Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw speaking at a podium, wearing glasses and a light blue blazer.
Chief Education Officer Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw

With all the talk recently in Barbados about education reform, Chief Education Officer Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw was quoted as saying that Barbados is exploring the development of an AI focused school as part of its broader transformation agenda (whatever this means).

There should be no doubt that Barbados education system is currently being challenged by outdated methodologies and there is an urgent need to evolve to respond to the rapidly changing demands of the world we have to compete. Ideally we should have developed an education model given our head start that was proactive, one that could have seamlessly respond to shifts in the external marketplace. Instead our DNA encourages us to react to disruption to force our hand.

The latest driver to force change in the world seems to be artificial intelligence (AI). It has emerged not merely as a technology tool, but as a transformative force with the potential to revolutionise every thing. The 64k question is how should AI be integrated into the education model. Is it a case where early adoption is warranted to stay ahead of the curve? Is it a case where a cautious approach to give time for the technology to ‘settle’?

The short video (thanks to Bentley) explores generally the potential of AI in education, arguing that its thoughtful inclusion could bridge gaps. The presenter ‘argues’ to ignore the AI opportunity creates the risk of falling behind. The blogmaster proffers that the time to reimagine education in Barbados has come and gone as we quibble about cellphone use, being able to timely repair schools to prevent disruption or hiring and transferring teachers based on merit .

Will AI serve as another catalyst for change?

58 responses to “Rewiring Education with AI?”

1. We wonder if there are any curricula to reform a country which is always last to adapt, last to see the future from afar, as if god herself.

There’s no merit in being small if one cannot revolutionize systems before the many, innovate before the herd arrives.

This constant perceived need to follow others, to play catch up, is and shall continue to extend a long night of cultural degeneration.

Did weee hear someone saying “another lost decade”.

2. I feel very strongly about this.
    Slow down, Mo!
    There is a need to research the advantages and disadvantages of an AI education. Remember, that salesmen always give you a positive spin.

3. Well said @ Pacha.

In a world of ongoing change, followers are always left behind to beg, borrow, and suffer… like the masses in a Ponzi scheme.

Our ‘Trial and Error’ government CLEARLY lacks any ability to be innovative, creative, and to IMPLEMENT new solutions. The many hands cannot make one shiite work.

After every expensive failure, a new joker is installed to project the next trial – while burying the previous idiotic errors.

Where there is no VISION, it is the BB people who will perish.

…and the brassbowlery goes on…

4. “I feel very strongly about this.
    Slow down, Mo!
    There is a need to research the advantages and disadvantages of an AI education. Remember, that salesmen always give you a positive spin.”

What is the definition of leadership? What is the definition of vision?

Clearly there has to be due diligence guiding our decisions but …

5. https://education.illinois.edu/about/news-events/news/article/2024/10/24/ai-in-schools–pros-and-cons

https://www.velvetech.com/blog/ai-in-education-risks-and-concerns/

Those are easy to read. No heavy lifting, but with enough information to activate a few brain cells.

After having issues with our education system for years, we have to be careful of folks providing solutions from a can. At the end of it, someone will make money and our Richard still has learning issues What may be a ‘people problem’ cannot be solved by just using technology.

There is no pie in the sky.

6. We should not conflate issues: the need to be strategic with education to ensure we produce citizens who can compete on the world stage, this does not deprioritize the need to execute appropriate tactics at the primary levels to ensure that no student is left behind.

7. Boss
    If you don’t address the BASIC PROBLEMS with education, then no amount of strategic eddykashun shiite will ‘ensure we produce citizens who can compete on the world stage’.

Shiite!!! we are not even concerned about being competent to compete in BRASSBADOS…

We look outside for
    – ideas
    – investors /owners
    – expertise
    – solutions
    – sports infrastructure
    – consultants of the white oak variety
    – loans
    – STEAL housing

So if we create a society that needs clerks, security guards, porters, gardeners and red caps, why would the eddykashun system need to produce globally competitive products?

It is like planting yams and looking to reap cassava.

8. Many concerns as new school year begins

This article was written and submitted by Paula-Anne Moore, parent advocate, spokesperson and coordinator of the Group of Concerned Parents of Barbados.

