cmascoll-thumb.jpgChris Sinckler

The contest which we find to be very intriguing is the match-up between the former DLP stable mates Chris Sinckler on the left (DLP) and Clyde Mascoll (BLP). The contest in our opinion will tell Barbados many things, the result has created a mouth watering anticipation for John Public for three reasons.

Reason #1

Clyde Mascoll has generated heated debate in the country regarding his public battle for the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with David Thompson who eventually came out the winner. Much has been said about whether Mascoll was right or Thompson was wrong, some public commentators have been heard to say that the Democratic Labour Party orchestrated the demise of Clyde Mascoll. We were not privileged to have been a DLP insider at that time, so like you, we have to discern the truth from the pile of poop which is plentiful around this issue. Tom, Dick and Harry have had their say and soon we will all know how Barbadians really feel about Mascoll the politician. The question which we will all have answered when Prime Minister Owen Arthur finally announces the election date will be: Will Mascoll retain his credibility as a politician despite the switch from former Leader of the Opposition to a Junior Minister in the Owen Arthur cabinet?

Reason #2

It is no secret that Chris Sinckler was one of those who worked closely with David Thompson to recruit and groom Mascoll the politician. This time around, Sinckler who like Mascoll is from the St. Michael North West constituency will be seeking to dismantle the support which he helped to build for Mascoll from previous election campaigning. The interesting dynamic at work in this constituency will be to observe two young, intellectual candidates who can boast of having grassroot support in the constituency. So many of the candidates in recent elections have been those who have adopted constituencies. It will be refreshing to see two hometown boys who have some ‘dept’ slogging it out. There is no doubt that both parties see this match-up as being very important to create certain public perceptions. In the case of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) they would feel vindicated that the politics of inclusion would have worked. Clyde Mascoll the former Leader of the Opposition who was bloodied and wounded by David Thompson for the leadership of the DLP and who scuttled to King Arthur’s lair for solace and comfort. On the other side we have Chris Sinckler who has replaced Mascoll as Thompson’s political confidant and right hand man. If Thompson is the one who visits the Governor General to be sworn in as Prime Minister, he will want Chris Sinckler by his side.

Reason #3

The St. Michael North West constituency has been a volatile seat in recent elections. The relatively narrow margin of victory for Mascoll last time around may have to withstand a national swing against the government of up to 5% according to the latest CADRES poll. If we factor a further loss of support for Mascoll because of the Hardwoods controversy, if he wins the seat he would have proven to all and sundry that he is the better man to enter parliament.

History is very alert in anticipation of the upcoming general election. They are some who believe that Mascoll has prostituted himself simply to experience the taste of power and the prestige and and material benefits which goes with the job. They are others who say that Sinckler is the one who should take over the mandate which was given to Mascoll who contested on a DLP ticket. The edge which Mascoll has with a better known national profile becomes irrelevant on the ground in St. Michael North West where both are perhaps equally well known.

We should remember that to enter the Lower House one has to be first elected at the constituency level. Barbados Underground have never been afraid to state our position on the issues. It is our opinion Mascoll made a mistake by switching allegiance so easily given the high office which he occupied within the DLP. To have become bedfellows with a group of politicians who would have vilified him not too long ago just does not sit well with Barbadians. If Mascoll wins, yes he would have done well, but it would highlight in our eyes the state of our politics.Who was it that said a democracy is not perfect?

130 responses to “Clyde Mascoll & Chris Sinckler, Key Match-Up To Watch In The Upcoming General Election In St. Michael North West”

1. Many people in north west got concerns but for some reason people feel that Mascoll get unfear and he deserve his chance. It will be a ding dong affair.

2. I am of the same view. I think he got unfair, and this was base on information at the time. It is a situation that if Mascoll was not telling the truth or the perceptions that many of us had and still have, that the DLP should have dealt with very early. They have not done so, and the recent revelations by Chris Sinkler may be too little too late. I am sure people would ask why have you now brought this to the table? If the attitudes and actions of Mascoll that Chris painted where true then why wait until now to air them? these events and comments would have been an effective response to Mascoll’s statement of “If leaving the Dlp was wrong I don’t want to be right”. At this late stage to my mind the revelations seems prepared, but on another note they speak to events and time lines that has to be challenge by Mascoll for truthfulness, because although late if Chris repeats these things often enough they can change views especially if Mascolls continues not to respond. I still think that joining the BLP so soon afterwards has damage his creditability.

3. Winston Churchill? who went on to say that it is more perfect than all other systems.

which causes me to ask, can we really refer to our mixed government system as a democracy? The person refered to as the Leader of the country is not elected but appointed some say annointed. Where is the democracy in that?

