Chief Education Officer – Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw

From all reports a Mia Mottley government is intent on transforming the education system in Barbados. Although we have observed tweaks on the fringes meant to make the educational experience relevant in a modern global space, we continue to lag in the preparation of Barbadians to be relevant for the global market. More importantly, on the domestic front, we struggle to maintain a quality standard of living for citizens now and the foreseeable future. Local entrepreneurship attracts nothing more than lip service with successfully run locally owned businesses nothing more than a memory, many sold or defunct.

Chief Education Officer, Dr. Ramona Archer Bradshaw. (FP) The time has come for the education system to abandon traditional teaching methods crafted on the premise that students are merely receptacles of information.

Chief Education Officer

The one minute video questions if the model of education inherited and used by many countries including Barbados is fit for purpose. Feel free to send comments on how we can reform education to the Ministry of Education c/o Minister Kay McConney.

71 responses to “Prussians, arm yourself and come!”

1. Waru

Yes. All uh that is quite true.

But is it not another form of slavery for Caricom seeking to recieve payments for the injury to others under these false pretense.

A class action suit is required.

2. re Pachamama on July 29, 2023 at 1:55 PM said:
    Maybe you’ll recommend we start with your bible, no?
    NO SIR
    YOU NEED TO SEE A PSYCHIATRIST

3. At least the diagnosis would not be the kind of madness derived from eponymous beliefs coming from a book for the ignorant.

That would be the kind of madness to be welcomed.

Yuh fcuking idiot!

It’s always better to be mad than foolish🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

“But is it not another form of slavery for Caricom seeking to recieve payments for the injury to others under these false pretense.

A class action suit is required.”

I saw them even advertise it on RT today ….them and AU team up for reoarations……well ya know i dont hide information that could help save people from such vile deceitful criminals….and allowed the readers to know the Caribbean pretender’s art part in oppressing, exploiting and tiefig from the descents for the last hundred years, they will not get away with pretending that it’s only colonizers participated, they know they too did tons of evil and should be dragged up before human rights tribunals…yes, in class action.

I was very clear in my notice that none of these beasts are to use mine or my family’s name in their reparations scam…what the hell are any of them doing collecting money on behalf of my ancestor’s 530 year misery, knowing how corrupt, unethical, immoral, dishonest and integrity lacking they are…and doing so without consents and permissions…taking more liberties…

Am sure their eyes are dilating with dollar signs..but not a dime should go into any of their greedy hands…none.

5. WHY ARE YOU LETTING A BOOK THAT IS A BEST SELLER AND THAT IS READ BY MILLIONS ON A DAILY BASIC SEND YOU MAD?
    WHY DO YOU LET AN IGNORANT IDIOT UPSET YOU SO?

6. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Pacha…for the record…i would join any such class action lawsuit.

7. I got a problem with Jordan Peterson’s claim that the Prussian education system of the late 1800’s was the model adopted by the Brits and Americans to create armies of soldiers willing to sacrifice themselves for their countries.

Everybody knows that HC was founded in 1744 by Friend Harrison more than a century before the Prussians did their bit, and that Lodge was founded even before that by Friend Codrington.

Combermere is a product of Friend Drax of Drax Hall fame and Foundation has its origins even earlier through Friend Williams.

Harvard has its origins from 1635 from even before the advent of the Society of Friends.

Jordan Petersen obviously listened to Pink Floyd and its hit “The Wall” and has not done any real digging.

All the schools mentioned provided primarily Christian education and yes Christianity is in a never-ending war with the forces of evil, but it wasn’t the Prussians who came up with the education system.

“Onward, Christian Soldiers” is a 19th-century English hymn. The words were written by Sabine Baring-Gould in 1865, and the music was composed by Arthur Sullivan in 1871. Sullivan named the tune “St Gertrude,” after the wife of his friend Ernest Clay Ker Seymer, at whose country home he composed the tune.[1][2] The Salvation Army adopted the hymn as its favoured processional.[3] The piece became Sullivan’s most popular hymn.[1] The hymn’s theme is taken from references in the New Testament to the Christian being a soldier for Christ, for example II Timothy 2:3 (KJV): “Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ.”

Schools were producing soldiers long before the Prussians came along.

8. A food for thought article by retired educator Ralph Jemmott. The country has many thinkers but unfortunately we know what tends to rise to the surface nowadays.

