Given that I was born and raised in the Caribbean, Barbados specifically, and knowing that many Caribbean people aspire to obtain a US-based education, I wanted to answer a simple question: How many students from the Caribbean enroll in the United States?

Enter Open Doors (pardon the pun). This organization has published international student data going back as far as academic year1949/50 (note: the data is not continuous until 1999/00). They also track data on U.S. students going abroad, but that’s beyond the scope of this post. For this post, I’m interested in Caribbean enrolment numbers, in particular, over the last 24 years, i.e.,: 2000/01 to 2023/24.

Read the full article on caribbeansignal.com website – Caribbean Student Enrolment in U.S. Colleges: 2000 to 2024

38 responses to “Setback for Caribbean students in USA”

1. The following appears in today’s press. A little confusing to say the least.

https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/fullbright-358×480.png

2. US unproven claims about foreign students spies and technology most probably expose their own actions more.

i.e. US students around the world are spies with their phones and apps is my gut feel. I don’t trust my US friends.

3. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@555dubstreet May 31, 2025 at 5:34 am “I don’t trust my US friends.”

So why are they your friends?

4. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@David May 31, 2025 at 5:12 am “The following appears in today’s press. A little confusing to say the least.”

The Fulbright is an excellent post-graduate scholarship if you can get it. Today’s ad is directed to people who want to start studying in the USA in August/September 2026. I expect that between now and September 2026 that the current occupant of the White House will have changed his mind. So planning must go on.

If I was young and bright, I would apply for a Fulbright

5. Who would want to plan a study career in the USA against the prevailing uncertainty?

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

The Fulbright is I believe essentially fully funded, so…

Other students using money from their parents and local governments will very likely start to look at countries other than the USA. If this uncertainty continues the USA will be the primary loser. Lost of student dollars and loss of the intellect of bright young people.

7. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

I believe that IIE also publishes data on who pays when foreigners study in the USA, I am wondering if Amit can please mine that data for us. Some Americans may be under the impression that their tax dollars pay for the education of foreigners, but this is likely not so. it is likely foreign students, their parents and governments who pump money into the USA economy. And the USA universities, landlords, grocers, booksellers, and transport companies, including airlines.

8. “So why are they your friends?”

1 yank friend from uni who I just met and invited to crash out on the floor for a week when these foreign students had nowhere to stay is still inviting himself over every other year

I try avoiding him but he doesn’t take hints, the yank is a spy

“Who would want to plan a study career in the USA against the prevailing uncertainty?”

the indoctrination industrial complex has been prejudiced against Poc for 400+ years

9. Students must look to options outside US

It may be wise at this time for individuals interested in furthering their education overseas to follow the advice of Minister of Training and Tertiary Education Sandra Husbands, to seek universities in countries other than the United States (US).

Her suggestion followed the news last week that the US was halting student visa appointments at its overseas missions as they await updated guidance from the Donald Trump administration on the vetting of social media posts of applicants.

At a subsequent press conference, the minister recommended students look to universities in Canada, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean so they have options in case the visa appointment issue is not resolved in a timely manner.

Early in the week, students were made aware of this matter when US Secretary of State Marco Rubio said in an internal cable seen by the news agency Reuters, that the department plans to issue updated guidance on social media vetting of student and exchange visitor applicants after a review was completed. It further advised consular sections to halt the scheduling of such visa appointments.

The move follows the efforts by the Trump administration to ramp up its deportation and revoke student visas as part of its plans to fulfil its hard-line immigration agenda.

This new development is causing some anxiety for students looking to pursue their education in the US and some, based on their area of study, and given the programme and reputation of some universities in that jurisdiction, may find it difficult to even consider other colleges.

One should also consider the time it takes to research universities and the programmes offered in various disciplines, understanding this will not just be a quick shift for some students.

At times, the financial aspect of studying abroad is also considered, as some students find a way to cut costs by staying with relatives close enough to commute to their university.

Many students now may have no choice but to return to the drawing board and start from scratch their plan of study overseas to fulfil their career choices.