4. Wishing in Vain Avatar

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=vie
    w&id=160&Itemid=2

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=vie
    w&id=161&Itemid=2

Simply put you look and listen to the four websites above and if after anyone can still vote for that joker ASSCOLL then both that person and ASSCOLL are warped and sick persons.
    He has squirmed and wiggled his way to a point of financial comfort with the assistance of Owing and at the peril and disgust of Mottley and the rest of the party, do you or anyone else really believe that the rest of the party will sit back and allow him to walk over them on his march to financial satisfaction?
    No way will they allow him to do so, I suggest to you that the rest of the blp with maybe just maybe the exception of Owing are waiting and hoping for his demise at the poll there is no way that the rest of them will be satisfied with him overtaking their dreads of power.
    More importantly the other facto of the election surely must be the tardiness and general apperance of a tired looking and performing Owing, tired is clearly manifested in his tired and lack lustre speech of Sunday where he adopted Mr David Thompson speech of the night before as part of his speech, what does that tell you? it tells me that here is a leader you has dried up of ideas and programs and one whos blindfolding of John Public is no longer working and as a result he is stuggling to change gears he has been stung by the revelations of that cheque the gross mismanagement of the affairs of the island, the corruption and dishonesty in gov’t which he has been a part of, the affairs of VECO, the PRISON, ROAD WORKS 3 S, DANOS and the KICKBACK AGREEMENT, the lack of pay for the civil servants,the baths,the CWC, the Alleyne affair, the Hammy Lashley affair, the Oval Fiasco all of these are causes for the weakness of Arthur.
    He has overseen a structure where has allowed for wholesale corruption by he and his closest partners like Shorey, Wilkinson, Cox, Bannister, Nicholls and more recently ASSCOLL have been allowed a free hand to overcharge or be on the inside of deals only known to the PM.
    A classic example why would the PM send a message out to a land owner asking what his selling price for the land is when told the price Owings ambassador tells the land owner the Gov’t will pay you double price for the land (cost of $ 8 million) if he agrees to pass back the overpayment of $ 4 million to he Owings account!!
    This is but one example of the nature and the extent and manner of their stealing in this gov’t it has reached a new high and will contiue to grow if it is not addressed and if they are not removed from office and power.
    The Owing Arthur adminstartion has served its time in office the first two terms they did a good job but the flood gates opened wide this term and they have shown themselves to be the most dishonest bastards in politics, with an abundance of infighting and hatred among sitting members and they are being led by a dishonest drunkard who has served his time and is obviously devoid of new ideas that he is now resorting to rehash Mr Thompson’s speeches of the night before, you can do better than this Owing the question is do you still have the will or the reason to do it, my verdict is that he has exhausted his energy on doing his personal money making deals and has extended a lot of effort to keep them out of the public domain but they keep cropping up just like VECO and the Cheque and DANOS all did.

5. Free Hill Voter Avatar

Deacons voter who unfair Mascoll? Mascoll was leader of DLP when the rank and file voted they preferred Thompson as leader and implicitly Mascoll as deputy. Mascoll selfish unbridled ego refused to accept peoples verdict in free and fair election. Where is the unfairing? In the meantime he was secretly negotiating with poacher Owen to betray and destroy DLP.Where is the unfairing?

Ask Mascoll what he do to Branford Taitt when Taitt challenge him for DLP leadership. Mascoll’s campaign to nullify and villify Taitt was despicable. Who unfair who? Mascoll betrayal of the party that made him its leader is reprehensible and cannot be tolerated by St. Michael Northwest voters. My vote goes to Chris Sincker an outstanding young Barbadian in every sense. Mascoll is a traitor and his behaviour is at odds with Barbadians core moral values. He has to go, period.

6. free Hill Voter if you live in Barbados you know that Thompson refuse to canvass for Mascoll. also in the house Thompson was MIA when Mascoll raise many issues.

7. Wishing in Vain Avatar

It would suggest to me that Mr Thompson had the measure of ASSCOLL long before many, that maybe the vision of the man instead of flustering yourself, you should be thanking him for removing the malignant tumour called ASSCOLL.

8. Listening to Mascoll talking about being unfaired is one thing, but did he say HOW he was so unfaired?
    Nobody treated Mascoll badly. He was always referrinf to Thompson as “that red boy”. Would he have wanted anyone to refer to him in any demeaning way? I think not.
    I was of that opinion early on, but when I did my own reasoning based on all sides, I concluded that Mascoll was one dishonest man.
    He lied a lot about Thompson and other members of the DLP. And he knew that.
    What he wanted was power and always saw Thompson as a threat rather than getting on with the job of managing the party.
    Anyone with an ounce of common sense would have realised that something was very off-beat when Mascoll could move from being Leader of the Opposition to minister in the ruling party in a matter of weeks. What does that tell anybody? Is that the hallmark of a person who was unfaired?
    Ant to top it off, Mascoll was saying that he felt “at home” in the arms of the BLP.
    No phasing in period. That smells of something that was in the making foe a long time.
    With his performance to date, he has surely fit in well with the schemers and shady characters.
    Mascoll was right when he said that he feels at home. A perfect blend if the goings-on at Harwood is anything to go by.

9. Wishing in Vain Avatar

He is as dishonest as Owing and Nicholls and the rest of them in the blp, corruption at its best.

10. Excuse me, Mr. Thompson did not remove the malignant tumour called ASSCOLL. The Executive and members of the Democratic Labour Party “removed” Mascoll.

11. Roger Rabbitt is has always bothered us that the transition from DLP to BLP was so swift. We would have thought that the decision for Mascoll should have been a very hard one and would naturally require time. If we listen to Sinckler, Sealy, Lashley and DLP who were communicating to Mascoll leading up to his decision to cross the floor something smells fishy indeed!

12. Here is how i see it. Mascoll made the claim that Thompson was “absent without leave” (my words) while he ran the opposition from the senate. The question put to Thompson by David Ellis that Mascoll claim that he never help him,never canvass for him ets, was to my mind poorly answered. If Chris comments about Mascoll getting elected as party leader with Thompson people are true, why did Thompson find it so difficult to appear as supportive of Mascoll? When Mascoll via Albert Brandford reveal the letters written to him by Peter Morgan and Mr. Philip Greaves and i look at a PDF file containing an address he Mascoll made to the party at one of their general conferences how could i not come away feeling that he was not unfair? Now that Chris has reveal some hither too unknown actions and attitudes of Mascoll it makes sense, why he wasn’t percieved as not suited for the role. It is now clear that Mascoll cannot be elected to lead anybody given all the comments and attributes the BLP claims a leader should have. Uh mean they can if they engage in double speak. That is why we need to record all BLP comments about leadership that are being made now, so that if a person like Mascoll or even Mia is projected as the heir apparent we can ask if the same yardsticks and brooms that were use to lick Thompy and to polish Owen can be use to measure these two, or any others.

