It is now 36 days since an officer of the Barbados Police Service (BPS) slapped a civilian on Kadooment Day. Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce promised soon after the incident the matter would be investigated – see video at the top of the page. The lack of urgency by the BPS to report on the incident is consistent with how it has dealth with other investigations. The cellphone case in the witness room, the leaked police statements to name two.

The hierarchy of the BPS and the Attorney General of Barbados are currently in a battle to arrest violent crime in Barbados. A key element of the crime prevention strategy is soliciting the support of the public. An effective crime prevention strategy MUST include citizen participation; community policing. How does the BPS expect Barbadians to have trust in the BPS if it continues to show a lack of urgency to resolve incidents with the public in a timely manner?

It is obvious from watching the video what happened, how long will interviews take with two or three of the officers who were present to confirm? Would it have been reasonable to immediately suspend the officer involved with pay until the investigation was completed?

It seems the BPS is operating with an old school approach to management and public relations. It is therefore unsurprising the relative lack of trust in the BPS by Barbadians.

On the weekend a high profile athlete was pulled over by the Miami police. The incident also captured on video suggests policemen dealt with the athlete harshly – do you know that by late evening on the same day one officer was sent on administrative leave?

88 responses to “Barbados Police Service not serious”

1. Why pick on the police.
    Clearly, nothing works.

2. Why try to life if we will die anyway? It is not that nothing works. With man made constructs there is always room to grow and improve.

3. The person who got struck, does he have legal representation? Do you believe the police will follow up on this matter publicly? Are there systems in place within the Barbados police service similar to those in Miami Dade? I fear you will be waiting in vain for any answer to this matter at hand author. Your quest for answers highlights the need for transparency within the walls of the police force, unfortunately, that is a long way from us.

4. The BPS like the lawyers (BBA) is a self disciplining body. You know what they say about the ‘blue line’.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, of course the officer should have been “immediately suspended […] with pay until the investigation was completed??”

But here in Bim there is absolutely no enforced oversight.

Pause tho. The US is realistically also a hit or miss failure unless it’s a big city where there are many agencies and more importantly elected officials with their axes grinding the event.

The Tyree event is of the latter variety. The police director or whatever her title, is beholden to a mayor, the Mianlmi-Dade city council and likely will get incoming flack from the state representative of the area and even possibly the Republicans state senator.

That’ political BS flowing the length of Miami’s famous roads and highways FORCES accountability.

There no such pressure here. None.

On the flip side, there was a police raid (don’t recall the city/town) of a small newspaper’s office and home of publisher after critical stories/other allegations against a local official. The publisher also claimed the raid of his home traumatised and directly contributed to the death of his elderly mother. That egregious act got absolutely no traction of immediate accountability.

All that to say: we could talk till de moon spin backwards but in the absence of accountability the BPS commissioner and other big shots will dance to the beat of their political masters and forever give Bajans the middle finger!

And talking bout big city ACCOUNTABILITY … looka the home of the NY police commissioner (and other mayoyal top aides) get RAIDED and he say he gine resign … cud NEVER happen bout hea!

6. @Dee Word

Sad but true.

7. @ David
    Another reason why we should not rush into a state of emergency to fight crime. Many of our solutions are either enhanced or impeded by our cultural norms. In small islands, we are very familiar with each other and nepotism and political narcissism are always present and lurking. You would note how easy it was for a citizen to call the Prime Minister, to express his opposition to how the police were directing him. In Jamaica , a Prime Minister was under the control of a known criminal.
    We note that murders have now left the front pages of the newspapers and often not given the traditional prominence. During World Cup, some crimes were deliberately hidden or not reported with any prominence. We also note how military dictatorships are finding favor with some citizens. The masses are being conditioned to fall in line by any means to protect the political status quo and very dubious interpretations of what is and isn’t democracy. A word to the wise.
    Be careful what we ask for and endorse on extremely dangerous concepts.

8. @William

A state of emergency can be designed to consider our cultural norms and nuances.

9. “A state of emergency can be designed to consider our cultural norms and nuances.”

State of emergencies are a drastic measure where Government has lost control like in a civil war against terrorists

Drug Lords and Mob Bosses
    If an organised crime cartel took over drug trafficking and money laundering in Barbados then the police and army would be helpless against them with their soldiers assassins and weaponry

10. Police ‘pressure’

Deputy DPP: Manpower shortage impacting court cases

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY colvillemounsey@nationnews.com

DEPUTY DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC PROSECUTIONS (DPP) Alliston Seale is concerned about ongoing manpower shortages within the Barbados Police Service, particularly following the recent dismissal of a serious indecency case involving a nine-year-old girl due to the failure of police to produce a file after four years.

