At the end of May 2025, Barbados had recorded at least 2 homicides between May 1st and May 31st. For the year so far, i.e., January 1 to May 31, the island has had at least 19 homicides.

Disclaimer: My count and analysis are based solely on media reports, as such, numbers may be under-stated. The figures and insights provided below should not be considered official or final.

This website, barbadoscrimeblog.com, is a spin-off from caribbeansignal.com. Past data on homicides in Barbados can be found on caribbeansignal.com using various tags such as “Murders.” There is also the Barbados Homicide Database where you can run your own reports.

Read more at Barbados Crime blog.

58 responses to “2025 Homicide Stats: Jan to May”

1. Mixed reaction to Pine action

by CARLOS ATWELL

carlosatwell@nationnews.com

FOR ABOUT FIVE HOURS yesterday, the Barbados Police Service had The Pine, St Michael, on lockdown.

Speculation was rife as to why police officers, with assistance from Barbados Defence Force personnel, had set up road blocks by Collymore Rock, Meadow Road, Phillips Road, Parkinson Field, Factory Avenue, Princess Royal Avenue and the Wildey Road/Errol Barrow Highway junction.

Some thought it was due to a tip-off escaped convict Kishon Thomas was in the area, while others thought it was procedure following recent violent acts in The Pine.

Yesterday’s action not only involved stopping motorists and checking for valid licences and registration, but also the execution of warrants to search homes.

Operation success

Calls made to Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce and Deputy Commissioner Erwin Boyce were not returned up to press time. Police communications and public affairs officer acting Inspector Ryan Brathwaite responded via WhatsApp to state: “The operation was a success and we want to thank the general public as we continue to serve, protect and reassure”. He did not respond when asked for details.

Yesterday’s operation was met with mixed reactions from residents. One man said the officers were in place before 5:30 a.m. and the action ended around 10:30 a.m.

“From the time I come out, I just see police. I heard they were searching the whole Pine. I don’t know the cause, but it had to be some madness.

They ‘mussee’ had search warrants too because I heard they were searching houses too. White vans with ‘nuff’ police and soldiers,” he said. Ashley Jones said she was glad police were there and wished they would do more. “I don’t feel safe ‘pon a night ‘bout here, so I happy to see them. It’s not safe for my children or my neighbour’s children, especially after that [shooting] incident at Regent Hill, which was very terrifying. I wish the police would do more checking and I would like to see more police at that outpost,” she said, adding there was also a need for more street lights and debushing. Jan Eversley-Straughn said while the blockade was an inconvenience, overall she was pleased.

“I got searched twice this morning and that [upset me]. Coming out by Licensing Authorityhis morning, there was a long line of traffic with police searching cars and asking for licence and registration. It took so long that I get angry. Then, when I got back, I had to go through the same thing,” she lamented.

Despite that, Eversley-Straughn said she appreciated the action as she did not like living in The Pine due to the crime and violence.

A man, who gave his name as “Charlie”, said he went through one of the police checkpoints and decided to forego doing it twice.

“I was going to the Senior Games, so I showed them my licence and registration. Coming back, I parked my car and walked in. When the police move, I would go for my car.”

“Charlie” said police were doing a good job, as there were too many “nuisances” in The Pine, though it was surprising to wake up and see so many police officers in the area.

Another man, who gave his name as “Tossie”, said he wished there had been some kind of warning.

“Don’t jump us like this, got we like we in prison. Work with us and we will work with you,” he declared.

“Tossie” said the public service vehicle in which he was travelling this morning was diverted, and he had to walk a longer route home with groceries in hand. However, he admitted he felt safer with the police around.

Condemned action

An irate man, who was not identified, condemned the action and the police in general. He said people in The Pine continued to suffer.

“Why only The Pine? Why do the police spend so long holding up traffic? Why not pull people over and let traffic flow? You got five to six officers checking licences and insurance, so why spend so long on one car? We are not a society under martial law, yet, every time you oppose the way they do things, you are a criminal and want locking up,” he complained.

He said it was futile for the police to ask them to identify the criminals in their midst, as “good doctors don’t identify bad doctors and good police don’t identify bad police. You want us to point out the gunmen and then the next week they in front you house”?

2. @ David

The joint BPS and BDF operation in the Pine and its environs is the second, in recent times, I could remember.

Had to laugh when I read the comment from “Tossie,” who said he “wished there had been some kind of warning.”
    To have done as he suggested would’ve ‘defeated the purpose’ of the operation.

I don’t believe the Pine is being purposely targeted, as the police hierarchy would not ‘get up one morning’ and decide to target that community.
    An operation of such magnitude would’ve required strategic planning based on certain investigations and intelligence received as a result.
    The fact that search warrants were also executed is probably sufficient evidence to support my claim.

On one hand we complain that the police aren’t doing enough to address the crime situation, but on the other hand, when they do, we become ‘irate,’ especially if such action causes us some inconvenience.

But, are such operations ‘unconstitutionally extreme’ and violate the principles of citizens’ rights as outlined in the Constitution?

3. @Artax

Agreed. From reports it appears it was a dragnet of sorts.

4. If the police have good information that this is necessary, I don’t see this as excessive.

5. MORE PEOPLE ARE STILL DYING FROM THE COVID-19 SNAKE VENOMOUS JAB IN 2025 GIVEN ALL THE STINKING LIES, DEMONIC SOPHISTRY & BLATANT WITCHES BREW OF PHARMAKEIA FORCED DOWN THE BLOODSTREAM OF GULLIBLE, FRIGHTENED, IGNORANT HUMANS WHO HAD MORE FAITH IN SO-CALLED SPURIOUS SCIENCE THAN THEY HAVE IN GOD WHO DELIVERS

Death is everywhere in the land as the time draw nigh 4 the “SOON RETURN OF YESHUA, OUR MESSIAH”…

Folks don’t want to hear the “OBVIOUS” but it is what it is!!!

