Feedback from a BU correspondent on the 2026 General Election campaign trail.

Last night I accompanied some US university students to BLP and DLP meetings, who are doing a research project. Observations from our parked vehicle were mind boggling and below.

Bajans lack critical analysis skills and are more about theatrics rather than substance based on the crowd reactions to promises by political parties. 

BLP seems extremely desperate to retain power based on the highly extravagant financial incentives offered to Barbados in a country solely dependent on tourism, low export regime in a country of high taxation, coupled with heavy borrowing. One student said some of the financial offerings defies logic and some of the offerings are also not original or unique.

DLP is trying to capture the voters imagination by offering reasonable and timid offers less attractive.

These students seemed more informed about Barbados politics than the average Bajan. Students were curious if the general population was not worried about chronic vote buying and voter apathy’s impact on Barbados future development.

Partisan politics has divided Barbados across party lines and the BLP supporters are extremely fanatically loyal without question, while the DLP are more laid back and aged.

The absence of guardrails was a shocking surprise for these research students. ” How do you monitor for transparency in project allocation, construction cost and general oversight.” Not my words, students found it unbelievable that no Freedom of Information Act or Integrity Legislation is in existence in Barbados.

Also noticeable was the disparity in paraphernalia spend with the BLP spend noticeably superior. Again, shock was expressed by the students on hearing no Campaign Financing Legislation exist.

The conclusion at the end of the night was that Prime Minister Mottley is a popular globalist. Well spoken but needs to put deeper thoughts into her decision making and promote better governance in Barbados. It appears she is neglecting to do what is right for the average citizen in Barbados if the outcry about health care and high food prices are considered.

Mr Thorne, well meaning, better as a political whip and lacks the charisma to be prime ministerial, but has done an excellent job in seeking answers from government.

David, students have promised to share their research with me after it’s published.

52 responses to “Vote buying and apathy: Barbados political concerns”

1. Is that Bushie or A? 😂😂😂😂😂.

2. What can be said about this?

First, what is the research question? What new information is added to the public conversation?

For this seems to present a scattershot approach in an attempt which could only capture bits and pieces from titular observations as uninformed by historical contexts.

Yet impressions emerge as findings ahead of some ill-conceived study which may never come, or if it ever does, only long after the fact.

While it is clear that the Mottley dictatorial regime has failed to deliver across a wide swatch of metrics, that they have vastly more campaign funding resources than the DLP and more. These by themselves may balance each other and might therefore not be as determinative.

Given other countervailing forces. These may include the tendency of tiredness with the overbearing personality cultism of a Mottley and the determination of the DLP to confront the Mottley regime at its weakness points, other determinative factors may be more heavily weighted.

What the above report does not mention, a highlight of last night’s exertions, is the leaking of the DLP’s manifesto to Mottley.

We’re sure this coup would have served to titillate the base. However, given the wider context, it may serve to underscore the arguments of the DLP, within a David verses Goliath context.

3. The author of the piece has given feedback about well known practices that are employed on the campaign trail – financial and non financial items being passed especially in the depressed neighbourhoods.

4. @ John 2

Well it ain’t me. Lol

The article does have a valid point though and it’s that these meetings are more about music and playing to the crowd, than facts and data. We must carry that blame as we demand nothing more from them, so they offer us nothing more in return. I will be abstaining because neither has proven worthy of my vote. I will not vote D because B has done shite either, as that is not the purpose of an elections. I am hoping a low turn out sends a strong message to your party that there is serious discontent with regard to their practices by the voters.

5. @John A

Have you seen the message making the rounds asking voters to deliberately spoil their vote ?

6. @ John2
    You seem to have Bushie in residence in your mind yuh…!
    LOL – ha ha ha

Well – we know that these are NOT UWI students.
    Our local ‘research students’ would have waited to read the newspaper reports on VOB
    – 50 years in the future.

Voting is an opportunity to CHOOSE between what you see as RIGHT, and what in, your opinion, is WRONG.

The only thing that is worse than refusing to vote (take a side between GOOD and EVIL, according to your conscience) is the idea of SELLING your choice between good and evil – for a couple pieces of silver.

In the great battle that we face against spiritual forces in high places, a ‘vote seller’ must SURELY place in the lowest of the low classifications of uselessness.

…and who – but the DARK FORCES OF EVIL – would seek such purchases…?

What a world!