13. Adrian H.
    There is evidence out there to support that Mascoll was courting if not cavorting with the BLP for at least one year.
    Let Mascoll deny that.

14. Roger Rabbitt // Oct 30th 2007 at 1:55 pm

Adrian H.
    There is evidence out there to support that Mascoll was courting if not cavorting with the BLP for at least one year.
    Let Mascoll deny that.
    ———————————————————-
    I believe there is, since Chris declared that Mascoll spoke with glee on learning that Owen wanted him. Mascoll has to deny this, and a denial is made easy by asking Chris and the DLP why did you wait until now? I think that such a revelation would have been very damaging to Mascoll then, even if it was leaked, it would have certainly set the stage for acceptance for what the DLP is now saying about Mascoll.

15. I disagree.
    Had that information been given to the public at that time Mascoll would have benefitted tremendously. You see, at that time Mascoll was riding on a wave of support and by now it would be water under the bridge. It would have lost its relevancy by now. There were too many people symphatising with him and it would havecreated the impression that without Mascoll, the DLP would have imploded.
    As one looks back on the entire episode, it may be clear to see that Mascoll’s departure was a good thing for the DLP. They seem to have settled down and there appears to be some measure of calm within the ranks of the party.
    I supported the BLP for the last three elections and I definitely will not be voting for them next time.
    I dun wid dem.
    I supported Mark Williams last time out and my vote is not to be wasted again. My vote will be going to Chris Sinkler. In fact, all four votes in my house is going towards him. He is starting with four votes and it ain’t even elections yet.

16. Wishing in Vain Avatar

My worry about the voting in the upcoming elections is what percentage of non nationals will be allowed to vote????
    This is not an issue to be taken lighty as I am convinced we will see many of these non nationals with ID cards when voting day comes.
    I trust that the DLP are alert to the threat because there is real and present threat!!!!

17. am Roger i think you are mixing things up. On the issue of what would have been a good time to reveal Mascoll double hand, I think you are confusing support for Mascoll base on the perception of him being unfaired and the second act of him going over to the BLP. Yes indeed there was a large camp of Barbadian who was in his corner during the DLP in house fight, we felt he was unfaired in light of the information in the public domain at the time. Philip Greaves selective interpretation of the DLP rules, the two letters, the fact that Thompy wasn’t to be found helping Mascoll in anything. When he went over to the BLP that large camp of persons was split on this move and not in equal numbers either. If Chris’s revelation were made then it would have sealed Mascoll’s fate, if the revelations where made before that move he would have been doomed for eternity. Now Thompy made comments hinted to this BLP link to Mascoll just after Mascoll left the DLP, but it wasn’t made with any followup or to my mind any conviction at the time to make it as clear as they did recently.

18. WIV~please elaborate on your concerns about non nationals being able to vote. Under the law if a citizen has a valid natioal ID card what is the problem? The blame would be with the civil service and not the politicians.

19. Wishing in Vain // Oct 30th 2007 at 3:01 pm

My worry about the voting in the upcoming elections is what percentage of non nationals will be allowed to vote????
    This is not an issue to be taken lighty as I am convinced we will see many of these non nationals with ID cards when voting day comes.
    I trust that the DLP are alert to the threat because there is real and present threat!!!!
    ———————————————————

Well let wunnuh cell phone cameras and other types of cameras capture the acts of such. If true this would be a perfect time to the get that elusive accurate number of Guyanese in BIM. 😀

20. David // Oct 30th 2007 at 3:11 pm
    WIV~please elaborate on your concerns about non nationals being able to vote. Under the law if a citizen has a valid natioal ID card what is the problem? The blame would be with the civil service and not the politicians.
    ———————————————————
    I think WIV is referring to the rumoured thousands of illegals in the country.

21. But wunnuh see how Mia Mottley called him up in an unannounce and impromptu request to speak on Hardwood. Did you realize that in the end he added that he was not there (BLP) to step over anyone. ha ha ha Mia aint buying that, I know as she does that he will use by Owen as a hedge against Mia. There is no love there. In fact i woud go as far as to say that When Mascoll was leader, Mia’s current attitude is what Thompy’s should have been. Uh mean if Chris is to be believed All it would have took is for Thompy to do what he eventually did, come back for the leadership, as the then current leader was installed with his people.

22. Adrian H~your comment is very interesting because it caused us to recall a sound bite of Mascoll speaking on Sunday. In his speech he made an aside to Mia – ‘don’t mind Thompson trying to drive a wedge between us’ and that he is there to be part of the team or words to that effect. Why did he feel he had to address it in public? Why has Rommel feel that he has to address in public? We think that there is some dissention but to Mia’s credit so far she has been loyal to the party, not so Mascoll!

23. Wishing in Vain Avatar

I am saying that there are a number of temporary BARBADOS ID CARDS in vogue around here now in the hands of a lot of NON NATIONALS my concern is how many of these will be converted to permanent ID card?
    We have a desperate gov’t on the verge of being thrown out of office with bundles of corruption to conceal and hide.
    The reason has never been clearer as to why they would go out of their way to steal this election.