Pfizer & #BIG_PHARMA put a “LOADED DOODO GUN” to the heads of Western countries ( USING THE TACTICAL JINX OF F.E.A.R – #FalseEvidenceAppearingReal ) & as a result, what we are still witnessing is “CONTINUAL MASS DEATHS IN 2025” – #TurboCancers et al & worst of all: “VACCINE-INDUCED PSYCHOSIS”, even amongst our young people, who are riding “HIGH” on “SPIKE PROTEINS” – causing spatial anomalies & cerebral dysfunctions, notwithstanding that they too are “DROPPING” like flies from all kinds of weird & wonderful conditions – including, ethnocide!!!

YOUR GOVs LIED FROM THE PITS OF HELL – BREATHING FIRE & TOXIC FUMES DURING A TIME WHEN THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION IN CONCERT WITH THE GLOBALIST BILLIONAIRE DEMONIC CLASS HOGTIED THE MASSES BY THREATS, MANDATES & FORCED SOCIALIZATION BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY

All the “DUCKS” were aligned – including the falling stars – as human liberty was on the “CHOPPING BLOCK” – an “ENFORCED” altar of sacrifice, “SHOT 2 PIECES” by those who believe that they wield #PoLIEticalAndeCONomicPower!!!

YOUR GOVs HAVE NO ANSWERS & FRANKLY, THEY DON’T REALLY GIVE A TOSS

The world is at war with itself & is set 2 get terminal!!!

#StayTuned

6. Halifax, NS

Canada Border Services Agency

On May 5, 2025, border services officers at the Port of Halifax, with assistance from CBSA intelligence officers, examined a marine container destined for export to Barbados. During this examination, officers uncovered 1,610 kilograms of suspected cannabis, valued at nearly $12 M. The drugs were falsely declared as tiles on the documentation provided to CBSA officers and were concealed in 80 boxes throughout the container.

The cannabis and all evidence was transferred to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Eastern Region Federal Policing (Nova Scotia) for further investigation.

The CBSA and the RCMP collaborate on investigations to prevent illegal drug smuggling and organized crime from threatening the safety and well-being of our communities. Although cannabis is legal in Canada, the illicit cross-border movement of cannabis is a serious criminal offence, punishable with imprisonment of up to 5 years under the Customs Act and up to 14 years under the Cannabis Act.

7. Good. Need more of this. The police and justice system should be governing the streets, not the criminals running rampant and shooting wherever they feel like it.

Time to get serious.

8. FATAL SHOOTING IN EDEN LODGE
    June 3, 2025
    6:04 am
    https://starcomnetwork.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/06/Fatal-Shooting.jpg

A 24 year-old from Eden Lodge, St. Michael is the island’s 20th homicide victim.

Stacom Network News understands that the young man was killed outside his grandmothers home where he resides, just after midnight.

A frustrated President & Chief Executive Officer of the Eden Lodge Youth Charitable Trust, Dwayne Grazette has posted this message:

I’m reaching out in deep frustration and sadness following the tragic killing that occurred this morning around 12 in Eden Lodge—right in front of the home where the young man lived with his grandmother. He was one of the many my charity supported through school.

This one hits home even more because, earlier today, his mother reached out to me seeking assistance for some of her younger children for the upcoming back-to-school term. She’s been an avid supporter of the Trust. I actually grew up with her. Over the last two years, she’s been pleading with me to revive the dance group I once ran—she herself was a member back then. She was desperately trying to find positive activities for these same young people. I was in the process of trying to get something started again.

Sadly, the current Minister of Youth shut down many of these initiatives by blocking the former Chief Community Development Officer from doing the very work that was making a difference—work that ultimately led her to take early retirement out of frustration. And here we are now—another young life lost.

This tragedy underscores how urgently this government needs to do better by our young people. The education system must be revamped—not just to teach academics but to equip students with conflict resolution skills, emotional intelligence, and the ability to navigate difficult situations. These conversations need to start in our schools and communities now—before we lose even more lives.

I hope you and the Starcom team can bring attention to this. The country cannot afford to keep failing our youth. Enough is enough.

Best regards,

Dwayne Grazette, J.P.
    President & Chief Executive Officer
    Eden Lodge Youth Charitable Trust

Source: STARCOM

9. An orderly, legal and reasonable police operation obviously based on information and conducted without the cracking of heads!

I have been stopped and the vehicle in which I was travelling was searched at a roadblock. AT NIGHT!

The officers were easily identifiable, professional and not aggressive or intrusive. I thought nothing of it. Figured it was necessary at the time.

The police in the Pine appear to have had the necessary warrants for the homes they searched.

This is how it should be done.

10. From happenings of the last 24 hours the criminal element seems not to be deterred.

11. “From happenings of the last 24 hours the criminal element seems not to be deterred.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    WHICH ‘criminal element’ are you referring to Boss?

How do you differentiate?
    Those that –
    – steal $60 million rather than create HOPE
    – steal $50 in STEEL rather than create LEGGO houses
    – take bribes – and tell the USA court that ‘everyone does it’
    – scheme with radical demons to exploit vaccine sales
    – cause thousands of deaths and devastation by ill-advised COVID policies
    – cause unemployment and suffering by providing work for Chinese and other artisans while Bajans youths lime on the block smoking and drinking..
    – Sell / GIVE away our LIMITED ‘fields and Hills beyond recall’ to complete STRANGERS

Or are you talking about the VICTIMS of the resulting hopelessness, unemployment, MIS-EDDYKASHUN and misrepresentation – who seem to have decided that
    – what is good for the goose is ALSO good for the gander?

