The question being asked around town is what is up with Michael Lashley and the Thorne led Democratic Labour Party (DLP). Political pundits agree it is a legitimate question.

A DLP branch meeting was held last weekend and Michael Lashley, who is the 1st Vice President of the DLP did not address the meeting. Without looking at the numbers Lashley, despite the shellacking the DLP received at the polls in 2018 and 2022, remains a prominent and popular political figure in the St. Philip North constituency. It is reasonable to suggest he stands the best chance of ALL DLP candidates declared and undeclared to win a seat next time an election is called.

There has been no public position taken by the executive of the DLP to clarify the matter therefore the public is left to speculate. Managing public relations is something the DLP can improve upon, especially in the age of social media where information travels quickly. The silence from the DLP Executive would suggest there is more to the story.

Michael Lashley has been quiet on the issue so far, one senses he is playing a waiting game. During the DLP infighting his public utterances were noticeably guarded. On one occasion he created a public relations event by attempting to project himself as a peacekeeper at the height of the leadership struggle between Thorne and Yearwood, one suspects the objective was to broadcast to all and sundry that he is a credible actor in the DLP political cast.

All attempts to rebuild the DLP must convince a suspicious public the political fence has been mended and the party is united – relatively so. If the old guard from the ‘lost decade’ and others are to be jettisoned the question will be if the DLP has enough political capital to withstand the blowback. After two massive defeats at the polls and the internal leadership battle many are of the view there is no coming back for the DLP. What Thorne does not want is for loud political dissent to leak into the political hustings.

So far Thorne has been associating himself with issues of the day, it is what political oppositions do. A couple members of his team have commented publicly on a few issues, Dujon on education, Alvin Toppin in St. Lucy on brown water and Walters on the high gas price. It must be said however that the profile of members of the DLP Research and Policy Teams aka shadow cabinet, established by leader of the opposition Ralph Thorne in April has been low to invisible.

The DLP needs some help with its brand and whether a fan of Michael Lashley or not – the blogmaster is not a fan – there is no debating the fact he has the most political capital of all the DLP cast at the moment. For Thorne to ignore Lashley in the candidate election for St. Philip it would come at a significant political cost. The other side of the debate is if Michael Lashley is biding his time.

Will the real leaders please raise your hand!

14 responses to “Michael Lashley’s dark shadow”

1. Letter to the Editor penned by Michael Lashley.

Legal aid act needs amending

I have developed a passion for justice reform and the concept of access to justice and over the years, following my admission to the Barbados Bar Association, I have examined the role played by key stakeholders in criminal justice reform, and I have been constantly asking whether those concepts of justice reform and access to justice have been realised.

Can we say in modern-day Barbados whether a poor man from Merricks, Bayfield or Wellhouse, St Philip, to Crab Hill, St Lucy, has access to justice in pursuance of their fundamental rights?

Let us start by examining the role of our legal aid scheme in the context of criminal justice reform against the background of our guaranteed right of a lawyer under the Constitution of Barbados.

Hypothetically speaking, what recourse would pensioner Miss Barrow have if her son, who is over the age of 18 and unemployed, is arrested by the police on suspicion of murder. In this scenario the police arrived at her home at 3 a.m. and arrested her son, leaving Miss Barrow, who is impecunious, struggling to hire a defence lawyer to protect him while he is at the station.

She contacted a lawyer but she cannot afford to pay, so her son remains unrepresented at the police station all this time being questioned, interviewed under camera, invited to sign a police notebook and transferred from station to station by experienced and well-trained police officers.

Due to Miss Barrow’s inability to afford a lawyer, she was told by a neighbour to contact legal aid. She takes the advice, but to her dismay, she was informed that legal aid is not available at this critical stage where her son is facing the possibility of being charged with murder.

I have discovered that in the Cayman Islands and Tortola, upon arrest under suspicion of a serious criminal offence, that person has an automatic right to legal aid, thereby respecting the principle that a person under arrest and in police custody is entitled to the right to have a lawyer and to hold private communication with him.

In these jurisdictions, there is a system where there is a panel of lawyers funded by legal aid, and these lawyers are available and must be contacted by the investigating officer before any questioning or interviewing has started. Please note that the suspect also has a right to waive his rights to a lawyer during in-custody interrogation.

Constitutional rights

I am proposing that we adopt this approach in Barbados and make the necessary and important amendments to the legal aid legislation, formally known as the Community Legal Services Act, to make similar provisions within our criminal justice system. It is strange that our legal aid system only becomes available after the person has been charged and the person is subsequently remanded. In fact, sometimes the persons remain unrepresented for weeks and months after appearances at the Magistrates’ Court.

Such an amendment is extremely critical on both fronts simply because it would protect the ordinary citizen who is arrested by the state police to have his/her constitutional rights and freedom protected. Secondly, it would protect the State from any legal claims for breaches of constitutional rights with respect to a suspect while he is in custody.

If we are true advocates of access to justice, social justice and the equality of arms principle, we should robustly agitate for this wholesome amendment to our Community Legal Services Act to be done by the Attorney General forthwith. Should this be done, we would truly be respecting the constitutionally guaranteed principle of innocent before proven guilty. When we do this, it will allow for more transparency and accountability regarding suspects while in the custody of the police for serious crimes.

