I saw on the Toronto CP 24 News last night, the Barbados Fire Chief accepting a donation from the Toronto Fire Service of used fire-fighter protective clothing and equipment. As a proud Barbadian who has always considered us as a leader among the Caribbean nations; could not help but think. “Is this what we have come to”?Don’t get me wrong, it is good to see the recycling of good equipment that otherwise might have just been dumped, but I could not help but feel that, have we reached the stage that we have to go with hat in hand looking for hand-me-downs to supply our fire service. Most Barbadians do not consider themselves as Third World yet why does our government let one our most important public service branches be treated as such.?

Maybe I am just a little too PROUD of our PROUD little nation.

Read The Original Article

The information was posted over at Barbados Forum. For some reason the message by the poster, who appears to be a Barbadian living in Canada, conveyed sadness. BU has interpreted the last sentence of the post which the poster highlighted in the colors of Barbados to mean that his pride as a Barbadian was dented after watching the broadcast. To be honest in the BU we feel the same way in the BU household. Barbados Fire Chief Mayers, if you have to accept the old equipment then do it away from the public glare.

What is the message which our leaders are sending? We spend millions on a multiplicity of project but we have to accept “hand-me-downs to supply our service.”

888 responses to “Poster on Barbados Forum Says That The Barbados Fire Service Accepted "Hand-me Downs" From The Toronto Fire Service”

1. Pharoah! couple months ago you was waiting until chief mayers ga home ,he is home now . Tell me is things better, waiting on your reply

2. action is heating up in a certain watch at HQ stay tune

3. things are heating up in a certain watch at HQ stay tune

4. DAH ONE SOCIALIST LIKE HE IS A PEACE MAKER, BUT I THINK YOU SHOULD READ BETWEEN DE LINES. CANT YOU SEE DAT RED BULL IS 03 FOSTER AND MRRR KENNEDY IS 64 LOWE DEM HATE EACH OTHER BUT IS DE SAME TING .BOTH AH DEM LIED , NASTY , AND TWO MOUTED. LET DEM FIGHT AND DONT GET IN DEM BUSINESS

5. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

@Anonymous
    I am not an insider nor a fireman, but you lot write so much crap all over your face that you do not have to be a Sherlock Homes to pick things from what you are saying.Untangle your hoses mate.

6. When you sorry bunch effectively do the job we pay you for, I might listen to your juvenile gripes.

Until then, suck the lemon or leave it.

We all have judged your expertise, and your childish posts merely reinforce our opinion of a failing essential service.

7. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

Actually these men could improve the service to the public by 100%…………just by keeping their frigging mouths shut.(jn public forums ,that is)

8. Straight Talk and Wright B.assstard , You two guys come on this blog and all you do is insult the firemen. You two are no different than the negative comments on this blog because you lack advice but quick to judge yet you read rubbish. One of you morons talked about failing essential service ?Now let me tell you something ,I believe my department has about 98% dedicated staff, When there are serious emergencies the off duty personnel are ready to give a helping hand without the CFO orders.

Now that excreta named Straight Talk brought up failing essential service. We going to have dialogue on this subject. How dare you talk about failing when the health minister and a Dr woman got on CBC tv and lied to thousands about the swine flu pandemic. We have
    a hospital that since 1970 the only system that changed was the tiles and paint on the walls, the doctors arrogance level increased but not medical skills.
    We have an education system that was altered from the Errol Barrow mandate , now it segregate the society into leagues and echelons . This system serve the white businesses more than the country so that not failing?

Our judicial system rigged ,just look at the police , you have to keep your eyes on them cause if you turn your back you know what happens yet they are immune to prosecution or prison. Firemen dont harm their own.

Just look at the Town And Country Planning ,money talks bullshit walks . The fire service never developed the trend of building resturants in water courses which end up flooding out hundreds of homes. Them aint failing?

