The blogmaster read or heard somewhere that between last week Friday and the coming weekend, over 100 fetes are scheduled to take place in Barbados. These are ‘big’ fetes, nothing to do with pop ups and back yard events. Although the blogmaster has no issue with merrymaking and revelry, it seems excessive what is unfolding in Barbados given the reality of our social and economic state.

In recent days local Infection Prevention and Control Infectious Disease Specialist The Most Honourable Dr. Corey Forde has featured in the media ‘begging’ Barbadians to exercise caution because of the prevalence of airborne diseases – remember the vulnerable living in the household was his message. Given the unprecedented level of merrymaking in the country, one is left to ask, how realistic is Dr. Corey Forde’s plea to revellers? Was Dr. Corey Forde happy to check a box on his medical checklist to discharge his professional duty?

Confirming the high level of merrymaking was the revelation from the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) there is an acute labour shortage affecting this year’s Crop Over festival.

The blogmaster makes the effort to listen to Dr. Elliot Douglin’s weekly program on VOB92.9FM Prescription for Prevention. One suspects he attracts a mature audience. The message from Dr. Douglin is always wholesome, one where he extols the benefits of eating vegetables, drinking more water, engaging in exercise, eating less saturated fats found in processed foods, avoid drinking alcohol and smoking etc. Is his message one that will have significant penetration in the prevailing environment? Without meaning any disrespect to the goodly Doctors Forde and Douglin your messages ring hollow.

Forgotten in all the merriment is the fact Barbados has a high prevalence of non communicable diseases. The capacity of our primary and ancillary healthcare institution groan daily from the demand for services placed on them by the public.

When the revelry abates after Crop Over, there is an opportunity for our real leaders to standup to help the country to repurpose. The same passion we have for revelry has to be leveraged to improve all areas of society. How do we deliver on our national motto ‘Pride and Industry’? Food for thought for sober minds.

Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die - 1 Corinthians 15:32

110 responses to “‘Revelry’ cant done”

1. Currently doing a Cuba to Venezuela even when Venezuela has had the most free and fair elections in two decades. Says the Carter Centre.

In the world!

This is not about elections. For the American bully and bullers it is about oil.

And until these feckers get that oil expects all kinds of shenanigans, coups, ignoring valid elections which do not put in power their factotums.

Same thing as Guyana with the help of Mottley, Beckles, OSA. This is what these Caribbean fuckers good fuh.

Only the big deckie can cure this!

2. William Skinner Avatar

“For Caricom leaders have never had any self directed propensity to care about anybody except given an order by their dog handling masters in Washington.” (Pacha)
    You are very wrong. Errol Barrow , a million years ago, went to Cuba and with Comrade Fidel Castro, urged for a radical debt write off for underdeveloped/developing countries.
    Did Comrade Bishop take orders from the USA ?
    Did Michael Manley take orders from the USA ?
    Are you aware that there is CARICOM -Cuba Trade and Economic Cooperation Agreement that is twenty five years old. Did CARICOM leaders seek USA approval for that ?
    You are almost daily revealing an appalling lack of knowledge about CARICOM.

3. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

I got a “nounce” error message on my last post – pls rectify!!!

Thanks

TMB

4. You would have fitted well as a politician,William.
    You seem to be easily impressed with rhetoric and symbols, whereas Bushie deals with RESULTS and IMPACTS.

If there is a CARICOM -Cuba trade pact, then why are the Community leaders complaining every year about the USA, instead of talking about the IMPACT of that pact?

Dippa used to give a lotta pretty big talk yes! but in many cases, the RESULTS were quite OPPOSITE his pretty talk…
    – His closest friends were often the very people he cussed in public.
    – He enriched certain minority classes, who have gone on to be billionaires, and who subsequently sold out their LOCAL assets to white foreigners.
    – He banked everything on education – to the exclusion of the 70% BBs whose talents were NON-ACADEMIC
    – He made unfortunate pronouncements about sugar cane production, that resulted in minorities continuing to pillage that industry..

The point is that ALL POLITICIANS talk pretty shiite
    VERY FEW actually produce any LASTING RESULTS and IMPACTS.

We need to judge them by their fruit, not damn blossoms…

5. @TB

That appears to be a local error. Do a back arrow on the browser to see if the comment appears.

