A compliant has been filed with the Disciplinary Committee against lawyers Leodean Worrell and Jalisa Watson. Relevant documents to support the complaint by Daphne Baker, a registered attorney at law in the UK are attached below.

The blogmaster has lamented over the years the slowness with which complaints are addressed in Barbados by the Barbados Bar Association and complementary entity the Disciplinary Committee, especially when prominent players are involved. The blogmaster is hopeful a fair and timely review of the compliant is done.

In a related matter, Attorney General Dale Marshall advised the country last week amendments to the Legal Professions Act have been sent to the Barbados Bar Association for review, the first attempt to amend said legislation governing lawyers in 50 years. There is a widely held view our legal (court) system has been deliberately ‘compromised’ over the year by lawyers who sit in numbers in our parliamant. Time will tell how long it takes for the amended Legal Professions Act to be enacted into statute.

35 responses to “Complaint filed against lawyers Leodean Worrell & Jalisa Watson with Disciplinary Committee”

1. This is a blog posted in 2019.

The following document was received from a trusted source and needs no explanation except to say – even in disagreement human beings should exercise …
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/02/05/chairman-of-bwa-leodean-worrell-exposed-by-innotech/

2. Samuel S. Shank Avatar

Another one getting the Leodean Worrel treatment.
    I have suffered under her unprofessional behaviour and bad manners twice.
    She is an arrogant, unmannerly person who thinks that she can tell people anything she likes.
    Her husband must be very ashamed of her continued behaviour or he is so madly C struck that he cannot see her for what she is.

3. I could not read all.
    It must be a feather in a Barbados lawyer’s cap to pluck and roast a UK lawyer.
    Diaspora 0 – Barbados 12

4. As far as the blogmaster is aware these are the current members of the Disciplinary Committee.

Ms. Rita Evans, Attorney-at-Law(Chairperson)
    Ms. Liesel Weeks, Attorney-at-Law S.C.(Deputy Chairperson)
    Mr. Alrick Scott, Attorney-at-Law S.C.
    Ms. Duanna Peterson, Attorney-at-Law
    Ms. Destinie Simmions Beckeles, Attorney-at-Law
    Mr. Omari Drakes, Attorney-at-Law
    Mr. Dwight Moseley, Attorney-at-Law

5. When is the next Diaspora tour by the PM and her team ?

Bajans with nuff money and potential returning nationals may need a pep talk.

Buh doan mine me. I ent returning an ent got nuh money to invest.

6. What I would have like to see was that both attorneys were on the disciplinary committee.
    Wuh, mih belly
    Murdah, yuh killing muh
    Disciplinary committee
    I gine dead

no longer have the enthusiasm to attempt to serious ly discuss anything that happens in Barbados. They have defeated me. No objecting for objecting sake. No more con/scam/flimflam/3-card-monte …. I dun

7. @ The OG.

Hope you listening to Down to Brasstacks.

” We Gathering ” 2025

8. The legal eagle bandits are alive and well and continuing to earn massive fees in Barbados. Long live Barbados, long live the bandits.

9. I didn’t get to read everthing. What the complaining woman saying, is she saying that she money get tief way? Tiefing client money ain’t nuttin new in Barbados.

10. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHY DOES A LIL ISLAND OF 166 SQ. MILES NEED SO MANY JACKASS LAWYERS WHO COULD NOT* DEFEND THEMSELVES OUT OF A PAPER-BAG WITH HOLES OR STAND UP 2 SERIOUS CROSS-EXAMINATION SCRUTINY IN A RUM SHOP???

I am sick 2 the back teeth of these #DirtyBasterds who live “HIGH ON THE HOG” from “MALFEASANCE”; “PEARL-WEARING HOGS” with the “MORAL GUMPTION” of a “SKUNK” – oblivious to the “WOE” that has been placed upon them & their profession!!!

From “THE HEAD” to the #12Toes these “DEFORMED MORAL FREAKS” were “HATCHED” in “TEST-TUBES” – having their DNA spliced, nipped & tucked creating genetic “ABERRATIONS” that manifest “TRANSYLVANNIAN BOOD-SUCKING PARASITIC MONGRELS”!!!

