The blogmaster read or heard somewhere that between last week Friday and the coming weekend, over 100 fetes are scheduled to take place in Barbados. These are ‘big’ fetes, nothing to do with pop ups and back yard events. Although the blogmaster has no issue with merrymaking and revelry, it seems excessive what is unfolding in Barbados given the reality of our social and economic state.

In recent days local Infection Prevention and Control Infectious Disease Specialist The Most Honourable Dr. Corey Forde has featured in the media ‘begging’ Barbadians to exercise caution because of the prevalence of airborne diseases – remember the vulnerable living in the household was his message. Given the unprecedented level of merrymaking in the country, one is left to ask, how realistic is Dr. Corey Forde’s plea to revellers? Was Dr. Corey Forde happy to check a box on his medical checklist to discharge his professional duty?

Confirming the high level of merrymaking was the revelation from the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) there is an acute labour shortage affecting this year’s Crop Over festival.

The blogmaster makes the effort to listen to Dr. Elliot Douglin’s weekly program on VOB92.9FM Prescription for Prevention. One suspects he attracts a mature audience. The message from Dr. Douglin is always wholesome, one where he extols the benefits of eating vegetables, drinking more water, engaging in exercise, eating less saturated fats found in processed foods, avoid drinking alcohol and smoking etc. Is his message one that will have significant penetration in the prevailing environment? Without meaning any disrespect to the goodly Doctors Forde and Douglin your messages ring hollow.

Forgotten in all the merriment is the fact Barbados has a high prevalence of non communicable diseases. The capacity of our primary and ancillary healthcare institution groan daily from the demand for services placed on them by the public.

When the revelry abates after Crop Over, there is an opportunity for our real leaders to standup to help the country to repurpose. The same passion we have for revelry has to be leveraged to improve all areas of society. How do we deliver on our national motto ‘Pride and Industry’? Food for thought for sober minds.

Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die - 1 Corinthians 15:32

110 responses to “‘Revelry’ cant done”

1. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

HERE WE GO AGAIN: ANOTHER HOTSPOT & BREEDING GROUND FOR COVID-24 PLANDEMIC – FORST, THE OLYMPICS & NOW THIS MADNESS

THE #god CALLED “BACCHUS” – #Bachannal #Bacchanalia #Revelry

The world of “ESCAPISM” – a “TIME FUNNEL” to glide through in order to leave the cares & worries between our 2 ears for a moment of insalubrious distanciation!!!

Scripture is clear that this “GENERATION” according to 1 Corinthians 6:9-11 (NKJV): “Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God?.. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor “REVELERS”, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God…”

#1stWitness

AGAIN, Galatians 5:19-21 (NKJV): “The works of the flesh are evident, which are: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lewdness, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, contentions, jealousies, outbursts of wrath, selfish ambitions, dissensions, heresies, envy, murders, drunkenness, “REVELRIES”, and the like; of which I tell you beforehand, just as I also told you in time past, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God…”

#2ndWitness

FINALLY, Revelation 22:15 (NKJV): “Outside are the dogs and sorcerers and the sexually immoral and murderers and idolaters, and whoever loves and practices falsehood.”

#3rdWitness

2. Escapism is a necessary practice – IN MODERATION. The problem here is that we no longer have moderation.

3. Douglin is generally right

But wrong about saturated fats. Good saturated fats like coconut oil, for example, cold pressed! The socalled ‘vegetable oils’ made from grains are poison.

Saturated fats were blamed back in the 60’s with the rise of carbohydrates content diets or the pyramid of fruits and vegetables, proteins, grains. All except green vegetables have associations with higher or moderate levels of sugars.

However, more recent findings have suggested that the non-communicable diseases most Bajans will die from – diabetes, HBP, metabolic syndrome diseases, etc are NOT caused by saturated fats but by the sugars which come from grains, peas, beans, excessively converted protein stored as fat but metabolized as sugar.

And on and on.

Case in point. There are populations like Eskimos who had traditionally eaten few grains etc but had no incidence of those diseases currently killing us.

Another cause of disease is eating too much food all the time.

One meal a day or every two days. Water fasting for 7 to 14 days every 2 or 3 months.

Richie Haynes was once known to have said that starvation is the best medicine. And he was right.

For the evolution of humans was constantly characterised by not having food all the time, like we do now. And the drug addition to constant sugar craves, sweet food like OSA said, or eating when not even hungry, as a bad habit, are problematic.

4. “They who revel in the riches of revelry, often forget to provide for their future needs.”

5. In life, lies death, we are but spiritual beings having an earthy experience. What I find strange in 2024 is how most black Bajans blame other races for their underachievements.

