrow had to correct. He said, that Barrow attacked the church but, “the Church is one foundation!”

Errol Barrow had to remind him that the hymn is, “The Church’s one foundation is Jesus Christ, her Lord…”

But no one would expect that clown SSC to know that! Like Lionel Craig, Cap/SSC is as dense as a mahogany tree.

50. You request that I have some respect for things religious. Does TRUTH feature in religion and if so shouldn’t you also have respect for TRUTH? I am just wishing in vain

51. The Church shall never perish!
    Her dear Lord to defend,
    To guide, sustain, and cherish,
    Is with her to the end:
    Though there be those who hate her,
    And false sons in her pale,
    Against both foe or traitor
    She ever shall prevail.

Long Live the Church
    Long Live Owen Arthur
    Long Live the BLP

52. On page 3A what do we read in the Nation newspaper today? The House of Assembly adjourned today and the DLP boycotted like they said they would. Here is the punch though, NO KELLMAN!!!!

What is responsible for Kellman’s no-show? Is he overseas?

53. I am amazed that contributors to this post will get themselves sidetracked from the issues before us. The Barbados Labour Party must do everything to hold on to the government. Otherwise the filth which would flow from the revelations hidden in many documents would cover this country. The density of corruption will make us all scream. Ask Owen Arthur how he amassed his tens of millions in such a short time. He will soon be going offto Nigeria to full up his campaign bag to the tune of $5,000,000.00 dollars. He will also be given permisson for the establishment of a Nigerian Bank in Barbados. You all watch and see. Barbadians have grown careless in their analysis and understanding of political realities. It is not about David Thompson or even Owen Arthur. It is about our ability to think critically and usee our eyes and ears to see what is going on in our country. May all of you be blessed

54. Denis Kellman is an study in psychological profiling. He is a proverbial loner who must listen to himself and therefore his antics usually come from the outfield. His drop in on parliament says that he is just as scared as most people in Barbados. He simply wanted to play it safe. Kellman needs to grow up and stand for something in his life. He needs to stop sounding off about his intellect and knowledge. He needs to act as a member of the team. That is a major part of life.

55. When we look for leadership we look towards OWEN ARTHUR, when we want leadersh@t we look toward the LOO

Towards a new bebigining with the BLP and OWEN ARTHUR

56. maine beckford // December 20, 2007 at 3:07 pm

A New Beginning

Owen Authur has shown us that you not only have ideas, but you reinvent ideas and constantly re-gear yourself for the changing times. Our Prime Minister is an intellectual genius whom has never seems to amaze the public with his ept display of modernity and continually retooling himself and the country to be abreast of the times so as to deal with the many challenges that will face us in the age of the 21st century.

Leadership will play a decisive role in the deciding of our fate. We need to have someone whom is bold in will and not just words. This country needs someone who truly cares about the interest of the people and takes the plight of the next generation to heart. The prime minister in all his excellence has set high standards for the office and has definitely shown us that the one who now parades on and off as an opposition leader is not even close to being a quarter of the man that Owen Arthur is. If you compare, on will and guts and conscious negotiating experience, with a crude and inhumane developed culture, hats must be taken off to the Prime Minister.

“If the future leaders are listening tell them come forward, tell them of a new beginning.” Barbados has developed more over the last thirteen years than in any other time throughout our history. Taken on the heels of a complete breakdown of our economy and rampant depression throughout society, as a result of a former destructive malice with no conceived sense of reality, Owen Arthur has taken this country from being almost full followers of places like Haiti ,Jamaica and Guyana to a country that is known from crease to crease as the number one developing country in the world , to the extent that if time prevails and the almighty lets it be Owen Seymour Arthur will have engineered this economy to full development. That is worth applause.

This development has not been easy and everyone has not always been happy, but one thing cannot be denied, we are proud of our country and where it has come from and where it is going. if we as a people continue to work together and avoid the destructive lying and pertentitious individuals whom only intent is to wreak havoc on this country and leave the people, especially those young innocent children whom deserve a future in Barbados, one that can only be afforded under the wisdom and common sense of a man so remarkable in his honour, Owen Seymour Authur.A new plan has been drawn, things have been set in motion, we have all benefited and will continue to benefit. The experience lies only within. Our country needs serious leadership and policy makers, not people begging for sympathy and having issues that seem to be termite infested. At a glimpse you cannot even determine the real 30 candidates of the opposition. A house divided is bound to fail. We do not need them to fail at our expense, we are moving, let us keep moving forward .Thompson will only murder this country, all its resources, our valued economy and leave the system in social decay as he exits to his true homeland

57. Denis Kellman is an ass. The Dems missed too many opportunities to rid themselves of that clown now he believes he is untouchable. Kellman is a big Owen Arthur ass licker. Both are four feet eight inch miserable midgets and excuses for men who believe they are God’s gift to the universe. Why would anyone in Barbados want Kellman to lead anything? The man is a humbug who hallucinates about his importance all the time. Like I said he is an ass.

58. Have anyone notice how the DEMS take delight in attacking each other and in the most insulting terms. Yet in the next breath they will tell you they are united. United in what, in a desire to destroy, friend foe annd country?.

To A NEW BEGINNING.

SSC can we use your argument and ask for examples?

59. SACKIE,
    I cannot agree with you more and so are many many more people in his constituency.
    Yes there are comments being made about the legacy of the late Errol Barrow doing his ‘bit’ for the poor plantation workers. Some have said, “We never cross the floor.” One explained to me as not voting for the other party.
    Mr Kellman is aware of this obsession and perhaps believes that those same could pull him through every time.
    I firmly believe that if a third party was in the running, that member of the third party would have a very good chance of wining or perhaps running a close second.
    Mr. Kellman has done absolutely nothing for St. Lucy but only to make St. Lucy the ‘joke capital of the North.’He is an embarrasment to those he represents and perhaps to his party.He has to go.