The call for clarity

This article was submitted by retired educator and social commentator, Ralph Jemmott.
    ‘We need an explicit and conscious drive to make democratic institutions less opaque with a particular emphasis on engaging tomorrow’s electorate.’ – Marie La Conte. Political journalist. RSA Journal. Issue 4. 20182019. The devil they say is in the details. Today so much of Government policy is expressed in generalities and there appears to be a pervasive absence of transparency. In spite of all the talk about freedom of information, it sometimes appears that the publics need to know only to the degree that the Government wants them to know.
    As the late Frances Chandler once said, so much seems to be hidden in the shadows. This gives rise to gossip and untruth which with the advance of social media soon become “news”. It was therefore a good thing when questions were raised concerning the Government’s stated intention to effect a complete transfer to carbon-neutral energy policy sometime around 2030.
    Donna Wellington, managing director of First Caribbean International Bank’s operations in Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, addressed the issue during the Central Bank of Barbados’ 43rd Annual Review seminar at the Radisson Aquatica Resort. She applauded the Government’s efforts, in fact she noted that “we are in the top five in the world’s per capita in terms of renewable energy adoption”.
    “Regulatory framework” However, Wellington lamented the absence of a “credible” road-map to guide the transition to renewable energy. She concluded that a “regulatory framework” was missing and called for the appointment of a czar or “point person” who presumably would see to the removal of what she called the “roadblocks”.
    So-called czars come and go with incomparable ease, one is not always sure what they achieve. From her viewpoint, Wellington did not see the carbon-neutral policy as achievable by 2030.
    With regard to clarity and an effective road-map, the same can be said of education. There is much talk and wishful thinking but one is not sure where education reform is headed.
    On Monday, July 24, Barbados’ Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer-Bradshaw in addressing the Caribbean Association of Principals of Secondary Schools’ 29th Biennial Conference stated, “As we go forward with education in Barbados we are building on a firm foundation, one that is fair to all students, teachers and our partners in education . . . . One that is inclusive, catering to the challenged and the gifted and one that is relevant and one that is modern.”
    These are fine words of aspiration, but for heaven’s sake show us a regulatory framework, some kind
    of road-map, so that beyond the gratuitous hyperbole we can have some idea as to where we are headed. Ironically, while we are told that Barbados is building “a firm foundation” as complaints abound about children being “herded’ through schools. The Prime Minister herself complained about too many schools being “dark, dreary and dismal” and the ministry has given permission for boys to wear their hair as they like, uncombed if they so desired.
    Airport MOU
    All this in the name of a system that is supposedly inclusive, relevant and modern.
    Another area that will perhaps require greater clarity in information on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the United Arab Emirates (UAE) for the upgrade and management of the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA). The deal also includes Agencias Universales SA of Chile. Like most developing states, Barbados is in need of foreign capital investment, particularly given the state of the national economy and a historical paucity of indigenous capital.
    The Prime Minister has described the PPP (public-private partnership) agreement as “the best possible deal” that the Government could secure, apparently far better than the previous one brokered from the International Finance Corporation (IFC).
    Improvements
    An initial investment of $300 million is not to be scoffed at. The monies are to be spent on badly-needed jet bridges and other improvements and expansions to GAIA that would bring it up to international standards. I am not sure how many hotels we plan to construct but one has always felt that an airport hotel was something of a necessity.
    We the people of Barbados are promised town-hall meetings with the GAIA workers and the public. What exactly is involved in the “upgrade and management” of our GAIA” Some cynics claim that this is mere window-dressing. Let us hope not.
    What leaves me concerned is the Prime Minister’s “warning” that her Government will not tolerate “racial or ethnic” incitement of any type in Barbados. This was ostensibly in response to “talk” on call-in programmes about our proposed dealings with Sheikh Ahmed Dalmook of Dubai.
    Barbadians, generally speaking, abhor social disorder but just suppose we see something untoward taking place in our future and we have to speak out, what exactly will a Barbados Government “not tolerate” and what would any Government do if perchance “Bajans” should feel prompted to take to the street? A word to the wise.
    With regard to clarity and an effective road-map, the same can be said of education. There is much talk and wishful thinking but one is not sure where education reform is headed.