15,000 went to #tipsybarbados how many of these would be willing to invest $100 monthly for 12 monthly to raise $25M for some project?

Most of black masses in Barbados in the future will be relegated to working as busboys, sales clerks and hotel workers while the highly educated will migrate due to the economic hardships in Barbados.

The highly skilled professionals who remain in Barbados will exploit those who are unskilled and uneducated who will have no choice but to compete with cheap labor offered by fellow Caricom residents who migrate to Barbados.

Many in Barbados lack the ability to read what is not written or hear what is not spoken due to the lack of the necessary socialization by the household to develop critical thinking skills. A direct causation of generational poverty.

Sadly, most youth including females are hooked on the Fanta the gateway substance and marijuana smoking.

I wonder if the Muslim importer of Fanta funds any political party or politician?

Sad to say, the level of corruption in Barbados is unimaginable and straddles the whole society. The biggest criminals are not the thugs who stupidly kill each other but the lettered we hold up as esteemed citizens who make secret deals to suck our already sore nipples.

How come with all the technology such as #stingrays #pegasus since World Cup, you telling me the police still do not know who are organizing the importation of guns and drugs. There are no secrets just as the police download people phone data, access to emails and text due to agreements with phone companies the world over. It was embarrassing to hear at a cocktail reception in UK of how long we took to pay the vendor for spyware. Why would a former DEA agent who worked out of PR lie to me about transnational crime and how international criminals have infiltrated Caribbean countries.

It’s really sad when civil servants are encouraged to act unlawful under the pretext of just following instructions. When you carry out illegal act of political masters, be ever mindful you live in Barbados and not flipping immune to social decay. Let your daily briefs reflect the real threat to national security are those entrusted with power and not the outspoken.

No secrets exist in Barbados, everybody knows somebody, went school with somebody, is friend with somebody who knows a friend, cousin, friend or family. So name calling and victimization because I am outspoken as a citizen emboldens me to speak out without fear or favor.

Two of the greatest death bed regrets are the not speaking out and the failure to make a positive difference to others.

##EmancipationDayRant

6. Cutting food out of my budget would be life-changing!

Of course, I’d rather be dead though.

Moderation is the key to EVERYTHING!

“TOO FAR EAST IS WEST!”

7. @Kammie

Agree with the tenor of your submission. Very relevant on Emancipation Day.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Culture is the heart of the country. Although we may have vulgarity and plain ignorance invading our culture; our Crop Over festival and large crowds represent our culture. It’s up to individuals to determine what they want to consume.
    We have read articles of some of our centenarians, who swear by a shot of some alcoholic beverage on a daily or regular basis.
    @ Pacha
    Very informative piece but there are also cultures who credit the consumption of grain with their good health and longevity.
    We remain amazed that we don’t encourage swimming as a prime exercise. It should actually be on the curriculum starting at the primary school.

9. @William

Your generalization does not capture the essence of concern. We are discussing overindulgence. Bear in mind a discussion of this type is part of our culture as well. Unlike others Barbadians tend to talk rather than throw rocks.

10. @ Pacha
    Good lecture.

Perhaps what we are seeing are ‘fruits’.
    Meaning the outputs coming from what we have sown.

Just like the ‘fruits’ of the spirit of God are characterized by Love, Patience, Selflessness, Wisdom, Moderation and general Community spiritedness…
    There are also ‘fruits’ that are associated with the spirit of Evil.
    These include Hate, Envy, Murder, Escapism (drunkenness, drugs, revelry), materialism, selfishness etc.

That we are currently reaping a PARTICULAR kind of fruit should be a CLEAR signal of our current spiritual alignment…. But of course there are none as blind as those who CHOOSE not to see.

Unfortunately, whether we choose to see, or not – has NO IMPACT on that spiritual judge called KARMA. We WILL be made to lay down in the bed that we have made, and to eat what we have sown.
    We also know that “what sweeten goat mout….does bun he tail”.

So perhaps as Mac has prescribed, this may well be our last mass, so we appear to be going all out to ‘enjoy’ it…..

11. I don’t know what wunna complaining about cost of living and not being able to make ends meet for Bajans got money to burn!

Mia must be saying wonder what new tax I could bring to take some of dem money! LOL

12. Caribbean Fetes, Festivals, Carnivals etc have grown around the world / diaspora

and it’s influence has spread,

Summer Carnivals, Festivals, Concerts, raves, parties has become a big part of Western Culture too.

Brazil is another country with many free festivals, carnivals, raves, parties etc
    and this spreads across Latin / South America

“I don’t know what wunna complaining about cost of living and not being able to make ends meet for Bajans got money to burn!”