Boss
    – Charity begins at home
    …and HONESTY and LAW – ABIDING is top driven.

12. @Bush Tea

As you are aware crime strategies against the Meades and Persians are usually very different.

13. True
    The Meades manages the differences.
    …until the Persians get pissed enuff….

14. ANYONE WHO EXPECTS THAT “SELECTED #POlieTICAL LEADERS” WILL SAVE OUR YOUNG PEOPLE OR MAKE 4 A BETTER SOCIETY NEEDS A NEUROLOGICAL EXAMINATION PRONTO!!! THESE DIRTY BASTERDS ARE ALL 4 THEMSELVES & BELIEVE THAT “NEVER” IS GOD 4 ALL

A systematic reading of : “FROM ‘brute’ to ‘thug’:” THE DEMONIZATION AND CRIMINALIZATION OF UNARMED BLACK MALE VICTIMS IN AMERICA”, aptly explains the “WAR” 4 the souls of “BLACK MEN” across the planet ( WHERESOEVER A POPULACE OF OUR PEOPLE CAN BE FOUND )!!!

SEE: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5004736/

In citing a solitary sentence from the above piece, puts this whole damnable “CURSE” into perspective:

“The image of Black men as brutes in society has a long legacy that begins with the social construction of race and brings us to the current period of mass incarceration…”

JUST AS DANGEROUS WILD ANIMALS ARE EITHER LOCKED AWAY FOR THEIR OWN GOOD ( #2BeRehabilitated or #Tamed ), in like manner, so must the Black man!!!

Had history not been (RE) written by the “DEMONIC VICTORS” – we would still have been “KINGS” & “QUEENS” – bedecked in “GOLD” & “ROYAL SPLENDOUR” ( with our children cared for by those who according to “TRUE LEGEND” ) – were the “WHOLE ENTIRE VILLAGE”!!!

According to the US Dept. of Justice (SELF-FULFILLED SPIN) – “Black-on-Black Homicide – A Psychological-Political Perspective”, it is argued by A . F. Poussaint that “Today homicide is the leading cause of death among young Black men, and contributes significantly to the shortened life-span of the Black male. In about 80-90% of the cases, the Black victim was killed by another Black, and about 52% of the murder victims were acquainted with their assailant…”

“Just as we accept that suicide victims are psychologically impaired, we must acknowledge that a murderer is similarly impaired, and Blacks – for both environmental and political reasons – are likely to reflect emotional predispositions that allow them to more readily become a homicide statistic…”

“Projected self-hatred facilitates blind rage and gives the perpetrator of the violent attack a sense of legitimacy and justification. In addition, Blacks have been indoctrinated by a criminal justice system which places higher value on a white life than on a Black life…”

“While psychological study of homicide offenders and victims is difficult and not easily quantifiable, it is important to explore such variables in Black community violence…”

“Programs focused on crime and violence prevention, therefore, must do more than alleviate socioeconomic ills in the the Black community. They must pay attention as well to negative psychological dynamics in the Black experience that contribute to internecine victimization. The Black community in particular is in dire need of homicide prevention centers with programs of prevention, research and treatment…”

NOTE THE LANGUAGE AS YOU READ BETWEEN THE LINES 4 IT IS NOT WHAT IS SAID BUT RATHER WHAT IS IMPLIED

In another piece, entitled: “Tracing the Historical Origins of Youth Delinquency & Violence: Myths & Realities About Black Culture…” William E. Cross Jr. opine that “scholars of the Black experience such as Wilson (1987), Patterson (1998), & Ogbu (1991) have attempted to show that contemporary problems in the Black community – such as family instability, low motivation to achieve, and high rates of juvenile delinquency and youth violence – can be traced in a linear fashion to the legacy of slavery and past discrimination…”

Whether or NOT*, we as a people want 2 accept what we are up against – the question must be asked: “how do you save a sinking ship whose stern has already plunged beneath the waves”???

THIS IS A SINKING VESSEL FROM WHICH THERE IS NO COMING BACK 2 NORMALITY (#WhateverThatIs)

No amount of $$$$$$$$, time or “CHEAP TALK” will avert what is a “WAR OF ATTRITION” – a “SELF-INFLICTED” genocide etched within BLACK DNA* ( BY MASSA WHIP* & THE PRIMORDIAL PROGRAMMING ) of centuries of “DAMNATION, DOMINATION & A DEATH-CULT OF DESTRUCTION” aimed at “TOTAL EXTINCTION”!!!

But like “ANCIENT BLACK ISRAELITES” – the more the “SLAVES” were punished, “KILLED” & hardship levelled upon them – “THE MORE THEY GREW” & #Multiplied!!!

YOU SEE WE ARE THE MOST HIGH’S ORIGINAL PEOPLE – AS WICKED & DISOBEDIENT AS WE ARE & OFTENTIMES IT TOOK 100s OF YEARS FOR THERE 2 BE TURNAROUND – BUT EVENTUALLY IT CAME

#StayTunedFolks

#TheResetIsComing

#ItWontBeLong

15. WHAT IF THE ENTIRE WORLD KNEW THAT WE WERE INDEED GOD’S PEOPLE & THEY WERE NOT (in the sense that Scripture states that “YESHUA” carved out a people for “HIMSELF” by calling out a “BLACK MAN CALLED ABRAHAM” – whose descendants would be like sand upon the seashore) – what do you imagine that after 4,500 years of existence would be the plight of this people???

