I saw on the Toronto CP 24 News last night, the Barbados Fire Chief accepting a donation from the Toronto Fire Service of used fire-fighter protective clothing and equipment. As a proud Barbadian who has always considered us as a leader among the Caribbean nations; could not help but think. “Is this what we have come to”?Don’t get me wrong, it is good to see the recycling of good equipment that otherwise might have just been dumped, but I could not help but feel that, have we reached the stage that we have to go with hat in hand looking for hand-me-downs to supply our fire service. Most Barbadians do not consider themselves as Third World yet why does our government let one our most important public service branches be treated as such.?

Maybe I am just a little too PROUD of our PROUD little nation.

Read The Original Article

The information was posted over at Barbados Forum. For some reason the message by the poster, who appears to be a Barbadian living in Canada, conveyed sadness. BU has interpreted the last sentence of the post which the poster highlighted in the colors of Barbados to mean that his pride as a Barbadian was dented after watching the broadcast. To be honest in the BU we feel the same way in the BU household. Barbados Fire Chief Mayers, if you have to accept the old equipment then do it away from the public glare.

What is the message which our leaders are sending? We spend millions on a multiplicity of project but we have to accept “hand-me-downs to supply our service.”

888 responses to “Poster on Barbados Forum Says That The Barbados Fire Service Accepted "Hand-me Downs" From The Toronto Fire Service”

1. Stupse Stupse

2. KISSMYA does not respond to lies and asumptions. Too many people assume too many things and jump to conclusions based on assumptions

Rome was not built in a day !

3. And u r a liar!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. Monday is a day to be seen, lets wait and see. It promises to be interesting. Heard there is a new (Ag) man. This is left to be seen.

5. he never pay compliments to his superiors and now let us see if he will want us to pay compliment. REAP WHAT YOU SOW!! BITCH.

6. Monday came too soon for him, that dumbass drove through six roads with only a siren on and no lights on his car, just goes to show all the degrees and u r still an ass. You never paid compliments lets see if u get any dumb ass!!

7. Anonymous , why ya wont go mind de time when de doctor advice your honey to leave you because you were making her sick. I want you to stop fulling up de women blood wid stool ya nasty BITCH.

8. Ooh that was descriptive.

9. The BFS needs a marxist CFO and should only train people who embrace the socialist ideology

10. you people are a sick bunch whats the problem with you

11. At least we dont cuss or embarass our wives in front of people.

12. and she still stay with him because she lied on all the people who had her back and now she has no one to turn to. i have nothing against her but and the end of the day you need friends, what he did was wrong and i dont support it even if she deserve it, that was low, how can he be chief?????

13. Kissma wha go n on wid
    u

14. This message goes out to the sticky finger ,light handed bitch in the BFS who stole de HIV laptop, wanna dus work . Bring it back ,it aint belong to wanna. Wanna house want digging up by de police, wanna bad people.

15. I agree wid you Anonymous 18th 2009, de police want bringing and digging up from the Ncos straight down to every one pon that station. I hear they thief a camera too. But they barking up the wrong tree, the AG want informing bout that. Let he do the investigation.

16. Anonymous Nov. 18th and 19th. You guys are way too extreme. Digging up houses and police should not be an option we need to come together and be our brothers keeper . Guys let us come together and sweep this issue under the carpet like all the other unforgiving things. No one outside the department got to know. Hold this down let de articles slide and STOP AIRING WANNA DIRTY LINEN IN PUBLIC WANNA DEPARTMENTAL TRAITORS. I remember when you guys couldnt even raise wanna voices. The fire service should ban the bringing work of all laptops leaving others in need to resort to stealing.

17. So you are saying that the service should be a concentration camp and a haven to encourage crime and corruption ? Anonymous ! Why don’t you donate your organs to charity ? I believe the only reason you are here on earth so that you can contribute the little CO2 you exhale the the plants.

18. SAD VERY SAD !!!!

19. you are a politically fueled communist idiot, socialist. You now come in service, chill and relax you foolish boy. You socialist is a departmental traitor as well, always complaining bout everything. you now come and want ta change de place. Its people like you and your rest of radical bafoons dat got de service look bad . Wanna should meant to fall-in before and after lunch and break. You lack disiplin.