As schools across Barbados and the wider CARICOM region reopen their doors, the familiar rhythm of uniforms, timetables and morning traffic returns.

For many parents, it is a time of relief as their children get settled in the school routine. For many students, excitement to get back to school to see their friends and engage in their clubs and other activities. For some teachers, a time to gird their loins and go “once more unto the breach”, while they carry out their vocation shaping young minds and lives.

The excitement of a new academic year is often tempered by a host of concerns shared by parents, students and educators alike. From mental health pressures to exam concerns to financial strain, the back-to-school season in 2025 is more than just a return to routine. It’s a complex balancing act.

Parents are increasingly worried about their children’s mental well-being, with concerns about anxiety, depression and social isolation topping the list.

Evolving pressures of peer pressure, bullying, the influence of social media and artificial intelligence (AI) are all relevant concerns. The rise in screen time and social media exposure has only intensified these worries.

Disturbing trends

Chief Medical Officer The Most Honourable Dr Kenneth George revealed certain disturbing trends on September 3: Barbados’ 24-hour mental health hotline has received more than 6 500 calls since its launch in February 2024, and 40 per cent of those calls are from children and teens.

Dr George said that the “high number of youth callers highlights the urgent need for mental health services that are affordable, accessible and culturally sensitive”. Additionally, he stated that “young people are struggling with anxiety, depression and stress”.

Bullying is a top worry for many parents. Understanding school policies on anti-bullying, ensuring such policies are effective and building strong relationships with teachers are key strategies.

In Barbados, where academic pressure and social dynamics can weigh heavily on young minds, parents are increasingly advocating for more robust mental health support in schools. Our advocacy groups have highlighted the need for traumainformed approaches, especially for students affected by educational disruptions, displacement or systemic inequities.

About 3 500 children are entering secondary school for the first time. Some students are dealing with disappointment in their school placement and society’s judgement of them. More students are preparing for CXCs or have departed school at ages 16 or 18.

Each of these transitions can create anxiety and require student emotional support to varying degrees. There are some great primary to secondary school transition programmes but I am not certain how widescale and financially accessible they are.

Uneven access

Increased numbers of guidance counsellors, school psychologists, and peer support programmes (needed at both primary and secondary school levels) are slowly gaining traction, but access remains uneven. For many families, especially in under-resourced communities, mental health remains a silent struggle.

The Barbados Ministry of Health’s new Adolescent Health Policy, aimed at preventative care of our youth, is a vitally important measure to support our children. The success of its implementation will rest on the requisite resources being provided to and coordinated with both the Ministry of Health and Ministry of Educational Transformation.

Increasing childhood obesity rates and non-communicable diseases such as pre-diabetes in school children are worrisome. Parents try to provide healthy school meals for their children which they can afford. This is becoming harder for many. The Barbados Childhood Obesity Prevention Coalition is doing the heavy lifting in sensitising us to this subject.

For too many parents it has been a significant struggle to outfit their children to the desired standards. The 1980s calypso comes to mind: “ Rice gone up . . . . And me salary cut back!’

How are parents coping with rising costs?”

Financial hurdle

Back-to-school shopping for too many is a huge financial hurdle. Parents report soaring costs, spending $480 per child for five shirts and five skirts, the same amount for a backpack and a pair of shoes. That does not include other supplies, games uniforms, and extracurriculars, causing parents to go into debt or turn to charitable support to meet these demands.

Regional governments have made strides with textbook rental schemes and school feeding programmes, but gaps persist.

Education transformation must consider whether our school uniforms can be modified to offer less expensive polo shirt options. In an era of rising classroom temperatures due to climate change, this is an important consideration.

Schools themselves are feeling the pinch: with staffing and other resources challenges, parent-teacher associations and parent groups should partner to assist with fundraising efforts and other student support.

Discrimination and exam-related stress are top concerns for Caribbean families. Annual CXC controversies continue, once again with significant flaws reported in certain subjects.

There continues to be little transparency, accountability, appeal and redress for these and problematic 2025 grading issues. Will promises made by CXC for meaningful, not just superficial, change in governance and communication finally materialise? Will CARICOM hold them to account?

Educational transformation will be “spinning top in mud” if we continue to prepare our students for CXC exams in such a context which demonstrates far too often a suboptimal care and concern for student emotional wellbeing, especially regarding already inherently stressful exams.

