Submitted by Kammie Holder

I have developed a new talent of songwriter, architect and, singer thanks to my AI assistant, Beryl. The below email was written with the assistance of Beryl who I pay a salary of $98 BDS monthly. So named Beryl and in the image of my late maternal grandmother as a tribute. We can bury our heads in the sand or declare an urgency of purpose.  How prepared are our school children to the exponential change taking place in the job market and competing with AI for jobs?  

The rapid advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) have the potential to drastically reshape various sectors, making traditional roles and curricula increasingly irrelevant. In Barbados, where the pace of technological adoption is slower, the impact of exponential changes in agentic AI every three months could lead to significant disruptions. This essay explores how AI will affect the current school curriculum and jobs such as personal assistants, messengers, postmen, soloists, songwriters, auditors, lawyers, judges, magistrates, arbitrators, arbiters, recording secretaries, prison officers, bus drivers, taxi drivers, and teachers, as well as how Barbados might cope with these changes.

Firstly, the traditional school curriculum in Barbados, much like in other countries, is based on rote learning and standardized testing. However, AI’s capabilities in data processing, personalized learning, and adaptive teaching methods far surpass human abilities. AI-driven educational tools can tailor learning experiences to individual student needs, preferences, and pace. This personalized approach not only enhances learning outcomes but also renders the one-size-fits-all curriculum obsolete. Students can access a wealth of information and resources through AI-powered platforms, making traditional textbooks and classroom lectures less relevant. Consequently, the current school curriculum must evolve to integrate AI technologies and focus on developing critical thinking, creativity, and problem-solving skills that AI cannot replicate.

In the job market, AI poses a significant threat to various roles. Personal assistants, messengers, and postmen are among the most vulnerable. AI-powered virtual assistants can efficiently handle tasks such as scheduling appointments, managing emails, and providing reminders, surpassing human capabilities. Automated delivery systems and drones are set to replace traditional messenger and postal services, reducing the demand for human labor in these areas.

In the creative arts, AI is making remarkable progress. AI algorithms can compose music, write lyrics, and even perform songs with proficiency. Soloists, songwriters, and recording secretaries may find their roles diminishing as AI-generated content becomes more prevalent. While human creativity and emotional expression remain unique, the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of AI-generated content make it an attractive option for the entertainment industry.

Professional roles such as auditors, lawyers, judges, magistrates, arbitrators, and arbiters are also at risk. AI systems can process vast amounts of data, identify patterns, and provide insights more accurately and quickly than humans. Legal research, document review, and even some decision-making processes can be automated, reducing the need for human professionals in these fields.

In transportation, the advent of autonomous vehicles poses a threat to bus drivers and taxi drivers. AI-driven vehicles can operate more safely and efficiently, potentially reducing the demand for human drivers. Similarly, prison officers may find their roles evolving as AI-powered surveillance and monitoring systems enhance security and manage inmate behavior more effectively.

Teachers, traditionally seen as irreplaceable, also face challenges from AI. AI-driven educational platforms can deliver personalized lessons, provide instant feedback, and track student progress more effectively than human teachers. While the human element of teaching, such as empathy and mentorship, is irreplaceable, the role of teachers is likely to shift towards facilitating and guiding AI-powered learning rather than delivering content. This shift will require educators to adapt to new technologies and focus on nurturing skills that AI cannot replicate.

As Barbados tends to follow rather than lead in technological adoption, the country may face significant challenges in coping with job losses and the transition to an AI and STEM-driven curriculum. To address these challenges, Barbados must prioritize workforce retraining and upskilling programs to help individuals adapt to new roles in an AI-driven economy. Additionally, the education system must be revamped to emphasize STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) subjects, as well as critical thinking, creativity, and emotional intelligence.

In conclusion, the exponential advancements in agentic AI are set to make the current school curriculum and various job roles increasingly irrelevant in Barbados. The country must proactively embrace AI technologies, invest in education and workforce development, and focus on skills that AI cannot replicate to ensure a smooth transition to an AI-driven future. By doing so, Barbados can mitigate the negative impacts of job losses and capitalize on the opportunities presented by AI.

13 responses to “Daphne my personal ‘AI Assistant’”

1. Whether we like it or not, change (AI) is moving at a rapid rate. Where does it sit in our planning?

https://youtu.be/wavLFu0H2xI?si=uQMSVIiY_ebBCDNj

2. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

I WARNED THAT 2025 WILL BE A DECISIVE YEAR IN HUMAN HISTORY – AS THE WORDS OF THE ANCIENT PROPHETS EMBELLISHED BY THE VIBRATO VOICES CRYIN’ IN THIS POSTMODERN WILDERNESS THAT ARE STILL NOT BEING HEARD

#ArtificialIntelligence #Cryptocurrencies & the concomitant consummatory concatenation in the (de)confining space of a 21st century “HYPER-REALITY DYSTOPIAN WORLD” can result in only #OneOutcome – “THE FULFILLMENT OF REVELATION, CHAPTER 18”!!!

