30 responses to “Rubio’s ‘sojourn’ to the Caribbean”

1. So far, he doesn’t seem vex!!!

Congratulated Jamaica in lowering its murder rate and said the US would relook the travel advisories.

So far so good!!

Nothing about China.

2. QUESTION: And secondly, what problems, if any, does America have with China’s investment in Jamaica?

SECRETARY RUBIO: Well, look, I mean, China’s a rich and powerful country. Our problem is not investment, okay? Our problem is predatory practices. That’s what we’re concerned about. What we have seen all over the world is that China comes in and says, here’s a bunch of money for a project they never build. They’ve been – they bring their own workers to do the work; they don’t hire the locals, they bring their own workers. And oftentimes it comes attached with a huge loan that can never be repaid, and now they hold it over your head forever. That’s our concern. Our concern is unfair practices, too, where they come in, their government-subsidized companies underbid everybody because they’re subsidized, but then they come back and charge whatever they want because now they’ve got the contract.

3. In other words, they have adopted our modus operandi, and we don’t like that.

4. Instead of gloating on everything Trump does why don’t you comment on the increased cost to small Caribbean economies coming out of this tariff fight started by the USA?

https://youtu.be/G40PzlbCvkY

5. Trump playbook: Lie, Deny, & Blame! Sell bitcoin now, after many failed other business ventures. Followers will believe and buy anything. Well, supporters I hope you’ll finally realize when your hungry and broke that you put him in office.

6. Did the blogmaster hear Professor Devonish say that Caricom leaders meeting with Rubio should draw a redline on Cuba and Haiti? And words to the effect Cuba should be prioritized over Haiti if push comes to shove?

Really?

7. We should all breathe a collective sigh of relief that the billions in debt owed to China has not attracted the ire of Trump.

How much money has China advanced Haiti?

8. What about Cuba, does China invest in Cuba?

9. China is the problem.

Afrexim Bank is no more African than is Donald Trump

The Chinese want in to the Caribbean and have conspired with our leaders to create the facade of an African enterprise.

The Chinese believe the incessant repetition by Caribbean leaders and a few intelligentsia about the wonders of Africa means that peoples of the Caribbean will be fooled by the appearance of some entity with Africa embedded in its name and embrace it.

How many Bajans have actually visited Africa? Not many and why not, because they don’t identify with Africa. They rather take their trips to Miami and New York or Toronto. Bajans on the whole identify with America.

The HOGs only glad for the money and will participate in the scam for the money.

Notice Ms. Mockley only talks about investment but can’t tell us how all these investments will help Bajans.

I understand that Hotels having hell attracting enough Barbadians to fill the existing jobs because many Bajans ent interested in maid and housekeeping jobs!!

Guess we will need some folks from the Philippines …. or China.

What is the point of “investing” Chinese money in hotels if many Bajans don’t want the jobs that investment creates?

Already we have run out of water, we don’t have sewage systems that work and land is becoming more and more scarce.

Maybe the next step will be to import labour ….. go and take a look inside one of the big projects under construction and see if you don’t see foreign labour.

Investment for investment sakes is money laundering.

10. Americans always invite themselves over, because they are not true friends,
    like the CIA gathering info, spying, showing off

Trump’s hypocrisy is obvious
    stopping student protests x freeing convicted Jan 6 rioters
    anti-diversity (racist) x claiming antisemitism to Jews
    insults other nations x thin skinned about speaking against Americans

11. Cheap?

12. Q. Do you think Trump can figure out that Afrexim Bank is a Chinese front?

A. Is the Pope Catholic!!

13. Did an experiment.

Wanted to find out how the supermarkets compared.

So bought the same four products and here are some prices I see.

Massy – $10.88

Emerald City – $10.70

Popular – $10.18

Popular is the cheapest, prices for these products which are just under 7% less than Massy.

What you save in cash however, you spend in time waiting in the line at the checkout.

Massy has self-check stations and attentive staff if weighing is necessary.

No waiting except on rare occasions.

14. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

AFRIKA WILL HAVE TO KICK OUT THE CHINESE SOONER OR LATER

#StayTuned

15. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

RUBIO IS JUST ANOTHER JESUIT COADJUTOR DOING WHAT THE PAPAL ASSASSINS DO – #OverthrowGOVs

16. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHAT IS THE GEO-POLIETICAL STRATEGY OF THE USA: RID THE CARIBBEAN OF THE CHINESE BOGEYMAN & THE FATALIST IDEOLOGY OF MARXIST/LENINIST SOCIALIST COMMUNISM

17. Muhammad Ali – in his own words
    On refusing to serve in the United States Army:

“Why should they ask me to put on a uniform and go 10,000 miles from home and drop bombs and bullets on brown people in Vietnam while so-called Negro people in Louisville are treated like dogs and denied simple human rights?”

