I was surprised at the response to my first Red Alert Warning that contractors were using non-structural timber, that was also not treated for termites, in roofs of recently built houses in Barbados.

grenville phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

I expected contractors to continue installing non-structural termite-vulnerable timber in roofs, and they did. I also expected all hardware stores to continue advertising non-structural timber as structural termite-treated timber and selling it as such, and they did.

I expected homeowners, who are the main stakeholders in this matter since their families are at risk of homelessness, to retreat to their comfort strategy of hoping that this problem will go away by simply wishing it to be so, and they did. I also expected that no journalist in Barbados would investigate this matter to prompt the disinterested public to take this warning seriously, and none did.

ACT OF STUPIDITY.

I investigated how far back this contagion spread and found that it went back as far as 2014. This means that: every house built privately, every housing estate built by a developer, every housing estate built by the Government, and every multi-million-dollar villa, hotel, church and commercial building built since 2014 likely used non-structural timber that was not treated for termites.

Regardless of how much a person paid for the property, if it was built during and after 2014, it is likely a sub-standard building waiting to be eaten by termites and destroyed by a weak hurricane. If it is damaged by termites, then the property owner has the fortuitous opportunity to replace the roof’s timber frame before the roof and the building’s contents are lost during a hurricane.

If the building is damaged by a hurricane, then those who want to absolve themselves from blame will likely claim that it was an Act of God. The available evidence suggests that it was an act of hardware stores selling non-structural timber not treated for termites to contractors, and the Government not holding anyone accountable especially after this practice was publicly exposed.

CLIMATE CHANGE.

What was surprising was the Government’s response. We are internationally promoting our aim of adapting to the harmful effects of climate change. However, continuing to build and regulate the building of sub-standard houses is entirely inconsistent with this aim.

We are now intentionally inserting proverbial links of straw in chains of iron. What do we possibly hope to gain by purposefully building weak and vulnerable houses in Barbados? I have no idea.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

19 responses to “Links of Straw in Chains of Iron”

1. Bushie is trying to grasp the point of this particular missive Grenville.

Like you, we ALL knew that nothing would change just because a qualified Bajan pointed out a flaw that exposed the country to possible catastrophic losses -BUT WHICH MAY HIT THE POCKETS OF SELECT SEGMENTS of our society.

Besides, Government seems intent on throwing money at building houses. Do you think they will institute measures to make that even MORE onerous – when they can’t even get through using the non-structural materials, and operating without ANY independent checks and balances right now?

If you are saying that any brass bowl who brought wood since 2014 – THINKING it to be “treated’ has been actually DECEIVED by the retailers, AND by the BNSI – whose role surely must be to provide some assurance that such claims by retailers are true, THEN LET US ASK THE BNSI DIRECTLY to respond.

Surely THEY cannot ignore a stalwart such as yourself…

No point asking the Minister.
    He just looks blank and repeats some shiite about ‘10,000 homes….’

2. Well, Bushie

If it’s shiiite bout straw and iron it must have something to do wid your shiiite book.

These ordinary fellows that you otherwise lionize are always talking nuff shiiite, determined to sound like a genuine brassbowl.

3. If what Grenville posits is correct how does the substandard materials affect valuation of properties? Is this something QSs taking into consideration in their assessment?

4. @ David

To say ALL houses built since 2014 were built with untreated wood is a false statement. I was involved with one for a family member and I can tell you treated lumber was used In all structural aspects of it.

Yes untreated wood was also purchase for boxing and other concrete works, but this is disposed of once the concrete has cured. No QS or Architect worth their salt would use untreated wood structurally. Nor would any recognised contractor or Bank inspector approve the use of it once a mortgage is involved. Yes hardwares with lumber yards sell both treated and untreated lumber, but both serve different purposes. Also any builder or person familar with construction can look at a 2×4 treated pine next to an untreated piece and tell it by sight as the colour and composition are different .

So tell Grenville I can carry him and show him at least 1 house built since 2014 that used only treated wood structurally. I therfore find his statement one made out of sensationalism and fear mongering as opposed to fact and reality.

Right I done Dey!

5. Once upon a time there were three little pigs. One pig built a house of straw while the second pig built his house with sticks. They built their houses very quickly and then sang and danced all day because they were lazy. The third little pig worked hard all day and built his house with bricks.

6. John A
    You should re-read Grenvillle’s previous post on this.
    He was not born yesterday.
    Bushie seems to recall that his KEY point was that WHAT IS NOW CALLED ‘treated wood’ is NO LONGER real real PRESSURE treated wood, but inferior HEAT treated instead.
    While it sounts equivalent to the un-initiated, he claims that it is NOT.

