If there was an imported beverage containing a fatal concentration of poison resulting in death, we may have four blame-options. We may blame: the store that sold the beverage, the person who drank the beverage, medical doctors who did not think it was their duty to warn the public, and the government for not banning the beverage. In this scenario, most of the blame should fall on the careless doctors – hence this warning.

I am issuing a RED ALERT WARNING that contractors are typically using timber that has not been treated for termites in the roofs of houses they build. All parties will likely dispute this. Contractors will likely claim they purchased termite-treated timber from hardware stores. Hardware store merchants will likely claim that they sell termite-treated timber to all contractors who request it. The Government will likely claim that all the houses they built used only termite treated timber. The facts follow.

THE FACTS.

In Barbados, I have not found: (a) any recently built house that used termite-treated timber, and (b) termite-treated timber in any of the major hardware stores.

Timber is sold with a stamp explaining the: (i) species, (ii) grade, (iii) treatment, and (iv) certifying body. A common structural timber specified in Barbados is Southern Yellow Pine (SYP) of Grade No.1 that is Kiln Dried (KD) to up to 19% moisture content and Pressure Treated (PT) against termites. The stamp for this timber may read: SYP No.1, KD19, PT.

Examining this stamp in recent roof rafters and major hardware stores reveals Heat Treated (HT) instead of Pressure Treated (PT). Heat treatment is used to improve the durability of timber, but offers little protection against termites. Further, the process of heating: (i) makes the timber more brittle, (ii) reduces the timber’s strength by up to 50% and (iii) makes nails and screws easier to pull out. For those reasons, Heat Treated (HT) pine is not recommended for structural uses – especially in hurricane-prone regions.

THE CONTAGION.

I do not know when the replacement of Pressure Treated timber with Heat Treated started, but I have been warning about contractors using timber not treated for termites in roofs for several years – without any response. What is known is that the replacement appears to be complete in Barbados and several Eastern Caribbean countries, and I do not know how far the contagion has spread across the Caribbean.

Having had over 12 deployments to Haiti following the 2010 earthquake, the only logical explanation I can offer for their poor building methods is that Haiti is deliberately kept vulnerable to earthquakes. The foreseen effect of replacing Pressure Treated timber with Heat Treated timber in the Caribbean is to keep Caribbean countries vulnerable to hurricanes.

THE BENEFICIARIES.

The main beneficiaries of this vulnerability are merchants who supply timber to replace roofs after each major storm. While contractors also benefit, I believe that they sincerely thought that they were purchasing termite-treated timber. I also believe that merchants sincerely thought that heat treated timber also protected against termites – which is what their managers confidently but wrongly explained to me.

The solution to this madness should be addressed at three levels: (i) the Government should restrict the use of heat treated timber to non-structural uses, (ii) hardware stores should properly label their non-pressure treated timber as not treated for termites, and (iii) contractors should only purchase pressure treated timber for structural uses.

SAVE YOURSELF.

The stealth introduction of Heat Treated (HT) timber into Barbados will certainly affect homeowners, who may find themselves homeless and injured after the next tropical storm. Therefore, they should start preparing now. It is to them whom I shall address directly for the remainder of this Red Alert.

If your rafters are unpainted (which is normal in houses with ceilings), look for the stamp. If it reads: SYP No.1, KD19, PT, you are fortunate. If it reads: SYP No.2 or No.3, then you should be very angry with your contractor who likely purchased non-structural timber on purpose.

MAKING WRONG THINGS RIGHT.

If it reads SYP No.1, KD19, HT, then you have termite delight. You should inform your contractor that you want the pressure-treated timber, which you already paid for, installed before the start of the 2025 hurricane season. You should allow the contractor and the hardware store to decide how they will make their wrong things right – at their own cost.

If you do not see any work started by February 2025, you should write both of them explaining that you will hold them both liable for: (i) any damage to your timbers from termites, (ii) any damage to your roof from tropical storms or hurricanes, and (iii) any damage to the contents of your house as a result of damage to your roof from termites or wind storms.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

90 responses to “Red Alert Warning – Termite Delight”

1. The difference between Ms. Mockley and Errol Barrow and Tom Adams is that she does not have the authority of a constitutional Parliament behind her!!

She is acting on her own!!

2. Even if Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition acquiesced to the foolishness EWB and Tom Adams did, the point is there was an opposition and there was a constitutional Parliament.

The conclusion has to be that B and D were and are the same, which we already know.

So, a vote for B is a vote for D and vice versa …. and both are a waste of time.

