I saw on the Toronto CP 24 News last night, the Barbados Fire Chief accepting a donation from the Toronto Fire Service of used fire-fighter protective clothing and equipment. As a proud Barbadian who has always considered us as a leader among the Caribbean nations; could not help but think. “Is this what we have come to”?Don’t get me wrong, it is good to see the recycling of good equipment that otherwise might have just been dumped, but I could not help but feel that, have we reached the stage that we have to go with hat in hand looking for hand-me-downs to supply our fire service. Most Barbadians do not consider themselves as Third World yet why does our government let one our most important public service branches be treated as such.?

Maybe I am just a little too PROUD of our PROUD little nation.

Read The Original Article

The information was posted over at Barbados Forum. For some reason the message by the poster, who appears to be a Barbadian living in Canada, conveyed sadness. BU has interpreted the last sentence of the post which the poster highlighted in the colors of Barbados to mean that his pride as a Barbadian was dented after watching the broadcast. To be honest in the BU we feel the same way in the BU household. Barbados Fire Chief Mayers, if you have to accept the old equipment then do it away from the public glare.

What is the message which our leaders are sending? We spend millions on a multiplicity of project but we have to accept “hand-me-downs to supply our service.”

888 responses to “Poster on Barbados Forum Says That The Barbados Fire Service Accepted "Hand-me Downs" From The Toronto Fire Service”

1. You Socialist ! I found you at last . What i think you should do is keep from out of your forums at CaveHill talking foolishness about the opposition. You are not a political analyst, wanna pompus idiots in dat faculty feel wanna know everything, you knows nothing bout politics. Better yet go and live in your idolized Cuba ,hopefully you may lose weight cause them rationing food down dey

2. @ Juice . Why you attacking socialist like that? What you said was low. My advice to you is dont pelt rocks if ya live in a glass house. And keep from out of Taboo (formally Boatyard) on Friday nights wid de people lecturers. Dem gonna only pass you around, then talk bout you in them forums.

3. same shit different day

4. @ Pick Ah Noise. Yes de gossip girl attacking 136 and gasbag all de time . Cause it is so comical to see how friends can simply turn into enemies. Gasbag get and horn he wife and 136 folllow and horn he woman. Ah wonder if they know bout one another yet. I does still see he wid all 2. Cause gossip girl hear all two does be making the phone go round at the station calling he. Let these people know this is a business. And tell me why would gossip girl want a man who fouping so much women. Wunna know bout HIV/AIDS. Wouldn’t it be the outside woman who open she legs too fast. Don’t worry bout gossip girl. The fire service and the people who work in it need the church. But as they say The Lord don’t like ugly. He watching and waiting. You all are too shame to confess your sins, shake hands and love one another. Unlike Mr. gasbag he love everyone, from the women back down. HA HA. Oh yea 136 too.

5. Is 136 and the bag the only ones to cheat, do we no what the women did, doesn’t a policeman be at a certain station at nites,get a life people are cheated on everyday both male and female it is nothing new. Now you want to start rumours with that last statement you are a sick fuck. pick a noise was rite maybe you open your legs too fast or maybe the bag fuck you too, they are more important things to discuss than men horning women, what about firewomen getting fuck by firemen on the station, all those live stock that lost their lives in st. thomas, the fireman who fall off the flag pole,the next chief,the actors who don’t have a clue, the new airport station, the transfers, the firetruck breaking down all the time, a general meeting with the AG,social club money, the association being dormant, the officer who went to a fire scene drunk. gasbag and 136 has not been fighting on or off the station, why do you make it seem as though this is happening. what you need to do is to stop minding people business you fucking idiot.

6. I agree with you because just saturday nite when i pass the same station you should see her outside in the policeman arms she really dont care. Not even the strong wind that wasblowing could not get between her and the man and to think that 17 suppose to be the supervisor in charge of that station.

7. Stupse a new year and all this stupidness come on man. Stop de lies.

8. hahaha,ths is good shit,amazing all of these things going on in the brigade,and nothing is being done.THE BEST CHIEF WE EVER HAD WAS VELMO.

9. MAN.If d bag ever got the position as chief,d department and all its personnel going to hell in a hay basket

10. same shite different day

11. Ya mean the hate gone so deep dat wanna telling lies pun de poor girl? Leave the girl alone. You people checking for the female in 17 shift but wanna should check for the nasty MARRIED christian NCOs who loves to PRAY to god and PREY on the pleasures of the flesh.

……… vita detestabilis
    semper in angaria

Something to think about.. The latin phrase translates to– ‘ you now live a bad life which will always enslave you ‘.