Free music is the best type of music,
    but it is not compulsory,
    if colourful, raucous and hedonistic parties are not your cup of tea
    stay inside instead

13. Those who live long and well usually say, “I eat everything in moderation.”

The word “revelry” may have had some bad roots but there is nothing wrong with dancing, drinking and celebrating in MODERATION.

When Cropover was revived and upgraded to a national festival, this was pretty much the case. Unfortunately, humans have a tendency to the extreme.

Abrahamic extremists go too far east and pagan extremists go too far west. If the earth were flat, they would both fall off the edge. The earth being round, they simply end up going around in circles.

As for me, I will stay close to the centre where uncommon “common sense” prevails.

I don’t do Cropover anymore, as Bacchus has indeed taken that over. But I am not against a little wine in the glass nor in the waist!

14. @ David
    Dr Trevor Shepherd’s article in today’s Nation is on point re this topic.

15. Old values are dead and gone

PEOPLE WHO EXPRESS awe and dismay at many recent events – the shootings, the online displays of vulgarity or fire power, the difficulty transacting business at many commercial centres, the road rage, the tragic instances of hit and run, some of the problems at Queen Elizabeth Hospital, the robberies of churches and boat owners even during the passage of Hurricane Beryl, to name a few – would not be so shocked if they recognised and understood the new Bajan.

Two generations ago, the old Bajan was well known in the rest of the Caribbean for being wellmannered, very well educated, well-spoken, decent and law-abiding. He was maybe a bit aloof, not given to too much hospitality. Somewhat too British, actually. Dependable chap, but sort of boring, to be honest. Definitely not the life of the party.

At home, the old Bajan knew how to stretch a dollar. Long before bank accounts were commonplace, the old Bajan invented the meeting turn. With no National Insurance to depend on, the old Bajan worked even when sick, pregnant, or in pain. With no easy access to cars, the old Bajan walked from country to town, or rode bicycles like the Rudge, Raleigh or Triumph. Too poor to even think of fast food, he was generally slim, fit and strong. Many had a strong sense of God. Even those who studiously avoided church had a great respect for things divine. Rob a church? No way. Curse a priest or minister? Not a chance.

But things changed. There’s a new boy and girl on the block. New Bajan is here. Loud, brash, in yuh face, full of bling and ready to block. New Bajan has four or five credit cards, all maxed out. But so wha’? She still got to have the latest cellphone with case to match fingernails and eyelashes. Don’t mek sport.

Her new Bajan boyfriend – the real boyfriend, not the other one who pays her rent, nor the next one who buys food and clothes – is a perfect match for her. Look at him too hard and he will tell you off in a hurry. Words might be a problem, though; his vocabulary is somewhat limited to f-words and c-words. You may have trouble figuring out exactly what he’s saying, but not to worry – the meaning will be perfectly clear.

New Bajan doesn’t do church. Too many hypocrites in there. Her most intense spiritual moments occur at Tipsy or Soca On De Hill. Fast food, beer and non-stop fete are her communion.

Add a little spliff and she’s in heaven.

You can always tell when the driver in front of you in a new Bajan. Stop light is red. Then amber.

Then green. New Bajan doesn’t see. Too busy cackling out at the latest meme on TikTok or Facebook on the phone to see anything. So you give him a toot on the horn. Bad mistake. Up goes the middle finger. New Bajan drivers don’t care a hoot about other road users. They turn anytime, anyhow, anywhere – no signal. Approaching a junction, they push the car bonnet right to the middle of the road, ’cause they want to get out and you can’t stop them. That’s the new Bajan.

New Bajan customer reps are the best. Don’t make the mistake of saying “good morning” as you approach the customer desk. That silent, baleful stare, if Google could translate it into Bajan, would sound like: “Wha de . . . you disturbing me fuh?

Wunna cahn see I busy pun my phone. Steuuups!”

Of course, many new Bajans are smart. They know their rights and will put you on social media so the whole world can know how unreasonable you, their employer, are for expecting them to come to work when the Met Office says to expect a tropical wave.

I’m told that some hotels in places like Puerto Rico display signs saying “No Bajans allowed”.

Some in the local cruise industry hold their heads in shame when cruises start here and Bajans board the ship. We’re all too familiar with stories of cake fights at local supermarkets, and police having to be called to quell chaos during markdown sales.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, we were aghast at tales of theft from the Harrison Point facility. The new Bajan strikes.

So all the nail-biting and soul-searching that we’re now being called to do is too little too late.

As Professor Emeritus Sir Henry Fraser wrote recently, we saw it coming and did nothing.