SSC,
    I am sorry. Do you really believe what you have written above?
    Under this last BLP government, a great deal of changes have taken ‘root,’ but not for the good of Barbadians, now or the future.
    This administration has sold off our ‘Family Silver’. Barbados now belongs to the ‘Non-Barbadian’. Now the majority of the population must live in hope .
    The Opposition has had time enough to show the people they are serious and determined on making a change for the better; they have failed.
    What is left now?
    The choice is between a rock and a hard place. To vote for change and have a name changed is not what is needed.
    Three weeks before an election and the public is no near knowing the policies of the Opposition. It has let down the voting public in a similar manner as that of the current member of Parliament for St. Lucy.
    Again I will resort to the statement that ‘if another party was in the running; the 2 known parties would not want to come third, hence the urgency to inform the electorate of policies’.
    Now the question is!—-What future is there for the majority young?
    Servants/maids/gardeners for the ….
    F or the next 20-30yrs will be pay back time; to those monies were borowed. So ladies and gentlemen, tighten your belts.
    Mr. SSC, the country is already decaying. Methane is in the AIR. It can be detected far and wide.

60. David,

Read this blog and see the many examples where DLP Bloggers are cussing Kellman in the most detestable manner. Check it out and get back to me

61. Such Stupid Comments……..before we in the BLP can talk about a NEW BEGINNING……help muh answer the question below.

You and the rest of my BLP colleagues like wunnah running from muh !

Look what I asking you pun we BLP blog :

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 26, 2007 at 2:50 am

Such Stupid Comments …….you still ain’t answer me

Why a portion of our BLP party leader’s speech has been pulled from BLP TV ?

If we BLP people & Owen refuse to repent

Then come the 15 of Jan 2008 , BAJANS gine mek we pay for………SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

62. Such Stupid Comments……..before we in the BLP can talk about a NEW BEGINNING……help muh answer the question below.

You and the rest of my BLP colleagues like wunnah running from muh !

Look what I asking you pun we BLP blog :

DE BUMBLE BEE // December 26, 2007 at 2:50 am

Such Stupid Comments …….you still ain’t answer me

Why a portion of our BLP party leader’s speech has been pulled from BLP TV ?

If we BLP people & Owen refuse to repent

Then come the 15 of Jan 2008 , BAJANS gine mek we pay for………SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !

” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?

Follow the speech below :

http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches

63. Such Stupid Comments…….I tell wunnah already that KELLIE strategy ain’t wukking fuh de BEES this time out !

Bajans & the DEMS got we original BLP TV tape about what Owen really say down in Alexandra school hall .

Is it true that Mia Mottley give it to David Thompson ?

LET WE EXAMINE WHERE THIS DIVISION ISSUE…..REALLY IS !

64. Such Stupid Comments…….I tell wunnah already that KELLIE strategy ain’t wukking fuh de BEES this time out !

Bajans & the DEMS got we original BLP TV tape about what Owen really say down in Alexandra school hall .

Is it true that Mia Mottley give it to David Thompson ?

LET WE EXAMINE WHERE THIS DIVISION ISSUE…..REALLY IS !

65. Oh Lawd, Bumble bee, bee, I didn’t realize we were being taped, Ah hope ah didn;t cause yuh much grief… You know these people wicked, they don.t let a man do what he want to do in piece….. Anyhow call me 246-thom-pee

66. Bumble BEE, you jackass, if you have the Original tape why are you asking about it? Why can’t you simply ask TOM PEE who he got it from?

………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………
    What OWEN said at Alexander School was
    1. Thank you to the thousands who attended the meeting in support of the BLP.
    2. Thank you to Barbadians for thier support over the past 13 years.
    3. He highlighted the importance of having and appreciating one’s social background
    4. He expressed a willingness to continue to serve Barbadians with distinction.
    5. He echoed the sentiments expressed by both Clyde Mascoll and Mia Mottley that the economy is in good hands.
    6. He expresed his appreciation to his cabimet colleagues for thier qulity service to nation.
    7. He showed his appreciation nd love for his nation, constituents, party, family and even the opposition.
    8. He diliberated on the issues confronting us on at the local, regional and international levels.
    9 He espoused a vision for Barbados
    10. He indicated his immediate mission.

I can go on, but even someone as dumb as you would get the point….. I hope

67. David & Barbados Underground personnel……now that the news have broken where are the congratulatory remarks ?

Denis St. Elmo Kellman has been elevated to the ESTEEMED position of Ambassador to CARICOM !

Kudos to Ambassador Kellman and His Most Honourable , PM , David John Howard Thompson for demonstrating ONCE again such……VISIONARY LEADERSHIP !

68. Yes Jerome where are the Kellman shouters. Thompson accumulating and displaying political savvy faster than any previous PM. No one is reading him and he placing the ball in all the right areas.

Kellman has a high profile international pick. He and his apologists cant bicker. The spotlight is on Kellman. Is he the loose cannon many of us believe or a misnundertood fellow? Kellman we are watching you closely. Over to you.

69. Pingback: Barbados Parliament + Politicians = Rum Shop « Barbados Underground (BU) - bringing the news to the people

70. Pingback: Next Stop, MoonTown In St.Lucy « Barbados Underground - bringing the news to the people

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.