If our “TRUST” is in “MAN”…

If our “TRUST” is in “DOLLARS” (with no “SENSE” abbreviating the “MADNESS”)…

If our “TRUST” is in “HORSES” & “CHARIOTS” (modern-day “TIN gods”)

If our “TRUST” is in “SCIENCE” & the (“RECKLESS, FRAGILE, MACHINATIONS” of feeble malefic midgets)…

If our “TRUST” is in “ONLY” what we can see – “THEN TRULY ALL HOPE IS LOST”!!!

3. People see madness &/or stupidity in Trump & Musk gutting of Federal government but these guys are being strategic. For example closure of the Department of Education would allow them to introduce AI and roll out some of the measures mentioned by Mr. Holder’s AI. But the hidden benefit to billionaires is that they will own the AI platform. America will never be rid of the control of these two guys & by extension select billionaires.
    Our slow response in Barbados to AI change and dominance will continue to result in increasing crime as more customer service people lose jobs. Expect AI measures to control crime. Don’t quite believe we’ll enjoy the same level of control of this country as we do now & that AI governmental changes will be mitigated by unspoken objectives.

4. Trump is using AI to scrape the internet and identify all people who supported Palestine and protested against the Apartheid State of Israel during the bombing and killing of 100 1000 innocent civillians

His Fred Trump father was arrested during a Ku Klux Klan (KKK) rally in New York City in 1927, so you don’t have to be psychic to guess which side he was on during matters such as Civil Rights in 60s or dismantling Apartheid in South Africa in late 80s.

In 1989 Trump called 5 youths who were arrested for the rape of a white woman in Central Park as animals, when it later turned out they were innocent and framed by NY’s finest he refused to apologise. In 1989 Mandela was in Jail, Apartheid in South Africa was still present although it was hurting economically from worldwide sanctions, boycotts and protests.

Yo! MTV Raps had just started and eventually killed Rock Music dead.

Soundsystem Culture.. continued
    Culture is about the people not history or old buildings and is always changing with each generation of youths as society slowly becomes more progressive diverse and inclusive.

Black people will still need to speak in cypher using stealth flying under the radar to drop bombs on racist minds hearts souls and bodies to triumph

I bomb atomically, Socrates’ philosophies and hypotheses
    Can’t define how I be dropping these mockeries
    Lyrically perform armed robbery
    Flee with the lottery, possibly they spotted me

5. AI is HIGHLY over-rated!
    What we are ACTUALLY talking about – is shiite on steroids.
    It SHOULD really be called SS

‘AI’ is simply a methodology of VERY QUICKLY leveraging the enormous volumes of information that has been accumulated by mankind – particularly over the past few decades.
    This is possible because of impressive advances in engineering – particularly telecommunications and computer technologies, that enable immediate access to information, TO ALMOST ANYONE, ..practically instantly, ..and in a VERY focussed format.

UNFORTUNATELY, practically EVERYTHING that we have accumulated has been conceptualized around the albino-centric mentality of selfish GREED and POWER,
    …and the OVERWHELMING RESULTS have been pathetic at best…

Indeed the ONLY REAL ‘POSITIVES’ – have been the phenominal INCREASE in the number of WEALTHY INDIVIDUALS, and in the INCREASING percentage of the world’s wealth that these ’successful’ persons have amassed.

EVERYTHING ELSE is shiite!!
    The poor are now poorer – with VERY FEW exceptions..
    The poor now own LESS of the global pie – while the top 1% own EVEN MORE..
    We have had CONSTANT ridiculous WARS and conflicts for the MOST STUPID reasons
    The Global Climate has been desciminated by GREED on steroids
    Hate has become a SUCCESSFUL political policy. One that launched Trump into office
    …and the lithany of woes can go on and on..

Now take all this ‘KNOWLEDGE’ – that led us to our PRESENT…
    – make it available to Tom, Donald and Auntie MaM on the fly…

….and this is something to CELEBRATE..???

Wunna people need GLASSES yuh..!!
    Our asses are DOOMED…
    …and AI (SS) will only ENSURE that it happens SOONER – rather than later..

