I saw on the Toronto CP 24 News last night, the Barbados Fire Chief accepting a donation from the Toronto Fire Service of used fire-fighter protective clothing and equipment. As a proud Barbadian who has always considered us as a leader among the Caribbean nations; could not help but think. “Is this what we have come to”?Don’t get me wrong, it is good to see the recycling of good equipment that otherwise might have just been dumped, but I could not help but feel that, have we reached the stage that we have to go with hat in hand looking for hand-me-downs to supply our fire service. Most Barbadians do not consider themselves as Third World yet why does our government let one our most important public service branches be treated as such.?

Maybe I am just a little too PROUD of our PROUD little nation.

Read The Original Article

The information was posted over at Barbados Forum. For some reason the message by the poster, who appears to be a Barbadian living in Canada, conveyed sadness. BU has interpreted the last sentence of the post which the poster highlighted in the colors of Barbados to mean that his pride as a Barbadian was dented after watching the broadcast. To be honest in the BU we feel the same way in the BU household. Barbados Fire Chief Mayers, if you have to accept the old equipment then do it away from the public glare.

What is the message which our leaders are sending? We spend millions on a multiplicity of project but we have to accept “hand-me-downs to supply our service.”

888 responses to “Poster on Barbados Forum Says That The Barbados Fire Service Accepted "Hand-me Downs" From The Toronto Fire Service”

1. You socialist is a dictator because you want the blog to run your way. Its your way or the highway but I want you to know that the world doesn’t evolve around you. Socialist should stop defending the evil ones in the BFS. You claim you talk about issues ONLY so why you don’t talk about the day care center at St. John stn, and while you at it send alcoholics anonymous at the HQ watch that contain a colour of our flag,deal with the rastas at HQ and Arch Hall stn. Deal with the officers that just drawing a salary.
    Foster and his shift want sending to the AFS to count planes better yet the whole HQ stn staff want breking up. That woman LFo “I am in charge” 79 want sending to sanitation to work . Her ignorance cause 15 pigs ,4 rabbits , 2 dogs to lose their lives while 5 cockroaches are missing. That woman LFo Graves want sending on suspension for leting that boy go up that pole. Sub o ‘supreme being’ want sending to jail for burning down a house at a special service.
    Now onto rumours, I do not believe the 06 scandal ……………………… but only because of 150-4=? . 06 is no christian and I feel he is as horny as the rest of us. So Mr Mayday 1012

2. FED TO F--K UP Avatar
    FED TO F–K UP

Fire service people got real problems-but it -all over the public service. The bastards that running the public are no good. They are slave masters RUNNING the public service. They are the worse people ever to have had any say in the Public Service; no compassion, no love , no nothing. I

3. Questions to Mayday

When you come and talk about “Day Care Center at St.John” on this blog, who is it helping?. Would it not have been better to express your feelings to management or the Assoc.?. When my friends asked about the people I work with, if they are stupid, I see it as all of us because I am a FO too. About the female taking the child on the station, Mayday have you spoken to her about it since it is bothering you?.

Just bring the facts and keep the foolish gossip out. I was never a ass kisser and do not plan to be one but some of the foolishness that you guys are writing is making us look really bad, stop and think about it. The service has been the way that it is for years, what we should do is think of ways to stop this behaviour as we have young people in here now. Airing our laundry in public is not the answer, that is all. Let us get on the Assoc to set up a meeting with the minister to discuss our problems, if not, we know what the next step will be, we have to be a family now. If the assoc, don’t do something, stop our subscriptions. Mayday, this is the right thing!

4. It seem like u r mistaken,so i would print my only reply to that matter.As i said i do take sides and my friends r my kids,so i have no one to please ouside of god and my family…………….so here we go…………………………………………………………………………Admim,we got a admin haha.they could as well give de youngster kit and let him have full FO rights.Look some day this nonsense will stop,i dont think it will be any time soon as we dont have anyone in the top ranks the got any balls,i said balls guy and not the ones you buy at a sports shop.Well i hope for the poor kid sake he does not get hurt while the idiots using the truck to transport him,the worst thing that can happen to a child is not sickness or other stuff like that,the most unfortunate thing that can happen to a child is to be born of an ass or asses.Then we blame every one for the way kids turn out.Didnt his son(gasbag) pelted him with big rocks,my point exactly.Well dont blame them for doing as they like,if a person is going through a tight space you put your head through first,the bfs is the only place to do it reverse,we put we asses first lol..1019………………………………………………………………………..Thats all i said and will ever have to say about that,.Anyway 1019

5. Dont the BFS have a rolled to play at Mass Casualty Situations,were we at the bus accident,i did not see anyone representing us ………………………..1019….

6. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

what ?

7. Is cox still the fire chief (ag)? I don’t see him or hear one thing from him. I feel for you all

8. all of you aint making no sense. there is some training up coming, find the time and sign up for it. It will be benifical to all of you.

9. Now I shifting from BFS to Barbadians in general. I am writing this article as a chance to vent before I BLEVE . Them corrupt, nasty sorcerers who are in charge of law and security in this country , Responded to a suspicious call about a rasta man ‘in quick time’ resulting in him ending up over a clift on sharp rocks to die some moments later.
    This same security dept. took a suttle and ‘hands off’, luke warm approach to deal with a shooting death of a little boy.

Questions I must ask myself,What if Mr. Bjerkhamn was driving the crash tender and his service number was 109, would he he be draged violently from behind the stairing wheel by police?
    Would Mr Bjerkhamn be treated with the same ROYALTY if he was a black rasta whose son was shot? Why was he discharged and the police not notified by the hospital pending an investigation? Who gave the order to withdraw police presence creating that window of opportunity? Why is it that someone from the health care profession not wearing HMP silver bangles? And the list goes on. My conclusion is that commissioner Dottin is a Mock face , hard face ass and he need to be removed from office like yesterday.

The white people in this country are more powerful than Castro is in Cuba. We have two laws in this country, the extreme one which serves the blacks and not so fortunate and the other customized “we would make up as we go along one” which serves the whites and people from higher echelons.
    Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

10. @ Cox and Phillips…when you are a product of supercesion in any organization you automatically think that way..if you are in a decision making position you respond likewise….cox,phillips,the honourable bsc..ma…mr.gas…and the one and only humpty dumpty…maydoff…shite…i mean his majesty MAYNARD…the all conquering..all products of supercession…what state is the bfs is intoday…no accountability, no respect for each other, abusive language, drinking, theifing…lol… grazetted officers hiding from responding to fires..and i can go on and on….cox love to kiss pooch decisions were always made and pass to him hence he carried them out..now he’s in the top position he can’t do it …so his hench men in the middle makes it for him…phillips…well his focus is on and always was on how many ladies he could bed..fire women…women in de office…u know he is a sweet boy too…etc…etc…no interest at all in managing the bfs but because of his afiliation he’s 2 in command and the rot continues…it’s a sad day in the bfs and the carnage started way back but more recently in velmo time….he deserves a trophy…he fuck up de bfs…supercession clearly did not work in the bfs and we have so much evidence to prove it…by the way.it WILL continue…

11. I agree wid you anonymous April 21 @5:50 AM. I the bfs wasnt so stink and nasty. The actors would be trained and de yardfowls would wait them turn. As I said yesterday .Where are the Hamas and Hezbollah when you really need them?

12. why do you feel that you are better than anyone you actor, writing on this blog with your shit, over 25 year you sat on your ass and now want cake, you should plan for your retirement instead of wasting time . when you were privates,ops!!! you still are! you didnt care then , why now? cause as NCOs now you control not doing anything. go to f**k home. you are n o different from pow and the other officers

13. @ Anonymous April 24th 16:55, You are a fortunate arrogant pompus ass-hole. De only thing wanna highly trained opps ……. I meant wanna ONLY TRAINED pimps can see is promotions ? THERE ARE WAY MORE THINGS IN LIFE THAN PROMOTIONS you idiot. I usually hear wanna sluts siting and counting who going home next, or who sick and gonna die or who not qualified enough to make it. Yeah ya surprise right ? It gotta be one of them five instructors from Texas . How can you guys look down on us and gotta work with us? You are no different than a farmer who sex the livestocks he sells. You are a sick person anonymous 16:55, If the BFS had any principles your daddy would be lock ta phuck up for stealing diesel and you would have to visit him from behind bars.136 should realize that his ignorant dumbass father get promote off seniority . You are a young boy bout 30 and look like 58 years old. Ya living a bad negative life , go and learn to take care of yourself you goat. You should still be in red watch and I know gasbag would got your head like marl fill.

14. @Anonymous April 24 ,8:34. You said it has to be one of those instructors from texas you dumb fuck. Since those guys came back they share their information that have us actors doing courses to get the training we guys need. I am all about the fire service especially around HQ, I mix with all of you even you actors and attend our last NCOs meeting and i could tell you that those guy from texas 106,01,136 work hard so that even the courses that are on line now ,our there to our disposal. you attack 136 for what? for sharing, if I was those guys I would keep my info like blackman and cox even gittens. At the last NCOs meeting gasbag said all acting should stop what does that mean for us you idiot and now you are here trying to spread rumours. I have approach all those instructors and their views are about the development of the department. 130 and 106 was in training and all the work was at 106. From you own statement you are catching at straws trying to blame someone. So what if the five get promote, they can’t promote themselves. you should not focus on them because they are not the selfish ones. The adminstration and the association are the ones to blame or your bitterness.