The retailers would not welcome such a disclosure..
    ..Nor would your relative now, but as GP11 suggest, there ARE sinister forces out there, who constantly CONSPIRE to keep certain types poor, broke and always begging…
    Especially since their Covid 19 master plan seems to have stalled…

7. Who is going to sue whom ?

8. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

WHILE IN THESE NOAHIC TIMES MEN ARE BUILDING EDIFICES OUT OF STRAW – BEWARE THAT THE SUDDEN DELUGE THAT IS COMING WILL SUDDENLY WIPES AWAY EVERYTHING IN SIGHT; FOR ONLY THAT WHICH IS MADE OF “GOPHER WOOD” WILL REMAIN, AS THIS IS THE TIME FOR MEN TO BUILD AN “ARK OF SAFETY”

The infallible words of Scripture “WARN” that – “By faith Noah, being “DIVINELY WARNED” of things not yet seen, moved with godly fear, prepared an ark for the saving of his household, by which he condemned the world and became heir of the righteousness which is according to faith.” (Heb. 11:7)

As Noah preached, “REBEL-ROUSED” & cajoled those “ANTEDILUVIAN BASTERDS” to turn from their wicked ways by pointing to the “ARK OF SAFETY”, so we also “WARN OTHERS” and point to “YESHUA MESSIAH” as their only hope 2 avoid “IMMINENT DESTRUCTION”!!!

“Therefore knowing the “TERROR” of the Lord, we persuade men…” (2 Cor. 5:11)

TAKE FROM THIS WHAT YOU WILL BUT IT IS COMING AS SURE AS DAY FOLLOWS NIGHT

#LosAngeles – “THE CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS” continues to burn although *MSM* has removed it from your TV screens & this is the “FATE” of the entire world not long from now!!!

YAHWEH* promised that HE* will not “DROWN THE WORLD AGAIN” but this time HE* will “BURN IT WITH A FERVENT HEAT”!!!

While we preoccupy self with foibles, side-line issues & the host of meaningless apertures – “EVERYTHING IS SET 2 GO 2 HELL IN A PANCART”!!!

The #AncientNoahicFlood was “GOD’S WAR” against a “BASTERD RACE OF DEPLOARBLES” who were “HELLBENT” on their own “SATANIC WAY” & the end-result is that they were all swept away in one swoop!!!

THIS TIME THE AGONY WILL BE PERSPICACIOUS AS THE EYE OF GOD WILL BURN ROOT & BRANCH

#BeWarned
    #EvenMuslimsSeeIt

9. It bothers me that I may appear as a fountain of negativity.
    I believe that only when we start being honest and having words and actions in agreement then we will see the island making positive progress. Before then, everything is wasted and worthless. To entertain the usual discussion is nonsense; self stimulating with worthless cliches.

10. @David (January 26, 2025 at 4:29 pm)

Quantity Surveyors normally work with Engineers and Architects who certify the quantity of work that is acceptable for payment. Therefore, while a Contractor may have constructed all of the walls, the Engineer may determine that only half of the walls were built properly and should be certified for payment.

If left on their own, Quantity Surveyors may make the fatal flaw of assuming that all of the work was done properly and certify all of it for payment. Since 2014, Quantity Surveyors employed by the Banks, the Government and Developers, but working on their own, have certified roof frames, comprising non-structural timber that is not treated for termites, for payment – when they should not have.

11. @John A (January 26, 2025 at 8:18 pm)

You and anyone else are welcome to identify any house built after 2014 that has a ceiling (where the rafters are unpainted) so that we may confirm whether structural timber treated for termites was used. I confirm my statement that I have, to-date, found none.

Further, I have not found any Pine in any hardware store in Barbados that is treated for termites. If you have found any then please identify the hardware store. If the hardware stores do not have it, the Contractors cannot buy it.

Finally, you are welcome to identify any house with a ceiling that was built in 2010, since I am still investigating how far back the contagion has spread.

12. Hants
    January 26, 2025 at 4:39 pm

an wen de hurricane come this year or next…..

https://nationnews.com/2025/01/26/world-bank-funding-available-if-hit-by-storm/

Don’t count on it.

The funding will no doubt come out of the American taxpayer for “Climate Change” and as we all know by now, dat dog ded, ded ded.”

Trump done wid dat.

The El Nino phase is in the process of passing into the La Nina phase so we can expect serious hurricanes later this year.

…. just the normal cycle.

13. Understood Grenville.

14. fuh true ?

15. John A:

You made several claims. It is time to verify them.

1. Where is this house you claim was built using termite treated timber?

2. What hardware stores are selling termite treated timbers?