What we REALLY NEED is a DIFFERENT ‘A.I.’
    ALTERNATIVE Intelligence –
    Now THAT NEEDED ‘AI’ can be summarized in two simple statements….
    A – Love God with all our hearts
    B – Love our Neighbors – as we love ourselves.
    …and has LONG been explained as the GURANTEED path to utopia…

But wunna TOO love forbidden fruit…

6. @Bush Tea

AI is much more than a compiler of data.

7. Kammie Holder Avatar

Yesterday China unveiled Manus an opnesource AI bot and today announced a Quantum Computer 1 million times faster than Google Quantum Computer..

Continue to bury our heads in denial while exponential change is on steriods. The Labor economy is on its way out to be replaced by the
    Economy.

And why would a company pay an intellectual $30,000 a month when it can get a Corporate AI Assistant for free?

8. Kammie Holder Avatar

AI as personal assistants will be the norm for individuals and every household will have AI just as high speed internet access. Many lonely persons in Japan and UK are have romantic AI companions as they have had no luck with human romance.

9. @Bushie
    While it could be considered shite on steroids it is shite that will be gobbled up and made a standard feature of our lives.

David and Kammie are right, the pace of its growth is unbelievable.

In terms of B’dos we will be behind as we usually are. Look, can’t even get a lil piece of education transform, reform or perform. We computers getting hack and getting a drivers license print is like pulling teet. What AI what. lol

Just observing

10. AI=GIGO
    Garbage In Garbage Out
    An AI app could put BU comments to music with song lyrics like Duopoly Karma End of World Steel Houses Give Me the Vote and Watch me on repeat for hours

11. If students use AI in their submissions, surely teachers can use AI in their correction.

A student can thus be given multiple times the normal number of assignments and they can all be corrected in short order.

To use the AI to work on a given assignment the student has to know how to use AI and how to employ it in the solution of a given assignment.

These are skills to be learned and mastering them has to bevvaluable.

As a final test for a passing grade the student can sit in front of an AI instructor and pass or fail an exam set and marked by AI.

The exam can be tailored to fit the student’s strengths or weaknesses and unfold according to how questions are answered with no one student getting the same exam as the other.

In theory, we should get far more able students, individually tested and certified.

…. and of course, some mental wrecks given the volume of work that can be covered!!

But the top dogs who emerge will be real good.

12. There was a young man I knew when we were at UWI together with whom I felt some chemistry. He never made a move and I wasn’t about to, and so nothing ever happened between us. He later married and we would run into each other from time to time and exchange pleasantries. He was quite happy for a few years. It seemed his wife was very agreeable.

Until one day we ran into each other on Broad Street. “How are you doing?” I asked, expecting the usual placcid response. But instead, out flew an astonishing diatribe of wifey woes – his wife had no desires of her own, not even in what they would have for dinner, what movie they would see, what places they would visit for their holiday, NOTHING. Her reply would always be, ” I don’t really care. What do YOU want?”

In short, she had no personality of her own, no purpose outside of pleasing him. She was like a robot, programmed to serve him. After the initial euphoria of having his every wish fulfilled without resistance, he was BORED.

“Isn’t that why you married her though?” I asked. (In my head I was really asking, “So, is that why you never made a move on me?” I was always quite a handful, full of opinions.)

His sheepish look was a response to both questions, spoken and unspoken.

I have always found perfection boring. I have always wondered if heaven wouldn’t be boring. I have always noticed how euphoric I would feel the day after overcoming some challenge, averting some disaster, some injury or illness. It is the uncertainty, the possibility of failure, the fact that one has made it through a tough time that makes life so interesting.

No AI companion can replace a human mate. That should be the least of our worries. We will always need humans when emotions are a factor. We need REALNESS.

In the same way, AI movies, songs, art etc. cannot touch our souls, because AI systems can have no soul. They will be a novelty, holding interest for a very short while. We humans need that soul to soul connection.

So……. I have no fear for my son’s future in that regard.

However, there are some careers and jobs that are in danger, and obviously, we need to prepare for that.

Still, I fear a total AI takeover about as much as I fear World War 3, or nuclear war. That is, not at all, simply because I don’t believe the possible button pushers wish to commit suicide. This is why possessing nuclear weapons is seen as a deterrent.

Why don’t I fear a total AI takeover? Because…..if we don’t have any jobs, then we won’t have any money. And if we don’t have any money, who is going to buy the billionaire businessmen’s goods and services????????

There is only one possible catastrophe that troubles my sleep. That happens to be CLIMATE CHANGE.

Because the billionaires will feel that they can physically protect themselves from the effects of that.