6. Bushie

Thanks a lot. I wrote that wid Skinner in mind.

Weeee have concluded that unlike you, who seem to be getting better and better with age, William Skinner has so declined that he is not even a shadow of the man he once was.

Seriously!!!

Maybe because his manhood has now stopped getting up. Maybe?

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    We have no problem with what you said about Barrow etc. We denounced Barrow and the DLP way back in 1974 , when they brought the Public Order Act.
    For the record, we denounced Tom Adams and the BLP in 1970s (We think around 1977/78 or thereabouts ) when he legislated salaries after promising he would “never” do so , and after criticizing Barrow for having done so previously. So, when we read clowns on BU trying to paint us as either B or D, we just fire a drink and laugh. However, to be always intellectually honest we do offer both, critical support from time to time. It’s called intellectual maturity.
    @ Pacha,
    At least you have chosen @Bush Tea ,a man whose consistency cannot be questioned regarding his beliefs. Perhaps you should find out when he keeps tutorials on : consistency in argument and beliefs.
    BTW, there is a calypso by the Mighty Sparrow called : “Willie Dead”. We hope you find it as amusing, as to quote you: “Maybe because his Skinner) manhood has now stopped getting up. Maybe?”
    @ Bush Tea we will like you to listen as well. We know you like a god laugh. Kindly keep an eye on @Pacha. Tell him to stop looking for a the old slave master We are still dealing with the ones left in the Caribbean and now he wants us to follow the ones from Russia and elsewhere.
    Willie Dead by the Mighty Sparrow, can be found on Youtube.
    Peace, good luck with Pacha Bush.

8. LOL @ William
    Sparrow was a true genius.

Was Pacha suggesting that we change your name from ‘Hardy Hard’ to “Softie Soft”?
    LOL!!!
    ha ha ha !
    Murda…

That song is also VERY appropriate to our Politicians..
    ..who previously
    – used to make BBs leave their clothes and run
    – and used to make all the champions moan and groan

Now Dem gal say dey burn duh bearing
    and is only excuse we hearing

Wilie fall down dead and can’t raise he head.

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    Yes the Birdie is pure genius . We just trying to show @ Pacha, that the true intellectuals in the Caribbean are the calypsonians. But that’s for another rap.
    Teach him good Bush……teach him good . The Caribbean region needs him.
    We prefer to be “hardy” regionalists than “softie” globalists.

10. Bushie

Hedonism!

We had to live through, this week, Zionist soldiers, when their government and military were trying to portray the illegality of their laws, breaking into a judicial compound to free other soldiers held for raping Palestinians captives with cell phones and other objects, under the pretext that the former soldiers were following orders and should have never been brought to court.

Even the wife of one soldier saw nothing wrong with the hedonism of her husband.

Of course, having more misvahs than everybody else, they think, it’s impossible to break divine law.

When are Christians going to separate themselves from these satans?

https://www.youtube.com/live/vHxYDhPMack?si=KQ0Ui9_dF0d9Xz1A

11. Pacha
    The only hypocrisy worse that God’s people CHOOSING to follow the same albino-centric wickedness that enslaved us fo five centuries ….is that with the so-called Israeli – Palestinian situation.

Imagine that the VERY people who were themselves subject to what they define as a HOLOCAUST (nothing compared to the millennia of torment suffered by Blacks), and who were INJECTED into Palestine as a safe haven from their Nazi tormentors, have now, with the OVERT support of the USA, …. SURPASSED even the excesses of the Nazis- to the point where, in retrospect, many are wondering if Hitler was not on to something….

What a thing nuh??!!

But do your recall the role played by the fore parents of those GAZA Arabs in the 1300 year-long Trans Sahara Slave trade – famous for its castrations?

Karma has the patience of many elephants.

Shortly, you will witness MANY MORE examples of Karma using various ‘whips’ to balance the scorecard, some of them outstanding for centuries…
    – with the so-called ‘Israel’
    – with their financial and military enablers
    – with the STILL OUTSTANDING reparations for the ATLANTIC slave trade
    – and even with the petty brassbowlery that we in brassbados have been perpetrating.

Whatever has been sown – will have to be reaped.