The irony is that they are everywhere!!! They are like “PREDATORY LOCUSTS” gobbling up everything in site with no care of how their “RAVENOUS BEHAVIOUR” affects others!!!

WHAT A DESPICABLE BUNCH OF SUB-HUMANOIDS* WHO ARE THE CHILDREN OF THE DEVIL – WHOSE DAYZ ARE NUMBERED!!!

When you do find a #GoodLawyer – oftentimes, he/she is a #CapeCrusader that is “NEVER” influenced by “MONEY” or “POlieTICAL LARGESSE”!!!

#LetMeRestrainMyself from going any further (ITS ALMOST BEDTIME)

11. Lawyers are at home with legalize and exploiting onerous conditions in agreements. In today’s environment this makes it hog heaven for the legal beavers.

12. These documents are poor.
    1) the value of the home is given as $1,050,000, and a few lines later it is $1,005,000. (within Particulars)
    2) the description of the buyer in greater detail than a Bank Manager in Barbados is unnecessary. The notation of sex and employer narrows it down? Unless the buyer hasn’t paid this is irrelevant information.
    3) Who recommended LW is similarly irrelevant.
    4) That the seller (client) bought in 2007, and did not have a local bank account is not only nearly unbelievable, but stupid for a sale. Did she pay all the water, electricity etc etc with a credit card or cash? Or maybe she didnt pay property taxes hence why the amount was so high. The CBB is sure to seek source of funds prior to giving Fx permission, even if the client/seller brought Fx funds in. Where exactly is the lawyer to deposit the funds? The defense will be, the funds are in the lawyers account, awaiting Fx permission from the CBB.
    The client maybe a lawyer, but she isn’t too swift. I smell an odour.
    Where did the money come from to buy the property?
    It is reasonably standard to be told the annual maximum is $100,000. To besides, none of this is guaranteed, one must seek CBB permission.

13. @Frank

Why rush to judgement without ascertaining the facts? As far as the blogmaster is aware the funds were registered when the property was purchased. Also are you aware many non nationals hire property managers to manage properties in absentia?

14. What confounds the blogmaster is how Worrell by severing the client lawyer relationship at the same time voided the central bank’s permission to remit the proceeds of the sale. On what or whose authority?

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Frank
    the complainant claims she used BDD$1,000,000 of her money. The source is not disclosed other than it was ‘her money’. If it was not initially in Fx, and registered, it is my opinion, getting CBB approval for the entire sum in Fx maybe challenging. However, the complainant claims her lawyer LW did get CBB permission. The lawyer would have to submit the sale conveyance, showing all taxes and fees were paid, in order to prove source of funds. Further if the sale price is the higher, BDD$!,050,000, by the time all taxes and fees are paid, including lawyer and realtor, and any outstanding bills, to end up with BDD$950,000 is high.

I would agree, the complainant, given she had lived here (Welcome Stamper) and owned property for 15+ years, seems somewhat lacking in how Barbados operates.. The closing as explained, is well within “normal”. That the complainant did not have a local bank account, esp given her claimed prior experience with a lawyer, is rather inconceivable. It “seems” the complainant is trying to minimize the paper trail. Her taxman is in the UK?

16. I don’t know a thing about finance or lawyers, except to say that lawyers should refrain from diagnosing mental illness. Please leave the diagnosing of mental illness to psychiatrists who actually have the education, training and experience to diagnose mental illness.

17. There’s nothing unique about these matters. All lawyers in Barbados behave like this as per usual.

Tell us not about the exceptions. For if there are any, these are the exceptions which prove the hard and fast rule. That rule clearly states that all lawyers in Barbados are criminals. All!

No exceptions!

Until the population frees itself from the status of wards, which it is serially subjected to, by divesting elites from having any power over them it shall be forever chumps for legal crooks, all!

18. What is it with these female lawyers?

… and judges?

I see Ralf Thorne’s wife is in trouble.

19. … and a justice of appeal to boot.

20. What trouble had Cornelius gotten herself into John.

21. leodean worrell was fired from b’dos water authority by the PM. her bad behaviour there had incensed the staff and could not be tolerated by her political friends and associates. even friendo Wilfred helped get her out of there in the end. to some people it does not matter what’s in the pint and a half, vodka, gin, white rum or tequila so long as it’s down the neck by 2pm each day.