24. David~ I know of what i speak, I may live all the way up in Rhode Island but am kept informed because some people are always seeking my opinions fuh dis dat and de other, and duh know I luv to opinion-ate and philosophy on the political goings on in Bimshire. 😀

…..But we spoke of Mia’s approach before,….. women are more successfull with this tactic than men, women are more cunning, long suffering, and convince of an outcome that we can ever hope to be. I believe there is going to be so much fall out no matter who wins the next election no matter the outcome.

25. WIV vigilance is not for the DLP, it should be the work of every Barbadian. You should be prepared to watch over your voting station as if you were a dog guarding your prize bone.

26. Here is what I do not understand about this discussion/debate.

Clyde Mascoll for whatever reason decided to desert the DLP party. And he crossed the floor to join the BLP. Big deal!

From a Parliamentary perspective this action by Mascoll is “Democratically” acceptable as it is in most “Democracies” of the Free world. His reasons are irrelevant and at this stage of the political game what has he accomplished. That would be my focus of this situation. But then I could be very wrong in thinking this way!

What has Clyde Mascoll accomplished since crossing the floor to become a BLP member?

He was given a figurehead portfolio in finance, he is certainly not included in the SERIOUS decision making process of the financial aspects of Arthurs Government because Arthur calls the shots.

As we know Mascoll when trying to explain to Barbadians the cause for the $120 million overrun on the ABC project made a fool of himself or he did to anyone with half a brain in their heads.

Therefore the question that begs to be asked is, what difference did Mascoll by jumping ship do to damaging the chances of the DLP in forming the next Government in the upcoming election? Diddly squat!

Mascoll has clearly shown he is not in the same league as David Thnmpson and he certainly does not have the confidence of Arthur, or the Reverend Atherley given how he is kept in the dark. Added to this is now his unsavory involvement with Hardwood Housing which I might add is in my opinion a “set-up” that he did not have the sense to see he was being targeted for. The BLP sees him as being expendable. But then the entire BLP regime seem to be mentally challenged . I think this time Uncle Tom, Al Gilkes has his job cut out for him.

27. am No name i think i have found the source of your misunderstanding. You see, the discussion is not about the legal merits or demerits of the floor crossing. I think most of us here understand that there is no legal hindrance to crossing the floor. If you cast your mind back to the beginning of this post you will see that bases for the article is centered on the image of the men seeking to represent the constituency of St.Michael North west, and as you well know the process for deciding who gets the honour to so do, in the next palrliament, is carried out by the participation of about 8 to 10k individuals . Here is where Mascoll’s actions, the views of how he was treated or not treated will matter. Human beings of which those 8 to 10 k who will be given the opportunity to decide the fate of these two men PERCIEVES the world thru their senses, a sense of right and wrong out side of law, that some people may refer to as ethics or morals will be called up by these individuals to make a decision on where to place that x. This is the reason why i am discussing Mascoll actions, and those of the DLP. It is but to get a “sense” of what is the likely outcome in the battle for the North West. But i think Chris is the man that will unseat Mascoll, all he has to do is to keep pushing his importance in the DLP as the GS, cause you know dem folks down dey like to be represented by somone of note. 😀 and keep pushing his truth about Mascoll attitude and actions leading up to the parliamentary vote for Thompy as leader.

28. Adrian you are perfectly correct I did miss the boat on this.

However, I still think that Mascoll regardless will not be received kindly by most of the electorate based on his performance rather than alleged treatment. But human nature and loyalty is a very unpredictable thing.

29. I note with much interest the response of some persons about the Mascoll crossing affair. Some say he got unfaired others say the DLP’s response was to late. I disagree with both.

Firstly it is clear that Mascoll did not get unfaired. What is unfaired. Was Erskine Sandiford “unfaired”? After all he was PM and was voted down by his own members in front of the whole world. Politics is not a sunday school business. In fact it is sandy him self who said that. Mascoll got what he was not looking for in tyhe DLP. He was given a chance and he tried his best i guess. But, at the end of the day its the people who choose whom they want to lead them. Leaders cant choose themselves unless its a dictatorship. The people in the DLP want thompson for good or bad thats who they want and so if any body wants to change that they have to change the minds of the people who have the ultimate say. Men and women offer themselves as candidates in elections some work really hard and others dont but they get elected and we accept the verdict of the voters. Why should it be different in a democratic organisation. That is what Mascoll fail to accept. He was and is not entitiled to lead anything nor is david thompson for that matter. It is the people who decide.

So then are we to say that Mark Williams who worked so hard to crave out a space in that constituency was unfaired too now that Clyde who cursed everybody in the BLP has leap frogged him to become the candidate. Should Mark not leave the BLP claiming to be unfaired and join the dems and run too. That would be utter foolishness. He understands how these things go and he is a team player – he might not be happy about the situation but he is a team player. Clearly Mascoll was not.

On the second point about timing Adrian’s points are useful but the truth is that the flow of the tide was against the party at that time and bringing certain infomation would not have dealt with it effectively.

The true is that both Richard Sealy and Cranston Browne did write extensive letters to the press outlining the events that led up to the departure of Mascoll but they were not carried in full and vital parts were deleted. Mascoll was given every opportunity to deal with the leadership issue but refused. He defied his parliamentary group and his party several times. And, when he did sit down with David Thompson at the now infamous Chirst Churh meeting, he made a complete mess of this i understand from reliable sources. Indeed when the truth of that meeting is reveal the public will get to see a side of Mascoll they only suspect but will have the real evidence to substantiate it. But that i hear is coming when the election is called.

Suffice to say that mascoll is about mascoll as man with a deep inferiority complex especially when it comes to david thompson. As he told Richard Sealy the day before he resigned…”my future is secured…..i dont know about yours” He is where he wants to be and making the money he wants to.