What a time to be alive..
    What a complex – but INTRICATE, world
    What detailed spiritual LAWS and rules in place
    …and
    What blindness that leaves so many in the dark…

12. “But do your recall the role played by the fore parents of those GAZA Arabs in the 1300 year-long Trans Sahara Slave trade – famous for its castrations?”

There is a lot of ignorance and tropes put out about Arab slave trade, a lot of it from Israel. Arab trade was more akin to servants and maids with manumission.

https://www.palestine-studies.org/en/node/78020

13. You could really hush your Kiki mouth …before Bushie resumes his campaign to get your donkey banned from BU…

“Akin to servants and maids” Bushies black donkey!!!

According to our John, the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade was simply a big favor being done for ignorant black people too…
    Steupsss.

Bushie hopes that no-one ever traffics your little burro, convert you to a compliant Eunuch – and turn your behind into something akin to a concubine – so you won’t have to experience the ‘ignorance and tropes’ about such treatment.

Imaging the impact on families, children, communities – over CENTURIES, when millions of people are brutally displaced and tormented by heartless animals, for materialistic ends….
    Looka!!
    ….you better don’t mek Bushie vex as shiite yuh!!!

14. Call in yuh Boss Man neh!

Saw a man, in an Olympic boxing match, beat up a woman real bad boy!

Dey say he is a girl. But the real real girl say she never got hit so hard, so often

He had she like a rag doll, boy!

These woke-ist fools!

————-

Paul Kegame in Rwanda again gets 99 percent in an election. The Americans supported him right away. Not for the first time he’s getting nearly all the votes. That’s ‘democracy’.

But in Venezuela where Madura gets 52 percent and his rival gets 43 percent the American Congress wants to meet to elect the loser as winner.

————-

Weeeee got a lot a problems but your Boss man ain’t helping wid de big fire.

On the issue of Palestinian karma

We may a knowledge deficit.

Weee clearly know that the Arabs were the first to have enslaved the Slavs. Of course, we’re not talking about chattel slavery yet. That came later for us. And was a departure from previous formations.

However, we’ve never seen direct intelligence implicating the Palestinian Arabs, specifically, as the forces behind it. And we see Yemen and the Palestinians within similar historical arcs.

Will have to look again. However, ours instincts will point to the Saudis, the Turks and others

15. “Akin to servants and maids”

this has been told to you many a time before
    but you chose to wallow in your ignorance

you should shut up with your false facts that you got from the white man and repeat like a dummy

16. LOL @ pacha
    When the Boss man is finally FORCED to step in, it will be to put a FINAL stop to the project (life on Earth), and will be precipitated by idiocy gone completely out of control.

You err in thinking that the objective is for everything to go as smoothly as possible and that hence that the Creator would step in to sort out the jobby from time to time…

Nothing could be further from the truth.
    The actual objective is to CREATE DIAMONDS of CHARACTER.

This REQUIRES an environment of pressure, heat and challenge.
    It may take LOTS of time, Lots of heat, and massive pressure to create JUST A FEW DIAMONDS… but the VALUE boss…the VALUE!!!

The problem of course, is that the ‘furnace’ that was created to provide the NEEDED heat and pressure to the cauldron has managed to CONVERT almost all of the brass bowls (potential converts to diamond status) to THEMSELVES adopt the furnace philosophy of brassbowlery.

At some point therefore, continuation of the Cauldron project will be meaningless – due to lack of needed raw materials.

We will then see a WHOLE NEW PROJECT ‘Life on Earth Phase 2’, and the old stuff will be discarded.

On another note…
    Hard to believe that you are unfamiliar with the Trans Sahara Slave Trade.
    It is even harder to identify EXACTLY who were the perps.
    …we have the same situation with the Atlantic version…
    But Karma knows…..

17. Yes Bushie. The historical memory of the TransSahara route was again recently brought front of mind when Ghadafy was killed and slave markets hastily reappeared in Libya.

But yuh quite right for the histories are clear though far less studied than the Transatlantic route.

The Arabs arrival in North Afrika around 638 AD was about conquest.

Wee know broadly but not as deeply. What has to be checked is the specific Palestinian Arab involvement. Weee know the role of Moroccan Arabs , for example.