22. Well said Pacha..
    ..except that there ARE two exceptions.
    There ALWAYS are . (We used to even have three)

The problem will NEVER be fixed, because those whose ROLE it is to fix it, ..got their positions while doing the VERY SAME shiite.
    How can Trump address the problem of tax evasion? or prostitution? or lying under oath (or any shiite? LOL) in the USA?

Why do we in BB DESERVE to be in this hole..?
    Because (just like the USA brass bowls with Trump), we KNEW the characters of the people that we elected to address these matters.
    WE laughed and treated them like HEROES … we saw characteristics of ourselves in their public persona… dishonesty, greed, selfishness, spitefulness, vindictiveness…
    We ADMIRED their lies, their dishonesty, their broken promises….

We DISMISSED warnings about their MORAL standards…
    Trump could ‘grab ANY pussy’ and still there was no shortage of them willing to vote and to work for him…
    Owen Arthur warned us about flaws … but yet we went with TWO 30-loves…

We ain’t even start to see the shiite yet…
    Can you IMAGINE a second Trump term ??? (and with Biden’s help – through his support of the satanic Netanyahu) this is a STRONG possibility.

Can you IMAGINE a third 30-love? (and with the clownish DLP’s help, this looks like a no contest) …
    – now that we ALL know that they are crooked..
    – and they all know that we all know… (thanks to BU)
    – and we all know that they all know that we all know ???
    Shiite!!!
    Sounds to Bushie like ‘cat piss and pepper’ awaits us…

What a place!!
    …now that the EVIL forces are running things Globally…
    and..
    What a time to be around…!!

23. Bushie

You are even more fundamentally right than our fringe comment could ever be.

For sure, with Trump and his kif and kin, who we emulate, the orders of magnitude are far larger.

This is a man who has openly taken hundreds of millions from the widow of Adelson, the Zionist who made his money from casinos, on the promise that all the Palestinians in the West Bank, about 2 million, will be ethnically cleanse.

All this as suffering gallops, when WW3 has been long invited upon us, when nuclear weapons looms large, and on and on. Yet the policial structure within the USA, and the people who participate therein, can only give us two kakistocrats.

A Hobbesian choice!

There is no higher level of interrogation than yours. Per usual, you have rightly connected these forces which extend from the imperial core to what’s happening locally in a way which makes complete sense.

24. Everything is collapsing!

A critical mass is finally arriving at the juncture where they see socalled enlightenment ideals to be meaningless.

Local lawyers thiefing money and more are merely representative.

Whether international law, democracy, moral constructs, the rules of war, and more, its all gone.

We should stop pretending!

The Western “rules based system’ where they make the rules which suit them with everybody else made to follow have entered a culdesac.

Humans can no longer pretend to have answers to any of these.

25. Barbados as reported on VOB.

rape and robbery of an 85 year old woman.

gun fire last night.

26. David
    October 25, 2024 at 4:01 am

What trouble had Cornelius gotten herself into John.

Check Naked Departure.

27. @John

The blogmaster wouldn’t know where to find that site.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

The story I heard, and it wasn’t on ND, is one of Justice Cornelius rulings had been questioned and argued in court. The outcome was damages were awarded. As such, as a Judge of the Barbados Court, the payee on the hook is the GoB. Since Judge Cornelius accepted a role within the legal system of T&CI, this has set tongues wagging.
    When I asked for the source, I was told it appeared on social media. So, I take it with many grains of salt.

29. $11 million I hear.

30. @NorthernObserver October 25, 2024 at 6:22 pm “David The story I heard, and it wasn’t on ND”

I didn’t think that you were a Naked Departure kind of fellow.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    Follow the blog?
    John wrote check ND.
    I didn’t. Hence I stated my source was not ND. I still have no idea what ND had.
    John added a number, $11M. Maybe that appeared on ND.

32. […] It may be unfathomable to some – though not to the blogmaster – that a formal complaint was filed against attorneys Leodean Worrell and Jalisa Watson, yet the body tasked with adjudicating such matters has failed to fulfill its mandate. The background to this issue is detailed in an earlier blog: Complaint Filed Against Lawyers Leodean Worrell & Jalisa Watson with the Disciplinary Committee. […]