The thing that is left is for the people of St. Michael North West to determine his future. The whole world will be watching them to see it they will let this brazen fraudulence be perpetrated on all barbados or if they will once and for all put a stop to the foolishness that politicians feel they can do and get away with. We shall see shant we

30. Light hearted ~You have written we assume from a position of knowing more than we do. There is more than a trace of logic and common sense in what you have written. What makes the conflict between Mascoll and Thompson hard to understand is the relationship the two would have had from school days. How could they toss aside a relationship which we understand was a very amicable one?

Back to reality!

We have written already that the first pass the pole system which we practice in Barbados can be seriously questioned whether it represents the best democratic model. We say this because of the bedrock of support which a BLP and DLP will start out of the blocks. In St. Michael North West the size of the national swing may well determine the outcome in this constituency.

31. Mascoll is getting my vote. David Thompson is dishonest and nasty.

32. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

It is amazing the little boys and “girls” would waste so much time trying to discredit a decent politican whose only desire is to serve the constituents of St. Micheal North West and the working class people of Barbados. None of you have the type of backbone and character that Clyde Mascoll has. Continue to be spiteful, continue to stress yourself out. I know Clyde Mascoll is comfortable and happy as he continue to work on behalf of the people of Barbados

33. yes its largely going to be determined on the swing at the national level and the ability of Mascoll to contain it. Consider some facts if you will.

St. MNW was officially created in 1981 before that it was part of St. M. South West and St. Michael North, South West was represented by Branford Taitt and North by Phillip Greaves. In 1976 it was know as St. Michael West. In 1976 it was won by Vic Jonhson of the BLP when the swing was against the Dems. He defeated Frank Walcott who had won it before then. By 1981 with the swing heading back to the DLP the seat was trending back to its DLP roots and the labour party needed to save Johnson. So Tom Adams divided up the boundaries and split the DLP boxes in the area up between the then South West which now was called St. M West. and the rest of boxes (pre-dominantly from the Deacons, Goodland and Brandon’s areas, plus some from St. Michael North prodominatly down black rock main road like st. stephens, free hill and the tenantries strakers, danesbury, spring garden. The BLP then created St. West Central which consisted of mainly the BLP boxes from St. Michael North and the old St. Micahel West. So the trade off Weekes to the Dees in North West and save Jonhson for the Bees in West Central. Phillip Greaves from the old boys club would be strengthened and allowed to stay in Parliament.

Now. It turned out the way it was planned. So Weekes went on to win in 86, 91, 94 in what is predominantly a DLP seat. Mascoll came along and won in 96 as well. But by 1994 it was evident that while the BLP was not winning new support in the constituency DLP suppoters were staying away from the Polls. So Weekes numbers were dropping every election but the labour party’s were not growing partly due to the type of candidates they were running, Weekes own strength and the fact that it was largely a DLP seat.

By 1999 however with a large national swing against the DLP towards the Bees, a weak MP in Clyde Mascoll and a strong and persistent BLP candidate in Mark Williams the BLP got their chance and won the seat. The thing is though that it is worst in the constituency and nationally the defeat for the Dems in North West was by only 29 votes (Mark over Mascoll). The Dems lost 28 seats in that election including several of their former safe seats and a former prime minister too but the Bees could only scrape home by 29 in North West. By 2003 with an 8% swing back to the Dems and Mascoll leading the DLP both he and the DLP were area to get over Mascoll’s weakness as an MP and win.

That is why Peter Wickham was saying long before that the contest was not on and Mascoll would win easily. But a few observations are worthy of note”
    1. The national swing was 8.6% and the swing in North West was 8.4% which means that Mascoll relied almost entirely on party swing to get him home. He had no personal impact on the constituency at all. If you check other seats the DLP won all of the marginals had strong personal swings – Richard Sealy 13% above the national; Michael Lashley about 17% above the national Ronald Jones about 8% above the national etc.

So that is why it is patent non-sense for anyone to suggest that Mascoll was instrumental in winning seats for the DLP because he was not able to influence any of the seats around him. He could not bring home Todd in the City, Blackett in Central, Carrignton in West nor Hudson in St. James Central. How then would he have been able to bring home Lashley in St. Philip or Jones in Christ Church. But that”s a side point.

2. In its electoral history since 1981 the seat has voted labour party once that was in 1999 and it took a huge swing away from the DLP to get by just 29 votes. So in 7 elections it goes to labour 1 time.

3. This track record makes it the 3rd strongest DLP seat in Barbados next to St. John and St. Lucy.

4. In the worse case scenario their will be a swing against the BLP of at least 5% that is what it is now and it could possible get worse. With such a swing and given the lectoral history of the constituency Mascoll will be asked to buck the trend and push the swing in the oppositie direction towards the Bees in a traditionally DLP constituency.

5. If a 1% swing normally represents a 50 vote gain for the party receiving it that means that Mascoll would have to not only turn around the 600 votes margin the DLP got in the last election but stop and additional votes from the DLP from the anticipated swing. If that swing stays at 5% as it is now that should be an additional 250 votes to the Dems on top of the 600 from the last poll making it 850 votes that he will have to work on. Now realistically he will have to get half of that cause every DLP vote he turns is one for him one less for the Dems. But he would have to hold all the votes that Mark Williams got cause the same is true if he loses.

5. The question is can he hold all those votes and indeed are all these votes BLP votes or people who are swing voters who gave Mark Williams a vote because of who he is – Mark Williams. Will all of these people automactically vote with Mascoll and the Bees in an environment when the votes might be a vote for change.