7. “US Students” must be / may be CIA Spies / Agents

US Citizens are not “World Citizens” due their white trash racist shit followed through with untrue excuses and denials as exemplified by that fool / kaiser / emperor in power and all his stupid minions and agents of evil

Son of God’s World Order
    To clarify 34 in a million’s post on the previous thread
    1 world citizen has 0.0034%
    0.0034 / 100 = 0.000034th Barbadian Blood / DNA
    But as all world citizens would be equal everyone would have an equal voice
    I think their Barbadian voice should be heard more than Loud Yanks

MIA could even rule the world as a next career move
    perhaps she would be treated better than Diane Abbot and Obamas
    with white peoples “jokes” meaning hate

8. Bushie

Since it’s the BLP which is purported to be flooded with cash.

And wee seem to be suggesting that the DLP is hard up

Then we should be focused on why the Bees are finding it necessary to throw money into the air for it to fall into empty pockets.

Even why those pockets are seen as empty at this point in time.

9. What is so extravagant about the BLP promises? Look at Michael Howard https://barbados171.rssing.com/chan-13839764/article13063.html and Don Marshallhttps://barbados171.rssing.com/chan-13839764/article13101.html comments on the BLP 2018 manifesto. Proved wrong! Aint it funny that students from the US talking about voters’ critical thinking skills when a felony is their president and convinced their country that tariffs are paid by the exporting country. Piss in muh pocket.🤣🤣🤣

10. What is your point @enuff aren’t there enough persons talking negatively about the US president?

11. @ David

Have not heard about that but nothing would surprise me when it comes to politics.

@ Enuf

Do you know the Dow has crossed 50,000 for the first time this week setting a new record? Also do you know Europe has been charging tariffs on imports for decades, while seriously protecting their agricultural sector from outside imports? The USA was one of a few countries that had open door low or no cost duties (tariffs) on imports. Take a look at what your government charges here on imports. The base duty (tariff) rate is 20% and then on top of that you have the 17.5 % VAT. Don’t let’s even dicuss the 100% plus duty wuuna charge on a dam Tee Shirt! Wuhloss what bout the duties (tariffs) you all have on Vehicles. Another 100% plus by time you done on a car! Wunna also never removed the Fx fee Sinkyuh imposed causing a USD to cost importers close to $2.07 bds to buy 1 USD, don’t mind you take the same dollar from businesses at $1.98 bds.

To be fair Mia ain’t bashful when it comes to tariffs ( duties) either is she?

12. Bushie
    12:06

There is no useful “research” which could be done by observing groups of people going to BLP and DLP meetings.

Except what people in the streets may feel is happening when they embark on such excursions. And that’s what it was. A night out!

This is one of the problems weeee hinted at earlier but the master thought it best to push back, in defense of his feeble writer, having not learnt one shiiiite over the years when similar issues arose.

Who are most likely to be at these meetings?

Weee will argue that the vast majorities are either Bees or Dees. Then they may be small amounts of others.

How is is possible to make any judgements where everywhere one looks are partisans?One!

And if a group is overwhelmingly made up of partisans, how does one use such a sample to scientifically determine how the entire population of voters will behave on election day? It’s like going into the proverbial rum shop seeking a teetotaler.
    Two!

There are a thousand issues with the assumption that any “student” anywhere, properly supervised, would attempt to conduct ANY type of study, research, using the people attending partisan meetings. Fot this represents a fundamental violation of all statistical methods known to man.

13. David – My point is the same as Pacha’s…a hoax. Every day until Wednesday you will receive spiel after spiel all pointing in the same direction. Two white boys from Minnesota now American students doing research.

14. @enuff

It blows both ways, been here done that, nothing changes.

15. Cuhdear Pacha
    don’t blame the students…

As you said, it was an excuse for a night out…
    Besides, with the lotta ‘Wild West’ gunplay bout here,
    ANY excuse to be out at night would be snapped up by normal students.

Why ANYONE would leave their home to sit in the dew listening to political shiite talk in 2025 is well beyond Bushie… unless they getting paid…?
    If dey don’t put it on Utube or some similar platform they could as well spit in the air for the bushman’s part…

In ANY case, Bushie has NO INTEREST in listening to THEIR agendas,
    we want to hear them RESPOND to the PEOPLE’s questions.

They should get their tails on Brass Tacks with Ellis (the others are jokers)
    LOL, last Friday …
    Ellis put some ROUGH licks in a returning national who called to complain about Bajans complaining about the QEH…
    Murduh!!!
    Bushie was sorry for his Limey donkey when Ellis done wid ‘e…

Talk bout place SWEET!!!

