Veteran journalist David Ellis hosted an interesting program yesterday where the focus was on the small business sector. A link to the program is available on Starcom’s website available for anyone who missed the program. Dr. Lynette Holder, head of the Small Business Association (SMA) was his guest

During the many constructive exchanges between Holder and Ellis there was that moment Holder shared the interesting revelation she agreed with some of President Donald Trump proposed policies. She identified his executive order proclaiming two biological sexes, male and female as one, as one. Included in the order was the discontinuation of DEI programs by government.

Across the country, ideologues who deny the biological reality of sex have increasingly used legal and other socially coercive means to permit men to self-identify as women and gain access to intimate single-sex spaces and activities designed for women, from women’s domestic abuse shelters to women’s workplace showers.  This is wrong.  Efforts to eradicate the biological reality of sex fundamentally attack women by depriving them of their dignity, safety, and well-being.  The erasure of sex in language and policy has a corrosive impact not just on women but on the validity of the entire American system.  Basing Federal policy on truth is critical to scientific inquiry, public safety, morale, and trust in government itself – snippet from Trump’s Executive Order

The exchange piqued the interest because there was the opportunity to ask Holder a follow up question. Doesn’t it logically follow that if there is a biological reality there are only two sexes, male and female – is it also fair to conclude that hetreosexual behaviour should be the normal? The blogmaster is aware of the emergence of ‘intersex variations‘ which has gained currency in recent years to complicate the business of mankind.

Barbados understandably has been swept along by a global momentum fuelled by the DEI and LGBTQ movement. The blogmaster has no objection to laws that were repealed locally in 2022 to decriminalised same sex activity for obvious reasons. However there is a question to be answered whether the policies of government align with public concerns on the matter of the best approach to fomenting our national sexuality.

Without being controversial there is the suggestion from BU that Prime Minister Mottley is the ideal person lead a conversation on national sexuality. It is no secret Mottley’s sexual preference has been whispered about in nooks and crannies for years in Barbados. Although there is the view that leaders of a country have no obligation to share sexual preferences, there is the view that here is the opportunity for Mottley to lead on this issue. We recall at the time when the late prime minister David Thompson was ill there was a conversation about whether his health status should be shared with the public. Is it unreasonable if we want to nurture a wholesome society that all players in civil society actors should shed the cloak of hypocrisy?

Of course this is wishful thinking because the conservative nature of Barbados society would no doubt have a negative impact on her political career. Also with the return of Trump to the White House an aggressive LGBTQ and DEI local agenda will doom Barbados to a global wilderness.

A small nation that dares to walk alone may stumble, but will never be lost someone said.

18 responses to “Mottley’s silence”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

“AND GOD MADE THEM BOTH* – MaleAndFemale”

THIS IS NOT ABOUT TRUMP OR ANYONE ELSE!!!

#ThisIsTheCreator who has made a #DivineMandate regardless of what any human being says!!!

If folks want to make “GENDERIZATION” a philosophical strand – “IT IS WHAT IT IS”!!!

The “DNA MECHANICS” does not change with a breath of hot air or a stroke of a sharpie!!!

IF GOD SAID IT – WHAT IRREFUTABILITY CAN EXIST OUTSIDE OF A CREATIVE PROCESS

#LetTheJokeBeUponUs

2. Barbados is merely a colonial outpost of the United States. So however, whichever, political winds blow therefrom shall find ample space within the sails of local politics, across the board.

More fundamentally, it’s unsurprising that given the magnitude of this historical moment people like David Ellis, the so-called doyen of local media, Lynette Holder and the writer, would choose an issue which under Donald Drumpf would not be of moment.

Even more inopportune is the call for a Mottley to pretend to have something to say against Drumpf’s proposed and radically transformed American domestic policies as they relate diversity, equity and inclusion. An acronym, well sounding but dangerously targeted only to a particular set of activities.

For at a time when we’ve just had one black swan event. And with a series of others to follow in quick succession, we would have thought that a prime minister’s time would have been better spent, for example, either dealing with a broader tech bubble likely to burst soon…….

Or the bursting of the two trillion to four trillion dollar commercial real estate bubble coming within twelve to eighteen months and for which not even the once again freebies from the Federal Reserve to American oligarchs will be able to prevent economy-wide contagion. These are the gulf force winds heading Barbados’ way!