Our social foundation is almost completely eroded. The old values are dead and the sign posts have gone. Wordsworth would say “the world is too much with us, we (have wasted) our powers”.

TREVOR R. SHEPHERD

16. @Bush Tea

We are operating in an age where anything goes, any behaviour can be explained or rationalised, we are that good. The king has no clothes is real. We can save millions if we cut the education budget by 75%.

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    The article by Dr.Trevor Sheherd again shows evidence that the Barbados of Old started to disappear almost forty years ago. That he has aligned his submission with that of Dr. Henry Fraser is instructive. Dr. Fraser said : we saw it coming and did nothing or words to that effect.
    We continue to plant one thing and expect to reap the other. We had fifty years to reform the education system, which with the right thinkers , would have saved our children , whose children and grand children are now lost to all the societal ills and tendencies expressed by both of the doctors.
    The major industries in Bim are : destroying ideas and appealing to nostalgia and wrapping up ourselves in pure nonsense. Every damn time the vegetables prices increase they tell us to grow our own food. Every time crime lifts its head they tell us to pray or send our children to Sunday school and now we are hearing about brining in people from ” faith based ministries” to be counsellors in our schools. Once more attempting to use religion to blunt the minds of our children.
    We understand what your position is but if you think that it is possible to put in garbage and come out with lovely pearls , you are mistaken.
    We submit that unless we change the mindset through modern, progressive education that is catered fundamentally to a new progressive socio economic model, we would be right here , another fifty years from now.
    Ask China; ask Japan and Sweden how they have used education as the tool for producing the societies they wanted.
    We humbly submit that no 2024 model car can be produced by using a 1824 production line.

18. @ David

Great article by Trevor Shepherd. He clearly shows the radical change in society here and as William said it was not overnight but over a 40 year period.

When I was in my 20s it was every Bajan’s dream to own a piece of the rock, now its to own a big ride. The old Bajan invested for the future, the new one lives for today with 5 maxed out credit cards as said by Mr Shepherd.

So my question to all is this. If those outlined in his article are now the parents rasing children, what will our value system be in 2040 when those children reach the job market? I thankfully will not be around to witness it. What has caused such a radical change in our society that has now brought us to this point?

19. @John A

A lot of the answer can be found in cultural penetration, allowing Bajan artifacts to transition elsewhere. A failing economic model which opens too many external influences not in any particular order.

20. Old Bajan
    Angry about changes in circumstances
    Why bother getting mad at causes and forces far bigger than us?
    After all external forces are not sentient beings they cannot respond to our shouts and cries. Situations don’t care at all

New Bajan
    International not national
    Cultures are melding worldwide

21. @David “it seems excessive what is unfolding…”

Excessive???

My “wuk-up crew’ of 4 people, young, happy, healthy, working is in from the great white north, only too happy to drop some foreign exchange in the Bajan economy.

My own attendance at fetes=0

22. I learned somewhere in my Christian upbringing that there will be rejoicing in heaven a the end….Question: What will be the format of this rejoicing? Give me some guidelines.

23. Prices ent easy either.
    A lot of money getting spend.

24. When our ‘goat mout’ was being sweetened by the drunkenness of materialism – we were enthralled by the proponents of brassbowlery.

When OSA placed economic value above OWNING our fields and hills
    When Kellman was promoting the squandering of our pension funds
    When Froon was asleep at the wheel – enjoying his glorious decade
    When Mia was pushing Lil Rick and Edwin as role models in our schools
    When our new National Hero (who represents albino-centric values of ‘success’) was selected.
    So…
    …why are we now surprised at the fruit we are reaping – now that the stuff has reached the goat’s tail ?

Bushie warned years ago that our asses were headed for some SERIOUS grass – so much so that a ‘whacker’ would be useless, and a bulldozer will be required.
    It now seems that this has become obvious to EVERYONE –
    Even the proponents of the brassbowlery are now seeing value in ‘prayers’ and in ‘spiritual interventions’.

Unfortunately THAT is NOT how it works….

‘Prayers’ are tools that are RESERVED for the righteous…. and EVEN THEN, should be employed with great wisdom.
    The prayers of the wicked are a waste of time.

The OVER-RIDING rule is that we SHALL reap what we have sown.
    Having sown shiite, we can pray and beg til kingdom come…. our donkeys WILL taste the grass.

ONLY by GENUINE REPENTANCE, CHANGE IN BEHAVIORS and CONVERSION OF CHARACTER is there ANY chance of any change in fortune – and this option is ONLY even available through the GRACE of our Creator.