I know the comments on this blog are not too positive but you two should never talk bout a failing service and all other services failing………..you sheep

9. Unlike the mighty David who is not a fireman, his comments have value because he gives advice but all Bud and Lou can do is insult. You two are a waste of time.

10. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

Firemen are the most appropriate profession for you gribblers. Full of hot air, and crude windbags. Channel some of that energy towards finding a peaceful solution to your problems among your colleagues and superiors. We John Public should not be hearing of these internal squabbles. Straighten your selves out,act like responsible men,and not like 2 dollar whores on Bush Hill.

11. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

I could somewhat agree with you that your department has some 98 % dedicated staff. One wonders who make up that 2% non-dedicated staff.

12. @ Wright B.Astard , I read your comments on this blog and they all contain a similar pattern. NOTHING ! As I said earlier the firemen criticize each other,which is wrong. But you have joined the same firefighters and attacked firefighters that makes you no different. Just bring something such as a solution, You are similar to the administration and many other service members because from what I saw you wrote so far, you lack REASONING.

13. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

@Socialist
    You are quite right.By winding them up I was expecting them to take David’s advice and produce a document with good info to start a proper discussion.

14. Stop responding to that mendacious miscreant wrightbaastard he/she really not worth uppercase letters…Everyone …please…DO NOT RESPONEd

15. To I C U
    Do u want sympathy .Do i have to walk around with card above my head with what i propose for everyone’s to see what i have brought to the table so that u would be please .I have brought numerious ideas to the board and nothing have ever materialised and i know they are all dame good ones ,i know for sure that if the person or persons offering the advise for the constant failing IT program ideas could be taken into concideration (NB)it’s a failure.Then my would have yeld more production.but for your info i have tried .

16. @ bronson, be more specific, we don’t understand you are talking all over the place

17. Mr. Bronson very well, I misjudged you and you can”t be as bad as those advisors for the IT

18. have you heard about the white watch break up at arch hall, what about green at the airport or should we move around the NCOs

19. no tell us what happened

20. LOWE YOU CUD REPORT SICK ALL YOU WANT. YA GOTTA COME BACK TO WORK AND YA GOTTA COME HEADQUARTERS. TEK DAH! YA REALLY THOUGHT ARCH HALL WAS YOUR HOME? WELL YA DONE MANY EVIL TO OTHERS IN THE PAST. WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND.

21. Tales From The Crap Avatar
    Tales From The Crap

Hello little boys and girls . There is a little calm through out the service , everyone is quiet , I like it that way! There was a little carnage at HQ Stn yesterday when the big bad wolf who manages red watch was given a taste of his own medicine by red riding hood. Red Riding Hood , you remind me off the brave king Lionidis of 300 going up against Xerxis the evil ruler of Persia. Some day you will be rewarded for your bravery against the forces of evil.
    By the way I really think that the 2IC of that shift is a real cuNt hole

22. You guys want something to laugh at ? Go to
    http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/06/26/may-the-king-of-pop-rest-in-peace/#comment-89627

I din really know that bajans were so ignorant. Dem got some sick sad asses out dey. I really dont know how some big men and women could sit an write so much foolishness. A fellow name 199, I think he is a psychiatric patient . Click on the above link

23. Barnabus Collins Avatar
    Barnabus Collins

Why wanna people in the fire department wont stop putting dumb spineless serpents on CBC to talk and mash up de queens english. Yes I mean the coruptor himself DO Cox . The fire officers spend too much time laughing at his silly corny jokes and antics and not knowing that he is the diabolical mind behind 90% of all evil and corrupt schemes that goes on in the Dept.

Now I want that shyte hound ‘Write Bastard’ come online like the pimping dog he is and rationalize the remaining 10% of evil and dirty schemes among the other 210 plus members. I convince that ‘write bastard’ is a pimping admin lacky.