Husbands also urged students to get in contact with Barbados’ missions in US territories, adding too, that they would share more information as it comes to hand about the US finalising its decision.

Parents advocate Paula Ann Moore agreed that Barbadian students should be guided to do their studies outside of that jurisdiction.

She specifically mentioned Canada, which she recognised as having a long association with Barbados, and China, which has a history of providing students with scholarships.

The Trump administration’s intensified scrutiny of international students in the US has led to widespread uncertainty and fear among individuals who were eager to start a new chapter of their lives, taking further steps to pursue their professional goals.

While we believe these measures are drastic, the well-being and welfare of our students must be the focus and every effort must be made to ensure they can pursue their educational dreams and fulful their potential.

At this time, all roads cannot lead to universities and colleges across the US. It is time to cast eyes to other educational facilities.

10. @DUB

“the indoctrination industrial complex has been prejudiced against PoC for 400+ years”!!!

#ILoveYourAcronym_IIC

TOUCHE

11. @ David,
    Does the continent of Africa have any universities?

12. “I believe that IIE also publishes data on who pays when foreigners study in the USA, I am wondering if Amit can please mine that data for us. Some Americans may be under the impression that their tax dollars pay for the education of foreigners, but this is likely not so. it is likely foreign students, their parents and governments who pump money into the USA economy. And the USA universities, landlords, grocers, booksellers, and transport companies, including airlines.”

@Cuhdear Bajan

Yup, will look at it some more.

Kind regards,
    Amit
    http://www.caribbeansignal.com
    http://www.barbadoscrimeblog.com

13. @cuhdear,
    I was able to study in the USA because of an assistantship from a university. Though that was my work, in a sense my study was fully funded by an agency/organization in the US.

@555
    I cannot remember which agency, but one of the last things I threw out of my mailbox at the university was basically a recruitment letter from one of the government ‘information’ agencies.

Many of our island countries will find pivoting to China is not as easy or as smooth as they imagine. Sleepers will be waken when necessary.

I like to poke you, but there is often sense in yourbabblings.

14. Bajans who want to go to University should come to Canada.

15. @TLSN

How practical is it for natives to study on the continent?

16. The obvious answer is Canada, which has a long educational history with Barbados, plus a degree in Canada goes towards immigration points in their system.

Also, better if the student can get some apprenticeship work during / after their degree, which also goes towards points I believe.

Bajans should also look at the European countries, some have good medical programs I believe.

The UK is good but expensive. Accommodation costs are murderous.

China is attractive because their are two positives. China is advancing tech very quickly and to be in that environment should be beneficial, also learning a foreign language, especially Chinese, could only assist in a career.

The only reason to absolutely study in the USA is to use it as a stepping stone to gain a green card and eventual citizenship.

But seeing as that is changing, there is now no major benefit over any other country.

While the USA has critical mass and cannot be ignored, the isolationist policies of the current administration are going to destroy their economy and global relationships.

This will make the USA local residency not as attractive, as already many are below the poverty line and a declining economy will only make it even worse. And Trump’s policies are going to hurt the middle class more.

17. Bushie would have thought that the obvious answer is for the UWI to up its game, such that a degree from that institution would mean MUCH more than a ‘graduate in every house’ …
    But this would call for a MAJOR SHAKEUP FROM THE VERY TOP… (and for us to stop taking simplistic advice from Hants and Co. – who are converted albino-centrics.)

With a joker in charge of UWI, whose life mission seems to be to try to leverage pity and reparations for the suffering of our ancestors at the hands of wicked demons, …and the recent appointment of a ‘Judas’ of Biblical proportions – currently on a $6M per year pension for selling out Barbados to the SAME DEMONS being targeted for reparations…
    we CANNOT be serious about Education.

If our best and brightest youth are sent to be brainwashed and mis-educated by the SAME modern demons that stole 500 YEARS of our heritage – it does not take much imagination to see where we are headed…
    …in fact we seem to have reached!!