The sad irony in all this – “THE BLACK MAN STILL DOES NOT HAVE A “clue” WHO HE REALLY IS & CONTINUES 2 LABOUR UNDER ILLUSION

#WhatATragedy

16. NO ONE WANTS 2 HEAR THE PROPHETS IN OUR MIDST – NOR DO THEY ACCEPT THAT A PROFOUND REVERSAL IS COMING WHICH WILL CAUSE THE PENDULUM TO MAKE ITS FINAL SWING BACK 2 THOSE WHO WERE INDEED THE #First @THE BEGINNING

No “SIGNS” – no “SYMBOLS”, just “TECTONIC UPHEAVAL” that “RESETS” everything!!!

When #AmeriKKKaFalls – the list of “DEMONIC DOMINOES” capsizes spectacularly!!!

17. Attorney General Dale Marshall asked for the tint law slated to be rolled out on 1 September 2025.

Did the police ask for breathalyser testing as well?

Asking for several friends.

18. ASININE IS NO LONGER A WORD BUT A CONCEPTUAL FRAMEWORK THAT DESTROYS NOT JUST THE SOULS OF MEN BUT RUINS NATIONS, KINGDOMS & EMPIRES

19. @ Terence who said…
    “The sad irony in all this – “THE BLACK MAN STILL DOES NOT HAVE A “clue” WHO HE REALLY IS & CONTINUES 2 LABOUR UNDER ILLUSION
    #WhatATragedy”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    #What a brass bowl !!
    – Endless potential
    – CAN shine like a star, with reflections of glory
    – but currently unpolished, full of shaving cream, and desperately trying to emulate the dead

What a curse!
    What a waste!

But you MUST be aware that, in building a family, parents generate may BILLIONS of live sperm , EACH one with unlimited potential to become part of that family.
    HOWEVER when even ONE of those BB sperm goes on to become a CHILD of that family, there is GREAT JOY AND REJOICING…. and SUCCESS!!!

…who cries about the other 3.799 BILLION BB sperm that sped off into oblivion???

Not stinking Bushie !!!
    Diamonds are forever.

20. Our leaders are molded from the ‘system’ we created. To change the type of leader, or the type of citizen we have to change the ‘system’. A chicken and egg problem.

21. When a society loses respect for its elders, watch out!

22. BUT sounds alarm on increase in student deviance, verbal abuse and violence
    Stories by Sheria Brathwaite
    A surge in violent attacks on educators has prompted the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) to call for immediate intervention from education authorities, after four teachers at three secondary schools were assaulted in recent days—two of whom required medical attention and were placed on leave.
    “The Barbados Union of Teachers is deeply concerned about the rising incidents of student-on-teacher violence in schools across the island,” BUT President Rudy Lovell said.
    “Disturbingly, this week alone, I have seen reports of four separate attacks on teachers at three different institutions, resulting in at least two teachers having to seek medical attention. The union unequivocally condemns such behaviour.”
    The situation has particularly escalated at the Princess Margaret Secondary School in St Philip, where tensions have reached a boiling point. Teachers there have written a letter outlining widespread frustration over what they said was an increase in student deviance, verbal abuse, and outright violence against staff.
    Teachers at the school said they have had enough. Their complaints centre on a rising tide of disrespect and disregard for authority by students, which they believe is being left unaddressed.
    In response to the unrest, the school will be closed on Thursday to allow for a high-level meeting between staff and the Ministry of Education. According to Lovell, the meeting is intended to address the mounting safety concerns.
    “The union has been made aware that the Princess Margaret Secondary School will be closed tomorrow to facilitate a discussion between teachers and officials from the Ministry of Education,” he said. “I believe that this meeting is being held to address the concerns of the staff, including the violence against teachers on the compound.”
    Lovell also confirmed that two other teachers at separate secondary schools were similarly attacked and are now on medical leave. He did not disclose the names of the institutions.
    “We have also received reports of two other incidents at two other schools—two other institutions. I do not want to name the institutions, but two teachers at these institutions have sought medical attention and have been placed on medical leave by their medical practitioners,” he said.
    The incidents come just months after Lovell warned that violence in schools had reached a “crisis level”, telling Barbados TODAY in February that the situation had become so severe that some institutions were no longer safe for teaching and learning.
    “The largest teachers’ union in Barbados is deeply worried that a number of schools across the island have become ‘danger zones’,” Lovell said at the time. “The issue of violence in schools, particularly against teachers, has raised its ugly head. Some secondary school educators are being physically assaulted on the job, sometimes to the point of requiring medical attention.”
    He pointed to earlier cases involving physical attacks on two teachers at Coleridge & Parry and one at Lester Vaughan, as well as widespread reports of verbal threats and abuse across the island, creating a “more toxic” work environment for educators.
    The union is now calling for urgent, sustained action from education authorities to stem the rising tide of violence and restore a sense of safety and order in schools.
    “Our teachers deserve to feel safe in their workplaces, and the challenges they face must be urgently and meaningfully addressed,” Lovell insisted.
    sheriabrathwaite@barbadostoday.bb

23. ” In just the past 48 hours, two young men were gunned down, and a 19-year-old cricketer is fighting for his life in the Intensive Care Unit of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital after being shot in the head”

24. LIVING IN FEAR

Woman, 76, raped three times while grandson tied up

By Antoinette Connell

antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

A 76-year-old woman, raped three times when a gunman held her captive on an open lot she owns in a rural district is warning others to be careful.

