On 21st December 2001, Richard Reid tried to fly from Paris to neighbouring Antigua but missed the flight because of an extensive security check at the airport, prompted by the 11th September 2001 attack on the World Trade Center in New York. The following day, Richard boarded an American Airlines flight to Miami and tried to ignite explosives in his shoe. He was stopped by passengers. Thereafter, airline passengers had to remove their shoes for scanning before boarding.

Passengers were instructed to place their shoes in containers that also held passengers’ computers, belts and jackets. Whenever I travelled, I explained the unsanitary nature of this practice and would place my shoes on the scanner’s belt in protest – which they always allowed.

Shear Walls

After the COVID-19 sanitary protocols, I would explain the lunacy of masking and hand-sanitising while putting the dirtiest wearing apparel in the same bin that computers, cell phones and belts were to be placed and then handled. Even that had no effect on their security protocols.

Last week I travelled to Grenada. This time the security officials at the Grantley Adams International Airport instructed persons not to put their shoes in the containers, but on the scanner’s belt. I smiled and wondered why it took 22 years of advocacy to make such a common-sense win-win health and safety improvement at no cost or disruption to the airport or passengers.

SHEAR WALLS.

In 1993, the Barbados National Building Code was published. It included a section on shear walls, which could prevent a house from collapsing during a major earthquake. Shear walls have no openings (windows or doors) from the foundation to the roof.

A rectangular-shaped masonry house should have a 3 m (10 ft) long shear wall in each of its four sides. If 3 m is inconvenient based on the layout, then two 2 m (6.5 ft) long shear walls may be used. There is no additional cost for constructing shear walls.

After a reported 300,000 dead Haitian residents from the 2010 earthquake, a common-sense response was for the Planning department to reject residential applications that did not have the life-saving shear walls or an equivalent structural system. However, despite approximately 30 years of advocacy, likely less than 0.1% of houses in Barbados that were approved by the Planning department have adequate shear walls.

FIRE RATING.

On 11th September 2001, first responders at the World Trade Center were warned by an engineer that the Twin Towers were in imminent danger of a total collapse. There were 343 firefighters who lost their lives at that site. It is likely that none of the over 1,000 first responders knew the building’s fire rating – the most basic information first responders need when approaching a building on fire.

On 3rd September 2010, robbers attacked the Campus Trendz store in Bridgetown. They chopped the owner and set fire to the property causing six young ladies to run to the rear for safety. Despite desperate cries for help from the ladies, the fire officers were reluctant to enter the building for fear of the building collapsing. The six would later die of smoke inhalation – and the building did not collapse.

In response, I volunteered to inspect every store in Bridgetown to identify each building’s fire rating (the time that the building is designed to remain stable after a fire started). A durable tile could then be installed above the entrance specifying the fire rating. For example, 2H means that the building was rated for two hours. I was told to put the free proposal in writing, which I did. It is now 14 years later and not one building in Bridgetown appears to have been fire-rated.

I have accepted that it takes 20 to 30 years of advocacy for those in authority to accept simple improvements that can only benefit the public. I wondered why and the most likely explanation is spiritual blindness. I welcome another explanation.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

79 responses to “Blind Leading the Blind”

1. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

No David, your 10:17 post minimizes a VERY, VERY valid concern raised by @Skinner and @Hants!

As they are suggesting strongly and plus what the gentlemen already asked;

**1. Why can’t CURRENT BDF forces continue to ‘back-stop” the police? Why this need for MORE.

Is there an analysis from the new leader of how current forces are deployed.?

Are they on peace keeping missions, tending other confidential security operations… what exactly?

**2. What’s is the differentiator that makes more soldiers better than more cops? Isn’t the required careful selection, training etc about the same?

**3. Is training a military youngster on firearm skills and other military tactics BETTER than doing same plus law and order rules for a police youngster?

**4.Police officers can become corrupt and take their skills to the criminal element … is there some knowledge that soldiers are any less capable of doing same?

The brothers are correct. This is a big foot move endangering us as citizens … as usual it’s sweet outta the mouth but (as seen all across region and world) the outcomes can be bitter in we backsides!

There is nothing NEW about this model of using military for peacekeeping policing … and in practical EVERY case of its very direct use it has proven to be BAD!

2. @Dee Word

The blogmaster will defer to your expertise on this thorny matter.

3. Down to Brasstacks.

Iston Branch in conversation with David Ellis. Raw and informative.

4. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

Expertise. LOLL.

I had grown to like you and now you diss me like dat. 😇

What expertise wha! Looka stop laughing at me, please.

But enquiring minds want to know: how does the same country pull of the COMPLICATED and over three-year planned pager/walkie-talkie terrorists attack ALSO get caught with their ‘pants and panties’ down with that Oct 7 attack?

Surely long term, careful planning is possible on both sides but beyond measure this Mossad act goes down in the annals of modern counter-intelligence as a top five operation… top 2 even.

