I saw on the Toronto CP 24 News last night, the Barbados Fire Chief accepting a donation from the Toronto Fire Service of used fire-fighter protective clothing and equipment. As a proud Barbadian who has always considered us as a leader among the Caribbean nations; could not help but think. “Is this what we have come to”?Don’t get me wrong, it is good to see the recycling of good equipment that otherwise might have just been dumped, but I could not help but feel that, have we reached the stage that we have to go with hat in hand looking for hand-me-downs to supply our fire service. Most Barbadians do not consider themselves as Third World yet why does our government let one our most important public service branches be treated as such.?

Maybe I am just a little too PROUD of our PROUD little nation.

Read The Original Article

The information was posted over at Barbados Forum. For some reason the message by the poster, who appears to be a Barbadian living in Canada, conveyed sadness. BU has interpreted the last sentence of the post which the poster highlighted in the colors of Barbados to mean that his pride as a Barbadian was dented after watching the broadcast. To be honest in the BU we feel the same way in the BU household. Barbados Fire Chief Mayers, if you have to accept the old equipment then do it away from the public glare.

What is the message which our leaders are sending? We spend millions on a multiplicity of project but we have to accept “hand-me-downs to supply our service.”

888 responses to “Poster on Barbados Forum Says That The Barbados Fire Service Accepted "Hand-me Downs" From The Toronto Fire Service”

1. Boy step aside and wait your turn. Men gotta get paid for the events such as the farley hill events where the khali guys are given monies in hand prior the event but these guys pocket the money and they publicly stated that fire officers dont need so much money. They are thieves all around us

2. WELL THE FIRE SERVICE NEEDS AN OVERHAUL,I HAVE SPENT MANY YEARS IN THE PAST AROUND THE STATIONS PLAYING VOLLYBALL,CRICKET ECT IN THE YARD,WHEN YOU HAVE COCK SUCKERS LIKE DAVID KING THAT RETIRING IN 2 MONTHS OR SO THAT IS A BURDEN OFF THE SERVICE ALL HE DOES IS GET IN THE RUM SHOP IN ST.DAVIDS AND TALK FROM THE CHIEF BACK DOWN NAME,HE HAS HE HAS DIRT ON ALL OF THEM INCLUDING THE MONITORS,AND THE FRIDGE,I DOES DRINK WID HIM,BUT HE CHEAP WANT TO DRINK ALL DE RUM BUT DONT WANT TO PAY,HE TALKS ABOUT SOME BALD HEAD FELLOW THAT HE IS TRAINING THAT IS SO DUMB AND HEAD HARD AND HE CANT EVEN RECKON TO GOOD,ALSO HE ONLY GONE IN DEY TO GET PROMOTE TO SUB LIKE HE.THIS ONE EYE COCKSUCKER NEED TO SUPPORT DE CHILD FROM DE 21YEAR OLD GIRL FROM EALING GROVE THAT HE PICK A FAIR WITH.

3. @SWEET GIRLIE, certain you have not made a mix up between, playing cricket and Cocksuckers, around the stations.

4. @SWEETIE GIRLIE. Dont you think its a little too late for that ,the blog has moved away from name calling and personal attacks we discussing issues OK. When I first came on I was attacking the most famous Sub officer in service but nothing has changed and he still doing shyte. But I find that anonymous and company got certain people silent dem talking under their breath and puzzled about identities of these internet vigilantes. So sweet girlie join us let us attack the crooked underhand behavior that is going on in the BFS .

5. Its amazing that every one talks about theifing. How comes a man in charge of a northern station apparently stoled diesel and nothing seemed to have been done about it. He drives to stations and blabs his mouth and yet no one had the gall to get him investigated, yet he still continues to do his famous thing, TALK. One good thing i can say is that diesel runs till Knight catches it. Wait and see who catches the knight.
    Even those in charge still allow their friends to work special events. Check the notice, even people on vacation get big picks, but thats the usual. Every body talks about the bag but every one is the same. Wait and see what becomes new in this week to come.
    Hope the CID soon get call in. Those with the monitors should also be investigated.
    All those with those tactics of stealing, YOU WILL BE CAUGHT.