It is hard for parents to maintain confidence in a system which seems to be a “lucky dip” or “roulette” of grades even when the student – and teacher – does everything asked of them.

The ministry should consider whether other internationally competitive exam bodies should also be offered to our students, in the face of these persistent CXC challenges.

For children who have diverse learning needs, ensuring safe and inclusive classrooms is paramount. Understanding school policies on diversity and building strong relationships with teachers are key parenting strategies.

As the school year unfolds, families are not just preparing for academic success, they’re advocating for a system that is fair, inclusive and responsive to the realities of life. From Bridgetown to Basseterre, the call is clear: education must empower, not overwhelm.

9. @David

Cuddear.

Digital literacy started 4 years ago
    Trasnformation started 6 years ago
    Robotics was introduced 7 years ago.
    Cell phones were banned 15 years ago
    Technology education was introduced 22 years ago
    Reform started 26 years ago

Show me how any of the above has provided significant national growth, equity or mobility.

Right now we can’t get plants that are fit for purpose, reliable speedy internet across all schools and communities, practical devices for every child, a grooming policy that works, an education system that is responsive or any high level educational leader to actually string together 5 sentences that make sense both separately and as one coherent visible vision.

As usual, A+ for the idea and long talk. D- for hopes of an actual impact.

Just observing

10. @Observing

Check this blog from 2010. Snuff said.

Another Meaningless Education Report From NACE
    June 23, 2010

The report from the National Advisory Committee on Education (NACE) committee that has worked over the past two years to compile recommendations for the ministry of education on the future direction of education in Barbados is as predictable and useless as could have been expected – given the way that things are done in Barbados.
    According to the Nation newspaper of Tuesday June 22, the report from the ‘NACE’ and presented by Dr Pearson Broomes – focused on five primary areas:
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2010/06/23/another-meaningless-education-report/

11. @David
    Add the 2013 Waterman Commission report, the Ministry’s current strategic plan, the Education Transformation fancy magazine from last year, the Curriculum 2000 documents and God knows how many other document to that pile that sits in File 13 while our “leaders” twiddle their thumbs, put on face powder and pompasett for the camera.

Talk is cheap!!!!

12. @Observing

Execution even those who are charged with office will agree, implementation deficit at play. Could the question be asked: poor implementation is a failing of the education system? How do we know what to correct; what works if we do not efficiently implement?

13. If there’s one good thing done by this regime is the obvious of linking Barbados and Caricom to Afrika.

The weak kneed DLP would have never driven such. For duopoly means that as both parties give everything to White people, even prime access to Afreximbank loans as done by this Mottley BLP, the party well known for Black talk would have been toooo frightened. What contradictions!

Of course, the second Caricom-Afrika Summit is taking place today in Ethiopia and without checking we’ll wager that the Bajan slave media, including here, would show the slightest of interest, or none.

Further, those media are representative of a population of slaves.

14. This talk about producing Barbadians who can function on the global stage is pure nonsense. Caribbean people have nothing to prove in this regard.
    Exactly which world/ global stage are we talking about ?
    We are really enjoying a comedy show.
    @ Bush Tea keep up the good work.

15. @William

You have simplified the matter. If the global market place is changing by leaps and bounds what do you think needs to occur to ensure our young people can compete? Do you think the hundreds being pushed out from the social sciences at Cave Hill will suffice? You may have the last word with your opinion.

16. There are others with letters after their name that agree with a lowly blogmaster?

Region ‘behind on AI’

CARIBBEAN PEOPLE must become uploaders, not downloaders, if the region is to capitalise on artificial intelligence (AI) opportunities, especially in relation to the creative industries.

That is the advice from leading creative industries expert Dr Keith Nurse, who is president of the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago.

“The Caribbean is becoming a nation of downloaders rather than uploaders. With AI the challenge is, do you have content uploaded? Are you uploading it? And if the answer to those two questions no or not yet, or not ready, or whatever, you are going to be bypassed,” he warned.

“And then, for all intents and purposes, you do not exist. If it’s not on the Internet, as my kids say, it doesn’t exist. So now is the time for us to rapidly scale up, we are properly behind but it’s never too late.”