The St John resident said she is living in fear and has become distrustful of people, even the Sunday Sun team that approached her.

More disturbing, the ordeal was carried out while her grandson was tied up feet way.

“I am scared for my life. He tell me if I tell anyone he’ll be back but I know that there are other women in the area that come up on the 12 o’clock bus at night so I couldn’t keep this to myself in that way. I am not only thinking about myself but I am also thinking of others,” the woman said.

About three weeks ago, around 11 p.m., the woman took her dog to the back of the house – to the unfenced area traditionally traversed by residents – and a masked gunman approached, ordering her not to move. He placed his hand over her mouth and threw her to the ground. As she wrestled with him, she managed to get his hand off her mouth and shoutedfor her grandson.

At the approach of her grandson, who thought she had fallen, the assailant retreated to the darkness under the mango tree and pounced on the slimlybuilt teenager, threw him down, sat on him and eventually tied his hands with a strip of blue material he brought to the scene, the woman recounted.

She pointed to the nearest house metres away, explaining that there was an ailing occupant who is in bed early and the other house is still under construction, despite its finished look.

Her grandson was taken between those two premises while the gunman returned and forced himself on her at different times.

‘Grilled me’

“He grilled me with questions and tell me I got nuff money [and] he want the money. He ransacked my house, and he come back out and he raped me,” she said, adding that he had her lying on a piece of board in what is virtually her backyard.

“He tried to suffocate me with the plastic bag he had over my face but I tell him not to do it, that ‘I can’t breathe if you do that’. He tried to sodomise me and I said ‘no’ and tense up my body. He was going to rape me a fourth time but his conscience like it tell himself not to.”

Her heart broke, she said, when nearing the end of the nightmare, the gunman had the gun aimed at her and her grandson pleaded with him not to harm her and to be careful with how tight he tied her because she had broken her foot previously.

“When he pointed the gun at me and my grandson was here lying down, my grandson said ‘don’t shoot her because she is all that I got’.

That makes me cry every time I remember it. The rape makes me cry but that hits me here,” she said, placing her hand over her heart.

The pensioner was glad that her grandson, whom she raised from a babe, was spared witnessing the assault.

Along with taking the medication prescribed to ward off possible STIs after she was taken for a medical check up by the police, she also has to take medication to assist with sleeping.

“This got me not trusting nobody. I get nervous quick, that is why I asked you all questions just now. I am jumpy. If I go out for a minute, I got to look all round the house to make sure nobody in the house,” she explained.

She is hoping someone is held soon to put her mind at rest but also steeling herself to face the attacker.

“I don’t know who it is but whoever it is, I hope that they catch them because I want them to get dealt with. I am making myself strong enough to ask them what have I ever done to them for them to do this to me. Some people are not strong enough to ask that question but I am strong enough to ask it because I pray,” she said.

Since then, at great expense to her family, the property has been fenced in including where the attack occurred, cameras installed and the mango tree heavily trimmed.

Police confirmed that investigations are continuing in the matter and are appealing to anyone with information to come forward.

25. @David

Not a good mornin’ with this kinda’ news bubbling up from the “SEWERS OF HELL”!!!

“Woman, 76, raped three times while grandson tied up…”

WHAT DEVILISH MADNESS IS COMING OUT OF MY CUNTRY???

THIS TAKES “deliver us from all evil” TO A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT STRATOSPHERIC HEIGHT”!!!

I am not one to “REST DOWN MY BIBLE” – given that “VENGEANCE IS MINE SAITH THE LORD”, but this would be an exceptional case!!!

THIS IS WHERE THE LAWS GIVEN TO MOSES WOULD TAKE CENTRE-STAGE

An eye 4 an eye & a tooth 4 a tooth & an assault 4 an assault – difference is, he would be strung up by his feet ( BUTT NAKED ) & dangled 4 the entire village to see – where they would have turns in “BEATING HIM SILLY ON THAT * UGLY-ARSE-DOGGIE* HE USED 2 INFLICT DAMAGE ON THAT INNOCENT SENIOR CITIZEN”!!!

When are Bajans gonna’ retreat from the enclaves of their dens & hideouts & confront these “MALEVOLENT EVILS” destroying their society???

WHERE IS THE MOTTLEY-CREW-GOV WITH THE SHORT ARM OF THE LAW REGARDING CAPITAL PUNISHMENT – that if you do the crime, you will face the “DEATH PENALTY” (no Human Rites Law; no Arbitration) – TO HELL WITH UNHCR et al (LET THE BASTERDS HAVE A LETHAL COCKTAIL DOWN THEIR BLOOD-STREAMS)!!!

ONE LESS DIRTY BASTERD OFF THE STREETS

Time 4 public face-saving measures are over!!!

This is a “BEAST” that must be tackled with the “FULL WEIGHT” of the “LAW” – for unless harsh measures are employed – “VIGILANTE JUSTICE WILL SOON ENOUGH ENSUE” & RAISE ITS UGLY HEAD!!!

#TheChoiceIsClear

#DoNothing

#AllHELL_BreaksLoose

You heard it here “FIRST”!!!

#ImDone

26. This cannot be true…not in my Barbados. This is speaking to a broken society where it appears to be open season for criminals, masses have lost respect for law enforcement, youth are feeling left out and disconnected from reality of an orderly society. This hurts to the core. It would appear the pm as boss lacks leadership skills. Country seems unkept, run down and service within civil service seems chaotic and unprofessional sugar coated with pr. Moving back from Canada was a mistake my wife and I regret daily

27. Recent news indicate that a criminal segment of our society has decided to target the elderly (both men and women).
    Sad,

28. With unemployment rate low crime rate should fall?

https://youtu.be/DRSgZfiiMP4

29. PM MAM SPEAKS. LISTEN!

30. Thorne calls for death penalty referendum

OPPOSITION LEADER RALPH THORNE has called on Government to put the question of capital punishment to a national referendum, arguing that Barbadians deserve a voice in deciding whether the death penalty should be reinstated as a deterrent to escalating gun violence.