24. imagine de bfs jackass(cox) ascended de ranks because of his ass kissing ways and becomes the most dispicable, corrupt sycophant in de bfs. yes, he is so transparent…morals none….ethics none…principal….none….imagine he’s forever backing de bag when ever he do shyte…….wanna know he counsels mr bag when ever he share licks…….wanna know gas enormoously kinky and only reaches that sweet moment by inflicting pain….and yes pissing too….nb…remember de golden shower he giv he wifey #2…….anyway my peoples….just a little house keeping…..brb….

25. peoples stop it and be more critical of the many bias things that happens within the service….as it relates to training…..promotion…stc…etc….

26. coxxy need to answer this who is the former recruit who sat in a chair for 3 months…..no climbing ladders…no ba training…..etc..etc….but found it necessary to……..be involved in a covert sexual…union wid …..u know who..and a fews months later…….here comes de bride…..

27. All of you are a bunch of sad tails. Hiding behind false names so as to voice your opinions. Every one in there looking for their own gain whether it be bad talking one another or carrying news. It is so sad that all of you are waiting to get promoted to fill the chair. But you know what, everybody talks till the time come. I want to see some of you in years to come. You will be the promoted managers, who will be trying to discipline the young ones who will be doing the same same same things that ALL of you are praticing now. I hope that you really make the difference because you will talk until the time comes.
    The service needs to help those who do no better than sit and drink drunk and call it socializing. Come on its a nice place to work but we are our own enemies.

28. same shitty shite different day

29. You will be one of them, wait and see. Then you will be crying shame shame on the service, but all of u are who have it so.

30. AAA, who ever you r I agree with you.

31. Barnabus Collins Avatar
    Barnabus Collins

AAA if wanna din do wanna immoral nastiness nobody wud be pun de blog talking bout it. Plus we just talking and there is no physical harm from attacking behind false names. But de things wanna doing could end marriages or give STDs. Dont let me get in details!!

32. Anonymous you should be shame. You was at UWI for so many years but have nothing to show . WHERE IS YOUR DEGREE YOU IDIOT and stop stealing, ya too dishonest

33. Well i aint doing nothing to give people STDs, you are mistaken. There are some who are doing such but you know what that will never done. So the more we talk about it the more it will be done. Those things will never end. What we and ALL WHO READ AND COMMENT on the blog should do is try to make the service a better place. For those who do not like it, they should ask the minister for a transfer to another department to see if they are sweets over there. Realistically when those at the top go, do any of you think the service will change, OF COURSE NOT. The back bitting, name calling, pimping, cursing, drinking, calling at officers homes, and all the things that occur within the Fire Service will continue actually they will get worse. So to those who can make it better try to. There was association elections yesterday, let us hope that there is change. Change for the better i should say.

34. Ok folks do have a nice night. Waiting to hear what i will be told.

35. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

Steupseeeeeeeeeeeee.

36. AAA I think I gun entertain you a lil bit. You said a list of things which are immoral such as calling at officers house,drinking, etc…..I HOPE YOU DONT BE DOING NONE AH DEM TINGS
    De first ting dat would make the service a better place is all of dem men in khaki…. Home with speed. Dat whole training wing dat in charge of training recruits relieve them of their duties and get a new recruiting staff making sure the code of conduct is maintained cause dem corrupt bad. Dat man #74 he got way too much influence over admin after admin . I wud transfer he back on operations wid speed at st James stn…. burn some gas.
    For an understaffed establishment, we got waY to much incidental staff, I wud combine research and planning and training unit. Put an LF in dey to coordinate and get civilian staff to do the office work . 106,161,130,10 I want wanna back pun de shift to keep wanna fire fighting skills up to scratch, de same way how we dus get call off d shift to do a course 106 and others could get call from d same shift to do instructing and coordinating.
    Last but not least I wud send gasbag straight to de service commission for his sick indisiplin nasty devious behavior. he is a disgrace to d public service. He dus do de most shite and get way an all dem stinking officers cud do is …”control put me on mobile for inspections ” Wanna is a terrible bunch.
    Readers forgive me for thy cup of frustration runneth over

37. You wright bastard should be de last body to stupes it is because of manure like you the department is no better. AAA dont want de name calling and negatives on the blog but he want us to talk bout issues. You on d other hand want de blog to shut down so u and ur goons cud continue doin nastiness and wanna not get expose

38. same shitty shite different day!