18. Hearing POONKA in his presentation to Sammy G calling for Barbadians to reclaim we culture.

19. World History has been wiped out and replaced with White People’s bastardised version of History to divide and rule and conquer stealing culture.
    The White Christian narrative ain’t worth shit.

“As we guarantee to each the right to worship as he chooses, so we denounce the policy which set man against man on issues of religion” — Haile Selassie I

20. David a message went missing
    perhaps you could explain why

21. “White people are currently grappling with, facing up to and fighting against their own inherent insidious racist culture, prejudices, biases and misinformation…”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

@ Kiki
    What is different with wunna Middle Eastern types…?
    How are foreign workers treated in Qatar and such places?
    Are they welcomed with open arms?

Boss, check ALL history…. the ONLY peoples who have shown the ability to welcome, endorse, forgive and even (foolishly) kowtow to their oppressors – are God’s BB people.

We have become so enamored with our oppressors, that we have CHOSEN to adopt THEIR ways, THEIR attitudes, THEIR centricity, THEIR shiite…

….it is only fitting that we will also suffer THEIR fate.

22. DJ Theory
    Everything is Energy
    Wadada (means love)

23. “What is different with wunna Middle Eastern types…?
    How are foreign workers treated in Qatar and such places?
    Are they welcomed with open arms?”

License to Hate
    Since 911 and wars against muslims
    there has been 24 years of anti-muslim propagnda
    racists started saying they were anti-muslim instead of being out and out racists against black and brown people
    Black slaves made Christian are against Islam even though it is a Black Religion and has been part of the Black Empowerment movement since civil rights fights

Bush don’t listen to stush white propaganda or you will stay bamboozled dazed confused in your place

you cannot school / teach stupid

24. Dr. Basil Springer’s article in BT seems relevant to how we go about building a strong society. We have to focus on the youth.

Building a strong society
    “Start children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old, they will not turn from it.”
    – Proverbs 22:6
    The future of our country lies in the hands of the next generation. It is our duty to equip them with the tools they need to succeed. Quality education, mentoring, travel, networking and thoughtful inheritance planning are the cornerstones of building a robust society.
    Quality education is the bedrock upon which a child’s future is built. It goes beyond acquiring essential academic skills and knowledge. Parents, teachers and schools are not just educators but also mentors who play an indispensable role in this comprehensive education process. This holistic approach helps children discover their passions, interests and potential, nurturing their innate talents and guiding them toward fulfilling careers. A quality education lays the groundwork for financial security, not just for the children themselves, but also for future generations.
    However, the role of education extends beyond the formal classroom setting. Travel significantly contributed to my development, which I achieved through the Boy Scout movement, local and regional camps, and international jamborees. Travelling with sporting teams, for higher education, and on family vacation to gain lasting real-world experiences is equally crucial. Selecting jobs with travel components became essential. Our children then caught the travel bug and selected professions that kept them in the air, capturing global experiences.
    Practical education can be even more impactful in many cases, depending on the individual’s receptivity. Skills learned through internships, apprenticeships, and hands-on projects often provide invaluable insights and practical knowledge that formal education may not cover. These experiences prepare children for the complexities of the real world, equipping them with problem-solving abilities, critical thinking skills, adaptability and relationship development.
    Parental mentoring is another vital aspect of building a strong society. Parents are the first and most influential mentors a child will ever have. The values and principles instilled by parents form the foundation of a child’s character. Spiritual guidance from parents helps children develop a strong sense of right and wrong, fostering integrity and moral fortitude.
    Mentoring goes beyond just imparting knowledge; it involves actively participating in a child’s life, understanding their struggles, and guiding them through challenges. By providing emotional support and encouragement, parents help their children build confidence and resilience.
    As parents, we must also consider the legacy we leave behind for our children. Inheritance is not just about passing down financial assets; it encompasses the transfer of values, wisdom, and life lessons. While financial inheritance can provide a safety net, the most significant inheritance we can leave our children is the knowledge and skills to navigate life’s challenges. It is important to strike a balance between enjoying our lives and ensuring that we have enough to pass on to the next generation. Thoughtful inheritance planning involves accumulating wealth and teaching children how to manage and grow it responsibly.
    Networking and relationship-building are also critical components of a successful and fulfilling life. Our destiny is often tied to the relationships we build and the networks we cultivate. Encouraging children to develop strong interpersonal skills and meaningful connections can open doors to opportunities that would otherwise remain closed. A robust network provides support, guidance, and invaluable resources in both personal and professional spheres.
    By focusing on these core areas – quality education, travel, mentoring, networking, and thoughtful inheritance planning – we can build a stronger, more prosperous future for our children and society.
    I end by extending condolences to the family of Sir Neville Nicholls, a visionary leader and dedicated regionalist who served as the third president of the Caribbean Development Bank.
    To me, he was a caring, gracious and engaging mentor on enterprise development projects from 1998 to 2012, which I had the honour to execute. His legacy will last forever. May he rest in peace.
    Dr Basil Springer GCM is a corporate governance adviser. His email address is basilgf@ marketplaceexcellence.com. His columns may be found at https://www.nothingbeatsbusiness.com.