16. @Bush Tea

Why would anyone sit at a computer watching the stream of political meetings?

Lotta shite!!!

17. Bushie

Got a copy of the DLP’s manifesto today, electronic form.

Does anybody read these shiiiite documents anymore? They clearly have little or no meaning, true?

18. https://youtu.be/QNiga3NzfOQ?si=IQyAJdVESXK2mAfo

Everybody got somebody first.

For the DLP it’s “Barbados First”.

For the BLP it’s “People First,”

For Donald Drumpf, the Republicans and Democrats alike, it’s “Israel First”, though he says “America”.

Why would local politicians follow a not so recent trend by a fascist?

Is there no more creativity possible in the manufacture of consent to do whatever they want?
    Bernays would have been highly disappointed!

Wonder if there’s coordination here?

19. RAT said last night, we seem to recall, that with the two 30-loves the BLP got no more than 27 percent of eligible voters.

Of course, the DLP must have gotten less than 15 percent of eligible voters.

The BLP’s number seems surprising low and explains a number of things.

Why the voters’ role could not have been cleaned up.

Why it’s in their interests to insist in a low turnout of voters on election day.

Why it is too much powah in the hands of any PM to decide when election day should be, to spring a surprise election, to interfere with the public readiness of the election procedures, machinery.

20. Sat, Feb 14, 2026

Don’t forget the wine and roses for your significant other (s).

21. wild theories become reality Avatar
    wild theories become reality

If anyone had said the following just over a couple of years ago they would have been labeled a conspiracy theorist and fantasist

“The next election will be between 2 BLP candidates,
    DLP party leader Ronnie and rising DLP senator Tricia will be removed from DLP”

Mia said “As there is no opposition – BLP will become their own opposition”

Sometimes, wild theories become the reality..
    The disgruntled BLP MP Ralph was discontent not being in BLP cabinet
    Resigned from BLP
    Became LoO
    Joined DLP
    Became DLP Leader
    Removed Ronnie and Tricia from DLP

Now Barbadians are voting between 2 elected BLP MPs
    I smell a Rat

22. @ David
    Why would anyone sit at a computer watching the stream of political meetings?
    Lotta shite!!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Agreed
    But on computer, it is possible to speed through a 2 hour meeting in 5 minutes and miss nothing useful.

By the time yuh scroll past the known idjuts, yuh got time to replay the key points within the 5 minutes.

BTW
    Yuh like the tire slasher’s “solution” given to contractors who have to wait eons for payments due from government?
    They are told to BORROW money from the rich people (who government pays on time), for a fee, and pay them back when they finally gets paid…

What a place!

23. @ Pacha
    “…Wonder if there’s coordination here?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Steupsss…
    You only playing dat you don’t know…

The common architect is a powerful, spiritual chap who goes by aliases – such as
    Lucifer
    Satan
    De Devil
    etc.

Tricky bastard.
    His main weapon is called eddykashun, …and the central tool in his kit is the love of money.

Check and you will see that the DEFINING characteristic of his converts has been an insatiable desire for money, power, and admiration…
    Perhaps this is why they ALL put forth this shiite about MAGA, putting BBs first, and working FOR the people – UNTIL THEY GET DE VOTE

…then it is vaseline time for the BB people…
    What a time!

24. David your blog has been referenced.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=e6UsB3H2Oac

25. @TLSN

It was a harsh critique of opposition politics in Barbados.

26. @@Bush Tea

Someone should explain what is factoring as a financial to Senior Minister Kerri Symmonds.

27. Me thinks that the DLP is landing some substantial blows to the political anatomy that is Mia Mottley and the BLP in their platform ruminations.

Such exertions, may in hindsight, amount to those one-one blows which killed the proverbial old cow.

In Saint John, last night, two speakers, Rambo and RAT, the two senior batsmen, if you would, constituted a partnership which on the one hand, summarized the national product of the constant borrowing without investment of this BLP regime. The end result being a galloping debt burden, the pressurization of the economy from all sides.

And at the other end, they removed the scale of financial, moral and intemperate behaviours of the regime and Mottley herself. For example, RAT indirectly claimed that Mottley, in the absence of integrity legislation as promised, of circuitous self enrichment from the treasury, of having a foreign bank account, directly of recklessly using government money and more. Suggestions were also made that a copy of the DLP’s manifesto was gotten through electronic wiretapping of citizens. A survailance state tactic which has local antecedence but a feature of dictatorial regimes.