(If my people, who are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and seek my face…”

What a time to be around
    What a place to be

25. @John “what will our value system be in 2040 when those children reach the job market? I thankfully will not be around to witness it. ”

I was thinking I won’t be around either…then I remembered that I am from a family of long livers.

Oh dear I will probably be here still.

26. @Alvin Boots Cummins

You don’t like surprises?

What guidelines what!

27. “THIS CROP OVER SEASON appears to be on steroids, says businessman Eddy Abed. The former president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce & Industry (BCCI) and managing director of Abed’s said the prevalence of Crop Over parties and events this year was a godsend.”

“[Increased economic activity] has become part of the Crop Over season through the years. The lead-up to Kadooment has become an activity that we all look forward to but this year, for some reason, it just seems to be on steroids. It seems that much more active than I’ve seen in previous years and long may it continue,

Nation, Monday July 29, 2024, page 1

28. The merchants happy David.

What wrong wid you?

You become an old curmudgeon.

29. @ “We remain amazed that we don’t encourage swimming as a prime exercise. It should actually be on the curriculum starting at the primary school.”

I AGREE WITH THIS.

But if I had waited on the government I would still be waiting decades later.

When my younger child was 7 and fell off a jet ski [was wearing a life jacket so no harm done. Child didn’t even know to be scared, but I was] I said “swimming lessons for you beginning this Saturday”. I had a full time job, an elderly parent, no car, no husband [not mine, not anybody else’s], So I did my Monday to Friday, got up at 5 every Saturday did my laundry and house cleaning, then at 10 left home, took a ZR to town, a good walk to Bay Street and waited while the kid took a 2 hour swimming lesson. Did this for 4 years, first so the kid could learn to swim, then for the pure joy of swimming. Now an adult and of course swims like a fish.

Proper child rearing is a series of 4 letter words.

BARE HARD WORK.

But worth every minute.

30. And it didn’t cost much money. No more than a few weekly beers with the boys, or a few spliffs. or a few rums.

31. The problem is that the merchants are too happy.

32. Gonna get cuss but cannot change my writing style. Truth and honesty can be stifled, but they cannot be silenced. They are like the pimple that suddenly appears on the face of a youngster.

Sometimes, I get a pleasant surprise in reading some comments. This is particularly true when a blogger departs from his usual style and deliver the plain truth.

The post by Kammie Holder is a very good read. I have read it twice and am now doing it a third time.

Good job KH.

33. The post by Kammie Holder is a very good read. I have read it twice and am now doing it a third time.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Agreed!

34. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE AFICIONADOS OF CONTEMPORARY HUMANISTIC PHILOSOPHY ARE TRYING TO READ & DIGEST THE ALGORITHMIC, ALGEBRAIC FROMULAS ON THE CHALK BOARD – IN A DAUNTING QUEST TO UNDERSTAND THE UNHEALTHY MIGRATION PATTERNS OF HUMAN EVOLUTION, FROM POST TRAUMATIC SLAVERY DISORDER TO THE CYCLICAL 360 DEGREE TURN TO THE SAME ‘OLE RABID STATE OF NATURE AS OPINED BY THOSE DIM-WITTED CLASSICAL PHILOSPHERS, REMAINS A JOURNEY TO NOWHERE

Socrates was “MISGUIDED” & would be seen as a “MADMAN” in 2024 – 21st century world. Pioneering his focus on “HUMAN NATURE” & “WELL-BEING”, while emphasizing “SELF-KNOWLEDGE” & “CRITICAL INQUIRY” – a “ANCIENT CLASSICAL WOKE AGENDA” that has wings in some quarters but “ABHORED” by “POPULISTS” in the mainstream!!!

THE LAMESTREAM v MAINSTREAM ARGUMENT AS ‘OLE AS THE HILLS OF GILBOA

Aristotle was a “MANICHEAN PURIST” – a concept originated from the 3rd-century Persian prophet “MANI”, who founded a dualistic religion that emphasized the “ETERNAL STRUGGLE” between “GOOD v EVIL. This conceptual paradigm held by Aristotle has since been adopted to describe philosophical or theological systems that posit a fundamental dichotomy between “OPPOSING FORCES OR PRINCIPLES”, where classical Greek philosophical thought developed a system of “ETHICS” based on human nature, emphasizing “RATIONALISM” & MORAL PRINCIPLES…

OUR POLYTRICKS HAVE BEEN DEVELOPED FROM THIS KINDA’ THOUGHT PROCESS – SO HOW IS IT WORKING OUT Y’ALL???