25. At least a discussion is being had and concern shown by some about the relevance of Crop Over 50 years later.

Divide over festival’s 50th

By Diara Springer

As Barbados celebrates the 50th year of Crop Over, opinions are divided on whether the golden moment for the island’s most iconic festival is on song, or has fallen short of expectations.

Some people are expressing disappointment over what they perceive as a lacklustre celebration being organised by the National Cultural Foundation (NCF).

“This gotta be the worst Crop Over yet. I don’t know what could save this,” lamented one social media user, capturing a sentiment echoed by several others.

Another wrote: “This year so dry to me. This season just ain’t it; the vibes ain’t there for real.”

The conversations on social media reveal a broader concern about the festival’s commercialisation and the loss of cultural essence.

“Watching the conversations on the over-commercialisation of Trini Carnival makes me sad ’cause we have the same issues with Crop Over. Culture is being lost and locals are being priced out,” shared another user.

Cricket World Cup

Some critics argue that the focus on the International Cricket Council Men’s T20 World Cup,

which saw Barbados hosting nine matches including the final in June, detracted from the festival’s significance.

“I feel like too much was invested in World Cup and we forgot that this year is the 50th anniversary of Crop Over,” one user remarked.

Critics argue that the festivities, which should have been more vibrant and reflective of the 50th anniversary milestone, have instead been underwhelming.

“I feel like for Crop Over 50th anniversary the season is very normal. I expected more,” one commented, encapsulating the general call for a more memorable celebration.

However, industry insiders painted a different picture.

Significance

Ingrid Holder, who has been in the entertainment industry since 1995 and manages artistes such as Edwin Yearwood, Leadpipe and Saddis and Grateful Co, said she believed that the significance of the 50th anniversary has been adequately highlighted this year.

“I would say it has been a vibe,” she told the Saturday Sun. “Barbados has gone through a lot . . . . We’ve come a long way musically in getting our music out there to the international stage, especially soca.”

Holder pointed out that the calendar was “bursting extra at the seams” this year, with events happening every day and night. She highlighted the efforts of both the NCF and private promoters in organising additional events to celebrate the milestone.

“For 50, I think the NCF and also the private promoters have gone beyond to try to celebrate the 50th,” she said. However, Holder acknowledged that the increased costs of organising events have led to higher ticket prices, which might affect attendance. “Unfortunately, since COVID everything has gone up. The cost of doing an average event for some promoters – because of the service providers’ fees – has gone up. Unfortunately, the patrons have to feel the pinch,” she explained. Recognising this financial challenge, Holder said the NCF took steps to make the festival more accessible. “The NCF have had an extra set of what we call the Sweet Limes in almost every parish, bringing out persons who actually live in those parishes,” she noted. Soca 5.0, to be held tomorrow at the National Botanical Gardens, is one of the events to mark the 50th milestone. Five bands – krosfyah, Square One, Coalishun, the 50th Anniversary Band and Machel Montano & The Monk Band out of Trinidad – will headline the show. “What better way to celebrate 50 years than by getting as many of the bands as possible to return to a Crop Over stage to help patrons and visitors alike to celebrate this milestone,” chief executive officer of the NCF, Carol Roberts, stated in last Monday’s Daily Nation, adding that artistes and patrons had been responding positively to Soca 5.0. “If box office numbers to date can be relied upon, and they can, we are very heartened by the response to the big concert and celebration of 50 years of Crop Over before we take to the streets for the grand finale on Grand Kadooment Day,” she added.