At this rate, weeeee see no set of circumstances where the survival of the Mottley regime, even if possible, could continue undamaged from the incessant and substantial body blows being meted out from the hands of this DLP.

28. @David. Opposition leader Thorne last night accused Prime Minister Mia Mottley of illegal wiretapping the second instance of theft of the DLP manifestos. Rumors are about of Darwin Dottin complicity with the DLP guard angry with former head of the Police Authority Gyson Mayers and former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who failed to put Mr Dottin in prison for espionage and illegal wiretapping. Some members of the police service are not happy with this revelation as it speaks to abuse of power and are concerned about the interference of both Darwin and Prime Minister Mottley.

29. Social media, AI and political campaigning

By Dr Kristina Hinds

The 2026 general election is days away and our social media feeds may be flooded with excerpts from political platform speeches, political memes and footage dug up from the past and repackaged.

Electronic media have indeed altered how political messages are spread. Let’s consider political meetings. No longer do you need to have an umbrella, jacket, chair, a snack (or libation) and let dew fall on your head to hear political hopefuls.

Several political meetings are being live streamed so we can observe from any location in Barbados or around the world.

For those who want to survey what political parties and candidates claim to offer, these streamed broadcasts are quite handy. You can consume messages from multiple political parties nightly and weekly without being branded a party supporter.

Streamed meetings are useful too, for those who are less able to leave home, with transportation difficulties, with mobility challenges or who have childcare or elder care responsibilities. Also, since the COVID-19 pandemic, some have simply come to expect activities to be live streamed.

Media savvy members

Observing the streaming of political meetings reveals as much about the machinery of political parties as it does about their plans and their candidates. We can assess which parties have media savvy members and the technological wherewithal to provide clean and attractive broadcasts that display their crowds well.

Streamed meetings also tell us about political money. The look and feel of some parties’ meetings indicate that these are not amateur productions put on by a few of the young people in the party with cell phones, tripods and ring lights.

Further, some parties involved in this coming election can simultaneously stream multiple spot meetings in a single night, while other parties focus on broadcasting their mass meetings.

This is not just about strategy, it is likely about capacity and money.

Enhance candidate visibility

The parties with more funding may be better able to disseminate their messages and can enhance candidate visibility while displaying how well supported they are (or appear to be) with crowds clad in party branded apparel. Despite the significance of political money, to date, the public is unable to scrutinise how campaigns are financed and consequently, may remain suspicious of the award of contracts and “favours” post-election.

Improving their messaging

To streamed meetings, we can add the short video clips distributed via social media platforms and WhatsApp messages, the infographics and other posts that condense party and candidate messages into easy-tounderstand bits. Political parties and individual candidates employ social media to enhance their messaging making today’s campaigns hybrid campaigns, blending the physical with the digital. Haven’t seen a candidate in your district? Well, check their social media!

And let’s not forget the influencers!

Political party members and anyone with an Internet connection and the inclination to “post” can get in on the political action whether through comedy, voicing their support or critiques or by either lauding or trolling political posts.

Considering these online developments (and others) we may want to reflect on how electoral decision-making is being affected by marketing, public relations and spin (or new age propaganda) as opposed to substance.

Then there is the famed artificial intelligence (AI), and here I am not speaking of pretending to be smart, though this too is on show. Is AI being used by political parties and aspirants and, if so, how? There are claims that some party documents have been AI authored. The extent to which AI has been used to craft such documents is unclear.

Additionally, AI may be in use across political campaigns in many other ways such as in AI-generated candidate jingles or speeches. What does this mean for voters’ decisionmaking? While I can’t answer this question, it is fair to state that all this technology facilitated noise is worth contemplating as we head to the polls.

Dr. Kristina Hinds is a political scientist with over 20 years’ teaching and research experience, a radio talk show host and business manager.

30. Voter apathy as a national crisis

We have proof in the form of a national poll done by experts. While properly compiled statistics don’t lie, we can be misled, because statistics don’t tell the whole story. We need the meaning behind the numbers. What does the reported voter apathy mean?

The story behind voter apathy in Barbados is an important one if we agree that democracy is important. Understanding the state of the consciousness of the people is a priority for anyone who cares about this country.

Unfortunately, some see the consciousness of the people as irrelevant or, worse yet, something to understand in order to exploit. The stories they tell become solely self-serving.

For a party in power, voter apathy may tell a story of such satisfaction with the job they are doing that the people take their stewardship for granted and become complacent.