“THOMAS HOBBES” et al joins that “MOBY DICK BRIGADE” in a monomaniacal quest to slay the “WHIETE DRAGON” of “CHAOS”, “BEDLAM” & “BRUTISH DEATH” in what he calls “THE STATE OF NATURE” where “HUMAN LIFE” is “SOLITARY”, “POOR”, “NASTY”, “BRUTISH” & “SHORT”!!! What a “COCKTAIL” we ingest!!!

ASK THE FOLKS AT WESTBURY & CORAL RIDGE ET AL

Hobbes believed that the “STATE OF NATURE” was a condition in which “HUMANS” exist outside of “CIVIL” society, without a “COMMON POWER” to “GOVERN” & “PROTECT” them. In this state, individuals are free to pursue their own “INTERESTS” & “DESIRES”, leading to a “PERPETUAL WAR OF ALL AGAINST ALL” (Bellum Omnium Contra Omnes)!!!

Thankfully, “HOBBES WAS WRONG 2 THE #nTHDegree – for in the “STATE OF NATURE” exist even within the parameters of a so-called “CIVIL SOCIETY”, with “CHECKS & BALANCES” & a “SOVEREIGN POWER” who decides the “MORALITY” of its people – yet “UNCONTROLLED MAYHEM” has often left the “EMPEROR WITHOUT CLOTHES OR HIS DAMN HEAD”!!!

“SECULAR 20TH & 21ST CENTURY HUMANISTS are also adrift at sea without a “LIFE-RAFT”, “KOMPASS” (correct spelling) or “SAIL” – including thinkers like #SidneyHook, who emphasized the importance of “HUMANISM” as a “NATURALISTIC & DEMOCRATIC PHILOSOPHICAL PENCHANT… (SO MUCH FOR CROOKS, TAX-DODGERS, MALCONTENTS & THE FLOATING RAFT OF DEPLORABLE BASTERDS WHO LIKE PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN WILL DO ANYTHING FOR A DUCKET)!!!

“HUMANISM” has not provided any real lasting answers to the “ILLS” that plague modern society & on the present trajectory – “FATALISM” of the “ANTEDILUVIAN KIND” will be revisited “AGAIN” in our pesky, short & dangerous lifetime!!!

For the “UMPTEENTH TIME” – “EVERYTHING IS GOING 2 HELL IN A PAN CART” & GUESS WHO’S PUSHING???

35. Gentlemen, my writings are influenced by my travels, observations, information fed or shown to me in secret and from my own research. Under the DLP the police illegally intercepted my communications which I always suspected. Alcohol frees up the tongues of many and facilitates bragging rights. You would be amazed if you go to diplomatic functions and drinks are flowing what you will learn. Some persons in Barbados will never set foot on US territory if they have sense.

Met one of the main instigators of #OperationOctopus who was the right hand man of Charles Taylor. During a chat gave me a some advice ” always be polite to your oppressors, trust no one and house slaves will betray you” but be always truthful to thine self.

I am afraid that many in Barbados in high places are willing to prostitute themselves just to get that promotion, perks, increased salary, and even to maintain the fake selfish invites.

@David, et al, your blog is a treasure trove for intelligence profile gathering and a great medium to convey messages to the powers!

36. @William

A hindrance to achieving material change in Barbados can be partially tracked to classism and our deference to status.

37. Henry Fraser et al who talk about what they see as social decline now protest that it was seen coming but the country did nothing about it.

That notion presupposes that there is anything which could have been done.

That all nation states have not been within the capture of forces for which nothing much could have been done, especially in a second globalization epoch.

And yes, there are countries like Bután, others, where cultural penetration from all sides or some sides have not made them into something different than 1000 years ago, 500 years ago, 50 years ago.

But these are the exceptions which prove the rule.

However, at 10 : 29 Bushie might have located his finger on a way of living within the world, even as it radically changes ……. though not being thereof.

As the thing-a-meh-hee is reported to have said. LOL!

38. That notion presupposes that there is anything which could have been done.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not only COULD something have been done, but given our HISTORY of experiences, that ‘something’ should have been OBVIOUS and intuitive in retrospect.

Can you believe that after OVER FIVE CENTURIES of being the subject of unprecedented albino-centric HATE and exploitation, those of us of African descent – on being freed, would CHOOSE to adopt the VERY SAME albino-centric characteristics of greed, hate and selfishness that subjugated our fore parents and subjected them to the worst treatment EVER meted out to any people in all of history?

Can you believe that even in a small, isolated island paradise, finding ourselves in the HUGE majority, we have CHOSEN, (of our own free will,) to ELEVATE and to adopt and endorse the VERY SAME materialistic albino-centric ways?