20. u supporting stealing and asking people to sweep this away. fall in WHAT!!!you should bring back the laptop and the camera, you talk about discipline you older men are the worst in the department and all of those thieves like want jail,if you want some place to write go and write a letter titled WHY I SHOULD BE DISMISS FROM SERVICE. you are an idiot and a pimp ,i will call aliba-ba for your stealing ass

21. SAD VERY SAD !!!!

EXTREMELY SAD !

22. @ Anonymous 20th, 2009- 7:43 and 21th, 2009 -7:11 respectively. First and foremost back off socialist.. He is one of the articulate visionaries in the B.F.S. Don’t knock his political views, we all know his asperations. On a more serious note, lets call you Mr. Scrotum !!! It’s ok then for someone to burgularise your home taking your laptop, camera, refrigerator, extra monitors, diesel and you wouldn’t call the R.B.P.F, yea right!!!. You are abnormal, maybe some kinda freak of nature, by that i mean , you can inter-change your scrotum for your brain, if you have one and absolutely no one would recognize it cause both look identical.. Your pointless utterance shouldn’t even be on this blog. How dear you condone stealing within the department. Maybe it’s you or you know who it is… Sympathy..NO,NO prison YES,YES. I do hope the AG gets involved with this one and lets see the rapacious riff-raff in the daily news with prison silver ware on their wrist.. You are vomit,!!! I do hope i am the last person to respond to your garbage…Ya pimp.

23. Ignore that stain anonymous guys. Anyway the clown that stole the peoples articles should be in H M Dodds for this xmas and many more xmases after that.

24. Come let us join a political party that think about and really care about the needs of the people. Let us join the PEP

25. Socialist……..i got soooo much licks fa you….PEP…u joking right…i know it’s the xmas season and tis de time to be happy …but ya gine too far wid dis joke..man wait til i come on again…

26. Mr Socialist I understand your struggle ,I understand your pain , I understand your political ideologies.

You are not alone, You need help , You need more voices. I think your colleagues should take time out and look at the big real picture, You guys have to be REALIST at times like these. I would appreciate it if the people on this blog can take time out from your busy schedules and watch this film to see why people like socialist behave the way he does. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXUW5X1MGdI&feature=player_embedded

27. And guys I also think you should watch a documentary film name ‘Capitalism: A love story. Surf the web..

28. groan ! groan ! groan !

sad very sad !

29. Thanks Grandma.At least I am not alone after all. lol

30. Sad Very Sad, I congratulate you !!! Wow your vocabulary have increased to 3 words ‘Groin ,sad ,very’.

31. I would like to know why them khaki goons staying in the BFS and drawing salary when they are soo non productive. All ah them put in them time.GO HOME ! Don’t forget the acting administrators as well like 33, 189 and ‘apple’ wanna cud go home cause wanna aint bringing nothing to the table. Wanna stopping the wheels of dynamics within the department from turning.
    The members who gave in excess of 33 years of service want sending home on retirement .That would give rise to about 27 new promotions and 27 new members. You dinosaurs are the main causes of the growing level of frustration . We dont hate wanna , but we would love to see you guys as civilians again.
    The sad thing is the new wave of evils gonna come barging through these prison walls like the gaskins ,smithwicks, Maynards, boxills and patricks . I could tell they dont trust each other because they did alot of underhand dirty deeds in their past but it would bring about a sense of upward mobility .

32. cud dear

33. Nothing new, nobody business to report???

34. Seasons greetings bloggers

35. happy new year to one all all,i want to wish the barbados-fire-service members all the best in every capacity

36. Happy New Year to all my colleagues. Your #1 favorite Gossip Girl is back after her first entry on June 1st 2009. You all should remember that entry cause I had some juicy info. about the second most popular man in the department – 136. Well we all know Gasbag is #1. And boy has he done some pretty bad things to his wife. I hate men who can’t treat a woman right. But what about the Mac Daddy. He ain’t no saint when it comes to women.

We want to know who is the girl that he is with that drives the white car X5—? What happened to Miss RX? Well I heard through the grapevine that Miss RX found out that her Mac Daddy was involved with this new girl before he went and eat Kentucky. I heard that police was also involved when the women found out bout each other. So when Miss RX did at home, Daddy was at home too but next to another woman. Well I feel fa Miss RX. If ya didn’t want the woman ya should let she go long. Some nice man probably another fireman would sweep she off she ugly feet. If only Incidental was free. But who is it ya really got?