3. The only people on here with the simplest of common sense not to take the vaccine were GP and me.

Everybody else ran and got their pricks as ordered, incapable of thinking for themselves!!

Now we see there is a worldwide issue with heart health which sure looks like it is vaccine related.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/other/national-probe-into-deaths-of-nhs-heart-patients-as-scale-of-cardiology-crisis-revealed/ar-AA1vxPeB?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=DCTS&cvid=aa6f407105974cee8e7ddc1ff09ae549&ei=21

4. Let’s Pause for the Cause
    Maybe some Babylon Soundclash lyrics will help the Reparations call..

I get the call come in a the hall
    lion just a dub you in the hall

when I was a youth I used to go to school
    teacher just try to turn I a fool
    they never ever teach I of I history
    all these things that were so unnecessary

We can’t take no more of that
    No we can’t enough is enough

The whole world is in desperation
    as they cry out in this dispensation

Why are so many people are hungry when this world can feed itself
    and look how the profits from wars grows and grows

They fool we long enough they no fool we again

400 years it is the same kind of living
    Brutality hypocrisy same immorality

We can’t take no more of that

5. Covid also affects the heart, I read. So..

6. Dub,

Forget the reparations! Waste of time, energy and mind space.

7. Hants
    @December 9, 2024 at 2:40 pm

Nice?? They did not compact the concrete in the beam. Therefore, that concrete is both weak and porous leaving the steel reinforcement vulnerable to corrosion.

8. Donna:
    @December 9, 2024 at 2:41 pm

More misinformation. My Articles are published and are consistent.

You claimed that I asked you for proof – I did not.

On protection by the nuclear armed UK, I did make the point that such protection would certainly be lost. I explained that India was the first commonwealth country to lose that protection, but then developed its own nuclear weapons. We are unlikely to follow India’s republican self-protection example.

Ukraine wishes that they had a military alliance with NATO. We are now without a military alliance with a nuclear power – but we do have the RSS. We are now as vulnerable as Dominica was when their Bird Island was taken from them by Venezuela in this might-is-right world.

My articles on Nelson were published and the evidence was cited. If you wish to engage in an evidence-based discussion on Nelson or any other topic, you will find me a willing participant.

9. Donna

While we are on the subject of Nelson and facts, could you tell us if he really was against flogging with the Cat O Nine Tails and really claimed it made a good man bad and a bad man worser.

Did he ever say what effect it’s threat had on the rest of the crew on board and their willingness to follow orders and observe discipline?

10. Grenville

Relax!!!

We still have the treaty.

Until we get a properly constituted Parliament and it ratifies whatever Ms. Mockley has unilaterally foisted on us, the status quo prior to 2018 remains.

You may still live to see the referendum!!

Alot of bigup financiers will bawl for murder if a new Parliament decides to consider the loans undertaken and signed to by Ms. Mockley and Co as fraud.

11. Is there still hope?

12. My understanding is that pressure treating is used to force poisonous chemicals into the wood which serves to poison any termites that try to eat it. Could it be that new, international environmental laws and regulations are forcing a reduction in the availability of the pressure treatment option?

As a side note, I recollect a relative living in the UK told me over a year ago that as a matter of course they used to readily obtain long lasting wood for construction projects that was chemically treated to forestall rotting in the UK’s damp environment. However, that particular option is generally no longer available from UK lumber suppliers due to environmental laws that have forced the chemically treated, rot-resistant wood off the market. I think perhaps that there was an alternative, more environmentally friendly, anti-rot treated wood still available, but it was claimed in practice it did not stay rot-free nearly as long when compared compared to the original version.

And John, you can add GreenMonkey to your list of COVID-19, experimental vaccine refuseniks from day ONE. John wrote:

The only people on here with the simplest of common sense not to take the vaccine were GP and me.
    Everybody else ran and got their pricks as ordered, incapable of thinking for themselves!!

13. Re. my previous suggestion that perhaps environmental regulations are involved in reducing availability of pressure treated lumber. After checking with my relative in UK she confirmed that at one time in the UK they could get construction lumber pressure treated with chrome and at least one other substance (she couldn’t remember exactly what) to substantially reinforce the wood’s resistance to rotting. She claims their pressure treated wood worked like a charm at protecting their wood from rotting out. However, some years ago this type of pressure treatment was discontinued by the UK for environmental reasons, and now the only wood they can get suffers from rot much earlier than was the case with the pressure treated lumber.