What a place!!
    What mendicancy!
    What a pity! …given the POTENTIAL…

18. @Bush Tea

Can a single university offer a comprehensive suite of disciplines? Don’t they specialize in?

Shouldn’t we restrict student movement to overseas universities IF same can be accessed in Barbados and the region? Especially when awarding scholarships and exhibitions?

19. @ Bush Tea.

wuh I do you ?

20. @ David
    Which university do you propose should be BIASED towards channeling the best and brightest young people from the region (and elsewhere) TO DEVELOP BARBADOS?
    SMH!!
    …or are you happy for our NO, Hants, Dribbles etc to continue to be hijacked away…?

@ Hants
    Not a ting!!
    Bushie just picking on yuh!

21. THE PILLARS OF ACADEMIA MUST CRUMBLE JUST AS THE GREEK ARISTOTLEAN EMPIRE IMPLODED AS ENLIGHTEMENT ZEITGEIST THREW A MONKEY WRENCH INTO THE EDUCATIONAL PROCESS!!! GLOBALIZATION IN THE ALBINO-CENTRIC WEST HAVE NOW REWRITTEN EVERY DISCIPLINE IN THEIR OWN IMAGE & LIKENESS – BASTARDIZING, WHITEWASHING & DUMBING-DOWN AN ENTIRE PLANET OF YOUNG POEOPLE

Universities are like “BROTHELS” – after you done “FOOP”, the “NEXT GUY/GAL” follows 2 get their 5 cents worth!!!

It’s a “TREADMILL”!!!

It’s a “REVOLVING” door – churning out “MISFITS” with grandiose dreams, who in the end find themselves with “PERMANENT HEAD DAMAGE” ( #PhD )!!!

No one suffers more than “BLACK FOLKS” – young men/women who are fooled into believing that the “GRASS” is greener on the other side ( WHEN THE REALITY IS YOUR GRASS IS GREEN WHEN YOU WATER IT CONSTANTLY )!!!

Most commentators refuse to see the trees from the forest given Trump’s childish assault on “HARVARD UNI” has personal connotations as Barron Trump ( HIS SON ) did not get in but China’s PREZ* XI* has a daughter at that said institution!!!

Again, more to the mortar than the pestle!!!

22. @TB

Is this the best analogy? You do a disservice to the natural and wonderful act of copulating.

23. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Terrance Blackett ” Barron Trump ( HIS SON ) did not get in but China’s PREZ* XI* has a daughter at that said institution!!!”

Lol!

24. “Most commentators refuse to see the trees from the forest given Trump’s childish assault on “HARVARD UNI” has personal connotations as Barron Trump ( HIS SON ) did not get in but China’s PREZ* XI* has a daughter at that said institution!!!:
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ACCORDING to SEVERAL news sources, there isn’t any information/evidence to substantiate the claim that Barron Trump’s application to Harvard was rejected.

25. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

That is because universities typically do not publicize who has been refused admission.

26. @ David

“You do a disservice to the natural and wonderful act of copulating…”

FOOPING* OUTSIDE THE HALLOWED WALLS OF *MARRIAGE* IS EXACTLY THE KINDA’ TENUOUS (DIS) ‘service’ THAT I WILL CONTAIN 2 FLAG UP – APPROPRIATING IT TO THE BACK-ROOM SPILLING OF NOXIOUS BODILY FLUIDS WHERE BROTHEL-LIKE SHENANIGANS ARE NOTHING MORE THAN PLEASURE-SEEKING BY PARTAKING IN DEADLY FORBIDDEN FRUIT

Drawing an analogous citation between “ACADEMIA & BROTHEL-MANIA” can be “DEFENDED” if it was a thesis, given that I opined before – it’s a “REVOLVING DOOR” of “MINDLESS, MAURADING MIRAGE OF LUST” that is never satisfied ( EVEN AFTER 4 YRS, 6 YRS OR 10 YRS+ ) – leaving most disenchanted, “BROKEN” & emotionally dispossessed!!!