Fear of political retribution

For a party in opposition the story might be about fear of political retribution among the people or unfair tactics from the ruling party. Or, maybe, a story of such despondency and dissatisfaction with current leadership that the people have retreated altogether. For parties on the outside looking in, the third parties, voter apathy may mean that, traditionally, powerful parties have lost favour and the time is right for a new party to emerge. But, centring the political party in the story of voter apathy is a mistake. Put the people and our consciousness at the centre for better results.

Another story is that voter apathy is not simply apathy around voting. It is not simply a disenchantment with the political parties on offer. It is a disenchantment with politics in general. It is a disenchantment or disengagement with democracy on a whole.

Voter apathy in this story is not simply voter apathy. It is citizen apathy. It is voter apathy as a symptom of a general retreat among citizens from a sense of responsibility to a nation. If this story rings true, then voter apathy is not simply a problem every five or so years.

Voter apathy is an emerging, ongoing and growing national crisis.

Rise in crime and violence

This story about voter apathy is relevant to many issues. It relates to a rise in crime and violence. Citizens, disenfranchised or disconnected from any national project, feel no way about burning it down. Citizen apathy is related to the cost of living.

A business class apathetic about the nation sees it only as a market to be exploited. Reducing the cost of living is of no concern to corporate citizens who continue to profit. Voter apathy relates to the quality of Government services.

The greatest politician in the world will struggle if faced with a public service made up of citizens who are apathetic about service to the nation.

Understanding voter apathy this way, we understand that voter apathy is not solved by charismatic politicians.

Any bump in participation due to charismatic individuals will be temporary and last, at most, until the politician leaves office. But it will probably wane well before then.

Will not be enough

Voter apathy will not be solved by simply changing the political party in power. Playing political musical chairs will not be enough if the cultural pattern of non-participation has been engrained in the consciousness of the majority of the people.

The people may get disgruntled enough to vote a party out, but that does not necessarily mean that there is significant support for the party voted in.

Solving the chronic problem of voter apathy, which is citizen apathy, should be a priority issue of every political party. Not just temporarily to get into power. This will require political parties to do something radically different to what they are doing now.

This will require prioritising the consciousness of the people. And not in any partisan self-serving way.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist. Email: Adriangreen14@gmail.com

31. DECLARE ASSETS!

Transparency, accountability must be restored, says Thorne

By Colville Mounsey

colvillemounsey@nationnews. com

Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne last night called for the full enforcement of integrity in public life legislation and publicly declared his own assets, while challenging the Government to do the same, as he addressed the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) manifesto launch at Gall Hill, St John.

Speaking for more than an hour to a large crowd of supporters who remained rapt despite intermittent rainfall, Thorne insisted that transparency and accountability must be restored to public life, arguing that Barbadians had a right to know how their tax dollars were being spent and by whom.

Disclosure

“I declare my assets tonight,” Thorne told the gathering, before outlining bank accounts held locally and overseas, his two vehicles and other financial interests. He said the disclosure would be put in writing and made available to the media.

“All of this I am going to write to the nation of Barbados. If the media houses want it in writing, they can get it,” he said.

Framing his declaration as a matter of principle rather than personal defence, Thorne challenged the Barbados Labour Party administration to do likewise.

“We are asking on behalf of the taxpayers of this country. We are asking on behalf of the children in this country who cannot get adequate welfare payments,” Thorne said, arguing that scrutiny of public finances was necessary where concerns existed about how State funds were being managed.

“We have come here tonight to complain that your tax dollars are being squandered,” he declared.

Thorne also revisited what he described as the improper disclosure of his personal financial affairs in Parliament, saying it was an attempt to distract from substantive criticism of Government borrowing.

“It was wrong. It was unethical,” he said, adding that personal attacks were being used to deflect from what he called “this Government’s unwise borrowing of money” that would burden future generations.

Turning to the cost of living, the Opposition Leader said economic relief was at the heart of the DLP’s manifesto Barbados First – The People’s Contract, which he described as a governing framework with timelines and benchmarks rather than a traditional list of promises.

He announced that a DLP administration would remove value added tax (VAT) from pensioners and ease the VAT burden on the wider population, saying older Barbadians and those on fixed incomes were being unfairly squeezed.

Under the manifesto, the party has pledged to reduce VAT by at least 2.5 per cent, expand the VAT zero-rated basket to include additional essential and healthier food items and eliminate the household garbage and sewage tax, replacing it with what the party describes as a fair, usage-based system.