Addressing a press conference at the Opposition Leader’s Office in The City yesterday, Thorne said the current state of crime in Barbados – marked by a rising murder rate (now at 25 for the year), youth killings and apparent gang-related activity – demands not only urgent policing but a broader societal and legislative reckoning.

Lives lost

“We are now losing our people to death almost every week. This is not about property loss. It is about human lives,” he said.

“And if the people of this country believe that capital punishment can act as a deterrent, then their voices must be heard. That is democracy.”

While careful to acknowledge that the issue remains contentious, the Democratic Labour Party political leader insisted that it was too important to be dictated by politicians alone.

“We respect those who object to capital punishment and they must be part of the conversation. But the public must be asked how it feels about the right to life and the appropriate consequence for taking it unlawfully.”

He said any reinstatement of the death penalty will require both legislative and constitutional changes, ideally within the framework of a new republican constitution.

“We cannot continue to function under a Westminster system with only a cosmetic change in the Head of State. Barbados needs a modern constitution that reflects its values and that must include a decision on capital punishment.”

The King’s Counsel also repeated his call for comprehensive criminal justice reform, urging the Government to finally act on long-delayed antigang legislation and a revised Bail Act with “real teeth”. He noted that despite the enactment of a new Bail Act in recent years, recidivism among violent offenders remains unchanged.

“You replaced the old Bail Act with a longer one, but it has proven impotent. The murder rate continues to rise. Offenders go in and come out, only to re-offend. That is not justice. That is not protection,” he said.

“We must confront the reality that crime in Barbados is highly organised. It is expensive. Guns are being imported, not manufactured, and that means powerful people sit at the top of these criminal networks.”

Why the silence?

He questioned why the Government, which commands a nearunanimous majority in Parliament, has remained silent on gang legislation.

“You have 28 votes in the House. What are you afraid of? Who are you protecting?” he asked.

Thorne also addressed Government’s rhetoric linking crime to “bad parenting” and a “lack of social grounding”. He criticised the language as “coded” and prejudicial.

“We know who the Government is targeting when it talks about a lack of social grounding. It is a veiled attack on working-class Barbadians. That kind of prejudice has no place in serious policy-making.”

He said the Opposition’s position is that the root of violent crime lies not in households but in illegal economies driven by corruption and impunity.

“We are not afraid to say that powerful people, not poor people, sit at the apex of criminal wrongdoing in this country.”

Thorne stated that the country’s survival depends on political courage and moral clarity.

“If this Government will not act, the Democratic Labour Party will. We will bring legislation for degrees of homicide. We will bring anti-gang laws, and we will give the people the right to decide if capital punishment belongs in our justice system.”

He ended with a pointed question to the Government: “Has the port scanner intercepted any contraband since its installation? We deserve an answer. Because right now, the guns are still getting in – and the bodies are still falling.” (CLM)

31. DLP wants talks in open, not behind closed doors

OPPOSITION LEADER RALPH THORNE has confirmed receipt of a formal invitation from Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to hold discussions on Barbados’ spiralling crime situation, but has stopped short of accepting the proposal.

He is cautioning that any such engagement must not compromise the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) constitutional duty to scrutinise the Government.

Speaking at a press conference at the Opposition Leader’s Office in The City yesterday, Thorne said the party was considering the invitation “with the seriousness it deserves”, but insisted that any dialogue on crime must not devolve into political theatre or back-room consensus that blunts the role of the Opposition. “We will as a party consider the invitation, but I am willing and I do say publicly that whatever we decide will not act as any compromise to our public and constitutional duty to scrutinise the Government.”

Thorne, who has for weeks intensified his criticism of the Government’s handling of the crime crisis, said the Prime Minister’s approach suggests a desire for unity without accountability. He questioned the purpose of closed-door meetings between parties in the absence of transparency and clear outcomes.

“If meeting with the Government does any compromise to that duty [of scrutiny], I’m sorry, it won’t happen,” he told reporters.

“We are not here to make love with the Government. We are here to be an honest voice for the people of Barbados.”

While not outright rejecting the idea of dialogue, Thorne proposed an alternative: a national colloquium involving all political parties and public stakeholders, where crime and violence can be addressed openly and constructively.

“This is a matter of public interest. It is not a matter to be discussed behind closed doors,” he said.

“Let the public see and hear the arguments. Let the people be part of the process.”

Mottley has proposed a suite of measures, including legislation for wiretapping, lie detection testing and stronger sentencing provisions, and urged political actors to come together to forge a unified response.

But Thorne made it clear that unity must not be used to mask inertia.

“What I regret is this posture that the Prime Minister takes – that she sits above it all like a monarch and can summon the Opposition to some unity project while the people of Barbados remain at risk,” he said.

He warned that “Government by consensus” could be a tactic to stifle dissent and deflect responsibility.

“You can’t say crime is not political and then call a meeting of political parties,” he noted.

“Crime is absolutely political – it involves legislation, policing budgets, public trust and leadership.

That is our lane as the Opposition.”

The Opposition Leader also questioned the timing and objectives of the Government’s recent focus on regulatory changes, such as window tint limits, calling them a “distraction” from the core issue of violent crime and gang proliferation.