15. i agree with u

16. Its amazing that one person can actually see what is going on. Not all may be interested in sharing but the majority are. Its a pity that the association and its members even though its new blood still cannot do anything to further the service. Up to now after all these years there is no chief. its apity.

17. Can some one give this most informative blog some feedback on the similation drill that happened recently at balls….we need to know .

18. cox can you please go home, after all these months and you only call a meeting cause the PS was going to be there to anounce the new chief. marshall, you will make a great chief. maynard, gasbag please cry openly, we can see your pain. you can stop talking about your plans now. marshall keep these snakes away from you.

19. i do hope that mr marshall do keep that jackass gasbag inline…fowl up at Balls…fowl up in de Gap…is the administration going to let him tear the service down …more than what he’s already done…

20. are these the only issues now

21. Phuck me. Wait wunna now realise that 130+6 look like 58. Hehehehehe. Wuh if he living negative got 2 and 3 woman and can’t keep up wid dem wuh yuh expect. And its a good ting he left red watch cause he would dead.

22. anonymous@ may17 at 7:15pm, you are the same anonymous of april 25 at 8:34pm with your jargon. everyone can see you have issues.

23. @ Anonymous 17th May, 19:15 . Are you a hater ? What 136 love life gotta do with the real world .Anonymous 17th May, 19:15 you are a sick unstable person . I suggest you see a psycholologist before you start freaking out and seeing lil green men or hurting yourself and others

24. @ Anonymous May 17, 9:41 pm. Not the same anonymous of April 25. replying and agreeing with anonymous April 24 8:34 pm.

@ Anonymous May 18, 6:19 am. Not a hater, just bringing facts since this blog is all about bringing facts whether it be personal or not. Seems like anonymous April 24, 8:34 pm hit the nail on the head.

25. WOW,.The BFS has a new Chief,in all fairness the 1st since Velmo went home,for me im sorry Gittens didnt get it,for gaskin,haha you cant see how relieved he is as seen in the paper.Well the pimps wid no shame jump ship already,im just looking to see how the rest of bandwagoners do the same.I am going to be real lonely on that side of the boat all by my self,i wont bad mouth anyone ………………yet. will give him a chance to get his house in order,and as someone said before,i hope he got the ball to deal with the idiots in the right way.By the way i hope he knows that “the fire officers who went to the GAP needs training as broadcast by the ag S.O.Please will someone Gag that stupid mutha Fu…… Opps My badanyhow MAYDAY……………….1019

26. Hello guys! My English in this comment may not be at its best because I am highly pissed off . I stumbled across the Bajan Fire Fighter website and saw some news paper clip about public servants not being appointed in certain post due to directives from government to combat economic constraints .

My question is ‘ why now ‘ a news extract appeared on the Bajan firefighter website? Is this a message of convenience or is it a message to show us that the newly revised administration shall continue in the path of negativity and stagnation .By clearly not TRYING to appoint those departmental victims. I still see appointments being published in the ‘official gazette’ magazine. If wanna willing to sit down and watch these people remain at temporary status and do nothing to later blame a news paper extract for your unprofessional ‘warming seat’ attitude . I aint buying that crap.

Listen Mr. coordinator of Bajanfirefighter website . Can you kindly advice the khaki generals get up off their behinds and go do some work and fight to get the 2005 and 2006 BFS graduates appointed and stop highlighting foolishness to further frustrate people.

And last but not least , that yardfowl AKA Sarah Palin calling me telling me foolishness about BFS victims (acting LFs and Temps) should not be vex and make rational statements or actions after reading that newspaper . I just want to ask Sarah Palin one question “You feel you dealing with machines and robots?” “You dealing with people and I would like you to come out of that fantasy world you living in.”

27. That guy Sarah Palin gone beyond crazy , I really think he want serious help because he is not in touch with reality.