Nurse observed that “everybody is talking about the challenges with AI and so on, but the point is that AI will disrupt anything that is generic”.

“So if you are producing generic content, it will wipe you out. So human intelligence has to step up and generate more authentic, interesting, dynamic content to stay in front of AI,” he stated.

“Places like the Caribbean have a little bit of wiggle room, because AI is not going to come and use our content just yet, because our content is not as monetisable or as profitable. AI will go for the most profitable content first.”

He said a shortcoming the region had was that “a lot of Caribbean content is not even digitised”.

“Do we have on a platform somewhere all the Caribbean films that have ever been produced. No. Or all the Caribbean books that have been produced by all of our authors, especially our more seasoned, established authors? Where are their works? . . . We have been fairly weak in terms of digitising our content and so the downside of that is that as we progress, our young people are now going to be utilising content that is not our content so it’s probably going to get worse,” said Nurse.(SC)

Source<. Nation

17. @ David
    When will you come to accept that the KEY problem that we face is with our people ‘with letters after their name’.
    Where leadership has no vision, the people ALWAYS perish.

What regionally inspiring ‘content’ has persons of Dr Nurse ilk uploaded?

If our leaders can do no better than hang on to appointed positions until pension time, …and if our leading academics can do no better than articulate shiite about ‘reparations that are due’, … and if our university can do no better than ‘research’ stupid newspaper articles from the Plantation-focused ‘Agricultural Reporter’ to broadcast every damn day on the foreign owned VOB…

What the Hell is to be expected from ordinary folks – but to utilize the free time provided at Cave Hill, and then apply for a clerical position with Lime, Digicel or Emera?

What a curse!!

Do you hear of any RADICAL plans for the enfranchisement and AWAKENING of Barbadian masses coming from on high?
    … or are you ALWAYS hearing of ‘bringing in’ some foreign shiite at great expense?

– Steel houses! …can you even BELIEVE that? …and then failing MISERABLY.
    – Emera – when BL&P was a top class LOCAL operation
    – Parkland – after Government subsidized SOL to become successful
    – Cable and Wireless – after people like Trevor Clarke etc demonstrated SUCH competence
    – Even to BORROW money (since they CANNOT sustain themselves) from the IMF we needed White Oak’s guidance – at GREAT cost

With such ‘leadership’ what would you expect a teenager to think – when faced with the choice between a traditional ‘career’ of pursuing academic shiite, and then working for MASSA (or MASSY) … and liming on the Block with the ‘men’, smoking some tampie like Kiki, and operating like Robin Hood…?

Steupsss…
    We keep on planting ‘plimplers’ and looking to reap sweet potatoes.
    But the wages of brassbowlery will ALWAYS be misery and death.

18. …and don’t even mention SAGICOR…

This most outrageous of traitors that, after being build on the sweat and tears of this society as a MUTUAL society FOR A CENTURY, …BETRAYED our trust and handed themselves over to a new set of foreign absentee owners to continue the old plantation exploitation of the naive BB locals… but not stinking Bushie.

However, it must be added that plenty silver pieces appear to have been exchanged…

What a place!!
    No wonder eddykashun has to be pushed to replace EDUCATION.

19. @Bush Tea

Can we throw out the baby with the bath water? If an intellectual is making sense accept it for what it is.

20. Making ‘sense’??
    What is THAT!!!???

Did Dr Shiitehound (formerly called a Pitbull) not ‘make sense’ when he destroyed Andrews factory and handed the proceeds to his friends,
    …and planted river tamarind in our sugar cane fields?

Did our Empress not ‘make sense’ when a republic was announced – only to look like clowns now trying to decide WHAT KIND OF REPUBLIC – three years later…

Did Pacha not ‘make sense’ when he cussed Bushie’s Bible because he vex that the Nazis in the Middle East (calling themselves ‘Israelis’) are doing to the Palestinians exactly what was done to them in Europe … and what the Palestinian Arabs did to God’s Chosen for 1300 years during the Trans Sahara Slave era?

Any shiite may seem to ‘make sense’ – if you are unable to see the REAL PICTURE.

Unfortunately that real picture is spiritual in nature, and the carnal mind is UNABLE to discern such – without the required spiritual sixth sense.
    However, the INABILITY to see a hazard does NOT protect your donkey from its consequences.