9. Cycling to nowhere Avatar
    Cycling to nowhere

Mr Jemmott gets it.
    Fantastic music and lyrics. We dance, go home and wait for the next musician. A cycle of nothingness

10. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…hearing from a source that the indian government in Guyana want nothing to do with Afrikan Emancipation celebration for Africkan descents in Guyana…..let’s see if they jump on the reparations bandwagon of falsity..

Weee have to watch them all going forward..

11. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Oh, oh….guess it didnt work out.

“ROME, July 30 (Reuters) – Italy made an “improvised and atrocious” decision when it joined China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) four years ago as it did little to boost exports, Italian Defence Minister Guido Crosetto said in an interview published on Sunday.

Italy signed up to the BRI under a previous government, becoming the only major Western country to have taken such a step. Crosetto is part of an administration that is considering how to break free of the agreement.

The BRI scheme envisions rebuilding the old Silk Road to connect China with Asia, Europe and beyond with large infrastructure spending. Critics see it as a tool for China to spread its geopolitical and economic influence.

“The decision to join the (new) Silk Road was an improvised and atrocious act” that multiplied China’s exports to Italy but did not have the same effect on Italian exports to China, Crosetto told the Corriere della Sera newspaper.”

12. Vocal Harmonies Avatar
    Vocal Harmonies

Here’s another Song/Prayer for the Underground/Barbados
    THE LORDS PRAYER | Vocal Harmonies by Jane Winther

13. What a deeply conservative and exclusive Barbados remains.

“Elegant Hat Sunday”!!!

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/
    07/30/ruth-and-esther-ministry-inducts-12-new-members-as-it-continues-to-empower-women/

14. Sounds like that slimy greasy Italian Dago Defence Wop is a Sinophobe Xenophobe which is a common trait in the paranoid Western Hemisphere with propaganda like mud

Look my brother, look what you see is going on. How many youths have been killed, in tribal war.
    Killed by babylon, ignorant, in a selfish war
    Some youths is going to the west, oh yeah
    Some youths is going to the north
    Some youths is going to the south (oh jah)
    Some youths is going to the far east (mm)
    Now my brothers and sisters, you better listen to me
    Stop the world foolish fighting, its much more that we are lasting
    We’ve gotta fight for our rights
    We’ve gotta see the light
    Oh yes

15. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Slave society extraordinnaire, it got spread from Barbados to the southern US and they never recovered, it must now be contained and not soread anywhere else, as the poison it is, …cause that’s how they are determined to keep it…at our expense to pretend…with their wickedness calliing it a civilization, never heard of one that’s always so needy after the decades of begging, borrowing and depending, not to mention all THE THEFTS with no end in sight for either……this must be the first and only one in existence, a shame and disgrace…i say kill it before it expands into future generations of MORE FAILURES.

…that has to be exposed everywhere and an example made of these maliciously mischevious criminal frauds..

16. Yolande Grant - Africa Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar
    Yolande Grant – Africa Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Pacha….heard it’s for 2 days…not sure yet how true about time length…this is when you have no respect for the people and believe yourself entitled to do as you like as an employee..

“ISLAND-WIDE SICK OUT ON WEDNESDAY AGAINST GOVERNMENT’S RAISING OF THE PENSIONABLE AGE TO 68 AND NIS REFORMS WITHOUT PUBLIC OPINION. .”

17. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Hope Caswell reads this and debunk the crap put in his head by parliament frauds to the contrary…there is no constitution and they ALL KNOW IT. Must commend this attorney for having a backbone unlike the other yellow bellied cowards from the crook bar.

“Good evening. As an attorney at law, for almost (30) years let me add my two cents worth to the ongoing discussion between the high court and Patrick King. In this profession, I am always regarded as a radical among my colleagues because they all subscribe to ” Nemo Judex In Causa Sua.” Latin for “no one should be a judge in their own cause” it is one of the cardinal rules of natural justice that no one should act as a judge in which they have a “personal” (vested) interest, however, I believe that this legal expressed teaching has it limitations in the face of what is wrong and what is right, this teaching cannot supersede the moral realities of this life for which I will always subscribe.

I have repeatedly read the WhatsApp post written by one of my colleagues, and I fully agree and endorse what he said. However, I felt that there’s a position that should have been put to his readers. That position is how the process works within the judiciary. For example; if an attorney has been retained by a client to file an application before the law court for defamation, that attorney is guided by the civil procedural rules, what must be acknowledged is that a defamation lawsuit is not a criminal matter, to the contrary it is a civil matter, and must be treated as such before any presiding officer in the precincts of the law courts.