6. @Anonymous
    Not too difficult to find out who this diesel thief is
    (a) Works at Weston
    (b) a knight rider with a diesel vehicle
    (c) Blabs and Talks his mouth off.
    Call in the CID? or just hand him over to a Constable.

7. Boy ‘Long shot’ step aside when you talking bout thiefing diesel . Go up de hill from weston to arch hall and investigate de 55 litres of diesel that missing. Where did it go? The CID got dem work cut out.

8. Wait boa, this like it is a virus. It reach up there too.Hmmm.

9. Kirk Frankly diesel airport, Social Club new vehicles and overseas plane fair, Association money went to open car parts business, Officers payments for events some khaki men put it in their pocket, computers at someone house monitoring what is happening at the stations, CFo fridge gone missing , monitor for the gate in the control room at HQ stn gone missing, biggest thing of all that has gone missing is IDEAS for the fire service.

10. wunna baaaaaaaaad enough

11. All of this crookedness going on and I kn0w that persons whom are in hierarchy do read this blog!

This is Barbados for you nothing never gets done …….just a lotta theifs!

12. @ de IT dept headed by that malignant tumour maydoff !!! opps u know who i mean doh..now hear me people ..de It boss was away 4 a while, de computers wuk at times, brek down at times, de boss is back same shyte continues 2 happen.. how long are de top seat warmers willin 2 let dis go on. de service in crisis 4 ppl who know bout networking. Solution ha ha ha.. u sure u want me tell u wha to do….anyway overhaul de dept.. use de government dept/private interprise that r proficient in IT management/maintenance wid de foresight of training some of our people to maintain de systems…Ah gin get back 2 u about my solution s 4 de training untit and de mechanical unit too…wait ah minute doh..we know who steal de deisel? de fridge and monitors come back yet ha…ha… ah gone..

13. It is soo demoralizing to see that short lil runt from Welchman Hall on top the page ever time I come to read a column. Now guys give me a hearing. BFS is a place of many rumours some true some lie. Look at a pattern here ALL the thieves mentioned in the above columns are all NCOs appointed or acting in the capacity. wonder why the admin wont clamp down on these guys as they do against the privates. I think its a friends thing.

14. @ that malignant tumour, that adult midget in charge of IT who wants to diabolically corrupt the BFSA, DE SOCIAL CLUB, DE TRAINING UNIT RESEARCH AND PLANNING etc…that dehuminize parasite needs to be exorcise from his seemingly untouchable , unchallenged dominance of power… that humanoid should be sent wef back to that area of firefighting in which he was trained in canada…aerodrome… imagine that midget is a vicious, calculating demon from sunday till 6 on friday evening, then he goes through metamorphosis and TA-DA, he’s a christian…until 6 on saturdays evening then its back to his sluttish ways…excuse for the strong language but he should never be working 8…till 4.. THE BFS HEADQUARTERS IS NOT BASED IN THE EAST…EVERY administration was deceived by him giving them the impression he’s proficient in computers when all he wanted to do was to have the ability to know members qualifications etc..etc. so that he can plan his elevation to the top…but guess what….there is a supreme being that’s in control..not midgetman…all those in favour of that miscreant going back to 10..and 14..say it out louddd….ah gone..

15. Curious Onlooker Avatar
    Curious Onlooker

@ Anonymous, I agree with you 100%. The IT guru is a departmental cancer eating away at the psyche of the service members and taking control of the small minded administration. He is the Alpha and Omega of all evil and nasty schemes plaguing the service. He wants to control our superiors ,our thinking, our qualifications our future and last but not least his biggest objective is to dis mantle the following of this blog. I think his level of deceit is running very close to Adolf Hitler and Osama Bin Laden.

Fire Service IT Midget…. you have been voted as the most wicked person throughout the public service

16. It is so amazing that he is being called such when there are people who are more deceitful than him in service. Do not just single him out, check some of the others who does smile in people faces and talk behind their backs. He is no worst than the others.

17. Will there ever be promotions in the B.F.S

18. @Anonymous August 12
    It does not seem so, there must be a reason they taking so long, ask the association, they probably know.