14. You said what you said and I said what I said. I stand by my interpretations. I have no time to thrash out absurdities with you and John Knox, a man whose opinion of slavery in Barbados is that it was pleasant, and cordial and beneficial to all concerned, a perfect socialist system where the slaves were provided with everything they needed. A man who touted the ridiculous Two Thousand Mules as EVIDENCE of Trump’s 2020 win, the same “documentary” that De Souza has recently had to withdraw, is not to be taken seriously.

As someone else has already noted, you and he are two of a kind. And that is not good company! His “research” has led him to ridiculous conclusions, and yours has led you likewise. I place absolutely no value on your “evidence” . Historical research is best left to those who can properly evaluate sources, not amateurs. That comes from training, not dabbling. You should respect the scholarship of historians in their discipline if you want respect in yours.

But enough of centuries old history! To the recent past and present!

If you need proof of the neo-colonial relationship since independence between our former colonisers and ourselves, YOU have proven YOURSELF to be politically ignorant beyond belief, and would have been completely and embarrassingly out of your depth on the world stage. I cannot bear to imagine your speeches in forums such as the UN!

Thank whatever God (not the white one ☺️) that prevented us from making the mistake of sending you out there to hold hands and sing Kumbayah with the first architects and yet upholders of the white supremacist, United States of America led West!

I am off to further educate myself by listening to the professionals. I suggest you do the same. Start at the beginning!

P.S. The proof you asked for was from Dub, not from me. We are all in the discussion, you know. Do try to follow!

15. Dyed in the wool!

16. We are of the opinion that those who have transgressed against our race do not deserve any discourse. They, without shame, enjoy reminding us that they actually did us a favor. We must never join the white race in their efforts to sanitize slavery. It is their shame not ours. When they come with their lack of remorse , regarding slavery and the present day atrocities , they are continuing to against us ,we must not engage them. Simple as that !

17. Donna:

Given that you have consistently spread misinformation about me, it is likely that you are being untruthful about John Knox. Further, for you to remotely suggest that I would even think, let alone write, that slavery was pleasant is a sickening new low for you.

Again, I wrote 5 research articles on Nelson and cited my sources so that others could verify or challenge me on the evidence. You do not do that – despite me encouraging you to do so. Instead, you make baseless, wrong and typically insulting accusations, like the new ‘pleasant slavery’ slur – which you will likely repeat ad nauseum as fact. Please do better.

18. GreenMonkey
    December 10, 2024 at 2:28 am

And John, you can add GreenMonkey to your list of COVID-19, experimental vaccine refuseniks from day ONE. John wrote:

The only people on here with the simplest of common sense not to take the vaccine were GP and me.

Apologies GM you are so added!!

A whole three individuals able to exercise a little common sense.

Wonder if Donna had the sense to be one too!!

We all know Muhdear was so taken with all those pricks … hope she is a satisfied woman.

19. ” To control a people you must first control what they think about themselves and how they regard their history and culture. And when your conqueror makes you ashamed of your culture and your history, he needs no prison walls and no chains to hold you.”
    John Henrik Clarke

20. sometimes points made go over peoples heads and there is no understanding until there is understanding

The point made about the slave master relationship between whites / brits / europeans and black africans is that was the original relationship established between whites and blacks since slavery and colonialism and is still continued with white supremacy racism and latest version racism 2.0 labelled populism.

The point made about reparations was to make whites see the light and be ashamed of their culture and history and their wicked ways which are still rife.

We Run Things Lyrics
    [Intro]
    All manner of things, one time
    Me want-a shock out on this one
    How we rule, everything come after
    Ah-huh, listen

[Chorus]
    We run things, things no run we
    Anything we done, it haffi done properly

21. 555dubstreet @ December 11, 2024 at 12:23 pm

Those who feel inferior to another race need proper education that allows them to prosper. I do not think that Republicanism addressed that issue in any way. If you think it did, the please explain which post-Republic initiative addressed it better than any post-Independence initiative.

22. Legendary South London sound system operator Jah Shaka re-pressess his classic 1981 12″ debut, the mighty Revelation 18 “Get out… get out… get out… Babylon a burn…”.

What does Revelation 18:7 mean?
    This passage refers to “Babylon,” which seems to be a specific political and economic system. In chapter 17, “Babylon” was used in reference to a corrupt spiritual approach. Here, it’s a city, perhaps standing in symbolically for an entire empire. The voice from heaven, heard by John, recalled how Babylon had glorified herself. Like the builders of the Tower of Babel (Genesis 11), Babylon had attempted to make a name for herself. The beast wanted his empire to be the admiration and wonder of the whole world. Because Babylon had an exalted opinion of herself, she lavished luxuries on herself.