The case, which was thrown out two Fridays ago by Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes, involved a Guyanese man, Mankad, who was charged with committing an act of serious indecency against the child on June 24, 2020.

Magistrate Weekes, calling the matter “a very serious one”, expressed frustration over the lack of progress in the case. He had previously given the accused a final adjournment but lamented that no file had ever been submitted to the court. Despite dismissing the case, he warned that the police could refile charges.

In response to the incident, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce said an investigation has been launched into the failure to produce the file and assured the public that the case would be brought back to court.

Seale told the MIDWEEK NATION that police have been making representations to the Law Reform Commission, chaired by former chief justice Sir David Simmons, to determine whether procedural timelines for preparing and disclosing case files are realistic.

“In all the rules, we are dealing with procedures and practices, including timelines for police officers to complete and disclose files. There are several timelines that we are setting, and hopefully, once everything is in place, these delays will become a thing of the past,” he noted.

The deputy DPP spoke of the strain on the police service, with the same cadre of officers handling multiple serious crimes while simultaneously preparing case files for court.

“An officer may be dealing with two or three serious matters, and while handling one, a new murder may occur.”

This heavy workload, he explained, complicates the timely preparation of files, leading to delays that affect the progress of cases like the one involving the nine-year-old victim.

Seale, elaborating on the complexities of the police’s role within the justice system, said an investigator handling a case is often the only person fully equipped to prepare the report and later testify in court.

Arrested individual

“He’s the person who arrested the individual, conducted interviews and is intimately familiar with the case. He is the only one who can adequately prepare the report and undergo cross-examination in court.”

Suggestions have been made to delegate some of the tasks involved in preparing case files, but Seale pointed out that the nature of the criminal justice process requires the investigator to be involved from start to finish.

The need for a more robust police force with additional staffing was highlighted as a pressing issue. The prosecutor said investigators were often called to court for multiple cases, leaving them stretched and underprepared for rigorous crossexamination.

“I’ve been in situations where I need an investigator in court but he’s already been called for another case. It’s not simply a matter of jumping from court to court; they must be fully prepared,” he said.

Despite these challenges, Seale expressed optimism that once the commission completes its review and new rules are implemented, cases will proceed more efficiently. “If the timelines agreed upon are realistic, we should see fewer cases being thrown out due to incomplete files.”

See also Page 29.

11. Challenges for Probation Dept

THE PROBATION DEPARTMENT is facing a number of challenges, particularly the preparation of reports for convicted people and communication delays within the judicial system.

These were highlighted by Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Alliston Seale during his address on day two of the Caribbean Association of Probation and Parole Conference at the University of the West Indies’ Sagicor Cave Hill School of Business and Management yesterday.

He said bureaucratic delays hindered the department’s efficiency and accuracy.

“Sometimes a request for information through formal channels can take an inordinate length of time,” Seale said. He noted that building personal relationships at events like the conference could be a solution to these delays, as informal channels of communication may often expedite the process.

New connections

“A phone call to a friend that you met here can be of invaluable assistance,” he said, urging participants to take the opportunity to forge new connections.

The Deputy DPP said another issue which frequently arises in the Probation Department involves preparation of reports on some individuals who have pleaded guilty.

“Officers were encountering a problem with the preparation of reports as it related to the convicted person’s attitude to the offence, where convicted persons gave equivocal utterances when interviewed,” he said.

Seale also said this creates a dilemma for probation officers tasked with preparing reports essential to the sentencing process. He added these reports help the court assess the individual’s remorse, which plays a key role in determining whether the sentence should be more lenient or severe.

Process

“A fundamental part of the sentencing process is the convicted person’s attitude towards the offence, and remorse or the absence thereof will either be considered as an aggravating or mitigating factor likely to affect the ultimate sentence.”

Seale said he has advised his staff that in such situations, officers should not proceed with preparing the report if the convicted person’s statements suggest they may not fully admit to the crime.

“When cases arise whereby the officer is required to prepare a report on a person who has pleaded guilty but during the interview the officer recognises that the interviewee is suggesting that he is not guilty for whatever reason, the officer should complete the interview but not prepare the report,” Seale said.

He stressed that in these cases, officers should communicate directly with the court “so that the issue may be rectified”.