12. @ Saint , can you be more specific? Can you kindly point out the ADULTERER ? I need a hint, Stn and watch and I will do the rest.

13. U should mind ur business

14. No No No ! If it was #60 , 03 or gasbag that was fouping somebody outside dem marriage , wanna freaks in the BFS would have plastered their names an businesses all over this blog. So anonymous 2010-03-18 @ 22:15 ,don’t be defending no adulterers, I see that clown ‘gossip girl’ write all types of things about #136 and people like wanna accepted the gossip with a smile. So don’t you go that road ! Cause I wud investigate ,get nasty and put the name pun this blog too . LOOK ! anonymous 2010-03-18 @ 22:15 , BACK OFF AH ME , BACK OFF AH ME , I don’t want ta get nasty

15. Fire Service Boys and Girls ——
    Beware !

I am out to get you some commonsense and courage. Please accept when this happens. All yuh got some serious issues–oh gosh !

16. @All…

For some reason I’ve never fully understood…

Whenever it gets “thick and heavy” elsewhere here on BU this thread suddenly comes alive.

Hmmm….

17. Don’t you guys think this name calling and personality attacks gone way too far ? We in the department have many issues for example ,appointments, promotions, lack of training , lack of man power, lack of proper equipment , the administration and the list goes on. We need to move away from the cursing, name calling and personal attacks on this blog. Deal with the major issues guys and keep it clean.

Now I believe we should channel our energies and focus on issues which I believe should land people in Her Majesty Dodds Prison such as stealing and fraud . As far as my research goes Barbados ain’t governed by Islamic law so adultery or other forms of moral decay cannot cause a fire service member to wear silver bangles, so we should not discuss them on this blog.
    Behavior such as abusing authority , victimization and corruption should cause one to lose gratuity or a year salary . Call me anti- admin , radical or extreme I don’t care. The main root of our problems in the dept. is the administration ,we need to put measures in place to curb the vindictive, nasty, covert behavior of these officers.
    I have discussed a cultural trend , the system through my own perspective , without attacking personalities or names. Whosoever it offends too bad , you cant beat me!

So guys , kindly vent your views without the cursing and personal attacks please!

18. As ususal, Socialist they always try to cry you down but once more you are rght!!!!!!!!!! I agree with you ahundred percent. Futhermore how will talking people name and cursing bring any good to the dept?. when the talking name is the same thing we are accusing the admin of, along with using personality management. Socialist dont let them stop you as you say they cant beat you!

19. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

WHAT IS GOING HERE ?

THIS THREAD NEEDS —-

”””FIRE”””

SO MOVE YUH WATER HOSE

20. Socialist I would like you to stop talking things about the khaki men cause them stupid, dumb and cannot negotiate. Do not waste your time discussing retards because they just not gonna understand .
    Now moving on to better things, I realize that you socialist have great respect for Hugo Chavez and Fidel Castro. You do not have to travel far to see them because we have our very own dictator versions right under our noses. Them in the association, Mr. President and The Secretariat , these two men paved the road for dictatorship and nastiness . How long 50+3 and ‘half dozen’ were in these positions enjoying the fruits of our labour? We got to vote them out or else a lot of serious issues gonna continue to be swept under the carpet, We are being sold wholesale, promotions , appointment for the 300s being approached with a callous spineless attitude. Those guys gotta be more forceful in executing their negotiation duties . Get rid of them from office !!!
    We need to apply pressure to the ‘ever evolving admin ‘ and force them into submission cause them ain’t ready yet plus they have expired they stay and can lost the ability to be productive . Go home guys if you really care about the department , you guys are like a bad departmental cough. Just leave before you infect the others. I am watching the issue with the injured fireman and I wish him a speedy recovery and I hope this never happen again. However , I recommend that the senior members of the department Lfo (ag) , LFOs Sub Os , etc seek training in occupational health and safety like yesterday. They are too many foolish injuries caused by NCOs not enforcing occupational health and safety practices.

We are suppose to be professionals , I would like wanna actors and actresses stop giving wanna hard earned cash to the Obeah men and witch doctors just for a promotion . The same obeah men meking laughing sport at wanna when them get drunk in the rum shop. He receiving money from all ranks too.