And we now wait for the other shoe to drop …

Of course why did they do it now is a key query … it certainly will not improve a cease fire accord … maybe it was to preempt something else!

So David, military responses beget MORE military responses … that’s the way of life … so let’s fulfill our goals and objectives cause there IS a bomb fragment or a bullet with our name affixed … one day coming soon, fah sure.

And btw, are there reports of a Hezbolla agent on an airplane when his/her pager exploded!

This thing seems so callous yet so clinical … may the good Lord continue to help us.

5. @ de Pedantic Dribbler
    We have needed the police force to be increased by three hundred officers, going back to at least fifteen years. We apparently, could not find the money. The PM had a whole lot to say about the need for more police, when she was opposition leader. We find it strange that she is going to accelerate the increase in soldiers and furthermore is defending this increase by saying it has to be accelerated because of the increase in crime and furthermore, we now have the army chief, saying that he would do whatever is necessary to return the country to a state of “normalcy”.
    When did our country become unstable ? Why didn’t the Attorney General and or the PM tell us that the country had sunk to such a state that the army is needed to bring it back to normalcy. We had more murders than the 38 , we have now and there was no need to increase the soldiers.
    The PM is embarking on psychological control of the masses. We don’t need no pretend mock general in Bim.
    The same @David, who is always talking about “citizen involvement” needs to recognize that when the military is speaking in such tones as “whatever is in their power” they will use ; it really means the use of military might against the populace, usually in favor of the politician they want to support.
    Citizens have a right to ask why an increase in police could not be done but we can build new army barracks and increase the number of soldiers while we can’t get the additional police we need to fight crime.

6. Prime Minister about to make a statement.

7. Did we not just change the name from the Royal Barbados Police Force to the Barbados Police SERVICE?

Now we are looking to increase the Barbados Defence FORCE to fight crime?

Slippery slope!

They should look to increase the salaries of the police at the bottom and middle. They’d get more and better applicants.

8. de Pedantic Dribbler Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribbler

Solidly and absolutely well said, brother Skinner.

Mia is large and totally in charge.

You also made me smile re “We don’t need no pretend mock general in Bim”.

Yep, I do remember when our lil force had a Brigadier General in charge… the cadets of my day used to call him ‘Evil Roy Slade’ or something so, as I recall ..🤣😇.

But this is not a joking matter. Your concerns, one hopes, will be shared by thousands of Bajans and ‘force’ a modification I’m plans.

I believe we all realize that these top officers owe their position to the political directorate and resultantly knows just what’s needed to serve their master’s needs and be a real, real Colonel or indeed a mock General of a few hundred soldiers!

9. This is the usual issue of AMATURE political jokers trying to solve complex problems by trial and error, in an increasingly complex world. This OBVIOUSLY results in the now familiar increasing chaos in all areas.

The PM is probably now talking about setting up a scheme similar to the one that worked OUTSTANDINGLY well in Barbados for more than 100 YEARS – and with brilliant results.

Presumably, in this iteration, the Army will now injest the ‘dropouts’ from the stupid Eddykashun system with the aim of redirecting their path.
    Millions of dollars will be thrown at the scheme and, like the Youth Service, it will largely be a waste of time and money.

Human development problems CANNOT be solved by REACTIVE schemes that target drop-outs.

What WORKED for us for YEARS were PROACTIVE, all-encompassing schemes – such as the Boys scouts, Girl Guides and Cadet Corps, where ALL categories of children from ALL backgrounds were included… no bad-boy stigma…
    It was based in the NATIONAL SCHOOL system, and was an important part of the educational development system.

More than anything else, this may well have explained the UNIQUE human development history of Barbados as compared to other similar jurisdictions.

Some JA politician came up with a ‘Youth Service’ to attract failing students and REDIRECTED resourced from scouts, guides and cadets. BUT the STIGMA of a ‘dropout club’ can NEVER match the PRIDE of an elite corps… no matter how many millions are expended.
    They also reassigned the cadet corps from the jurisdiction of the schools, over to the BDF…. no longer seen as a NATIONAL EDUCATIONAL tool, but a resource for recruits in the disciplined forces.

The BDF sports program can NEVER replace a well structured SCHOOL SPORTS PROGRAM (with professional policy and operational leadership), … but it can channel millions of dollars into the BDF through the back door.

Leadership is CRITICAL for national success.
    Where there is no vision in leadership, the people’s donkeys will suffer.

…and suffering we are.

By the way…
    Big-up ‘Iston’ on Brass Tacks today, a TRUE man in every sense of the word.

10. Didn’t u people not read that there is a problem with people ( especially males) applying to enter the police force?

I will bet the the qualifications to enter the police force are greater than those to enter the defense force

11. @William

People get the government it deserves.