12. New rules aim to address police custody limits
    written by Emmanuel Joseph Updated by Barbados Today 11/09/2024 3 min read A+A-
    https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2024/09/Simmons-and-Garnes.jpg
    Sir David Simmons, chairman of the Law Reform Commission and Martie Garnes, convenor of the Barbados Bar Association’s Criminal Law Committee. (FP)
    A“complete cultural shift” in the criminal justice system is on the horizon with the introduction of new criminal procedure rules, according to Sir David Simmons, chairman of the Law Reform Commission.

He gave the assurance on Tuesday after a two-day sensitisation workshop held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre for key figures in the criminal justice system.

“The rules are going to bring in a complete cultural shift,” Sir David told Barbados TODAY. “It is important that we have this discussion to ensure that those who will have to work the rules understand them in the first place.”

Sir David, who chaired the workshop, emphasised the importance of practical understanding.

“Just reading the rules as they are may appear sterile. So, we had to have an interactive session, where we could discuss real life situations that would apply to the rules so that people could see how the rules will work in practice.”

The workshop, which will be extended by one day later this month, was attended by key figures including Chief Justice Leslie Haynes SC and Deputy Commissioner of Police Erwin Boyce.

Martie Garnes, convenor of the Barbados Bar Association’s Criminal Law Committee described the discussions as “very fruitful”. He praised Sir David’s chairmanship as “particularly stellar”.

“I can see that when these rules are implemented, we would have a criminal justice system that we can all be proud of…from the virtual complainant to the police, to the accused, to the judges, to the defence attorneys, everyone; it would obviously benefit everybody,” Garnes said.

The new rules are expected to address issues such as police custody time limits. Garnes highlighted a recent case where charges were dismissed due to the absence of a file, stating: “We are looking to implement, for example, how long the police can keep you in custody, because of as recent, we would have seen that someone would have had their matter dismissed because of the absence of a file. So, when these rules are implemented, hopefully sooner rather than later, those things will become a thing of the past.”

He echoed Sir David’s comments about a follow-up session later this month, noting that the organisers were not able to cover everything on Tuesday.

“And that really goes to show that we put a lot of thought into this, and we must thank the Office of the Attorney General for funding and having this two-day seminar so that we can actually get to the meat of the matter and discuss the issues.

We are supposed to come back to the end of September to have a follow-up,” the Bar Association member said.

He concluded by proclaiming “100 per cent, we are very happy with what’s going on so far”.

emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

Source: Barbados Today

13. Most things fly right over my head. I console the myself and am happy with the fact that I harbor thoughts that my thoughts are different from others in the asylum.

I have avoided the poisoned chalice and I pray “Father, if you are willing, take/keep this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.”

14. This is a very good read… Here is what the PSV drivers think.
    Using this information would provide a good start on how to address the problem. Don’t be foolish and expect this Mottley crew to have solutions.

From BarbadosToday
    PSV PUSHBACK
    OPERATORS VOICE CONCERNS OVER MANDATORY TRAINING
    By Lourianne Graham
    Public Service Vehicle (PSV) operators on Tuesday voiced concerns about the government’s announcement of mandatory training and certification for drivers and conductors which are aimed at improving road safety and professionalism within the industry.

On Monday, Minister of Transport and Works Santia Bradshaw disclosed plans for the initiative, which is set to take effect in October. The move follows a series of stakeholder meetings and ongoing complaints about the conduct of some PSV drivers and conductors on the roads.

While the initiative is intended to address reckless behaviour in the sector, some PSV operators argue that the mandatory training is an overreaction to the actions of a few rogue drivers.

When Barbados TODAY visited bus terminals on Tuesday, many PSV drivers expressed frustration, claiming they had been adhering to the rules but now find themselves under increased scrutiny due to the behaviour of a few younger drivers.

One driver shared his discontent: “What I saying is that why everybody got to go back through training again that we did already . . .. Everybody gotta get penalise for one body? This is foolishness.”

The driver also raised concerns about the potential financial impact: “Everything doesbe a money thing, nothing ain’t free. That going be time away I got to take to go to the seminar. I got a family and they gonna charge you for that training.”
    He suggested that instead of mandatory training for all, the government should impose stricter penalties on those who break the law.

“They should make an example first and then anybody else come, give more time. If they give he six months, when he do it again, give them 12 months – increase the time all the time,” he proposed.

Another veteran PSV operator, with over 20 years of experience, criticised the government for relaxing regulations in recent years.
    He recalled a time when stricter laws were in place: “You couldn’t drive a van unless you were 25 and up, now men driving at 19 and 20. One time, people used to suspend your licence for three months and six months. I get my licence take away for six months for stopping to pick up passengers just cause it wasn’t a bus stop.”