“Man, I ain’t got no quarrel with them Viet Cong. No Viet Cong ever called me nigger.”

“I’m not going 10,000 miles from home to help murder and burn another poor nation simply to continue the domination of white slave masters of the darker people the world over.”

Beatitude Dub

The Beatitudes

He said:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit,
    for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    Blessed are those who mourn,
    for they will be comforted.
    Blessed are the meek,
    for they will inherit the earth.
    Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
    for they will be filled.
    Blessed are the merciful,
    for they will be shown mercy.
    Blessed are the pure in heart,
    for they will see God.
    Blessed are the peacemakers,
    for they will be called children of God.
    Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
    for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

18. Play Fool Fe Get Wise
    Caribbean nations rely heavily on US Cruise Ships for income and must act diplomatic. A ship may hold thousands of passengers but they will spend a fortune on board the ship but only a little when they embark on land in each island on it’s journey.

No Diversity Allowed
    USA is currently on a right wing Crusade to remove all references to black and brown people that were pioneering breakthroughs against it’s systemic inequality.
    But, on the plus side black and brown culture is taught to all of it’s children in school lessons in the form of dance, music and DJ underground culture which has gone mainstream.

19. Letter to Trump

Mottley writes US president regarding port fees on China-built ships

By Tre Greaves

tregreaves@nationnews.com

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has written a letter to United States (US) President Donald Trump hoping CARICOM will be exempt from the hikes that will occur if he imposes fines as high as $1 million on Chinese-made container ships that call on US ports.

She said if his fight against China’s increasing dominance in the shipbuilding industry continues using that strategy, it could have disastrous consequences for the region.

Mottley, who is chair of CARICOM, made the comment yesterday during the official launch of Courts’ Welches Superstore at W Plaza in St Thomas.

The Prime Minister returned late Wednesday from Jamaica where she and other CARICOM Heads of Government met with US Secretary of State Marco Rubio.

“What we potentially face with the announced cess or levy on ships made in China will have serious and deleterious consequences for the commerce in Barbados, the Caribbean and, as I said to Secretary Rubio yesterday, also to Florida.

‘Engine of commerce’

“Florida in a very real sense is the engine of commerce in the Caribbean region. The Caribbean depends on much seven-day supply of food, vegetables, of critical supplies, pieces of equipment, spare parts, all kinds of things. So to have this disrupted purely because of the intervention of a statutory or an executive order that will lead to an increased cost of supplies will hurt not just us on the receiving end, but will hurt those as well who are making money from the logistics in Florida. It is likely to lead to people looking for other routes that don’t carry the same prohibitive costs for movement of goods,” she said.

She is hoping Trump will be understanding of the region’s plight.

“I trust and pray that that alone, with the letter I wrote on behalf of the Caribbean Community to President Trump, will lead to some kind of exception for this region,” she said.

Her sentiments have been echoed by several others, including chair of the Barbados Private Sector Association Trisha Tannis, president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI) James Clarke and Tropical Shipping’s president and chief executive officer Tim Martin. The latter testified in Washington DC on Monday before the US Trade Representative (USTR) and said the proposed tariffs would severely affect Americanowned shipping companies as well as US exporters and Caribbean businesses that ship with Tropical.

Tropical Shipping operates out of the Port of Palm Beach, Florida, and nine of its 19 vessels were built in China up to 25 years ago.

“The US shipping industry serving the Caribbean cannot absorb the additional costs of the proposed port fees, which would have significant economic consequences,” Martin testified. “Instead of strengthening American competitiveness, these port fees would push American-owned carriers like Tropical out of business.”

Types of containers

Tropical Shipping also explained in a statement how the proposed increase would affect the types of containers.

“The average vessel serving the Caribbean region is 1 100 Twenty-foot Equivalent Units (TEUs). If the fees in the proposed action are applied to these smaller vessels, we would have to double our freight rates, with an average increase of US$2 500 per 40-foot container.

“As a comparison, applying the proposed $1 million fee to a vessel that calls on a single US port directly from China carrying 16 000 TEUs would increase the cost per 40-foot container by only US$125.”

Clarke said the BCCI recently met with members to discuss this issue and was also engaging with the Caribbean Private Sector Organisation (CPSO).

“The Chamber had a meeting yesterday with all of the retailers and distributors to discuss this. The Chamber has asked those members to prepare written information to send us and the Chamber will collate. We then feed that through to the Barbados Private Sector Association and then that goes on to the CPSO. “Because, as far as I know, [the CPSO] is engaging with the US Trade Representative to explain the impact of these proposed fees on the Caribbean. The shipping lines are doing the same as well, because they’ve also done their math and they realise that if this thing goes into play, it’s going to cripple their business,” Clarke said.