I felt that my colleague should have expanded on how the law courts function in the context of how the process works. The accusation is that Patrick King did not present himself before the judge on the summoned day in question. He is refuting the claim that he was not served notice to appear on the day set down for hearing. If this is true, all the presiding officer had to do was to set a new date, issue notice to this effect, and move on, but to issue a warrant for his arrest is unheard of in our jurisdiction. This comes across as an abuse of authority and sends the wrong message.

As a practicing attorney, I filed and dealt with civil defamation applications that were before the Supreme Court for hearing on behalf of the Claimant, and, in a few instances, the defendant refused to offer a defense within the prescribed period under the civil procedural rules, and did not make several court appearances, and, the presiding officer proceeded in the absence of the defendant, this has always been the norm within our jurisdiction.

Let me turn my attention to the elephant in the room, I know that I will get chastised behind closed doors for stating this openly as an attorney at law. However, I have been worried by my conscience for quite some time now. What took place in Barbados some two years ago has led us to this constitutional state of affairs, I have listened, and I have read extensively all of the material placed in the public’s domain by Patrick King, I took a conscious decision to do some research behind him and I have found his information to be accurate and on point, the sad reality is that Barbados does not have a Constitution, this reality has affected my consciousness as an attorney, I shared my research with other colleagues of mine, but they became very dismissive of this reality.

I will end by saying that all that I have outlined in the above mentioned paragraphs only applies if our leaders did not tampered with our constitutional affairs, I will categorically state that all lawyers in Barbados are fully aware that our country doesn’t have a constitution, some of the arguments that I have heard to justify that there’s is a constitution is flawed, we must be honest with ourselves, attorneys at law are now struggling with ” Nemo Judex” Latin for “no one should be a judge in their own cause” it is one of the cardinal rules of natural justice that no one should act as a judge or judge a case in which they have a (personal) “vested” interest.

Patrick King, you will find it very difficult to get anyone within the legal fraternity to listen to your legal arguments because lawyers, my colleagues, will close ranks on you, we are affected greatly by all that was done, some of us would love to speak out, but, we are afraid of victimization, some of us are given legal assignments to remain silent, while others are family members or friends of those who are in charge of the financial affairs of our country.

I am a very concerned attorney at law.”

18. 🔵🌛 | 🔵🌜Blue Moon Avatar
    🔵🌛 | 🔵🌜Blue Moon

There will be a blue moon next month (August)
    Blue moon
    You saw me standing alone
    Without a dream in my heart
    Without a love of my own
    Blue moon
    You knew just what I was there for
    You heard me saying a prayer for
    Someone I really could care for
    And then, there suddenly appeared before me
    The only one my arms will ever hold
    I heard somebody whisper, “Please, adore me”
    And when I looked, the moon had turned to gold
    Blue moon
    Now, I’m no longer alone
    Without a dream in my heart
    Without a love of my own

The full moon on Aug. 1 is the second of four supermoons in the summer of 2023, with the next, the Full Blue Moon, falling on Aug. 30. August is an exciting month for moon lovers, with the summer month opening and closing with a supermoon.

19. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha….as weee well know…the island has no media…that would wade through the debis and actually distill quality news…all compromised….

But still cant stop anything..

20. Yolande Grant - African Online Publishing Copyright (c) 2023. All Rights Reserved. Avatar

Pacha…the Barbadian diaspora UK, US CANADA are holding a hardline stance…they are not putting up with any of this evil 100 year old shite from shitehounds, the wannabe elites. ..pretenders….FRAUDS..

…you can read the correspondence on 789 whatsapp group….about time is what everyone is saying.

21. Back in the other motherland that industialised shipping human cargo to Americas, Shallow UK is conducting an inquiry to determine if Cecil Rhodes was a good chap or a cad.

Reminds me of the trial of all Europeans for the crimes of colonialism in the science fiction novel by Doris Lessing “Re: Colonised Planet 5, Shikasta”,
    where a proud African girl testified that Queen Elizabeth II was supposed to provide protection of the indigenous African when the Rhodesian colony was formed. They waited for her assistance when they were abused, which never came.