Today, those who feel they are the center of the universe and deserve everything they can lavish on themselves fail to heed Jesus’ warning that no one can serve God and money (Matthew 6:24). A life full of things but devoid of God is an empty life that is headed for an eternity full of suffering and remorse. Babylon, as a culture, is smug and complacent. She considers herself a queen who will never cease to be prosperous nor be deserted. However, she deceives herself and demonstrates the truth that “pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall” (Proverbs 16:18).

23. “The Department of Emergency Management (DEM) is looking for a few good buildings.

During a media briefing yesterday held at Parliament, director Kerry Hinds said they were appealing to anyone with an appropriate structure to volunteer it as a possible hurricane shelter.

“I would ask if there are any persons who are willing to volunteer their buildings as shelters, any churches or what not, to please contact the DEM or the Ministry of Education. We are always looking to include additional shelters on the list,” she said.”

24. @John December 10, 2024 at 6:49 pm “We all know Muhdear was so taken with all those pricks…hope she is a satisfied woman.”

I got 4 Covid19 vaccines. Satisfied with my decisions to do so. Healthy and happy and still able to do a full day’s work. May it to past 90 just like my dad. Like him walking, eating “ground food” and going to church most Sundays. The fellowship and being part of a community is I believe a good thing.

25. Ah! You ask, what has republicanism done for us? Rather, I would ask what it has taken from us! Why bother to oppose it? Why so invested in Nelson’s statue that you should attempt “five research papers”?????? Why feel compelled to “present a balanced view on republicanism”? What did you think we had to lose? Why are you requesting proof of our neo-colonial relationship with our former colonisers?

Forget reading between the lines! This is like connecting a child’s dot to dot! It’s as simple as one, two, three! You are not hard to see. The picture emerges…..and it is a coconut!

Separating one’s self from the “headship” of the enslavers of one’s ancestors should be a given. I remember the humiliation when, as a school child, I was forced to stand in the blazing sun, waiting to wave, like a simple black native, in honour of a descendant of my ancestors’ enslavers. As though she were greater than I! I turned my back then, and I am ecstatic that such will never be forced on any grandchild of mine. This image of ourselves bowing before a white monarch goes against the idea of ourselves as equal human beings! We are not obligated to honour a foreign monarch in such a manner.

One symbolic step forward!

It’s up to us to insist on other more practical steps. But………..I suggest that turning our eyes towards Africa as our TRUE
    motherland, flawed though the approach may be, is one positive step.

So again I ask – what have we lost by becoming a republic? Why should it have been an issue? Why was it an issue for YOU?

Enough said. I’m done.

26. Donna:

As I have repeatedly written, it is not that we became a republic that was the issue, it was that the promised consent was taken from us. Justifying someone taking consent just because you share the agenda of the abuser is a tragically short-sighted decision.

27. Mind the Gap
    The Gap between Mia and Grenville is wider than the minds imaginative power.
    While the sky may appear infinitely huge, the mind is even bigger than the sky.

Mia Mottley on Slavery, Poverty, George Floyd, Climate and the Future of the World

28. Do you not understand what reading between your lines or connecting the dots means??????

A pattern emerged and I think you’ll find that most people here saw it.

What you repeated said matters none! There is a Bajan saying – “Wuh yuh en seh sound more better!”

OUT!

29. @ The OG.

Tender brains were stuffed with English.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/12/13/exceptional-english-results-at-hc/

30. nextparty246
    December 12, 2024 at 8:52 pm

Donna:

As I have repeatedly written, it is not that we became a republic that was the issue, it was that the promised consent was taken from us.

But it has not been taken from us.

We remain as we were up to 2018.

No possibility exists to change the Constitution!!!!!

31. “In the Republic of Rwanda in 1994, CARICOM, Europe, Asia, America, and the United Nations just watched, as approximately 80,000 Rwandans were mercilessly tortured and murdered every day, for 100 days.
    After 800,000 of them had been killed, everyone simply said ‘sorry’. Such is the lot of the uninsured.”

OG report on the math

32. Should termites be the first concern?
    Can our building codes protect us from the types of weather we are experiencing?
    A few years ago, they have been relevant but the intensity of the wind may be beyond what we prepared for?

The wind will take care of the termites …….. and the roof.

33. @ David BU,

Will you be posting stories from NationNews ?

34. @ David BU,

“A Barbadian priest in England”

35. @Hants

Which stories are you referring?

36. Did you miss the Tudor story Boss?