12. Donna

If u increase the police salaries then u havta do the same for the nurses and teachers etc

13. What power does the defense force have in the fight of crime beside provide extra eyes and ears ,a show of force and maybe a back up for cop if/ when they comes under “fire” ?

The coast guard may have the power to arrest illegal activity at sea or maybe they have to be a cop embedded for them to do so

For back in the days when Barbados had canes and fires was the “ major crime “ the defense force used to do patrols with and with cops as a prevention method

14. John 2,

Isn’t there something called a regrading exercise whereby these things can be adjusted?

15. The BDF can be anything a government wants it to be.

16. What is the due legal process that an army can take in a fight against it’s enemy who are civilians?

google says
    The protection of civilians applies to both enemy civilians and one’s own civilians. Similarly, you must also distinguish between military objectives and civilian objects. Only military objectives may be attacked. Civilian objects must not be made the object of attack unless they have become military objectives.

17. There must be laws against a state sabotaging technology devices such as pagers and walkie talkies causing them to explode. Israel is a rogue state in the middle east and hostile to all it’s neighbours.

“UN members back resolution directing Israel to leave occupied territories”
    “In a symbolic step exposing Israel’s continued international isolation, the UN general assembly has voted overwhelmingly to direct Israel to leave the occupied Palestinian territories within a year.

The non-binding vote follows a historic advisory ruling in July by the international court of justice (ICJ) urging Israel to cease “its unlawful presence in the occupied Palestinian territory as soon as possible and stop all settlement activity there immediately”.

Wednesday’s resolution was passed by 124 votes to 14 with 43 abstentions, prompting applause across the general assembly chamber in New York. The UK* and Australia* abstained while the US* voted against.”

(*) white scum

18. Donna

You can regrade as much as u want but when u do it for one department u better be prepared to do it for the others ( think they also deserve one ) .

Also what are u going to upgrade those now coming in to? Any increase will probably put a new hire on par with or over the ones with one year experience if they didn’t have an increase
    Xxxxxx

Bdf can become the government if it want. Remember Grenada

19. @John 2

Public Sector payroll is already a drag. We forget that government will have to find taxes (direct and indirect to offset).

Do not give the new Lieutenant Colonel ideas.

20. John 2,

There is a huge gap between those at the bottom and those at the top. Plenty of wiggle room. It can be done.

But effectively, there are also other ways to increase take home pay. There are ALLOWANCES, allowances specific to the job. No other category of worker can claim them because the circumstances are different.

They could be having problems recruiting men because those with the requisite qualifications demand higher salaries. That is also why they don’t teach. Another reason why we need more police officers, by the way. Women are used to getting paid less. Men are still expected to be the breadwinners. That mindset has not changed significantly.

So…what are your suggestions for filling the vacancies? Nothing can be done?

P.S. The Boy Scouts, mentioned by Bush Tea, also struggled to attract male volunteers. Women ended up leading the cub packs. Defeating the purpose, of course.

21. John 2,

One year’s experience?????? Come on, now! What is one year’s experience?

22. Food for thought (The OG) Avatar
    Food for thought (The OG)

Questions must be asked
    1. Are the rules of engagement with citizens the same for policemen or soldiers?
    2. Are the right of citizens when dealing with a soldier the same as that when dealing with a soldier?
    3. Does our constitution covers or even mention citizens interacting with soldiers
    4. Is this a next put the cart before the horse moment, where the government will first do something and then rush in late fixes?
    5. How come we have so many lawyers and experts an a man laying in bed taking potshots is the only one that ask the relevant questions.

23. Through sheer brain power ( 🙂 ) I am in that kind of mood) I have discovered why the AG and Mia has not made a major speech after this triple murder.

The answer is precedent. The answer is that ‘saying something’ may be the wrong move and it is better to stay low and say nothing. The strategy “Let’s pull in our guts, clench our butts cheek and say nothing” is being followed.

Foremost on their mind is the thought “What if we say something about this triple murder and there is a repeat, then we have to go out and say something again.”. It is better to say silent.

The randomness and ignorance of this type of crime has paralyzed them. Fear, the fact that the situation is out of their control and their inability to produce results have immobilized them. This is a situation where buzz-words are inadequate; this is a situation demanding action and results; that is a level that they cannot reach.

Once again, it is clear, that in real world issues, the Mottley misadministration is in over its head.

24. The deployment of J2 is a sign that the administration is scraping the barrel.
    What is next? A Lorenzo flyby?
    ‘not enuff’ throwing something at the wall and missing the wall.
    the blogmaster trying to push his finger in a dyke

25. I hear that MIA speaking at 3:00 p.m. Searching for a link.
    Hoping Hants can provide it.

26. Simply subscribe or click on PMO Barbados on YouTube.

27. @ The OG.

28. PM MIA just said” BAJANS HAVE TO LEARN TO TEK A HORN.”

Hants have taketh and hath giveth. lol