Barbadians living abroad can use this space to share experiences, search for news about what is happening on the Rock.

The blogmaster welcomes you!

2,169 responses to “Diaspora Corner”

1. Barbados” Now customers of LIME and Digicel, which has also installed a fibre fixed line and Internet network, are usually without land line services once there is a power outage. The problem was apparent on Monday during the island wide power outage after the passage of Hurricane Maria”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100666/power-play

2. sixty thousand Canadian dollars in Barbados

Twenty eight thousand Canadian dollars in Canada.

https://www.honda.ca/civic_sedan/trims

3. “The only way to stop a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun.”

Wayne LaPierre: Executive Vice President of the NRA.

4. Sweet fuh days!!!!

5. ” Gabriel recently bought a house in Barbados, where he now spends about a week each month, overseeing the transition and working to get some of the historic equipment back on line. “I’m so thankful—to be able to work with rum and Cognac with even more control,” he says. “You can trust me, this will translate in your glass.”

Then there is this….

http://www.northantstelegraph.co.uk/news/rothwell-firm-hopes-new-rum-will-pack-a-punch-1-8178707

6. A source told the Sunday Sun that proposals were being drafted to see how the two industries could work together, but pointed out that it was still at a very delicate stage and as a result no information could be divulged.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/101145/rum-sugar-sweet

7. Come here to see what Hants is up to when he is over here…

The Sparrow was a blast from the past…

8. Westbury New Road to become Rihanna Drive

9. Awesome Bajan singer. wow!

10. Hail and Farewell

Fats Domino

11. Meanwhile, today’s Washington Post has a lengthy article about a disease that’s killing Africans in Congo (which they label as monkey pox) and scientists are trying to identify a source before it gets out of control. Like Ebola it can be spread through human contact and reached the US a decade ago but there were no fatalities then.

Hope folks can read it as access to Washington Posts articles require subscription some of the time.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/2017/national/health-science/monkeypox/?hpid=hp_hp-top-table-main_monkeypox%3Ahomepage%2Fstory&utm_term=.58d2ac7cf4c9

12. Sir Hilary acknowledged that while he wasn’t aware until two years ago while lecturing at the University of Johannesburg that the Milner who committed the crimes against humanity in South Africa in service of the British Empire was the same person whose identity is emblazoned on The UWI St Augustine Campus.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/101971/uwi-st-augustine-milner-hall-renamed

13. Life as it should be .lol

14. Happy Independence day.

Fuhget de politics an enjoy wunna selves fuh de nex 4 days.

15. Charles Christopher Griffith, Warwick Franklin and Anthony Theophilus Bryan are the

newest Sirs, after the Knight of St Andrew was bestowed on them in honour of Barbados’

51st Independence Day celebrations.

16. The Ministry of Health on Friday issued an abatement notice instructing Project Recycling Limited at Lower Estate, St. Michael, to cease its operations.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/12/02/project-recycling-limited-ordered-to-cease-its-operations/

17. @Sargeant

What happened here? He was held up like a diamond wasn’t he?

18. Don’t know would be interesting to know if there is an underlying reason.
    Yes he was held up as a success story.

19. Bajan Jamaal Shurland representing.

20. Awesome!!!!

” Brooke is a full-blooded Native American from the Haliwa-Saponi tribe. She grew up on tribal grounds with 4,000 Native Americans, including most of her family. Every year they have a powwow and celebrate their traditions just like their forefathers.”

21. My fellow Black CanBajans. You may find this enLIGHTening!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/112710/red-door-sorry-incident

“a racial experience by the doormen at Red Door Lounge on Saturday, when he was denied entry and immediately after three white men wearing shorts were given access, left a more than undesirable taste in his mouth.”

22. @Hants

I spend part of my Winter in Bim, am I reading that these SOBs won’t let me into their place?

23. @ Sargeant,

They may let you in now that they have been “exposed” but would you still want to spend your money with that establishment ?

24. @ David,

My favorite singer. Glennis Grace.

25. @Hants

Yes she has some pipes, good range. Must have it to render Whitney’s tunes.

True to form she is a looker too. This is not an accidental selection by you to be sure :-0