28. Lets face it guys ,the temps. should have been delt was a long time ago,as for the acting app.,aint going to happen in the near futher,because government just dont have the money,this info i believe was sent to the majority of public offices.I believe as an emergency organisation we may be given priority as manpower is vital in our department for us to carry out our job as it relates to public safety and the protection of property.That is why ,my friends,we must always try to carry out our duties in a professional manner at all times and show the people and government of Barbados alike that we are not a money making machine ,the likes of customs,licencing etc.but that we play our part in saving the government and taxpayers of bim a whole lot of money on a yearly basis.So fingers cross guys and hope for the best for the bfs in the next few years to come…………………………..MAYDAY……………………..1019

29. Mayday 1019 i think you are a real big head sheep head ass . Its scorpions like you that we have to stay clear of you stupid yardfowled idiot. I feel that you are one of the fortunate ones in this department. I heard socialist saying that some people in the department never felt pain or being in a struggle and he is 100% correct. So you mayday 1019 a^s*s-&@ole wont know how it feels because you are one of those fortunate ones . You can sit their on your candy ass an talk foolishness , you dont care about us 300s. Go masturbate you stupid goat, I would love to switch places with you and an African snail , I really feel them got more principles than you. you ass

30. That one socialist get in a forum talking foolishness supporting them foolish Jamaicans for rebeling against Dudus Coke arrest. He always against authority, he too radical and unstable ,we cant put him in charge of anything in this department. He idolizes , castro, chavez and that madman from iran . He is in dying need of councelling . His behavior and thinking reminds me of Idi Amin of uganda . He even looks like him. Socialist i wud like you to go shave that bush off your face and get a haircut. You are not in Havana , you are in the BFS.

31. socialist ah see someone doesn’t appreciate you…ah bet it’s one of those sweetboys/girls…that never hard to work hard ….never felt pressured….always kiss nuff ass and just cannot think unless an officer tells him/her to…de more we talk de more we truely see the level of yardfowlism that exist within de department…

32. @ Anonymous May 25th , you stupid shit-witch . I never supported Christopher Coke and the civil war , all I said was that situation would be different if Uncle Sam wasn’t so interested in his arrest and the mass manipulation in the Caribbeans judicial affairs. I also said that the USAs accusations are based on a telephone conversation , this guy dont even have a visa . Why Uncle Sam dont hand over the two free terrorist and CIA operatives Recardo Loranzo and Freddie Lugo who was accused of bombing Cubana flight 455 on 6th of October 1976.

Anonymous May 25th you know what you are? You are a pimp, if you can only take your head from being buried so deep in the admins ass you would have heard what I really said in my forums and you may not have resorted to this blog to tell lies.

33. Eyes wide shut Avatar
    Eyes wide shut

And wunna wonder why de fire service can’t be nuh better. Wunna get and talk bout Dudus Coke when wunna should be talking bout fire service issues like appointments, promotions, salary increases and officers who are seen fleeing the country with their spouses without approval. Foolish women calling bout a station asking for a certain exsubaru man. but he ain’t know that people dun see he las year between june and august and this week hey hopping on pun a plane. but when ya report to work saturday morning i hope de police dey waiting for ya rass.

34. @ Eyes wide shut May 27, 2010 at 12:59 PM. This did going on for years. this ain’t nothing new. But policies and rules in de fire service need to be enforced. and charge these men for breaking rules. make an example out of them. but ah wonder if ya could mean 2010-1874 = . who else bout hey had subaru. but wasn’t he at work this week. well the service should do a check pun all who ain’t report to work this week and make an example of de culprit.

35. Don’t start checking out ppl flying out without permission cause you will see some names turn up that wouldn’t be shocking….leave this one alone….

36. Why de hell wanna dogs cant leave Fo136 alone ! That man did no harm to anyone . He never call in false fires in his address to bring home packages from the station, or he never curse an officer to later end up in the CFO office crying like a little bitch.136 never beat he wife then trunk she in front of his children. He has done more for the fire officers than some of wanna rattle snakes walking bout de place to keep up appearances.
    Fo136 just dont mind the stupid haters , keep up the good work and tell them bad minded vindictive haters to kiss your rear end.

37. We have a new Chief Fire Officer in place now….lets rally around him to see if we came make the Department a better place to work…we’ll be watching him closely though cause as you know he’s a product of the system and old habbits die hard…lets keep him on his toes…

38. hot off the press. we now have a new chief and he has to bring two crash tenders from the airport to cool things at hq when white watch working. this just fly in my inbox we are not goiing to belief this but Lf lowe screwing 237. comment

39. hot off the press. we now have a new chief and he has to bring two crash tenders from the airport to cool things at hq when white watch working. this just fly in my inbox we are not goiing to belief this but Lf lowe screwing 237 at night in their dorms and elsewhere. comment

40. Lyonidis // May 25, 2010 at 3:28 PM

Mayday 1019 i think you are a real big head sheep head ass . Its scorpions like you– you stupid yardfowled idiot. So you mayday 1019 a^s*s-&@ole wont know —. You can sit their on your candy ass — you stupid goat, —— an African snail , . you ass
    ——————————————————
    wow ——-one person could be called so many names or one person could call another person by so many names ???