For Alvin Toppin, known as the Soca Superman, who started in the industry as a DJ around 1998 and now helps organise events such as Bacchanal Thursdays, the 50th anniversary celebration has been somewhat of a letdown.

“I haven’t been to too many events this year, but it personally feels a little low-key. It doesn’t feel like 50 years of Crop Over to me,” he said.

Toppin said he believed more marketing of the 50th anniversary was needed.

“I think the NCF are doing their best. They’re mentioning the 50th anniversary but I don’t think Bajans are really rolling with it or overly celebrating it. I don’t think it was drilled down enough.”

He also pointed out the issue of event scheduling, noting that the Crop Over calendar was “bottom heavy” with numerous events in July but few in May or June. Starting events earlier could “give songs more playtime and build momentum for the festival”, he added.

Both Holder and Toppin agreed on the importance of preserving the unique aspects of Crop Over. Holder emphasised the significance of maintaining the Crop Over name, which sets Barbados apart from other Caribbean carnivals.

Toppin, meanwhile, called for a return to more cultural elements.

“In my time, there were a bit more cultural things like burning Mr Harding. I think they need to bring back a bit more of those activities as well. Now it feels like it’s all about partying. There’s nothing wrong with partying, but I think there needs to be more of a balance,” he said.

Some spectators at last week’s parade in The City to launch Grand Kadooment also had their take on the celebrations.

Sade Clarke said: “At first it took a while for me to actually get into the spirit, but now I’m definitely feeling it. I don’t know how anyone wouldn’t be able to feel it. There are so many events that you can go to.”

However, Allan Reid highlighted the financial challenges.

“I haven’t been able to go to as much events as I usually would. Money real tight and the fetes are more expensive than they were in the past. So I’ve had to be a bit more selective in what I choose to go to,” he said.

Shawn Greene echoed some of the disappointment expressed online, particularly regarding the historical aspects of the celebration. “I’ve been a little disappointed. I thought maybe this year they would’ve tried to incorporate more historical elements for the 50th anniversary. I was expecting to see the return of events like Cohobblopot and Brewster’s Road. If they had done that, it would’ve been a nice li’l touch,” he said.

Diara Springer is on an internship programme at the Nation Publishing Co. Limited.

26. Iran declares War
    USA rushes to help 4x2s

27. “At least a discussion is being had and concern shown by some about the relevance of Crop Over 50 years later.”

Crop Over was a harvest festival type end of season celebration for slave plantation workers and was part of the little enjoyment that was meted out to them

28. Maybe Diara Springer could get them to change the libel and slander laws to so transform the horizons of her career.

But instead of a roll back, an extention has been proposed for other domains.

And another Springer talks about education. Well, it has always escaped us how better citizens could be developed when lies are inculcated from birth.

How any of the known elitist approaches could be useful in confronting constantly changing futures, beyond the consolidation of what has been.

People like this second Springer generally tend to mean making the wicked system currently in place more dominating of the minds of all youths.

It would be difficult to find somebody from such old schools to build a new school of taught and praxis. The Barbados School like the Frankfurt School, etc

29. Saturday Riots due in London and up to 35 other places

Axel Muganwa Rudakubana is a 17 year old born in Cardiff to Christian Rwandan Parents

He murdered 3 girls and injured more

Racists are blaming and attacking Muslims

Anti-racists preparing to face off racists

Protests against protests

30. @ Dub man,

What’s happening in the mother country and in your beloved London. It’s incredible that some of these knuckle draggers have become frequent visitors to Bimshire.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-13705211/divided-kingdom-riots-manchester-leeds-portsmouth-hull-stoke-belfast-britain-chaos.html

31. It looks like protests and riots will run through to end of summer carnival now,
    you can blame the heat for all the emotional madness,
    35 protests were due to take place across the UK this weekend
    “under a broad anti-multiculturalism, anti-Muslim and anti-government agenda”.

32. If Mia gets her wicked way and we see an increase in our population by 80,000 – as is her wish. Do you believe that we could witness similar outcomes in Bimshire?