Thorne concluded that any decision to attend crime talks would ultimately be guided by principle, not public relations.

“We are open to speaking with the Prime Minister, but not on terms that silence us. Not on terms that undermine our duty to the people. We will decide what is in the interest of Barbados – and we will not be pressured into performance politics.”

(CLM)

32. Beaten, robbed in power saw home invasion

by SHAWN GREENE shawngreene@nationnews.com

IN THE WEE HOURS of yesterday, around 3 a.m., residents of an apartment complex in Wanstead, St James, were awoken by the sound of an electrical saw on the outside.

To the dismay of the four adults and two minors there, it was not a carpenter at work, but two masked gunmen trying to enter the locked front door.

According to the occupants, it took roughly a minute for the bandits to enter the premises, after making two precision cuts in the wooden door, followed by a swift kick to dislodge the separated area. One of the assailants then slithered his hand around the back of the door, where his fingers found the keys in the lock. After gaining entry, the pair quickly rounded up the residents, demanding money.

One of the victims, a 32-year-old man, received several blows about the head from the butt of the gun.

“The noise jump me up. I hear the saw; it was very loud. I got up and put on my pants and as soon as I got up, the door kick . . . and the gun was in my face.”

The man, who eventually had to seek medical attention at a nearby facility, said the culprits demanded: “Where the money? We get send here. Where the money is?”

He was then commanded to lie on the floor after which one of the robbers searched some drawers and found an undisclosed sum of cash. After finding the money, the victim was struck in the head once more, as one of the robbers accused him of lying and threatened to “blow my head off”.

The thieves also made off with his wallet, which contained $150.

He said the weapon used to assault him was “some type of Glock”.

Another occupant, who operates a nail business from the apartment, said she feared for her life.

“We heard a noise like if somebody was cutting through something. The noise was loud. Within seconds, somebody hit the door and enter. There were two gunmen. I was hiding between two doors and the fellow say, ‘Where the money is?’ ” The businesswoman, still visibly shaken by the harrowing ordeal, told the DAILY NATION she hid in the bathroom when she heard the commotion and called the police.

She added that a neighbour, who also heard the disturbance, messaged her, asking whether she was okay. She replied that there were two gunmen in the house and asked her to call the police.

She recalled that from through the door, she heard one of the gunmen asking: “Where is she?” It was followed by two swift kicks to the bathroom door, but the bandit failed to gain entry. After a few minutes, she heard nothing but silence, but remained in the bathroom, unsure whether it would be safe to exit.

After roughly ten minutes, another female occupant knocked on the door to reassure her that the men had already fled.

That occupant, whose 15-year-old sister and fouryear-old daughter were also in the house, said she was awoken by another tenant, who alerted her to the noise of the electrical saw.

“I was downstairs watching TV and I drop sleep . . . . My friend hit me and asked me if I hear that sound and I hear like somebody sawing through the door. I was in shock, so I ran upstairs and knocked she door like three times. She asked me what happened. I said somebody like they robbing the house . . . but I couldn’t even call the police because my phone was downstairs. I went in my bedroom and lock the door.

“As soon as they get in, the men come upstairs. One kick down my door. One had my friend on the ground asking about money and where the gun is. They didn’t know she was in there (bathroom) until they questioned he.”

The thieves made off with an undisclosed sum of money, several bank cards and a set of car keys.

The nail technician, who has been operating from the residence for nearly five years, said she had been considering moving the business, even before the incident. Now, as a result of the robbery, she will be making it a priority.

She said that mostly women live in the complex and all of them will be improving their security.

Source:Nation

33. Girls pull ahead in 11-Plus as boys fall further behind

Stories by Shanna Moore

Barbadian students have achieved their highest English scores in nearly a decade in this year’s 11-Plus exam, but education officials warned Monday that underlying literacy and comprehension challenges—especially among boys—continue to threaten long-term progress.
    Delivering the results of the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination (BSSEE), as the 11-Plus is formally known, Chief Education Officer Dr Ramona Archer- Bradshaw revealed that the national mean in English climbed to 72.5 in 2025, up from 65.2 last year and 69.5 in 2023.
    The Mathematics mean also increased, reaching 60.2, up from 54.6 in 2024 and 59.2 the year before.
    “These results reflect an upward trend, but a significant number of students continue to experience challenges in the use of English and their ability to comprehend expository text,” Archer-Bradshaw said in a press briefing.
    “We realise that in English, students demonstrate average knowledge of basic grammar, vocabulary, and comprehension concepts.”
    Girls once again outperformed boys in both subjects.
    Archer-Bradshaw noted that female students scored above the national mean across all sections, while males continued to perform below average.
    In Mathematics, 65 per cent of students scored 50 per cent or more, while 35 per cent fell below the pass mark.
    Twenty-four students—13 girls and 11 boys—scored full marks in mathematics.
    Two girls scored zero.
    In English, 85.1 per cent of students scored at least 50 per cent, and three students—one from a private school and two from public schools— achieved perfect scores.
    A total of 2 981 students sat the exam this year, slightly down from 3 011 in 2024. They came from 67 public primary schools, 28 private institutions, and seven home-schooled learners.
    Comparing the results over a nine-year period starting in 2016, the chief education officer said that while fluctuations were seen year to year, a general upward trend was evident in both English and mathematics, particularly over the past two years.
    She credited the improvement to ongoing literacy interventions under the ministry’s education transformation agenda, including two structured literacy programmes: Snappy Sounds, which focuses on phonics, and the Lindamood- Bell programme, which targets comprehension.
    “Even as we speak, our teachers are undergoing training in ensuring that they teach effectively, how to read and understand,” she said.
    “We are addressing literacy within our schools in a very frontal way.”
    She also credited the work of the National Task Force on Literacy, launched last year by the ministry to tackle literacy gaps, noting that it laid useful groundwork.
    But she noted that the ministry itself has taken direct ownership of the issue, appointing a dedicated literacy officer and embedding targeted strategies across the system.
    Officials also noted a slight decline in requests for special accommodations this year, revealing that the ministry received 128 applications, covering needs such as scribes and large print, down from 132 in 2024.
    Sixteen students were granted permission to sit the exam early, up from 12 last year.
    Minister of Educational Transformation Chad Blackman reaffirmed the ministry’s commitment to continued support and intervention.
    “The ministry remains committed to remediation for students with learning gaps,” he said.
    “This summer, we will once again offer our free summer school programme, targeting primarily Class Four students.”
    Blackman recognised the top-performing students, naming Kaiya Walcott of Wills Primary School, who scored 100 in both English and mathematics, and Javanni Carmichael of St Paul’s Primary School, who scored 100 in English and 99 in mathematics.
    They will attend Harrison College and Queen’s College respectively.
    The minister encouraged parents, teachers and administrators to maintain the momentum, adding that the upcoming academic year would include further support under the ministry’s Inclusive Education Policy and Strategy.
    A public town hall on the policy will take place on Wednesday.
    “This is not just about results. It’s about ensuring every child, no matter their ability, gets the support they need to succeed,” Blackman said.