These are some of the issues we must consider when trying to analyze this constituency. Anything is possible in politics and the labour party might just have the millions to change this seat but it doubt it will happen because it will break every record in the book.

Finally please bear this in mind when discussing this issue. In the most recent history of crossings all of those who crossed the floor and were successful in getting their seats did so when the swing was going with the party they joined. Those are Don Blackman and Hamilton Lashley- 86 and 99 to big elections for each party. But Richie Haynes a huge figure lost his in 91. Wendall Callender lost his in 99. Harold Blackman Lost his in 94. All of these gentlemen faced one common thing the swing was going aaginst the part they joined.

Perhaps Mascoll has something special about him that we all have not discovered as yet.

We’ll see

34. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Yes Mascoll has something special going for him – it is called integrity. It manifest itself through service. That is why all the slime campaign is just like water on the duck’s back

35. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Light heart you wrote

He could not bring home Todd in the City, Blackett in Central, Carrignton in West nor Hudson in St. James Central. How then would he have been able to bring home Lashley in St. Philip or Jones in Christ Church. But that’’s a side point.

Well in 1999 David Thompson brought home no-one – not even Kellman who he subsequently tried to destroy. No amount of rebranding as suggested by Harold Hoyte will save that loser David “tell me want you want” Thompson.

36. Such Stupid Comments

Here is how I see it. Everything you say about Mascoll could very well be correct. But there is a saying which says decent people are quickly tarred by the same brush when embracing and trying to defend corruption.

Now as you know many people have said that the BLP Party is corrupt. The Prime Minister Owen Arthur last weekend did not deny this. As a matter of fact he suggested if I heard him correctly that if re-elected he wants to address political corruption, but added that corruption is alive and well not only in the political culture of Barbados but is very prevalent in the Private sector and upper echelons of the Barbados society. And were I a betting man I would say he is correct.

Having said that Arthur and his cohorts have been in power now for over ten years and I find it strange that Arthur is only now admitting that corruption has seriously permeated his Government. And when corruption is admitted to be a problem by the Prime Minister in his party everyone including Mascoll becomes a suspect. This is even more true when seeing Mascolls involvement in the Hardwood Housing fiasco.

The only Minister in the BLP Government who has shown that he does not agree with the evil ways of the BLP regime is Minister Prescod and he is to be commended. I see that even Lashley seems to be getting testy about the direction this BLP Government is taking. To me this suggests that the BLP party is fractured ALL BECAUSE of the lack of moral, integrity and character issues involving its members.

But what is Mascoll to do if he is in fact clean as you suggest? Does he ask David Thompson to take him back? I don’t think so! He has to stand and play the cards he has been dealt because of his reckless actions.

37. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Such stupid comments
    instead of littering this site with your brand of nonsense why not address the real issue of ASSCOLL’s involvement in the scam that is HARDWOOD HOLDINGS ???
    We all eagely await your defense of his project!!

38. Wishing in Vain Avatar

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/

When I stated that Arthur is a tired spent example of a Prime Minister and his error to rehash Mr Thompson’s statement of Saturday night with regard to making part time workers of the Civil Service full time workers is yet another example of his tardiness and his tiredness, the site above gives you access to Mr David Thompson’s speech of last Saturday night.

39. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Wishing in vain, you will continue to wish in vain if you think that insulting language and scandal type propaganda is going to get you anywhere. Hardwood Holdings is a soft issue that will do more damage ultimately to the DLP and David “Cry wolf” Thompson.

In fact is Thompson by a far sketch of the imagination ever become PM and he handles national issues like how he is handling the Hardwood issue we are doomed.

Thompson remains the only Leader of the Opposition whose report card suggest zero achievement.

Remember Errol Barrow and the Road at Trents in St. Lucy.

Remember Owen Arthur and his no-confidence motion in Sandi and the St. Joseph issue etc.

Remember Clyde Mascoll and his contribution and inciteful leadership . What about Thompson, nothing, nothing nothing.
    No wonder he continues to be beaten by Owen in the polls by almost 2 to 1.

So wishing in vain there is no need to defend the Harwood isuue now. If Thompson gets brave enough to bring the Motion of No Confidence (and i sicerely hope he does) the defense will be heard by all.

“I warn you before and I gun warn you again
    Don’t pull at the door
    Of a Lion’s den
    Cause when it open
    With all due respect
    You must tek what yuh get”

40. I am almost dying with laughter reading the comments of such stupid comments. He really lives in a bubble. He says Mascoll has integrity – Wow. Integrity? A man who said that this was the most corrupt government in the history of Cabinet government and then jumps right into bed with them? Integrity? He says that the PM and Shorey and Wilkinson and man called Johnson (JAWS) in case you forget were stealing money out of GEMS and he would expose it but now sits down around the table with the same JAWS and you say integrity? Wow.

He tells the people in the farm that he is a dems till he dies and that he would “dead before joining the BLP” and you say he has integrity? Wow. He also told the people living in NHC units in his constituency not to buy the houses the BLP was selling them cause they should get them free now he is in the government he tries to encourage people to buy cause its a great bargin and you say he has integrity.

He said that he consulted his constituents before he crossed and they told him to go and everybody including the same constituents know that he never and you say he has integrity? Wow.

He looked his cousin Dereck Alleyne his biggest and most vocal supporter in the face the night before he crossed and told him “i am not crossing to the Bees Dereck I could never join that party” the next day the announcement came on the TV….Integrity.