39. i think that anonymous (july 9th) is a bullah cause all he doing is talkin bout shit and shite when he talk. Can i ask you a Question? Does talkin about stoool gives you an orgasm?

40. Come on guys,this is what it come to. Its’ sad, we should never be like this. Then we want people to repect us. It must come from within. You guys really let yourselves down when you behave like this. Make your points, bash the stagnant top who seems to be waiting to go home but you do not have to curse and call those type of words. It spells shame to us all. Have pride within yourselves. How then can we expect people to respect us huh, come on. All of you can do better. There are issues that needs bringing to the light, do that but not in such vulgar ways. Make it a better place for me and for you and the rest of the service mates. Do better because i know you can

41. Why don’t all of you talk about promotions. Wake up the association. Make the leader’s head hurt him because it seems he is allowing the CFO to sit out his last days. He does not seem interested at all in nothing that is going on. He just waiting. Any way he put in his time and thats it. Hope the new leader tries harder.

42. Wright B .Astard Avatar
    Wright B .Astard

Keep frigging up the BFS.Wait till Caricom put Firemen on the list of persons to enjoy free movement and employment within member states.

43. You AAA know de main reason why people gun come pun de blog and behave bad. It is because we got a Sub Officer Gasbag cursing and disrespectful to khaki men including de DCFO , he victimizing and shouting at he staff. And guess what ? At the end of the day he will not be disciplined for his behavior an wanna gun reward he by putin he in charge of the next recruiting batch .Just wait and see. So Mr AAA if That sub Officer gettin way wid GENOCIDE why we cant get way wid murder

44. A Good Girl Gone Bad Avatar
    A Good Girl Gone Bad

Gasbag is a dog and he need to stop getting in flings with the Nelson street girls . That is why there is one dark girl from the N.Street that cuss him every chance she get. I wonder what unfolded secretly behind closed doors to have that girl hating his guts and attacking his sexual status?

45. Wright B.Astard Avatar
    Wright B.Astard

@A Good Girl Gone Bad
    But wunnah should know what went on behind close doors,cause the whole lot of you getting on like the same Nelson Street whores in this forum.

46. SAME SHITE DIFFERENT DAY

47. You Anonymous sound like Cox. Then you expect different from your juniors. Sort out Gaskin, you got he the way he is.

48. A Good Girl Gone Bad Avatar
    A Good Girl Gone Bad

@ ABOUT TURN… You are correct .That ‘anonymous’ and ‘right bastard’ judging from the sabotaging mentality ,they are khaki men . Those guys are so stupid that they trying to sabotage the blog which is not credited, they are trying to damage something that is already damaged. Ya know what you guys should go and do , go fix sub gaskin, cause he soon swallow one of you , bunch of low life pretenders. You bafoons never contributed nothing( AS USUAL) but ready to talk bout behavior… Ya know what wanna aint behaving ,talking , working, wanna just doing nothing, . I sense a little guilt in de things wanna write.

I would like wanna khaki men to stop going and crediting COURTS things and got de baliffs hunting wanna down.
    Ya wanna know how dat get out ? Barbados is small an I aint no fridge

49. SAME STUPID SHITE DIFFERENT DAY.

50. Time out wait a minute though: 184 you and 136 very angry. Or Dawg, Good Girl Gone Bad, Or Pharoah, or any of the others that wunna hiding behind. Wunna forget 2007 World cup, YOu 184 left we up here at the airport and look down at we, saying you special and 136 was one of the hard men. Wunna really want to put we in this? Tell it all wha went wrong, because wunna carry and bring and never had to work control, he was the best and use the same nasty ways to do it fuh wunna. So slow down and breath do like MJ look in the mirror.