Bushie’s foolish advice therefore, is to open your eyes by hook or crook – and LOOK….
    What a time – when Karma is on steroids…

21. @Bush Tea

The blogmaster is defeated by your argument.

22. LOL
    Bushie’s bringing up the lack of a constitution after three years of being a ‘Republic’ was a bit of a low blow….
    You would have been hard pressed to defend your premise of ‘making sense’…
    ..good move.

23. Bushie

Where is the evidence that Palestinian Arabs were involved in the Trans Sahara Slave Trade.

You’ve long been making this claim without evidence. Of course, to serve your karmic ‘intellectually’ tendencies.

We have evidence for other Arabs – the Saudis, the UAE, the Omanis and others.

In the continued absence of evidence your claim amounts to a blood libel against the Palestinians.

Maybe you’ll now argue that the absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence. LOL

24. “Maybe you’ll now argue that the absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    No ‘Maybe’ about it @Pacha.

Wuh …where is the evidence that Pacha is a Bajan?
    Yuh don’t BEHAVE lika a BB Bajan…
    Yuh don’t write like a Bajan
    Yuh don’t THINK like a Bajan…
    …and yet you mashing Bushie’s corns on BU like if you own dem.

Boss…
    Karma knows EXACTLY what she is doing…. and why…
    The VERY SAME will apply to every one of us – either individually, or to our future selves – UNLESS THEY repent of our mis-doings, we will REAP what we sow.

As time is so short now, there will be VERY FEW instances of ‘future selves’ – or descendants for deferral, so it is going to be “DREAD ina Babylon” (as Kiki would put it).

You may be bright and well read, BUT spiritual discernment is the EXCLUSIVE requirement for spiritual enlightenment.
    This EMPOWERS the concept of faith, where such humanly un-explainable concepts as the LOVE OF GOD, the power of Community centricity, and the work of Mother Karma becomes pellucidly clear – while looking like jobby to the uninitiated…. or un-empowered.

What an era in which to be alive…

25. Bushie

Weeee should not have to believe, for belief without evidence requires a misguided faith. For if your argument holds water weee demand to know.
    Of course, other shadow boxing arguments could be constructed. And along this line of posturing we’re quite sure that the Zionists or christians, would have long deployed such an argument, using Generative AI, as part of their technology war against the Palestinians, and particularly South Afrika. No such attempt has thus far been made
    We know with certainty that Egypt and Libya were involved as trading centres. We know that the British and the Portuguese were the prime enablers, constructed this. We know that several west Afrikan kingdoms were built on the Trans-Sahara Slave Trade. We know that the Oman was central and notorius for castrating males.
    Why do you continue, after years of raising the direct involvment of the Palestinian people in this criminal trade, are you still engaging in obfuscation?
    Evidence must be the basis for public discource.

26. Spirituality is intuitive to the mind body and soul
    no middle men hustlers are required for God’s children to do their works
    fairy tale brainwashing books is good for children to distinguish good bad and ugly

Bushie’s false equivalence of Atlantic ‘Slave’ Trade and Saharan ‘Slave’ Trade has been stubbornly present for 10+ years and has become calcified and will never change or understand or appreciate the nuances of the Saharan muslim trade as opposed to European Christian Atlantic trade, it’s a bit like talking to a brick wall
    i.e. race was invented by christian slavers
    differences between permanent slaves (christian) & temporary servants (muslims)
    humanising servants (muslim) and dehumanising slaves (Christian)

There is good shit and bad shit on the internet regarding this matter
    discerning minds are able to distinguish the difference

https://ldhi.library.cofc.edu/exhibits/show/african_laborers_for_a_new_emp/conclusion_african_laborers

27. Pacha
    Your position is fully understood and appreciated.

Bushie’s challenge is similar to that of trying to describe, to a blind man, the beauty of a rainbow or the artistry of a Broodhagan painting.
    He just gotta take the bushman’s word for it – no matter how astute his other senses like hearing, touch, feeling etc.

Spiritual discernment similarly REQUIRES a special and SPECIFIC sixth sense, and this attribute is often called the ‘holy spirit’…. at least by those who understand.