He took three employees into the Opposition Office his personal employees and left the DLP and never even told them that he was going. They too learn about it on the streets….Integrity? One guy in particular who is from his constituency and who was deadly loyal to Mascoll even though he did not know of his leaving called Mascoll in solidarity after learning and was encouraged to leave the job…..to this day Mascoll has not looked back at that fellow who at the time had just taken oit a mortgage. In all his negotiating Mascoll could not ask the PM to help this “poor black man ” from deacons to get a job in the public service or any of the employees he took into the opposition office he only negotiated for himself…..and you say he has integrity? He told one of his female constituents who complained anout being sexual assaulted by his “poor black man friend Murrell” to tek the money the man offering and drop the case” and you talk about integrity” You and Mascoll really waiting for the non-confidence motion” Hold tight skippy it coming.

Let me tell you something the OXFORD Dictionary tells us that integrity means the quality of being honest and morally upright, haviing honour, incorruptible, loyal, having principle, reliability, trustworthiness and vertacity.

Mascoll has none. He cannot be trusted. He is not loyal. He has no principle will say anything anywhere and any time once it gets him by. He will say one thing now and something else another. He believes in nothing he says and will fool people that he does. He has no honour among men and so cannot be trusted to fight for anybody but himself.

Perhaps the calypsonian Classic puts it best in his song “dont confuse Mascoll” when he said in one chorus ” they say i ent got not shame but shameless is my middle name”

Find another word to describe Mascoll….trust me integrity is not it.

41. Oh yes and i alomost forgot to mention that this non-sense that Mascoll always mouthing about Thompson not helping him is bare foolishness. Ask Mascoll who gave him 10,000 dollars cash on the chamberlin bridge the night of the DLP independence square meeting in the 2003 election. IT WAS DAVID THOMPSON.

Ask him who advised him not to bring the no-confidence motion in the government but rather Liz Thompson but whose advice he spurnned only to make as ass of himself on national TV and have the PM wipe the floor with him….IT WAS DAVID THOMPSON.

And while you at it stupid comments ask mascoll why after david thompson appoint both he and his wife to the senate and she wanted to resign he took her letter of resignation to the nation newspaper before either one of them had the decency to call Thompson and inform him so that he had to hear it from a nation reporter who called him while he was on business in St. Lucia to ask who he was putting in the Senate to replace Cyrilene Thomas as she was then.

It that the way you treat a man that was good to you that save you from the misery you created for yourself at the Central Bank and bring you in the MOF. A man that put you in senate twice after you lost elections to keep you alive politically in Barbados; a man who beg people at university to give you a pick when they did not want to take you back. Is that a peron of integrity and decency.

42. Least not let your heart be troubled Such stupid comments, there is no bigger fool than the fool that refuses to listen.
    there is NO doubt in my mind or the minds of 99 % of the electorate that ASSCOLL is a thief and corrupt just like the ones that he has jumped into bed with pardon the pun Muscle Mary, Rommel Marshall, Jerome Walcott but the truth is that HARDWOOD HOLDINGS is a malignant tumour that needs removal.
    I have nothing further to discuss with you on the matter mainly because the electorate will deal with you and your gang of crooks in the most correct manner know to man to vote with their X to erdicate the rodents.

43. […] 1st, 2007 · No Comments In response to a comment to our article Clyde Mascoll & Chris Sinckler, Key Match-Up To Watch In The Upcoming General Election In St. Mi… a Commenter under the moniker light hearted has taken Clyde Mascoll to task. We have published the […]

44. wow if i didn’t know better i would think that Chris and Clyde have kicked of their election battle right here in our mist. 😀 Since “Such stupid Comments” sounds so defensive, elitist and condescending i would wager a bet that this Clydie, and since Light Hearted has brought facts as in statistics, and pointed accounts of kindness and other good acts towards mascoll and accounts of childish, dishonest, self-centered, lack of moral behavior on Clyde’s part i think LH is Chris. So “Such stupid Comments” let see you refute any or all of the things that Light hearted have said occurred. Now remember in my book and that of many non-partisans a non-answer will demonstrate culpability. We will not entertain a position from you that these things that LH as asserted to be the truth of events are all lies without so much as a rebuttal of some sort. Integrity don’t exist in a vacuum, um is tied to actions undertaken.

45. Oh and de actions LH as outlined do not lend to the perpatrator being seen as a person with any integrity.
    ……These things that Mascoll is accused of will resonate with the people and will be remembered right up to the time they place their x and beyond. These things points to the lable of Mascoll being a Selfish person, and thats all it will take for a voter to deny him his/her x. A response is needed.

46. Such stupid comments Avatar
    Such stupid comments

Adrian Hinds

I will help you, because you seem to be searching for answer which are representative of the truth and you are obviously in search of balance before you make up your mind. That is commendable and I laud you for such a position. In your early submissions you were of the opinion that Mascoll was unfaired and indeed he was.

Thompson left the party in a lurch soon after facing yet another defeat in the St. Thomas Bye-Elections. There was no warning, He did not give the party an opportunity to conduct its business in an orderly fashion. He just resign and like everybody else the DLP got the news via the news media. Now this is falsehood # 1. Thompson giving the impression that he was resigning and going off into the sunset, itwas really a scheme to save a fledging political career. THOMPSON NEVER INTENDED TO GIVE UP CONTROL OF THE PARTY- Indeed resignation and subsequent actions were all about self. ….. Some would call that SELFISH.

To contenders emerged for the leadership of the DLP… Clyde Mascoll and Branford Taitt. It is important to note at this juncture that when Thompson resigned that Both Brandford Taitt and Erskine Sandiford came in in loud public statements and urge the Party “not to take him back”.