We can anticipate discussion on this being an additional cost, but can we put a cost on the pursuit of justice for the poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged?

I propose that we make the earlier mentioned panel of lawyers available to families who have lost their loved ones while in police custody or in any engagement with the police and to represent the deceased’s family at subsequent coroner inquests.

Some may even argue that we should make legal aid available for all criminal offences and abolish the scheduled offences for which legal aid is available.

However, if we are making small steps to improve the criminal justice system, let us take this small but significant step for all the future “Miss Barrows”, whose children may be taken into custody but who cannot hire a legal aid lawyer or any lawyer during interrogation, thereby protecting the integrity of our criminal justice system.

2. Michael is very selfish, greedy and self centered. Ask Junior attorneys who once worked with him. He is a complete egotist. Excellent lawyer for representing his clients. He operates in stealth and orchestrate evil against you from behind the scene. His morning and evening words do not add up. Something for something is his motto. Coverley is what Mia has on him so she has effectively muted him. Estwick will also be destroyed whenever he steps on the election platform, Richard will be muted by Mia also. Mia, talks a lot about her strategies.

3. Party Pooper has a MUCH better grasp of Brassbados politics than most of the so-called political commentators bout here…
    When you can practically invite someone to compromise themself, and then use secret technologies to hold that information on them, it is no longer called blackmail – just brilliant politics.
    It works even better in your OWN party…
    – which is why we (the public) NEVER see any consequences for the lotta shiite that goes on… but we can rest assured that balls are being squeezed…etc

It explains a lot.
    It is how the Mafia has operated for decades.

What a place.

4. @Bush Tea

Michael Lashley in the role as Minister of Housing is political folklore is made.

5. Specious?

6. @Bush Tea November 8, 2024 at 7:34 am “balls are being squeezed”

Thanking God that I have no balls.

I like Big Mike, can’t vote for him though as I am not a Philipine.

Wishing him and all the political class well.

7. sweet.

8. @ Cuhdear
    Wait… how come you missed de ‘etc’..?
    You aint remember Barnabus?
    …Ask Pompey LOL ha ha ha

..and Bushie done know that you would like Big Mike.
    Any bets that you got a few ZR licenses during the fire sales that he reorganized..

No wonder you want all us brass bowls to throw way our big rides and catch your ZR…
    Not stinking Bushie though..
    Not even fuh cookies….

What a woman!
    What gall!!
    LOLAS

9. Always something to fight about

Every time you think there’s nothing more for the Dear Loving People to fight about, they prove their supporters wrong and the critics right.

Following the expulsions, verbal attacks, lockouts, mass resignations, trading of insults and the finger-pointing – and that was just in a matter of months – the remaining members of the blue team are continuing the cannibalism.

There is still opposition within and without but some of the loyalists are upset by the apparent powers a man seems to be assuming he has, forgetting that there is a distinction between institutions. There’s a separation of powers, warned one of the Dear Loving People faithfuls. He is none too pleased with the attempts by a man who, at one time, deserted them for redder pastures only to be forced to return to the fold when the going got rough and he did not receive the promised perks for his support.

His teammates on the blue side want him to stop trying to take charge of George Street and realise his say-so resides in Hinck Street where a different form of business is conducted and it is there he can challenge other people. His concern should not be to focus on the camp itself.

The latest fight is over a meeting in the east where there is confusion about whether the former boss man from that area snubbed them or they snubbed him during the last public event in the location. Was he scheduled to speak or not is still not clear and the latest so-called glitch has only made the situation worse.

One colleague, who has a legal background, was particularly peeved about the way the man is going around wielding power he does not have over them.

Eye on that spot

He is not buying the story that it was a glitch that caused one of the young brigade not to get air time during that controversial meet on a Sunday evening.

That is because the young man has been going around trying to rustle up support in the riding that once belonged to the blue team. However, talk is that the boss man has his eye on that spot and that is why the youth was not allowed his moment in the spotlight just in case he used it to gain more momentum there.

In a flash, the offended young man sent out a note about finding it interesting that he was edited out the line-up when the final edition was posted.

Just as quickly the “I’m sorry” note was sent to the young man claiming that his omission was an oversight.

What followed was negative reactions to the reason given.

The receivers and observers don’t buy the omission excuse and want those responsible for disseminating it to know that they are not clowns and won’t be treated as such.

Some members of the thinning blue team say there is more in the mortar than the pestle and that the blue team operations at home should be separated from the other organisation’s official business.

10. @Bush Tea November 8, 2024 at 6:20 pm “Any bets that you got a few ZR licenses during the fire sales that he reorganized.”

I wish, lol!.

But no.

11. When I advise to get rid of big rides, I, like our PM, am strictly thinking of the environment, and the kind of world we wish to leave to our grandchildren.

12. Which big ride our PM got rid of..?
    OHH!!! you said ‘thinking of’ or even ‘talking about’ getting rid….

Did we not just get a new fleet of EV big rides (coinciding with the Big IMF cash award) for the national non-performers?

BTW..
    Which of her grandchildren is the PM looking to beneath our improved country to bozie…?
    We know that your licorish, conkie-statching, grands is your concern, but you may as well enjoy a big ride – for all the difference it will make…

13. If Pedro Shepherd is one of their leaders the DLP is scraping the underside of the barrell…Michael Lashley will only run as a Bee