But what happen ya got the land up they in St. Farlup not doing nothing with it. Sell that Subaru and now scrambling for money. Hopefully the new mistress would help ya cause the old one like she didn’t no help. If it is so cause ya real quiet.

Gasbag ya did a good job mentoring the Daddy. Adding another element to his profile – arrogant and womaniser. That’s why wunna can’t gree. 2 of the same.

I gone for now. See wunna at work. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

37. a certain nco(28) was transfer for sexually assaulting his subordinate(pressy) his wife left him cause he drinks rum all the time now you want puss from a workmate by force you sick dog, who cares about 136 women problem all men have them. on another topic the one have been transfer to training, lets wait and see if this training will be more transparent and not for the lackys in the department, new year people same shit, 56 was transfer too i glad he gone running all the men he work around who was transfer because of him. back to 28 was are a idiot and a potential rapist you need help ,should the men be scared of you too?

38. Happy 2010 people. @ Anonymous 2010-01-07, You talk bout 56 night but wanna got ta keep a pad lock on them diesel tanks down dey cause ya know de big jeep would never be empty. He and that Authority abusing, pimping slut 28 bowen should be somebody bitch up at Her Majesty Dodds prison

39. what happens now 56 goes to wfs, the go tank is in the back. lol. people was selected for a courses shouldn’t the nco’s first and stop talking about who act next and learn their work

40. @ GOSSIP GIRL, You attacking 136 and gasbag all de time . You barely touch gasbag and he has done more evil and inhumane deeds in this department but unleash your full arsonal on 136. Ya know what? I feel 136 did fouping you or you had de pussy for him and he refused it. Stop acting like a school girl with a crush. You also acting like de fox that cant get the grapes. The problem dus start wid wanna! wanna dus open wanna legs too fast and dont know de people dats my advice. STAY FOCUS AND KEEP YOUR LEGS CLOSED.

41. I would like to send sincere condolences to Fo117 family and friends . He was a good friend , family man and firefighter.

R.I.P…… King R.

42. I send sincere condolences to friends , family and love ones of Fo117
    R.I.P bro. I dedicate this song to you

43. May King R rest in peace.
    I had a splitting belly ache today the cause of it is that Gasbag has risen to the rank of Chief Fire officer. This is worst than the earthquake in Haiti cause i am sure that when the announcement is made the tremours will be felt all over the place and every man will have the belly like me too. But one final note and this is to 250-1 take note when he was lfo he had another wife when he was sub he had you, the juruy is still out on who will be there when he is chief the odds have it that it wont be you.

44. Cud dear, wonder what will happen now, MORE PIMPING. He will get new friends. Wait and see.

45. Stupse a new year and all this stupidness come on man. Who ever is chief every body has to work wid dem.

46. What you say is true but you sound like the first pimp on the list.

47. Lmao Yes the very first pimp. I hate pimps

48. Chavez I agree wid you 100% for taking over the management of that supermarket chain. The only place that these monopolizing ,capitalist, egotistical freaks can jack up prices with no type of resistance from the government is on this sad little rock. Now Hugo Chavez is a true leader with balls.

49. A politically driven BLP yardfowl called my house this morning at 05:00hrs to read part of a news paper column. This is my reply ….BOY WHY YOU DONT USE COMMON SENSE AND STOP THINKING PARTY POLITICS ? YA POLITICAL VAGRANT. YOU DONT KNOW THE MEANING OF A GLOBAL RECESSION ?

50. What do you guys think about the administration pulling the plug on the training units survival training ?
    As the great Sir Hilary said “that is a knee-jerk response” those guys never support the fire officers. They just want to exploit and control, I call that departmental imperialism. The admin is saying the training unit deplete the resource for manpower availability but they depleted our staff to send to a police parade ,these are the same police force who showed total aggression against a fire officer at GAIA .
    You admin guys never cease to amaze me. Your stupidity reminds me of an infected laceration just oozing with pus where the infected tissue is at the top.

I am awaiting your comments