41. This letter is to inform all those judgemental psychos out there that reading what you see in the papers and taking in what you always see isn’t always the truth.
    We read the propaganda about the Dudus Coke issue and ignoring the big picture. Its not about America making the world a better place by getting another drug lord off the streets, its about eliminating the competition.
    Wait! Hear me out before wanna attack me and run me like how wanna do socialist. I am not a herb smoker but I live in a ghetto area and word is out that the only weed available in large amounts is Colombian weed. Jamaician weed was main ganja in Barbados since the RSS and USA army burn out the vincy crops and the police got weed imports shut down. What a coincidence that our streets flooded with Colombian weed and nobody aint getting lock up.
    Mr. Socialist aint de only person who can bring facts .Dont let us be so nieve , America got bases in Columbia, cocaine and weed still getting export from there. America invaded Afghanistan which by the way is one of the largest producers of the poppy plant in the world (poppy plant is the raw material for heroine production) and the heroine junky population in USA sky rocketed since the invasion. The USA are allies with asian nations and south Korea, these produce opium . These people preach anti drugs and them hands nasty up with it ,I believe they control the drug trade. The RSS and US forces cant go in JamRock and burn no colliweed crops so they do the most economical thing get rid of the bosses.

42. @ Anonymous June 25th, It looks as though I am one of those ‘judgemental Psychos’ . Despite your comment may be a logical conspiracy theory , we must face the fact and stop living in a dream land .Marijuana is an ILLEGAL drug and we must respect the laws of our land. We already have too much Legal drugs on the market which are destroying our morals, for example tobacco and alcohol. The illegal drug trade along with capitalism slowly destroys the smooth operations of a society.

To control the use of illegal drugs in my country…. (this is the point where my licks from readers gonna start)…….. we should reward all drug trafficers with a minimum of two life sentences at Her Majesty Dodds prison

Members of our security forces who are caught trafficing illegal drugs should be executed by SLR firing squad immediately and their families exiled from this country.Peter pay for Paul.

Now only members of rastafari religion should consume marijuana for religious purposes. If I had the authority I would subject them to ONLY use this drug within the confines of a temple or area of worship. If you are caught outside this area consuming marijuana , a 20 year reward at Her Majesty prison. If this area of worship becomes a market or a haven to harbour thugs or criminal elements , An air-strike can solve that problem.

For the people with medical issues , weed can be used in your home by drinking it . If you guys are caught smoking it … Prison.

And last but not least, drug smuggling and illegal firearms go hand and hand. For the people convicted of having an unlicence firearms ‘ you live by the gun you die by the gun’ . Face my SLR firing squad first thing in the morning.

If the law makers had extreme laws like these . B’dos would be a better place.

43. @anonymous

While you are at it,maybe you can also change the name of the prison. There is nothing Majestic about being in prison

44. Tell me why on 2010-06-30, white watch work wid 7 people at HQ station? Who is the NCO in charge of that watch ? Well who ever you are just listen to a bit of advice. Boy do not give away your ass then to shite through your mouth. ya ignorant? You need to be more responsible to your men and the public.Now tell me what de phuck 6 men could do at an incident, 1st ting ya gun burn dem out fast and den what? Wanna shift managers need to stop letting the khaki men giving wanna stupid orders.Wanna aint got NO in wanna vocabulary? Are you an invertebrate ? De only people wanna cud bark at an say no to is the FOs ?When wanna mek these stupid decisions i hope de same FOs instead of proping up wanna. sick out pun wanna ass

45. I think we need drug testing in this Dept. Because clearly we need to rid these freaks who are among us.

46. a baby was carried to work at the afstn and a certain DO give the mother 2hrs to get the child from the stn while she was working nite shift. cant her so call husband keep his own child.

47. As fas as i hear she husband did suppose to meet she they with the child and he was other wise engaged with legs in a bed so dem had to wait till he get his discharge papers. These are hard times and i hope he know to condomise.oops sorry economise.

48. In fah a penny Avatar
    In fah a penny

that was bear foolishness he is a real sad ass bitch he aint got no respect fah family at all to be treating his own that way and a young child at that he want de beating wid a cat-o nine tails or a piece a two x four when is he ever going to get his act together.

49. He needs to grow up some of us get big but we aint mature. Even how he handle that incident with the appliance going to cricket shows who he really is.. When Cox go home who is he gonna cry to?