“The point is basically that, to the US, why are you doing this? When you apply the US$1 million to a container vessel that holds 8 000 or 9 000, 40-foot containers, it’s a small amount. But the containers that come into the Caribbean, you may have 500 on a ship or maybe 1 000 20foot containers. The cost of shipping then increases dramatically. And if the shipping costs go up too much, the shipping lines are going to struggle and they’re going to pass on the costs to us.”

Tannis, who is also managing director at Courts, had similar concerns. She said if the cess was imposed it would compound the issues facing the region.

“Certainly if this cess is levied, the implications are obvious. The Caribbean is an archipelago, very much like the Cook Islands and they face very similar issues, which is that you’re completely or wholly dependent or significantly dependent on imports.

“We have other issues in terms of sustainability issues. So there’s a carbon tax and there’s fuel emission taxes and so on that are being talked about. All of those essentially are not going to be absorbed by the shipping companies who are going to be paying those bills,” Tannis said.

Source<. Nation

20. “What we potentially face with the announced cess—levy, whatever you want to call it—on ships made in China will have serious and deleterious consequences for the commerce not just of Barbados, not just of the Caribbean, but also for Florida,” she said.

Barbados and other Caribbean nations depend on regular imports, often operating on a seven-day supply cycle for food, equipment, and critical goods, the PM said. (source: BT).

Would the above words be considered to be that from a strong or a weak leader.

Watch the link below for the answer. It will make you recoil.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=W3oSlsBgYcc&pp=0gcJCdgAo7VqN5tD

21. Good morning Boss..

That video from TLSN about Ibrahim Traoré is the SINGLE BEST documentary about the Black Brass Bowl status quo that Bushie has EVER seen.

That video SHOULD be a post, and should be REQUIRED viewing for anyone who wants to speak coherently about making sense out of nonsense.

Thanks TLSN.

What a video! – EVERY SINGLE WORD IS TRUE – and is applicable to Brassbados.

22. @Bush Tea

How many times have we discussed what you highlighted in this space? The lack of innovative and creative ideas/solutions from our leaders?

What is boils down to is our identity or lack of one. It is about doing what is right, it is about serving and delivering justice. Unfortunately these basic and necessary values required to sustain our dignity and humanity conflicts with political morality.

23. @BT & TLSN
    https://www.amnewsworld.com/2024/10/15/18th-assassination-attempt-on-burkina-fasos-president-traore-fails/

What is very sad is that some who like me are a part of the many attempts.

24. @ Goeht
    Sad but unsurprising.
    Judas will ALWAYS look likeJesus.

But they won’t be able to kill him until his time is completed. There is ALWAYS a prophet, leader, or outlier to reflect the TRUTH of God’s plan to brass bowls – before their judgement.

Such characteristics of community-centricity, selflessness, and assertiveness in a modern leader -PARTICULARLY A BLACK ONE, is completely out of character…

But then, … so is Caswell in Brassbados…

25. “Would the above words be considered to be that from a strong or a weak leader.”

Answering your rhetorical question which could be considered a rebuttal in a robust discussion.

Mia is a strong black woman and is also an inspiration to Africa and the African diaspora for her outspokenness on the world stage, and an honoured member of the Global African Village, she is never challenged by white powers that be or media or is stereotyped as blacks are, as they know deep down she is right and is also an inspiration for those espousing racial equality. In an upside down world of Trump kowtowing even Conservatives are considered liberal and I suppose they are compared to juvenile emasculated bitter alt-right haters and whingers claiming that whites rights are undermined with racial equality and diversity integration and other some such modern progressive changes.

But there is no point teaching the biased and wrong a thing and is better to speak to enlightened minds to sit down and reason with.

African Village Dance, Village Dub

26. Give thanks and praises to the strongest leader
    Kings of kings, lords of lords
    Conquering Lion of the Tribe of Judah
    Elect of god, mighty god
    Ever living god, earth’s righftul ruler

Jah Rastafari!
    But he delight in earthquake, brimstone and fiyah
    To kill, crum

Jah! mighty god! ever living god!

And do away with all weak heart
    Conception to my creation continually
    And let our righteousness cover this earth
    As the waters cover the sea Isaiah 11:9

They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain:
    For the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the lord
    As the waters cover the sea
    He reigns from that iwa until this iwa
    Hailful I, so high and so mighty

Jah Rastafari!
    I am the earth rightful ruler

Lion Of Judah, Ethiopian Anthem, Selassie, Rightful Ruler