So Bushies’ problem is that visual evidence is not the most convincing methodology for those without sight – EVEN when all their other senses are extra ordinary.
    …unfortunately, ignorance of spiritual REALITY does not negate its REALITY.

When you finally visit Damascus, on the way there, you may well experience a unique transformation that bestows you with this additional sense….

Until then, we will continue to be at loggerheads.

28. @Bushie
    You sound like you should be the one leading the education charge!

Common sense and experience beats letters behind a name any day!

Just observing

29. I’ve gone to Damascus before. Fortunately, there was no fictitous story as foretold, by you.

Bushie you may be confusing the province of intuition with that of intellect. Intuition, as you seem to asert, is where the human spirit lies. Whareas, intellect is primarity a function of human thought. Of course, these two may intersect at times.

In this case, you have for years repeated – repeated a charge against the long suffering Palestinian people. If these were your Jesus you would have found a way to forgive him for leaving an imprecise or insufficiency or the unproven intellectual information that he actually existed. Everybody else, but him, is to be held to a higher standard.

In the case of the Palestinian people, and given the truism that 2000 years of history or less are well knowable, why would you in your normally perspicacous manner not want to easily verify an historical event? For it either happened, as you contend, or not!

Those lacking your commitment to faith-based analysis, and in the absence of affirmative information, must assume the antithesis is correct.

The last words are all yours.

30. Twistory. Twisting history to suit silly religious beliefs about karma.

31. “Minister of Educational Transformation Chad Blackman has earmarked this month as the time in which the Government will move forward in earnest with its plans to make the education system world class.”

32. 666 and shit*
    Israel specialise in hacking telephones, internet, racial profiling, droning, Geostationary satellites live hacking, weaponising technolgy, misinformation and war propaganda.
    America calls Israel their top allies and give them a pass for crimes against humanity and want Anti-Americanism to be on par with Antisemetism while minimising narratives about their legacies of white supremacy racism.
    60 years of undoing structural systemic racism and are being reversed again reverting to extreme prejudice and bias.
    If you choose to use AI technologies for education, security, Government administration of information it can easily be hacked and taken over and any technology soon becomes outdated so it has to replaced for more expensive technology every 5 years. US TV shows detail extent of Government Agencies computer use.

(*) Bu is an excellent internet forum for underground conspiracy theories against the mark of the beast and 4 horsemen et etc

here are a couple of taster samples from 2009 and 2019 archives

https://barbadosunderground.net/2009/05/20/the-mark-of-the-beast-the-coming-of-the-anti-christthe-dead-sea-scrolls/

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/08/30/the-four-horsemen-augmented-reality-of-white-supremacy-in-the-white-house/

33. s/b .. .. Geostationary satellites live tracking* .. ..

34. In the meantime while we are discussing education transformation, we are unable to mobilize repairs to prevent reopening in September to avoid disruption.

35. I listening to Brasstacks on VOB. So could you.

36. Listening to Sandie..

37. Minister Chad Blackman has scheduled a press conference for this evening to discuss you know what.

Unfreeking believable!

38. Degrees of difficulty or incompetence.

39. Hurry up.

40. This video supports the blogmaster’s view that we are lagging in ensuring we prepare our people for the global market. It is coming from our minister of education.

https://youtu.be/4eKCLRmlRdg

41. A ground swell of jobs is coming in the renewable energy sector in Barbados.

42. Gibbs

43. Eddykashun is the process of ensuring that the country can supply clerks, porters, maids, lawyers and artisans – who are fully certified with first and second degrees, to take up the low-paying jobs that are on offer by the FOREIGNERS who control employment in Brassbados.

Since now even work as chefs and ‘Roti makers’ are reserved for their foreign kith and kin (since even such wages are too much for local brass) it is only obvious that the number of locals with university degrees will keep rising.

As long as the FOREIGN OWNED banks are offering 100% loans for cars and ‘back to school’, brass bowls don’t seem to care that they are OWNED.

If Gearbox was running the country we could possibly rationalize such idiocy… But then again, our ‘leaders’ mostly have the same ‘university degrees’ as those with no jobs…

in fact, if they lose the vote of the BBs that they are MIS-leading, then THEY are likely to become the jobless degree holders….

What a place!
    Blind leading the blind.