Can ANYONE see why Brassbados is so UNIQUE?

And how we COULD have been THE role model of how LOVE and Community-focus can lead to unbelievable success? (Seek FIRST the righteousness of God, and all the other shiite would be added to the mix..)

Yes Pacha….
    MUCH could have been done…. but we lacked the needed VISION… cause wide is the path that leads to where we now find our donkeys…

39. Well if I take the information shared and add to it what I have noticed personally, this is what the future of the workforce and business will look like in Barbados.

The average young Bajan worker will hold the below qualities by 2030.

They will work and live for material possession of items which will all depreciate in value. This will be made up of items like big rides, clothes and all the other visual trappings needed for the sake of impressing others.

Partying will be their priority in life with a plan to attend as many functions annually regardless of cost as humanly possible. After all that is what credit cards are for, so get as many of these as you can and just pay the minimum monthly.

They will change jobs regularly as employment would only be a burden they must tolerate for the pay check to pay for the lifestyle. The days of faithful long term employees climbing the ladder to management levels would therefore be a thing of the past.

if its raining and they come to work they will expect to be thanked, as would be the case if they arrived on time for work. They will also be taking their 5 off days, knowing in the past as uncertified sick days.

With all of our major companies already owned by foreigners, the Bajan will be employees at lower levels for ever. Top management will be all foreigners as they are the owners and hence work permits will not be an issue.

On the plus side though the recondition car sellers, hair sellers and clothing sellers etc, will all flourish along with the fast food outlets. At party time they will all smile and say “how good things was this year.” With the exception of the fast food outlets of course, they flourish every day of the week as few seem to own stoves at home anymore.

That my friends will be the Barbados of 2030 and on, as we are already well on our way to being a non productive society of consumables. The mentioned group will also expand their poor work ethics, with no plan for tomorrow far less their old age. There will be a few exceptions to the above hopefully, however not enough to turn this mess around.

Cuss me if you want cause I don’t give a rats ass who does. LOL

40. In Nigeria revelry can’t run!

People in the street.

New illegal president but the largest new jet for himself.

In 10 years GDP has halved. From just over 500 billion to presently 210 billion.

As a consequence per capital GDP has also halved.

A panoply of other deleterious indicators.

People carry demonstration banners saying plain and simple that they are hungry.

Oh Nigeria, where has all your oil wealth gone.

A country, treated like a democracy, a factotum state of the West, but yet the actual state structure is more akin to a kleptocracy, Barbados coming behind yuh wucking up with the drug-trafficking Nigerian president going on before.

Only that we’ll have the Crop Over wucking up bands getting there first.

41. ” Several of the visiting influencers were present at this morning’s Emancipation Day 2024 building celebration at the Kilombo Emancipation Village.”

42. Gercine Waterman-Gilkes Avatar
    Gercine Waterman-Gilkes

The Forty-Seventh (47th) Conference of Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community is gravely concerned about the deteriorating humanitarian situation in Cuba resulting from the embargo wrongfully imposed on the people and Government of Cuba over the last 62 years by the Government of the United States of America.

The Conference reiterates its call for the lifting of the unjust unilateral financial, economic, and trade embargo.

In light of the depth of the humanitarian situation, CARICOM Heads of Government agreed to provide material support to assist Cuba.

CARICOM considers the US State Department’s ongoing inclusion of Cuba on its list of State Sponsors of Terrorism as wrong and offensive. The Conference reiterates its call for Cuba to be immediately removed from this list.

St. George’s, Grenada

30 July 2024

43. @ Gercine
    Can you help Bushie to understand what prevents the Caribbean Community from filling the breech with respect to trade with Cuba?
    Every year they come with that same shiite statement – and then do EXACTLY nothing – except begging the US to relent, like true lackies…

Do you beg a predator bully to ‘ease up’ on your brother…?
    Or do you COLLECTIVELY conspire to put some lashes in his donkey…?

IN SPITE OF THE USA’s childish and vindictive bullying, Cuba has – more than anyone else, gone OUT OF THEIR WAY to offer aid to those Caribbean Community jokers – with health, education, sports, culture ….and even with MILITARY aid to the liberation struggle in Africa…
    ..and all we can do is talk shiite every year..?

What a place
    What a sheeple

44. @Bush tea

In the meantime the world continues to trade with Russia, China and other so-called evil nations.

45. Today’s editorial in the Nation.

Crop Over 2024 a success

We are entering the final phase of the Crop Over Festival with the Pic O De Crop Finals tonight. This calypso competition has been one of the events that drove the festival in its early days.