“This contract sets out a clear and practical plan based on what Barbadians have told us matters most,” the manifesto states. “It is about relief that actually reaches your pocket.”

Thorne said the manifesto’s cost-of-living measures were intended to restore balance and fairness to the tax system.

Governance reform featured prominently in his address. Thorne said a DLP government would fully implement Integrity in Public Life legislation, mandate the publication of all reports laid in Parliament with plainlanguage summaries and introduce regular Question Time to strengthen scrutiny of the Executive.

Crime

Crime and social breakdown were also addressed at length, with Thorne arguing that violence could not be separated from poverty, overcrowding and neglect. He cautioned against focusing on enforcement without addressing underlying conditions.

“I did not say the origins of crime. I said the incubators of crime,” he told supporters, pointing to communities where overcrowding and deprivation had become entrenched.

Warning that Barbados had already lost hundreds of young men to violence in recent years, Thorne asked whether the country was prepared to lose another generation.

“Are we going to have another seven years in which another 300 young men will be allowed to die on the streets of this country, or are we going to try to do something about it?” he asked to loud applause.

As part of the solution, Thorne outlined plans for an ambitious housing rehabilitation and development programme spanning ten to 15 years.

The initiative, he said, would transform housing estates such as Pinelands, Deacons, Eden Lodge, Silver Hill and others into “domains of dignity”, complete with green spaces, commercial areas and facilities for young people and the elderly.

“There is no reason that a housing area should not have trees and grass and places for the old to relax and places for the young to play.

“The life that the rich people live is not a life that is too good for us.”

He said that employment generated by the programme would prioritise young Barbadians, particularly those living in the very communities being rebuilt.

The party leader also focused on pensioners, promising the DLP would shield them.

He also pledged that they would be easing the burden of taxation on this vulnerable group.

32. @Voter

We have heard it all before. Makes for good platform talking points. Let us see the evidence.

Tell them send it to BU. The matter has been raised many times in this space but nobody is willing to put up, so shut up!

33. Three days left until the opposition is wiped out!

Tron

34. 6:02

You’re only saying so because the man making the proposal is not knoweth by thee!

We’ve all talked about duopoly, and rightly so. How things were and will always remain the same or similar. And rightly so!

Still, this writer does not suggest that RAT will change everything but that the low hanging fruit of integrity legislation will be picked.

But when an organism was twice faced by death, two thirty loves. When the leader of that organization himself faces an internal logic which could mean an ignominous political death if it again approaches a political grave once more, or even nearly.

An alternative logic must sooner or later arise. Another logic which chooses survival over political death. Another logic which chooses to defeat a political Goliath instead of being devoured by her.

Having known RAT for decades, it’s this writer’s estimation that he has reached the rubicon. Indeed, reasonableness, regular judgement, even commonsense, are violently militaring against more of the same because there are no other choices available but to do those things, long needed, but serially betrayed.

Time will tell. And when it does, we trust that you will find the balls to consider the reversal of a gross misjudgement.

35. Militating

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

Pacha
    Picked? The IPL Act passes in 2023, and Ralph waits til 4 days before ballots are cast to raise one section of the Act?
    We are to believe he didn’t know about it, or its lack of implementation (proclamation), until now? He has no more true interest in it’s proclamation than the lot in powah. He would just like a few more votes, so he can avoid a duck.
    He knows Mia, like your buddy Drumph, has zero interest in disclosing assets. They’re all in the Amor Trust. A blind trust?
    What about the new Constitution?

37. Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne last night called for the full enforcement of integrity in public life legislation and publicly declared his own assets, while challenging the Government to do the same, as he addressed the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) manifesto launch at Gall Hill, St John.

xxxxxxxx

MY 2 CENTS.

THORNE IS DISHONEST AND CAN’T BE TRUSTED.

I DEALT WITH RALPH THORNE WHEN I HAD ONE OF HIS CLIENTS DENNIS MCLEAN OF SPRING HALL LAND LEASE AND CRAB HILL IN HIGH COURT WHO HAD A DEFAULT JUDGEMENT WHO THORNE ADMITTED WAS A LIAR AND COULDN’T BE TRUSTED EVEN THOUGH WAS HIS CLIENT.

MY LAWYER WAS NOW DECEASED ‘CAPPY’ GREENIDGE ANOTHER BLP INDIVIDUAL. THORNE AGREED TO MEET WITH CAPPY GREENIDGE TO RESOLVE THE MATTER IN GREENIDGE’S OFFICE ALONG WITH MYSELF.