21. Off 5 and 3 fa me.At least he is not like the blood sucking parasites the likes of (Gaskin ,E Maynard and ,Nello Byno Smithwick) all of whom use the bfsa as their personnal jetty to jump off way offshore to gain advantage in d race for chief.They were like hungry DOGS when administration use their special weapon,(promotion) like a drumstick,u should have seen those hungry DOGS run,leaving their post as captain as the ship drift into rough seas.Now after all the DOGS run after the meat and left the pups in danger and to starve,u all got the gall to cuss out 5 and 3 who even after promotion stayed to look after the pups left behind by those wutless DOGS,especially after dealing wid d pig farmer who brought his ignorance to the top chair.mr 5 and 3 as u put it will always have my respect,as he has shown us he is not like those other DOGS with their balls in their asses.Keep up the good fight bro.

22. So why you only defend 53 and not half dozen ? You don’t have any respect for him too ? Mr Mayday you sound as though you get burn by Nello, Gasbag and Mr. Maynard. Listen the best advice I got for you is to put your trust in god not in mortal man, or the obeah man or no short little man with a big head. Put all your trust in god.

23. De last time I went here I was told to mind my own business. Now I went in gutter an i found some NCOs who are married , CLAIM to be christian. These NCOs are as follows :- 06, 68, 74, 94, 97 , 53 and ABBY-gail . Now I eliminating ABBY-gail 74 and 97 from the list cause they are wolves in sheep clothing. So its a toss up between 06, 68 and 94 .

24. @ Anonymous 2010-03-23/22:22. Stop playing mind games and police tactics . You cant get info that way . All you gotta do is just ask the right people . Have you ever watched the film ‘Saving Private —-‘ ?

25. WAIT 06 gone doing shite ? I am hurt ,hope this is just another lying rumour. Thats a low blow to me . really hope this is a vicious lying rumour.

26. Yes it is no lie. We would need to use the spreader from the RT to separate him and a certain female officer.

27. @ Anonymous March 25th Why you hurting? The only people right now that should be hurting are those association members who religiously turn up at all the general meetings listening to the false promises , prayers and lies from that false prophet , that Judas. I stopped going to anything with the association years ago. It is people like 06 who give the BFSA a bad name. If that rumour was about the gasbag ,this blog, all barrack rooms, Heat magazine , or Puddin and sous would send up red flags. But its a good boy , Mr perfect who lusted after someone and wanna hypocrits keeping it silent cause its not anything bout gasbag or his wife. Wanna spare the rod and spoil the child. I think Father sexy should resign from that office and go get some good old smoke in his lungs like the rest of us. Resign and put a sinner there so that we won’t get our hopes high when it comes to moral .

28. you exposed austin, what about the woman? who is she? she is no different from the rest cause he is married and she would know

29. In fah a penny Avatar

One hundred and forty six french men cant be wrong!!!

30. @ Anonymous March 25th and Mr. Disappointed the reason you guys are so hurt is because you failed to trust in god. Trust in god and do not put all your trust in no obeah men , no short bighead men or no tall dark horny men.

31. Listen girl ignore the haters cause de sweetest man is a married man . These firemen old fashion and ignorant. Let them mind them own business and and go live wid dem wives before them end up getting horn too. Well with names like pharoah , them gotta be from pre-historic times. Girl ignore the foolish talk and listen to my advice, do not fall in love cause he just in it for kicks HE AINT YOURS AND YOU JUST BORROWING HIM so let him go back to his wife. Do not ask about his wife cause men dont like that, just ask about the things the wife dont like in bed and do them xxxx all the kinky stuff. Make him your minister of finance, let him pay for the action he not getting at home cause IT AINT FREE , so ask big like car , land , house repairs if you get the drift. Last but not least put an ice cube in your mouth and suck he dickie till he hair stand up an he will never leave you . I know if I get my hand pun a rich man i would neva care who talk. Wanna people in the fire service crazy cause dem aint no christians nowadays just people that go to church.

32. wunnah stop copying people writings…..get wunnah own….just trying to do a ting….pray for de department

33. hoho

34. that is just bad!!

35. cud dear ohh,

36. Cud dear, wunna too bad doah!! Wunna need prayer!!!!

37. Let us all act our ages and not our shoe size. Can you guys prove what you are saying? NO !!!! So why discuss it then? The tongue can be very dangerous, you guys are smarter than that . Leave the gossip and name talking for the Monday meetings. I can see lashes for me on the horizon but I don’t care so just BRING IT ON.

38. Giving Jack He Jacket Avatar
    Giving Jack He Jacket

Yeah you know i got lashes for your ass socialist.I realize you always coming on and putting up things to defend or sidetrack attention when heat is on your friends.You came to deflect pressure off the gaskins then you trying to sidetracking heat off austin.Are you a true activist or a fire service yardfowl?Hurry up and mek up you mind and while ya at it go get a hair cut cause they are no male rastas in the brigade ya corruptor. You just as bad as the administration cause you upholding crap and defending wicked nasty people, next time change your name from socialist to Father harlot

39. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

any female fire officers want to douse me ?