A black swan event, or a series of them, are within the near future as ordered by the Obeah Man operating down there sew by the waterhole. And made unavoidable given the efforts in Washington to radically further concentrate the resources power of the administrative state into fewer and fewer hands of fascist or oligarchs.

These and the now impossible strategies to shield the country are what any PM of Barbados should have front of mind, not poooookey and doggy business!

3. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHY MODERN WESTERN SOCIETIES RESEMBLE SODOM

The destruction of Sodom is a story from the Bible, specifically found in the Book of Genesis (chapters 18-19). According to the Biblical narrative, Sodom, along with its neighbouring city Gomorrah, was destroyed by God as a punishment for the wickedness and sinfulness of its inhabitants. The exact nature of their sins is a subject of interpretation, but several key themes emerge from the text:

Its Moral Depravity and Injustice:

The people of Sodom are depicted as deeply immoral and unjust. Ezekiel 16:49-50 mentions that the sins of Sodom included pride, gluttony, laziness, and neglect of the poor and needy, while also engaging in detestable acts…

Lack of Hospitality and Violence:

In Genesis 19, the men of Sodom surround Lot’s house and demand that he hand over his two male guests (who were actually angels) so they could sexually assault them. This act of hostility and violation of hospitality norms is often highlighted as a key reason for their destruction…

Rampant Sexual Immorality:

The story is frequently associated with sexual sin, particularly homosexual behaviour, due to the mob’s demand to have relations with Lot’s male guests. However, some scholars argue that the primary issue was the intent to commit rape and violate hospitality, rather than homosexuality itself…

Rejection of Divine Warning:

The destruction of Sodom also serves as a broader warning about the consequences of persistent sin and rejection of God’s ways. Despite the presence of righteous individuals like Abraham and Lot, the city as a whole was deemed irredeemable…

Ultimately, the destruction of Sodom is portrayed as an act of divine judgment against a society that had become thoroughly corrupt and unrepentant. The story is often used in religious teachings as a cautionary tale about the consequences of sin and the importance of righteousness…

#ChooseLIFE*

4. Here is a real nice story about God you will love.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/caNtBzaFTjk

5. Russel Vough, is maybe the most dangerous man in the fascist, Donald Drumpf, regime.

Not that Drumpf himself does not far exceed all such tolerable limits. However, Vough will be the person in the budgetary engine room making flesh of Drumpf’s faux greatness of America again 2.0 and securing its spectaculer collapse, having so failed the first time around to reteieve such a nonexistent notion.

Certainly, it should have become clear by now that Drumpf and his gang of thugs primarily intend, not to govern as is normally understood, but to embark on the demolition of what social improvements remain, the social welfare systems which predominantly or numerically help the poor Whites who overwhelmingly voted for Drumpf, the social welfare system a pension scheme paid for by Americans, while redirecting such resources to fascists, Hitler saluting people, like Elon Musk.

We’ll note that the big ancholata in the room, the 1.5 trillion dollar military budget, which already includes masses of pork for the oligarchs will not be touched, given all its starkling inefficientcies. Indeed, Drumpt intends on increasing it “bigly”.

Again we see the hideous past of class colaboration between Whites raising its ugly head in the election of Drumpf in another counter revolution against the minimalist progress made over centuries. Per usual Drumpf has also mustered the support of a small section of Black
    uncle Toms. Images of the earlier counter revolutions of 1776 and that of 1836 immediately come to mind, from the writings of the great Gerald Horne.

6. Values can’t be taught, only demonstrated

This article was written and submitted by Peter Laurie, a former head of the Barbados Foreign Service and author of several books. We can’t make head or tail of the violence that is going on in our country so we flounder about looking for answers and eventually settle on values. Ah yes, if parents and teachers would only instil proper values in our youth they would grow up to be law-abiding citizens.

Well, the problem is that values can’t be taught; they can only be demonstrated. Any schoolchild will tell you that the teachers who most impress and influence them are not those who pontificate, preach, and punish, but those who show love, patient understanding, and empathy for the children in their care.

I speak from experience. I was raised by a single mother. Our dad drowned when I was three: his body swept out to sea, never to be found. Mum never remarried. I don’t know if she hoped dad would return someday. She worked at clerical jobs the rest of her life while raising four children.

Refuge for battered wives

Because our mother was a young widow, she had become a beacon for troubled and abused women. She was a sympathetic listener and a practical person. Short on talk, but quick on solutions. So our home eventually became a refuge for battered wives. In the middle of the night, a banging on the front door would awaken us. My brother and I would stumble sleepily out of our bedrooms to see our mother helping a sobbing woman into the kitchen, her eyes black and blue, her lips swollen and bleeding.