However, there is now a leadership battle between Mascoll and Taitt. Yes Mascoll was supported by Thompson people, including Sinckler, because it was believed that Taiit would never give way to Thompson when he decided to return. I have evidence of this because one of the person who now works in the opposition office stated quite loud and emphatically that “we supporting Clyde becuase he would give way to Thompson” The rest is history, Mascoll won and became President.

Chech David Thompson actions. After Mascoll was elected, Thompson REMOVED EVERY PIECE OF FURNITURE AND ALL FILES FROM THE PRESIDENT’S OFFICE AT GEORGE STREET. (There are more details that can be revealed here but now is not the time)

Mascoll set about reorganising the party.
    1. He restructured the loan that Thompson borrowed to run a general election so as to improved the cash flow position of the party.
    2. He improved the public image of the party by utilising the skills and talents of ordinary persons.
    3. He gave inciteful critiques of Government’s performance
    4. He raised the GEMs issue and placed the Government on a back foot and he did all of this without the assistance of Thompson in the Lower House. Remember Mascoll was only a Senator at the time. ( More to be said on this indue course)

Let me fast forward to elctions 2003. On two occasions during that campaign Thompson publicly undermined Mascoll.

In independence square, he signal to his group that he was ready to take over leadership. It was a tastsless display of raw ambition. He told persons present to stop emailing him and telling him this and that about leading the party, He told them to do that they have to do, he is ready.

At the Lower Green Meeting he closed the meeting even though he knew that Mascoll had to speak right afater him.

Let me now address that so call $10,000.00 cash. Now that is the biggest lie ever and it is really funny. $10,000.00 cash — from David Thompson give me a break.. The Thompson that could not even leave a chair in the President Office at the DLP would offer $10,000.00. and in Cash. The Thompson that breaks down his money into $2.00 bills so that if ask for contribution by a constituent know that all he is pulling out his pocket is a $2.00 bill. This Thompson would give $10,000.00 in cash to Clyde — what a joke.

Adrian – I have only just begun. I am taking my time on this one.

“Don’t pull at the door of a lion’s den.”

47. You are saying that Thompy left in a lurch, not sure what a lurch means, but it’s use in the context of everything else you have said suggest that it means he left without making an announcement to anyone or the party. If this is your intent it conflicts with what Sinkler said, which was something to the effect that Thompson “WROTE” a letter to the party.

I seem to remember comments from Brandford and Sandiford that I interpret to have been favorable to Mascoll at the time of the impasse. I also remember Brandford being shock and not being in favor of the cross over by Mascoll. I can remember Taitt saying that he is a “branded” DLP horse, and can know no other stable. So while I may continue to believe that Mascoll may have indeed been unfaired his eventual cross over and how quickly he did sour a lot of support he had, including me.
    10,0000.00 is a lot of money 10,000.00 in cash is not easy to hide if you are refuting this then Light hearted should be able to easily refute this.
    . Light hearted made several comments that speaks to Mascoll’s lack of integrity, and I would like for you to address them some how. The comments that he Mascoll made to Derrick Alleyne, the comments about his future being secured, the comments that Mascoll always seemed gleeful when he learnt that Owen was making overtures to him. These are serious accusations that if true may to my mind justify being challenge, and stripped, of the Leadership and in that context not to have been unfaired.

So again I don’t think that I can be easily convince to move away from my earlier position that Mascoll was treated badly, …….the facts offered up to show that his treatment was no different than that of Taitt, Sandiford , or even Mia doesn’t change that opinion, it just brings these other persons into that viewpoint. But the second act of crossing the floor has implications for how I view Mascoll’s integrity, it is likely that I will continue to believe that he has little, and as such when the non-partisan person that I am have to decide in whom I should repose my confidence and trust to be my representative to the people’s parliament, Integrity and how I define it will be of paramount importance.

To sum it up…..I have not heard a solid rational reason, void of emotions , to believe that Mascoll was not unfaired and I am yet to see a good thought out reason why I should appreciate his move to the BLP. In fact since he has gone over he has become to my mind very vain, condescending, and aloof. I can clearly remember his comments to Barbadians at the launching of Hardwood Housing……”bring cash only”

So if you will……. try a little less of imploring people to not knock on a lions door and deal with issues here. Lions may look fierce but they are in captivity and their numbers in the wild are plummeting. We will knock and enter wherever too get answers.

48. I glad as ass when I read Such Stupid Comments and Adrian Hinds both people after my own heart.

I love when people get into it and are not afraid to spell things out even if it takes two pages. Way to go!

Sometime brevity might be good but most times it is not!

49. I will tell you what Owing certainly has ASSCOLL by the short and curly, Owing must have planned it to include ASSCOLL in one of the blp scams seeing how he ASSCOLL used to describe the scams and dishonest acts that the blp undertook when he was on the otherside,so Owing has skillfully included him in his own act of dishonesty and corruption called HARDWOOD HOLDINGS to show he ASSCOLL and the rest of the island just how easy it is to make him part of their corruption and just how dishonest ASSCOLL really is and how deeply involved with the mess that is HARDWOOD HOLDINGS he is no more pointing fingers now ASSCOLL you are just as dirty as all of them.

50. I want to know why when the NATION was advised earlier this week that MURRELL was going to be going before the courts on Tuesday that the NATION refused to cover the story?
    Is this really the coverage of the news that we pay for or that we expect?
    I say far from we can do a lot better that this, I am wondering when Roxanne Gibbs asked Hoyte to attempt to do a job to destroy Mr Thompson will now do the sensible thing and have him write a story about Owing See Thru Arthur?
    After all if she were decent and honest it would be only fair to hear what he has to say about Owing !!!!