ACADEMIA* IS THE OTHER SIDE OF THE RElieGION COIN – 2 SIDES ON THE SAME DAMN DRAGON: A CULTISH OVERT SECRET SOCIETY OPERATING IN PLAIN SITE WHO HAVE SUCCESSFULLY CONNED IT WAY INTO THE HEARTS & MINDS OF THE GLOBAL MASSES

#Time4Revamp

#Time2TeachTrueKnowledge

#InTheEndItAllCollapses

#IAmNotAloneInThis

#WhatAWorld

27. HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED WHY YOUR NASTY POlieTICIANS, RElieGIOUS LEADERS, PIRATE, PREDATORY CAPTAINS OF INDUSTRY, & OTHERS, WHO SUPPOSEDLY HAVE STRADDLED THE VAUNTED HEIGHTS OF AN ENSHROUDED, DENSE, CHOKING, MIASMIC MIST OF MINDLESS SUCCESS ARE SO PITIFULLY & PATENTLY EMPTY, VOID & VACUOUS OF THE BASIC VIRTUES OF BASIC HUMANITY

Look at your “DAMN CORRUPT LEADERS”!!!

Look @YourCrookedBusinessLeaders…

#LookAtYouReLIEgiousPROFITS*

WHAT DO YOU SEE???

#OneWord: EMPTINESS*

No wonder the “WISE KING” who became a “DAMN FOOL” opined: “EMPTY VESSELS MAKE THE MOST NOISE”!!!

Why???

All in an attempt to “KERFUFFLE” the “MASSES” that they somehow know what time of day it is!!!

THEY ARE WEAK, SPINELESS, INEPT & DOWNRIGHT EMPTY SHELLS – TETHERING ON THE PRECIPICE OF THE ABYSS AWAITING THE WINDS OF CHANGE 2 BLOW THEIR ARSES OVER INTO ABSENTIA

28. It is bad enough that Barack, Michelle,and Malia Obama went to Harvard! Poor Trumpy is still knocking at the door.

Always remember that with Trump most things are personal!

29. NICHOLAS MAXWELL GIVES WHAT IN MY MIND IS ONE OF THE BEST TREATISES ON ACADEMIA IN A TED TALK

By drawing on the “HUBRI” of #Knowledge v #Wisdom “ENQUIRY” & the understanding between the [2]!!!

#YouDecide

30. Trump is not the first racist PotUS as most of them were throughout it’s short history from it’s original sin. There are many Black US Universities like Howard and UWI should link up with these as well as African Unis for student exchange programs where studies can with short terms of study in USA, Caribbean and Africa and also study Black History and include vocational work experience industrial training in different countries and continents.

“We Are Only Dancing”, A Bullwackie’s Lovers Rock Selection

31. WITHOUT COMPLETE UPHEAVAL IN THE WORLD ECONOMIC SYSTEM – THE MADNESS WILL ONLY GET WORSE

32. “THE ONLY THING THAT INTERFERS WITH MY LEARNING IS MY EDICATION” ~ #AlbertEinstein

SEE WHY:

33. “Rubio imposes sanctions on four ICC judges for ‘targeting’ US and Israel”

It’s official USA is a rogue state

the following can’t enter Zion for doing the Devil’s finest works

Slavers & 1st – 4th Generation of Slavers Children
    Colonialists & 1st – 4th Generation of Colonialists Children
    Warmongers & 1st – 4th Generation of Warmongers Children

Babylon this way
    Zion that way
    It Dread in a Babylon
    Step Upon U Prophecy

Ba Ba Boom Time

34. @ David

According to media reports, Trump is considering extending his travel ban to 36 more countries, including:
    …. Antigua & Barbuda
    …. Dominica
    …. St. Kitts & Nevis
    …. St. Lucia

Citizens from those islands who were desirous of furthering their education in the US, will now have to look at alternative options.

35. @Artax

We are living in uncertain times.

36. This matter was raised in this space @TB, how do we navigate the logistic challenges associated with building this alternative opportunity for learning? So far all of the bilateral agreements are about trade.