Our mother would say to us: “Just go back to bed.”

Occasionally, we would be asked to get some alcohol, cotton wool, plasters and other first aid our mother kept in a medicine chest in her room. She would spend the rest of the night patching up the woman, but mostly just feeding her coffee and aspirin and listening to her pain. One of us would be turfed out of our bedroom and the woman bedded down for what remained of the early morning. Then, after two hours of sleep, our mother would shower, get dressed, and walk the mile and a half to the office where she worked.

One night, we saw the nononsense side of our mother. She always slept with a .32 revolver under her pillow (that’s a whole other story). After one brutalised hysterical woman had arrived in a taxi, her drunken husband followed her and burst into the house demanding his wife. My mother whipped out the revolver and backed him down the front steps. In like a lion, out like a lamb.

However clever we thought we were, our mother was always one step ahead of us. This was in the days when a community helped a single mother raise a child.

There was one routine she never deviated from. Every evening at seven, we would have to sit at the table with her for dinner. My brother and I, eager to get back outside during the vacations, would bolt our food. To no avail. We would not be excused until she had finished. She chewed each mouthful 33 times, as we listened in agony to the laughter of our friends playing outside.

The opening salvo was always the same: “So what did you boys do today?”

Our unvarying response: ‘Nothing, mum.” “Oh, really? Well, someone told me they saw you walking down Bay Street barefoot. Now, how many times have I told you that you may run about barefoot in the neighbourhood or on the beach or pasture, but always wear shoes when going on the public road? I don’t want to hear about this again, okay?” “Yes, mum.”

Today’s ‘neighbourhood watches’ and cyber surveillance are nothing compared with the old-time community of ever-watchful mothers, though at the time my brother and I thought of them as malicious busybodies.

Our mother, an Anglican, never went to church, although she ensured that her four children were confirmed in the faith. She did not lecture or preach to us. She never laid a hand on any of us. She never had to. Her quiet disapproval and disappointment at any untoward behaviour on our part was enough punishment.

The values we learnt from her were her courage in the face of adversity and the kindness and compassion with which she treated everyone, regardless of colour or class.

7. Homeless LGBTQ youth a global crisis

Homelessness among lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) youth is a plight that affects members of the marginalised community across the globe, even children as young as ten years old.

According to a study conducted by Salvadorian researcher and social advocate Hugo Renderos, many of the homeless LGBTQ youth are cast out of their homes and rejected by their family due to their sexual orientation.

“During my studies and my interviews I encountered individuals that are as young as eight, nine and ten years old . . . . They have all different types of issues and they have been marginalised. We are talking from the Americas, Canada, US, all the way to Panama.

“Can you imagine my child being out in the street or me telling them, ‘No, you cannot come in here? You are going to be a man or you are going to be a woman and if you don’t like it you can go out?’ There are people that do that and it’s very unfortunate,” he said.

Describing it as an ongoing global crisis in the 21st century, Renderos gathered his research through his travels in the United States, Canada, Nicaragua, El Salvador and Brazil, among other countries. His encounters with these youth inspired his study which addresses the LGBTQ social movement and the homelessness epidemic.

Many projects

“There have been many projects that have been implemented on this issue of homelessness, but if we put together homelessness and LGBT, it can be even more marginalising because these individuals are seen as misfits or as individuals that do not belong in society.

“Throughout the Americas – Central and South America – people are very conservative, religiouswise and otherwise as well. With Catholicism, which is very strong in this region, the homeless youth encounter various different issues with discrimination, marginalisation and prejudices. One, because they are homeless and then because of their sexual orientation and preferences,” he added.

While Renderos’ study is still ongoing, the social advocate shared his findings on Friday during a lecture held at the Faculty of Social Science at the University of West Indies Cave Hill Campus, Cave Hill, St Michael.

The presentation formed part of the faculty’s Cross Talk series, which provides a platform to connect diverse academic, professional and cultural perspectives.

Renderos’ main case study centred on the South American nation of Brazil, which records 40 million unhoused people among its population of 211 million. He mentioned that within the predominately Catholic nation, many individuals are also cast out from their homes by family members who reject their sexual orientation.