He further claimed that repeat offenders were responsible for most of the issues in the industry. “Most of the things you see are from repeat offenders, certain set of people that do the same thing every day,” he said.

Another driver pointed to the influence of passengers, suggesting that their demands often encourage reckless driving.
    “Is the passengers that does mek we who driving those van do certain things. We does do things to please the passengers. At the end of the day, we does get the bitter end of the stick,” he claimed.
    At the Princess Alice Bus Terminal,some passengers supported the government’s decision. One passenger stressed the need for better discipline among PSV operators.
    “They want wearing working clothes, working shoes pon dem foot, dem want looking proper out there. Dem need discipline pon the road,” she said, noting that most of the operators of Transport Augmentation Programme (TAP) vehicles generally displayed better behaviour compared to route taxi drivers.

An elderly passenger waiting for transportation agreed, saying the planned training programme was long overdue: “‘Cause they were rowdy and ridiculous and really want controlling. I’m glad that the government has taken that approach now.”

However, not all passengers were in favour of the initiative. One elderly man dismissed the mandatory training as ineffective and called for tougher penalties for offenders.
    “They need to go to prison, that’s what they need to do. They wasting time. They too disrespectful; a lot of passengers know that but they afraid to talk,” he asserted.

Announcing the mandatory training and certification for PSV drivers and conductors, Minister Bradshaw said there was a need to ensure that “everyone who operates a PSV understands the weight of responsibility they carry on our roads”.

“This isn’t just about implementing new rules—it’s about fundamentally changing the culture within the PSV industry. The safety of our citizens must always come first, and we will not hesitate to make the necessary changes to protect them,” Bradshaw said.
    Officials of the Alliance Owners of Public Transport and the Association of Public Transport Owners welcomed the new initiatives on Monday, saying they were a step in the right direction. louriannegraham@barbadostoday.bb

15. Police and Government Inquiries are Political
    Justice is rare
    Proceedings are slow
    A Policeman’s word is treated as gospel

Now let’s go on a ramble..

Forget about “God”

Try and view humans as spiritual beings who are demons or angels as they travel on the path in their life journey

and you may see the shifts towards crime in the spiritual battle of good over evil

In politics the choices are extremist or liberal
    In war the MO is to win by hook or crook

In crime cartel syndicates can become more powerful than a Government with key people on the payroll.
    There becomes a point where going against a syndicate is suicide.

16. Governments are gangs.

Governments use violence, threats and coercion in order to force you to obey their rules called “laws” as do gangs.

A gang is just about making money by demanding payment.

A government is about providing services.

There are some governments and businesses that clearly don’t care about providing service and are only interested in making money.

The US Government wants to be the biggest gang in the world.

They want other nations gangs to be allies and follow their wars and laws.

17. The article below convinces me that nothing truly matters. Responsible authorities are just throwing mud on the wall, hoping it sticks, making some noise and then taking a victory lap.

If things really mattered, these different groups would be talking with each other and coordinating activities so that all benefit and the maximum learning is obtained from these exercises It’s all just for show; fancy meeting with lunches and dinners, fancy speeches and a PR report and off to to the next show; doing nothing by pretending to do a lot.

From BarbadosToday
    Criminal justice groups left out of reform – top prosecutor
    The Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has raised concerns over the lack of involvement from key figures in the creation of new Criminal Procedure Rules aimed at tackling the court backlog.

Speaking at the Caribbean Association of Probation and Parole’s conference at the UWI Cave Hill School of Business on Tuesday, Alliston Seale questioned why only a select few were being allowed to contribute to the rules’ development.

He expressed frustration that a workshop on the Criminal Procedure Rules was running concurrently with the probation and parole conference, highlighting what he saw as a lack of genuine collaboration within the criminal justice system.

“We often talk about collaboration and cooperation, but I often wonder if we are really serious about it or are we paying lip service,” Seale said.
    “Yesterday, just about the time that you were launching this most critical initiative, another sector of government was engaging in activity equally as important- a two-day workshop on draft Criminal Procedure Rules.
    It is being hosted by the Office of the Attorney General and Law Reform Commission for the identical period at Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, only a short distance away,” he said.
    The Deputy DPP emphasised that the new rules would have a significant impact on the Probation Department, particularly regarding sentencing processes.
    “What really perplexes me is that these new rules will significantly impact the Probation [Department]. Some of the sections focus on sentencing and the efficacy of the sentencing process,” he noted.
    According to Seale, the Criminal Procedure Rules were conceived to address long-standing issues of delay and backlog in the justice system. They aim to expedite trials and set deadlines for various processes, including the submission of police files and pre-sentencing reports.
    “These rules are being made to speed up trials, set deadlines for things such as police files,” Seale explained. He added that some proposed timelines were “rather short”, citing a requirement for courts to receive pre-sentencing reports within 21 days of a conviction.
    The commission overseeing the Criminal Procedure Rules workshop is chaired by former Chief Justice Sir David Simmons.