There are now many events that rival the Pic O De Crop Finals. There are also many parties, fetes and cruises, culminating with Grand Kadooment on Monday that will bring the curtain down on the 50th anniversary of Crop Over.

From all we have seen, this year’s festival was a spectacular success and the National Cultural Foundation can feel particularly proud of its accomplishments. It has sought to broaden the impact of Crop Over and perhaps could further decentralise more of its activities.

Its economic impact is evident as it appears that this year’s festival had a significant multiplier effect on businesses in and around Bridgetown. So much so that the former president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Eddy Abed, was ecstatic.

Increased economic activity

In Monday’s edition of this newspaper, Abed reportedly said that this Crop Over season appeared “to be on steroids” and was a godsend in light of the disappointing International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s T20 World Cup in June for retailers.

Abed further said that increased economic activity had become part of the Crop Over season through the years but this year seems more active than it has been in recent years and long may it continue.

This upsurge in activity would not have been captured in the Central Bank’s mid-year review of the economy. However, Central Bank Governor Dr Kevin Greenidge said the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, together with construction and tourism expansion, resulted in robust economic growth.

Dr Greenidge reported that the country’s gross domestic product (GDP) expanded by 4.5 per cent in the first half of this year, boosted by an almost 10 000 increase in long-stay visitors as a result of the World Cup.

What is clear is that the impact of arrivals had a significant impact on foreign reserves and hotel revenues. Unfortunately, though welcome, the Men’s T20 World Cup was a one-off event but it shows that there is a greater need to increase hotel occupancy in the summer months.

While it is true that one swallow doesn’t a summer make, we could all take heart that there has been some good economic news on the horizon. This does not mean that Government should not exercise restraint in its spending, which is a contributor to the increased GDP.

It is well known that just about every business periodical and economist tout an increase in consumer spending as “good for the economy”. But is this really so? Lord John Maynard Keynes thought so, and his teachings have become the standard narrative just about everywhere in the world.

Therefore, one should always be sceptical of any report that tries to convince you that all is well in the economy because GDP has gone up. It is a fallacious metric that equates spending with economic progress.

There is always a dichotomy between savings and spending, though they are not mutually exclusive. There is over $1 billion in savings in the financial institutions but Government’s – and ultimately the taxpayers’ – total debt obligations are over $14 billion. Where does that leave us?

We will ponder on that after Crop Over and the period of Emancipation which, unfortunately, plays second fiddle. The contradiction is obvious – one is a celebration of an activity of slavery and one celebrates freedom from slavery. Conflict in terms of priority has always surfaced at this juncture.

The people of the region have traditionally celebrated Emancipation but it has been superseded in Barbados by Crop Over. It is likely that, because we are so far removed from slavery, many of us may not truly appreciate Emancipation’s historical importance.

A greater awareness of slavery and post-slavery periods would help us as a people to better appreciate Emancipation. We must never take for granted the fundamental freedoms we enjoy today that our ancestors struggled to achieve for centuries.

46. Weeeee are concerned that the Caribbean Community is concerned as posted by Waterman-Gilles.

For two reasons, primarily.

One, anytime Caricom is concerned about certain countries it has to do with the machinations of the Americans and their propensity for some type of soft warfare-ism.

Two, a man here, from up North, has argued strenuously that the 70 year old sanctions war on Cuba have not made its people suffer under the boot of the Yankees. He contends, that there are factors external to sanctions which are causal, misguidedly – a manifestation of racism.

For Caricom leaders have never had any self directed propensity to care about anybody except given an order by their dog handling masters in Washington.

Hands off Cuba! The Chinese are there. The Russians are there. And it is Russia with the cutting edge experiences of success in beating 20,000 Western sanctions with a 5 percent annual growth rate as proof of success. The most sanctions ever imposed.

Indeed, Russia’s central bank has been for up to 18 months raising interest rates to control almost limitless growth, control overheating.

Even as the idiotic Western leaders were bragging how they would have destroy Russia, make their economy scream. The reverse has proven true. It’s the Western economies which are suffering from sanctions imposed by the West themselves.

Jolly good chaps!!!!

47. I am not going to get involved with race, race politics, right or wrong. What alarms me is that our people seem to have zero vision on so many different levels. What we do have is a backward mentality that allows for the degradation and the non-maintenance of everything on the island.

Never mind we can always revel like it’s 1999!!

48. Over 20 years in the making. 20 years of wheeling and dealing shrouded in controversy and corruption.

Let’s keep the natives distracted by offering them food, music, dance and carnival.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2011/04/27/how-much-will-the-barbados-pierhead-marina-project-cost-taxpayers/comment-page-2/#comments