Along his travels, he encountered a grassroots organisation known as Casa One, a group of LGBTQ youth from Brazil who banded together and approached non-governmental organisations, effectively funding and establishing a homeless shelter for LGBTQ youth. Expanding their focus, they came to the appropriate organisations that cater to the homeless, mental health issues and different non-traditional school systems. “Brazil is poor. Not even the US, Canada have been able to do this, but Brazil did. So, as you can see, the marginalised, the impoverished, they do have a lot to offer and they can make a good contribution to society. It’s only a matter of giving them the opportunity,” he said. Renderos’ research into homelessness was inspired by his own upbringing in a poverty-stricken neighbourhood in El Salvador, where he lived in dilapidated housing at a young age.

“I advocate for individuals such as LGBT, homelessness, drug addiction and gang members because they are human beings and for various reasons they fall into these situations. I’ve been through a lot of what my subjects have been through when I conduct my studies. As I saw these people, basically children, I decided to bring awareness through my writings and teachings.

“It’s very easy for us to judge these individuals and say you’re lazy, you don’t wish to work, you don’t want to work . . . or say that you can get a job easily. It is easy to say that but there are hidden elements, issues and factors that these individuals are also suffering from.

“They deal with depression, anxiety and mental health. They deal with lack of access to education, health care, employment, housing, so many other issues that it’s very easy to judge and not see this,” he added.

As he continues his research, Renderos is aiming to provide more data and information that would shed more light on the plight of LBGTQ youth who fall into homelessness. (JRN)

8. @David This is one of the most ridiculous things I have read all week, and I have read a lot. There is no such thing as a “national sexuality” since sexuality is a highly personal matter. We don’t even know the sexuality of the majority of people with whom we interact on a daily basis.
    Please write something that makes sense.

9. @General

You are entitled to your opinion. Note the concept of national sexuality does not originate with the blogmaster.

10. @David “…our national sexuality…”

Dear David: I am three score and ten and more but I don’t understand what national sexuality is. Will you please educate me about this mysterious “fact of life”

11. “National sexuality” OBVIOUSLY refers to the moral, and especially the LEGAL , framework that defines a country’s OFFICIAL stance on matters of sexuality.

Steupsss…
    ..so some countries allow marraige to children..
    ..some countries will jail your donkey for bulling..
    ..while others will jail your donkey for openly criticising bulling..
    ..in some countries, females have to HUSH their donkeys, and walk 10 steps behind..
    ..in others, females run things.. and the ‘men’ have no balls..

So ’National Sexuality’ is the formal educational scheme that brain washes children (and gullible adults) into accepting whatever shiite the ‘powers that be’ have adopted ….OR ARE BEING PREPARED TO ACCEPT….

So do you…
    …Understand the Barbados school surveys now..?
    .. understand why the old teachers had to be EXCLUDED?
    …understand why Brassbados can suddenly get NUFF loans & upgrades…?
    … and why ‘our’ voice is so welcomed in certain quarters since 2018..?

SMH…
    Cuhdear …change back to ‘Simple Simon’ nuh…!

@ Terence B
    Boss….
    Why you don’t write one of your PhD theses fuh these people ‘bout the beast with two horns ‘like a lamb’ from Revelation and Daniel nuh..?
    YOU of all people MUST know that this BEAST refers to the most powerful country that EVER existed – and that the two HARMLESS LOOKING HORNS referred to (and used to gore opponents) are the ‘World Bank’ and the ‘IMF’ …our current bosses and overseers..currently GORING our donkeys…

No wonder Brassbados is being used to ‘bench test’ the lotta mass control schemes that they are fine tuning… BBland, …the perfect ’Pilot Project’ for global control…

What a place…
    What a time…

12. number one.

13. There is no “national” or “religious” sexuality for race, creed or caste
    as there is individual sexuality for every individual that comprises the group

The LGBTQ movement has had no effect on my life
    Rightwing people who speak out about the issues are cancelled by vocal protests
    but so what they should stop provoking the reactions

I have never seen a transsexual transgender person in my life except on TV
    (and in Bugis Street in Singapore as a tourist)
    Women’s toilets have separate cubicles so it does not matter if toilets are shared

14. You should be ‘Simple Simon II’….

15. “You should be ‘Simple Simon II’….”

You should be Victorian
    Your African sexuality has been replaced with repression (religion + conservatism)

16. The Deputy.

” The road will be constructed using roller-compacted concrete (RCC) by Rock Hard Cement ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2025/02/06/decades-long-wait-ends-as-cottage-vale-road-upgrade-begins/