19. @ anonymous 12th 6:11 am you seem to have a vested interest in midgetman…when other persons were being talked about and rightly so….where were you.. you probably know him at home and at church..but you do have a clue about him at work..by the way your words seem so passionate…..

20. @ anonymous 12th 6:11 am what is truely amazing is that it’s all true about midget man….you are too close to him so you are blinded…you can’t get more deceitful than him …he’s special when it comes to being deceitful and he rearly talks infront of persons it’s mostly behind their backs…and behind the scenes he’s most punishing..he’s not being singled out he’s part of the degradation of the fairness withing the bfs…so come again mistress….?

21. Happy birthday Fidel Castro… Long live the revolution

22. Yesterday an in-house political analyst made a statement which cause me to question his sanity. He stated that “Hugo Chavez is mad” .’In-House political analyst you are blind because you cant see that love came to the Americas 2nd of Febuary 1999 since Chavez came to power.
    Chavez and Castro did more for the poor people than any other leader in this Hemisphere. They should be rewarded for their humanitarian services

23. @Anonymous August 12th 09:26am. Why are you so concerned about promotions, will they help you. I don’t think so.

24. @ Socialist… you have been politically constipated for too long!!! you are delirious about Castro’s birthday……Chevez accomplishments and in your shrinking little mind seem to think that these political terrorist are all demagogues..These communist have plundered the wealth of their respective countries, incarcerated many of their opponents because of their communist thinking..wake up my brother..Have you seen the suffering in Cuba?..The oppression of the less fortunate in Venezuela? You have an insatiable appetite for political mediocrity…listen Socialist..Do not try to pontificate any of your communist views on this blog…get your own…Ill be watching you…

25. @ Anonymous August 14th 11:18AM. You are definately a sick person but you serve a purpose on this blog that is to show your level of ignorance of my ideology. Your silly little mind have plumitted into the abyss of imperialism and you are suffering from political dimensia and yardfowlism . You are such a psycho that you missed the fact that Cuba government was always dictatorship under the Batista regime ,the only difference is that the USA accepted him because he allowed them to do nastiness in his country.

Chavez took his country away from the parasitic foreign investors and distributed the wealth EVENLY among the people.
    Anonymous , you have been infected with a yardfowl virus and its clouding your judgement ,your mind ,your sanity and due to your nausea ,you have purged yourself of the ability to reason. I think you should seek network services for assistance.

26. And you know what else I think about you anonymous , that you are gender confused as well

27. Many of the posters have lost their credibility with the few people who read their mouthings.As ably demonstrated, if one objects to anything one of you says, you turn on him/her like the pitbulls that you are. Now we see one of you trying to advance the call of communisn, which even the very inventors, the Russians, are rapidly moving away from. Yet another has seen it fit to throw insults at a former Fire Chief who has made a sterling contribution to the Fire Service and Barbados in general.A man respected by many overseas.
    What do you people really want? if you have the information on all of these terrible things that are happening in the BFS, compile a dossier signed by aggrieved members and pass it on to the AG,who is in charge of the Fire Service,and send a copy to BU, which David has been asking for a long time.
    If you cannot put up, shut to hell up.

28. MR HOOK AND LADDER stop talking foolishness. Some level of Dictatorship exist in all entities all over the world. For example you come on this blog and try use your autocratic communist typed writings to attack and detour the commentors and readers on this blog. This is a free country and who are you to take away the peoples freedom of expression . Mr ladder you are sick and I think you should join anonymous on an appointment at network services. Because you are also a communist.but a yardfowl type dictator . What is your true agenda? I cant give you the pleasure by entertaining you in your gestapo type behavior so I wont reply to no more of your comments

29. @Socialist.
    QED.

30. @Socialist
    Thanks for the medical diagnosis.You saved me a packet.No need to see a professional now.