THE DEFAULT JUDGEMENT WAS FOR AROUND BD$300,000 AGAINST.HIS CLIENT WHO LATER CAME TO THORNE AFTER THE DEFAULT JUDGEMENT WAS MADE AGAINST HIM IN THE HIGH COURT..

DESPITE MANY PROMISES AT THAT TIME THORNES’S OFFICE WAS IN ROEBUCK STREET. THORNE NEVER MET WITH CAPPY GREENIDGE AND MYSELF BEFORE I LEFT THE 2X3 ISLAND.

HE WOULDN’T KNOW THE TRUTH EVEN IF IT SLAPS HIM IN THE FACE AND CAN’T BE TRUSTED ON HIS WORD.

WHAT A “RAT”.

38. NO

That is not true!

So if what you are saying is true. You’ll be asking us to believe that one of the leading lawyers in the region who’s currently sitting in parliament is feckless. And this writer, may believe a lot of things about politicians generally, but it would be a stretch to ask this writer to accept such a patent lie.

Then tell us where the disclosures have been by all elected officials. Tell us about all the annually reviews or auditing of the assets of elected officials taken place since. Tell us why a leading party would include such within a 2026 manifestó.

Weeee must conclude that your own Bajan, even if now in Canadá, White proclivities, interests in the maintenance of a Black, petite bourgoise, managerial-political classism still has you wearing tinted glasses.

39. @ Pacha
    Boss, David may have to ban Bushie’s black donkey from BU yuh!!

… Cause even if the bushman wasn’t voting for Thorne as a PROTEST against the lotta BLP shiite and thievery, – he would now get the Bushman’s vote – IF ONLY for promising to stop TAXING muh damn pension.

After paying taxes yuh WHOLE damn life on yuh salary …then to have the pension -WHICH you paid up, – out of yuh taxed salary, taxed over again …is unconscionable.

BTW
    Do you realize that there is NOBODY on the BLP front team who ACTUALLY understands finances?
    Seems that they are depending on Mascoll (in the background, as he is a political liability of the Froon ilk) and even then – with his Hardwood background, Bushie wonders…. !!!

Do you understand what the PM is saying about VAT reductions not being passed on to customers…?
    WTH!!
    If Vat is reduced by 2.5% then the customer will pay the price of the item PLUS 15%….
    RATHER than paying the price of the item PLUS 17.5% as is currently done.
    This results in A DIRECT AND IMMEDIATE SAVING of 2.1% TO THE BUYER ain’t it?!

We can understand Kerrie the piece of blubber – shiite! Even his brother was moved by the spirit to call for his seat to be ejected… But the MoF???!!!

How can someone who spends 4 BILLION DOLLARS of OUR damn money every year – not understand such BASICS? Was White Oak on strike?

This is worse than Stinkliar – who did not grasp the complexities of decimal points… but ‘decided’ to sell NIS shares in the electric company to pay Four Seasons lawyers.

No wonder we are broke and falling…

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

Bend it like Pacha, back into his sweet spot?
    Murdah.
    Isn’t MAM a leading lawyer, and equally gifted orator. But she’s a political master.
    I have no issues with Ralph, known him donkeys years. Though his penchant for Bushie’s favourite book can sometimes turn me off.
    So you can conclude whatever you wish.
    My conclusion, he’s been DLP leader for 2 years, and after MAM pulled this early election stunt last time, he did little to ready his party for a repeat. Now he’s scrambling. After two years, he gets Andrew Sealy to interview him so the people can know him?
    A solid lawyer, but still learning poli-tricks.
    If he’d begun hammering the Gov’t a year ago after his marathon budget reply, possibly he’d have some of them playing pace off the back foot. Instead, he’s the one on the back foot.

41. @ NO
    Where your calculations are flawed, is in the fact that quite a number of Bajan BBs favorite book is the SAME as Bushie’s – AND Thorne’s.
    These are the ‘non voters’ who REFUSED to choose between Satan and Lucifer, and so stayed at home for MANY years now…
    In fact, wicked Tom is who REALLY started the slide…

Thorne’s penchant may therefore be a brilliant strategy to RE-IGNITE the interests of the MAJORITY of Bajans who believe that MORALS, ETHICS, UPRIGHT lifestyle, and the ‘FEAR OF GOD’ are qualities that are WORTHY OF VOTER SUPPORT.
    This was unlike Bushie, who took the position of voting AGAINST ANY EXISTING SHIITE!!! … Bee-shiite OR Dee shiite.