Seale indicated that this body would determine the feasibility of the proposed timelines, which would affect various departments within the justice system.
    Given the potential impact on the Probation Department, Seale argued that representatives should have been included in the consultation process. “There are a number of timelines that we are setting,” he said, stressing the importance of input from all affected parties.

Despite his concerns, Seale expressed hope that the new rules would help eliminate delays in the justice system.
    “We would expect these things (delays) to be a thing of the past,” he said, explaining that clear deadlines would be established for file submissions and disclosures. (SZB)
    ——-
    How come I can see this and you cannot?
    Why play along with the silly games and not call them as they are?
    Just for once, let it go above your head.

18. @ The OG,

You could listen to Down to Brasstacks as I do daily.

19. @Hants
    I admire your grit and perseverance. You Sir, are made of sterner stuff than I am.

Coming here almost drives me to suicide. Listening to brassbowls (BT’s word) on Brasstacks would be more than the final straw.

I thought you were my friend…

20. @ The OG,

Just heard on Brasstacks.

Bajan sell he house in USA. Move to Barbados and having problems with the promised ” Duty free concessions “.

21. @Hants

Why would he find himself in the position? Thousands of Barbadians have returned and access duty free concessions without a problem. What is the problem in this case?

22. @ David,

I don’t know what the problem is in this case. I empathise with him because he has a wife and two children with him in Barbados.

I would not have that problem if I was going to be a “Returning National “.

23. This news is frightening.
    I do not see how the police can prevent some of these occurrences. It all boils down to the ‘hearts’ of those involved.

But what are the reasons?
    I remember seeing folks saying that criminals deported from the US were responsible for the upsurge in murders?
    The fact that we can have multiple deaths make one thinks that gangs could be involved.
    Whatever, the reason, our policemen have a tough job on their hands. They need you support.

Let’s not get into a comparison of crime in the US and in Barbados. It solves nothing.

—– Have a great day Barbados. May you travel safely ——–

24. mass shooting in nelson street. 3 dead 8 wounded.

25. ” three masked men armed with firearms entered and fired a number of shots.”

26. Expecting to see a massive Police and BDF response.

27. Are we still going to Haiti….

28. That will be worse than getting infected computers from China. Spies galore.

29. Waiting to hear the speeches from PM MIA. and the AG and COP.

30. “Waiting to hear the speeches from PM MIA.”

AHH!!!!

“It’s not who we are!!!”

31. same shitt in Toronto.

32. @ David,

what time is the COP press conference ?

Has PM MIA spoken yet or is she going to make a dramatic statement on Television.

33. @Hants

Good question, feel free to turn on standby mode. We the people are happy to wait meekly until those who serve us toss crumbs of information from on high.

34. Isn’t it amazing how Barbadians believe a magic wand can be waved by the government to solve all of the problems. Enforcement is a single element of a big problem.

35. @Hants

Can you call in from Maple Leaf county and ask the COP what is the outcome of his probe into the slapping incident? If he asks why say to him it is about building trust with his public, one he needs to be able to do his job well.

36. Got ya again. You know as well I do that there is no wand 🙂 🙂

37. Increasing the dose Avatar
    Increasing the dose

“We the people are happy to wait meekly until those who serve us toss crumbs of information from on high.”

Here I come again. The people are fully deserving of the disrespect, misinformation and lack of information. Hundreds of folks should be outside of an official building demanding explanation and resignations.

Figure it out… If you act like a bunch of ‘cats’ someone is going to get a hard-on and screw ya

38. If you act like a bunch of ‘cats’ someone is going to get a hard-on and screw ya
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    You WISH!!!

’someone’???

Boss, EVERYONE will..
    ..EMERA,LIME, DIGICEL, MASSY, Parkland, Canadians, Trini, Jamaicans, even our own leaders, WILL do it…
    OVER and OVER…

But is this a problem if that is what you like..?

What a place.

39. fuf real.

40. Empress Wuraola Oya Avatar
    Empress Wuraola Oya

But who gave the cops in Barbados tasers to tase each other.

https://youtu.be/S4X2XhVSjJQ?si=nND5RjCfghBgoOu2