shannamoore@barbadostoday.bb

34. @ David

As a lawyer and parliamentarian, I believe Thorne may be aware of CCJ Appeal Nos. BBCR2017/002 BB Criminal Appeal No. 7 of 2014, between Jabari Sensimania Nervais v The Queen; and CCJ Appeal No. BBCR2017/003 BB Criminal Appeal No., Dwayne Omar Severin v The Queen…… heard together before the CCJ Appellate Jurisdiction, on January 25, 2018, in which both individuals contended their ‘convictions were unsafe and the mandatory death penalty was unconstitutional.’

If he IS aware, then he would’ve known the CCJ unanimously DECLARED the mandatory death penalty UNCONSTITUTIONAL in Barbados.

Assume “Government put the question of capital punishment to a national referendum,” and Barbadians ‘decided the death penalty should be reinstated.
    Also assume, thereafter, an individual was charged, tried and subsequently convicted of murder, and received the death penalty, (as was previously provided by Section 2 of the OAPA: “Any person convicted of murder shall be sentenced to, and suffer, death),”……

The questions I would ask Thorne (or any other lawyer) are, since the CCJ is Barbados’ FINAL Court of Appeal, and has RULED the death penalty to be unconstitutional:

…… should ‘government’ IGNORE the CCJ’s ruling and hang that person?
    …… would such a decision infringe upon his/her constitutional rights?
    …… if that individual has a right to appeal his/her sentence, then to which Court would such appeal be heard?

‘Bear in mind,’ as a result of the CCJ’s ruling, the sentences of several death row inmates were subsequently commuted to life in prison.
    Hence, it may be reasonable to assume we’ve already set a precedent.

I believe Thorne ‘should think through these soft of things a bit more carefully,’ rather than embracing populism politics for the wrong reasons.

35. @Artax

The other question you could reasonably ask is where was Thorne’s moral indignation to support his current position on the death penalty pre taking the role of LOTO? Is this all about political expediency? That said, it is a good issue for the DLP to probe government’s adhoc strategy at the moment. It is what a relevant political opposition should be doing. Keeping government on its toes.

36. Steupsss…
    Red Herring!!!

The mandatory death sentence should ALWAYS have been outlawed.

A sentence of death should always have been (and still is) an OPTION available to a court and jury, once the full circumstances of a case have been explored, and that sentence is then justified.

This is just another case of shiite lawyers building a DELIBERATE straw man – just so that they can maximize their earnings while society suffers…

Net Result!!
    The general society is now administering the death sentence arbitrarily….

Lotta shiite!
    What a place!!

37. @ David

Yes, I agree the Opposition should keep ‘government on its toes,’ not by criticising and opposing only, but also presenting alternative innovative long-term policy initiatives as well.

Every time there is a surge in crime, the popular response among people is usually calls for the death penalty or the ‘cat-o-nine tails.’

Although the concept isn’t new, politicians seem to be now embracing ‘populism politics,’ which is defined by some sources as a political approach used to appeal to ordinary people who believe their concerns are disregarded by established elite groups.

Notice how he used the ‘popular’ sentiment of “bringing back hanging” to appeal to ordinary people.

If, as reported by the media, Thorne intensified his criticism, over the past few weeks, of the Government’s handling of the crime crisis, then he should’ve either TAKEN the INITIATIVE to host what he suggested, “a national colloquium involving all political parties and public stakeholders, where crime and violence can be addressed openly and constructively.”
    Afterall, he was reported as having said, “Let the public see and hear the arguments. Let the people be part of the process.”
    I do not believe there is ANYTHING PREVENTING him, as Opposition Leader, from so doing.

Or, accepted Mottley’s invitation to discuss the issue, without, according to him, “performance politics.”

Either choice would’ve essentially given him and the DLP an opportunity to publicly present ALTERNATIVE, long-term solutions to address the crime situation.

I AGREE with some of the comments Thorne made relative to Mottley’s proposals, but remain convinced that so far, he has been an abysmal failure as LoO.

38. @Artax

Unfortunately one of the shortcomings of our system of government is that it does not label an opposition politician as being smart for offering alternatives. For obvious reasons.