I have argued for years that Barbados should be aware of the historical racism metered out to Caribbean’s from the fifties by all ethnic groups inside the mother country. Why would Mia want similar treatment to be equally metered out to domestic Barbadians such as Donna’s boy or even Artax’s boy.

Anyone else watching the women’s gymnastics?

33. While the old men grumble on BU, the young hard working women and out and about briefly enjoying themselves after years of work.

34. Paid into their public and private pension plans.
    Paid their rents or mortgages for August.
    Paid their utilities.
    Bought food.
    Paid their student’s loans.
    Paid their car loans.
    Donated to their places of worship, or to some charity or another.

Not everybody is a self-indulgent fool.

35. @TLSN August 3, 2024 at 11:11 am “If Mia gets her…way and we see an increase in our population by 80,000”

What are you doing to help increase Barbados’ population?

You have working reproductive organs don’t you?

Ease up on the talk and do something [re]productive.

Because if Bajan mean [and women] can’t do it won’t do it then we will have to find some willing and able foreigners.

36. @cuhdear
    It must be said. It must be asked.
    Somehow, I get the impression that you are in an active and unending war with the other sex. Why? Have you allowed your opinion to influence those that are near and dear and are female?

I will stop here, but you can volunteer additional information (if you desire to do so)

37. @The OG August 3, 2024 at 5:35 pm “@cuhdear It must be said. It must be asked. Somehow, I get the impression that you are in an active and unending war with the other sex.”

Which other sex? Lol!

Not at war with anybody.

I am a most peaceful person. A conflict avoider, the psychologist told me.

However if Barbados is to increase its population, and it seems that it must, then shouting across the waters is less than useful.

All Bajans with useful working reproductive organs need to get down to the intimate business.

Of course that excludes me as my reproductive organs quit decades ago. I would love to help, but alas I can’t.

Any other questions?

38. Increasing the population by 80,000 based on what? Whats the goal more people to pay NIS or lime pun de block? You want 80,000 more that will contribute to the economy or 80,000 more looking for social benefit and free housing?

Some may be offended but lets be honest what is it that we want ?

39. ” They say a group of men were liming on a block area known as ‘Camp Survival’

https://barbadostoday.bb/2024/08/04/man-20-dead-following-shooting-in-st-michael/

40. Don’t you have your own boys to worry about? I have told you before that mine does not need your concern.

41. Will Elon be proven right?

Will there be another civil war in England?

One of the reasons the last one was started was religion, Church of England v. Church of Rome. King was married to a Roman Catholic and lent Roman Catholic.

One thing about the Brits, when it comes time to fight, they fight.

42. The recalling of parliament was a precursor to the first civil war.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9b2fWLGZNI

43. @ David
    Requesting permission to Bitch Slap an old goat

John
    You do love the politics of white scum
    How many fights have you been in you old cunt

44. America has the same problem as Britain with Migrants.

In theory there could be a civil war in America too, except it will be clearer that it isn’t really a civil war, but citizens rising up to defend their country against an invasion.

In America, the action will unfold in sanctuary cities where black taxpaying American citizens are being disadvantaged.

The Government has a biiiiig problem.

Will Trump win the election, who knows, but only he is offering mass deportation.

45. Meanwhile, back in the region I see CLICO’s malfeasances continue to be headed to Court.

https://caribbean.loopnews.com/content/guyana-seeking-recoup-millions-owed-clico

46. @John A August 4, 2024 at 4:27 pm “lets be honest what is it that we want ?”

Smart, young, healthy, hard working people, and who know how to do a few wuk-ups at Kadooment,

But the whole world wants the same.

Can we compete?

We shall see.

47. @John August 6, 2024 at 10:09 am “America has the same problem as Britain with Migrants.”

The people in the UK who are rioting right now, and white, male, British born and raised subjects.

Migrants are not rioting.

48. Cuhdear Bajan
    August 6, 2024 at 7:15 pm

@John August 6, 2024 at 10:09 am “America has the same problem as Britain with Migrants.”

The people in the UK who are rioting right now, and white, male, British born and raised subjects.

Migrants are not rioting.

You are out of touch my dear.

What you think Hal Austin, an Englishman, will do when he is sitting down in his pub having a pint with the lads only to be disturbed by a mob of rioting Muslims?

It will only be his Quaker outlook that will stop him from picking up a big rock.