In fact, it is precisely because Thorne DID NOT come out ‘scrapping’ like has become the norm, that many (WHO SEE THINGS DIFFERENTLY TO YOU, PACHA and DAVID) have been attracted and ENERGIZED by this opportunity for vote for more RIGHTEOUS leadership…
    Can you imagine it…?
    – People who DO NOT LIE PUBLICLY as a matter of course
    – Who are not looking to accumulate personal wealth via scams
    – Leaders of INTEGRITY, who are transparent with their dealings
    – Who LISTEN to the public – and not to the international Demons
    – Who live DECENT, MORAL lives – and who avoid the ‘Petras’ of this world

You may be surprised at who is ACTUALLY on the ‘back foot’
    – to the point of being out ‘hit wicket’…

What a place…

42. NO

Yes, I’ve seen the integrity law online. But if we had a law why would there be no active implemention of it?
    We could only conclude, having not read it, that it may be voluntary. Why then would Thorne be agreeing to comply when nobody else has. Weee would have thought that such a law would have been mandatory. Of course, there are many other laws which are the same. Still it’s not unreaaonable to assert it does not exist.

43. NO

Substantively, dey say Mottley is not even qualified, far less leading. We’ve not seen her win any highly technical cases, either locally, regionally or internationally. Thorne has!

What is the usefulness of great oration when she has led the country into a deeper mire than when she took over.

A political master, Hitler was too!

Mottley, wears a crucifix too. Thorne claims that he’s not religious but merely spiritual. Maybe, he’s just dressing himself up in those vestments.

You’ve not been following. The DLP had a full slate of candidates before the BLP.

In Barbados everybody knows everybody else. Maybe he’s been advised by the political marketers.

He has been cussing the BLP even before he crossed the floor.

NO, yuh telling untruths, just to support the party preferred by Bajan Whites!

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

Being agnostic, but knowing a great many Bajans love the church, you could be correct. I accept I am very much an outlier in Bajan society when it comes to religion.
    I guess how many voters he has connected with will be known on Wednesday?
    Particularly if he has energized those watchers, and encouraged them to vote.

Pacha
    Law covers many areas. I’ve never suggested Ralph is not a capable lawyer, esp in his areas of specialty.
    And possibly this seemingly “late to the party” is a strategy which will work.
    I don’t follow it closely enough to know who had a full slate of candidates first.
    The Integrity act and its lack of proclamation has been a frequent topic on BU.
    And you couldn’t help yourself, back to skin tone talk, when the only party I have ever supported publicly on BU is SB, albeit with a few reservations.
    Maybe you didn’t notice I have objected to several BLP decisions, going all the way back to the White Oaks deal shortly after taking power, and the Bay St use of eminent domain for ‘Hyatt’ which followed.

The pendulum shift cannot work in the BLP favour? They haven’t lost a single seat since 2013.

45. cowboy Mottley.

46. As a lawyer, he’s a generalíst. A generalíst who always thought of himself as bright enough to answer any legal question. Don’t underestimate him. He has percieved weaknesses but not therein.

There was no lateness by him, maybe a campaign funding deficit as compared, but no lateness.

Just how you told us about the inert integrity law, I telling yuh bout the slate. Can’t follow everything all over the world. As far as this writer is concerned, integrity legislation is nonexistent.

Well, regardless to all the recent shiiite Mottley has done, in this moment, you’re still less critical of her than Thorne. When justice demands that she be throw out, even when another vessel is guaranteed to do a lotta shiiiite too.

Not Pacha, it’s was the UN which described Barbados as a crypto-racist society around 2001. That therefore can’t be forgotten and must be a factor in every equation.

I’ve well noticed. You have been unrelenting in your critiques of the regime especially around issues of financial reporting. And you are to be lauded for such. However, that does not balance out your unbalance critiques of the RAT as above.

47. Bushie
    08:10

This woman wants removing. And this writer has reached this point not that critiques of the DLP and RAT will relent, but it’s in the interest of the country that she should be removed immediately. Just like weee supported the removal of Stuart.

Thinking that things could not get any worse, but Mottley is far worse and unless she’s removed the country will continue towards a reckless end.

As you know well, Pacha supported RAT for leader of the opposition for a number of reasons. Primary amongst which was to have a strong voice against this reckless woman who seems to believe that her truth is the only one there can be.

Moreover, this writer’s growing opposition to her was never intended to be limited to electoral means.

48. Will Thorne bring home St. John?