31. Lol. Anytime bro, anytime.

32. By the way Mr. Ladder, I see you are into some ancient languages .Quod Erat Demonstrandum

33. The chief is going this week, FINALLY.

34. finally is right,he never call a meeting when he took up the position,and he aint doing it now he leaving,@ the the former chief had some decentcy to let his fellow officer know he was exiting,well blackman was always a coward,he just want to get chief so that rice wont get there,not that rice is any better cause he aint getting no praise either,but blackman has brought nothing to the floor.i say bring some one new from outside.mr .blackman i had respect for you but youre not a leader ,enjoy your retirement.

35. good bye blackman. your time was not productive.
    now where does the bfs go?

36. Bajans sick check out that blog

37. Boy it seems the blog gone on go slow, probably every one has what they wanted.

38. The blog is on go slow because we frustrated dat people stealing and no one is in jail

39. Frustrated!! let us wait till Cox is there and see what will happen to our department. Will HE run it by his self our will he run it to the BAG????

40. The department needs a upliftment. I hope it occurs now, its been over three years and no promotions, is there an association, is there a department leader, YES there is, BUT let us hope that change comes for the better. There are LFO in there that do their work but up to now, they cannot be appointed, it makes you wonder how leaders say the department is going forward and still they cannot recommend these same people for appointments. No wonder the moral remains so low. Let us see if change has come for the positive. If people feel cox got to depend on he well, the department depended on alot of people before and they left without doing a THING.
    Any how wait let us see how this reformed association will work it seems to got some positive people who seem ready and waiting to get things done.
    They have the ability let us see if they fulfill their duties.

41. Why is it that people who steal want to see people get locked up.
    They forget their past. Look forward with heads up high and want to lock up every body else.”HE WITHOUT SIN CAST THE FIRST STONE”

42. how could a man work on a chicken farm and steal feed, got off then because he hear some one thief corn want them locked up. People need to look into the mirror and see if what they are talking looks like them before they vent their mouths about the things they hear. THE WORLD MAKE IT A BETTER PLACE FOR ME AND FOR YOU AND THE ENTIRE HUMAN RACE THEY ARE PEOPLE STEALING RIGHT HERE UP TO THE CEILING. IT WOULD BE A BETTER PLACE FOR ME AND FOR YOU IF YOU WOULD STOP THEM THERE FROM STEALING MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE FOR YOU AND FOR ME.

43. Anonymous you feel we running a night club here? This is the BFS and you implying that we should allow the thieves to run free no questions ask? Anonymous! You should write another comment like the one you wrote on Sept.13th and be immediately transformed into a giant African snail so that some one would come along and through a handfull of salt on you. You just cant help being a corrupt little beast? Writing all types of garbage on the blog.. You are a BAD PERSON.

44. IMAGINE COX HAD HE FIRAT DAY ON DE JOB AND HE PRESSURE UP IN DE AIR,GONE ON C.L POOR FELLOW,DONT WANT DE POSITION BUT WANT TO STAND BEHIND DE SCENE AND CAUSE PANDAMONIUM,HE KNOW WHAT HE DID TO VELMO+BLACKMAN SO HE THINK HE TURN COMING,WELL NEWS FLASH HE GOING HOME SOON BOYS+GIRLS………………………..SOON.

45. wait boah ! I aint know things so bad in the FIRE SERVICE.

Man FIRE de CHIEF then !

I have heard that it is still a colonial set-up in the FIRE SERVICE.

Come on guys expose it. Have a demonstration and air all the dirty linen because that it is the only way all yuh going get attention.

Hoping that Goverment knows and will do something is a joke. agitate and agitate now !

46. OFF DA BRINK you are a sick sad wicked old monkey . You sitting down on your sick sorry ass and rejoicing about a mans sickness. You are low and evil,Cox is not my cup of tea but you cant rejoice over sickness. What happen to Cox can happen to any of us. Mr Cox dont read this comment an think that I appreciate you because I dont

47. Again i say, people does lament at others failures but when they time come they does want the world of sympathy. This goes to all you sad people who does laugh at people, even in their sickness.
    I do not see one thing being done, sad thing, the next man in line will also get HBP.

48. Hey wait, the chair got pressure in it now, Blackie handle it good for the time he spent their. I hope he at least submit names for promotion.

49. What promotion you talking bout, that aint happening in here no time soon.