40. Y u socialist dont tell people why 250-1 had she child driving bout pon de people truck and calling in false fire only to drop home she child fah d father to keep. 17 gine roast in hell cause he up dey letting she do as she like. Which o we can carry workwe child to sleep pon the station and a baby at dat. I doubt that child is a year old yet cause it real small no wonder she dont walk bout wid it. That blue watch shift at st jon want mashing up cause them does do bear shite. I would like to hear what the admin gine do about this!!!

41. Admim,we got a admin haha.they could as well give de youngster kit and let him have full FO rights.Look some day this nonsense will stop,i dont think it will be any time soon as we dont have anyone in the top ranks the got any balls,i said balls guy and not the ones you buy at a sports shop.Well i hope for the poor kid sake he does not get hurt while the idiots using the truck to transport him,the worst thing that can happen to a child is not sickness or other stuff like that,the most unfortunate thing that can happen to a child is to be born of an ass or asses.Then we blame every one for the way kids turn out.Didnt his son(gasbag) pelted him with big rocks,my point exactly.Well dont blame them for doing as they like,if a person is going through a tight space you put your head through first,the bfs is the only place to do it reverse,we put we asses first lol..1019

42. @ anonymous and mayday i wud like to know why wanna losing sleep over a child on a station and 60 son who is a civilian was going to fires before he was 6. He was even issued kit and worked at all types of fires .All this nonsense happened in the presence of khaki men. Yet we keeping noise at roving response. anonymous and mayday wanna is 2 lied sad asses.

43. Listen dude or dudette,i am not one for taking sides shite is shite,regardless of who doing it,but as i was trying to say,people can only do things and get away with it ,if u dont have to gave account to any body,and right now d BFS like a headless chicken fluttering all over d place.De rules suppose to apply to everybody,but we all know that is alot of shit,so if everybody doing as they like (wearing natties,fooping all bout the stns,stealing densil sorry diesel etc) and ncos aint got a f…ing clue what their job is about, but looking for more promotion ,so what u’all think will happen.this my friends is the sad ass situation we find ourselves in,so all i got to say is good luck to one and all,but remember u never know who is on the outside looking in on this nasty behaviour within the bfs.1019

44. Wunna ever check to see if this shit is true

45. Who is “LIL PIMP”?

46. When this blog started , it was a way to air our veiws on what is going on in the BFS with the hope that the powers that be, might read it and help us. I am most disappointed at the behaviour that is being exhited in this forum and you’ll need to do a self assessment. The public looking in and reading all of this gossip, what will they think of us. Gossip is just gossip, we do not know if all of these things are true but suppose they are not, here it is, that you guys are breaking up families, you need to think about this carefully. Stick to the facts, what can we do to make the service a better place for us? that is the question that I want us to answer and not talk about gossip foolishness. So if a woman takes a child to work, do u know the circumstances that she had to do it? we are suppose to be brothers and sisters, that should have never reached the blog. People(Civilians) reading this blog often say to me, some of the people that you work with are so stupid, how could you work there but if you guys write so much crap, then how can I defend you?. Look get you’ll act together and focus on pushing the service that is the focus right now, everybody should be pulling their weight and let us try to gain the public’s support and respect.

47. Someone can see the light.

48. We don’t need the gossip or name calling, but if that give you guys an orgasm by attacking personalities well then go right ahead. The ‘gossip Authors’ are a bunch of sick people.I think you guys need shock treatment.

49. The question should be is it breaking the rules to have a child in a fire station?

How long has it been going on and who know about it?

Could it be BFS personnel are coming to the blog out of frustration and a lack of confidence in existing management because of their lack solutions over time?

Treat the cause people and things should improve.

50. I think u guys are just a laugh,i would like to know what u say to ur friends that think the fo’s are stupid ,maybe she is hinting at u haha.Look i dont think its about gossip, but merely a case being highlighted of how some people can do as they like in the dept.,do as they like with the dept. things and say what they like to other people within the dept.,but maybe u guys are of the select few.That my friend s is why i keep notes,because i would not be playing possum if anyone in house bring nonsense to me,let them take it to the ass lickers that they allow to do as they like.I HOPE ALL THOSE GUYS THAT CARRY FRIUTS AND VEGETABLES AT THE OFFICERS PLACES REALISE THAT THEM GONE HOME AND THEY BOUT HEY STILL LOOKING FOR PROMOTION.forget the back door and try the front for a change.1019